1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

Moondrop Spaceship

Rating:
3.75/5,
  1. antdroid
    Battle of the Budget Bullets
    Written by antdroid
    Published Jul 21, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Clean, detailed sound
    Great build quality
    More accessories than most IEMs under $50
    Cons - a little bass light
    don't like this fit personally
    [​IMG]





    In this quick review, I’ll do a shoot-out between the newly released Moondrop Spaceship and the popular Final Audio Design E1000. First off, I purchased both of these earphones through Amazon and 46 Audio websites, however the Moondrop Spaceship will be transferred over to someone else after this review is complete.



    Moondrop is a Chinese brand that has made some really well-liked earphones (both IEM and earbuds) that have been tuned to their preferential tuning, which is quite similar to the Harman Target Curve. Their products have ranged from $10 to $330 ear buds and $20 to $666 in-ear monitors, with the most popular models being the Kanas Pro and the A8. The Spaceship is the newest and cheapest of the Moondrop in-ear lineup.



    [​IMG]





    Final Audio Design is a Japanese company that has a large lineup of in-ear monitors, and a few headphones including the D8000 Planar Magnetic over-ear. Their entry level E-series IEMs are extremely popular as well as the included E-tips which can also be purchased separately. The E1000 is the latest and cheapest model in this series which featured the E2000 and E3000.



    [​IMG]





    What’s Included


    Both IEMs feature the IEMs, a series of tips, and a boxed packaging. The Moondrop Spaceship also comes with a fabric pouch and a few cards. The tips that are included with the Final E1000 are extremely popular, as mentioned previously, and are one of nicer tips available on the market, and retail for $15 on their own. So, the $25 price tag for the Final E1000 is quite nice considering this fact.



    The Moondrop Spaceship comes in a very nice metal shell that is much smaller in-person that you may be led in photos. It’s simple, yet attractive and reflects everything. The cable is simple and non-detachable, but quite usable. It also features metal splitter and connectors.



    In contrast, the Final E1000 has a very cheap plastic shell, thinner and more crude looking cable, but does terminate in a 90 degree 3.5mm connector, which is quite handy for using on the go. Unfortunately, that little win doesn’t take the battle here. The Spaceship’s build, cable quality, and accessory package wins here, handedly.



    Sound


    Both the Final E1000 and Moondrop Spaceship feature their own musical style though they do have some similarities. Both are on the lighter side in terms of bass and warmth and are more treble focused.



    [​IMG]





    The E1000 sounds rather hollow. It is a little warmer sounding than the Spaceship but that’s really due to the fact that its mid-range is really unacceptable. Its flat, and sounds missing and recessed. There’s also a spike in the treble region that can cause problems with harshness occasionally, but I found this could change vastly with tips and insertion depth. But the problem still lies in the non-coherent mids, where I feel like the region after 1K and before 5K is just missing, and causes that hollow sound.



    The Moondrop Spaceship, on the other hand, has much more midrange presence and that makes vocals clean, clear and more natural. It is a tad light on the bass end, but does feature a mid-bass hump that is enough to provide a little punch, when needed. Still, I found it could be a little warmer. So, instead, the Moondrop tries to approach a more Diffuse Field tuning, and for the most part it does it pretty well. Given, it’s $20 price tag, it’s really hard to kick at it for being a little bass-light and maybe a little too boosted that could some people leaving fatigued from brightness, but for me, I find it good to listen to for a period of time.



    Both of these in-ears have pretty narrow soundstage and imaging is not the best. I find the Spaceship quite a bit more resolving than the E1000, and generally just easier to listen to and to perform better in all aspects. It’s not much of a contest as I had hoped going into this review, when I purchased the E1000 and then a short time after, the Spaceship.



    Overall
    At the end of the day, this is a really easy showdown. I like the Spaceship in pretty much every single way. It’s also less expensive. Easy peasy. It’s not a tuning for everyone, let’s just make that really clear. But if you’re looking for a lighter signature that is vocal focused, this one isn’t that bad of a choice for $20.



    If you want a more bassy, richer, warmer and more exciting in-ear at budget pricing, take a look at a few others. Let’s talk about those now.



