1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

nflj_showcase_replies_on_review_by_x

  1. ezekiel77
    A review to end all reviews. What a wonderful read it has been!
    ezekiel77, Mar 6, 2019
  2. PeteSTRADAMUS
    You had me at soundstage, didn't even read the rest, and I love that Zeppelin song. I gotta try these out. If the soundstage sounds anything like the Hifiman Susvara I'll be blown away, believe that.
    PeteSTRADAMUS, Mar 8, 2019
    Redcarmoose likes this.
  3. CyberAthlete
    Wonderful review! I have to agree that these are the best IER i have also heard in my life. I heard them at CES. At their current price it's too much for me to pull the trigger on them, but they're worth it if you can afford them.
    CyberAthlete, Mar 8, 2019
    Redcarmoose and F700 like this.
  4. F700
    Audio porn. Should I buy these? No. Do I need to buy these? No. Do I want to hear these? Yes. Because of the dedication and passion you put into this review. Enjoy your set-up!
    F700, Mar 8, 2019
    Sp12er3 and Redcarmoose like this.
  5. alpha421
    Most joyful read. You got a knack for this review format. Sony should refund you every penny for this level of quality read and promotion. Although, I was a little disappointed to see China instead of Japan on the cable for an iem of this caliber. A $4-5K Sony iem is close at hand - LOL. You are indeed the Sony aficionado. Great work.
    alpha421, Mar 9, 2019
    Redcarmoose and Sp12er3 like this.
  6. Sp12er3
    Fantastic read, man first time I didn't get bored to sleep with long ass written review. You have way with words, man~
    Sp12er3, Mar 9, 2019
    Redcarmoose likes this.
  7. sunneebear
    This is the first time that I actually read through such a long winded review and I only dozed off once. Well that was because I took the blue pill so not your fault.
    sunneebear, Mar 9, 2019
    Redcarmoose and Sp12er3 like this.
  8. Redcarmoose
    @https://[URL="http://www.head-fi.org/members/120737/"]www.head-fi.org/members/120737/[/URL] Well, yes it could be a different cable, but even if the cable was from another place, I may not like it so much. The cable is nice! Also it’s standard for Sony cables to be made elsewhere. Z5, Thailand, I think? But I think you have to try and get a feel for the overall quality regardless of where it’s made? IMO.
    Redcarmoose, Mar 9, 2019
    Sp12er3 likes this.
  9. Redcarmoose
    [URL]https://www.head-fi.org/members/jayf.404893/[/URL]
That subject is going to rest entirely on your sound preference. The cradle will not change the tone, only slight added detail of a very small percentage. The Carbon USB also seems to add treble detail, but a very small amount? Crazy as it sounds you would probably like the 1A the best. People that are after a reference tone are going to be happy with the 1A.
    Redcarmoose, Mar 9, 2019
  10. Redcarmoose
    [URL]https://www.head-fi.org/members/jayf.404893/[/URL]
The IER-Z1R adds so much of the intrinsic qualities of the 1Z when used with the 1A, it’s not funny. I would actually suggest people get the IER-Z1R and 1A combo first, as it is the best value and most middle of the road.Though the 1Z is great too, the TA is dark and not for everyone. I just like the imaging with the TA. But the TA is also dependent on which headphones you use.
    Redcarmoose, Mar 9, 2019
    Sp12er3 likes this.
  11. Redcarmoose
    [URL]https://www.head-fi.org/members/jayf.404893/[/URL]
If the headphones are dark to start with it can make them too dark. You will most likely like the 1Z the best with your IER-Z1R; concerning what you own now! But you’ll love it. Also an amazing amount of bass response will go away after 100 hours of burn-in. So when you first plug in your IER-Z1R to the 1Z, it’s nothing like it will sound after burn in. I was able to hear 200 hours of burn in and new out of box side-by-side; way different!
    Redcarmoose, Mar 9, 2019
  12. Redcarmoose
    [URL]https://www.head-fi.org/members/jayf.404893/[/URL]
This all comes down to taste. I’m probably at the extreme end of smooth/dark/warm.........liking the TA/IER-Z1R combo.
    Redcarmoose, Mar 9, 2019
    Sp12er3 likes this.
  13. Aslshark
    What a wonderful review! I enjoyed it very much. Can I live without these IEMS? Is life to short? I gotta save up some funds for these..
    Aslshark, Mar 15, 2019 at 7:16 PM
    Redcarmoose likes this.
  14. Dvdlucena
    Thank you for this review. I know it’s a long shot and complete different tech, but did you demo the shure kse 1500 or 1200? Sony vs shure, which one has better technicalities ?
    Dvdlucena, Mar 16, 2019 at 11:39 AM
  15. Redcarmoose
    Have not heard the 1500 or Shure kse 1200. Sorry.
    Redcarmoose, Mar 17, 2019 at 2:08 PM