Meeture MT3 - Reviews
Pros: Well tuned plus solid technical ability.
Nice build quality with good fit and finish.
Comfortable and easy to fit.
Engaging, likable, and forgiving signature that is slightly adjustable with tips.
Cons: Cable likes to tangle above the split.
L/R indicators need improvement.
A less protective pouch is included instead of a case.
Reviewing the Meeture MT3 is my first introduction to the brand. I was sent the MT3 and EM2 for review by Simgot through Amazon.com in the US. First up will be the Entry level Meeture MT3. After spending several weeks with them I have found them to be an extremely solid offering where the Pros really outweigh the Cons. The MT3 is available at Amazon with a variety of color accents.
https://www.amazon.com/Ear-Monitor-Headphones-Detachable-Smartphones/dp/B07JPL6RDS

Specification:
· Impedance: 18Ω

· Headphone Sensitivity: 101dB

· Frequency Response Range: 15Hz-40kHz

· Power Rating: 10mW

· Distortion Degree: <1% 101 dB

· Channel Balance: <1.5 dB (at 1000Hz)

· Vocalism Principle: 10mm High Magnetic Circuit Coil Dynamic Driver

· Plug Type: 3.5mm Straight Plug

Packaging...
upload_2019-5-5_13-49-12.png


upload_2019-5-5_13-50-26.png

Package Includes:
  • 1× Pair of MT3 IEMs
  • 3× Balanced Eartips
  • 3× Penetrating Eartips
  • 1×Soft Pouch Carrying Case
The MT3 come with a good accessory kit. At the $70 price tag it is solid but perhaps could have been even better. A pair or two of foams tips and a semi-hard zip case would have upped the ante more. A nice presentation and two types of tips to adjust the signature are the two best aspects.

Build Quality...
upload_2019-5-5_14-16-16.png

The MT3 have a very nice build to them. Quality plastics are used and they exhibit a very smooth finish with no rough edges or glue issues Nothing is out of place. Cable fits well and the Y and plug are rubber capped to protect both themselves and your devices. The cable has a nice braid that has come undone so far. The chin slider is also metal and works fairly well.

One thing I don't like about the construction is that the cable does like to tangle more than others especially above the split. Another is the left and right indicators. On the cable itself there is no coloring and they are small so very very hard to read them unless in good lighting and closer up. The L and R printed on the housings themselves will rub off fairly easily after some time. The indicators are not a big deal unless you want to change the cable all the time. Once on right you don't really need them since the formed ear guides dictate R or L at a glance. Speaking of the ear guides, they are very nice. Pliable and thin so very comfy and shape very well to the ear and are no issue with my glasses.
upload_2019-5-5_14-16-47.png


Fit and Comfort...
For me the MT3 have a really good fit. Easy to get the right fit and seal. No fiddling. Very comfy and slightly above average isolation. I feel the shape is well done and a good part of the design. Housings are lightly on the large size so not the most flush fitting but they fill the ear well and lock in better than smaller housings may. I feel they are very well done here and a great fit makes them easier to get along with and more likable.

upload_2019-5-5_14-18-20.png


Sound Signature and Quality...
The Meeture comes with two styles of silicone tips to adjust the signature some. You can choose to go slightly more bass heavy or balanced depending on tip. I chose the less bassy of the two options as my preferred choice. I prefer the balance tips that I hear as a slightly down sloped "W" signature. The bass tips do push it more towards a bass focused and heavy sound that starts to "V" some.lance. Mids still have a good emphasis and treble is a good amount to satisfy most tastes but the bass is the foundation or focus. The balance tips are softer, wider bore while the bass tips are firmer and have a smaller bore diameter. They work pretty well to push the earphone towards the intended target signatures.

The sound is quite well done. The MT3 basically has an analog type sound. A bit vinyl like with a smooth and forgiving nature. That vinyl like tone is a bit warm, darker, and thicker making it a good entry level tuning choice. The analog nature is a smooth and engaging blanket to the sound that isn't over done esp. with the balance tips.

