1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

nflj_showcase_replies_on_review_by_x

  1. acain
    Wow you are a machine and don't waste any time nice review.
    acain, May 24, 2015
  2. RedTwilight
    Nice review! Now I wanna go give 'em a spin as well, just to see how nice they are.
    RedTwilight, May 24, 2015
  3. earfonia
    Excellent! Waiting for your update with the comparisons! Thanks!
    earfonia, May 24, 2015
  4. hakushondaimao
    Thanks all. [user=403233]@RedTwilight[/user], definitely worth it if you get an opportunity!
    hakushondaimao, May 24, 2015
  5. Tom22
    sooo did you hug your wife first or the R70x at the airport? haha
    Tom22, May 25, 2015
  6. hakushondaimao
    [user=341207]@Tom22[/user]: I waited until we got home to even mention it. It was in her hand luggage, and there it stayed. Took every ounce of control I had... She was impressed.
    hakushondaimao, May 25, 2015
  7. Pokemonn
    Great review!!! Thanks! Hakushindaimao!!!
    Pokemonn, May 25, 2015
  8. Bark Snarly
    Nice write up! Very much interested in these headphones... I assume they're like the other AT open headphones in that they let in a LOT of outside noise? Gotta say, they look extremely comfortable too, how is the pad material?
    Bark Snarly, May 25, 2015
  9. hakushondaimao
    [user=409189]@Bark Snarly[/user]: Yes, extremely comfy. The lightness helps. Which padding? The ear pads feel like a fairly dense memory foam. Similar density to the AKG K7XX pads, and not nearly as soft as the ones on the Brainwavs HM5. The padding on the 3D wings in the headband is also foam (bit softer and thinner than the ear pads, and covered in some synthetic like a thick spandex).   Didn't have a lot of noise going on around me while testing, so don't know how much noise leaks in. My wife was asleep in another room while I was listening, so don't know how much leaks out, either. Will ask her in the next few days and maybe make and edit to the review then.
    hakushondaimao, May 25, 2015
  10. Jeff Y
    Nice job! Do you not think that this has the "Audio-Technica" house sound of having lots of treble and be neutral instead?
    Jeff Y, May 25, 2015
  11. Jeff Y
    I also wonder how much it scales up with a great amp... drool... haha.
    Jeff Y, May 25, 2015
  12. Peter West
    Very helpful review Hakushondaimao. The secret to quick reviews is typing while listening :)
    Peter West, May 25, 2015
  13. hakushondaimao
    [user=420497]@Peter West[/user]: Yup, that's what I did. Glad you liked the review.
    hakushondaimao, May 25, 2015
  14. hakushondaimao
    [user=379256]@Jeff Y[/user]: I've not heard any other AT headphones, but have read that the R70x is a break with tradition, and much more natural (neutral) than others in the line-up. Will be trying it with some great amps this weekend at the Calgary Head-Fi meet, and will let you know how it scales.
    hakushondaimao, May 25, 2015
  15. Triodemode
    Thank you for adding your impressions of the R70x [user=411422]hakushondaimao[/user].  Looking forward to reading more from you after listening with other amplifiers and headphone comparisions.  Great job! 
    Triodemode, May 25, 2015
  16. mrmoto050
    Great honest and informative review. I think I may like these. Keep up the good work!
    mrmoto050, May 26, 2015
  17. mrmoto050
    Wonder how these would scale up with the Cayin C5?
    mrmoto050, May 26, 2015
  18. Peter West
    You're also right about Steely Dan for atmosphere and sonic details. Really lights up my modded HD-439s which are pretty good for this type of music.
    Peter West, May 26, 2015
  19. hakushondaimao
    [user=405708]@Triodemode[/user] and [user=409670]@mrmoto050[/user]: Thanks for the feedback. This weekend I'll be getting access to the C5 and HD650, along with some high-end amps from Yulong and Matrix. Will add some comments about those when I can.
    hakushondaimao, May 26, 2015
  20. hakushondaimao
    [user=420497]@Peter West[/user]: Awesomesauce! SD is a must for all and any reviews, in my view.
    hakushondaimao, May 26, 2015
  21. maikuirock
    [user=409670]@mrmoto050[/user] using my LGG3 as my DAP at about 75% volume to my C5 DAC/Amp, it's at a very loud listenable level at almost full volume on the C5 on High Gain. If i turned the volume up on my phone all the way it would be too loud, so the portable is very capable to run the R70x, but is definitely using its strength.
    maikuirock, May 29, 2015
  22. mikek200
    Excellent first impressions  [user=411422]hakushondaimao[/user]. I am seriously thinking about pulling the trigger on these,and have upgraded my amp to the Asgard2 ,from the Magni2 I e-mailed Jason at Schiit,and came right back to me,the Magni2,will handle the R-70x,just fine..,in case anyone was wondering.   So far,I haven't seen any comparison to the HD600,which is my most neutral headphone ,at this time. Anyone.??..or maybe a HD650????   Any input,opinions,suggestions,will be greatly appreciated   Mike
    mikek200, May 29, 2015
  23. hakushondaimao
    [user=282104]@mikek200[/user]: I actually just got an HD650 this week for a review, and will be adding some comparison info in the "reserved" space, along with the K7XX (probably next week, after the Calgary Head-Fi meet dust settles). In addition, will add some other drivability info on other DAPs and amps. Have already discovered that the new Fiio X5 (2nd gen) can drive the R70x to decent levels (though my preference would still be to use an amp). With the E12A doing such a decent job, I also have no doubts that the Schiit amps will do fine with them.
