1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

nflj_showcase_replies_on_review_by_x

  1. The Fed
    Appreciate this review... Especially verifying the Kenzie's synergy with the HD800. I've been on the fence between the Kenzie, the Berning Micro ZOTL and the SAC Thailand Minute... Can't say this decided it for me but its some information where before there was little to none. Thanks for putting something out on the Kenzie.
    The Fed, Oct 11, 2015
  2. joespride
    I have been remiss in regards to communicating the merits of the Kenzie but once the HD800 entered the picture I felt compelled to say something considering the reputation the HD800 seems to have, The Kenzie blew that stereotype out of the water,  I got the HD800 yesterday at noon and the played to 1:00am, and turned back on at 11am and are on my head as I type, The combination is outstanding
    joespride, Oct 11, 2015
  3. Snowpuppy77
    Nice review.  I am in the market for an new headphone amp.  Was curious. Do you listen to your HD800s in the 32 ohm or 600 ohm jack?
    Snowpuppy77, May 7, 2016
  4. joespride
    Hello, I have used both, and frankly not much difference between the 2 maybe slightly better bass on the 32 ohm tap (from memory) I now have a different amp of Justins (my 4th)  I have his personal SE84 and use HD700's with it sounds superb. This is likely my final system
    joespride, May 7, 2016
  5. Snowpuppy77
    Interesting.  Perhaps the 600 ohm tap is more suited for the Beyerdynamic T1s which are actually a 600 ohm headphone.  I have read that it drives the T1s remarkably well.  I may get a pair of T1s.  Have not considered the HD700.  Do you still recommend the Kenzie?  Do not plan on using a smartphone with an amp personally at this point.
    Snowpuppy77, May 7, 2016
  6. joespride
    Kenzie is HIGHLY recommended, that setup was sold due to finances ONLY.  My setup now is not on par when it comes to resolution, and maybe not as detailed. the Kenzie is more like a fine Champagne while my current set up = a very good wine.  No smartphone usage here ever my entire Library has been ripped lossless to FLAC playing via Jriver of PC Currently using a Gustard U12, then My modded MHDT Havana DAC   In percentage points I would say currently I have like 85+ percent of what the Kenzie HD800 offered
    joespride, May 8, 2016
  7. Snowpuppy77
    Thank you for the feedback.  Now that the HD800 S has been released the regular HD800 have come down in price considerably.  They are the same price as the Beyerdynamic T1.  It is a tough decision.  May need find a way to audition both.  Have not ruled out the HD700s either as I have read that some prefer it to the HD800.
    Snowpuppy77, May 8, 2016
  8. joespride
    Chain will make a huge difference how the cans will perform, I dare say which can you may prefer
    joespride, May 8, 2016