For the $70 you pay, the technical ability is solid. A very coherent single driver. Not all single drivers have to be coherent especially under $75. Many have mid-bass issues that will miss the mark for true low to high coherence. The analog tone does not mask detail much and there is a solid amount. The housing I think keeps things a bit larger with some space in between elements giving things room to breathe and help stave off congestion. The clarity is solid all through. The warm and slightly dark tone is smooth and enjoyable combined with enough technical ability is also still satisfying. Bass is nicely tight even out of the box with nothing out of balance. Sub, mid, and higher bass notes all in a nice and balanced amount. Tight, clean, and balanced bass leads to handling most genres well and being engaging and very satisfying bass. Vocals carry on those same traits. Good separation and air regarding vocals with the balance tips. The emotion is good and the slightly dark tone is good for male vocals yet not too much to dull female vocals. The tight bass stays out of the mids and the air lets them breathe fine even if adding some richness and weight which makes for a natural midrange sound that is impressive for a sub-$100 earphone. The treble is slightly polite but correct sounding. Natural and again airy and light but not actually bright. No peaks at all but still keeps the same good detail as in the bass and midrange. Not the drop off that many budget earphones filter out or start to choke off of the high end.

Stage size is above average and has a bit more width than height or depth but the height and depth are still good. Just the width is where it excels a bit more. The separation and air give things room and make things more easy to hear and pick out. Imaging is slightly more colored than accurate but it is engaging and they are not trying to be a monitor anyway. A good compromise of natural and realistic with a bit of it's own flavor.

Conclusion...
Most aspects of the MT3 either satisfied or even quite impressed me. Overall a very good set that sounds good with all the devices I tried it with, is easy to fit and comfortable, is fun and makes you want to listen to them, and have an impressive tuning and solid technical ability for the price. A satisfying listen. Just a few things like the case, R/L indicators, and stage placement accuracy could be better but those are smaller qualms especially for the price. The Meeture MT3 are a set that I can really recommend!
Pros: Design and build quality
Cable
Bass
Vocals
Clarity
Different tips for tuning
Cons: Non-ordinary sound signature (may be strange for some)
Instrument separation could be better
Where to buy: https://amzn.to/2Tkt6uv
This review of mine appeared on SimplyAudiophile. I did some changes because of my longer period of testing.



Specifications:

  • Impedance: 18Ω
  • Headphone Sensitivity: 101dB
  • Frequency Response Range: 15Hz-40kHz
  • Power Rating: 10mW
  • Distortion Degree: <1% 101 dB
  • Channel Balance: <1.5 dB (at 1000Hz)
  • Vocalism Principle: 10mm High Magnetic Circuit Coil Dynamic Driver
  • Plug Type: 3.5mm Straight Plug



Unboxing and first impressions

Inside a classy white box with the Meeture branding, we find the earbuds, the cable, a carrying pouch, some papers and a good selection of tips. I love the way they put the tips on two different small cardboards, that explain in both English and Chinese the way the sound is changed by that particular one. The wide-bore ones must carry a balanced and brighter sound, while the small-bore ones are for bass enhancement. I’m not a guy that really believes in tips-tuning, but I must say the difference is pretty hearable. I’ll tell later why and how.



The IEMs themselves are made out of plastic, with – I believe – a metal-coated plate on the front, with the Meeture branding on. It feels like plastic, but it’s cold like metal when you touch it. Anyway, the materials are good and the build quality too. I love the design and the transparent shell. If you know the quality of KZ – that’s really bad, especially for ES4 – you will be amazed with this pair of MT3 and the plastic that’s been used; it’s another price range, but you feel like you have what you pay for. The cable is a 2-pin .78 mm: I liked the pre-formed hooks, the plastic reinforcements, the braided black wires, the jack. Everything concerning the build and the feel of these IEMs is great. And the comfort, too.







Sound
My sources: FiiO M7 and Dodocool DA106 as DAPs, Focusrite 2i2 as USB interface with a 2012 MacBook Pro, Audirect Whistle as DAC/Amp with a Xiaomi Mi MIX 2. My files: from DSD (Pink Floyd) to 24/16 bit FLACs (Queen, Sinatra, Jacob Collier, John Coltrane, …) to 320 kbps MP3 (Jamie Cullum, Coldplay, …) to 16 bit >10k kbps M4A (Sia).



