1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

Noontec Wireless Headphones ZORO II Wireless Hi-Fi Bluetooth On-Ear Headphone

Rating:
4/5,
  1. JayceOoi
    The best wireless on-ear headphones?
    Written by JayceOoi
    Published May 12, 2017
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Clear sound quality with amazing bass, Ultra long battery life, Outstanding Bluetooth range, Comfortable for long hour wear, Excellent build quality, Foldable design with carbon fiber carry case
    Cons - Below average microphone
    Author's Note: The original review can be found at my blog - Noontec Zoro II Wireless Review @ JayceOoi.com.

    [​IMG]

    Introduction
    35 hours non-stop music playback!!! Yes, that's what Noontec Zoro II Wireless Headphones can do. The one I have with me is limited edition which adopts the special and creative finishing of volcanic rock. In addition, it is loaded with high-end SCCB acoustic technology, Votrik HD400 40mm high definition drivers, Bluetooth 4.1 apt-X lossless and high quality wireless audio transmission. Sound great? Let's find out...

    Special Thanks
    This review is possible thanks to below companies. Be sure to check them out...
    • Noontec for this Noontec Zoro II Wireless Volcanic Rock Edition Headphones
    • Lotoo for Lotoo PAW 5000 DAP
    [​IMG]

    Package Content
    Noontec Zoro II Wireless comes with a sturdy package. Furthermore, everything is well protected in the bundled carbon fiber hard carrying case. Once opened, you can find quick start guide, warranty info, flat stereo audio cable with 24k gold plated connector, micro-USB charging cable and user manual in multiple languages. For your information, the carrying case is really tough yet stylish and have a small compartment for cables.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Specifications
    • Type: Closed-back Dynamic
    • Sensitivity: 108dB (at 1kHz 1mW)
    • Impendence: 32Ω
    • Rated power: 30mW the maximum power: 60mW
    • Frequency response: 13-26KHz weight: 210g
    • Mode of wireless transmission: Bluetooth 4.1 with NFC supporting apt-X technology
    • Transmission distance: 10m in maximum
    Design & Build Quality
    Zoro II Wireless Volcanic Rock limited edition build quality is top notch. Head beam and outer shell are made of a combination of ABS, PC and nylon. And headphone’s bendable parts are made of aluminium and stainless steel for added reinforcement. Yes, it is very solid and the best build quality on-ear headphones that I ever tested. In addition, Volcanic Rock limited edition has matte finish that nice to touch and does not attract fingerprint at all.

    [​IMG]

    Headband height is adjustable and ear cups are able to rotate slightly to get perfect fit. And the NFC chip is located at left channel. Yes, one touch Bluetooth connection is supported. Furthermore, it has 4 levels battery life LED light indicator that not easily found on headphones. Bluetooth / power status indicator and play/pause/answer button are located there as well. Same apply to AUX connection.

    [​IMG]

    Volume control and track selection buttons are located at right channel. Micro USB charging port is there too.

    [​IMG]

    The headband is well cushioned to provide comfort and stability. And has Noontec logo on top of it. As you can see, it is foldable to ease carry around.

    Fit, Comfort & Isolation
    Yes, it is pleasant to wear Zoro II Wireless for long hour. All thanks to well cushioned headband and soft ear pads. Comfortable is what you will get after adjust the headband height to suite your head. No issue to get perfect fit here. Surprise! Isolation is very good as an on-ear headphones. It does block some of the environment noises here. Of course, it still can't compete with over-the-ear headphones but you can enjoy music while lying on bed with it. Over-the-ear one can't...

    [​IMG]

    Performance Result
    Being a wireless headphones, Bluetooth range coverage is very important. You don't want to have skipping music from time to time, right? Yes, Zoro II Wireless by Noontec does an excellent job in this department as well. In fact, it is one of the best with distant up to 8m with obstacles like wall. And support multipoint technology that let you pair it with 2 devices at the same time like smartphone and tablet. Furthermore, it has virtually no lag between video and audio. Great for watching movies on tablet and playing games on smartphone. Lastly, 3.5mm audio cable is there for you to enjoy music while running out of battery or on non-Bluetooth devices.

    34 hours of non-stop music playback is what I get. 1 hour shorter than 35 hours specs based on my average sound volume level test. There is no battery indicator status on both Android and iOS devices. But you can check the battery life manually by double click on the power button. Yup, the 4 LED lights will tell you then. Each LED equals 25% of battery life. As for charging, it requires around 2 hours and a half to fully charge.

