1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

nflj_showcase_replies_on_review_by_x

  1. Sonic Defender
    Great review. I have never tried an AKG, but this review has made me feel that this is the AKG for me to try. What about a closed AKG that would like the FiiO E12 as the amp? Any suggestions there? Again, excellent review. I like the blend of subjective and objective.
    Sonic Defender, Feb 15, 2015
  2. Redcarmoose
    Burn in? 300 hours?
    Redcarmoose, Feb 15, 2015
  3. cs098
    The akg k545 is a good one
    cs098, Feb 15, 2015
  4. bpandbass
    [user=180560]@Sonic Defender[/user], This is a great AKG to try. I like it more than the Q701, and to me is right on par with the K612 Pro, which is a little bit cheaper. The Fiio E12 will be fine, but won't really bring that magical dynamic-ness to AKG. Personally I would instead recommend the Schiit Vali for a tube amp, or the JDS Labs Objective 2. The Objective 2 is an excellent sub-200 dollar amp and can run on battery power. 
    bpandbass, Feb 15, 2015
  5. bpandbass
    [user=105173]@Redcarmoose[/user] I'd say 300 hours is the amount to get the last 10 percent of burn in, just like any other K7. Yes. Personally I found the K7XX to start sounding right after about 100-150 hours. With little burn in the treble is brittle and sibilant, and the midrange sounds sucked out and highly recessed. 
    bpandbass, Feb 15, 2015
  6. bpandbass
    [user=410096]@cs098[/user] The K545 definitely is a good choice for a great sounding portable overall AKG that doesn't require a dedicated system other than a smartphone or decent MP3 player.
    bpandbass, Feb 15, 2015
  7. 45longcolt
    Well-written, helpful review. If I have the K7XXs, the LCD-3s and the speakers all playing at the same time on my Schiit Ragnarok, the K7XXs will be the quietest. Yeah, these things like power. But they are very nice for $200.
    45longcolt, Feb 16, 2015
  8. alynx
    Nice review. Pls do the comparison with the HD 650. I got them, too, so I'm really interrested on how they stack up against each other.
    alynx, Feb 16, 2015
  9. buson160man
     A friend recently purchased ak712 after borrowing and listening to my old(over 5 years old) k701.   I have probably well over a thousand hours of platy time on my old Austrian made k 701s. He commented that he found my old k 701s to be more open at the top than his new k 712s. Probably  some of that is break in time. But I did hear what he was talking about. One thing about the old  k701 and probably why so many people criticize the 701 for is the need for a big beefy amp to power them properly. In fact you will probably have a tough time finding any conventional dedicated headphone amp including some really high powered ones to really grasp the k 701 and get the beast from them. I have found my amp in the form of a vintage monster receiver circa late 1970s. My concept 16.5 powers the  k701 like no dedicated headphone amp that I have heard with them . One look the  power supply on this beast speaks a thousand words. The dual transformers and well endowed power supply supplies the necessary muscle to really show what the k 701s can do. You I am sure have never heard bass on the K 701s like they do with the concept receiver.   I have come to appreciate the k 701s and their remarkable abilities but it has been a long and arduous journey that most people would not have had the patience to endure.    The  k701s were truly a statement of resolution.
    buson160man, Feb 16, 2015
  10. nippon
    Fiio E12 Works fine with the AKG K7XX. I don't know any really good sealed headphones from AKG (K550 and K271 are quite okay). And again some guys believing in the magical burn-in rainbow-unicorn-phenomenon. Right now i'm listening to my K7XX for over a month (nearly 4 hours a day) and i can't approve that the sound-signature has changed. And yes, i'm using 2-3 different headphones a day, so a change in one of them will be noticeable to me. The K7XX is a fine headphone, but the K601 will be my favorite AKG for quite awhile
    nippon, Feb 16, 2015
  11. jazzwave
    Yes please do comparison K7XX with HD650...Thx
    jazzwave, Feb 17, 2015
  12. dinesh18892
    Would love to have a review of hd 650 vs these cans :)
    dinesh18892, Feb 17, 2015
  13. LajostheHun
    Thanks for the review, but there are a few issues I find troubling. First of all it's alleged power hungriness is really not explained by it's flat impedance curve, if anything that should be a boon to an amplifier. The other is that you recommend amps that costs several times more than the HP in review, to me that's an automatic knock especially at this price level to spend that much to make this HP sound it's best. That's like saying you need a more expensive screen than the new front projector one just bought to get it's best.Of course this isn't your fault per se you just reporting your experiences, but I would have a hard time to recommend a product that needs more expenditure 2-3 times or more than the product to deliver it's best. AKG should really come up with a driver that is more efficient while retaining it's qualities that most people who like their sound care for.This can sounds like just another variation on the same "theme" AKG been composing for years,if not decades.
