1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice
  1. cqtek
    The Brilliant Brother
    Written by cqtek
    Published May 25, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Excellent treble extension
    - High level of detail, micro detail and resolution.
    - Remarkable sensation of air and scene.
    - Construction
    - Possibility of use on ear.
    - MMCX connection.
    - Presentation and packaging.
    Cons - The treble level generates a more energetic than a relaxed listening.
    - Susceptible to sibilances.
    - Light bass.
    - Its thickness penalizes adjustment.
    - The sound can vary a lot depending on the placement, even the preception of the low zone.
    Introduction

    The Ourart ACG are physically the same as the Ti7. Even all their packaging is the same. The only difference between the two is at the level of accessories. The Ti7 comes with an extra bag of 8 full foams and a braided cable that looks higher quality. ACGs, on the other hand, come with a plastic-coated cable with microphone and three button control.

    This time Ourart has chosen to use an Ultra thin custom titanium crystal diaphragm dynamic driver, which guarantees softness and delicacy, without losing durability. The frequency range has increased to 32kHz, the sensitivity has also increased to 122dB, even the impedance has increased, 35Ω

    As far as their sonorous characteristics are concerned, the ACGs have a clear orientation towards the upper part, strengthening both the high mids and the treble, in presence and in extension. The lower zone, in its frequency response, is practically the same as the Ti7.

    In the following review, we will go into more detail about their sound.

    Ourart ACG 01_resize.jpg Ourart ACG 02_resize.jpg

    Specifications

    • Driver: 14.2mm Ultra thin custom titanium crystal diaphragm dynamic driver
    • Frequency range: 20Hz-32000Hz
    • Sensitivity: 122dB
    • Impedance: 35Ω
    • Distortion Ratio: <0.5% (1kHz)
    • Cable: 1.2m, Jack: 3.5mm, gold-plated
    • Type of capsule connection: MMCX

    Ourart ACG 03_resize.jpg Ourart ACG 04_resize.jpg

    Packaging

    The packaging is the same as Ti7, so the description will be practically identical. The box is almost cubic, dimensions 100x100x75, completely black, with the logo of the brand and the letters in silver. Once the cardboard cover is removed, a box lined in shiny black appears. Its upper part is the same as the cardboard cover, but is slightly padded. On the bottom there is a sticker with the specifications and the name of the model.
    When the chest is opened, the earbuds are embedded in a thick foam mould. They come with donut foam. This time, the cable is not connected and is different. It is a cable covered in black plastic, with microphone and three control buttons. The connector is 3.5mm, gold plated, with the L connector open.

    The rest of the accessories:

    • Two zip bags with 4 black donut foams, each.
    • A particular and great clothespin.

    The packaging, although already known, is spectacular. But this time, the cable with micro is, in my opinion, unnecessary and of inferior category than the earbuds. Again, I miss a carrying bag to protect such precious earphones. Also, it's strange that complete foams don't come.

    Ourart ACG 05_resize.jpg Ourart ACG 06_resize.jpg

    Construction and Design

    Nothing changes in the exterior construction with respect to Ti7. It only changes the driver used. This time an Ultra thin custom titanium crystal diaphragm dynamic driver has been mounted.
    The rest is already known: The face where the sound is emitted resembles a tire of an old car. Its large openings let you glimpse a silver braided cable spiral. Indeed, they are wide car rims and donut foams are their tires.
    No less shocking is the back of the drivers: a completely rectangular box of the same material and color. On the underside are the gold-plated MMCX connections. On the outside, the mark is read in fine black letters.
    The ensemble is unique, impressive, spectacular and very daring.
    For this occasion, the cable that comes with microphone, controls and plastic coating. A cable that I cannot find at the height of such a beautiful and spectacular design.

    Ourart ACG 07_resize.jpg Ourart ACG 08_resize.jpg

    Adjustment and Ergonomics

    The fit and ergonomics are just as bold as the design. The thickness of the capsules does not make it very suitable for all ears. And I think it's the main culprit of its sound, for better or worse.
    Thanks to their shape and connection, ACGs can be used traditionally, downward or over the ear. Personally, for use on the ear, I recommend cables with guides, as they favor a better fixation of the earbuds in the ears.
    As I said, the thickness of the capsules prevents, in my case, an optimal fit and sealing. This is something that does not change, regardless of the position, either traditional or on the ear. This wide shape can also cause some discomfort during long listening sessions.

