1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

PAI AUDIO DR2

Rating:
4.16667/5,
  1. IryxBRO
    Pai Audio DR2 — bassy soundstage
    Written by IryxBRO
    Published Jul 26, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - good bass, good soundstage, excellent fit, great design and build quality
    Cons - bass is accented
    Want some lollipops? This is the first association that comes in mind with the look of Pai Audio DR2 IEMs. This model is a budget-friendly, almost the least expensive in π3.14 lineup and based on single dynamic driver units packed into beautiful custom-like shells. Googling for a while also brings the notion that most of the customer feedback and reviews are positive, therefore, not expecting any unwanted surpises here… Already know that the fit would be perfect and hope that the sound would not disappoint either. By the way, Pai Audio has another more conceptial visual branding «π3.14» which is hard to insert into the title of many site engines. Thus, simplified «Pai Audio» is commonly used.

    [​IMG]

    π3.14 DR2 technical specifications:
    • Shell materials: resin
    • Driver type: dynamic
    • Sensitivity: 125dB
    • Impedance: 8Ω
    • Frequency Response Range: 10Hz — 30kHz
    • Cable connectors: MMCX
    • Audio Jack: 3.5mm, 90° angle
    • Cable Length: 1.2m
    [​IMG]

    Packaging, design and build quality:

    At last there is something less common in the box design. DR2 IEMs come in small transparent plastic box. Walls are covered by paper inlet with prints from inside. Prints contain the picture of the product, brand logo and short technical description.

    [​IMG]

    There is also one soft insert that hold IEMs at place. Since the box is transaprent, all accessories and IEMs stay visible.

    Box contents:
    • π3.14 DR2 IEMs
    • audio cable
    • 3 pairs of white silicone eartips
    • 2 pairs of grey silicone eartips
    • cable clip
    • plastic cap for audio jack
    [​IMG]

    DR2 shells are made of resin except the aluminum output channels and cable ports. Shells are transparent and top sides have the additional layer of red and green for right/left channels respectively.

    [​IMG]

    This layer also contans beautiful tiny aluminum «π» inside that makes the design more sophisticated and attractive.

    [​IMG]

    Compensational openings are drilled from the edge surface to the corresponding openings on driver assembly. Neat soldering and wires are also observable.

    [​IMG]

    Output channels seem to be added at casting stage since there is no signs of glue. Channels end up with aluminum protective grills.

    [​IMG]

    Stock cable is made of copper, 4 twisted lines with flexible earguides and transparent resin MMCX connectors at one side, 90° audio jack in aluminum housing on the other and transparent resin Y-splitter + limiter at the middle.

    [​IMG]

    Fit:

    As expected, DR2 IEMs have absolutely no issues with fit comfort. Such type of «custom» shape is the best and the most comfortable one available at mass market. The only minor complain here is the angle of flexible earguides that would push IEMs hard into the ear channels. This problem originates from tight packing inside so small box resulting into excessive earguides angle. Solution is easy — heating up earguides a bit and giving them more natural shape.

    Sound quality:

    Tested with Hidizs AP80 DAP

    [​IMG]

    Lows and midbass:

    Lows are playing the leading role in DR2 sound and building warm signature. Bass is evident, if not to say overwhelming, brought forward and stays there at any composition. Reach is quite deep, bass feels extended but the shape of it is kind of smeared. It helps a lot to make the stage deeper and wider, although the boundaries and dynamics are hardly perceptible. Bass texturing is moderate.

    Midbass dynamics is much better, this range sounds pretty natural and rich. Drums don’t show any harsh peaks, articulation is fast and tight. Volume and amount of air is enough to recreate drums naturally.

    [​IMG]

    Mids and vocals:

    I would say that mids are taking second place and middle layer in DR2 presentation of sound. Hanging behind lows but leading if compared to treble. Thanks to such positioning, female voices are absent of any screaming notes no matter the volume level. Vocal sound full-bodied, thick and natural. Instrument separation is also quite good. What DR2 mids lack is the resolution. Amount of details could have been higher to reproduce intermittent sound of piezo pickups or bows interacting with strings. Voices expose good warm timbre but the pleasing «mellow» effect is almost absent. Such performance is pleasing and satisfying in overall unless you have been dealing with much more expensive and resolving IEMs.

    [​IMG]

    Treble:

    This range is playing a secondary role and having the least presence. Peceived like this, at least. The graph should definitely show some gain elevation here, but the perception of treble is different due to the amount of lows and exposure of mids. Good treble clarity and above the average extension only gets evident in special tracks that are built upon the respective intruments and sounds. In most of the other compositions treble would act as a supplement with the sufficient presence in overall but getting shadowed by other ranges from time to time. Can’t say that treble is not enough… But it is definitely behind everything else and this is quite different to lots of current IEMs with more evident and equilateral V-shape.