    [​IMG]





    The Focal Spark


    The Spark is a budget Focal that has seen some wild sales where they go as low as $20, which is much less than their original $79 price. I picked it up for $20 on Amazon last year and found them to be a very good V-Shape at that price. Extremely good to be honest. Fast transients, warm, rich sound, and a V-shape that isn’t too muddy.



    [​IMG]





    Sony MH755

    The Sony freebie is exceptionally good for $6-8. It’s included free with their Bluetooth adapters, and a similar model, the MH750, is included with their cell phones. It’s a warm, bassy yet quite coherent in-ear that is quite a bit bassier and warmer than the Harman Target but has a similar upper-midrange and treble curve. It’s a steal for $6 on eBay.



    [​IMG]



    And now the real conclusion…
    I’d take either the Focal or Sony over the Spaceship and E1000 in my battle of the Bullets, though I find the Spaceship quite good at $20, especially if you want a leaner sounding in-ear. Really, that and the Sony can be perfect partners for under $30. Not too bad.
      PlantsmanTX and B9Scrambler like this.
  2. Wiljen
    Moondrop Spaceship, the budget bullet.
    Written by Wiljen
    Published Oct 11, 2019
    3.5/5,
    Pros - very comfortable, driver responds well to EQ
    Cons - Big upper-mid / lower treble spike, non-detachable cable
    disclaimer: Moondrop sent me the Spaceship to review as I had previously purchased the Kanas, Kanas Pro, Nameless, and was given a KXXS as part of a contest. I have reviewed and liked most of their models so far and was interested in the budget friendly Spaceship. These can be purchased through AliExpress, Amazon, most of the usual outlets. I have no financial interest in Moondrop, nor have I been compensated for this review.

    If you have an interest in the Spaceship, it can be purchased directly from Moondrop here.



    Unboxing / Packaging:

    Packaging is decidedly western big-box store with a clear plastic box with the artwork printed on the exterior The earpieces rest in an internal plastic tray with the rest of the kit hiding behind the graphics at the bottom of the package. I about destroyed the box opening it as the corners are not particularly reinforced so one probably shouldn't plan on using the original package for storage of the earphones after purchase. The kit consists of the earphones themselves, 3 sets of tips, a cloth carry bag, a warranty card and the user manual. This may seem like a fairly small kit, but remember the $30 price tag and it makes a bit more sense as most at this price point don't include a case.

    Moondrop-Spaceship-box-front.JPG Moondrop-Spaceship-box-rear.JPG Moondrop-Spaceship-kit.JPG


    Build/Fit:

    The Spaceship can best be described as a micro-driver model with a bullet shape with cable exiting the nose of the bullet on the lower side and the base of the bullet operating as the nozzle. With the tips off, SWMBO refers to these as the ones that should say Conair on the side as they do bear more than a passing resemblance to a hair dryer in shape. Shells are two pieces and while not a conventional faceplate and inner shell do have the seam between inner and outer portions of the shell. Seams are easily seen in the pictures but less so in reality as the highly reflective surfaces do mask them to some degree. Two small vents exist on the underside of the shell, one immediately ahead of the cable exit point and the other just ahead of the junction between the front and rear shell and partially hidden by the tip when in place. Nozzles do not have a lip to hold tips on but with their long straight sides, I had no issues with tips staying in place. These are tiny, so fit is easy and with proper tip selection they are very comfortable. Due to the fact that basically the only thing obstructing the canal is the tip, isolation is fairly limited.

    Moondrop-Spaceship-ear.JPG Moondrop-Spaceship-ears1.JPG Moondrop-Spaceship-feature.JPG Moondrop-Spaceship-nozzle.JPG Moondrop-Spaceship-rear-view.JPG Moondrop-Spaceship-underside.JPG



    Internals:

    The spaceship uses a 6 mm micro-dynamic driver with a nominal impedance of 16Ω and a listed sensitivity of 104 dB/mW. These are designed with cell phone users in mind and I had no trouble running them from both phone and tablet. While come scaling does occur with better sources, the overall ceiling is fairly low so those using phones to listen to the Spaceship are getting the full capability of the drivers without the need for external amplification.