    Ourart ACG 09_resize.jpg

    Sound

    Profile

    On this occasion the ACGs differ from their Ti7 brothers in that they have a profile oriented to mid and high frequencies. The high mids are more emphasized and the highs are more present and extensive. The lower zone, despite the large size of the driver and its greater thinness, still has the same ratio of presence with respect to other areas.

    Ourart ACG.png

    Bass

    The ACG's bass continues in the light line, with a fast, dry hit, compact but soft. Turning towards the cold side, they are perceived with a limited depth, with a very short sub-bass below 40Hz. The low midrange offers a lighter presence, but does not predominate over the rest of the ranges at any time. The texture is more detailed in this case, it seems that the thinner driver is able to provide higher resolution in this sense. Be that as it may, the lower zone is penalized by the chubby shape of the capsules, which prevents a more optimal sealing, because the contact zone is limited. Thus, the real capacity of the drivers in this area is missed.

    Ourart ACG 10_resize.jpg

    Mids

    Clearly, they can be divided into two parts: below 2Khz and above 2Khz. In this sense the central zone is presented in V. Thus, the voices are presented with a certain distance and a somewhat irregular body, due to this slight imbalance. They feel a certain hollowness, a feeling of emptiness that generates an absence of warmth and pronounces that perception of soft sinking, more pronounced in male voices. However, the exalted high part of the mids offers a level of detail and subtlety, which gives the voices delicacy and more revealing nuances, despite the distance. It also affects the rest of the midrange, providing a high level of resolution and micro detail.
    This perception of mids in V favors that the sonorous presentation is clearly inclined towards the high part of the sonorous spectrum.
    The timbre is kept on the edge of naturalness, always on the cold side, but without sounding unreal, just a little longer in its brilliant echo.

    Ourart ACG 11_resize.jpg

    Treble

    The outstanding zone of the ACGs, both in presence, extension and speed, but without excesses or very undesirable effects. The trebles are already thrown from the upper mids and then offer the typical spark between 7 and 8kHz that many earbuds present in their frequency response. But in this case the ACGs hold the type up to 20kHz without decaying too much. This clearly explains the reason for their extension and justifies the air that is perceived in these earbuds.
    The highs are sharp, clearly perceptible and definite, crunchy, fine but not too sharp, barely hurtful. Not even in the songs most susceptible to it that I possess. In addition, they enjoy quite good resolution, detail and texture. The only negative theme is a certain probability to present certain sibilances in prone themes. Which can be easily solved by using two full foams or full foams plus donuts..

    Ourart ACG 12_resize.jpg

    Soundstage, Separation

    The scene is very explicit and descriptive, due to the large amount of details and micro details revealed, in addition to its remarkable level of resolution. Its width is evident, even its height, but its depth is not so much, also due to the level of detail so present, which positions the instruments in the foreground. The clear feeling of air eliminates any hint of congestion, generating an almost excellent separation. Only the high level of brightness generates a certain absence of silence, resulting in a more energetic than relaxed listening.

    Comparisons

    Ourart Ti7

    The first and clear reference of the ACG, are their twin brothers, the Ti7. Similar but not equal. They are very similar in their lower zone, I only perceive a different texture in the ACG, more detailed and with better resolution. In the mid zone there are bigger differences: The Ti7 have a more compensated, full, rounded midrange, with more body and better presence. Meanwhile, the ACG feel more unequal, with that certain distance in the voices, but with more brightness in their echo. An inequality that is accentuated in the upper mids and, above all, in the trebles, where the presence and extension in the ACG dwarfs the filed naturalness of the Ti7.
    As for the scene, both are wide but different. The Ti7 have more silence, more space, where the ACG shine with brightness, details and energy, the Ti7 are more calm and peaceful. Some are light (ACG), others softness (Ti7), some are air, others silence, some are close, others are ethereal.

