1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

Sennheiser HD 630VB

Rating:
3.9/5,
  1. Hawaiibadboy
    The re-introduction of the HD 630 VB
    Written by Hawaiibadboy
    Published Nov 7, 2017
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Well positioned adjustable bass. Even at highest setting not damaging mid presentation. Comfortable. Treble is just about perfect for long listening sessions.
    Cons - Non removable cable. kinda big for portable use. IMO
    Thank you to Sennheiser for the opportunity to re-introduce these to the

    Audiophiles with a low end affinity....crowd :wink:


    20171013_230417_004.jpg





    Some specs

    • Wearing Style: Headband
    • Ear coupling: Circumaural
    • Transducer principle: Dynamic, closed
    • Frequency Response: 10-42,000 Hz
    • Impedance: 23Ω
    • Sound Pressure Level: 114dB (1 kHz / 1Vrm)
    • Total harmonic distortion: <0.08% (1kHz, 100dB)
    • Bass Boost: +/- 5dB at 50 Hz
    • Contact pressure: 5.5 ~ 6.8N
    • Weight (headphones excluding cable): 400g
    • Accessories include carry bag and 3.5mm to 6.3mm adapter.




    1. Photobombing in 3...2...1


    [​IMG]


    20171102_235131_001[1].jpg


    20171024_204353[1].jpg




    20171013_234041.jpg

    20171013_230005.jpg




    20171014_171954.jpg









    Wearing Style: Headband

    1. While the weight is weighty...the headband is comfy enough to make this a non issue. Not sure if these are as portable as advertised but that is up to the user.





    Ear coupling: Circumaural

    1. Fancy way of saying this set is an over the ear design. It could be considered such unless you have very large ears. The pads are removeable/changeable





    Transducer principle: Dynamic, closed

    1. Driver sizes are generally not released by Senn but taking off the pads reveals a 40-45mm driver





    Frequency Response: 10-42,000 Hz

    1. There are no noticeable dips or roll offs between 20hz and 16Khz. I am sure of my own ears in that range and nothing jumps out as being off or spiked or recessed.





    Impedance: 23Ω

    1. As these were designed for use with Apple or Android devices they are relatively easy to drive and most DAP's will be fine. You can also use this off a smartphone though dynamics may suffer a bit due to lack of driving power




    Sound Pressure Level: 114dB (1 kHz / 1Vrm)

    1. These get loud. As noted above, playing these from a smartphone is fine. Quality of the sound is another thing.






    Total harmonic distortion: <0.08% (1kHz, 100dB)

    1. Mmmm, not much to say besides they sound very detail rich and with the bass adjustment turned off






    1. Bass Boost: +/- 5dB at 50 Hz




    7350314.jpg



    This is the point where fans of the brand turned their back. Not at the ridiculous giant headphone character commercial pouring salt into an urbanite cup to show bass response...perhaps one of the worst ad vids ever. THAT did not raise the ire of Senn fans....it was the bass dial on a HD series set. Essentially it was a rebuke by folks who had an image they helped create and foster and then were apparently duty bound in defending it. Head-Fi psuedo audophilia at it's worst.






    Contact pressure: 5.5 ~ 6.8N

    1. This is...pressure on head? I had not thought about it? Ultrasone often makes me think about that and head vices and torture devices from the 12th and 13th century but this set seemed to fit nice.




    Weight (headphones excluding cable): 400g

    1. As mentioned earlier, I find the weight to be an issue less than the size which makes outdoor use a tough sell for image purposes. The profile is large and lots of folks may balk at that. Weigh?....meh, not that big O' deal!




    Accessories include carry bag and 3.5mm to 6.3mm adapter.

    1. The carry case is stout and nice and that with an adapter is all you get. The non removable cable was the 2nd biggest complaint and THAT is valid and listening or holding it does not need to occur before jumping on that. @PETEREK has told me that making a removable cable is no big deal.




    The inline control and flexibility with 2 operating platforms may be related? No idea but this is a legit complaint. The bass dial bashers were just homers homering on and on but the cable is an easy and legit target.


    It can be changed though!





    Head-Fi User @PETEREK formerly known as CasperTFG is a well known customizer that has said he can do removable cable mods for this set






    20171016_212947[1].jpg





    The reality it seems is that that the bass dial is quite polite and is no more impact full than the MEZE 99 Neo.

    That well regarded set (by some, most) is in stock form about the same as this Senn set with the bass dial 1/2 turned or ¾.






    20171014_000131_001.jpg

    With the dial fully turned off it is so polite it sounds small. The driver size would be suspected by anyone who likes bass dominant sets.

    Actually the acoustic tuning done by Senn is impressive because it can go from polite to robust with a vent adjustment and still keep everything beyond 2Khz stable and clear. There is no compensation EQ needed to get back the sparkle. It never leaves.




    While the 99 neo sounds intimate with a comfortable if not slightly smallish stage the Senn manages to display a bigger presentation with all forms of music from 70's rock to hip hop.
























    STAGE
    1000pxb.jpg






    Stage

    Foreplay/It's Been such a long Time

    The studio created but seemingly live played
    Foreplay/It's Been such a long Time sounds big and spacey. The notes in the high treble come in clear and the sense of electronic drops of water falling off of a cliff into space all around sounds fantastic. The sense of space around your head is a good real music take on Dr Chesky's panning test tracks.
    This track sometimes/often sounds compacted in IEM and over ears but the 630 has just enough high end and good design to make this feel right.

    Noted that these cans benefit from adjusting on head more than most due to driver position and baffle board design.




    Outta 10?......Mmmm 7?









    Bass
    1000pxm.jpg



    Bass


    Wanna be Startin' Somethin'




    The first track on the classic album is held down by a prominently placed and talented 4 string bass guitar. It is of a quality hard to match when judging bass on a real music album. It took me years to get past mike's issues and re-appreciate his and on this LP's producers skillz.


    synesthesia is a term used to describe people who see sounds as colors.
    I happen to be one. It gets freaky responses so I keep it to myself. Was pleased to read the following when learning about Thriller.


    "I have synaesthesia, and Quincy does too,” confirms Swedien. "The low frequencies are represented by dark colours like black and purple, while high frequencies are bright colours such as silver and gold. When I listen to a mix I want to see all those colours.

    "I'm not a big fan of compression or limiting at all — I can't emphasise that enough. On many of the recordings that you hear today, all the excitement and all the colour is gone because they're so over compressed. I never did that. I would never have a compressor or limiter on the [master] bus, for instance. I want all that transient information there.