    [​IMG]

    Soundstage:

    One of the main advantages of DR2 IEMs is their ability to create evidently large 3D stage with good instrument separation, their defined location and good layering between the ranges. One of the best budget IEMs concerning this aspect.

    [​IMG]

    Sound in overall:

    π3.14 DR2 sound could be described as warm, with significant elevation of lows, deep bass reach, natural midbass, thick and warm mids with excellent control over sibilances, laid-back treble, moderate resolution throughout all ranges and large soundstage.

    Compared to BQEYZ KB100:

    [​IMG]

    KB100 remain one of the best IEMs in this price. Based on a combination of BA + dynamic driver, those IEMs are capable of clear, transparent and extended treble, defined lows and good resolution on mids. They are more vivid and sharp in sound comparing to DR2 which is the reason for those who like warmth to choose DR2 instead. DR2 also a better choice in terms of midbass amount and power.

    Compared to Tanchjim Cora:

    [​IMG]

    Tanchjim Cora is another single dynamic driver contender but its sound is the opposite — tending to bright side with lots of treble defining the picture. Cora sound more balanced since the bass is not that accented and treble is perfectly delivered. Resolution is also better. DR2 leads in terms of deep bass, midbass power and thickness of mids. DR2 is also superior in terms of fit and soundstage.

    Compared to Kinera Seed:

    [​IMG]

    Another hybrid IEMs with very different approach. Very calm and neutral sound with no significant accents on either range. Good overall resolution, excellent treble clarity and extension, naturally exposed mids. What it lacks is the deep bass and midbass power. DR2 are better in this as well as in building larger sounstage.

    Conclusion:

    [​IMG]

    First of all, π3.14 DR2 should become perfectly satisfying choice for all of the bassheads looking for budget IEMs. Despite low price, DR2 are also building the largest soundstage with good instrument separation and layering among the contenders. Sound is warm in tonality, free of any lisping or sibilances and pleasingly thick on vocals and mids. Versatility is also ensured by the excellent fit comfort of «custom» type shells and very attractive externals. The only complain addresses moderate resolution but there was no other perfect IEMs either. Thus, leading on several parameters, π3.14 DR2 get a high score in under $50 price segment.

    π3.14 DR2 available at PenonAudio store
      Assimilator702 likes this.
  2. Lidson Mendes Br
    Pai Audio DR2 - The Great Bass
    Written by Lidson Mendes Br
    Published Jul 16, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Excellent Bass
    Design
    Comfort
    Value for money
    Ergonomic
    Construction
    Cons - Minimum accessories
    Pai Audio DR2

    [​IMG]

    The product was provided for free for the purpose of review in exchange for my honest opinion.

    You can buy Pai Audio DR2 at the link below in the Store Shenzhen Paiaudio Technology Co., Ltd on Aliexpress.

    DR2 on Aliexpress: https://pt.aliexpress.com/item/33000545131.html

    Originally posted:
    https://audiofiliabrasil.home.blog/2019/07/16/pai-audio-dr2-review/

    First: Sorry for the bad english.

    Intro

    Shenzhen Paiaudio Electronics Co.Ltd better known as Pai Audio manufacturer of Earbuds and IEMs of the most varied prices and designs.

    I remember when I heard MR2 and MR3 and I was really impressed by their quality, including reviewing them on Mind The Headphone.

    [​IMG]

    Accessories & Design

    Pai Audio DR2 is an in-ear equipped with a dynamic 12mm driver, it has several color options from red, royal blue, black, peacock blue and red and blue.

    The shells are made of translucent resin, the nozzles are brass and the connection to the cable is MMCX, the shell is small and universal, light and ergonomic. They are extremely well made, have no bubble or sharp edges.

    [​IMG]

    The DR2 comes with a copper cable and a microphone and some tips, the package is simple. The cable has a decent quality, it has a chin-slider and I did not feel any kind of microphone. In the package also comes three silicone tips and a shirt clip.

    I found the DR2 more comfortable than the Ibasso IT01, and this is very private. It's a bit heavier than the IT01, but it fits my ears better sometimes and I forget them. Using with silicone or Foam tips they are well fixed in my ears, and are very comfortable.

    [​IMG]

    Sound

    DR2 has been my companion for more than 15 days, I have tested it with the most diverse musical styles, and listening to the Podcasts I like. I like to spend a lot of time with my headsets before releasing a review, I believe that time is the best ally when it comes to getting used to the signature and style of the phone.