    Ourart ACG vs Ourart Ti7.png

    ISN Rambo

    Apart from the construction and design, which shamelessly falls on the side of the ACGs, the comfort is greater in the ISNs. Its classic PK capsule is small and comfortable. It also has a design that favors the lower zone somewhat more than the ACG. The differences in the lower zone are very audible, both in presence, as in extension and depth, clearly surpassing the Rambo to the ACG. The lower zone of the ISN is much more complete and it is perceived wider and predominant in the sound, in comparison with the ACG. In the only aspects where the Ourart win is in texture, speed and resolution, sounding more controlled and fine, against a rawer and more forceful presentation of the Rambo.
    Already, in the mid zone, the voices of the ISNs sound warmer and influenced by their lower zone. The ACG raise a sonority in them cleaner, more distant, something more natural and less congested. As usually happens with PK capsules, their central lower part sounds much more emphasized and present. And although in the Rambo it has been quite light, it suffers from the air that the ACG do have, and in great quantity. Although it is also true that sometimes they give a sensation of excessive distance, comparatively speaking. The mids of both are quite different, especially in sonority, body and the planes where they are perceived.
    In the upper zone, despite having similar graphs, the real perception is still conditioned by the shape of their capsules. In the ACG the treble sounds free and explicit, in the Rambo, with that slight spark, but restrained and content. Their influence on the sound is much lower than in the Ourart. In this sense, this influence is the other way around, the Rambo base their sound from the low zone and the ACG, from the high zone. In the same way, the extension is directed in the same sense, being, then, more extensive in trebles the ACGs.
    In terms of scene, larger and wider in the ACG, also have more air and feeling of cleanliness and clarity. But also a certain distance in the mids, with sharper front and nearer, perceiving the detail very close. The Rambo, however, have a greater depth and despite their warmth, the clarity and separation is quite good, with a good dose of transparency and some darkness, comparatively speaking.

    Ourart ACG vs ISN Rambo.png

    Conclusion

    The Ourart ACG are the brilliant brother of the Ti7: a revision towards a more energetic sound, that looks for greater detail, resolution and a different dynamic, more aggressive and risky in its treble spectrum, without it supposes anything negative, beyond the warning of its presence. All those who think that earbuds are dark and blunt, the detractors of this type of capsules, are in front of the best example that they are wrong. Come in and hear.

    Ourart ACG 13_resize.jpg

    Sources Used During the Analysis

    • F.Audio S1
    • Burson Audio Playmate

    Ratings

    • Construction and Design: 95
    • Adjustment/Ergonomics: 65
    • Accessories: 65
    • Bass: 65
    • Mids: 80
    • Treble: 90
    • Separation: 85
    • Soundstage: 90
    • Quality/Price: 85

    Purchase link

    https://penonaudio.com/ourart-acg.html

    You can read my full review in spanish here:

    https://hiendportable.com/2019/05/25/ourart-acg-review/

      IesaAR likes this.
    1. IesaAR
      Thanks for the excellent comparison! I've been looking at both the ti7 and acg and want a pair which will sound laid back ato relax with. Would the ti7 be better? Thanks
      IesaAR, May 27, 2019
    2. cqtek
      I can't say better. For my personal taste, I prefer the Ti7, because I like the less present trebles.
      cqtek, May 27, 2019
      IesaAR likes this.
  2. FastAndClean
    OURART ACG - Unbeatable
    Written by FastAndClean
    Published May 21, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - amazing midrange, clean and gentle treble, excellent build, very 3D holographic soundstage
    natural and musical sounding, fast speed from top to bottom
    Cons - lack of sub bass
    58423695_1975276545928675_5794671472753117714_n.jpg
    9939228_l.jpg

    source for the review - Sabaj DA3

    Albums used for the review

    Diana Krall - When I Look In Your Eyes {24-96}
    Nirvana - MTV Unplugged In New York (Album)
    Xiomara Laugart - Tears and Rumba (2015) [192-24](Album)
    Xiomara Laugart (2006) Xiomara (24-96)(Album)
    Xiomara Laugart (2010) La Voz (24-88)(Album)
    Diana Krall - Live In Paris [2002]
    Björk - Greatest Hits (SHM-CD,Japan)- 2002
    Ayo - Joyful (2006-2014) [24-96]
    Ayo - Ayo (2017 24-44.1)
    Jacintha - Jacintha Is Her Name (Dedicated To Julie London) 2003 (ISO)
    Melissa Menago - Little Crimes (2016) [FLAC 24]
    Norah Jones - Little Broken Hearts (2012 AP Box Set Disk 5) {Hybrid Stereo SACD} [ISO]
    Norah Jones - The Fall (2012 AP Box Set - Disk 4) {Hybrid Stereo SACD} [ISO]
    Sara K - Hell Or High Water (2006) [SACD} {Stockfisch Records}
    Sara K. - No Cover (Chesky Records - Studio Master)