    hakushondaimao, May 29, 2015
  24. maikuirock
    [user=282104]@mikek200[/user] listening to the 600 and 650 a couple weeks ago at a local shop running through a Valhalla Stack i thought were pretty warm sounding, the 600 more so. I prefer R70x>650>600, but i like a more neutral brighter sound though. i cannot comment on the detailing between the two or the soundstage at the moment. I'll plan on comparing them next week or if i find a pair at the Newport Show tomorrow.
    maikuirock, May 29, 2015
  25. mikek200
    Thanks guys for your replies,and I await of your input.   In the last 3-4 years,and after reading many reviews,I've never see a piece of gear,that got 5 stars from every reviewer,especially at this price point---nice....when I tried to do it ,when I bought my Stax009,my wife locked me out of the bedroom..so..??? Looks like the R-70x,is the exception..so,I went ahead an ordered a pair..tonight. My Massdrop 7xxx,is coming around the same time,next week..   Time permitting,I will do my best to give some impressions with the Asgard2..vs magni2,..with both new headphones..   Mike
    mikek200, May 29, 2015
  26. hakushondaimao
    [user=282104]@mikek200[/user]: Personally, I think you've made a good buy. I hope when I get my comparisons up and you get to try your two solid headphones that our opinions will match.
    hakushondaimao, May 30, 2015
  27. R Giskard
    • This message has been removed from public view.
    R Giskard, May 30, 2015
  28. lsamod
    nice review by hakushondaimao. It would be great if you can compare these to HD600, since no one have done it yet.
    lsamod, May 30, 2015
  29. lsamod
    • This message has been removed from public view.
    nice review by hakushondaimao. It would be great if you can compare these to HD600, since no one have done it yet.
    lsamod, May 30, 2015
  30. lsamod
    • This message has been removed from public view.
    nice review by hakushondaimao. It would be great if you can compare these to HD600, since no one have done it yet.
    lsamod, May 30, 2015
  31. lsamod
    • This message has been removed from public view.
    nice review by hakushondaimao. It would be great if you can compare these to HD600, since no one have done it yet.
    lsamod, May 30, 2015
  32. hakushondaimao
    [user=381840]@lsamod[/user]: Thanks. Thanks. Thanks. Thanks. Will compare with the HD650 soon; don't have access to a 600 at the mo'.
    hakushondaimao, May 30, 2015
  33. mikek200
    OK,Isomod..we got it coming..??
    mikek200, May 30, 2015
  34. mikek200
    Newbie question: How do I get into the "reserved" section to read the reviews???   Mike
    mikek200, May 30, 2015
  35. hakushondaimao
    [user=282104]@mikek200[/user], not sure what you mean by "reserved" section... Are you logged into the site? PM me or one of the mods so we can keep the comments on topic  ;-)
    hakushondaimao, May 30, 2015
  36. mikek200
    See here:  " [user=282104]@mikek200[/user]: I actually just got an HD650 this week for a review, and will be adding some comparison info in the "reserved" space" Thought it might be posted in another area,of the thread   Mike
    mikek200, May 31, 2015
  37. hakushondaimao
    [user=282104]@mikek200[/user]: Ah! Gotcha... no, in the review you'll see that I reserved a space for a future add-in of information. That's the "space" I was referring to.
    hakushondaimao, May 31, 2015
  38. mikek200
    OK-Got it Thank You,Sir.
    mikek200, May 31, 2015
  39. hakushondaimao
    [user=282104]@mikek200[/user], [user=381840]@lsamod[/user], [user=422331]@maikuirock[/user]: Review updated with comparisons.
    hakushondaimao, Jun 1, 2015
  40. earfonia
    Awesome review! Agree with most of your assessment. Thanks!
    earfonia, Jun 1, 2015
  41. hakushondaimao
    [user=150501]@earfonia[/user], glad you liked it. Would be interested to know where you don't agree  ;-)
    hakushondaimao, Jun 2, 2015
  42. mikek200
    [user=411422]hakushondaimao[/user] ,,,thanks for a great review-getting my R-70x tomorrow,and at the moment,using this setup Jriver>parasound 1500 dac>emotiva DC-1 amp   Will do my best to get some impressions together,and post back,I listen to a lot of soundtrack music,so I will be concentrating on that genre.plus a bit of classical   Mike
    mikek200, Jun 2, 2015
  43. hakushondaimao
    [user=282104]@mikek200[/user]: Hope you're enjoying your new toy. Looking forward to your impressions.
    hakushondaimao, Jun 6, 2015
  44. volly
    Wow, great review! Well written and easy to understand and read!    The R70x has peaked my interest of late, I'm not sure on the conclusion if I was to choose between the HD650 or the R70x as the HD650 are a little cheaper where I live but none the less Audio Technica has delivered a compelling headphone!
    volly, Aug 21, 2015
  45. hakushondaimao
    Thanks for the comment, [user=288693]@volly[/user]. Either phone would make a good choice, depending on your preferences. For me, I just keep reaching for the R70x.
    hakushondaimao, Aug 22, 2015