1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

nflj_showcase_replies_on_review_by_x

  1. PinkyPowers
    That is weird. I've owned the Dragonfly 1.2 for months, and there is no "Digititis" in the sound. I would say let her burn in, but I didn't need to before I fell in love. Maybe you have a funky unit.
    PinkyPowers, Aug 20, 2015
  2. Stereocilia
    I was also impressed straight out of the box with the DragonFly line out to amp, without the tube amp the SQ falls flat and fatiguing to my ears. The digititis is not my imagination or a faulty / funky unit, the problem is jitter. I've been mulling over the idea of adding a jitter reduction device like the AudioQuest - JitterBug   Schiit Wyrd  iFi Audio micro – iUSB to my signal chain
    Stereocilia, Aug 20, 2015
  3. MarcoGV
    I doubt that you hear jitter.  See the Stereophile review at [url=http://www.stereophile.com/content/audioquest-dragonfly-usb-da-converter#84pEyB1P4K4r46wj.97]http://www.stereophile.com/content/audioquest-dragonfly-usb-da-converter#84pEyB1P4K4r46wj.97[/url].
    MarcoGV, Aug 21, 2015
  4. Stereocilia
    Your average Universal Serial Bus port was not designed to be a dedicated audio serial bus port. You can call it RFI/EMI, voltage ripple, packet errors, timing errors, noise, jitter, static, pops, clicks, glitches, dirty signal... whatever you want to call it and what whatever combination of words you want to use to describe a degraded audio signal you can find that Schiit on your average USB port. The question is can hear this crap or put another way, can hear the absence of it? Schiit has a "15-Day Money-Back Guarantee" so you can decide for yourself if a "USB Decrapifier" is right for your ears.
    Stereocilia, Aug 21, 2015
  5. Stereocilia
    ♫ But then I fooled around and fell in love, I fooled around and fell in love, yes I did . . . with the AudioQuest DragonFly
    Stereocilia, Aug 21, 2015
  6. davide256
    Its not a bad product, loses some fine details and limited to 96khz. Most of its issues are when you use it with a PC instead of a Mac... USB quality  for PC's is awful. The new AQ Jitterbug is a  must to use with the dragonfly if you are plugging this into a PC.
    davide256, Aug 23, 2015
  7. davide256
    BTW, if you want a serious product for USB perfection, that's the REGEN. I use it with my main system but its not a portable solution. See comparison review below   [url=http://www.audiostream.com/content/usb-accessory-roundup-uptone-audio-usb-regen-audioquest-jitterbug-schiit-wyrd]http://www.audiostream.com/content/usb-accessory-roundup-uptone-audio-usb-regen-audioquest-jitterbug-schiit-wyrd[/url]
    davide256, Aug 23, 2015
  8. Stereocilia
    [url=http://www.audioquest.com/usb_digital_analog_converter/dragonfly-dac]http://www.audioquest.com/usb_digital_analog_converter/dragonfly-dac[/url]   "Fixed Output Feeds Preamp or Receiver" just knock that hard edge off this DAC with a good amp. The mids on DragonFly paired to the mids on the Valhalla2, matched with the mid-centric Grado = Lit-Up iridescent coloration = major bang for the buck, value city at its best  
    Stereocilia, Aug 23, 2015