    [​IMG]

    Hmm... Phone call experience is below average. Not sure why, my voice is too soft to others. Need to speak louder here. Don't have issue to hear others though. For your information, built-in mic is not working on wired mode.

    Sound Quality
    Slightly warm sound signature is what you get from Zoro II Wireless. Yup, it emphasizes bass a bit rather than treble here. No worry, the bass is still under control and not over exaggerated. High is clear and smooth. No harshness here. Mid is detailed. Vocals for both male and female are organic. Yes, these make music sound great and lively. As for soundstage, it is decent. Not the widest out there but does the job. I still can get the instruments’ placement correctly here. Overall, the sound quality is great at this price point.

    Advantages
    • Clear sound quality with amazing bass
    • Ultra long battery life
    • Outstanding Bluetooth range
    • Comfortable for long hour wear
    • Excellent build quality
    • Connect 2 devices at the same time
    • Foldable design with carbon fiber carry case
    Limitations
    • Below average microphone
    [​IMG]

    Conclusion
    The best wireless on-ear headphones that I tried so far. Period. Yes, not perfect with microphone issue but other advantages like outstanding battery life, great Bluetooth range and most of all - amazing sound quality easily overcome the only one weakness. Interested? Head to Noontec Website to find out more. Get yours there.
  2. Currawong
    The Noontec Zoro II Wireless are a comfortable, light-weight, inexpensive and good-sounding pair of wireless headphones.
    Written by Currawong
    Published Aug 20, 2016
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Good sound both wireless and wired. Light weight. Fold neatly. APTx Bluetooth. Very comfortable and stylish.
    Cons - Poor isolation. Not so good at loud volumes. No hard case.
    [​IMG]
    Video review.​
     
    It all started some time ago with a message asking me if I’d like a free review sample of some headphones from a creatively off-beat name. I’d seen the name around Head-Fi and only guessed that they were inexpensive and may actually be half-decent, so I accepted. Later it turned out that they appeared to have given away quite a few pairs to people to review and that they were cheaper than expected. At under the $100 mark they were on the end of the scale that I usually ignored except when a handful of cheap-headphone-spotters would start arguing about over them in the forums.
     
    The small box that arrived with a front revealing-flap did not encourage me with the marketing on the front — “Surround Closed Cavity Body” (meaningless), “Votrik Speaker” (who?), “High Definition” (Ungh!). It brought back memories from decades ago of my $10 “Dyanmic Stereo Sound” speakers which were single drivers in a cheap plastic box. Inside the flap is a lot of very small writing going over the features which I felt were more relevant once I opened the box in which they were neatly folded.
     
    Noontec_Zoro_II_Wireless_D75_5043.jpg


     
    The hinge is steel reinforced, which is a positive given that the headphones are understandably plastic. The outer plastic is coated in what is described as “piano crafting varnish”. In blue it looks more like the pearl car paint and in any of the colours is very nice and fingerprint-magnet smooth. On the headphones, which are “Designed in Italy” the result is gorgeous, garnering immediate positive comments from my young daughter when she spotted them. The headband arc ends at the hinge and part of it on either end are two tiny lugs which, when you open headphones all the way, snap into place. I immediately worried about the durability of snapping and folding this daily a few times and reached out to Noontec to ask them about durability. They replied that they had tested the hinge and it didn’t have any problems after “5000 times test” [sic].
     
    Noontec_Zoro_II_Wireless_D75_5052.jpg
     ​
     
    Noontec appears to have taken the time to make decent earpads. I’ve seen too many pairs of low-range headphones that had vinyl so thin that the earpads were destroyed in short order, so decently thick earpads with a reasonably soft and smooth but a little robust-feeling covering was a pleasant surprise. The Zoro IIs sit on your ears, rather than around them, so this is important. 
     

    The fit and finish appears quite good, down to the cup swivels, which don’t just flop around. The headphones don’t rattle when shaken and even when folded the hinges only have a tiny amount of play, only about as much as one gets in a high-end zoom lens. Even the single-button-with-mike phone-compatible cable is decent enough — a long strip of thin rubber terminated with branded plugs.
     
    My first impressions of the wired version were a shock and not at all what I expected from a pair of cheap headphones. At a moderate listening level the music was quite detailed and crisp. My usual experience with cheap headphones is that they tend to be boomy with a poor mid-range and very rolled-off treble, which might be OK with modern brightly-mastered pop but is rubbish for just about anything else. More recent models seem to be moving away from this trend, but I found that one usually has to spend a couple of hundred dollars first. 