    This In-ear has a V-signature, it's fun and even though it's not an All-Rounder, it allowed me to enjoy other genres of music I do not normally hear like Dance and EDM and the old Rap I hear from national artists like Emicida, Criolo and MV Bill. In other styles it goes well, but does not have the same impact due to the middle ones that are indented.

    Bass of this IEM is clearly the priority, they are powerful and alive. You feel the bass, the impact is incredible I caught myself listening to a playlist of Dance and EDM on Deezer and I could not stop listening.

    I'm sure bass fans will love DR2, several songs you're used to hearing will sound different due to the bass. Listening to Rap also had a smile on his face, it is very good to feel the beat of the song.

    Mid range ones are retracted due to the signature in V, some songs or styles you feel a greater retreat, others not so much. I imagined that due to the more prominent basses the recoil would impact more in the middle, but this was not felt that much.

    Treble are clear and smooth, without wheezing or stridency. Everyone who looks for a V-shaped sound and is sensitive to treble will find a sufficient quantity and quality.

    The sound stage is very good for an IEM of $ 50, the instrumental separation is also good. It is easy to identify where each instrument is located, they do not overlap.

    Conclusion

    Pai Audio DR2 has a wonderful bass and allowed me to hear things that I do not pay as much attention as EDM and Dance. Other styles were also favored, but my attention was really focused on that.

    The most important thing in this hobby is listening to music, and DR2 provided me with it so that I completely forgot about the review. In the end that's what matters, I was totally positively surprised.

    I'm sure that all those who are looking for a well-built IEM, with a variety of incredible colors and with Custom Universal format, will find in Pai Audio DR2 a good companion to listen to their songs.

    Enjoy your music and be happy.

    Pai Audio DR2 - U$ 49

    Driver 12mm Dynamic driver

    Frequency response 20 - 20000 kHz

    Sensitivity 120 dB

    Impedance 32Ohms

    Plug size 3.5 TRS gold plated

    Connection MMCX

    Cable length 1.2m

    images

    1. WhatsApp Image 2019-07-16 at 13.45.50 (3).jpeg
    2. WhatsApp Image 2019-07-16 at 13.45.50 (2).jpeg
    3. WhatsApp Image 2019-07-16 at 13.45.48.jpeg
    4. WhatsApp Image 2019-07-16 at 13.45.49 (2).jpeg
    5. WhatsApp Image 2019-07-16 at 13.45.49 (4).jpeg
      hqssui likes this.
  3. Otto Motor
    Paiaudio DR2 Review – Fun ‘n’ Bass
    Written by Otto Motor
    Published Jun 17, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Beautiful design and quality build; good timbre.
    Cons - Strong bass pushing mids back; large and heavy earpieces.
    intro2-1-800x445-1.jpeg


    EXECUTIVE SUMMARY


    The Paiaudio DR2 is a superbly built, warm, bright, V-shaped bass gun with laid back mids and a good timbre.


    SPECIFICATIONS

    Housing: resin shell
    Driver: dynamic driver
    Sensitivity: 125 dB
    Impedance: 8 Ω
    Frequency Response Range: 10-30 kHz
    Connector: MMCX
    Plugs: 3.5mm line type
    Cable Length: 1.2 m
    Price: $49 (at the time of the review)
    Product Link: Penon Audio

    gfowMMG.jpg


    PHYSICAL THINGS


    In the box are the two earpiece, the cable, 5 sets of rubber tips, and a shirt clip.

    The earpieces are made of resin and the cavities are completely filled in order to minimize resonance. The fill is impeccable: there are zero impurities such as bubbles or streaks. The four-core cable matches the amber shells colour wise and the jack features a sturdy spring strain-relief.

    The earpieces, since they constitute large lumps of resin, are heavy but ergonomic. They stick quite a bit out of the ears like old-fashioned hearing aids but they fit well and are comfortable. Isolation is excellent, in fact so good that I missed most of the ambient noise on walks through my semi-busy neighbourhood. My phone SE drove the Paiaudio DR2 with ease and the largest included white eartips produced the perfect seal.

    ap8ooKE.jpg


    TONALITY

    JK’s tonal preference and testing practice

    Huge bass appealing to bassheads, strongly recessed midrange, prominent Chifi double peak between 2 and 4 kHz (the most sensitive part of the frequency spectrum to the human ear.). Nevertheless, sound is better than frequency response curve may imply.

    ULi7WCg.jpg


    The midrange is of good tonal quality but the bass pushes it back, mysteriously without covering the vocals up. The vocals are warm and reasonably dense but can be breathy and lack richness in some cases. These vocals with a lesser bass would work very well for me. They are not only under attack from the low end but also from the higher notes. The good thing about the upper midrange peaks (2-4 kHz; add brightness to the image) is that they are being balanced by the bass and do not introduce harshness and screaminess to my ears. This confirms that the human ears hear the whole frequency spectrum in context.

