1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

nflj_showcase_replies_on_review_by_x

  1. wahsmoh
    Well said. I couldn't have explained this any better myself of the difference between X3II and Mojo. The X3II is what I use now to feed my Mojo. The difference in SQ between Mojo and X3II was like the difference I heard going from Bifrost Uber to Theta DS Pro progeny or Bimby. The Uber sounded more like a flat wall of sound and more L/R channel focused and not 3D. I could even tell the difference when playing games and going straight through the DAC without a soundcard. Somehow this imaging and soundstage crosses over to gaming also. I send PCM to my Theta using S/PDIF out and still get close to the level of echo location as my 7.1 DSP on my soundcard but with the ability to play music also. I couldn't do this on my Uber as it sounded flat and without good separation even for games. Anyways good job on the review!
    wahsmoh, May 26, 2016
  2. EagleWings
    Thank you [user=357121]@wahsmoh[/user]. I was actually kind of anxious, about how much better the Mojo would be better than my X3ii, because I had read many a times in the forums that, once we reach a certain level, the improvements are only subtle and incremental. And I learnt that it was actually both true and false, after I received the Mojo. My Sennheiser IE80 sees a slight improvement (5-10% if I have to put a number) between the X3ii and the Mojo. But my A10 scales up really well.   About gaming, games have some of the best surround sound and imaging built into them. Particularly First Person Shooter games, where people have confirmed, with better audio equipment, they have a better sense of location of their enemies and peers based on the footsteps/gunshots/explosions. And I was reading a post the other day and apparently, even the movies on DVD and Blu-Ray have some excellent audio that could take advantage of devices like Mojo. My DVDs have been sitting inside a box. I think it’s time for me to get these out and try it with Mojo.
    EagleWings, May 26, 2016
  3. ModMax
    Thanks for the review. I very much enjoy my Mojo and 64 Audio U6 IEMs. By the way, what iOS version are you running on your iPhone6. When I plug my iPhone6 into Mojo I get static/crackling sounds coming across my IEMs/headphones. This does not happen when using my PC as the source. I have read in another thread this static/crackling noise may be related to the iOS version. I am running version 9.3.2. Do you experience this issue? Cheers!
    ModMax, May 26, 2016
  4. EagleWings
    Thank you [user=288555]@ModMax[/user]. I have not managed to connect my iPhone 6 to the Mojo, as I am yet to purchase the Apple CCK cable. Saving it for the next month. So, this crackling sound that you hear, is it present only when you are trying to play music or, even when no music is playing?
    EagleWings, May 26, 2016
  5. Signal2Noise
    Another con: does not work with Windows Phone (requires USB Audio Class 2 driver)
    Signal2Noise, May 26, 2016
  6. cyberslacker
    nice review.   how long does the battery last ?
    cyberslacker, May 26, 2016
  7. MyHeadHertz
    Thank you for the nice review.  I too am finishing my End-Game-For-Now setup.  I purchased the Mojo based on impressions here on Head-Fi.  I'm using the Mojo for its DAC section only in my portable stack and I am very happy with my choice.  The presentation the Mojo presents is perfect for me.  
    MyHeadHertz, May 26, 2016
  8. originalsnuffy
    Getting the Mojo to work with the iphone CCK is very hit or miss.  Supposedly FIIO was working on a cable that included the CCK; a guy from Latvia (Lavricle ?) supposedly has a cable that performs a similar function.  When I tested the Mojo with my iphone the results were mixed at best.    I thought the FIIO X3 (both generations) were terrific sources for feeding the Mojo.
    originalsnuffy, May 26, 2016
  9. EagleWings
    [user=363959]@cyberslacker[/user], thank you. I have not done a proper measurement of the battery life. But based on my estimation, it is somewhere between 8hrs and 10hrs.   [user=450321]@MyHeadHertz[/user], thank you. I am glad you are enjoying the Mojo. What are the other items in your portable setup?   [user=98009]@originalsnuffy[/user], thanks for your input. The only reason I want to buy the CCK is, so that I can stream on Apple Music or Spotify. There is one offered by Lavricable on eBay but it is expensive (around $100). Penonaudio sells something called the Fiio L19 that runs at $30. Apparently, Fiio has confirmed that it is not an official Fiio product and there have been reports that this cable does not work well. Even some of the other options are pretty expensive (around $100).   [user=101401]@Signal2Noise[/user], man, that's a bummer. Hopefully you figure out a way to enjoy mojo on-the-go. Fiio X3ii is a fairly inexpensive device that seems to pair well with Mojo.