     
    I had a listen to the wireless version from my iMac, which is capable of APTx transmission, as well as plugging them into everything from my iPhone up to my main headphone rig, and the results were pretty good. Like the wired Noontec Zoro II they have a fairly even sound which is slightly warm, with the bass boosted a little bit and the treble slightly rolled off which made them good with a wide variety of music. Randomly playing tracks from my three-stars-or-better iTunes playlist I found that modern music that ideally needs good bass punch was satisfying down to the low bass; and acoustic music that requires a decent mid-range and treble was equally pleasing to listen to. They aren’t, of course, as dynamic or detailed as more expensive headphones, but they were still very pleasant to listen with, much as the stereo in my car is, without any unpleasantness or harshness to speak of at moderate listening levels. However as the volume was turned up, the limits of the cheaper materials became more apparent and the distortion seemed to increase. I don’t listen that loud and some caution should definitely be had if you listen loud, as cheaper headphones tend to distort sooner from the cheaper materials used to make them.
     
    Noontec_Zoro_II_Wireless_D75_5050.jpg  

    I also plugged them directly into my other components such as my iPhone, and I found they did scale up a little bit plugging them into better components, but I didn't feel that it was worth considering being that they are only hundred and twenty dollar headphones. 
     
    If anything the performance was almost exactly the same as the wired Noontec Zoro IIs, whether I used the wireless or the wired mode, and they could be used satisfyingly with the power off if necessary. As for isolation, it was basically what you'd expect from a pair of of basic on the ear headphones without noise cancellation -- out-and-about you’re going to have to turn the sound up a bit to hear the music clearly because they don't isolate much at all. These aren't going to be a good pair of headphones to take on a plane, for example.
     
    Where they shine most is for casual listing in front of a computer, at home or say, in an office, at school or in any place where noise isolation doesn't become such an issue. It's in those situations where it is possible to listen comfortably for some time because the Zoro IIs are lightweight. Also, because they are easily foldable you can just chuck them in a bag and take them with you without them adding significantly to what you have to carry.
     
    Overall, just as I was pretty satisfied with the original Zoro IIs, the wireless version is much the same good-quality, inexpensive pair of headphones.  In this case, you'll be paying about double the now $60 wired version to get wireless.  I reckon if I was in the market for a sub $150 pair of wireless headphones for relaxing listening while I was at work or similar,  these would be definitely on my list, as they are attractive, pretty well-made and don’t feel cheap and are pretty good value for the money.  
     
    Noontec_Zoro_II_Wireless_D75_5055.jpg
     ​
     

      twister6, Hawaiibadboy and taffy2207 like this.
    1. Hawaiibadboy
      Nice review! I am so waiting for wireless tech to reach new levels so I can cut my cables (sell them actually) :)
      Hawaiibadboy, Aug 20, 2016
  3. Lunatique
    Versatile and good bang-for-the-buck
    Written by Lunatique
    Published Nov 14, 2015
    3.5/5,
    Pros - No difference in sound quality between wired and wireless, folding design, extended sub-bass
    Cons - Can be too bright/sibilant, controls separated to both earcups, sharp folding hinge could pinch and scratch hands
    Introduction
    This is the second headphone from Noontec I've been invited to write a review for. The previous one I reviewed was the Hammo S, which I gave a  3 1/2 stars rating. You can read the review here: http://www.head-fi.org/products/noontec-hammo-s-over-ear-headphone-audiophile-sound-stylish-looking-votrik-50mm-driver-sccb-technology-high-definition-portable-foldable-comfortable-blue/reviews/13511
     
    Ergonomics, design, accessories
    Right off the bat, I was relieved to see that inside the packaging, Noontec did not continue with their crass marketing gimmick of including a printout that attempts to smack down a competitor's product, as they did with the Hammo S (trying to smack down the well-respected and very popular Audio-Technica M50x). I scathingly criticized that kind of tasteless behavior in my review of the Hammo S, so it was definitely a positive first impression to not see that repeated in the ZORO II Wireless's packaging. 
     
