1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

nflj_showcase_replies_on_review_by_x

  1. knopi
    • This message has been removed from public view.
    Nicely written review with great view from above. Thanks for amazing review
    knopi, Jul 30, 2016
  2. knopi
    Nicely written review with great perspective from above. Thanks for amazing review.
    knopi, Jul 30, 2016
  3. x RELIC x
    • This message has been removed from public view.
    Nice review, but you're off on what the Fazor vs Fluxor is. The Fazor (introduced with the LCD-X and XC - long before the el-8) is simply some wave guide grills to help the sound wave exiting the magnetic structure from breaking up as much. Fazor has nothing to do with the magnetic force. Fluxor is where the modifications to the magnetic force are all implemented. Then there is UNIFORCE™ DIAPHRAGM TECHNOLOGY which is where the traces in the voice-coil are varied in consideration for varying magnetic field strength. You might want to tighten up the facts in that section of the review.
    x RELIC x, Jul 30, 2016
  4. Dillan
    Thanks so much Knopi! That really means a lot to me!
    Dillan, Jul 30, 2016
  5. RCBinTN
    Great review, pal.
    RCBinTN, Jul 30, 2016
  6. HungryPanda
    Very nice review
    HungryPanda, Jul 31, 2016
  7. Dillan
    Thank you guys, much appreciated.
    Dillan, Aug 1, 2016
  8. jdg711
    At last! Head-Fi has become STEREOPHILE!
    jdg711, Aug 3, 2016
  9. Laura Jia
    great review
    Laura Jia, Aug 3, 2016
  10. x RELIC x
    • This message has been removed from public view.
    Still not entirely accurate with the Fazor as they do nothing to the magnetic field, but good review regardless. ; )
    x RELIC x, Aug 3, 2016
  11. x RELIC x
    Still not entirely accurate with the Fazor as they do nothing to the magnetic field, but good review regardless. ; ) Congrats on the front page.
    x RELIC x, Aug 3, 2016
  12. Dillan
    Hey Relic! I didn't mention magnetic force being altered by Fazor. If it describes "wave force" in regards to magnets, then I am talking about sound waves from the diaphragm which the magnets control. The tech section is accurate and Audeze approved. Thanks for reading!
    Dillan, Aug 3, 2016
  13. BenHolmes
    Awesome, inspiring review! Thanks! ...I want your setup!!
    BenHolmes, Aug 3, 2016
  14. Seth Warshavsky
    How do they compare to the HE-1000s?
    Seth Warshavsky, Aug 3, 2016
  15. Dillan
    Hey Seth - I haven't had too much listening with the HE-1000s and wouldn't feel too confident comparing the two. I remember HE-1000 being more comfortable on my head. I would need to really sit down and listen side by side with them.
    Dillan, Aug 3, 2016
  16. kurochin
    Screw Audeze! What I wanna know is the brand/make of headphone stand pictured in your review, or is it a DIY creation?
    kurochin, Aug 3, 2016
  17. Dillan
    HA! It was a woodworker on Etsy.com - Just type "wooden headphone stand", there are a lot of awesome ones. The vendor I used was woodwarmth, but I don't know if he's still making them.
    Dillan, Aug 3, 2016
  18. chicken beer
    Very nice review! This is a million-dollar review from any angle to see it!
    chicken beer, Aug 4, 2016
  19. session76
    How was comfort?  Did it start to feel heavy?   One reason I like the he-1k is its lightweight
    session76, Aug 9, 2016
  20. Dillan
    Comfort is great for me at first, but the leather mixed with the weight does make it a little uncomfortable and hot after an hour of listening. HE1000 definitely felt more comfortable to me, both short term and long term listening. For people that don't have a strong neck or have a small head - I probably wouldn't recommend.
    Dillan, Aug 9, 2016
  21. rosci
    • This message has been removed from public view.
    thank you very much for this great and detailed review. just coming off a 2-hour test-drive at our local dealer. was using a sennheiser hdvd 800 (which is what i have at home), connected through usb and the cck with my iphone on which i have FLACs (all 16bit 44/48) and tidal. i must say i concur with pretty much everything that's being said in dillan's review - really spot-on! comfort is just great (it seals off your ears, they'll start to sweat - but you won't notice the weight and there are no pressure points). i loved the headstage ("soundstage" with headphones?) and instrument separation. sound signature is warm with the slight emphasis on upper treble. high mids are a bit recessed, impact is reasonable but there could be more slam. the mids on vocals, acoustic guitars and piano are to die for. bass is extended, tight, and well controlled - with one caveat: i've had a very strange experience when listening to natalie prass' my baby don't understand me. i was expecting the low-bass kick in the chorus which i so love when listening to this song through my shure se 846 / mojo (you can barely hear it but you think you can actually feel it - imagine...when listening through IEMs...) - but with the lcd-4 it just simply wasn't there! nothing! bass wasn't missing in any of the other tracks that i've tried but i found this very strange. i thought these sounded very "expensive" - maybe due to expectation bias as i was fully aware of their immodest price tag. if you 'analyze' their sound quality you can find weaknesses, as highlighted above. but interestingly: they somehow just sucked me in. i just enjoyed listening to them. i didn't want to put them down and i just threw one track after the other at it with great relish. there is definitively something to them that's difficult to describe in words. somehow this is like an expensive musical instrument - they have character and i believe wou can actually develop a "relationship" with these cans. i haven't bought them today. but i haven't entirely dismissed them either. i believe if they came at around 2000$ then that would be a no-brainer. are they worth 4000? from a build quality standpoint: absolutely. do they sound the part? not sure yet...
    rosci, Aug 25, 2016
  22. jollybob
    Thanks for the review
    jollybob, Jan 10, 2017