1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice
  1. lambdastorm
    Vintage
    Written by lambdastorm
    Published Nov 18, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Nostalgic sound. Very relaxed and none-offensive.
    Cons - Absolutely refrain from it if you want a head banger. This is not the IEM for those genres.
    Unlike other reviews, I won't be posting any photos or videos on this IEM. This is a very plain IEM, comes in a very plain packaging and looks plain until you put them in your ears.

    I don't think any graphs will do this IEM justice, because if your looking for an IEM with excellent top to bottom extension or extra clarity, you're at the wrong place. If you like listening to EDMs or stuff you want to bang you head along to, again you're at the wrong place. This is an IEM for memories long since sealed away. Put on an old song and prepare to cry. Yes, this is what it does best. The folks at Shozy designed this driver from scratch, and it sounds like nostalgia. Any old song you play will sound like an old song. Without a hint of modern touch, but with all its tubey glory well-preserved, just like how the artists sealed the vinyl in the 70s.

    This thing sounds like nostalgia. And there's not one single IEM I've heard that sounds like this. For this very reason I have to give it 5 stars. The folks at Shozy clearly knows what they're doing, because these absolutely nails it in the emotion department. One last word about eartips rolling: Don't do it. JVC Spiral Dot, Spinfit and Sony hybrid tips all have better end-to-end extension than stock tips, but they all sound modern. Nostalgia is the name of the game, and stock tips is part of the magic.
  2. antdroid
    Shozy V33 Review
    Written by antdroid
    Published Aug 26, 2019
    1.0/5,
    Pros - Decent punchy bass response
    Interesting concept
    Cons - MIds are all over the place
    Fit and design is odd
    [​IMG]


    The V33 is a new earphone by Shozy, which is a company that has been making in-ears and higher end ear buds for a little while now. For me, I have yet to hear any of their ear bud offerings, which have been generally praised. As far as in-ears go, I have not liked any of the ones I've had a chance to listen to, so is the V33 any different?

    The short answer is, no. It's not very good.

    First off, this review sample was provided to me by Linsoul. If you still want to purchase this unit after reading this review, the direct link to the product can be found at the following links:

    https://www.linsoul.com/product-page/shozy-v33-v33pro-iem

    https://www.amazon.com/Linsoul-Single-Dynamic-Driver-Earphone/dp/B07TCLN2BQ

    BUILD

    There are two models available. The V33 is an aluminum housing, while the V33 Pro unit features a stainless steel housing. I imagine they both share identical sound signatures, but I can not confirm this. Both feature a nice and attractive silver-colored copper wire cable with metal 3.5mm stereo connector and splitter. The cable is not detachable however. The set also comes with a small quantity of silicone tips.

    The V33 is a bullet-shaped IEM which means it can be worn cable-down for convenience. I found the fit to be a little tricky at times, but tip rolling does help find the right fit. The fit is rather shallow which is part of the issue.

    The outer-shell features a vinyl record appearance which may be fun for nostalgia or hipsters and generally isn't too distasteful. This theme rolls into how they went about tuning it, I guess.


    SOUND


    The tuning is just not very good. It presents everything I heard in a low-fi haze and there's really nothing that I enjoyed when I used these earphones. I honestly don't know what Shozy was really thinking besides they wanted to get vintage look and "vintage" sound of old audio recordings and slapped this tuning onto this IEM. I guess there may be people out there who enjoy that, but I don't know if I can totally recommend this for the masses.

    [​IMG]

    The upper mids are very far recessed in this IEM which I found similar to the Campfire IO I reviewed earlier this year. In fact, that was the first thing that came to mind when I put these on. They sounded like a very technically poor, cheap, and worse sounding IO -- which I did not particularly like either.

    I never found myself wanting to pull these out of the drawer in the past month and half that I've had these in my possession. I would only because I knew I needed to put some feedback on these out there but they never struck me as anything I would ever want to recommend to anyone.