    Visually, I'm kind of indifferent about the way the headphone looks. I was sent the black and red version, which is certainly better than the blue version IMO. But compared to the more eye-catching vermilion and blue version of the Hammo S, it's not as interesting. You're certainly not going to mistake Noontec products as high-end since their designs are aimed at the lower end of the market instead of high-end audiophile market. The attempt to mimic Beats' design aesthetics ensure that, and I personally dislike it when products try too hard to mimic a more popular product. I'm a creative (artist, writer, composer, photographer), so artistic integrity and pride is important to me. I feel that if you are truly passionate about something, then carve out your own path and do something with your own unique sensibility.
     
    The folding design is the same as on the Hammo S, which means it's sturdy and works well to reduce size for portability and storage, but that sharp edge at the hinge area is still a problem. If you are not careful, you will scratch your hand and pinch your finger when folding and unfolding the headphone. This is a design flaw that I think needs to be addressed. 
     
    The on-ear design is pretty comfortable to me, but it's subjective, since some people can't stand to have any pressure against their ears. The earpads are soft and the clamping pressure isn't excessive, while the headband is well-cushioned and doesn't press against the top of your head uncomfortably. 
     
    The controls for skip forward/backward are on the right earcup, while the LED and the play/pause/answer call are placed on the left earcup. I personally think it's better to put them all on the same earcup, since it's only three buttons total. 
     
    The supplied flat ribbon styled 3.5mm audio cable has a mic button on it, for those times when you want to use the phone while wearing the headphone. When you run out battery for the bluetooth, you can simply plug in the audio cable, and you won't suffer any sonic penalties for doing so (I'll elaborate on this later).
     
    There's a stiff cloth pouch that comes with the headphone. Some people might prefer a hard-shell case, but I think for portability, a thick cloth pouch is preferable because it's easier to cram the pouch into available space during transportation, and that extra flexibility could mean the difference in fitting the headphone into a bad, luggage, or briefcase, or not being able to fit in a hard-shell case due to the inflexibility of the shape. As long as the headphone itself is durable and can withstand some pressure from being squeezed into cramped space, I don't think a hard-shell case is really necessary.
     
    Sound
    The ZORO II Wireless sounded more neutral compared to the Hammo S. It's as if the two main issues I had with the Hammo S were addressed (to a certain degree)--namely the somewhat shrill/sibilant upper mids to lower treble, and the somewhat lacking sub-bass that lacked authority. 
     
    The headphone is fairly neutral from the mids to the sub-bass, while in the upper frequencies, there's a bit of recess at around 4 KHz, and a noticeable severe spike at around 6.5 KHz. The resulting sound can be shrill and fatiguing on material that's mastered on the brighter side.
     
    The sub-bass is significantly more authoritative than the Hammo S, with good extension. The bass is not bloated or muddy in any way, nor is it anemic and limp. There's just right amount of substance and punch.
     
    The ZORO II Wireless is missing a bit of air at the very top end of the treble (8~10 KHz), but it's not deal-breaker because it's not an egregious problem. In fact, it's the kind of slightly warm presentation that some would prefer over the more sparkly top end that some people find somewhat annoying.
     
    I would say the worst problem of the ZORO II Wireless's sound is that spike at around 6.5 KHz. If you are sensitive to sibilance and brightness at all, it will be painful to your ears.
     
    One of the best qualities of the ZORO II Wireless is actually its wired performance. On many bluetooth headphones that also allow you to plug in an audio cable when the battery runs out. the sound quality will suffer significantly when you do so (the Parrot Zik is a great example of this), or at the very least, have a different sonic signature. What Noontec achieved with the ZORO II WIreless is highly impressive, because the sonic signature is pretty much the same between the bluetooth and wired, and this make the ZORO II Wireless much more flexible and usable than other bluetooth headphones that also allow wired listening but penalize you for it. 
     
    Conclusion
    I have other bluetooth headphones, ranging from el cheapo ones I've been invited to review by Amazon sellers, to the much higher-end Parrot Zik, which I purchased as my go-to wireless headphone. As you can see already, I like the ZORO II Wireless much better than the Hammo S that reviewed previously at Noontec's invitation. In fact, despite its much lower price tag, I like the ZORO II Wireless better than the Parrot Zik in terms of the sound right out of the box, but even though the Zik is offensively bright and muddy right out of the box, it allows fine-tuning of the EQ via the app, which makes the headphone more flexible, but it costs so much more than the ZORO II Wireless. The overall design and ergonomics of the Zik is also much more elegant and higher-end. But if you don't care about all that and simply want a pretty good sounding wireless headphone (provided you aren't too sensitive to bright sibilance) that doubles as a good sounding wired headphone, and can be folded for easy transportation and storage--all at a price that's quite attractive, then the ZORO II Wireless should be on your list of headphones to audition. 
  4. NA Blur
    noontec ZORO II Wireless: Excellence Without Wires
    Written by NA Blur
    Published Oct 25, 2015
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Great sounding, portable, sweet bluetooth sound
    Cons - A bit shouty at times in the mids at high volumes, not over ear
    DSC_0002.jpg
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
    SPECS:
    http://www.noontecusa.com/product/noontec-zoro-wireless-stereo-headphones
     