    -Bruce Swedien




    The Purple and Gold is a masterwork on this track and turning the 630 dial to about ¾ puts the darker colors near the front but never taking over the silvers and golds of the track.




    Outta 10?......Mmmm 9?






    Mids
    1000pxp.jpg

    Mids



    While I usually use “On the Run” to check for staging in this instance I chose to focus on the woman announcing the departure of a flight to Rome. My recent experience with planar IEM showed how clear this can be and checking that on these returned a nice replay. No sense of veil or distance in the fundamental or harmonic region of the woman's voice

    Outta 10?......Mmmm 7?








    Treble
    1000px2.jpg



    Yep, trebs with 2pac




    Heaven Ain't Hard 2 find

    This track is just stuffed with sample deck goodies. Stuffed. The better the driver and treble tuning the more of the stuff you will hear. There are spinners, dew drops, and sounds like from a carnival just far enough in the background that if your driver cannot reach their you'll never notice. No biggie usually but a definite bonus when it is there because the tuning took you there

    Biggest surprise of the 3 fundamental ranges.




    Outta 10?......Mmmm 8?





    I would rec this set to anyone who likes an audiophileish sound with an ability to adjust the sub-bass and bass.

    That's a lot of folks. :wink:

    images

    1. 20171024_204353[1].jpg
      volly, drhiziracil, Malfunkt and 6 others like this.
  2. piksnz
    An easy to go around headphones with variable bass to enjoy various genres of music
    Written by piksnz
    Published Apr 24, 2016
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Variable bass, Build, Price, Bass head
    Cons - Weight, Recessed mids and highs
    [​IMG]
      Brooko likes this.
    1. Sennheiser
      Thanks for including the HD 630VB in your review, @piksnz!
      Sennheiser, Apr 29, 2016
    2. Malfunkt
      Enjoyed your video review of all three... Especially as I'm considering picking up the T5p at some point. Have you heard the MDR-Z7 and can you make any comparisons?
      Malfunkt, Jul 18, 2016
  3. daduy
    Clear and Vivid sound with your choice of Bass
    Written by daduy
    Published Apr 15, 2016
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Build quality, clean, detailed, vivid sound, variable bass
    Cons - Big and heavy, cable is not replaceable, a bit expensive
    Disclaimer
     
    I got the chance to have a listen on the HD630vb thanks to Brooko and Sennheiser, so thanks again for the chance, I really appreciate them :)
     
    Introduction
     
    I am just another music fans in this world, I love listening to music, and that made me stumble into head-fi around 8 years ago when looking for the best way to listen to my music. I am not in anyway an audiophile, heck not even close, so please forgive any lack of details in my review. Most importantly this is my personal impression on the unit, most likely i heard things differently than you, my ears, my preferences, my brain :)
     
    I listened to the HD630vb daily in my office for about 2 weeks.
     
    In the past i have listen to Sennheiser HD600 and it was pretty good, but somehow my real love is with the Sennheiser HD580, which I owned for quite some time in the past. I still remember how I felt when I use it for the first time, everything just sounded right and natural, it was such a wonderful sound. Unfortunately I got 1 big problem with them.....they are open and leak a lot of sound. My office is my primary place to listen to music, so eventually I sold my HD580 since I can't really use them there.
     
    When I read about the Senn HD630vb, somehow I got the idea that this is an answer to my problem: a closed version of Senn HD580/HD600! Boy am I wrong.
     
    Ok so this is my memory of Senn HD580 sound (please note this is based on my memory so it might be wrong): warm, relaxing, laid back, easy going sound. 
     
    cozy-room.jpg
     
     
    So I was expecting similar sound when I put HD630vb for the first time, instead I got this:
     
    shutterstock_171367502.jpg
     
    Ok maybe that's a bit over the top, but to be completely honest I am a bit disappointed in the beginning! Where is my closed Senn HD580??? I start listening with the Bass on 0, and at this point they really sounded lean and clean, then I start playing around with the Variable Bass (VB)....and then...hmm....ok....this is actually pretty good.....and I kept on listening....

    Build Quality and Design.
     
    The build quality is top notch, they feel really solid and looks like mostly made from metal, the earpad is quite thick and comfortable for me, isolation was ok as well. They are a bit heavy though, still comfortable to wear, but you definitely feel them on your head.
     
    hd6301.jpg  
     
    Design wise, well...I am not a big fan of the silver finish, obviously this is personal preferences and YMMV, but it's a bit too flashy for me. I kept worrying that I will scratch those silver coating, never happened though.
     
    hd6302.jpg
     
     
    Sound Quality
     
    Ok the most important part for me, sound quality, so how do they sound? They sound clean and detailed, rich, vivid, but neutral in their presentation, and quite revealing as well, if your source file is bad you will definitely notice. One thing that I am missing is the mid-bass hump that bring those warm sound on headphones, they simply doesn't exist here, giving them an impression of a cold neutral sound, but the VB does help a lot here.
     
    Treble
    The treble on HD630vb is executed perfectly, they are quite detailed and extended, but never sibilance, everything is in control. For comparison I own Fostex TH600 and Ultrasone pro 750 and the treble can get quite hot with them depending on the recording.
     
    Mids 
    The mids, as the treble, is pretty spot on as well, very clear and quite forward in my opinion, sitting pretty much on the same position of the treble (if not a bit forward than the treble). I really enjoy listening to Peter Cetera voice on HD630vb, it's like they are being showcased here, where the voice really stands out againts the other instrument. On the TH600, the voice is a tad behind the instrument, just very slightly.
     
    Bass
    Ah the bass...this is definitely the spotlight of HD630vb. According to the official specification, the bass dial will affect +/- 5dB at 50 Hz. At minimum level, the bass is still there, they're just lacking the body and feel of it. At maximum level, the bass is everywhere, it bleeds to the mids and overshadowed everything, it's just a bit too much for my taste. I found my sweet spot at 2/3 of the dial. At this level the HD630vb became a very fun headphone, you get the detailed mid and treble, and the thump of the bass to wrap the whole experience into a beautiful harmony. 
     
    Soundstage and imaging
     
    Being a closed headphone, the soundstage is not as wide as an open one, it's a bit small but not that bad, music feel closer to my head and that can be good depending on the music, this also contribute to the feeling that the mids and treble are forward sounding, kind of remind me of the Ultrasone Pro 750 sound signature. The imaging was pretty good though, I can easily pinpoint the placement of the musical instrument, left, right, a bit on the front, further to the back....you get my point.
     