First, I tried the “balanced” tips (the ones with the open bores). With them, I found the sound amazing, and that’s a good summary of my experience. Joking, I explain better: I used the smallest tips available, and I liked the sound in all its frequencies. I think that these, as monitors, are made for singers. Vocals are the main part of all the experience you get. Male and female ones are so well reproduced, with a warm signature and an emotional vibe. However, instruments are somehow recessed, I believe to let the voice emerge. This was the same experience I got with the Unique Melody Mason V3 at my first try (those had more detail, but less bass than these ones). I appreciated the overall signature of the MT3 in this configuration. Then I switched to the “bass enhancing” tips and my experience was really different. Those have a smaller bore; I don’t know how they are supposed to enhance the bass, but I suppose it’s a matter of pressure. Anyway, the sound signature with the bass tips become really V-shaped, and even though the listening comfort is superior, I don’t like that tuning as much as the first one. The balanced tips provided a more analytical sound, that I'm more a fan of. The bass ones are fun to listen to, easier for a long period of listening, but don’t really provide my favourite tuning. The company has been so honest with the description of the sound changing that I’m really impressed. Okay, but I’ve just said I didn’t like that much the second tuning option. Why? Because mids are recessed and some voices, when there’s a lot of instruments playing, become a little bit less hearable. The bass is really present in the mid-bass area, giving an overall warm sound that’s always present. The voice reproduction is moving, but what you feel in the end is a sound that’s not so close to you. The stage, in fact, is average and so is the imaging. That’s because of some recessed highs (7-8 kHz), I believe.



To summarise:

Wide bore tips:
  • Bass is good and smooth, well-extended in the sub area, but most present in the mids;
  • Mids are somehow enhanced, in fact you feel voices over the instruments, which have a good separation;
  • Treble is absolutely not bright, nor detailed. It’s relaxed – to say it in a good way. But its tuning could be way better. However, I prefer this one to the TinAudio T2 Pro’s one, that’s harsh and hurting.
Small bore tips:
  • Bass is pretty the same as before, but relating to the mids they now feel fuller;
  • Mids are recessed, or maybe they feel recessed because of the more present bass;
  • Highs are the same as before, but I consider the same change in how you hear them as the bass: because the mids are recessed, they seem better than before.
If I had to summarise this part, I would say: Wide bore tips are ∧, while small bore tips are ∨. At least, they feel like that.



Other important things to say about the sound: the MT3 need some juice, so I recommend using some kind of Amp. With the DA106 as a DAP, with low volumes you hear a lot of hiss and background noise. It’s enough to use a DAP with a better amplification, if you ask. M7 is just fine.

The overall sound signature, as my final word for the sound, is unusual, in a good way. I don’t find it bad at all, because I enjoyed listening to the MT3. It’s just strange. I found myself enjoying these earphones a lot, mostly for vocal-centered songs or works; they are perfect to monitor voices on live stages. I suggest going with the wide bore tips, which provide the best sound - at least for my ears. If you are more into rap or hip hop, you may enjoy the other, bassy, tips which provide a sound that's also less fatiguing.



Comparisons

Meze 12 Classics (80$): different products, same price. I’d choose the Simgot because they are more comfortable in my ears, the sound is less dark, and they have a removable cable. But Meze gives a pair of Comply foam tips, has a classier looking product with metal and wood, and the carrying case is hard and not soft. Both are really good products, while both aren’t reference-sounding: you need to enjoy a V-shaped signature, when darker, when brighter.

BGVP DMG (140$): this is a higher level pair of earphones (with tuning customizations, a lot of eartips, a metal build…). I prefer the DMG over the MT3, because of the detail and the overall sound signature that’s more “traditional”, warm but on a reference side. But they don’t come with a case, for double the price. And I would say that the fit is comparable on the comfort side. Vocals are better on the MT3, but everything else – for my taste – is superior on the DMG. If you are a vocal performer, you may really choose the MT3 over the BGVP IEM – I also am a vocal performer, so I can speak for this need of mine. But the instrument separation is not on the highest side, so I don’t recommend the MT3 for every kind of musician like I do for the DMGs.





Conclusions
Being the entry-level model of a brand is not easy. Simgot produces good higher level (and price) IEMs, so you may have high expectations for the cheaper ones. The MT3 are an interesting choice for the sub-80$ price range, but you have to appreciate a non-ordinary sound signature. You absolutely get used to it. The tips and the source affect a lot the final sound that you hear, which is a good thing if you search for your particular preference of tuning, but it’s less good if you want – for example – a solid sound in every situation. I recommend these for vocal monitoring. I own a lot of different earphones, and I will keep using these for comparisons and monitoring. Overall, it’s a good set, with an elegant presentation, sturdy design and build quality and a great attention to details.