    Cable:

    The cable on the spaceship is non-removable but is solidly constructed and should last well if not abused. From the south end, the jack is a 3.5 mm in a straight housing with a polished steel shell and a proper strain relief. From the jack to the splitter, the cable is a 4N Litz oxygen free copper in a rubberized single strand housing and breaks into two similarly constructed cables of smaller diameter above the splitter. Long strain reliefs protect the last inch of so of cable where it enters the earpieces. No chin slider is provided. These are designed for tip-down wear and I had no problem with keeping them in place while working around the office or using the treadmill. There simply isn't enough weight in the capsules to cause any pull.


    Moondrop-Spaceship-jack.JPG Moondrop-Spaceship-spltiter.JPG Moondrop-Spaceship-side-view.JPG


    Tips:

    I found that as long as tips didn't obstruct the nozzle or constrict airflow, they had little impact on the signature. For that reason tip selection is more about fit and comfort than adjusting the signature. I did find that foams altered the signature considerably, but that is a well known phenomenon and certainly isnt unique to the Spaceship.

    Sound:

    Moondrop-SpaceShip-FR.jpg

    Bass:

    Sub-bass is better than expected on a micro-driver with roll-off becoming pronounced only below 55Hz or so. Mid-bass is boosted and falls as it moves toward the mids. Bass tuning in general seems fairly close to the Sony MH755 or KB Opal although a bit more detailed and nuanced than either and a bit less boosted than the MH755. Having said that, neither of the two competitors mentioned has much of any bass detail so saying it has more isn't exactly putting it in elite company. Bass texture is minimal compared to things like the KXXS or other models farther up the Moondrop foodchain, but is acceptable at the price point. There is pronounced mid-bass bleed into the mids that gives the Spaceship a warm signature. There is some obstruction of the lower mids as a result.



    Mids:

    As previously mentioned, the mid-bass does bleed a bit and colors the lower mids as a result. Once you get above the overshadowing, mids come into their own. mids and upper mids have good detail, more so than expected at the price. There is a big push in the upper-mids/lower treble that brings higher vocals forward and places them well in front of their lower counterparts as a result and can make female vocals feel a bit too "in your face" for my liking. This is a case of a driver that can do mids fairly well, but is overshadowed on both sides by bleed and spikes and really never gets a chance to show-off as a result.



    Treble:

    Treble is absolutely dominated by the lower-treble push at around 3-4kHz but drops back in line with the rest of the signature by 5kHz or so. There is a lesser push between 9 and 10 kHz that introduces a bit fo top end and allows cymbals to sound a bit more natural than some at this price point (I mentioned the 755 earlier). Treble detail is above average for the price, and overall once you get past that lower-treble push, the Spaceship can be quite enjoyable. Luckily, I did find the spaceship reacted fairly well to EQ and that one big spike can be EQ'd back to near linear with a little tweaking. Once cleaned up a bit with EQ, they do have a cleaner more airy treble than I thought possible at the price.



    Soundstage / Imaging:

    Soundstage is reasonably good for a micro-driver in a sealed unit and is larger than anticipated although most of that size is coming from width as they don't have the depth to match. Height is minimal so the dimensions of the stage are a little off, but instrument separation is good and very little overlap occurs while seating the orchestra. Imaging is thrown a bit at times by the stage shape as sounds that should be behind come more from the sides, but movement around the stage is still quite obvious and easily trackable. Layering is reasonably good with no congestion until tracks become particularly complex and fast. I wasn't expecting miracles in that department, but what I got was above average as most in the price range fall down quickly as things become overly busy.