    Comparison
     
    Ultrasone Pro 750: As mention above, I feel that there is similarities between Ultrasone Pro 750 and Senn HD630vb, some of them are the lack of mid-bass (can be change with VB), and how the mids and treble sounds a bit forward. The main difference is I think the Senn HD630vb is on a different class, they are just more detailed and refined compare to the Pro 750, plus of course the VB just make them a whole more versatile headphone.
     
    Fostex TH-600: This one is interesing comparison for me, I would say they are almost at the same level, TH600 have a bit more warmth, hotter treble and bit more details than HD630vb, it's possible that this is due to the bright sound signature of TH600. While the HD630vb is a "fun" sounding headphone (depending on your VB level), they are more polite than the TH600, where it's always party time with Fostex :)
     
    Other features and amplification
     
    As you know you can use HD630vb with android and iphones, and control the volume or track skipping using the button on the right side of the headphones. Well this features work perfectly with android, I don't own iphones so can't really tell if they work as fine as the android version. 
     
    While they sound fine coming out directly from my phone or 4th gen ipod, I really think they need a good DAC + Amp to really shine. My desktop rig is Micromega MyDac + Project Sunrise V1, and coming out from them they sound really sweet, which make me think this is more suitable as a desktop headphone instead of a portable one. 
     
    Summary
     
    Have you ever heard some music using a headphones and thinking: "this thing got too much bass! i wish i can bring them down a bit" or "this will be perfect with a bit more bass"......well now you can. I really applaud Sennheiser for their execution here, not only this headphones got a well implemented variable bass, they also provide a clear and well balanced sound accross all spectrum.  
     
    If you're looking for a closed headphone within the $500 range, I advise you to give them a try, they are a very strong contender to TH600, with a more controlled treble and of course the wonderful Variable Bass. While it's not going to please everyone, this is one headphones that you have to hear to appreciate, and I am pretty sure if you give it chance you'll be hooked....well if you don't have anything better :)
    1. View previous replies...
    2. daduy
      Cheers Paul, for me it was very close race between them and the TH600, some might even prefer the HD630vb.
      daduy, Apr 15, 2016
    3. Sennheiser
      Thanks for your review, Yudi! I'll be sure to share your points with the team. Cheers! 
      Sennheiser, Apr 25, 2016
      turbomustang84 likes this.
    4. daduy
      Thanks for the giving me the chance to listen Rosmadi! They are definitely a fine headphone! :)
      daduy, Apr 25, 2016
  4. Brooko
    Sennheiser HD630 VB – Deserving of the HD6XX classification
    Written by Brooko
    Published Mar 8, 2016
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Comfort, build quality, overall design, variable bass implementation, SQ (very good), balanced frequency range, control system
    Cons - Weight, size (for a portable), non-removable short cable, somewhat bulky carry case, pricey
    630vb07.jpg
    For larger views of any of the photos (1200 x 800) - please click on the individual images

    INTRODUCTION

    I’ve loved Sennheiser products for a long time now. The very first headphone I owned was a pair of Sennheiser eh250, and by the time I finished with them (many years later), they only needed a new pair of pads, and I passed them onto a friend (who as far as I know still uses them). I’ve owned 3 pairs of HD600s (latest pair will never be sold – I was always trying to search for something better, but I’ve come to the realisation that for what they do, there is nothing better - for me anyway). Long term owners of the HD600 or HD650 (who have experienced a lot of other headphones) will recognise this. There is something about these two classic headphones which still makes them a staple recommendation for music lovers. Along the way, I’ve also extensively demoed or owned the HD598, HD650, HD700 and HD800 (which I will someday probably purchase).

    So when Sennheiser announced a new product a while back I guess many of us were looking for either a step up from the HD800 or maybe an upgrade to the HD6xx line. I don’t think many were looking at a closed HD6xx series though, and when it was first announced by Jude, I joined the discussion thread early – quite intrigued by the HD630 designation. One thing I was surprised at (in the thread) was how many people wrote them off or derided them based on looks, and also the inclusion of variable bass. Many thought it was a gimmick, and perhaps that Sennheiser had opted to go mainstream, or that they were losing their track. Me – I just wanted to get the chance to hear them.

    So I was very surprised and gratified when Rosmadi reached out to me to ask if I’d be interested in having a listen to a pair, and writing my thoughts about them. Naturally I jumped at the chance, and the HD630VB duly arrived in early February. Since they arrived, I’ve listened to them as often as I can – not only for the purposes of the review, but because I’ve genuinely enjoyed using them.

    So kick back and I’ll try to give you an idea of their good points, and areas where they could be improved, and more importantly the sound.

    DISCLAIMER
    The Sennheiser HD630VB was provided to me as a loaner review sample. At the end of the review, I am supposed to send them back to Sennheiser (read conclusion for an update on that). I am not affiliated to Sennheiser, and this is my subjective opinion of the HD630VB.

    The HD630VB can be sourced from Amazon for USD 500 at the time of writing. You can find Sennheiser's product page here

    PREAMBLE - 'ABOUT ME'.
    (This is to give any readers a baseline for interpreting the review).


    I'm a 48 year old music lover. I don't say audiophile – I just love my music. Over the last couple of years, I have slowly changed from cheaper listening set-ups to my current set-up. I vary my listening from portables (FiiO X5ii, X3ii, X7 and iPhone 5S) to my desk-top's set-up (PC > USB > iFi iDSD). I also use a portable set-up at work – either X3ii/X7 > HP, or PC > E17K > HP. My main full sized headphones at the time of writing are the Beyer T1, Sennheiser HD600, and AKG K553. Most of my portable listening is done with IEMs, and lately it has mainly been with the Jays q-Jays, Alclair Curve and Adel U6. A full list of the gear I have owned (past and present is listed in my Head-Fi profile).

    I have very eclectic music tastes listening to a variety from classical/opera and jazz, to grunge and general rock. I listen to a lot of blues, jazz, folk music, classic rock, indie and alternative rock. I am particularly fond of female vocals. I generally tend toward cans that are relatively neutral/balanced, but I do have a fondness for clarity, and suspect I might have slight ‘treble-head’ preferences. I am not treble sensitive (at all), and in the past have really enjoyed headphones like the K701, SR325i, and of course the T1 and DT880.

    I have extensively tested myself (ABX) and I find aac256 or higher to be completely transparent. I do use exclusively red-book 16/44.1 if space is not an issue. All of my music is legally purchased (mostly CD – the rest FLAC purchased on-line). I tend to be sceptical about audiophile ‘claims’, don’t generally believe in burn-in, have never heard a difference with different cables, and would rather test myself blind on perceived differences. I am not a ‘golden eared listener’. I suffer from mild tinnitus, and at 48, my hearing is less than perfect.