    Driver Type                      Dynamic / 40mm
    Plug Type                        3.5mm
    Cord Length                    1.2m
    Frequency Response     13 Hz – 26 kHz
    Sensitivity                        108 dB / mW @ 1 kHz
    Bluetooth                         2.4G
    Max Distance               ~ 10m (33ft)
    Charge Time                ~ 3 Hours
    Music Playtime            ~ 20 hours
    Weight                            170g
     
    WHERE TO BUY / COST:
    http://www.noontecusa.com/product/noontec-zoro-wireless-stereo-headphones
    $149 new
     
    TEST TRACKS
    Wrapped Around Your Finger by Baby Deli Music is impactful, fun, and balanced from bass to treble. No distortion is heard even at high volumes and instrument separation remains clear.
     
    Pink Noise from Ayer’s Irrational, But Efficacious CD  – Tyll Hertsens taught me to listen to pink noise as a starting point for finding issues with the frequency response.  If one area sounds / feels out of place then the headphone is probably not neutral.  The ZORO II Wireless sounds very even with a hint of bass emphasis. No peaks in the midrange or treble were detected.
     
    OVERVIEW
    Already familiar with the ZORO II HD I decided to review the ZORO II Wireless hoping that it is essentially a wireless headphone that keeps the sound signature of the ZORO II HD. Bluetooth headphones are abundant these days, but finding one that sounds great and has all of the functionality to be easy to use is difficult. The ZORO II Wireless is a very surprising headphone in that it is wonderfully thought out, has awesome audio quality, and is super easy to setup and use. They do so many things right and really do not have any major flaws.
     
    AESTHETICS
     
    DSC_3116.jpg
     
     
    The looks are clean, simple, and free from any major missteps. The headband is fully padded all and the earcups are firmly cushioned with what feels like memory foam. At 170g they are very light and can be worn for hours. They are offered in black or white giving at least two style options. The brushed steel inlay feels sleek, solid, and is not overbearing. The Bluetooth controls are awesome. Each button has at least two functions making them easy to use and comprehensive. To change the volume just hold the button down, to change the song simply double click and to connect to a device press and hold. Perhaps some will find the location of the controls on the earcups problematic versus having them attached to a dongle, but this keeps any cables from being on a wireless headphone.
     
    DSC_0001.jpg
     
     
    ACOUSTICS
    Unamped: I tested the ZORO II Wireless using an iPod touch 5th Gen and my Andoid phone. Unlike many other Bluetooth headphones, these sound almost identical wireless versus wired. Typically I hear noise, a significant drop in bass control, or even a complete loss in clarity when going from wired to wireless. These babies sound awesome via Bluetooth. There is a subtle change is sound signature, which is expected considering that there is no high quality amp driving the headphones while in wireless mode. To me the resolution is slightly decreased and the bass does soften a bit, but these changes are very small.
     
    If wired listening is desired the cable is easily attached and comes stock with 3.5mm termination at both ends. Remember that this is a TRRRS mic cable so it does have the extra ring for mic control. All of my gear easily accommodated this feature, but it could cause problems with other devices. The 3.5mm jack fit easily into both my phone and iPod although the cover for the jack comes awfully close to interfering with the cases of both. I would like to see 3mm of recession from the end of the cover to the start of the jack plug, which would ensure that it will not interfere with more protruding cases. iPod listening sounds extremely good keeping detail, bass, and treble extension all in check. The midrange is somewhat up-front sounding which for vocals and guitar is a must, but on other tracks may sound a bit shouty or blunt. I spent hours trying to find something from my reference collection that did not jive with the ZORO II Wireless, but honestly everything sounds great.
     