    No sibilance or hardness. High-frequency peaks counteract dullness introduced by the bass and freshen up the image. The treble is smooth, not overwhelming and fits well in the overall picture. Nothing unpleasant at the high end. I always felt the need of turning the volume up to move the vocals closer to my ear, but this also increased bass and treble, the combination of which pounded mercilessly against my eardrums. Detail resolution is also surprisingly good: the congestion in the upper midrange which plague so many budget DDs does not exist. Soundstage has a good height and depth, which is also not expected.

    Summarizing, these are good dynamic earphones with extra bass added. Take it or leave it. Their sonic and haptic qualities with a different bass dosage would put them in the $100+ area in my books.


    CONCLUDING REMARKS


    As so often, the Paiaudio DR2’s qualities lie in the eye of the beholder: If you like a very impactful bass and a natural sound, this is a great earphone. If you are bass sensitive and prefer “mid centric”, it is not. Although I belong to the second group, these Paiaudio DR2 kept growing on me, mainly because of the bass quality, timbre, and soundstage. And since they seal well and have this very robust low end, they are useful in combination with bass-light sources such as the Shanling M0, or for commuting, or on the plane. I will try them out on my next flight.


    DISCLAIMER

    This review was originally posted at https://audioreviews.org.

    The Paiaudio DR2 earphone was provided unsolicited and free of charge from Penon Audio for my independent review. Note: the Paiaudio DR2’s earpieces are technically and therefore sonically identical with the the previously reviewed Hill Audio Altair • RA earphone. This was not known to me when accepting the DR2 for review. And it was unknown to Penon Audio that the Altair review was in the works at the time. What is different between the two earphones are the earpieces’ colours and the included accessories, including the cables. Also note that both earphones come with different specifications, but my measurements yielded identical frequency responses (see below). My technical descriptions of the two earphones have therefore large overlaps.

    My generic standard disclaimer

    About my measurements

    tSdOgxF.jpg

    mnwuBVu.jpg
      Assimilator702 and slapo like this.
  4. Palash
    Budget Beauties
    Written by Palash
    Published Jun 3, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Excellent Bass performance,
    Design,
    Build,
    Comfortable,
    Value for money.
    Cons - Highs could have better,
    No carry case.
    Introduction
    Shenzhen Paiaudio Electronics Co.Ltd in short Paiaudio form Shenzhen is a manufacturer of high end audio products. They have variety of products (Earbuds, single dynamic driver IEMs, fully BA IEMs and hybrid IEMs) from 20$ to 300$ and today for review I have got their DR2 model. I would like to thank Penon Audio for sending me a unit for review. DR2 is the successor of DR1, and it is a single Dynamic Driver IEM.

    DSC_0018.jpg

    Specification
    Housing - Resin shell,
    Driver – 12mm Dynamic driver,
    Sensitivity - 120dB,
    Impedance - 32Ω,
    Frequency Response Range - 10-20 kHz,
    Connector – MMCX,
    Plugs - 3.5mm line type,
    Cable Length - 1.2m.

    DSC_0027.jpg

    Buying Link - Here


    What’s inside the Box?

    DR2 earphone,
    3 pairs of Silicone ear tips (S/M/L),
    Shirt Clip.

    DSC_0019.jpg

    It’s just an 85mm x 85mm x 50mm (W x L x H) transparent acrylic box and everything packed well inside. IEM secured using a piece of black foam and the cable is placed beneath it. You can adore the beauty of DR2 even without unboxing it. Branding done on small piece of paper with specifications, placed inside the box but sadly No carry case included, so I am going to use this box as a carry box while travelling. Tips and shirt clip placed in a separate plastic pouch inside the box. Overall unboxing experience is simple yet interesting.

    DSC_0020.jpg

    Build & Design
    DR2 is completely a handmade product yet very well made. Not sure but it seems DR2 is made out of medical grade resin. The surface is smooth and no sharp edges are there even any visible scratch or bubble not present on this resin shell. The brass nozzle has been fixed with the resin shell very carefully and wax guard mesh has been applied in front of that nozzles. Gold plated MMCX connectors also embedded with the shell quite nicely. You can see the large golden dynamic driver, small cables, and sound tube even from outside of the shell due to its translucent resin shell. Right and Left earpiece marked with red and blue color on the face plate. A small hole near MMCX connector maintaining the air pressure inside the IEM otherwise DR2 is completely seal and no visible joints are there. So overall solid and good build quality.