  • Like
Reactions: hqssui
Pros: Engaging and exciting sound signature, massive bass presence, good eartips, removable cables, solid construction, interesting aesthetics, great Y-splitter and 3.5mm jack housings
Cons: Top portion of cable needs to be wound tighter, more treble extension

Simgot MT3 Review: Cheap, Simple, and Effective
Simgot is a long-time favorite brand of mine. The EN700 was a solid IEM, especially for their first-ever product, and the EN700-Bass was such a big improvement to its older sibling that I gave it full marks. The MT3 is a more mainstream approach to building IEMs from Simgot. It features colorful variants and an engaging sound signature. But does it maintain the pedigree set forth by its predecessors?

You can buy the MT3 for $86 at Amazon, here.

About My Preferences: Heads up, I’m a person! As such, these words are my opinion, and they are tinged by my personal preferences. While I try to mitigate this as much as possible during my review process, I’d be lying if I said my biases are completely erased. So for you, my readers, keep this in mind:

  • My ideal sound signature would be an extended sub-bass with a leveled, but textured, mid-bass.
  • I have a mild treble sensitivity.
Source: The MT3 was powered like so:

LG V40-> earphones

or

Hidizs AP100 3.5mm out -> FiiO A5 3.5mm out -> earphones

or

HiFiMAN SuperMini -> earphones

or

PC optical out -> HiFiMe SPDIF 9018 Sabre DAC 3.5mm out -> earphones

All music was served as MP3 @320Kbps or as FLAC.

Tech Specs
  • Driver: 10mm dynamic driver
  • Cable Standard: 2-pin 0.78mm
  • Plug: 3.5mm
  • Cable Type: Copper, braided
Sound Signature
Sonic Overview:
The MT3 is a very V-shaped IEM. It is a near-polar opposite of the EN700 in this respect. It has pretty good extension into the lower register and doesn’t have an overly-colored midrange, though it is recessed. The MT3’s midbass is placed just ahead of the treble.

Sonic Breakdown:
Treble: Songs used: In One Ear, Midnight City, Outlands, Satisfy, Little One, Show Me How To Live (Live at the Quart Festival)

I find that the MT3’s treble expression is highly dependent on the mastering of the track that is being played through it. For example, traditional consumer mastering (low dynamic range, V-shaped transducer target)recedes the treble behind the mid-bass by just a bit, but more neutral tuning leaves them about equal in relative emphasis. While this effect is obviously present on all IEMs, it is easier to notice with the MT3. I suppose that’s how closely the treble and midbass were tuned.

As far as treble extension goes, the MT3 does a more-than-reasonable job. While it doesn’t perfectly penetrate the upper-trebles farthest reaches, it does perform well within the scope of a V-shaped sound signature.

The MT3 is immune to sibilant tuning. It does not falter when portraying poorly mastered, and significantly sibilant, songs such as Satisfy.

Midrange: Songs used: Flagpole Sitta, Jacked Up, I Am The Highway, Dreams, Too Close, Little Black Submarines

The MT3’s midrange is suited towards staging a wide variety of genres well. Pop and rock seem to get along particularly well with the MT3, as does electronic music. The recession of the midrange does affect some expression of fine detail and resonation, but that doesn’t preclude the MT3 from resolving some respectably complex tones and textures. I really enjoyed the tone of the electric guitars in Flagpole Sitta and Little Black Submarines. Their nearly tangible crunch captured a great deal of their detail and staged really well in the overall presentation of the midrange.

Bass: Songs used: Moth, Gold Dust, In For The Kill (Skream Remix), War Pigs (Celldweller Remix)

The MT3 is bass-heavy. Pretty bass-heavy. It is a true V-shaped IEM that goes ham on the lower register. It has a very large amount of mid-bass, with good extension down into the sub-bass. It falters a bit near 50Hz, but that doesn’t stop it from generating an enjoyable degree of rumble. Moth was a pleasure to listen to, though the bass-guitar was a little too loose for my liking. In For The Kill’s bass-line was nearly fully-resolved by the MT3 for the song’s entirety, which is nice, and the drops of War Pigs and Gold Dust were simply filthy.