    Testing John Williams Double Trouble from the Harry Potter soundstrack does reveal that the treble is slightly rolled off. I find that you either end up with a slightly bassy headphone, which was the case for the ZORO II Wireless, or with a treble emphasized headphone. To me bass is more fun sounding while treble leads to strident listening. The ZORO II Wireless is not the most detailed in the treble making it non-ideal for competitive gaming, although I do use it with my XBOX One and find it is very competent as a general gaming headset.
     
    Amped:  Amped the major improvement is in the bass control be it subtle. Having an impedance of just 16 Ohms this was expected. Most headphones that have an impedance above 150 Ohms can be a little device selective, but at 16 Ohms no wild changes in the bass were heard. Having an amp behind the ZORO II Wireless also speeds up the dynamics making it more direct in its sound signature. This sounds like it moves up the soundstage while simultaneously improving instrument separation. I would say do not expect significant improvements amping this headphone.
     
    I did compare the ZORO II Wireless to the ZORO II HD. I heard the HD being a bit more even from bass to treble and the Wireless as bass emphasized. The differences were subtle, even in the bass, and may even be driver differences rather than headphone type discrepancies.
     
    CONCLUSION
    The ZORO II Wireless headphone is one that should be celebrated both by the listener and everyone over at noontec that worked on it. The design, sound quality, and ease of use make it one of my favorite headphones…period. The sound signature is up-front without being annoyingly in your face. The bass is wonderfully clear, midrange gracious to vocals and guitar, and the treble is pleasantly rolled off avoiding the danger zone of being bright. The earcups are extremely comfortable especially considering they rest on your ears. The headband is comfortable and displays no pressure points. As a wireless headphone it does not lose its overall sound signature making it very versatile and listenable. The wireless range is over 20 ft which I tested at this range and through at least one solid wood door. It connects to devices easily and the controls are well thought out. If you are in the market for a wireless headphone with slight bass emphasis this headphone is for you. Well done noontec!
    1. NA Blur
      10/27/2015 - Edited for wording
      NA Blur, Oct 27, 2015
  5. twister6
    Zoro II HD in a Wireless Mask.
    Written by twister6
    Published Oct 6, 2015
    4.0/5,
    Pros - and wireless operation, smooth detailed sound, 20hrs battery, apt-x support.
    Cons - no hard case, on-ear comfort is not for an extended use.

    Before I start my review, I would like to Thank Noontec for providing me with a review sample in exchange for my honest opinion.
     
    Manufacturer website link: http://noontec.com/html/us/article_read_552.html

     
    I remember being very hesitant when Noontec approached me with a request to review their Zoro II HD (ZII HD) on-ear headphones because I wasn't familiar with a company and their folding design style looked generic to me.  ZII HD turned out to be a great discovery in my book which I'm glad I got a chance to review, and later saw covered by other respected audiophile websites.  Afterwards I had an opportunity to test their other headphones (Hammo S and Rio S), all with the same consistent performance.  So when they approached me to look into Zoro II Wireless (ZII Wireless) - I had zero hesitation.
     
    In the last few years a noticed a common trend with wireless headphones.  What's once considered to be a convenience during sport activities, now evolved into headphones with wireless sound quality approaching a wired level of performance.  As a matter of fact, most of the wireless headphones today include an option for wired connection in case if you run out of battery or if you don't have access to a Bluetooth connection.  I found a lot of popular brand names following this trend, so I wasn't surprised Noontec chose to transform their ZII HD into a Wireless version.  The main goal of my review was to compare how ZII Wireless will stack up against its wired twin, and how its wireless sound quality would compare to its wired performance.  Here is what I found.
     
    Arrived in a nice compact packaging box identical to ZII HD, the cover art now features a face of a guy wearing ZII Wireless, and other keywords describing main features of these headphones, such as SCCB (surround closed cavity body), Votrik speaker (their own tuned 40mm drivers), HD (referring to high definition sound), and a new features of Wireless connection, apt-X codec (very important if your source supports it) and NFC pairing option.  Just like in my Hammo S review, I wasn't too crazy about having a “model” face on the box cover since it takes away focus from the headphones.  The top of the box had a magnetic flap cover to reveal the headphones underneath of a plastic display window, and some additional detailed info printed inside of that cover.  I know some might find it as not a big deal, but I think it adds a nice "premium" touch to the packaging.  Out of the box, you get a nice view of a folded design which looks very compact.
     