    Over the last 5 weeks I’ve used the HD630VB paired with most of the sources I have at my disposal – but primarily from my iPhone 5S, X3ii + E17K combo, X5ii (often with new hybrid valve portable amp), and either X7 or L5 Pro. But for the review I’ve used my main work horses – the X3ii + E17K, and also the X7. In the time I’ve been using the HD630VB, I haven’t noticed any sonic change which could be attributed to “burn-in” (unless you’re talking about brain burn-in). I‘ve used the HD630VB coupled with several different amplifiers, but they are easily driven, and will pair nicely with most sources straight from the headphone out.

    This is a purely subjective review - my gear, my ears, and my experience. Please take it all with a grain of salt - especially if it does not match your own experience.

    THE REVIEW

    Please excuse the photographs this time. I need to get a bigger light box, so for this review I’ve mainly taken the photos in natural light.

    PACKAGING AND ACCESSORIES
    The HD630VB arrived in a reasonable large retail hinged lid box measuring 240 x 255 x 132 mm. On the front is the traditional blue “splash” and Sennheiser logo, a picture of the HD630VB, and the cryptic comment “Ace Your Bass”. On the sides are the package contents and other information, while the rear has some of the features listed (in 7 languages), and also the primary specifications. The outer packaging is definitely typical Sennheiser in appearance – stylish and classy.

    630vb01.jpg 630vb02.jpg 630vb03.jpg

    The largish retail box

    Rear of the box

    First look inside


    Flipping the hinged lid open exposes the carry case safely nestled in form fitting foam, and there is foam protection on the inner lid also. The carry case is black fabric (almost like a fine mesh weave) over a hardened inner, and then covered in soft fabric on the inside. IMO it gives pretty good protection, and has a nicely laid out interior. The only issue – and it is really due to the size of the HD630VB – is the size of the “portable” case. At approx. 21 cm in diameter and almost 12 cm in depth, it’s going to take a sizeable chunk of room in your travel bag. Never-the-less it’s a good case, and I’ve still used it for travel so far (the protection factor is well worth it). In addition you get a 3.5–6.3mm adaptor and both a quick guide and safety guide fold-out pamphlets.

    630vb04.jpg 630vb05.jpg 630vb06.jpg

    The carry / travel case

    Very good protection inside

    The HD630VB, case and accessories



    I possibly would have liked to have seen (for this price range) spare pads, an airline adaptor, and an alternate cable. But overall the accessories and packaging are well presented.

    TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS
    (From Sennheiser)

    I’ve listed the main specifications for the HD630VB below.
    Type
    Closed Circumaural Headphone
    Current Retail
    ~ USD $500 (Amazon)
    Freq Range
    10 Hz – 42 kHz
    Impedance
    23 ohm
    Sensitivity
    114 dB (1 kHz / 1 Vrm)
    Total Harmonic Distortion
    <0.08% (1 kHz , 100 dB)
    Jack
    3.5mm gold plated, 4 pole, straight
    Cable
    1.2m, fixed
    Total Weight
    420g (with cable)
    Variable bass settings
    + / - 5 dB at 50 Hz


    FREQUENCY GRAPH
    I don’t usually measure full sized headphones - mainly because my measurements system is designed for IEMs. Although the measurements do work, I know I get a spike between 4-5 kHz (it’s there on the HD600 also) which isn’t actually present, and the upper mid-range and treble areas are patchy. Nevertheless I wanted to use my rig (you can read about some of it here to see how my graphs differed with those from the readings Jude took. I also wanted to see for myself the effect the variable bass was actually having.

    So I’ve included my own graph on the very simple Veritas (+ my own basic head simulator with no outer ear compensation), and on the bottom is Jude’s GRAS 45CA measurement. Both of them are showing raw data. I resized the graph to compare as closely as possible with Jude’s measurements. Overall I’m actually not unhappy with the results I got. The 4-5 kHz measurements on mine can be completely disregarded, and I show greater low bass hump and less of a mid-bass drop – but basically the shapes are similar and that is what I wanted to check.

    Paulgraph.png
    Judegraph.png


    But let’s record (subjectively) what I’m hearing – with the variable bass at mid-dial.

    1. Linear bass response which is very well extended with no real emphasis at all in the mid-bass.
    2. Pretty flat mid-range with what I suspect is a slight rise in the 2-4 kHz area as female vocals in particular show a really nice sense of euphony or sweetness.
    3. Very clean lower treble – with a peak (graph shows about 8 kHz) that at times can be a little sharp (with brighter recordings) – but balances out with the variable bass adjustment.
    4. Overall an extremely clean and clear headphone, which lends more toward brightness until you crank the variable bass up – more on that later.
    5. Overall though I would call the HD630VB a nicely balanced headphone and this is not the bass monster people were predicting. It actually reminds me a lot of the HD600 – but without the mid-bass. And at times I’d even say it is very reminiscent of my T1. The HD630VB has a similarly vivid presentation.

    BUILD / DESIGN / CONTROLS
    I guess one of the first things that struck me when I saw the HD630VB for the first time was the size (they are a reasonably big headphone), and the second thing I though was how the pictures I’d seen so far don’t really do them justice. IMO they are a really nice looking headphone up close.

    But let’s take a closer look. Starting with the headband, you get a 22.5 cm outer band with a stainless centre top piece with the Sennheiser name close to the left cup. There are rubber edges, and on the underside a very well-padded cushion similar in shape to the HD650 cushion – except in very soft pleather. With the head band flexibility, I’d be willing to bet there is sprung steel on the inside. The extenders are also made of steel with a rubber centre guide, and each arm extends a further 4cm. There are distinct clicks on each extender, and the action is both very smooth and quite firm.

    630vb08.jpg 630vb09.jpg 630vb10.jpg

    The HD630VB

    Cups rotate completely flat - headband very plush

    Extenders very sturdy and also firm



    Below the extenders is an aluminium alloy encased hinge mechanism with a decent sized screw in both ends. This allows the cups to fully fold into the headband for storage. Below this is a two way hinged single yoke (again extremely solid aluminium alloy), which allows the cups to pivot around 10 degrees forward (to adjust for ear/head angle), but a full 90 degrees backward so that they can lie flat (either worn or for storage). Where the yoke attached to the cup, there is also a full up down movement spanning about 45 degrees, so getting a perfect seal, no matter what your head shape, is easily achievable.

