1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

nflj_showcase_replies_on_review_by_x

  1. Brooko
    Nick - did you not get the documentation which shipped with the review X7's?  It explains the design choices on a lot of the things you highlighted as "issues" including things like the two depth back section, symmetrical buttons etc.  When you actually read it, a lot of it makes more sense. 
    Brooko, Nov 18, 2015
  2. HiAudio
    Nice. Thank you very much. It's very helpful. I planned to get this one. All I need a DAP does for me is to output Digital signal with high quality to dedicated DAC to Amp to headphone. X7 is still only list but I am open to alternative for my current needs. Maybe the 2nd generation of X7 or X9 would be meeting most people's expectation and needs.
    HiAudio, Nov 18, 2015
  3. olddude
    Great review.  The X7 was a long time coming.  When I was still subscribing to the pre-release X7 thread this spring and early summer it was quite a roller coaster ride of ideas, beta designs, thoughts, (hopeful) user feedback, complaints, aggression, etc.  Now that it is out, it looks like it is still going through some changes but is on its way to having a mature firmware.   I moved away from buying it when it became clear that it wasn't going to suit my listening needs.  But I always appreciated the fact that the folks from Fiio were actually on the thread making comments, asking for responses, showing designs.  Fiio makes quality devices at affordable prices.  This looks like a great successor to the X5 (which I loved).  
    olddude, Nov 18, 2015
  4. nmatheis
    [user=170914]@Brooko[/user] - Regardless of the documentation, FiiO's choices didn't gel with me. I suspect they might not gel with others, either, which is why I'm providing my perspective. Of course, not everyone will agree with my thoughts on the X7 and will be perfectly happy with it. For those that do agree with my thoughts, it will allow them to go into their purchase more informed rather than less. In the end, I truly believe the design has to stand on its own merits and not rely on documentation for context. That said, I have full confidence that FiiO will make significant improvements to the X7's design just as they have with every other product they've released. They're a great company and I have faith in their ability to work with end users to make the X7 better and better over time.
    nmatheis, Nov 19, 2015
  5. nmatheis
    [user=278446]@HiAudio[/user] - If you're looking for a digital transport, why the X7 when there are less expensive alternatives on the market? Do you just want the touchscreen?
    nmatheis, Nov 19, 2015
  6. nmatheis
    Thanks [user=357486]@olddude[/user]. Nice to see you around, man! Still rocking' the PONO?
    nmatheis, Nov 19, 2015
  7. Takeanidea
    Nice review thank you very much. It sounds as if the amp module wasn't for you and has added quite an extra bit of size to the Fiio. I think a lot of people who push for more attention to the amp section end up buying a separate portable amp, or already have one. Still with all it's drawbacks which you have It still looks sleek and elegant so I think many people will go for this
    Takeanidea, Nov 19, 2015
  8. nmatheis
    I agree [user=348986]@Takeanidea[/user]. X7 is going to be a hit, and if I got a second crack at it with what I consider an improved Pure Music GUI and Play Store support, I'd increase my rating.
    nmatheis, Nov 21, 2015
  9. Vividcard
    Great review, Side note however, Regarding the Artist selection option. You can go down into album or song lists. However, you can not do so pressing the album art. Instead you have to choose the name of the album. Art is just there to be pretty, name dives deeper, and ultra-tiny play button plays the album.
    Vividcard, Nov 25, 2015
  10. nmatheis
    Thanks for clarifying that [user=427172]@Vividcard[/user]. I swear I was clicking all over the place trying to drill down but missed that somehow. Since there was already a (barely visible) play icon, the most intuitive place seemed to be the Album Art. I really wish FiiO had gotten an English translation of the Pure Music's Help Guide out before my time with the X7 ended. Oh well...
    nmatheis, Nov 28, 2015
  11. allinhead
    hi nmatheis, nice review. could you say few words  between x7 and n6 just about sound pls thanks
    allinhead, Jun 25, 2016