    The tuning starts to sound wrong when you put on any female vocal track. The lack of upper mids, all sloping downward, with a rise in the treble make this IEM unique in it's tuning. With the IO, the tuning at least had some semblance of mid-range, albeit very odd in its own right. The V33 instead has very little of the area I value the most, and while there are some IEMs that do sound decent with a lack of midrange boost, like the Andromeda from Campfire, I tend to find all of these special tunings not my thing.
      hqssui likes this.
    1. NymPHONOmaniac
      WHat tips do you use....? 1star...really. Wow. What a statement you made. pretty hard.
      NymPHONOmaniac, Aug 26, 2019
    2. antdroid
      @NymPHONOmaniac I tip roll every IEM to death until i find one that presents the best fit, seal and sound quality. I have a well over 100 tips at home of all sizes. I'm sorry if our opinions on this IEM differ. Don't take it personal.
      antdroid, Aug 27, 2019
  3. cqtek
    Evenings At The Museum
    Written by cqtek
    Published May 12, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Great mid zone, very realistic and natural, highly enjoyable, harmonious, sweet and rich timbre.
    - Round bass.
    - Pleasant sensation of scene, enveloping and vivid.
    - Revealing and iconic design.
    - Remarkable value for money.
    Cons - Fixed cable.
    - Packaging and accessories.
    - High zone contained and limited in extension.
    - Flex Driver effect may appear depending on the tips used.
    Introduction

    Shozy is a well established brand in the market, with well-known models such as the earbuds Cygnus, the IEMs Zero, the DAPs Alien, etc. It is noticeable that, in all his creations, the design is a very important factor, since each model has something special. In this case, the Shozy Vinyl V33 1/3 is a true tribute to vinyl records. Already, from the name, the exact speed of the LP is quoted and the outer face of the capsule, is clearly a miniature vinyl.

    The V33 are the first designs made under the LP series. The capsule is made of jewellery quality stainless steel, highly polished and smooth. A large diameter driver has been specially developed to take advantage of the sonic qualities of the capsule. The acoustic filters and dampers of high consistency and quality have been imported from Korea.

    There is a Pro version of this model, whose cable is better, silver plated and with a larger connector.

    Shozy V33 01_resize.jpg Shozy V33 02_resize.jpg

    Specifications

    • Type of Drivers: Single dynamic driver
    • Frequency response: 20Hz - 20kHz
    • Sensitivity: 107 dB SPL/mw
    • Impedance: 16Ω
    • Jack connector: 3.5mm gold plated
    • High purity copper cable.

    Shozy V33 03_resize.jpg Shozy V33 04_resize.jpg

    Packaging

    The Shozy V33 1/3 have come in a leather box with zipper, model sold separately, called Shozy LP. Its interior is blue velvet and has side bands, also in leather and same lining, which gives it the shape of a sack. The box is very elegant, in glossy black leather, with the name of the brand inscribed in small golden letters. In the pull of the zipper, also gilded, has the mark in relief, on a black background. The inside of the box, made of very striking blue velvet, is surely ideal for storing IEMs, but one stops thinking about other things after seeing it...

    The Shozy V33 only comes with 3 pairs of translucent grey silicone tips in S/M/L sizes. As you can see, the content is the minimum. Although given the price and level of construction and quality of the IEMs, it seems that all the money has been allocated to them and little importance has been given to packaging.

    It should be noted that the LP box came as part of an initial sales promotion. The regular version seems to bring another box of similar dimensions, but classic invoice.

    Shozy V33 05_resize.jpg Shozy V33 06_resize.jpg

    Construction and Design

    The V33 are made of stainless steel and aluminium. The shape of the capsules is practically semi-spherical. The outer part is a flat cut, adhered to it there is a simulation of a vinyl disc. In the center of the disc is the name and model of the IEMs. There is a hole in the center. On the other hand, the semi-sphere ends in a conical shape. The nozzles form the same set with the body of the capsule and no separate parts are noticed. They have grilles of the same colour, which are also metallic. There is another hole between the nozzle and the connection of the cable with the capsule, closer to the nozzles. I have tried taping this hole and the result is an increase of more than 10dB in much of the lower frequency response. So, this operation involves a bass mod.

