1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

nflj_showcase_replies_on_review_by_x

  1. ezekiel77
    A review to end all reviews. What a wonderful read it has been!
    ezekiel77, Mar 6, 2019
    DAVID_54, Sp12er3, NaiveSound and 2 others like this.
  2. PeteSTRADAMUS
    You had me at soundstage, didn't even read the rest, and I love that Zeppelin song. I gotta try these out. If the soundstage sounds anything like the Hifiman Susvara I'll be blown away, believe that.
    PeteSTRADAMUS, Mar 8, 2019
    Redcarmoose likes this.
  3. CyberAthlete
    Wonderful review! I have to agree that these are the best IER i have also heard in my life. I heard them at CES. At their current price it's too much for me to pull the trigger on them, but they're worth it if you can afford them.
    CyberAthlete, Mar 8, 2019
    Redcarmoose and F700 like this.
  4. F700
    Audio porn. Should I buy these? No. Do I need to buy these? No. Do I want to hear these? Yes. Because of the dedication and passion you put into this review. Enjoy your set-up!
    F700, Mar 8, 2019
    Sp12er3 and Redcarmoose like this.
  5. alpha421
    Most joyful read. You got a knack for this review format. Sony should refund you every penny for this level of quality read and promotion. Although, I was a little disappointed to see China instead of Japan on the cable for an iem of this caliber. A $4-5K Sony iem is close at hand - LOL. You are indeed the Sony aficionado. Great work.
    alpha421, Mar 9, 2019
    Redcarmoose and Sp12er3 like this.
  6. Sp12er3
    Fantastic read, man first time I didn't get bored to sleep with long ass written review. You have way with words, man~
    Sp12er3, Mar 9, 2019
    Redcarmoose likes this.
  7. sunneebear
    This is the first time that I actually read through such a long winded review and I only dozed off once. Well that was because I took the blue pill so not your fault.
    sunneebear, Mar 9, 2019
    Redcarmoose and Sp12er3 like this.
  8. Redcarmoose
    @https://[URL="http://www.head-fi.org/members/120737/"]www.head-fi.org/members/120737/[/URL] Well, yes it could be a different cable, but even if the cable was from another place, I may not like it so much. The cable is nice! Also it’s standard for Sony cables to be made elsewhere. Z5, Thailand, I think? But I think you have to try and get a feel for the overall quality regardless of where it’s made? IMO.
    Redcarmoose, Mar 9, 2019
    Sp12er3 likes this.
  9. Redcarmoose
    [URL]https://www.head-fi.org/members/jayf.404893/[/URL]
That subject is going to rest entirely on your sound preference. The cradle will not change the tone, only slight added detail of a very small percentage. The Carbon USB also seems to add treble detail, but a very small amount? Crazy as it sounds you would probably like the 1A the best. People that are after a reference tone are going to be happy with the 1A.
    Redcarmoose, Mar 9, 2019
  10. Redcarmoose
    [URL]https://www.head-fi.org/members/jayf.404893/[/URL]
The IER-Z1R adds so much of the intrinsic qualities of the 1Z when used with the 1A, it’s not funny. I would actually suggest people get the IER-Z1R and 1A combo first, as it is the best value and most middle of the road.Though the 1Z is great too, the TA is dark and not for everyone. I just like the imaging with the TA. But the TA is also dependent on which headphones you use.
    Redcarmoose, Mar 9, 2019
    Sp12er3 likes this.
  11. Redcarmoose
    [URL]https://www.head-fi.org/members/jayf.404893/[/URL]
If the headphones are dark to start with it can make them too dark. You will most likely like the 1Z the best with your IER-Z1R; concerning what you own now! But you’ll love it. Also an amazing amount of bass response will go away after 100 hours of burn-in. So when you first plug in your IER-Z1R to the 1Z, it’s nothing like it will sound after burn in. I was able to hear 200 hours of burn in and new out of box side-by-side; way different!