    specs
    Drive unit: 14.2 mm ultra-thin titanium crystal diaphragm dynamic driver
    Frequency response range: 20~32000Hz
    Sensitivity: 122dB
    Impedance: 35 ohms
    Interface: MMCX
    Price - $59 from Penon

    Last year i bought ACG from Penon, not a lot of impressions of the sound at that time. There was some impressions for the other model - TI7, very positive, in the description ACG is supposed to be less warm with improved resolution, that was the reason for my decision to go with the ACG.
    I was not into earbuds before the purchase, however i needed something without isolation and the earbuds was the way to go.

    Packaging
    OURART-ACG-Titanium-Crystal-Diaphragm-Dynamic-Driver-MMCX-HiFi-Earbud.jpg

    Box with glossy finish, MMCX cable with Mic and 3 buttons, 4 pairs of foam covers

    Build, fit and comfort
    Excellent metal build, they are small so the comfort is very high in my case, i don't feel them at all, they have some weight but not enough to make them uncomfortable.

    Overall sound signature.
    Midrange focus with excellent natural timber and precision in the treble.

    Bass
    Lows are the only week point of that earbud, they lack sub bass, mid and upper bass is there with very good quality, very delicate and natural sounding, a little bit light for modern music but for jazz and acoustic the bass is enough and the instruments sound full and natural. The bass has good control and the speed is excellent.
    Tight and fast bass but with lack of sub bass.

    Mids
    That is the strongest point of that earbud, the mids have openness that can be found only in open back headphones. Midrange sound like is coming from a speaker without enclosure, very open and clean sounding with natural timber. It is a little bit forward but not much, vocals sound very different from in ear headphone, extremely open and realistic. The mids are not colored, they sound tonally correct with every type of vocals, male and female. The instruments in that range also sound natural with nothing jumping at you in the upper or lower mids.
    Overall very transparent and high quality mids that are comparable with very good open back headphones (like HifiMan HE500)

    Treble
    Is extended, not dark but is not forward in the mix. Very delicate and gentle but is there and it has good overall resolution. The treble is very good but is not standing out like the midrange. Fast with very good details but for treble lovers the quantity will not be enough. I really like the treble tonality and how it stays there but is letting the mids to take the lead in the overall signature.

    Soundstage and imaging.
    The soundstage is wide and deep. It is different from in ear headphone, more natural and open, like there is noting behind the driver. The imaging is holographic and very 3D like, specific in every direction adding new layers compared to earphones. I would say they are very close to full size open headphones in that regard.

    Detail retrieval and transient response.
    Resolution is high, is not projected in a aggressive way, but if you listen enough time you will notice that they resolve a lot of detail without trying to smack you in the head with it. Transient response is very fast, from top to bottom, the driver must be very light and reacts that way, you will never experience congestion on busy and complex tracks, very quick and always keeping the separation of the instruments under control.

    Conclusion.
    I love that earbud and i am not the only one, they are so good that i have no urge to try other earbuds.
    If you are not into bass heavy music, love vocals and music with real instruments, they are exceptional sounding earbuds.

    Have a nice day.
  3. Palash
    Only one of its kind; unlike anything else
    Written by Palash
    Published Jan 22, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Good built,
    Stylish,
    Removable cable,
    Balanced sound,
    Resolution/ Micro Details.
    Cons - No ‘L’, ‘R’ marking,
    No carry pouch.
    DSC_0232.JPG Introduction
    ‘Easy to start but difficult to conclude’ yes this words are true when I am talking about Earbuds. Every time I get my hands on a new Earbud, it seems it’s my endgame Bud. But as soon as I try a new one the whole game changes immediately. The point is, there is no end of favorite Earbuds and some of them are truly magnificent. This time Penon Audio has sent me the OURART ACG for review and I tried to cast my honest review on this fantastic Earbud. I am doing this review after a burn-in for 100 hours and this bud really need at least 100 hour of burn-in to open up completely.