    The connection of the cable to the capsules is protected by a small plastic cylinder which also serves as a channel identifier: red for the right side, black for the left.

    The cable is fixed and is covered with black plastic, very flexible. It has the virtue of rolling little and hardly takes shape. The Jack connector cover is metallic, it looks like smooth aluminium. It’s a cylinder whose central diameter is smaller, improving ergonomics. The central divider is very similar. There is a cone of the same material for the adjustment of the cable under the chin.

    The cable has quite a good feel, it is not too thin, but it is still a fixed cable. On the other hand, the construction of the capsules is stellar, a tribute to vinyl records, but finished in stainless steel very polished and smooth, as if it were a jewel.

    Shozy V33 07_resize.jpg

    Adjustment and Ergonomics

    The spherical and conical shape of the capsules is very ergonomic. The smooth material makes it easy to fit and comfortable. The insertion is rather superficial, because the nozzles are not very long and the cone has a good diameter. The capsules sit very well in the auditory pavilion. In my case, they barely move and the adjustment to give the best sound, is achieved quickly. In my case I have used silicone bi-flange tips to make a somewhat deeper insertion and get a fuller and closer sound. They can be used in a traditional way or over the ear. Personally I use them on the ear, because if I use them in a traditional way, the cable makes a bigger insertion difficult.

    Shozy V33 08_resize.jpg

    Sound

    Profile

    The Shozy V33 1/3 are IEMs with a balanced but warm profile, they do not have very clear enhancement in any of their areas. Their frequency response is relatively flat from 30Hz to 6kHz, where their variation is only 6dB. Thus, the feeling is that the midrange is the most advanced zone of all its response. The use of Bi-Flange tips enhances the proximity of the mids, but also the depth of the bass, without penalizing the treble.

    Shozy V33.png

    Bass


    The sub-bass reproduces at the edge, below 40Hz decays suddenly, subtracting a greater depth. However, at that point, the hit is quite acceptable and defends really well, keeping the type under control. The V33 are able to offer a sub-bass tip with moderate energy, with remarkable control in extension and speed, giving the area a harmonious, sweet and velvety look, far from any hint of viscerality. The articulation of the rest of the area is agile and the basses are picked up quickly, enough to demonstrate definition and that soft texture. The medium and high bass have more punch and a greater emphasis on the lower zone. The texture is very pleasant, harmonious and despite its smoothness, the low frequencies are easily identified, well separated, with a round depth, just like its body.

    Performing a simple mod on the V33, which consists of covering the hole near the nozzles with tape, you can gain almost 10dB in the lower zone, making these IEMs to something closer to the desires of a bass-head, keeping almost intact the mid and high, which will be further away, due to the over gain of the lower zone.

    Shozy V33 Bass Mod.png

    Mids

    The mid zone of the V33 remains smooth, without presenting humps in the high mid. Thus, the range is very balanced, well polished, with enough air and separation, but with the color and timbre as stars. The mid-range is also very round, with no trace of mud, nasality or metallic sensation, despite its proximity and prominence in its lower zone. The voices are close and recreated with sweetness, detail and a large dose of naturalness and hyperrealism, which surpasses the analogical sensation beyond their intentions. In spite of this, the V33 are grateful for the music made with instruments, rather than with electronics, it is there where their rich timbre shines and they stand out from their rivals. I also think they are very enjoyable with quiet music and few instruments, because that's where colour and body expand most emphatically, offering a close, organic, direct, rich, almost live, quite pleasurable sound experience.

    Despite the balance, these Shozy have a good level of detail, but limited by their analogical and velvety character.