    The cups are the same aluminium alloy on the exterior, although the right cup has a dark hard rubber centre for the volume and playback controls. The pads have an exterior diameter of 9.5 cm, interior diameter of approximately 6cm and a depth of approximately 2cm. The pads are made of a very soft pleather over memory foam, and have a read cover over the driver. The pads are replaceable. The driver itself is slightly offset (above the vertical centre of the cup) but flat (not angled).

    630vb11.jpg 630vb12.jpg 630vb13.jpg

    Cups rotate across all axis for perfect fit

    Extremely robust hinges

    Single mount yoke



    On the right hand cup, the entire rear panel is actually a dial which allows you to change the bass response at 50 Hz by approximately -5 to + 5dB (10 dB swing). The action on this dial is incredibly smooth, and what it does in giving you control over tonality is amazing (more on that shortly). The inner part of the dial features s a simple 3 button arrangement. The top and bottom buttons control volume. The centre button controls play/pause, and a double click will advance one track, while triple will reverse one track. At the very bottom of the right hand cup is a switch for adjusting the controls between iOS and Android. All of the controls worked perfectly on both my wife’s Galaxy S3 and my iPhone 5S with the exception that triple click to go back a track did not work on Tania’s S3. One of the nice things about integration with the iPhone is that pressing and holding the centre button on the headset gives access to Siri – so you can then voice control your entire library.

    630vb14.jpg 630vb15.jpg 630vb16.jpg

    Right earpiece control mechanism (VB and device control)

    The very comfortable pads

    Driver configuration (off-centre)



    The right cup also houses the single sided fixed cable. The cable is 1.2m long has good strain relief, is relatively light, has a well-placed microphone and terminates with a 3.5mm 4 pole straight gold plated jack. I actually don’t have too many issues with the quality of the cable. It seems to be reasonably well built, has a satiny rubber jacket, and the jack is very portable device friendly. The problem I do have though is that it is fixed, and it is a single length. And for me, 1.2m is almost too short for desktop use. For a headphone in this price bracket, personally the one major thing I’d change would be the cable. When you look at the overall quality and aesthetics of the rest of the headphone, the fixed cable is simply puzzling.

    630vb17.jpg 630vb19.jpg 630vb20.jpg

    Built for comfort with great padding

    The in-line microphone (good quality)

    4 pole straight jack



    The included microphone is very good quality, and I’ve used these for calls both home and also to clients. Clarity is extremely good.

    Overall the build is staggeringly good, and it looks pretty stylish (in my home environment). But now let’s take a look at fit, comfort, isolation and aesthetics (for portable use).

    FIT / COMFORT / ISOLATION / AESTHETICS
    For me personally, the fit and comfort of the HD630VB is really good. I’ve been wearing them for 3-4 hour stretches, and apart from a bit of warmth (typical of most closed headphones on a hot day), there is no discomfort at all. This comes with a caveat though. I’m a big guy – 6 foot, and currently carrying probably too much weight. The HD630VB is 420g with the cable intact, and that is a reasonably heavy weight to be sitting on your head for any length of time. Both my wife and daughter found them too heavy. They are reasonably solid when worn, I do notice the weight, but at the same time the actual weight distribution is pretty good so I’m not feeling discomfort.
    As I said earlier, the pads are soft yet provide a firm seal, and the multi-rotation points of the cups allow for a perfect fit. The cups are also big enough to be fully circumaural, and deep enough so that my ears never get anywhere near the drivers.

    Passive isolation is also quite good for a closed headphone, and with music playing at a comfortable level I usually don’t hear anyone around me. They would be good enough for car travel, and should be OK for louder public transport (within reason) – I think this will depend on your normal listening volume. The cable also has quite low microphonics which is good.

    630vb24.jpg 630vb23.jpg 630vb25.jpg

    My son Mathew with the HD630VB

    The padding really helps distribute the weight well

    Easy to use - Mat loves them



    Now the interesting question of aesthetics. I think that some people were created who naturally look good with big portable headphones. These same people are often blessed with clean “model” looks. I am not one of those people – and although I’ve worn he HD630VB in public, even my wife (you can tell we have a great relationship) has told me I look a bit goofy with them on. So when I’m out and about, I’ll usually take something which is a little easier to get around with. Don’t get me wrong though the HD630VB is a pretty attractive headphone – just not on this head. So for me, I’d personally get most use at home, traveling (hotel rooms etc.), or those times when I just don’t really give a hoot what I look like (as I age this is becoming more common). And again – this is one of the reasons why it would be great to have the choice of a longer cable – and I am sure there will be others like me.

    SOUND QUALITY
    The following is what I hear from the Sennheiser HD630VB. YMMV – and probably will – as my tastes are likely different to yours (read the preamble I gave earlier for a baseline). Most of the testing at this point (unless otherwise stated) was done with my Fiio X3ii as source paired with the E17K, no EQ. For the record – on most tracks, the volume level on the E17K was around 20-24/60 which was giving me an average SPL around 70-75 dB and peaks at around 80-85dB (A weighted measurements from my SPL meter).

    630vb26.jpg

    Tracks used were across a variety of genres – and can be viewed in this list http://www.head-fi.org/a/brookos-test-tracks.

    When I first thought about how to write this part – especially how to write about the variable bass, I had an “ahh-hah” moment (the lightbulb switched on), and I decided the easiest way to do it was to just let you know track by track which settings I used and why.

    Variable Bass
    As I showed earlier, by twisting the dial that makes up the right hand side outer ear piece cover, you can very easily adjust the bass at 50 Hz either -5dB or + 5dB from its neutral or central position. This also affects lower bass quite a bit more, and subtly increases mid-bass. The other thing it does is (perceptually) is warm up the overall tonality, or lean it up – depending on the original position of the dial. For me the far greatest effect is in the very last segment on the dial (where it is possible to go from a reasonably linear and slightly bright (and mid-range dominated) signature to a bassier and warmer signature which takes the edge off the mid-range, and really darkens up the tone quite a bit. For me, the advantage of this (and it really is brilliant) is that where I have an album which is mastered slightly too brightly, I can very quickly EQ it to a practically perfect setting with one twist, and then with a darker track, quickly add mid-range clarity by going in the opposite direction. I didn’t appreciate this feature until I started using it regularly – and it really is extremely well implemented!