    Specification

    Drive unit - 14.2 mm ultra-thin titanium crystal diaphragm dynamic driver
    Frequency response range - 20~32000Hz
    Sensitivity - 122dB
    Impedance - 35 ohm
    Distortion - less than 0.5% (1KHz)
    Interface - MMCX
    DSC_0226.JPG

    What’s inside the Box
    Earbud itself,
    3.5 mm mmcx cable with Mic,
    8 pairs of foam cushion,
    Shirt clip.
    DSC_0228.JPG


    Buying link - https://penonaudio.com/ourart-acg.html

    Source
    OURART ACG is a 35 ohms earbud but need plenty of power to shine thanks to its 122db sensitivity, still you can run it easily with your phone at around 80% volume. I have used my RealMe C1, Fiio q1 mk2, Fiio q5 to evaluate OURART ACG.

    Tracks/ Albums used
    Adele – 21
    Adele - 25
    Bob Marley & The Wailers - Kaya (40th Anniversary Edition)
    Eagles - Hotel California (40th Anniversary Expanded Edition)
    Eric Clapton - Unplugged (1992)
    Don Henley - I Can't Stand Still
    Fleetwood Mac – Rumours
    Daft Punk - Random Access Memories
    Ed Sheeran - ÷ (Deluxe)
    Nina Simone - The Best Of Nina Simone
    The Beatles - Abbey Road (Remastered)
    DSC_0233.JPG

    Presentation, Design & Build Quality
    Earbuds usually comes in either cheap card board boxes or plastic pouches and its justified because they sometime priced around 5$ to 20$. When spending more than 50$ on any Earbud/IEM you can easily expect a good presentation, design and build quality. OurArt packed everything in two different boxes. Cable, foam cushions and a shirt clip packed in a transparent plastic box where the Earbuds is in a fancy glossy black Jewelry box. Yes Jewelry box, like that comes with your wedding rings. That jewelry type box is holding the buds firmly and not going to move a bit in transit. So in terms of presentation and accessories thumbs up form me, only missing a carry case.
    Supplied cable is a Good MMCX cable. I am calling it good because there are really very good things in it. First of all the angular 3.5 mm audio jack like we familiar with Bose earphones , this angular plugs even works better than ‘L’ type in practical situation. While your device in your pocket; this type of angular plug is very helpful. The cable is made out of soft rubber type of material, the silver colored splitter and in line controls buttons really look beautiful on it. In line controls working fine (Single click play/pause, two simultaneous clicks for next, three rapid clicks for previous track, Top and bottom for volume +, - ) on my android phones . Call quality of the microphone is also good. MMCX plugs are also very high in quality, I have tried this cable with my other iems and it worked very well. Just a gentle push and snap, but I am missing the silver/black touch on those plugs. In seller’s product page, it is clearly mentioned that changing cables effect sound signature of ACG and I have noticed same thing and will discuss this later in this review.
    Thanks God, no more plastic shell in Earbuds, the build quality is best I have ever seen in any Earbud. OurArt ACG completely made out of metal and machined such a perfect way that not a single mark of imperfection on them. ‘The shape is inspired by the running wheel hub’ yes true it’s like a running wheel design. Front side vents are wide open and you can see through the drivers easily. There are 4 holes back of the bud to normalize air pressure inside the Earbud. OURART branding on the buds are clearly mentioned but no ‘L’ or ‘R’ marking which is sad. I even tried wearing it over the ear like most of the iems and worked very well. So very much satisfied by the design and built.
    DSC_0234.JPG

    Sound
    Judging the sound of OurArt ACG was interesting. Like my other buds I let it burn-in for 100 hours using 1more Smart Burn-in Android app and started listening. It was my daily driver for past 20 days and wants to share some minor things before jumping into the sound analysis. Firstly most of my Earbuds are made out of EMX500 shell and the face diameter of ACG is smaller than EMX500, as a result I have to put two donut foam tips or wear it over the ear. Those who complain that EMX500 shell is painful for them, I can assure this ACG shell will be helpful for you guys. Second thing is sound leakage, though we all know Earbuds leak sound a bit but ACG sound leakage is higher side. Maybe the wide open vents are responsible for it. Ok let’s see how ACG performed.
    DSC_0236.JPG

