1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

nflj_showcase_replies_on_review_by_x

  1. PeteSTRADAMUS
    That amp looks pretty sweet in the dark shots.
    PeteSTRADAMUS, Jul 18, 2019
    BreadMaster, iBo0m and Playbootsy like this.
  2. iBo0m
    This is some serious gear with a very decent design :D I'm a bit surprised about the hiss issues and that there's no option to optimize this. It's quite annoying when it happens to your favorite IEMs/cans...
    iBo0m, Jul 20, 2019
  3. project86
    Well to be fair, a bit of hiss on sensitive headphones/iems from a massive tube amp pushing 5 watts per channel is not at all unexpected. In fact I would be pretty shocked if it didn't happen.
    project86, Jul 20, 2019
    iBo0m likes this.
  4. ericohgb
    Thanks a lot for the review. BTW, where have you had your K812 modded? Best, Érico.
    ericohgb, Jul 22, 2019
  5. Pharmaboy
    Thanks for a definitive review of this amp. Everything a potential owner of the amp could want to know is right here. Re a 24-stepped pot: I've had trouble w/pots like this in the past. Depending on the exact amp/HP/DAC combination, it's too easy to get trapped in the bottom 1-2 steps w/far too much volume above. If I was in the market for this amp, I would be asking Cayin to upgrade the 24-stepped pot to a DACT unit or 47-step Goldpoint pot. Great review!
    Pharmaboy, Jul 22, 2019
  6. project86
    My K812 was modded by Peterek who seems to have either retired or taken a hiatus from the biz.
    project86, Jul 22, 2019
  7. Khronos
    Wonder how this would drive KSC-75s.
    Khronos, Aug 23, 2019
  8. zeissiez
    I heard this amp in a number of occasions with Utopia, HD800, LCD4, Susvara, HE1000. It has a typical 300B sound. Directly compared to a great SS amp like the AGD HE9, this amp has a sound which emerges from the bottom. Not that the tonality less neutral, but the soundscape seems more rooted to the ground than being floating in the air. And by comparison, I actually like this amp better than my Eddie Current BA, and the best SS amp I heard, the HE9. Definitely one of the very best amps around.
    zeissiez, Sep 16, 2019 at 5:35 PM