    Shozy V33 09_resize.jpg

    Treble

    The lower part of the highs are shown slightly emphasized over the upper mids, just enough to provide the necessary brightness and a vivid musical sensation, but continuing with the restrained, round and thick realism of their presentation. Then, from 6kHz its fall is evident. This greatly influences the warmth of the sound, the highs will never be sharpened, but rather polished, wide and soft, perhaps more than the count. A little more presence would have given the whole greater resolution, definition and detail needed to cover more musical genres.

    Shozy V33 10_resize.jpg

    Soundstage, Separation

    The scene is close at both extremes and deeper in the centre, generating a sensation of intimacy, of club stage. The recreation maintains that oval image, well aired, without confusion, with good positioning, but close at the same time. The V33 offer, in my opinion, a scene more enveloping than wide.

    The separation is moderately good in the lower part, noticeable in the central part and somewhat more congested in the upper part, perhaps due to the lack of extension at that end.

    Shozy V33 11_resize.jpg

    Comparisons

    Fiio EX1

    The Fiio EX1 are classic IEMs with a semi-open shape, this design offers both advantages and disadvantages. Their frequency response is also quite flat, offering a virtually linear low zone and a more emphasised transition between mid and treble. In my case, its adjustment has always been compromised, making it difficult to get the best placement for the best sound, because its mouthpieces are somewhat short for my anatomy. Thus, the appreciation of its lower zone has never been represented by its graph.

    The profile of the EX1 is cooler and brighter, contrasting sharply with the warm look of the V33. In my opinion, the lower part of the Fiio has less presence and stickiness than the Shozy. Even so, the sub bass emphasis below 40Hz is more audible in Fiio. There is more depth in the sound of the V33, while the EX1 offers more extension at the top, with crisper, sharper highs.

    The lower zone, apart from the differences in the sub-bass, is shown with greater presence in the V33, perhaps due to the semi-open shape of the Fiio EX1. The texture is smoother and cooler on the EX1, somewhat less energetic, with less punch, as well as decaying faster. The lows in the Shozy are more exciting, with more body, but with some relative darkness, due to their greater depth. As for the overall presence of the bass in both is certainly similar.

    In the middle zone the differences are greater. The warmth of the Shozy is overwhelming in this area, filling the void that the EX1 seem to leave behind. On the other hand, this warmth detracts from some clarity, something that the EX1s do bring. The voices are definitely different, although the level of presence is similar, the positioning is almost opposite. In the V33 the voices feel closer in a more frontal way, while in the EX1 they sound somewhat displaced, elevated, due to their cooler look. The analog character is quite noticeable here, the V33 are a vacuum valve and the EX1 are a transistor. The Fiio are shown to be more dynamic in fast music, running in greater detail and resolution. The V33 reveal their softness and sweetness in calmer styles.

    In the upper zone the difference is almost greater, the EX1 offer more present, sharp, penetrating and crunchy trebles and go further than the Shozy. The V33 offers more sharpened, even trimmed trebles in comparison. This superior treble level of the EX1 provides more detail and micro detail, higher resolution, but also a more frontal, overwhelming and foreground music feel.

    The scene in the EX1 is wider, but less deep, although the definition is higher, the sound seems more airy and spaced in the V33, causing that more immersive sensation.

    Shozy V33 vs Fiio EX1.png

    BQEYZ KB100

    The BQEYZ KB100 are IEMs that I like more and more. The reason is that I'm finding more and more liking for detailed media like yours, even though their emphasis can sometimes saturate me.

    KB100s are more sensitive and move more easily. That's the first thing you notice. Second, it's your brightest profile because its high mids have a clear higher gain.

    The lower zone of the KB100, however, is very contained, tight and dry, with somewhat more presence in the sub bass than the V33. Its timbre is colder and that is noticeable in the greater amount of harmonics that the pure tone of 40Hz generates in them. The V33 offers a low range of similar technical characteristics, but without so many harmonics, more pure, hence it gives a feeling of greater depth, even having less presence in the sub bass.

