1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

nflj_showcase_replies_on_review_by_x

  1. twiceboss
    gosh the price!
    twiceboss, Sep 16, 2019
  2. mvvRAZ
    Yeahhh it is pretty steep :/ that includes European VAT though, so it is essentially 20% more than it would be if it were in the US for example
    mvvRAZ, Sep 16, 2019
  3. charleski
    Is there a particular reason why you said it was expensive but didn't tell us the actual price? It's €2900 for those who were wondering. --And no, obliging readers to do a google search for important information isn't satisfactory.
    charleski, Sep 17, 2019
  4. mvvRAZ
    Ehmmm I generally try to stay away from information that is a google search away. The only info that I included in the whole review that isn't related to my experience with the purchase is that VE is based in Germany, but that's about it
    mvvRAZ, Sep 17, 2019
  5. Frankie D
    Excellent review. I would love you to do a more detailed comparison to the VE 8 in every category if you own one. Tks
    Frankie D, Sep 17, 2019
  6. mvvRAZ
    [USER=504673]@Frankie D[/USER] I'm afraid I was only working from memory here so it would be quite hard to do a detailed comparison of the two. However I will be travelling to Cologne sometime soon for a business trip and I might be able to visit VE then and write it up more properly
    mvvRAZ, Sep 17, 2019
    Frankie D likes this.
  7. Giullian
    Really nice review mate. Tried it once and really liked it, was magic too. But the price...oh this price.
    Giullian, Sep 18, 2019
    mvvRAZ likes this.
  8. mvvRAZ
    [USER=481626]@Giullian[/USER] I know buddy, but well, it's 2k19 flagships.... what can you do haha
    mvvRAZ, Sep 18, 2019
  9. Erfan Elahi
    So as per detail retrieval, the U18t is on the same level? But what about the soundstage and treble extensions. Based on EST highs, the Elysium should give more extension I suppose ?
    Erfan Elahi, Oct 21, 2019
  10. mvvRAZ
    [USER=476468]@Erfan Elahi[/USER] on the detail retrieval - I think the Elysium is able to deliver a bit more detail in the upper midrange, while the A18t does that in the lower midrange as it has more bass and is able to deliver that weight As to the highs, 64’s tia driver is able to deliver pretty good treble imo, but the A18t is somewhat drier, while the Elysium has more sparkle. They both have wonderful extension though
    mvvRAZ, Oct 21, 2019
    Erfan Elahi likes this.
  11. Erfan Elahi
    [USER=513448]@mvvRAZ[/USER] bit more details, more sparkle with extension - so that's coming form the magic of EST. Alright, that helps :-)
    Erfan Elahi, Oct 21, 2019
  12. mvvRAZ
    [USER=476468]@Erfan Elahi[/USER] VE took a relatively conservative approach when tuning the estats imo as the treble isn’t that typical hot, spiky in-your-face estat treble that many tribrids have. It serves more as a complement to the midrange that is able to pull off an amazing solo every now and then
    mvvRAZ, Oct 21, 2019
    Erfan Elahi likes this.
  13. Erfan Elahi
    [USER=513448]@mvvRAZ[/USER] talking of ESTs, there are many choices in the market now. It could be great if someone could also compare the BGVP ES12 with high-end flagships like the VE or Jomo Trinity... Anyways, thanks again for all your comments :-)
    Erfan Elahi, Oct 21, 2019
    mvvRAZ likes this.
  14. mvvRAZ
    I haven't heard the BGVP, EST12, but lower priced estats will be great to have Most companies essentially have their TOTL be a lower-priced model + an estat or some other treble driver, and that estat is pretty much costing you an extra 1000 euros. Hurts to love treble :D
    mvvRAZ, Oct 22, 2019
    Erfan Elahi likes this.
  15. Erfan Elahi
    [USER=513448]@mvvRAZ[/USER] well it's just curiosity how lower priced ESTs are doing ! That's the true fun of this hobby right? Compare as wider you can... ;-)
    Erfan Elahi, Oct 22, 2019
    mvvRAZ likes this.
  16. mvvRAZ
    [USER=476468]@Erfan Elahi[/USER] it sure is buddy! I think the EST tech only just getting started and I'm sure it will deliver insane results in the year/years to come
    mvvRAZ, Oct 22, 2019
    Erfan Elahi likes this.
  17. Erfan Elahi
    How is it for metal? Specially very fast and congested bands like Equilibrium, DragonForce or Dimmu Borgir for example? May be this is a stupid question because at flagship level, it is expected to perform all genres perfectly, but still checking (!) Also, isn't elysium the custom and erlkönig the universal?
    Erfan Elahi, Oct 24, 2019
  18. mvvRAZ
    [USER=476468]@Erfan Elahi[/USER] I listen to relatively little metal, but I personally really enjoy the experience. Detail retrieval and instrumental separation are of the highest level on the Elysium. It is also a pretty calm IEM, where both the bass and the treble are pretty neutral, and all the focus goes on the midrange
    mvvRAZ, Oct 24, 2019
    Erfan Elahi likes this.
  19. Erfan Elahi
    [USER=513448]@mvvRAZ[/USER] that helps enough, thanks again :-)
    Erfan Elahi, Oct 24, 2019
    mvvRAZ likes this.
  20. Spie1904
    [USER=476468]@Erfan Elahi[/USER] Did you end up trying it? I also listen to lots of metal and I'm interested in either VE8 or Elysium. @MvvrRAZ How is classical or orchestral music on this? Example: The album of Hans Zimmer 'The world of Hans Zimmer'.
    Spie1904, Dec 5, 2019 at 8:39 AM
  21. mvvRAZ
    Hey [USER=491190]@Spie1904[/USER] , I don't listen to a whole lot of classical, but violins sound absolutely exceptional on the Elysium. The texture of the midrange, combined with the treble extention are a dream come true The Elysium also has a noticeably lifted subbass, which should more than cover your classical music necessities.
    mvvRAZ, Dec 6, 2019 at 7:25 AM
    Erfan Elahi and Spie1904 like this.