    Initial Thoughts
    When I first listened to the HD630VB it was a bit of a revelation. I don’t know what I was expecting, but an extremely articulate, refined, balanced and clean headphone was what I got – and I loved it from first listen. In a lot of ways it reminds me of the PM3 or indeed the Beyer T1 in that the mid-range is really vivid and at times can even be a little hot (depending on the recording). But the beauty is the VB and the ability to change the entire signature very quickly. I know when I was reading Jude’s introduction on it, he said that he every seldom uses the deepest bass level, and I guess I am a bit the opposite. This could be due to the tracks I listen to – but I’ve found myself more often than not living in the bottom third of the dial, and only venturing to mid-way or toward the lighter end with quite dark tracks.

    Overall Detail / Clarity / Resolution
    Tracks used: “Gaucho”, “Sultans of Swing”

    With Gaucho I’m exactly ½ way on the dial, although one segment toward the bassier side of things also sounds glorious. The key word with this track is balance, and it really is there beautifully. The vocals on the backing singers, and also the sax are brilliantly portrayed, with enough lift to be thoroughly enjoyable, yet not getting to that point where it is annoyingly bright. The detail is spectacular, and what I love in particular are the cymbal overtones.

    Sultans starts a little brighter, and the first thing I thought was that Mark’s vocals were just a little thin. Two segments toward the bassier side and it’s almost perfect – but the bass guitar is a just a little strong. Back it off half a segment – perfection. The little drum stick clicks are there, the cymbals again have this wonderfully extended decay, and the lead guitar crunch or edge is simply dynamic.

    Sound-stage & Imaging
    Tracks used: “Tundra”, “Dante’s Prayer”, “Let it Rain”

    Tundra is up first, and it is straight back to mid-way on the dial again, and this is again perfect. Beautifully clear, pin-point imaging, and everything in its place. The stage itself is intimate – there is more a sense of width than depth, but it’s not really getting beyond my head space.

    Dante’s prayer was next and I left the dial where it was at mid-way. This track is breath-taking, and again the overall balance and tonality is there. McKennitt's vocals are ethereal, beautifully sweet, and when the cello kicks in – goose bumps. Part way through I thought the cello didn’t quite have the depth, so a quick tweak of the dial – and again that feeling of balance and control is there. Imaging is again very good (I know this performance well from watching the actual performance on video before) – but it is a very intimate stage. When the applause starts at the end, there is a sense of immersion, but again there is more width than depth.

    The final track is Amanda Marshall’s “Let It Rain” and I use it for two reasons – it has been miked to give a holographic feel (which the HD630VB nails completely – a real sense of instruments being around me), and it’s a good track to test sibilance (I know it is in the recording). At mid-way, the track is far too hot, and the sibilance is very noticeable. This time the dial is all the way to max bass, and immediate relief. I could listen to this track (or the entire album) in its entirety. The sibilance is still there but it has been blunted enough to make it very listenable. And the best part is that sense of the music being around you, or indeed the overall balance of the track, hasn’t diminished at all.

    Bass Quality and Quantity
    Tracks used: “Bleeding Muddy Waters”, “Royals”

    Back to ½ way for Lanegan’s track, and nope – not enough impact. One segment short of max and it’s a really good mix of impact and tonality. Bass texture is really good too – just the right amount of gravel in Mark’s vocal performance. The mid-bass is giving good thump without being at all muddy or any signs of bleed.

    Time to test sub-bass, and I left the bass dial where it was. Again a perfect mix of impact of vocal clarity (and Ella’s vocals are incredibly euphonic with this setting), and bass impact. When the sub bass kicks in, there is some genuine rumble there – it is not overdone at all. At the maximum setting it reaches even lower – but for my tastes just a little too overdone.

    Female Vocals
    Tracks used: “Aventine”, “Strong”, “For You”, “The Bad In Each Other”, “Howl”, “Safer”, “Light as a Feather”

    I already knew how good the HD630VB was with female vocals (it is incredible – let’s not try and be coy), and the great thing about it is the control you have over setting the tonality for your mood. Obel’s track Aventine is as good as I’ve heard it at ½ way setting, but a little more bass really brings the cello out, and all without affecting he gorgeous vocal presentation.

    With London Grammar, the recording is a little slower and Hannah’s pitch a little lower, so it’s back to ½ way again (or one extra segment of bass – depending on how I’m feeling), and this setting seems to suit Norah beautifully as well. With Feist's higher register and dynamic contrast with the bass, I go one segment further. Magic. And Cilmi’s track Safer is once more goose-bump inducing, and that is the consistent feeling with all of my female artists. The HD630VB reminds me so much of the HD600 in this respect, or even the T1. It really is vocal presentation done incredibly right.

    Male Vocals
    Tracks used: “Away From the Sun”, “Art for Art’s Sake”, “Broken Wings”, “Diary of Jayne”, “Hotel California”, “Keith Don’t Go”, “EWBTCIAST”

    This is the bit where the bass adjustment is utterly brilliant, and for virtually all the tracks I leave it at one segment from max, and occasionally on max. The only issue with full bass can sometimes be the bass guitar getting slightly overblown or boomy, but if you get to that point, just back it off a bit.

    3 Door’s Down’s “Away From the Sun” has its usual expansive rock anthem feel, and shows true balance and wonderful coherency throughout – bass quality, lower mid-range with Todd’s vocals, and upper mid-range with the guitar crunch.

    One of the revelations was with some of the older classic rock I have (10CC), and the mid-range clarity combined with the ability to add a little more bottom end really mixes well with some of these older tracks. Contrast this with the much faster guitar based hard rock of Breaking Benjamin, and you really get to appreciate just how good the drivers are. Brilliant articulation of the complexity of the music, and again no signs of smearing or blurring.
    Switching to acoustic music (Eagles / Lofgren) and again another side to the HD630VB. Acoustic guitar is almost as good with the 630VB as it is with the venerable HD600, and from me that is very high praise. Henley’s vocals are pitch perfect. Again I could listen to this presentation for hours.

    My final test is always Pearl Jam though – Vedder is my test for timbre and tonality. If I can get an emotional connection, I know the headphones are on my short-list. I had to go almost toward the end of the dial on this test track (it is on the bright side) but it is worth it. There is a very faint hollowness which detracts slightly, but everything else is brilliant. Eddie’s vocals are deep, rich, and wonderful – yet all the mid-range and lower treble details of this particular track aren’t compromised in the slightest. The cymbals have the same shimmer. Truly enjoyable.

    Other Genre Specific Notes
    Again for tracks, albums, artists – please refer to this list: http://www.head-fi.org/a/brookos-test-tracks

    Alt Rock – OMG yes, yes, yes. Floyd is brilliant. Too often tracks like DSOTM’s Money are veiled when a headphone can’t articulate the upper mid-range enough. The HD630VB are as clear as a bell, and this is repeated with Porcupine Tree. With both tracks, I’m one segment off centre with the bass, and it is a wonderful presentation.