Packaging / Unboxing

Build
Construction Quality
The MT3 is built mainly out of transparent plastic. The exceptions are a small portion of the faceplate and the nozzles, both of which are a soft-matte metal. Due to their plastic construction, the MT3 is light. Amusingly, it is quite easy to see the entire inner-construction of the MT3. Much of the internals appear to be assembled very carefully. There is no visible evidence of sloppiness anywhere on my unit.

The nozzles of the MT3 are, as previously mentioned, metal. They have a pretty average diameter, so its likely that you will have some spare tips that will be compatible with it.

At the edge of the nozzle, nearly flush with it, lies a metal mesh debris filter. It gets the job done and appears to be neatly and firmly fixed in place.

On the top of the MT3, you can find its 2-pin connectors. They are raised above the shell, making them incompatible with some 3rd-party cables. That said, this is not an uncommon practice. There are plenty of cables compatible with other IEMs that will still work with this one.



Speaking of cables, the MT3 comes with a good one. Its actual wiring is “OFC X4” as so proudly displayed on the frosted plastic Y-splitter. The copper is split into four cores, coated in smooth black plastic, and braided into a chain geometry. It looks pretty good, though the part of the cable above the Y-splitter could be wound tighter. There is ample stress-relief along the entirety of the cable. The Y-splitter and 3.5mm jack housing are each built out of a silver cylinder encased in a soft-touch, semi-matte, frosted-white plastic. It's an interesting visual effect that I haven’t seen done before. The 2-pin connectors are preceded by plastic memory-wire earguides. They too get the job done and are cleanly implanted within the 2-pin housing. The 2-pin housings themselves are simply plastic capped-off with a silver metal ring. The whole thing is a classy affair that pairs exceptionally well with the clear version of the MT3.

Comfort
To my ear’s unique anatomy, the MT3 was quite comfortable. Its low weight combined with its responsible physical profile let it sit easily in my ears, producing no discomfort internally or externally.

Accessories
Inside the box you will find:

  • 6x pairs of silicone eartips
  • 1x mesh carrying bag
The extra variety of silicone eartips is a nice inclusion. While the text on the eartip trays doesn’t really make too much sense for “Eartip II”, you can get the gist. The mesh carrying bag appears to be nearly identical to the one that ships with the RHA MA750 Wireless, an interesting coincidence. But while I have no issue with the MA750 Wireless sitting within the bag from a protection perspective, I fear that the MT3’s bag will do little to protect its plastic build from being exposed to crushing forces. So I’d recommend that you pick up an aftermarket case for your MT3 to protect it. Ideally, we’d see this IEM come with a hard or semi-hard case, much like the ones that are included with the Brainwavz B-series or Rose Audio IEMs.

Comparisons
1: Periodic Audio Mg ($100)

The Periodic Audio lineup remains as dynamic-driver benchmarking favorites. The Mg’s more natural V-shaped sound signature is very useful when evaluating value and sound quality. However, in spite of their shared driver families, the MT3 and Mg are pretty different in terms of sonic expression. The MT3 has a much more V-shaped sound signature, while the Mg leans further into expressing its treble and midrange. The MT3 is warmer than the Mg and has a larger bass presence. The MT3 has a softer decay than the Mg.

2: Brainwavz B200 ($90)

The B200 is a vastly different IEM from the MT3. Everything from its build to its sound signature to its removable-cable standard, they truly are two distinct beasts. The B200’s sound signature is more treble-forward and mids-friendly. It puts details before impact. The MT3 has very natural and life-like decays, while the B200’s balanced-armature drivers are quicker and more precise.

Summary
The MT3 feels like an IEM built to impress the mainstream. Its V-shaped sound signature, massive bass presence, and colorful build options poise it to be very “normie” friendly. That, however, does not mean that it has no place in the home of the audio-enthusiast. I really enjoyed listening to the MT3 for my electronic music. Its massive bass presence brings out the best in 2010-era dubstep. So if you are just a regular listener, looking for a big upgrade, or an enthusiast who its treble-sensitive and bass-friendly, the MT3 may be worth your money.

