1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

nflj_showcase_replies_on_review_by_x

  1. earfonia
    Thanks for the honest and detail review Paul! The Veritas you mentioned for the measurement, is it Vibro Veritas microphone? Very nice graphs! Thanks!
    earfonia, Sep 19, 2015
  2. RedJohn456
    Hi Paul, thanks for the review! Looking forward to the curve 2nd gen impressions :) They were on my radar after ur initial impressions. I also need to look into how to read these graphs, I feel like I am missing out on a lot of info by not being able to interpret them correctly 
    RedJohn456, Sep 19, 2015
  3. KC33
    First review you've ever done that I have to disagree with on a few levels. To my ears the bass is excellent but I did find a bit of bass bleed with the stock tips. I tried the comply and although that was resolved I felt it took away from the excellent treble. I went with the silicones that came with my 2Kj and boom, bass bleed gone and the mids and top sound excellent. (I don't hear any peakiness) Between, sound, comfort and price I'd say these are closer to a 4.5.
    KC33, Sep 19, 2015
  4. twister6
    Hmm, it's hard to argue with graphs and collected data, but I still prefer to go by how I perceive a sound with my ears.  Bass was a problem for me with a bleed until I went through a serious tip rolling.  Btw, nozzle wasn't the end of the world, but I do agree, if you go with a tight fitting eartips, you can leave them behind in your ear when removing the shell.  Wide bore shallow insertion (short stem) eartips fixed the bass bleed problem for me, which could be the artifact in your case if using foam or narrow bore tips.  Personally, I had a bit of a fitment issue until I introduced earhooks to keep the wire down over my ears.  The only thing I'm not so sure about what to think is sibilance peaks.  Regarding sibilance peaks, that's where sometime I disagree with you, but ironically I usually find what you consider to be non-sibilant - to my ears is a bit harsh (difference in hearing and perception in sound, that's normal), but here it's a complete 180deg opposite.  I hear treble smooth while you hear peaks to the point where you didn't enjoy sound signature as much.  Now, I'm curious to revisit A73 and give it another extended listening session, because honestly I didn't "hear" any peaks.  I'm not arguing with a graph, just remember my ears didn't give me this indication :)
    twister6, Sep 19, 2015
  5. Brooko
    [user=150501]@earfonia[/user] - thanks.  Yes measurements were taken with the Veritas. [user=389855]@RedJohn456[/user] - should have a Curve review up in a couple of weeks [user=423907]@KC33[/user] - yep, I know a lot of people really like these.  The measurements don't lie however, and it seems the sibilance peak that I am particularly attuned to is around the 8-9kHz. It is honestly like screeching when it hits. Pleased you like them - but they have far too many faults to be remotely near that score for me. I took the measurements with both Comply and Sony Isolation - there was little difference between either tip. I was limited in the tips I could try simply because of the poorly designed nozzle. [user=378311]@twister6[/user] - Alex, thanks for the comments. I guess the sibilance is down to tip selection and physiology.  I'd use different tips if the ones I have wouldn't keep getting stick in my ears (that missing lip is beyond annoyance). PM me if you want and I'll upload the track "Let It Rain" that had the really sharp sibilance.  Then you can retest. If you enjoyed them though - I have no problem with it, and I'm pleased others like them.  Unfortunately for me, they really failed to live up to expectations. Its a pity as I was looking forward to them, and the comfort really is better than the A83.
    Brooko, Sep 19, 2015
  6. BGRoberts
    Thanks for another great review!  I lost interest when I read about the nozzle design.   I Hat having tips come off in my ears! 
    BGRoberts, Sep 20, 2015
  7. Brooko
    Thanks BGR - appreciate the feedback.
    Brooko, Sep 20, 2015
  8. suman134
    Same here, i too didnt like these much, bass is over done, highs are doing what they wont to do, i didnt understand how people liked this more than titans. Titan is far far better sounding than this.
    suman134, Sep 20, 2015
  9. Brooko
    Oh I can see why some people will like them.  And if they aren't sensitive to the same sibilance peak, and have tips which do stay on the nozzle and suit them, and enjoy a warmer sound - the A73 have a lot of redeeming qualities. Sadly for me personally the bad points overshadow the good.
    Brooko, Sep 20, 2015
  10. suman134
     None that i liked over its problems, same here.
    suman134, Sep 20, 2015
  11. ajaxender
    As always, a wonderfully in depth review. I have found it particularly helpful since it confirms to me that I hear pretty much what you hear (I think I have a bit more tolerance for sibilance), which is handy given how much you review.  I've had these since before I got my Deltas; while I have warmed to them a bit (get it?? hahaha... sorry) they've never quite fit my tastes so I've refrained from commenting. This helps me understand why. Besides your qualms which I agree with almost entirely, I also like a crisp sound and these don't have it - from what I understand, you get that in the 4 - 5 KHz range and obviously from the graphs, this is recessed compared to the rest.    That said, I agree with [user=378311]@twister6[/user] that wide bore, shallow silicone tips improve the sound. I think if you're a fan of the signature you would not be disappointed with these, and I wouldn't even say I am, but they're never gonna be my favorites. 
    ajaxender, Sep 20, 2015
  12. Brooko
    Thanks AJ.  You raise a good point about crispness.  I need to play around with an equaliser a lot more and check which frequencies affect this - but I suspect it could relate more to 5-8/9 kHz.  Cutting a little of the mid-bass does help lean them out a little and allow some gradual tweaking.  They don't need a lot though - just a small curve.  I also found some wide bore dual flange - and you're right, they do help - but the sibilant peak is still there for me.  Cutting the 8-9kHz bands got rid of that though - and they were quite enjoyable.  Oh - and removing them from my ears after 20 minutes, first the left tip, and then the right tip, were left lodged in my ear (yet again).  Very annoying.
    Brooko, Sep 20, 2015
  13. KC33
    Maybe I'm a bit partial to these because I've never had an in ear fit me so well. Just being able to fall asleep with these is a joy. I do have to remember to set the play through folders so after Bill Evans I don't get woken up by Black Sabbath. Ozzie can be a bit scary in the middle of the night.  :)  
    KC33, Sep 20, 2015
  14. maira
    I think the review is a mix of personal taste as you stated (no offence!) and a harsh and digital sounding source (Fiio) .
    maira, Feb 17, 2016
  15. Brooko
    Well I'd like to think by now that with my experience reviewing I can look past my own personal preferences and view things as objectively as possible, but it is true that I personally thought they were too warm and thick (a trait I do not like). Couple that with an obvious sibilant peak - the measurements show it clearly - and a mid-range that overtime I find too toward, and you get (to me) a fairly confused overall tonality. And the X3ii is not harsh (again I've heard quite a few sources over the last few years) and especially not when coupled with the extremely neutral E17K.
    Brooko, Feb 17, 2016