    Thoughts / Conclusion:

    Well, lets get this out of the way up front, this isn't my favorite Moondrop. The tuning with its boost in the upper-mids/lower-treble just is not my thing. Even in the Moondrop budget models, I find the Crescent a bit more natural sounding as it has a bit better bass, and less treble boost, but I do like the fact that the Spaceship is not quite as warm as I found the Crescent a bit overly so. The Good news for the spaceship is the fundamentals are there to make a good in-ear. The driver reacts well to EQ, soundstage is reasonably good, it handles busy tracks well considering the price, and has acceptable detail levels. For those that like its default signature, it represents good value, for those that don't, a bit of tweaking can improve it dramatically. Having now reviewed products at both ends of Moondrop's price range, I can say that I think they have done some good things across the entire product range, but the higher end models have definitely had a bit more time and energy spent on tuning. The Spaceship falls a bit short a greatness, but for the price is a solid offering and with a few EQ tweaks can be quite good.
  3. NymPHONOmaniac
    Yawn....perfect sleeping earphones.
    Written by NymPHONOmaniac
    Published Oct 14, 2019
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Clear vocal, good transparency, crisp highs, good construction, small and sturdy housing
    Cons - Dry lower end and soft mid bass punch, thin timbre, lack of attack, small soundstage, poor imaging, cable create microphonic
    MOONDROP SPACESHIP REVIEW :
    P1040433.JPG
    SOUND: 7/10
    CONSTRUCTION: 8/10
    DESIGN: 7.5/10
    VALUE: 7.5/10


    MOONDROP audio company have been around for years and begin by creating very well received earbuds like the VX PRO, Nameless or flagship Libesleid. After this earbuds period, they begin creating interesting earphones like the Kanas Pro and Crescent.

    I personally just own their Nameless earbuds, wich impress me for their airy and vast soundstage. Today I will review their entry level earphones call SPACESHIP wich replace other entry level model CRESCENT.

    Selling for 20$, the Spaceship is very affordable. It use a 6mm microdynamic drivers and have a beautifull chrome plated brass metal housing. Now let’s see how it sound.

    The SPACESHIP can be buy directly from Ali express Moondrop STORE

    DISCLAIMER: I wanna thanks Moondrop for contacting me and sending me this free review sample. I was very intrigue about their Kanas iem, so I can't say no to try their entry level iem either. As always, i'm fully independant and fully keep my subjective integrity as an unbiased reviewer.

    P1040423.JPG


    INFO & SPECS :
    Brand Name: MOONDROP

    • Connectors: 3.5mm

    • Control Button: No

    • Active Noise-Cancellation: No

    • Style: In-Ear

    • Communication: Wired

    • Vocalism Principle: Dynamic

    • Volume Control: No

    • Wireless Type: None

    • Codecs: None

    • Support Memory Card: No

    • With Microphone: No

    • Model Number: SPACESHIP

    • Resistance: 16Ω

    • Frequency Response Range: 20-40000Hz

    • Function: Common Headphone

    • Function: For Mobile Phone

    • Function: HiFi Headphone

    • Sensitivity: 104dB

    • Waterproof: No

    • Is wireless: No

    • Line Length: 1.2m

    • Plug Type: Line Type

    • Support APP: No
    ACCESSORIES, CONSTRUCTION & DESIGN :
    P1040421.JPG


    UNBOXING is minimalist and on par of what we can expect at this price range. Still, its nice to have a little carrying pouch at this price. The rest of accessories is 3 pair of silicon eartips.

    P1040426.JPG P1040427.JPG

    CONSTRUCTION is very nice and surpass what we can expect for a 20$ iem. The housing is made of thick glossy metal, have an appealing oval shape and is very small. This type of housing is very durable and promess trustable sturdiness. The cable is basic but of good quality too with a metal jack.

    P1040424.JPG


    DESIGN is mostly well thinked, especially for the small housing size that can benifit people searching for an iem for sleeping on. Its very comfortable to wear and will fit any ears size. Still, this iem is thinked to be wear cable down, wich create serious microphonic noise. Wearing it over ears solve part of this problem.

    ISOLATION is average and there is some noise leakage due to 2 venting hole under the housing.

    DRIVEABILITY is quite easy at 16ohm impedance and slightly low 104db sensitivity.