    EagleWings, May 27, 2016
  10. MyHeadHertz
    I'm a newbie and don't have much gear to compare things against each other.  Over the last six months I've been lurking here in the forums and then went out and purchased the following stack:   FiiO X7 > Moon Audio Black Dragon coax > Chord Mojo > ALO Reference 8 mini-to-mini > ALO Continental Dual Mono > DHC Symbiote Fusion Tier3 Litz > ( 64 Audio U8, Campfire Audio Jupiter, and Audeze Sine)   I also purchased the Audeze EL-8 open back but it just sits in my closet these days after my Sine purchase.   I would love to show pictures but I'm such a newb that I can't even post pictures yet LOL.
    MyHeadHertz, May 27, 2016
  11. EagleWings
    That's a great setup you got there. Happy listening!!
    EagleWings, May 27, 2016
  12. willowbrook
    [user=363959]@cyberslacker[/user] Battery lasts about 7~8 hours with IEMs for me, couple months old usage.
    willowbrook, May 27, 2016
  13. ModMax
    @EagleWings, when paired with my iPhone6, I hear the noise when music is AND isn't playing.
    ModMax, May 27, 2016
  14. ModMax
    @EagleWings, search for "crackling issue" in this thread to learn more: [url=http://www.head-fi.org/t/784602/chord-mojo-the-official-thread-please-read-the-3rd-post/10080#post_12290385]http://www.head-fi.org/t/784602/chord-mojo-the-official-thread-please-read-the-3rd-post/10080#post_12290385[/url]
    ModMax, May 27, 2016
  15. EagleWings
    [user=288555]@ModMax[/user] , thanks for sharing that. Hmmm, that is not good. Hopefully Apple hears about this issue and fixes it in its next FW update. What is more sad, is that we cannot downgrade to any previous version of FW.. 
    EagleWings, May 27, 2016
  16. linux4ever
    Good review. I've Fiio X3 ii, iPod classic & AK Jr as my source. I use PSB M4U 4 (one dynamic driver and one BA hybrid), MEE M6 pro (just $50 for an awesome sounding earphone) & recently got the 64 audio U12 (blown away). Looking to add Mojo to the mix. Like you I listen to various musical genres including Tamil songs by A.R. Rahman & Raja :-)
    linux4ever, Jun 4, 2016
  17. EagleWings
    [user=446290]@linux4ever[/user], thank you. Mojo+A10 is really something. I am sure it won't disappoint you, especially with your U12.   Good to see another Raja and Rahman fan here. Raja's music is something that I can enjoy even on a noisy radio. But I feel Rahman's work is something that deserves a good audio setup.  
    EagleWings, Jun 4, 2016
  18. linux4ever
    • This message has been removed from public view.
    [user=431678]@EagleWings[/user], yes Rahman's work use lots of instrumentations and they definitely benefit from a good DAP/DAC and IEM/headphones. Pink Floyd, Eagles are a joy to listen to in hi-res with U12. I love PSB M4U 4 for it's balanced feel plus the 
    linux4ever, Jun 4, 2016
  19. linux4ever
    [user=431678]@EagleWings[/user], yes Rahman's work use lots of instrumentations and they definitely benefit from a good DAP/DAC and IEM/headphones. Pink Floyd, Eagles are a joy to listen to in hi-res with U12. I love PSB M4U 4 for it's balanced feel plus the "ROOMFEEL" technology. It's a very good IEM and holds its own place.
    linux4ever, Jun 4, 2016
  20. EagleWings
    The dark side of the moon is also a treat with the Mojo+A10 combo.    I see. Need to read more about this ROOMFEEL technology..
    EagleWings, Jun 5, 2016
  21. linux4ever
    Does anybody have experience with Mojo + U12 combo? How does it pair up? Good? Great? Okay? Bad? Terrible?
    linux4ever, Jun 5, 2016
  22. EagleWings
    You can PM [user=409149]@Ike1985[/user] and [user=381059]@Sound Eq[/user] . They've had experience with the combo. ike1985 have mentioned that he loves the combo(A12+Mojo) with the B1 Modules.
    EagleWings, Jun 6, 2016