1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

nflj_showcase_replies_on_review_by_x

  1. RedJohn456
    Great review. When did you get the SE846? Thats fantastic!
    RedJohn456, Jun 17, 2015
  2. twister6
    [user=389855]@RedJohn456[/user] : sorry, forgot to mention, it was a loaner from a friend, and it's going back. I'm definitely NOT going to miss it, just not my cup of tea...
    twister6, Jun 17, 2015
  3. acain
    Nice review Alex I see you still have an AK dap.
    acain, Jun 17, 2015
  4. twister6
    [user=405153]@acain[/user] : still on extended term loan ;)  Love that touch interface!!!  And great for 2.5mm balanced connection testing ;)
    twister6, Jun 17, 2015
  5. Paulus XII
    wow, wow, wow||| Many thanks. Seems like UM PRO 50 is the way to go for me ; )
    Paulus XII, Jun 17, 2015
  6. Sirenia
    Clearly if you want a funnier sound with a "live" approach, the UMPro50 is made for you. Great review and you cover every aspect of what the W60 have to offer. Still missing mine to this day, they offer a sound I haven't heard with any other IEM yet.
    Sirenia, Jun 18, 2015
  7. marshallmole
    Great comparisons. I'm hearing the same differences between W40 & W60 which makes your other comparisons probably even more transferable to my ears. 
    marshallmole, Jun 18, 2015
  8. Ivabign
    I'm a big fan of both the UM Pro50 and SE846 - they are mainstays of my universal stable - your impressions give credence to my decision to beg off a purchase of the W60. I will say that when I first started using the SE846, they seemed so big and often popped out of place in my ears, but now that I have settled on the Sensorcom tips and the stock cable (when I use it) is bent properly, this is no longer the case. Nice review!
    Ivabign, Jun 18, 2015
  9. ianeith
    Thank you for yet another wonderful review.
    ianeith, Jun 18, 2015
  10. BRCMRGN
    Great review! I love the whole Westone line and own all of the current and previous generations in both U and W flavors. I ended up using Linum BAX or Balanced BAX cables for most of the higher end models. I'm also a big fan of the Star Tips. I use them on anything that they will fit. My left ear canal is larger than me right and the orange Star tip fits perfectly with a red for the right. In the Sony Hybrid tips, I have to special order size LL to fit my left ear. The Westone models are also the most comfortable to sleep with, especially with Linum cables.   Looking forward to future reviews.
    BRCMRGN, Jun 18, 2015
  11. Jupit3r
    SOOOOOOO Cool......Hope I get a pair of this as a birthday gift...
    Jupit3r, Jun 19, 2015
  12. Toom
    • This message has been removed from public view.
    Insane price.
    Toom, Jun 19, 2015
  13. Toom
    Insane price. If you get a pair as a birthday gift, then you must be royalty or something.
    Toom, Jun 19, 2015
  14. magagne
    Very good review/job here. Well made. Bravo! For classical music and jazz, which one you prefer? The w60 I suppose for the lush/warm side ?
    magagne, Jun 19, 2015
  15. twister6
    [user=261387]@magagne[/user] : W60 would be your best choice for classical/jazz, it makes acoustic instruments sound very organic, realistic, with a full body.
    twister6, Jun 19, 2015
  16. ClassicalViola
    Would just like to chime in RE: [user=261387]@magagne[/user] [user=378311]@twister6[/user] I don't think the W60 is suited for classical music. I don't own the W60 but I have auditioned them extensively at a shop with many classical recordings (especially large scale orchestral music) from my X5 / DX90 and the W60 just sounded way too warm and muddy to handle orchestral recordings competently. I found the timbre just really unnatural for classical mainly due to the powerful bass. For me, something like the simple single dynamic driver RE-400 presents classical recordings much more naturally and transparently due to the closer to neutral tuning. Just my two cents. YMMV.
    ClassicalViola, Jun 24, 2015
  17. levir
    Thanks for the great review.  The W60 sometimes surprises me with its excellent imaging.  It is like rediscovering my music collection once again.  
    levir, Jul 16, 2015
  18. mikek200
    Outstanding review Twister,my W60's are coming in,in 3-5 days. My first high end iem.,your review has given me some idea as what to expect. Many Thanks, Mike
    mikek200, Mar 9, 2017
  19. Bastianpp
    Hmmm very disagree with the shure se846 vs w60 comparation... Shure is technical superior in detail and bass, and shure is not brighter !!! NEVER !, especial with standard filter. ( stock blue, black and white ). I think you need a special dap for test shure like q1r, plenue s or m2, dx200, something like it
    Bastianpp, Apr 13, 2017
  20. Bastianpp
    • This message has been removed from public view.
    i test w60 and shure se846..
    Bastianpp, Apr 13, 2017
  21. Bastianpp
    i tested the shure se846 ( owner ) and w60 ( of my friend )
    Bastianpp, Apr 13, 2017
  22. twister6
    [user=457036]@Bastianpp[/user] : it's ok that we hear things differently and have different level of sound tolerance.  I find se846 to sound brighter (and by design W60 is smooth, warm, lush).  But that's just my opinion, and I know there are a lot of se846 fans.  So, let's just leave it at that ;)
    twister6, Apr 13, 2017
  23. Bastianpp
    You test shure with ur ak120ii?
    Bastianpp, Apr 13, 2017