    SOUND :

    P1040430.JPG


    SUBJECTIVE SOUND APPRECIATION is a so-so one that work for me half of the time depending of the music style that is playing. For near anything that got electric or acoustic guitar, I find the Spaceship quite capable and enjoyable, but for anything that need bass energy, I find them to sound too flat and dry. The Spaceship have an intimate soundstage and basic imaging that make them sound dark and laid back, with important emphasis on mid range that is just slightly brigh but very soft in attack avoiding sibilance but excitment too. I wasn’t mean to love the Spaceship lean mid centric and relaxed soundsignature but more I listen to them more I became accustomed to their sound that have just enough punch in mid bass and extra upper treble crispness to make them enjoyable. The tuning is cohesive, timbre is transparent and treble can give (much needed) extra excitment time to time when the music you listen take advantage of it. No wow effect, no head banging, no fascinating musical contemplation, the Spaceship do not make me travel far but make it at least for a safe ride.

    SOUNDSTAGE is rather compressed, and avoid to be stock in your head due to some spacial deepnest, still, its intimate and not airy.

    IMAGING too is compressed, instruments are very near one to eachother to the point of mixing togheter time to time, I find it hard to take apart instrumental in anything that have more than 4 instruments, for pop, rock or folk it wasn’t a big issue.

    BASS is flat, transparent, slightly dry and have little bump in mid bass to give a soft punch and extra separation from the rather anemic sub bass that have notable drop before 20hz. Control of sub bass is a little sloppy wich affect tonal realism of bass line. Mid bass is quite tigh and avoid warming the lower treble too much, the kick is more weighty than punchy, making the attack retained.


    MID RANGE
    have more presence but is darkish due to a soft timbre that lack details. Vocal sound transparent, thin in timbre, clear and polished. They aren’t full bodied or thick, and lack a sens of naturalness making them a little lifeless in rendering. Instrument like violin or piano too lack liveliness and texture. Attack is too soft, wich affect instrument separation and accuracy. Strangely, electric guitar sound quite good, not too strident and quite clear, giving them extra presence as if it was tuned for rock music.

    TREBLE is smooth and delicate, with extra presence in upper range that can benifit percussions or acoustic guitar by giving them extra brilliance. Still, its not very sparkly and you will not have lot of decay. Level of details is average as well as overall clarity. The Spaceship aren’t agressive sounding or too peaky, in fact whole sound is danger free and super polished.

    SUB BASS : 6/10
    MID BASS : 7/10
    MID RANGE : 7.5/10
    TREBLE : 7/10
    TIMBRE : 7.5/10
    ATTACK-DECAY : 6.5/10
    SOUNDSTAGE : 6/10
    IMAGING : 6.5/10
    CLARITY : 7/10




    COMPARAISONS :

    VS KBEAR KB06 (30$) :

    P1040428.JPG

    Compared to KB06, the SPACESHIP to offer notably smaller soundstage and for a spacial ship, it do not have a big space to travel into either, while KB06 is above average for its little price and offer more space between instrument, or more specifically between low, mids and highs frequencies range. BASS is as well more authoritative and pumped up with the KB06, making the Spaceship sound more neutral and flatter and lack in lower bass extension. MID RANGE have as much presence but due to more spacious separation, vocal and instrument do not mix as much with KB06 wich keep them cleaner and offer greater definition. TREBLE is more extended with emphasis in upper highs for the Spaceship, wich give it extra sparkle KB06 lack, classical guitar or harp have more brilliance, but the attack is less energic than KB06 wich make overall listen flatter and less exciting than KB06.


    VS FINAL AUDIO E1000 (30$) :

    P1040429.JPG


    Both similarly priced, the Spaceship win in term of built quality because of its sturdy metal housing compared to cheap plastic one of E1000. In other hand, I find the Final Audio cable to do less microphonic as well as being easier to fit properly over ear.
    SOUNDSTAGE is wider with E1000 and deeper with Spaceship. IMAGING is more accurate with E1000 and offer a more spacious layering in whole spectrum range compared to Spaceship that struggle with instrument separation in a balanced way.
    BASS is weightier and punchier with E1000, timbre is warmer and thicker too while Spaceshipp sound dry and more transparent, lacking in impact and rumble compared to E1000 but in dynamic separation too. MID RANGE is slightly more recessed (or balanced?) with the E1000 but offer more details and better instrument separation than the more mid foward Spaceship wich have thinner timbre. When vocal occur, it tend to overshadow other instruments unlike the E1000 that treat whole mid range in a flatter more accurate way. TREBLE is more emphased in lower and mid highs with E1000 while Spaceship have a peak in upper highs that offer more brilliance to percussions and microdetails but sound more artificial and metallic than E1000 wich offer lusher sound experience.