As always, happy listening!
  • Like
Reactions: hqssui
Pros: Tuning, presence, non-fatiguing treble, soundstage, comfort, cable quality
Cons: Bass definition and instrument separation just okay for price, possible QC issues
Introduction/Disclaimer:
DSC09870.JPG

The Meeture MT3 is an IEM with a single 10mm dynamic driver that normally retails for $75.99. Meeture is a sub-brand of Simgot. The IEM was provided by Simgot for the purpose of promotion. My thoughts about the MT3 are my own and I strive to be objective in my reviews.
This review can also be read on my blog here.

Sources:

DSC09872.jpg
I have used the Meeture MT3 with the following sources:

Xiaomi Redmi Note 4 Global > Meeture MT3

Windows 10 PC > JDS Labs The Element > Meeture MT3

Windows 10 PC > Hidizs AP60II > Meeture MT3 (using both Bluetooth and USB DAC functionality)

I have tested these IEMs with Spotify Premium high-quality streaming, Google Play Music streaming at 320kbps, and local FLAC.

Packaging and accessories:
DSC09887.JPG
The Meeture MT3 comes in a square white paper box with the manufacturer’s logo in black on the front. The package includes the IEMs, a branded black fabric mesh carry bag, a black braided cable, and the eartip selection. For the price I would have liked to have seen a soft neoprene zippered carry case. The Meeture MT3 comes with two sets of silicone eartips, one labelled as being mid-focused and the other labelled as bass-enhanced silicone. Each set includes small, medium, and large eartips.

Build quality and design:
DSC09894.jpg

The MT3’s housings are plastic with metal nozzles. The nozzles are covered by metal mesh and have a sizable lip to prevent eartips from coming off. The housing plastic is mostly clear to reveal the IEMs’ internal components. The 2-pin cable port protrudes from the housing but is covered by the cable connector. The cable is flexible and non-microphonic, and uses clear plastic shrink wrap for ear-guides. There is a choker above the Y-split for cinching up the cable. The cable uses a straight 3.5mm jack. There is no mic. Each housing has two vents for the dynamic drivers, one on the forward-facing surface and one on the ear-facing surface. I did sometimes experience mild driver flex when inserting the earpieces but it is easily ignored, unlike with some IEMs.

Quality control:

On my first pair of MT3s, measurements revealed a sizable channel imbalance in the bass region. I requested a replacement pair which did not exhibit this issue.

Fit, comfort, and isolation:
DSC09914.JPG
The MT3 is designed to only be worn cable-up. The housings have no sharp edges and are relatively small, making the MT3 very comfortable. The included eartips produce a good seal.
Isolation is good but not stellar.

Sound:
DSC09924.jpg
The MT3 has a V-shaped sound signature with a lifted upper midrange.
The MT3 has a lively bass response with good sub-bass extension. Bass is textured, and there is a good amount of slam with fast decay. Bass definition could be better.
Lower mids are slightly recessed compared to the bass but male vocals are clear despite some bass bleed. There is a rise in the upper midrange that adds presence and makes female vocals sound livelier.
The lower treble is rolled off, but there is a peak just past 10k that keeps gives the MT3 sparkle without being sibilant or fatiguing.
Overall detail and resolution are good for the price point but the MT3 is understandably outperformed by more expensive options. Soundstage width and depth are above average. Instrument separation is average for this price point.

Measurements:
MT3.jpg
My measurements were conducted with a Dayton iMM-6 microphone using a vinyl tubing coupler and a calibrated USB sound interface at a resonance point between 7.5 and 8k. The measurements are presented with 1/24th smoothing and without compensation. Measurements above 10k are not reliable.

Amplification requirements and source pairing:
DSC09935.JPG
At an impedance of 18 ohms and a sensitivity of 101dB, the MT3 can be adequately driven by a smartphone. I do not feel that they benefit noticeably from having more power on tap. I did not notice any hiss with the MT3 using a smartphone.

Conclusion:

The Meeture MT3 is an IEM which comfortably justifies its asking price. The biggest strength of the MT3 is its deliberate tuning. The MT3’s upper midrange lift pushes the limits of presence without being overly aggressive or harsh, and the rolled-off lower treble combined with the upper treble peak delivers detail without being fatiguing. However, instrument separation and bass definition are merely adequate for the price point, preventing the MT3 from representing a truly killer value. Still recommended, especially at its current sale price.
  • Like
Reactions: hqssui
Top