    Bass
    14.2 mm driver is generally pretty large enough to produce good amount of lower frequency but ACG’s ‘ultra-thin titanium crystal diaphragm dynamic driver ‘is not for heavy bass. Don’t think there is no bass at all; instead I can call it light Bassy Earbud. The quantity of Bass is less but quality is actually very good. Bass is fast, accurate. The bass is rather Mid-bass rather than Sub-Bass; therefore it’s much punchier. The rumble is not there still the accuracy impressed me a lot. Both the songs ‘Dreams’ by Fleetwood Mac and ‘Instant Crush’ by Daft Punk is quite enjoyable. Sudden jump from a Bassy earbud/iem may feel that ACG is bass shy but after finishing few albums, the punch of bass in ACG proved how mature it is. In addition I have tried to cover the 4 back air vents with tape but no such improvement bass response noticed. Use of a third party hybrid cable improved the bass region a bit so I highly recommend a high quality hybrid cable with OurArt ACG.

    Mids

    Mid range where ACG nailed it all other Earbuds I have. Mid range is transparent and natural; no coloration at all. Easy to hear and every no note is crisp and well articulated. Male vocals are a bit emphasized than female vocals. I don’t have any measuring equipment but I can say a good amount of Brilliance is there and sometimes it creating a sense of aggressiveness. The speed and precision on vocals are unmatchable in any Earbud I have tried till now. All the songs from Ed Sheeran’s ‘÷’ sounds delicate and live like. Nina Simone’s ‘Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood’ is sounding just perfect, lots of emotion is there. Really enjoyed the song ‘Talking To The Moon’ by Don Henley.

    Treble

    Upper frequency is well extended. It is clear that OurArt is tuned keeping mids and highs. Treble part is airy and adding enough crispiness when it needed. No Sibilance is there at all. The presence of sparkle is adding a sense of shimmer therefore very tasteful. No noticeable spike noticed while listening. The song ‘ Sun is Shining’ by Bob Marley is one of my favorite and the upper frequency part is enjoyable with only good iems , this time OurArt ACG rendered the song very well .

    Soundstage, Imaging & Instrument Separation
    Soundstage in Ourart ACG is very very good in terms of width and depth. It is really unbelievable such kind of headphone like soundstage in Earbud. Imaging is also very good and accurate; it performed with busy and complex tracks very well. In the song ‘Oh Daddy’ by Fleetwood Mac on ACG is enough to prove it’s real potential. Instrument separation is also very good.

    IMG_20190120_105908_HDR.jpg

    Comparison
    When talking about ACG the oblivious question is going to come, ‘What is the difference between OurArt ACG and OurArt Ti7?’ Actually I can’t answer this question directly because I don’t have the Ti7 unit. These tow buds look really similar and specs are also almost same. In the product page of seller OurArt mentioned a short comparison chart between this two buds, and as the characteristics mentioned by OurArt for ACG is true I believe the comparison should also be legit. So here it is for reference.
    C.jpg

    Conclusion
    In terms of price to performance ratio, OurArt ACG performed way better than its price. Tight bass, natural mids and sparkling treble that’s what I prefer and OurArt ACG just did it for such a trivial price. Wide soundstage and well execution of micro details in a well built Earbud , what else a Earbud lover want ? may be nothing more.
      jibberish, DBaldock9, Mboom and 3 others like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. exavolt
      No L / R marking? Well, they are perfectly identical and symmetrical. L / R side is actually determined by the cable. Many cables, including the one that comes with ACG, have a dot tactile indicator on the left connector. That indicator really helps in the dark.
      exavolt, Jan 24, 2019
      Lucser and Palash like this.
    3. exavolt
      For the ACG itself, they have amazing, transparent imaging. Soundstage is not the widest but actually quite natural. The mid and subbass is a bit recessed for my liking. But all in all, it's the best I currently have. Not sure where to go after the ACG.
      exavolt, Jan 24, 2019
      Palash likes this.
    4. Palash
      In my cable , L and R mentioned but not in buds. ACG is also one of my best till now.
      Palash, Jan 24, 2019