1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

nflj_showcase_replies_on_review_by_x

  1. Cinder
    "when missing the most basic functionality "   A DAP's most basic functionality is playing music.   " I have only just bought the X5ii and it was obsolete before I even received it,"   If it didn't have any outputs, that seems like something I would understand.       You seem to be very salty over this. In fact, all you have to do is make a playlist with the songs you would want to bookmark. From my seat it looks like you are greatly over-reacting over an issue that could be quite easily solved if you took a couple minutes of your time to help yourself.
    Cinder, Aug 26, 2016
  2. Koukol
    • This message has been removed from public view.
    Koukol, Aug 26, 2016
  3. DDDYKI
    "People" have been "pleading" with FiiO since 2014 on this? And yet you still bought the player on 8/16/16, despite no confirmation whatsoever that it was implemented?
    DDDYKI, Aug 26, 2016
  4. TRapz
    If you'd have done any research whatsoever on FiiO and their products, you'd have seen that they're geared towards providing the best sound quality for [i]music[/i] possible at the cheapest price. No fancy options for audiobooks, no fancy switching around with a bunch of options for playback, etc. It's meant to play your music files, usually in album format (or if you'd like a playlist of random songs, that's an option too). It's not some full-fledged device with Spotify and special audiobook, podcast, etc categories like an iPod. The FiiO players were made and meant to play [b]music[/b] in good quality with basic functionality with a few extra options, and it does that exceptionally well. If this wasn't what you were looking for, then you made the error, not FiiO, of buying the wrong product.
    TRapz, Aug 26, 2016
  5. crabdog
    In all honesty the only fault I can see here is yours. Surely if bookmarks are so important to you, you would make sure any player you buy supports them before spending any money.   It would be like if I bought a Ferrari and gave it 0.5/5 rating because it didn't have a built-in dishwasher.   Needless to say I won't be following any of your reviews from this point.
    crabdog, Aug 26, 2016
  6. chicken beer
    Nice rant.   I do found that Fiio DAPs (not only X5k) are capable of playing the track that has been played when last turned off. I regard that as a bookmark feature and is handy enough for me personally, and believe 90% users won't mind not having the auto-saving feature. As a reviewer, you should see that.   To me, it's more like the X5 just does not fit your pocket despite not being bad. I suggest you not to post this as an individual review because usually reviews are written to evaluate something in many aspects to help readers have an overall image on the product, and yours can be shortened to one single sentence without any information loss: X5 cannot auto-save to the point I last listened to.
    chicken beer, Aug 26, 2016
  7. senorx12562
    • This message has been removed from public view.
    Anger issues obviously. Seek professional help dude.
    senorx12562, Aug 26, 2016
  8. LikeABell
    This is a terrible review.. in fact, this is not even a review, it's just you whining.
    LikeABell, Aug 27, 2016
  9. Hawaiibadboy
    • This message has been removed from public view.
    You seem to suggest that valid criticism of a product is unwelcome and dismiss it as: ‘fix in a few minutes / user error’, (by creating a playlist). However, there are people who call a spade a spade and afford no product or company sacred cow status if dissatisfied with a product.     This sites most popular and highest rated items are built on free review samples being toured and sometimes shortcomings are glossed over in the belief they will be taken care of later. Your review structurally is TOTAL CRAP but.....you have as much right as anyone, assuming you did pay your money and do not work for a rival company.  The reviews are mostly viewed by members at first and then later mostly via search engine. The public will decide what value you add to he big picture. No opinion is worthless. Keep on keepin on.
    Hawaiibadboy, Aug 27, 2016
  10. Hawaiibadboy
    [i]You seem to suggest that valid criticism of a product is unwelcome and dismiss it as: ‘fix in a few minutes / user error’, (by creating a playlist). However, there are people who call a spade a spade and afford no product or company sacred cow status if dissatisfied with a product.  [/i]   This sites most popular and highest rated items are built on free review samples being toured and sometimes shortcomings are glossed over in the belief they will be taken care of later. Your review structurally is TOTAL CRAP but.....you have as much right as anyone, assuming you did pay your money and do not work for a rival company.  The reviews are mostly viewed by members at first and then later mostly via search engine. The public will decide what value you add to he big picture. No opinion is worthless. Keep on keepin on.
    Hawaiibadboy, Aug 27, 2016
  11. twister6
    Wait, per your review/rant you knew that X5ii was obsolete with the latest fw update made available in June of 2016. You make a purchase with your hard earned money in the middle of August being aware that the only feature you are interested in, a bookmark support for audio books, hasn't been implemented and won't be implemented. Then, instead of returning it, you are planning to destroy it to make a point? I'm sorry, but I'm not following your logic. If you don't care about sound quality and have bookmark feature as your top priority, why not buy "99% of other mp3 players" which support it at a fraction of the price? As you stated, fw won't be updated anymore and you already aware the most important feature you are interested in is not supported, so why waste your money on this purchase? I get it, you are frustrated and want to get attention of Fiio by writing a low-star negative rant. But wouldn't it be more efficient to start a thread dedicated to this? Maybe you will get more people to chime in who share the same opinion and you can respond back to their posts. Otherwise, you really wasted your money buying something you already aware of doesn't meet your needs and you wasted your time writing a rant under the pretend of the review which is going to be buried under other reviews.
    twister6, Aug 27, 2016
  12. uncola
    seems like a case of PEBCAK
    uncola, Aug 27, 2016
  13. bruce1967
    This is not a review. This is a lot whining.
    bruce1967, Aug 27, 2016
  14. howdy
    You just joined to spread this garbage review, you knew what this device was capable of and once you received still felt entitled to write this rant.Why not delete this, return your unit and buy a kindle. No one will take this rant seriuosly as most know that it FiiO makes a quality device.
    howdy, Aug 27, 2016
  15. avitron142
    People are neglecting to note that this isn't about the user, it's about the company.   Whether or not he should have bought it isn't the point. Nor is it the point that he bought (or pretended to buy) an item that he knows doesn't have this functionality.   The point stands, that if users complained about a widespread feature, Fiio knew about this, and did nothing about it, it says something pretty important about the company.   While I don't think this should be specific to any one review (like twister said, more suited to a thread), it is a valid point, regardless of whether you should or should not have bought it.   And yet, complaints in the thread seemed to have no impact on this issue. So I kind of see why someone would want to try a more drastic option.
    avitron142, Aug 28, 2016
  16. doctorcilantro
    "A DAP's most basic functionality is playing music."   Very hard to do when the UX design is crap. E.g. the iBasso DX80 does not support M3U or an Play Next function.   The lack of usability on many of these devices blows my mind.
    doctorcilantro, Aug 29, 2016
  17. DrSHP
    It is not a review.not helpfull
    DrSHP, Mar 3, 2018
    miguel.yarce likes this.