    Jazz / Blues – Fantastic. Again it is the combination of mid-range tonality, and the beautifully clear presentation of lower treble detail which makes the HD630VB so good to listen to. Then just dial the level of bass you personally like. Both Portico Quartet and Miles were brilliant to listen to and when I switched briefly to Mingus – let’s just say later I went back and listened to the full album. I hadn’t played any bluegrass for a while so I briefly dabbled with Union Station and Krauss – and all I’ll say is that with stringed instruments, the HD630VB almost has a Grado like clarity. And that is compliment enough I think.

    Hip-hop / EDM / Trance – First up I cranked the bass all the way to max and there is quite a bit of impact with the HD630VB. But max setting can get very slightly boomy – not really to my liking. So I sacrificed a little impact for clarity by backing off one segment. I still found it really enjoyable, but I’m not sure those seeking massive bass will get enough from the HD630VB. For most though there should be more than enough. Little Dragon was excellent though (female vocals again) and a perfect example of how well the Senns are tuned. Although a lot of people may not like the easy going nature of The Flashbulb (for electronica), this was one of the bands I absolutely adored with the HD630VB. Again a perfect mix of bass, and mid-range detail.

    Pop / Indie – And this is where I really love the variable bass. Some of Adele’s music really isn’t that well recorded, even though I adore her vocal range and presentation. Add a bit of lower end warmth and it just takes the edge off the recording. Likewise with Snow Patrol (some of their music can be a little dark), keep the dial at mid-way and the balance and clarity is there. For indie the HD630VB is a tweakers dream. Band of Horses can be a little bright and have almost too much heat. Maximise the bass and the warmth just masks the mastering deficiencies, but without losing clarity.

    Classical / Opera – Bright and airy for string sections at the mid-way point. Perfectly pitched with a little added bass for solo piano (Kempff was brilliant with Moonlight Sonata – my mother’s favourite piece). I really did enjoy the HD630VB with everything I ran through it from Julia Fischer's solo mastery to the soaring heights of Netrebko and Garanca (although confession time – I upped the bass to take the edge off Netrebko at louder volumes). The enjoyment was there throughout though.

    The HD630VB are genre masters in my opinion. A one-stop headphone, with you controlling the finer points.

    COMPARISONS
    Normally at this stage I’d be listing a few comparable headphones, but because the HD630VB is so unique, I’ve been struggling to think what I would include.

    630vb27.jpg

    Probably the headphone which makes the most sense for a comparison is the HD600, and describing both the similarities and differences. The first thing I immediately noticed when I first swapped was how light the HD600 are in comparison, and how ultimately comfortable they are. And it’s not that the 630VB are uncomfortable, it’s just the additional weight. I hadn’t noticed when wearing them throughout my listening sessions, but I do notice as soon as you do the direct compare. The second thing of course is the soundstage differences, with the HD600 being a lot more open and expansive – where the HD630VB is definitely more intimate.

    Sonically though it is really amazing how close these two headphones ultimately sound. The HD630VB has a little more vividness in the mid-range, and it’s just a little more alive and edgy – whereas the HD600 has that beautifully laidback nature I absolutely treasure. Both have a very clear and clean lower treble, and no signs of real peakiness. And then of course there is the difference in the bass where it depends on where you have the dial set. Generally though the HD630VB has a little extra low-bass, a little more overall impact, and very slight hollowness that I didn’t pick up at all until I compared with the HD600.

    They are definitely from the same family though and Sennheiser has done a masterful job of keeping enough of the overall family tonality to be accurate in using the HD6xx designation.

    SENNHEISER HD630VB – SUMMARY

    So it’s time to sum up, and if you can’t tell already, I love these headphones.

    The HD630VB is an extremely well built full sized closed circumaural headphone with very good comfort – there are some slight caveats though. Firstly, at over 420g, they are pretty heavy – especially for a headphone intended to be mainly portable. So if you are of slight build, you may just want to think twice or try them first, unless you are very confident in your neck and upper body strength.

    Also, Sennheiser has decided these are portable, to the point that the cable is fixed and only 1.2m. For me personally, I’d be using these more at home than portably, although it would be nice to have both options. And this is where I think they missed an opportunity – a replaceable cable available in two lengths would have been a real selling point. Opportunities missed.

    Sonically though, the HD630VB is incredibly vivid, and beautifully balanced, with an engaging mid-range, and crystal clear presentation that fits very well into the HD6XX family. Undoubtedly though the variable bass is the star of the show, and this is implemented so well, and at such an idea frequency that it really does act as a fine-tuner rather than a (drastic) sound signature changer. Overall resolution is fantastic, and with the ability to add subtle warmth, or brighten an otherwise dull mastering, the HD630VB are indeed genre masters.

    And now we get to “the elephant in the room”. The HD630VB are not cheap, and at $500 there are probably some fantastic alternatives out there. But despite that, I’m smitten with the configurability, tonality, and overall sound quality of this excellent headphone. While I wouldn’t recommend it to everyone, I do think that the features it brings are worth the asking price.

    So a solid 4 stars from me (caveats being the fixed cable, the weight and the fact that it is somewhat expensive). Normally at the end of the review, I’ll be packing this headphone up, contacting Rosmadi and arranging for delivery back to Sennheiser. What I’m pretty sure I’ll be doing (once it is posted), is contacting Rosmadi, and asking if they’d mind me paying it off over the next few months. If not, I’ll be saving to buy a pair.

    I need another headphone like I need a hole in the head, and I’m sure my wife won’t be thrilled. But these are simply to good not to have (for my preferences).

    Well done Sennheiser, and thanks again for the opportunity to be able to listen to and write about this wonderful product.

    RECOMMENDATIONS TO SENNHEISER
    This is actually easy, and if you’ve read through the review you could probably name these points yourself.

    1. If there is any way to take some weight out without compromising build strength, I’d definitely consider it. Even taking 50-70g out would make a difference.
    2. Detachable cable – and in two lengths. Must have.
    3. For the next case, a flatter version – even if it was slightly wider – would be easier for traveling. The cups fold flat, so probably worth considering.