    DSC_0023.jpg

    DSC_0024.jpg

    Cable quality is decent, 4 cores nicely woven till Y splitter. It is a detachable MMCX cable with L type 3.5 mm plug, soft and no sign of microphonics. A small chin slider and memory foam used for ease of usage. MMCX connectors goes inside the IEM shell a bit for better fit but noticed some movement yet no drop in sound .

    DSC_0025.jpg

    Source, Comfort, Noise Isolation & Tip Selection
    DR2 is only 32Ω and very easy to drive , worked fine with almost all of my sources like Iphone SE, Cayin N3, Fiio Q1 Mk2, Fiio Q5 & Audioquest Dragonfly . DR2 sounds best with bright source because of its sound characteristics, which I will discuss soon.
    Comfort and noise isolation is too good, DR2 not only looks like a CIEM it also fits like a custom IEM. Supplied tips are good but a pair of double flange tip is must have, which is not there. I have used an aftermarket soft, medium bore sized double flange tip for improved sound. Before any serious listening I left DR2 for 50 hours of burn in.

    Tracks / Albums Listened –
    Coldplay - A Head Full Of Dreams,
    Eagles - The Very Best Of The Eagles,
    Eric Clapton - Riding With The King (Tidal MQA),
    Eric Clapton - Unplugged (1992),
    Etta James - At Last! ,
    Michael Jackson – Scream,
    Sia - This Is Acting (Deluxe Version),
    Kacey Musgraves - Golden Hour,
    Legends- Elton John,
    Michael McDonald - Wide Open,
    Daft Punk - Random Access Memories,
    Fleetwood Mac – Rumours,
    Sting - The Best of 25 Years.

    Sound
    There is no doubt that the sound signature of DR2 is ‘v’ shaped, but it’s not that conventional ‘V’ shape tuning we acquainted with, especially the higher frequency part is not well extended to be a proper ‘V’ shaped sound. Let’s explain further.

    DSC_0026.jpg

    Bass – DR2 designed keeping bass on top priority. Sub-bass section is the cream in terms of quantity and quality. The bass is impactful and goes deep without making it overpowering. Speed is fast, accurate and noticeable rumble is in sub-bass area. Song like ‘Instant Crush’ by Daft Punk sounds very enjoyable and every hit on drum is clear and punchy. A warm player with DR2 is not suitable as it’s already good in bass section. Pair of double flange tip and a SPC cable can bring more texture in Mid-bass area too.


    Mids – Mids where DR2 suffers most, especially in lower mid range. Some bass bleed can be noticed in this area, rest mid range especially upper mid range is a bit forwarded than lower Mids. Male vocals are thin and muffled, female vocals are though sounding better. Song like ‘Are You Ready for Love ‘by Elton John lacks the texture where ‘House On Fire’ by Sia, sounding acceptable. I know the Mids of DR2 is not overwhelming but personally I am not expecting such mature Mids from a ‘v’ shaped sounding IEM.

    Treble -
    Higher frequency part is not that well extended, it’s smooth and no harshness or sibilance at all. The quality is good but quantity is less. Don’t think DR2 is treble shy, for treble sensitive people it’s enough. With a third party SPC cable DR2 can even manages to overcome the shimmer slightly. Song like ‘Riding with the King’ by B. B. King and Eric Clapton with DR2 may feels less energetic first but it turns out, it’s actually less fatigue with the entire album.

    DSC_0006.jpg

    Soundstage & Imaging
    The soundstage is quite good for such a budget IEM, instrument separation is also very good. Separation of vocals and instruments are clear, DR2 is doing great with complex songs too. In songs like ‘I Don’t Want to Know’ by Fleetwood Mac the 3D holographic stage is present.

    ComparisonVs Fiio Fh1

    Fiio FH1 priced around 75 $ and Dr2 is selling for 50$, now FH1 comes with lots of accessories which DR2 doesn’t provide, except that DR2 sound a bit better than FH1. Fit and noise isolation is also better with DR2. DR2 looks modern and stylish. Sonically Bass is boomy in FH1 where in DR2 is punchy, Mids are almost same in FH1 and DR2. In Treble section FH1 a step ahead. FH1 with balanced cable sound a bit better too.

    Conclusion
    From the perspective of design and fit, Pai audio DR2 is remarkable. It’s clear that DR2 is tuned for bass lovers; but it can please non-bass lovers too with natural Mids and 3D soundstage.

      hqssui likes this.
  5. cqtek
    Sub-bass Gem
    Written by cqtek
    Published Apr 7, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Quality of bass, sub-bass in particular.
    - Clear sound and soft treble, but detailed.
    - Ergonomics.
    - Comfort.
    - Construction.
    Cons - Minimum packaging and accessories.
    Introduction

    Paiaudio is a brand from China, specifically from Shenzhen. It specialises in the manufacture of Hi-End headphones. The DR2 is a model in the Dynamic series. Paiaudio also has other series: Flat Earbuds, Balance Armature and Hybrid Earphones.