    LajostheHun, Feb 17, 2015
  14. bpandbass
    [user=396141]@LajostheHun[/user] You have brought up some very important points. I consider the K7XX fidelity-wise to be a 400-600 dollar tier headphone along the lines of the Beyer DT990 600 ohm, HD600, and HD650 for mid-fi prices similar to the HD598, which doesn't need a dedicated amp. The differences fidelity-wise between the HD598 and K7XX are night and day. The K7XX just has better engineered transducers and better fidelity. HD598 hits excursion and distortion levels far sooner. The K7XX's sibling, the K712, retails at an MSRP of 600 dollars, but since AKG prices vary wildly, the target of what level of gear for them tends to go all over the place. At 700 dollars you would think the Woo WA6, but if it goes for 200-300 dollars then think Objective 2 or Schiit Asgard 2. Because of that it's deceiving as logic says you buy gear based on how expensive your headphone is. However AKGs are counterintuitive as they scale noticeably better with more expensive gear, and their sound varies much more than the HD650 and HD600 on different systems. AKGs tend to not be the headphone for novices due to how system dependent they are. Often they can be a false economy with their competitively lower prices than Senns of equal fidelity, leading to people thinking they don't need as good a setup. I will go into this in my comparison video. If in doubt go with the Objective 2 as it will get the job done if not sound that last 15 percent exquisite or bring a lot of scalability out of the K7XX. 
    bpandbass, Feb 17, 2015
  15. vaibhavp
    amp matching is pretty straight forward, I think.   K700 series has a tendency to sound bright and thin if not used with right amp. since I cant enjoy these traits, they are difficult to amp.   Senn hd650 on other hand can vary from neutral to warm. I am ok with both cases. thus easy to amp as long as it can provide juice.   although I must say both hps are designed with different demographic in mind, akg caters pro audio, no guarantee which hp out they will be plugged into. while senn is geared towards audiophiles who will take time to build up setup. this approach pretty much thrives on our tendency to do careful system matching and invest time and effort to maximise potential.
    vaibhavp, Feb 17, 2015
  16. Kung-Fi
    How do you think these will fair when paired up with the FiiO e10k? (currently what I have)
    Kung-Fi, Feb 18, 2015
  17. bpandbass
    [user=419299]@Kung-Fi[/user] The FiiO E10K should be decent for it, but FiiOs tend to not sound that dynamic with AKGs. 
    bpandbass, Feb 18, 2015
  18. bpandbass
    Hey everyone, I uploaded a comparison between the HD650 and K7XX. Here it is:   [url=http://www.head-fi.org/t/755497/sennheiser-hd650-vs-akg-k7xx]http://www.head-fi.org/t/755497/sennheiser-hd650-vs-akg-k7xx[/url]
    bpandbass, Feb 18, 2015
  19. Baycode
    Hi, great review and information! Thanks for share! Did you try K7XX or any other K/Q/7xx series with the GeekOut 720 ? Is it appropriate for driving this HP or do you have any idea about its synergy with GeekOuts (450, 720, 1000)?
    Baycode, Feb 19, 2015
  20. Johnlist
    Great review, wondering what would be better match for jazz HD650 or KXX
    Johnlist, Feb 19, 2015
  21. bpandbass
    [user=19456]@Baycode[/user] I didn't try them with that amp unfortunately. I was using entry level amps such as the Hifiman EF2A, Maverick Audio A1 and Audioengine D1. I only procured the Lyr 2 around the holidays in December, 2014. So I'm unable to comment on its performance with the GeekOuts. But it likes the same types of systems as its K7 siblings, so if there is a GeekOut that you've tried with another K7 and really enjoyed the synergy, the K7XX will also work well with that same amp.  Sorry that I am not able to comment too much here, as I've just used entry to now medium level hybrid amps, and am only going on word of mouth for other systems. 
    bpandbass, Feb 19, 2015
  22. bpandbass
    [user=419104]@Johnlist[/user] Well let me ask you this: do you listen to jazz primarily as an analytical thing, or more for the musicality? Because both do jazz well, but the K7XX is more analytical at jazz and if you prefer to listen to jazz more for the technicality of it, the K7XX will likely be your better choice. If you listen to more jazz fusion and soul-style jazz, the HD650 with its warmer bass and mids will likely be a better choice. 
    bpandbass, Feb 19, 2015
  23. MilkyShakes
    I'm getting a pair of these and dont have an amp I don't know much about amps though help would be great my source is just my galaxy S5 under $130 can go up to $150
    MilkyShakes, Mar 6, 2015
  24. bpandbass
    [user=418968]@MilkyShakes[/user] I would go for the Schiit Audio Vali for an amplifier. 
    bpandbass, Mar 6, 2015
  25. musikaladin
    Great review indeed!
    musikaladin, Mar 23, 2015
  26. Soundsgoodtome
    Good review! Very detailed, although a bit winded about the lineage (which AKG owners would appreciate), and explains the frequencies quite well. I'm getting mine today and hopefully like them as much if not more than my 650s.
    Soundsgoodtome, May 4, 2015
  27. Share2Care
    That was most appreciated.   Thank you for an enjoyable and very informative review,   Tip top! :)
    Share2Care, Jan 23, 2017