    Unboxing.
     
    noontec_zoro2wireless-01_zps5m4e3h29.jpg noontec_zoro2wireless-02_zpskdzigcsz.jpg
    noontec_zoro2wireless-03_zpsjfelgl9s.jpg noontec_zoro2wireless-04_zpspy77f1fk.jpg
    noontec_zoro2wireless-05_zpst5pmoyue.jpg
     
    Along with headphones, you will find a removable audio cable, a charging usb cable, and a draw string storage pouch.  A storage pouch was rather nice with a soft stretchy suede/felt type of finish.  In comparison to the original ZII HD, I noticed this storage pouch was roomier to accommodate folded headphones without a problem.  Personally I'm a fan of hard shell cases, and it would have been nice to see one similar to Hammo S case, but I assume this is just one of the ways to distinguish premium model with better accessories.  Besides, draw string pouch should be sufficient for storage while traveling.  Also, USB charging cable had a decent quality.
     
    Regarding removable cable, I was glad Noontec decided to use a standard 3.5mm connector going to earcup which makes it compatible with other common replacement cables.  Cable is flat and has a rubbery shielding, making it easy for storage and also helping to reduce microphonics when rubbing against your cloth.  Cable also includes an in-line remote with universal multifunction button for Play/Pause/Call with a single click, and Skip track with double/triple click.  I like how in-line remote with mic was not placed too far down the cable, allowing it to be closer to the mouth.  I had no issues using it for calls, though have to admit I don't use public transportation to test "noisy" environment.  Plus, it came handy using it with a smartphone or even X3ii/X5ii DAPs that support in-line remote for playback control.
     
    Accessories.
     
    noontec_zoro2wireless-06_zps4h81n1sr.jpg noontec_zoro2wireless-07_zpspj2pjpun.jpg
    noontec_zoro2wireless-08_zpsn6dpbg9p.jpg noontec_zoro2wireless-09_zpsothcufgx.jpg
    noontec_zoro2wireless-10_zpsntqjmydw.jpg noontec_zoro2wireless-11_zpscgicthml.jpg
     
    The build is pretty good, no creaking or squeaking as you twist/bend/expand the plastic headband.  The height adjustment was good but felt a bit looser in comparison to ZII HD.  Looking closer, you can see a metal reinforcement band inside of the end piece which slides together with earcup.  It also has an aluminum reinforcement edge with an etched Zoro II Wireless logo, but I was still not too crazy about the locking mechanism of the hinge and a loud snap sound it makes when you open headphones.  I'm sure it has been tested plenty by Noontec, but still a loud snap and two pieces of plastic rubbing together was a bit of a concern to me.  But overall build quality looked solid, and from Noontec website they mention about using aluminum and stainless steel reinforcement inside of bendable parts, assuming inside of headband as well.
     
    Moving on to earcups, they have an oval shape and attached to the ends of headband at a joint which allows a small degree of up/down/left/right pivoting movement for a more comfortable adjustment on your ears.  With on-ear design it's often a hit or a miss when it comes to fitment since you have to find a sweet spot to position headphones for a better sound performance.  Here it was an easy task, and in addition to comfortable soft earpads covered by quality pleather (Noontec refers to these as protein cotton), the headband also had a comfortable enough clamping force to assist in decent passive noise isolation.
     
    Furthermore, inside of headband you’ll see a nice soft padding to support headphones on top of your head.  At about 210g these headphones are lightweight to begin with, and soft earpads and inner headband padding just adds to the comfort.  Earpads did get a bit warm after an extended period of use (had them on for a few hours, and had to take a break after that), but it felt more "breathable" in comparison to my other headphones.  Also, headphones stayed on my head very secure even while I was moving around with them on.
     
    Looking closer at earcups, just like in the original ZII HD you will find 3.5mm headphone socket in the Left earcup.  Now with addition of wireless functionality, there is also a rubbery multi-function button on the back of Left earcup, and right above it led power indicator.  Right earcup has micro-usb charging port and corresponding built-in battery where a full charge should give you a whooping 20+ hours of playback time.  You will also find 2 multifunction buttons for playback and volume controls.  All these rubbery control buttons had a nice tactile response, and were conveniently located facing back for easier access with your thumbs.
     