    The DR2 are IEMs made of transparent resin, with a really ergonomic and beautiful design, built as gems of high resistance.

    Paiaudio DR2 01.jpg
    Paiaudio DR2 02.jpg

    Specifications
    • Type of Drivers: Dynamic
    • Frequency response: 10Hz-30kHz
    • Sensitivity: 125dB
    • Impedance: 8Ω
    • Transparent resin capsules
    • Jack connector: 3.5mm angled
    • Cable length: 1.2m
    • Capsule connection type: MMCX

    Paiaudio DR2 03.jpg

    Packaging

    The box where the DR2s come from is a small, transparent methacrylate box. The IEMs are embedded in a foam base. Under it is the cable and a bag with two pairs of grey silicone tips and three pairs of white silicone. It seems that the sizes are only large and medium. The last accessory is a clothing clip.

    Although the content is the minimum required and the presentation is very simple and austere, the transparent box enhances the beauty of the IEMs, as it lets you see them almost completely.

    Unfortunately, the accessories do not include a carrying case.

    Paiaudio DR2 04.jpg

    Construction and Design

    The Paiaudio DR2 have been built entirely in transparent resin, of high hardness. Inside you can see the great dynamic driver. The nozzles are metallic and gold-plated. They also have a metallic filter, of a fine grid. The outer faces of each IEM are translucent, red for the right channel, blue for the left. In the middle of the outer faces you can see the symbol π inside a circle. The gold-plated MMCX connections are completely embedded in the resin. The set is very compact, strong and durable in appearance, as well as beautiful and very attractive.

    Paiaudio DR2 05.jpg

    Adjustment and Ergonomics

    The adjustment is simple and excellent. The nozzles are long, allowing you to play with multiple tips to find the best seal and sound. Depending on the size of the tips used, the insertion can be superficial or medium, adapting to the taste of each one. All this thanks to the construction of the nozzles.

    Due to the highly ergonomic design of the capsules, the fit is outstanding and movement is minimal.

    In addition, the level of insulation is remarkable.

    Paiaudio DR2 06.jpg

    Sound

    Profile

    The profile of the Paiaudio DR2 is in clear V, focused on the sub-basses and in the high mids. The highs are really smooth, but sharp and detailed, although the roll-off from 4.5kHz is noticeable. Then there is a slight rise above 9kHz that brings air and clarity to the whole.

    Pai Audio DR2.png

    Bass

    The focus is clearly located in the sub-bass zone, as from 40Hz the curve gradually descends to 700Hz. The result is a markedly deep sound, which enjoys a very important sub-bass hit. The rest of the area doesn't feel so powerful, yet the bass doesn't sound orphaned or incomplete, but is very enjoyable.

    The speed of the lows is remarkable for the price range. The color is also very realistic and the body it provides is very suitable, meddling little in the mids, due to its special focus on the lower area.

    It is true that the width of the area is not large, compared to other IEMs with more punch in the center of the bass. But its special characteristic shines in many genres, it is surprising how the DR2 provide depth in musical pieces where the basses are even subtle.

    Paiaudio DR2 07.jpg

    Mids

    As I have already commented before, the low mids go down to 700Hz, to go up as a W between 2kHz and 4kHz. With this profile the DR2 suffer from a certain body in the lower part of the mids, sounding somewhat backward or sunken, but never dark or congested. Thus, male voices can be perceived somewhat more distant and thin, even something similar can happen with female voices. But luckily the clarity and naturalness is quite good, although the relative loss of power in the final area of the bass, makes this area sound slightly hollow.

    However, the rest of the mids shines clearly, with a good cleanliness and clarity, remarkable level of detail and separation. The clear enhancement between 2 and 4kHz makes the mids sound more coherent than its graphics might initially suggest. The definition and resolution of the area is even surprising, despite the a priori imbalance.

    In short, mids are better than one might expect by looking at the frequency response.

    Paiaudio DR2 08.jpg

    Treble

    The treble is smooth, without obvious enhancement, with a slight peak above 9kHz that provides brightness and air, without causing stridency or wheezing. The resolution and definition is remarkable and gives the whole a good level of separation and clarity. Suitable for all those who are looking for a sound with "safe" treble, without losing detail or clarity.