    In the mid-zone there are clear differences, this is where the profile and technology used in each IEM is noticeable. The warmth of the V33 generates a more cohesive middle zone with the lows and there is not as much separation between the two regions as the KB100 do. Similarly, the voices are also flooded with that more homogeneous, softened and sweet character, sounding thicker, rounder and velvety. In the KB100, the voices are perceived more isolated, thin and cold, but also closer and more present. They may sound even more penetrating in sensitive ears or with critical recordings. Despite this, the level of detail, definition, resolution and clarity is perceived to be greater in the BQEYZ.

    In the high zone, the KB100 have a descent step just beginning, while the V33 pick up to 6 KHz and then decay more abruptly. This generates a spark in the high frequencies in the V33, while in the KB100 they have more extension. However, the sound of the KB100 has more brightness and the highs are perceived more clearly than in the Shozy.

    The V33 scene is wider and deeper than the KB100, producing a more ethereal sound. The KB100 have more precision and a different separation, product of its higher resolution, but its sound is perceived flatter.

    Shozy V33 vs BQEYZ KB100.png

    In this comparison I would like to carry out a simple experiment. It is about reproducing three pure tones in each IEM, recording them and then performing a spectrum analysis to observe the differences between them. The silicone tips used have been the same in both cases, trying to recreate the same position and distance to the micro, so that the rest of possible side effects are the same for both.

    The first tone played is a pure 40Hz tone. The tones have been played at the same volume. Note that the KB100 are more sensitive than the V33, producing a wider amplitude wave.

    40 peque.png

    The spectrum analysis of the original 40Hz waveform is:

    Analisis Freq 40Hz Real.png

    The spectrum analysis of the response produced by the Shozy V33 at 40Hz is:

    Analisis Freq 40Hz Shozy.png

    The spectrum analysis of the response produced by the BQEYZ KB100 at 40Hz is:

    Analisis Freq 40Hz KB100.png

    It is observed that the Shozy V33 produces less harmonics at 40Hz, offering a purer sound, but much more attenuated in gain.

    Second tone 1kHz. Here the amplitude of the waves is more similar and gives an idea of the warmth of the V33:

    1000Hz peque.png

    The spectrum analysis of the original 1000Hz waveform is:

    Analisis Freq 1000Hz Real.png

    The spectrum analysis of the response produced by the Shozy V33 at 1000Hz is:

    Analisis Freq 1000Hz V33.png

    The spectrum analysis of the response produced by the BQEYZ KB100 at 1000Hz is:

    Analisis Freq 1000Hz KB100.png

    There are 5 harmonics in the V33, while in the KB100 there are 7.

    Third tone 7kHz. Here the amplitude of the waves is much smaller, realizing that both IEMs are trimmed at this frequency.

    7kHz peque.png

    The spectrum analysis of the original 7kHz waveform is:

    Analisis Freq 7kHz Real.png

    The spectrum analysis of the response produced by the Shozy V33 at 7kHz is:

    Analisis Freq 7kHz V33.png

    The spectrum analysis of the response produced by BQEYZ KB100 at 7kHz is:

    Analisis Freq 7kHz KB100.png

    Both have 3 harmonics, harmonics above 20kHz are discarded. It is perceived that the harmonics of the KB100 have higher gain..

    Conclusion

    Shozy has created a model with quite specific sound characteristics, with an approach that is glimpsed from its own design and name, which are a clear tribute to vinyl. Undoubtedly, its sound enjoys all the characteristics, virtues and details of those, offering a warm profile, with rounded bass, exuberant in midrange and content in treble. Analogical par excellence, pleasant, whose enjoyment must be savored with calm and pause, in order to enter better into your intimate and enveloping scene.

    The V33 1/3 are not classics, they are almost museum.