    630vb21.jpg 630vb22.jpg
      Roll, volly, HungryPanda and 16 others like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. Brooko
      Do you want and open or closed head-set?  If you want it for portability - get the 630VB.  If they are only going to be for home use and you'd prefer an open can, stick with the HD600/HD650. 
      Brooko, Jun 14, 2016
    3. yoyorast10
      thanks :) gonna go with the hd650 then
      yoyorast10, Jun 14, 2016
    4. Joeng Zeon
      When I read the specification of HD630VB, I had never thought I would buy this thing. 400g and 5.5~6.8 N contact pressure! But a half price used one made me  take a leap of faith.  Now I had this for more than a month, and I've loved it. It's heavy but acceptable. Solution 1, make it plastic, I'm not a metal lover. Solution 2, make the headband cushion wider, not thicker. Look at that pillow on HE1's headband. I didn't feel my head get crushed thanks to those big thick donut ear cushion.
      One big complaint from many is the non-detachable. I'm ok with that. Sennheiser gave out a video showing the cable replacement. And so far I haven't seen any headphones have a break between remote and jack. What I mean is if you want a detachable cable, then you probably lose the remote on ear cup, and have to make it in-line, like Momentum's. Sennheiser might want some differences from majority.
      Joeng Zeon, Feb 22, 2017
  5. Army-Firedawg
    A great headphone for households with multiple users
    Written by Army-Firedawg
    Published Jan 2, 2016
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Very individualized, strong build, controls work for Apple and Android products
    Cons - Non-detachable cable, case is extremely bulky with no handles for carrying
       20160101_212958.jpg
     
     
     Yet again I find myself having to show a massive token of gratitude and thanks to Bill Poteet from Sennheiser. For he very graciously allowed me to review these very new and very popular offerings from Sennheiser. So my friend I humbly thank you and to Sennheiser keep on making some outstanding products!
     
    The Opening Experience
     
        I unfortunately cannot provide an opening experience section for this headphone for I was delivered a review unit that solely consisted of the headphone and carrying case. But my experience from opening the carrying case was that of “my goodness these things are huge just like the case”.
     
                                                                                          20160101_212939.jpg
     
     
     
    Construction
     
        Other than the absolute top tier models Sennheisers construction has so far been merely acceptable to me, so I didn’t have too high of expectations when I received these. But man was I caught off guard, these cans are built like a tank! I mean absolutely top notch, The HD630vb is built almost exclusively out of very nice aluminum with minimal plastic. The variable bass notch is buttery smooth and feel quite sturdy.
        The cable despite being respectably thick, it feels somewhat cheap to me. I’ve no worries about the construction of it regardless but it just doesn’t feel premium, and what more and this however is HUGE; the cable does NOT detach. It’s one of the only Sennheiser products I’ve tried that has the cable permanently attached. I personally really dislike this for 1.) it removed the ability to add on a better quality cable and by far the most important 2.) if you shear the cable, you’re S.O.L.
        The microphone is built nice and I’ve received no negative feedback about its quality. Another really great thing I’m going to sincerely miss with the HD630vb is the fact that the controls on the side work perfectly with I AND Android products! Lastly on a small side note, these are the first headphones that have the name branded facing the opposite direction. What I mean by this is traditionally (i.e. with EVERY other headphone I've used) the name faces the direction that if you can read it, that's the way you put it on your head. But the HD630vb has Sennheiser facing forward.
     
     
     
      20160101_213044.jpg 20160101_213023.jpg
     
     
             
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
    Comfort
     
        Probably the second most important thing to me just under sound quality. But how long can I comfortably wear these without them providing me any discomfort? When it comes to the HD630vb that’s about 2 hours, which is acceptable but not outstanding. The headband provides just the right amount of give to keep my head off the aluminum band. However the earpads are a bit stiff and add that to the slightly above average clamping force and it can become uncomfortable for some in varying times. As said for me that was usually 2 hours before I had to take them off and take a break.
     
                                                                                         20160101_213141.jpg
     
      
     
     
    Sound
     
        Alas, here we are. The ever hyped and talked about Sennheiser HD630vb with variable bass output. So how to these sound? Well definitely not worse than other products in this price point but certainly not better than everything either.
        The soundstage is respectable, it sounds evenly spaced but the layering within the soundstage is quite impressive. While listening to one of my favorite tracks “Pirates Of The Caribbean” by the Rhapsody Philharmonic I was able to discern each individual instrument for a pretty impressive amount of time. I just wish they didn’t sound so close, they weren’t in my face but I have heard more airy even in the closed back category.
        The imaging and transparency, when I allow them, are very impressive. When I want to be swept away by the music these most certainly will but they won’t force your eyes closed and demand attention. But how about the individual aspects? How will they make you feel?
     
    Treble
     
        I really like the treble in the 630vb. It extends to a very comfortable level but has a really nice smoothness to it. I doesn't sparkle or give me chills but it's just really nice to listen to.
               Now, when I'm using these for gaming everything ties really well in together. The detail reproduction of the higher notes really brought realism to the wind as I raced along on my sparrow in Destiny.
     
    Mids
     
        The mid section isn't really anything to go crazy about. They're about the same as most other headphone within this price point and possess a small but notable dip as to emphasize the treble and bass.
                From a personal non professional standpoint I was honestly a little let down. Sennheiser has always had some of the best mids to me but the HD630vb doesn't stand out to me at all.
     
    Bass
     
        This section I will have to refrain from writing a complete review of seeing the variability in the bass response that relies entirely on which setting the user decides and my choice may be completely different from your.
                Now I can and will provide a summary of the minimum and maximum setting for those will remain the same.
                On the lowest setting the bass response is still moderately forward and present. It's quite controlled with the level of punch it provides and between this and about ⅓ max is where I personally leave it. When it's on its maximum setting the mid-bass and some of the sub-bass is super heavy, WAY more than I like it and actually it is very similar to the Beats Pro but MUCH more controlled and clean. If you're a bass head then the HD630vb on max should satisfy you quite nicely.
     
     
                                                                      20160101_213059.jpg
     
     
     
    Conclusion
     
        The Sennheiser HD630vb most certainly falls into the “fun” category of headphone. They possess a richness about them that is enjoyable to listen to especially with gaming but falls into the range of average when compared to other “audiophile” grade headphone in this price range.
               The variable bass ability can really benefit households that will have multiple users with different flavors of bass enjoyment. The built quality and design give it the ability to stand out from the crowd and ability to handle a house with, younger, audiences.
        My final thoughts is the HD630vb is THE headphone to bring the Beats lovers into the world of hi-fi and I wouldn’t be surprised a bit if that was the intent.
     
    Till next time my friends, no unboxing video for this one but def check out my YouTube review though!
     
     
      pilgrimbilly, trellus and vinokurov like this.