    Paiaudio DR2 09.jpg

    Scene, Soundstage

    Pure V-sound doesn't have to be at odds with a lack of scene or separation, even if the price range is the current one, around $50. The scene enjoys a good width and depth, propitiated by the excellence of the sub-bass. The cleanliness and clarity of the sound, as well as the lack of congestion, produces an almost remarkable separation. The instrumental recreation is shown at the same level and the feeling of three-dimensionality is perceptible without a hint of doubt.

    Paiaudio DR2 10.jpg

    Comparisons

    Ostry KC06A

    The KC06A offers a warmer sound, with more present and closer voices, with more body, but with some darkness. The profile is more balanced from bass to mids. While the DR2 sound more V, with that deeper sub-bass and finer voices. However, DR2 has a crisper, brighter, more sparkling midrange. While the KC06A are more contained and smooth. Such smoothness is common throughout the Ostry range and detracts from a certain capacity for resolution and detail. However, the Paiaudio are perceived clearer and offer greater separation. Despite all this, the low treble in the Ostry are clearly enhanced compared to the DR2.

    Paiaduio DR2 vs Ostry KC06A.png

    The KC06A has never been characterized by offering a very wide scene, its more frontal sound penalizes this aspect, as well as the feeling of depth. In the DR2, there is a greater openness, a more open scene, greater depth and better instrumental recreation.

    Paiaudio DR2 11.jpg

    Fiio FH1

    Other warm IEMs, with low and mids close and very soft highs, are the Fiio FH1. The differences here are quite noticeable. The curve of the FH1 is clearly flatter. The lower part of the Fiio is more linear and thicker. The mids, except in their upper part, are more compact and balanced, but more congested, veiled and dark, bordering on lack of air and cleanliness. The character in V of the DR2, with the central zone of the mids more sunken, favors the decongestion of the sound in this zone, although it reduces body, being perceived something hollow in the comparison. In this zone the FH1s overwhelm in presence and density, becoming saturated. However, there is a clear lack of air, light, brightness and separation, characteristics that DR2 do provide.

    Paiaudio DR2 vs Fiio FH1.png

    The FH1 are IEMs with a low zone quite palpable, more homogeneous and not so focused on the sub-bass. But the sound is not as deep as the DR2.

    Although the Fiio has a BA driver, this is not used to offer detail or a great resolution, since all the sound has a great compaction and density. The detail is clearly more noticeable in the DR2 and its sound has higher resolution and separation. The scene, therefore, is greater, with a larger depth. Meanwhile, the FH1 have a vastly frontal sound.

    Paiaudio DR2 12.jpg

    Conclusion

    The DR2's are really very sub-bass. But not only. I'm learning to appreciate more balanced profiles, with higher resolution mids and sharper, more detailed highs. But when I hear IEMs like DR2, I go back to my origins and remember primeval sensations that evoke the power of its lower zone. But, I insist, these IEMs offer quite a bit more, as they have a surprising middle range for such a pronounced V. In addition, they have a good dose of clarity, separation, sharpness and detail. Finally, Paiaudio has given these IEMs an excellent, beautiful, precious and ergonomic construction.

    The DR2 is a sub-bass gem, which shines beyond.

    Paiaudio DR2 13.jpg

    Sources used during the analysis

    • Burson Audio Playmate
    • F.Audio S1
    • Fiio M9
    Paiaudio DR2 14.jpg


    Ratings

    • Construction and Design: 90
    • Adjustment/Ergonomics: 90
    • Accessories: 50
    • Bass: 90
    • Mids: 80
    • Treble: 75
    • Separation: 80
    • Soundstage: 80
    • Quality/Price: 90

    Purchase link

    https://penonaudio.com/paiaudio-dr2.html


    You can read my full review in spanish here:


    https://hiendportable.com/2019/04/07/paiaudio-dr2-review/
    1. harry501501
      Good review. They are pretty good looking earphones
      harry501501, Apr 28, 2019
      cqtek likes this.
    2. Alex&Hifi Jane
      woderful review, Thanks.
      Alex&Hifi Jane, May 28, 2019
      cqtek likes this.
  6. DallaPo
    PAIAUDIO DR2 / OEM | 1*DD | Rating 8.1
    Written by DallaPo
    Published Mar 16, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - powerful bass, natural and lively sound, design
    Cons - bass can be exaggerated, presence of lower trebles
    Intro
    On my little round trip through the Chi-Fi universe I came across a "little" IEM pearl, which I don't want to withhold from you. It is a DIY-In-Ear, which is also marketed by PAIAUDIO as DR2. Nevertheless it is an OEM-IEM, in which the respective "manufacturers" can engrave their logo. For example, my copy has the PI engraved (PAIAUDIO), but I have already seen other logos on it.

