1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

nflj_showcase_replies_on_review_by_x

  1. Pharmaboy
    Thanks for a terrific review--thorough, comprehensive, hitting just about every point that matters for these very expensive headphones. The v1 to v2 comparison would seem to be essential reading for current v1 owners & prospective v2 buyers.   These headphones are out of my $ range probably also outside my sound preferencesl. Still, I found this review to be very interesting.
    Pharmaboy, Nov 20, 2016
  2. ogodei
    thanks [user=452349]@Pharmaboy[/user] . Sadly I think the long-form review may be dead though.
    ogodei, Nov 23, 2016
  3. Pharmaboy
    Why would you say that?   New long-form reviews go up on HF all the time. I even wrote one myself 1-2 months ago.   I hope you're wrong about that. I learn so much from longer, more detailed reviews like yours here.
    Pharmaboy, Nov 23, 2016
  4. ogodei
    Sorry, that;s just me coming down from effort of producing the thing.  I think we're currently in TLDR phase on the internet, even in text based forums like Head-Fi.  Anything more than a few sentences requires more focus than many people are willing spend.  I guess its a question of audience.
    ogodei, Nov 24, 2016
  5. ESEKM
    Great review! I received my v2 via their upgrade program today and just started to listen to a few tracks. Unfortunately I had to send in my v1 so I can't do a back to back comparison. The reason I decided to upgrade is that I found I wasn't enjoying the v1 as much as my HD800 and Stax 009 but I can say that about most of my other headphones. You hit the nail on the head when you characterized v2 as polite or as I like to say, non-offensive. I can already tell the v2 is similar to the v1 from what I can recall. Like the v1, they are enjoyable to listen to but  in the same vein, it lacks some punch, it's very smooth (maybe too smooth YMMV).
    ESEKM, Dec 6, 2016
  6. Dr. Roberts
    Was anxious to read this review since there has not been any other reviews done that I can find. The review is long but not sure how informative it really is. The main complaint is price which is odd since the HEK V2 is in Audeze LCD-4 and Focal Utopia territory being HiFiMan's TOTL can as are the two other models mentioned. The Audezes and the Focals are priced a grand higher with both headphones having their issues as stated by Tyll at Inner Fidelity even though the Utopias are on his "Wall of Fame" while the Mr.Speakers Ether Flow has replaced the HEK V1 even though Tyll praises these cans to the hilt and admits that the Flows are colored.    Tyll knocks the LCD-4's because of a serious lack of treble and complains about the Utopia's restricted soundstage and bottom end so go figure. To this audiophile, the HEK V2 seems like a bargain. Admittedly, I have never heard the V1 but it seems strange to me that HiFiMan would introduce a new model so quickly, thus pissing off a number of V1 owners, without discernable improvements in the nature of the sound. 
    Dr. Roberts, Dec 18, 2016
  7. xxx1313
    Many thanks for this in-depth review and especially the comparison between V2 and V1. Very, very helpful! I am still very happy with the Sound of my V1. I love its laid-back nature for longer listening sessions.
    xxx1313, Jan 16, 2017
  8. ogodei
    @Dr. Roberts  - Thanks for the comments, I think we are pretty much on the same page about the sound & value of these.  These are great sounding headphones, one of my current favorites actually.  My 'don't buy' recommendation boils down to the fact that you can buy a HEKv1 for much less than the cost of a v2 at the moment and get 99.5% of the same sound quality.   While you correctly point out that the v2 gives you good value against the Audezes and Focals, the v1 gives you EXCELLENT value against those cans.  So why buy the v2 when v1 is available?  I agree about the new model being introduced so quickly, HiFiMan kind of shot themselves in the foot with this.  Why buy v2 at full price when v3 might be lurking around the corner?
    ogodei, Jan 17, 2017
  9. ogodei
    @[user=426724]xxx1313[/user], congrats on the v1s and thanks for the comments. 
    ogodei, Jan 17, 2017
  10. sanjeewasam
    Thanks mate. Very helpful as I was thinking to get V1 used with moon audio silver dragon cable AU$2300  over V2 AU$3500.   My gear is similar V281 amp and V850 dac.   If you have any experience with HE560 which I got for AU$625 would you comment on % improvement HE1K over HE560 or on mids/highs/base/ sound stage and dynamic qualitties
    sanjeewasam, Mar 4, 2017
  11. hptubes
    Thanks so much for taking the time to post this.  I have the original V1s and I found this review superb.  I bought my V1s about a year ago and I love them...huge improvement over my Audeze LCD-3s (although very good themselves).  Like many others I was a little creased that a new V2 came out so quickly.  This review helps me decide to sit tight for much longer on the V1s.  I did recently upgrade to Silver Dragon cables and they are a clear improvement over the stocks--another reason to skip the V2s for now it sounds, if the new V2 cables didn't sound like a grave part of the sound improvement.   For those saving money as you recommend, spend the extra on a great amp for the V1s.  I eventually went for a McIntosh MHA150, and per the massive amount of positive reviews on the pairing, it's absolutely fantastic.  The McIntoshes are really holding their value on the used market (for good reason), so buy one used and see for yourself...I bet you will love the combo and keep it for a very long time.  I'm honestly not sure what other HP/amp combo you could put together to really better this.  I know this combo is already super expensive even used, but I think you could put your high-end headphone/amp search behind you for the next decade or longer.  If you're buying the V1s (or V2s), you need to prepare to spend MHA150 money to get the best out of them IMHO.  Ogodei's recommendation for buying V1s gives you money to put toward the amp.
    hptubes, Mar 18, 2017
  12. ogodei
    [user=433993]@sanjeewasam[/user]  - Thanks for the comments, you will love those V1s   [user=440640]@hptubes[/user] - Thanks for taking the time to read.  Agreed that $$ spent upgrading an amp will be useful for getting the most out of the cans.  I haven't heard the MHA150, that thing looks like a beast.  Sigh.  One more thing to go into my wishlist.
    ogodei, Mar 22, 2017