    CONCLUSION :

    P1040431.JPG


    Fairly priced at 20$, the Spaceship offer a smooth mid centric sound with good transparency. The small housing as well as gently laid back sound is perfect for sleeping time. While its neither the most revealing, exciting or accurate sounding iem in its price range, the Spaceship will please audio enthusiast that listen to rock, folk and instrumental music. I find this earphones very music genre specific, so it most be noted that it will neither suit bass lover or details lover. All in all, at this little price, we can’t complaint.
  4. Animagus
    Moondrop's Spaceship or should I say bullet?
    Written by Animagus
    Published Nov 5, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Build Quality - CNC Brass shells, small bullets
    Sound Quality - Clean and engaging
    Price to performance ratio
    Ease of wearing while lying down sideways
    Brass shells will stand some rugged use
    Cons - Bass rolled off early | Bass light
    Upper mids can get hot sometimes
    Could use more variety in stock ear tips
    My background- I am a professional musician, producer and audio engineer with experience in the performing, recording and pro-audio industry. I test products on a technical and musical level and try to write reviews as simple as possible from a music fan's perspective.

    Disclaimer – The sample was given to me to test and review. I am not affiliated with the seller or company in any way and write this review with my best unbiased opinion regardless of how the review turns out.

    *Rated by keeping price in context*


    Genre preferences- I majorly listen to rock, acoustic, pop, metal, and occasionally popular EDM songs.

    2.jpeg

    Specifications-
    • Driver – Micro-Dynamic Driver (PEEK & PU)
    • Impedance: 16Ω±15%
    • Frequency response range: 20-40KHz
    • Plug: 3.5mm Line Type
    • Quality control range: ±1.5dB
    • Sensitivity: 104dB@1kHz
    • Transducer: 6mm
    • Wire: 4N Litz oxygen free copper
    If you like, it is available for purchase here - Moondrop Spaceship


    Included in the box – Spaceship’s box is minimalistic like similarly priced Sennheiser earphones. Besides the earphones, it includes a set of SML tips, a pouch and manuals.

    1.jpeg

    Build Quality - The built quality of Spaceship is quite ahead compared to similar earphones in its price range. Where earphones from other brands in this segment are made of plastic, Spaceship has chrome plated CNC milled brass shells.

    The cable is the regular rubber sheath kind and isn’t removable but is thicker and feels better made than its competition. It does have microphonics though but so do most earphones around this price as well as. Looking at the price, I can’t be too picky here.

    4.jpeg 5.jpeg

    Fit and Comfort – You’ll be surprised to see how small and cute the shells are. For me, I use the largest ear tips supplied with the package. As I’m used to bigger shells filling up my concha, these smaller shells took a few minutes to get used to and right after I couldn’t even feel them in my ear. That’s how light they are. Also, I can lie down sideways, sink into my pillow and watch movies with these in my ears and not worry about ear pain or damaging the shells. I also tested them in my evening runs, doing all sorts of crazy head movements to see if the shells fall out. To my surprise, they didn’t. I did get weird funny stares from older people who couldn’t figure out what I was up to. Anyway, I reckon they’ll work well as earphones for your workout routine too.

    3.jpeg


    Sound – Spaceship loosely follows Moondrop’s house tuning which is based around the Harman Target curve but deviates from it enough to not sound like a cheaper version of its older brother KXXS. It’s a very nice clean sounding earphone with a slight tilt towards the upper-midrange peak defining its character.

    Even though the impedance rating is 16Ω, because of relatively lower sensitivity at 104dB, they need a bit more push than average 16 Ohmers but most smartphones should be able to drive them to dangerously loud levels comfortably.