    Handling
    The extraordinary thing about the DR2 is that the case is completely cast in resin. And when I say complete, I mean it because there's no cavity. The dynamic driver is basically preserved in the case and only has a small tube outside to "breathe". For this purpose, another, thicker tube leads to the sound opening. All this is completely surrounded by resin. There are no air bubbles, which speaks for a good workmanship/production. The resin piece is also free of coarse unevenness and rough spots.

    The DIY DR2 does not only look like a custom IEM, it also wears like this. Very ergonomic and secure in fit, it should fit almost any ear despite its size (exceptions confirm the rule).

    I can't say too much about the cable, because I decided to order the version without cable, because you can save another 7 € (18 €). Nevertheless, according to the pictures it is a standard MMCX cable made of copper, which will surely serve its purpose.

    With a correct fit and ideally foam tips, you can achieve a really good isolation. Since there are no other openings except for the small air hose and we therefore almost speak of a completely closed case, nothing of the music penetrates to the outside, there is also no cavity in the inside and so the sound enters our ears directly without detours! However, there is little or nothing to come through to the inside, which should please especially musicians. But you should be a bit more careful with the in-ears, because resin is not quite as robust and therefore more susceptible to external influences, which could affect the optics in the long run, rather than the function.

    Sound
    Powerful, natural, lively and dynamic with a slight tendency to exaggerate, the DR2 describes quite well.

    The bass has an incredible impact, which will put a smile on every bass lover's face. It plays quite linear from top to bottom, while the sub-bass is a bit pushed again. This allows not only to hear the bass to its full extent, but also to feel it. The DR2 gives every genre a good ladle of bass, which tastes good because it is well seasoned, but not salty. Bass guitars sound so energetic and powerful that you inevitably look for songs in your library where they stand out - AnnenMayKantereit - "I'm fine (live)".
    Hip-hop is also excellent for the DR2. Due to the low bass there is a lot of taste behind every song. Amazing is the fact that the bass remains controlled and has texture. Sometimes he simply means it too well and starts to get a bit muddy when the music already has a strong bass part.

    If you now think that the mids of such a bass machine go completely under, you are mistaken. Of course the bass doesn't manage to leave the mids untouched, but they benefit with a pleasant warmth and a voluminous body. They are clear and detailed and manage to give the bass slogan without having to fight too hard against him. Here as well we have a basic naturalness in sound, especially when it comes to voices. Guitars sound crisp without becoming shrill and trumpets have a natural timbre. In addition, the mids are almost lively and don't hide behind the treble and bass, even if it's a V-signature. However, you should keep an eye on the volume, as the mid-range in the upper range becomes a bit exaggerated, which can be fatiguing, as they have their highest peak between 2 and 5 kHz.

    After the mid-peak, the frequency response drops down and the treble returns with a smaller increase of about 10 Hz. They have thus seen an above-average expansion in the price segment and for a single dynamic driver. Here, too, the keyword is natural, although they could be more present in the lower trebles. They are airy and playful, even if they don't show much brilliance now. But there are no sibilants, or a sting in the ear. They can even handle "problematic" voices like SIA's without any problems. They don't reveal every micro detail, but the level of detail and resolution is more than convincing.

    The stage is in a good average position as far as the depth is concerned, but the width is quite respectable. The separation is also very good, because instruments rarely overlap (this is partly due to the bad mastering) and can be easily followed.

    Outro
    I am more than surprised and enthusiastic about the sound of the highs, as well as the rest. The bass can take the mountain pines off, but it can also exaggerate. I think if I were to listen to music all day with the DR2, the bass would be too much for me in the long run, but for an extended listening session in between it's just fun. The mids are lively, the voices authentic and the highs convince with their clear, unagitated and detailed way.
    If you are looking for some natural, bass intensive and dynamic sound you should take a look here. I also recommend these IEM musicians, who are not looking for absolute, analytical neutrality, but who also need some fun

    That's exactly why I love this hobby so much, because now and then in-ears come along, which you don't have any expectations of and are so positively surprised by.

    BUY HERE

    ___________________________________________________________
    More reviews: https://david-hahn.wixsite.com/chi-fiear-eng
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CHIFIEAR/
      yorosello, Assimilator702 and IesaAR like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. Alex&Hifi Jane
      HI David, It is not Pai DR2. THANKS. Pai DR2 got Pai logo on the IEMs
      Alex&Hifi Jane, May 28, 2019
    3. Alex&Hifi Jane
      As u know , the iems you talk about are not from us, thank you very much.
      Alex&Hifi Jane, May 28, 2019
    4. DallaPo
      I know that the in-ears are not directly from you, but they are technically and optically identical, as many other reviewers have pointed out. So it doesn't matter!
      DallaPo, Jun 18, 2019
      yorosello, Assimilator702 and zedbg like this.