    Redcarmoose, Mar 9, 2019
  12. Redcarmoose
    [URL]https://www.head-fi.org/members/jayf.404893/[/URL]
This all comes down to taste. I’m probably at the extreme end of smooth/dark/warm.........liking the TA/IER-Z1R combo.
    Redcarmoose, Mar 9, 2019
    Sp12er3 likes this.
  13. Aslshark
    What a wonderful review! I enjoyed it very much. Can I live without these IEMS? Is life to short? I gotta save up some funds for these..
    Aslshark, Mar 15, 2019
    Redcarmoose likes this.
  14. Dvdlucena
    Thank you for this review. I know it’s a long shot and complete different tech, but did you demo the shure kse 1500 or 1200? Sony vs shure, which one has better technicalities ?
    Dvdlucena, Mar 16, 2019
    Redcarmoose likes this.
  15. Redcarmoose
    Have not heard the 1500 or Shure kse 1200. Sorry.
    Redcarmoose, Mar 17, 2019
  16. ttt123
    Wonderful, interesting review, though the negative part is that it is doing too good a job of convincing me that I want one. Can't give in that easily, though. I will definitely have a listen to them, and see. I do like what Sony engineers are doing, and also like the Z5, so am curious what they have done with this Signature "no holds barred" product, which is a progression for their engineers, building on what they learned with the earlier designs.
    ttt123, Mar 20, 2019
    Redcarmoose likes this.
  17. marklivia
    Absolutely brilliant. I feel exactly as you do and have the exact same assessments with my 1Z dap and my Z1R cans. You are now my favorite and most accurate reviewer to follow and heed.
    marklivia, Mar 21, 2019
    Sp12er3 and Redcarmoose like this.
  18. Giullian
    Really good review and nice read. f...man I'm being dreaming with this IEM since I first auditioned last year for a few minutes, at that time I clearly remember telling the Sony representative that the IER-Z1R sounded wayyy better than the Z1R full size, he was quite impressed with my comment, now I can see I wasn't crazy alone. just got the Sony IER-M9 on a really good sale, but still have my eyes on the Z1R. need to hide my credit card now.
    Giullian, Apr 15, 2019
    Redcarmoose and Sp12er3 like this.
  19. Redcarmoose
    @https://[URL="http://www.head-fi.org/members/giullian.481626/"]www.head-fi.org/members/giullian.481626/[/URL] Thank-you! Yes, it’s better balanced than Z1R, yet has a visceral physicality close to unimaginable. You won’t be sorry. Cheers!
    Redcarmoose, Apr 15, 2019
    Giullian likes this.
  20. Giullian
    Hey [USER=105173]@Redcarmoose[/USER] you convinced me and I couldn't resist and just got my Z1R in and it is impressive. Still putting together the impressions that justify the 1000AUD cost difference to M9 that I also own. Would like to ask you to give a try on the song "Wiz Khalifa - Bacc To Winning" and give us your impressions of the IER-Z1R, specially the low end that this song has a lot! I liked the IER on it, but got a bit of uncontrolled low end in a few parts of it. Let me know what you think. Cheers
    Giullian, Apr 29, 2019
    Sp12er3 and Redcarmoose like this.
  21. Redcarmoose
    Giullian I will have a listen to that song. Congratulations.
    Redcarmoose, Apr 29, 2019
    Giullian likes this.
  22. Giullian
    Sorry the song is "Wiz Khalifa - Big Pride (Bag talk)"
    Giullian, Apr 30, 2019
    Redcarmoose likes this.
  23. seanwee
    I just got to demo this iem along with the DMP-Z1 yesterday and boy it was the best pairing I've ever heard. Single ended. The balanced output of the DMP-Z1 isn't nearly as good. The extra warmth dulls the traits that make the pairing exceptional That said, I did notice that the DMP-Z1 was the one doing all the magic when it comes to the soundstage. I tried the IER-Z1R on the R2R7, Cayin N8 and SP1000, none had the same soundstage and imaging. Not even close.
    seanwee, May 17, 2019
    Redcarmoose likes this.