    Design details.
     
    noontec_zoro2wireless-12_zps9cnqjuhl.jpg noontec_zoro2wireless-13_zpskvvjswf4.jpg
    noontec_zoro2wireless-14_zpsjapr6oze.jpg noontec_zoro2wireless-15_zps25maxwed.jpg
    noontec_zoro2wireless-16_zpstgvx1vku.jpg noontec_zoro2wireless-17_zpsr3liwo9q.jpg
    noontec_zoro2wireless-18_zpsg5qar54b.jpg noontec_zoro2wireless-19_zpsjvuc5aea.jpg
    noontec_zoro2wireless-20_zps1nhnogdb.jpg noontec_zoro2wireless-21_zpse63hovtv.jpg
    noontec_zoro2wireless-22_zpseybbwi4x.jpg noontec_zoro2wireless-25_zpsetsxqgjt.jpg
     
    Fitment.
     
    noontec_zoro2wireless-27_zpsshur2rxu.jpg
     
     
    Of course it makes sense that ZII Wireless will be a little heavier than ZII HD due to additional electronics and a battery (about 50g difference), but I didn't expect that earcup size going to be identical.  With an exception of wireless controls and micro-usb port, it's nearly impossible to tell them apart.  I found it to be very impressive!
     
    Zoro II HD next to Zoro II Wireless.
     
    noontec_zoro2wireless-23_zpsbx2gfszd.jpg noontec_zoro2wireless-24_zpsvnlkgwpq.jpg
     
    Wireless connection was typical of other headphones, just hold power button down until you enter pair up mode and select it from a list of available devices to connect to your phone and media audio.  Afterwards, pair up was seamless.  With an available NFC support, you can also do that by placing a phone near the left earcup area labeled with “NFC”.  I tested wireless connection up to 45ft away in the open space, and confirmed solid operation.
     
    Once paired, multi-function power button also works as Play/Pause/Call.  In addition, pressing this button twice lit up 4-led power indicator above it to show the remaining battery capacity.  On the right earcup, pressing and holding up/down button changes the volume, while double click on corresponding buttons skips track forward/back.  It took me a little while to get used to it since this functionality is implemented different across other headphones.  After awhile it made sense so there is no confusion if you click it once or hold it longer to press it.  Double click vs long press leaves no discrepancies.
     
    noontec_zoro2wireless-26_zpsptdabk1e.jpg
     
    Sound Analysis.
     
    When it comes to a sound evaluation, I left ZII Wireless to burn in for 24 hours before starting my testing.   I found Noontec ZII Wireless to sound very close to ZII HD, and to have a nicely balanced smooth organic warm sound signature with a bit of mid-bass boost.  Noontec continued with their proven fine-tuned formula to make sound very appealing for any style of listening.  The bass is there, but it's not over exaggerated.  Mids are smooth, detailed, and organic, and not micro-detailed or harsh.  Treble is clear and smooth, and not sibilant or fatigue.
     
    In more details, bass has a nice mid-bass punch with a texture of sub-bass underneath (lower in quantity though).  Bass doesn’t have that typical commercial “Beats” tuning, though it’s definitely north of neutral.  There is a little bit of spillage into lower mids, but just enough to add to the body of a sound, not to make sound muddy.  Mids have a nice body, and sound clean and detailed, though more of a smooth-detailed.  I found vocals delivery, both male and female, to be very pleasant and quite organic.  Treble is smooth and clear, but has a noticeable roll-off to keep the "sparkle" under control, away from the bright edge.  Though it doesn't extend too far, it still captures enough details for a well defined sound, just don’t expect too much airiness. 
     
    Soundstage was surprisingly spacious and above the average, and I found ZII Wireless to have a slightly better expansion in comparison to ZII HD.  Layering and separation was on the same level, but ZII Wireless sound was noticeably wider.  Another very interesting observation when comparing ZII Wireless vs Wired modes (within the same model), in wireless connection a low end was a little bit tighter and mids/vocals were a bit more upfront and brighter.  To be honest, I actually enjoyed wireless sound a little bit more with these.
     
    Conclusion.
     
    After testing ZII Wireless in both wired and wireless modes and also comparing against the original ZII HD, I found a striking similarity in their audio performance.  Noontec did a great job tuning its Votrik driver, which I already had a pleasure to listen to when reviewing ZII HD, and now they were able to extend this performance into a wireless domain without sacrificing a sound quality.  Keeping design the same (earcup size remained unchanged), they added wireless capability with an impressive range, playback and volume controls, 20hr battery, and support of apt-X codec with an overall wired vs wireless performance being very close.  ZII Wireless might still have a generic look, but honestly there is nothing generic about its sound and wireless performance.  As a matter of fact, if you were considering a wired Zoro II HD version, I would recommend you to invest extra money and get Zoro II Wireless instead.
      Brooko and Vartan like this.