    Also, at $20 one can’t expect a $500 sound and being nitpicky at this price is just a moot point. Yet I’ve mentioned areas that I felt Spaceship could improve on for it to be the perfect $20 earphone. Nevertheless, Spaceship’s performance to price ratio is very high, it being one of the best looking/built, and very good sounding earphones at the $20 mark.

    Let’s dig in deeper to find out more…

    Bass – Spaceship’s bass is quite flat and not as present or balanced as compared to KXXS and other similar Harman tuned earphones. Bass starts falling off around 75Hz and as a result, sub-bass and low bass is not as present. Yet in songs like Hans Zimmer’s ‘Why so serious’ you can nicely hear the sub-bass in the section post 3:27 but you’ll have to turn up the volume to feel it rumble your ears. The natural rumble in most songs at average volume levels is not as strong as I like. Mid-bass makes up the rest of the bass character pretty well. It sounds natural and the notes are clean and clear.

    Mids – Mids are the nice thin kind, a bit like the KXXS. They sound natural with a signature more defined by the upper mids than the lower mids. Lower mids sound clean and upper mids peak at around 3kHz brings extra presence and clarity to vocals and stringed instruments. Because the bass is not as present, the upper mids prominence can feel slightly peaky in some songs when listening at louder levels, particularly the songs which have more presence around that region. But barring that, the signature is clean, engaging and enjoyable.

    Treble – Treble extends decently well giving the instruments the required sheen to shine. Cymbals like hi-hats and acoustic guitars have good presence which keeps them snappy and exciting. There are no intrusive peaks which keeps the treble smooth and non-intrusive. No sibilance at all.


    Soundstage, Imaging, Separation & Resolution–
    Soundstage is on the average side. It is decently wide but not as deep. Imaging is not the sharpest but is still pretty decent for this segment. Separation and resolution are particularly good for the price you’re paying.


    7.jpeg 6.jpeg


    Comparisons –

    Spaceship vs Sennheiser CX180 –
    Honestly, right off the bat, CX180 sounds plastic-y in comparison. Spaceship simply sounds like a superior earphone. The build quality of Spaceship is better too with CX180 being made of plastic and the cable being thinner too. CX180 too does not have a lot of bass presence either, its upper mids peak is not as prominent, yet CX180 ends up sounding a bit harsh and unrefined in the upper register in comparison to the Spaceship. Spaceship has better resolution, separation and imaging.

    Spaceship vs CCA C10 – C10 is twice the price of Spaceship and may not be the best for comparison but it is a popular earphone in the below $50 segment, so I thought it was fit to include in here. C10 has more bass presence and snappier treble. Spaceship has a nice thin mids signature whereas C10 sounds fuller. C10 treble is thinner, more present and can sometimes be a bit too sparkly. Cymbals are more prominent in C10 whereas Spaceship has them relatively smooth. Both are very good value at their prices.


    Conclusion – At $20, it doesn’t hurt to give any earphone a try. But Spaceship is one that does a lot of things good and very little bad. Except for bass lightness, because of which the upper mids feel slightly more in comparison, Spaceship does everything really well for the price. It certainly is one of the best looking and built earphones in its segment with CNC milled brass chrome plated shells which sort them out for rugged use. They sound just as fine too with a very clean and engaging sound. In the race with Sennheisers and other similar brands at $20, Spaceship’s performance to price ratio is very good and you should definitely give it a try when you’re looking for a nice cheap set of earphones for rugged or OTG use.


    Gear used for testing and review –
    • Macbook Pro
    • Hiby R6 Pro
    • Oneplus 7 Pro + BGVP T01
      Wyville, digititus and B9Scrambler like this.
    1. digititus
      I gave these to my son as he loses headphones frequently! So far, he still has them and uses them everyday. Says they sound great out of a smartphone. Great VFM. Recommended
      digititus, Nov 6, 2019
      Animagus and B9Scrambler like this.
    2. Animagus
      Animagus, Nov 7, 2019
    3. kingcro
      These sound relaxed and this is what I enjoy about these.
      kingcro, Nov 11, 2019 at 9:06 AM
      B9Scrambler likes this.