    Sources Used During the Analysis

    • F.Audio S1
    • xDuoo X3II
    • Zishan Z3
    • Burson Audio Playmate

    Shozy V33 12_resize.jpg

    Ratings

    • Construction and Design: 90
    • Adjustment/Ergonomics: 85
    • Accessories: 50
    • Bass: 75
    • Mids: 85
    • Treble: 75
    • Separation: 75
    • Soundstage: 80
    • Quality/Price: 90

    Shozy V33 13_resize.jpg

    Purchase link

    https://penonaudio.com/shozy-v33.html

    You can read my full review in spanish here:

    https://hiendportable.com/2019/05/12/shozy-v33-review/
      hqssui, MrDelicious and Markolav like this.
  4. NymPHONOmaniac
    V33 are so Lush, you will sure have a Crush
    Written by NymPHONOmaniac
    Published May 5, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Lush addictive sound, thick bass, clear mid range, nice vocal timbre, sibilance free, wide soundstage, sturdy construction
    Cons - Imaging, housing can scratch easily, fit can be problematic with included ears tips (memory foams tips solve that)
    SHOZY V33 REVIEW :

    P1011648.JPG
    SOUND: 8.5/10
    CONSTRUCTION: 8/10
    DESIGN: 8/10
    VALUE: 8.5/10



    INTRO :

    SHOZY chinese audio company say that for years their team ‘’has been researching into acoustic design, circuitry design and material implementations, diligently striving for engineering excellence and accuracy in sound reproduction’’ and indeed they have proved at multiple time being able to achieve incredible result in multiple audio department such as DAP, earbuds and earphones. SHOZY are a ‘’touch everything’’ type of company, with talent and experience to share. They begin by lauching uniquely designed Digital Audio Player that stand appart from the crownd : the SHOZY ALIEN. Fastly follow their high end earbud call Cygnus, that again earn praise by audio enthusiast. In fact, everything that SHOZY engineer lauch earn serious recognition, and in the last year they begin working more on iem and uiem.

    From the budget minded Shozy ZERO and Hibiki single Dynamic driver to multi BA’S uiem like the CP-3BA and BG-5BA to flagship Planar Hybrid earphones POLA, this little company seriously perfected their tuning talent like no other chinese company.
    P1011647.JPG

    Lately, they lauch another budget earphones call the SHOZY V33, this time inspired by analogue audio era where listening to your high end turntable was the way to go for audiophile. Called V33 for the 33 1/3 tour par minutes of vinyl disc, it is tuned to achieve addictively lush musicality, opposite of analytical digital coldness. With a beautifull stailess steel housing and a back faceplate looking like a vinyl, the V33 are sure to please as much the analog nostalgic than the modern audio enthusiast. If you are accustomed to the house sound of analog gear, especially from listening turntable trough vintage amplifier, the warm and thick luscious soundsignature of V33 will certainly charm your ears.

    Let’s see why in this review.

    Disclaimer: I wanna thanks SHOZY for sending me this review sample. I'm not affiliated with this audio company and choose to review this earphones because they sincerly intrigue me. As always, I will stay independant and full objective in my subjectivity.

    SPECS:
    Driver:10mm dynamic

    Impedance: 16Ω

    Sensitivity: 107 dB

    Cable: sony 4n oxygen-free copper



    ACCESSORIES, CONSTRUCTION & DESIGN :



    UNBOXING is non existent here, as I receive a review sample without package and anything, so I cannot comment on this. But I know what the official package include: Protective case, 3 pairs of silicone eartips and the V33.

    P1011657.JPG P1011659.JPG P1011676.JPG P1011677.JPG

    CONSTRUCTION is great for the price and reflect serious thinking into the compenents used. Housing is made of beautifull thick brushed metal, it feel very sturdy, the back plate is black alluminium and look like a vinyl disc. Attention to details is nice. The cable remind me the one used with Hifiman RE800, nothing fancy, but its a cable that is light and do not produce microphonic. After using them 2 weeks, I can see the housing is prompt to scratch, so you perhaps should be cautious about that.

    P1011675.JPG

    DESIGN is very beautifull to look at, but the particular shape of housing with small nozzle will perhaps be problematic for some. I most admit I struggle to find a tigh fit with those, as when i push them inside my ears it tend to pop up easily due to rounded conical shape of a rather large housing. I try to wear it over ears and it help but the real fit savor for me is to use memory foam tips that cannot slide out of my ears, and the proof the fit is perfect is : it sound way better this way.

    ISOLATION is above average, but nothing exceptional, sound leakage is very very minimal.


    P1011669.JPG


    EARTIPS are quite important with the Shozy V33, i do not always write about eartips priority, but here the sound change (or improvment) is very noticable due to a rather touchy fit with this circular shaped housing that tend to pop up of ears. With silicone eartips the lower bass is more proeminent and less controled wich stole to mid bass and give a warmer overall sound, making the mid range more recessed than with FOAM TIPS . I rarely use foam tips, because it tend to tame the bass and stole too much air to soundstage, making bright earphones very agressive, but with warm earphones it can be a game changer as I discover with the V33, sound imaging improve and this time GAIN air and space due to lesser bass bleed, mid range gain in clarity and overall attack became faster and more snappy, as well, treble is a little more fowards giving richer timbre. Unfortunately, no foam tips included with the V33, but it really worth to buy a pair.

    AMPING isn’t really needed with the V33, they are easy to drive and will perform well with any audio source, but to me it sound better with very clear, slightly analytical audio source like the Ibasso DX90 or Xduoo X20.



    SOUND :

    P1011674.JPG

    Cozy cozy sound, thick warm and spacious velvety cushy cushy sound.

    Very first listen was a comforting audio cuddling one, I immediatly feel at home, near a crakling fireplace, but instead of my feet being warmed up, it was my ears.

    U shape natural rich sound that tend to impress you more and more while you listen carefully to its smooth charisma.

    The low bass is thick and relaxed, well rounded to let mid bass punch hit gently, then the mid range flow naturally, expending in wide rich soundstage, and highs sparkle with impressive crispness to finally let upper treble go down, yep, a comfy experience with just the right hint of crispness in treble for lively richness.



    SOUNDSTAGE have a very circular around your head feel (like the housing suggest), and deepnest can go quite deep when the music is bass light, in this particular housing, the air flow naturally and offer an impressive spaciality. But what impress the most is the over average widness.

    LOWER END have a very appealing thickness to it, that enrich timbre and definition without focusing that much on texture grain. Here its all about body and weight instead of texture and attack, its a little slow but so well rounded that it can be extasic with certain type of music, like jazz or classical, but as well trip-hop, rap or downbeat electronic. V33 is analogish and warm, in the good sens ot term.

    MID BASS would have been perfect if just a little more definite so the punch separate more from sub bass and gain in attack and slam, but again, with the whole V33 sound presentation it make sens this way. Still, its imrpessively tigh and well controled, with thick punch when the sub bass isn't invasive. I’m fast heavy metal would not benifit from this type of warm approach to the kick, wich lack teeth for more agressive music. V33 is quite mellow, hippies are more welcome than hillbilies.

    MID RANGE is barely recessed when you listen to bass heavy music, and fully blossom with instrumental signer-songwriter, like indie, folk or jazz. But even with R&B or Rap, like in last SOLANGE album, it have spot on luscious presence and bass warm it gently giving extra thickness. Timbre is on the thick smooth side, delivering sirupy tonality that have good transparence but average grain and details, all is about weight here as well as extra definition due to some upper mids bump. When I listen to BJORK ‘’Vespertine’’ album, I was impress by the full voice presentation, it wasn’t sibilant even if sharp at they edge.

    TREBLE is slightly roll off at the top, wich permit to have great energy and presence in lower and mid treble and give a richer lusher sound that without being super sparkly keep a satisfiing level of details. This affect more the imaging wich isn’t particularly airy and spacious. Highs are never spalshy, they have a crisp and natural presentation, little like analog sound that never sound artificial or metallic.

    SUB: 8.5/10
    MID BASS: 8/10
    MID RANGE: 8.5/10
    TREBLE: 8/10
    ATTACK: 7.5/10
    SOUNDSTAGE: 8.5/10




    COMPARAISONS :


    VS TINAUDIO T2 (50$) :

    P1011666.JPG

    If you don’t heard about the T2, its because you never go on headfi or don’t do any googling about best budget earphones. Even if Tinaudio have lauch 2 other model, the T2 still keep its legend alive, so how do the new comer SHOZY V33 can compete with this superstar? Hum, it’s a hard one here.

    SOUNDSTAGE of T2 is wider and airier, but feel more panoramic than around your head due to extra deepnest of V33.
    BASS is more punchy-mid bass centric, have brighter more detailed timbre and faster tigher attack while the V33 have more lower end extension and emphasis as well as less well controled that tend to warm mid bass punch and smooth it.
    MID RANGE is way more fowards with the T2, and have more upper mids emphasis as well wich make them brighter more detailed, fuller sounding but as well more prompt to slight sibilance (not extremely problematic), while the V33 have thicker warmer mid with less accurate imaging.
    TREBLE is more emphased with the T2, diging more micro details and texture, it have more sparkling highs with longer decay. V33 have a more natural and thicker timbre treble, highs are tigher and less prompt to casual splashiness like T2.
    All in all, were in the middle of duality here, as V33 are warm, natural and thick sounding while the T2 are bright, sligthtly dryish (in a good way, can’t explain) and analitycal. V33 sound more U shape while the T2 is into a W soundsignature.





    VS FINAL AUDIO DESIGN E3000 (55$) :
    P1011664.JPG


    These 2 do not just have the glossy metal housing in commun, they share a rather similar soundsignature as well, tending towards warm and thick musicality.
    SOUNDSTAGE of the E3000 is wider while the V33 sound deeper and little more ‘’holographic’’.
    BASS of the E3000 have a more fowards attack and tigher lower end, definition is aslo better due to realist timbre, its less rumbly, juicy and weighty than the V33 wich is warmer as well.
    MID RANGE of E3000 is slightly more fowards and transparent than thicker midrange of V33 that have more lower mid emphasis. This give an overall more intimate vocal presentation to 3000 that benifit from extra clarity in mid range imaging.
    TREBLE is quite smooth with both this earphones, as well, they benifit from lower treble emphasis. Again, the E3000 sound more balanced and accurate because the V33 can be slightly grainy sometime due to its very thick sound, level of harmonic distortion is lower with E3000 as well.

    CONCLUSION:

    P1011670.JPG


    At 50$, the SHOZY V33 are incredibly competitive earphones in term of lush musicality that is muscular sounding yet innoffensive at the same time. With a spacious soundstage, thick bass and rich sibilance free mid range, this well constructed earphones sure is a guilty pleasure.
    It isn't neither analytical or bright, wich would make me conclude it isn't for serious audiophile that search earphones for critical listening, but if you just want to enjoy music with an analogue like warm musicality that still have talent in term of technicalities like timbre, attack and dynamic, I really think the V33 are an addictive twist of bassy iem.

    images

    1. P1011649.JPG
    2. P1011655.JPG
      Arghavan, szore, cqtek and 1 other person like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. NymPHONOmaniac
      No idea about V33PRO, i will ask Shozy to know if their any difference when it come to driver or tuning. SPC cable could perhaps improve slightly overall clarity, but thats minimal change....don't know if it worth 25$ more. It would have been nice a PRO with mmcx instead.
      NymPHONOmaniac, May 7, 2019
      Ziggomatic likes this.
    3. Markolav
      According to Penon Pro has better cable, otherwise there should not be any difference. I ordered V33 just out of curiousity.
      Markolav, May 9, 2019
      NymPHONOmaniac likes this.
    4. Markolav
      I received them today... i loved them right from the first listen. :kissing_heart:
      Markolav, May 20, 2019