1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

Master & Dynamic MW60 Wireless Headphones

Rating:
4.25/5,
  1. NymPHONOmaniac
    The Most beautifull bluetooth headphones EVER
    Written by NymPHONOmaniac
    Published May 1, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Excellent Battery life, Excellent long distance Bluetooth connectivity, Excellent Construction, Excellent sound when using with a cable, Generous Accessories
    Cons - Bluetooth active sound is seriously inferior to passive cabled sound, Volume cannot go very loud, little pricey, earcups little too small, heavy
    MASTER & DYNAMIC MW60 REVIEW :
    P1011162.JPG

    SOUND: 7.5/10
    CONSTRUCTION: 9/10
    DESIGN: 9/10
    ACCESSORIES: 9/10
    VALUE: 7.5/10





    INTRO :

    MASTER&DYNAMIC is an american audio company from New-York that produce top notch looking portable headphones since 2014. Design concept of their beautifull and sturdy headphones have a special vintage and industrial appeal to them, wich can be explained by the fact they get inspire by old WWII aviator headphones find in a war museum. This was the begining of a succes story rarely seen in headphones world with the exception of Beats headphones, but unlike Beats, the M&D headphones will most probably stand test of time, partly due to their invincible construction and more balanced near-audiophile sound quality.

    The excellent MH40 are the very cause of this mass succes, as it receive great feedback as much from audiophile than audio enthusiast. As well, at 250$, its fairly priced for such quality portable headphones. I was curious to try them more than few moment in audio store so I contact M&D and finally get the opportunity to review their newer MW60, wich is an over-ear Bluetooth portable headphone.

    P1011157.JPG

    The MASTER&DYNAMIC MW60 is nearly indentical to the MH40 in term of physical look, both are closed back even if we could have think the grill of MH40 make it open. Both use a big 45mm neodymium drivers as well. Big difference is about Bluetooth fonctionality, wich are wisely integrated to headphones design where we can find metal buttons and switch under the cups. Its so well hided that if you look the side of headphones you do not see any of this extra construction parts.

    Priced at 450$, the MW60 are luxurious BT headphones, and they feel and sound like one. This isn’t you normal Bluetooth headphones and the type of sound it deliver is more the one we will expect from an open headphone due to a very deep and around your head soundstage. With a battery life stated at up to 16 hours, the MW60 are sure to give you long hours of wire free listening pleasure, and if you do not have time to recharge it once the battery is drown, you can still plug it and use them as normal headphones.

    Let’s see in this review if the MW60 merit as much praise for its sound and bluetooth features than for its irreprochable construction.

    DISCLAIMER: This is a review sample loan, and there no money or affiliation with Master& Dynamic company. As a fully independant reviewer, as always, I will stay objective in my subjectivity and try my best to judge the price value of this audio product even if I do not pay nothing. I wanna thank Master&Dynamic to give me the opportunity to test this headphones a full month.

    P1011618.JPG

    Master & Dynamic MW60 Specs

    Headphone

    Driver Size: 1.77" / 45 mm
    Magnet Type: Neodymium
    Design: Over-Ear (Circumaural)


    General

    Impedance: 32 Ohms


    Microphone

    Pickup Pattern: Omni-Directional


    Wireless Connectivity

    Supported Audio Codecs: aptX
    Bluetooth Version:4.1
    NFC: None


    Wired Connectivity

    Audio Connector: 1/8" / 3.5 mm
    Cable Length: 4.1' / 1.3 m
    Headphone Charging Port: Micro-USB


    Physical

    Material of Construction: Aluminum, Foam, Leather, Steel
    Dimensions (W x H x D): 7.8 x 7.4 x 2.0" / 20.0 x 19.0 x 5.0 cm
    Weight: 12.2 oz / 345 g


    Packaging Info

    Package Weight: 2.95 lb
    Box Dimensions (LxWxH): 9.8 x 8.1 x 3.9"



    ACCESSORIES, CONSTRUCTION & DESIGN :

    P1011596.JPG P1011597.JPG P1011598.JPG P1011599.JPG P1011600.JPG


    UNBOXING
    experience at this price should be something special and Master&Dynamic know it.

    The boxing presentation is very elegant, near ceremonious ,as it come in a big black box we gently open like we open the door of a luxurious manor. Everything is presented in a minimalist way with a mature taste for pratical details, like a round leather case for the cable that it include. Accessories are generous, we have this cable case but an Headphones case too that is very portable. As well, we have a nice quality 3.5mm to 3.5mm cable and a charging cable. The user manual is surprinsingly fancy as well, it come in multi langage that include german, french, spanish and even korean. You cannot be indifferent at level of details the presentation of MW60 is done, and for once, you feel respected as a buyer that invest serious money in a high quality audio product.

    P1011603.JPG P1011606.JPG P1011616.JPG P1011626.JPG

    CONSTRUCTION follow this perfectionnist approach. The model I choose to test is the ‘’Scott Campbell Studio’’ edition, wich have a white snake design printed on whole black leathered headphones. This is a really beautifull piece of art and craftmanship all made of quality compenents and using lot of metal part and real leather. Inner headband is soft leather, outside headbands and cup is grainy false leather, cushion pads is real lambskin leather. You will not find any imperfection in the way its construct even it it involve lot of pieces and work. The headband mecanism work smoothly, not squeek noise of anykind. Earcups are easily changeable due a a magnetic holding, this is nice but sometime I find it too easy to pull off, for example, when you take your headphone by the ear cushion in a rush you can be surprise to finish just with the earcushion in you hand. No big deal, and again, when you see the construction of whats behind the earcushion your surprise by high level of quality, even the round metal grill is beautifull to look at. With the Campbell edition, you have a special sentence on it as well as inside the earcushion cloth wich is : ‘’The smartest things I ever did were stupid things for love’’ From my life experience, its more the opposite of this assumption that I believe in, but still, its a funny naive sentence to read when your head is fullfill by heavy dark toughs. Very ‘’hypsterish’’ urban thinking if you ask me.

    P1011601.JPG P1011612.JPG

    DESIGN is heavy duty and elegant at the same time, it have a classy urban look that would fit any modern day ear, should i be in past or futur 50’s. Unlike the Beat or other sporty fashion headphones with flashy color, Master&dynamic choose a sober base that can became expressive with the model you choose, like the Campbell edition I have wich is a eye catcher but not a flashy or immature one.


    COMFORT is excellent even if yes, at near a pound the MW60 are quite heavy for its size. Thanks to soft head pression and turning cups, you never feel any type of pain at sideof your head after long listen. The ear cups are big enough for most type of ears, but just 1 cm more tall and it my enormous ears will fit more spaciously.

    P1011611.JPG

    INTERFACE of the Bluetooth fonction is well implemented at each side of the ears cups, I find it intuitive and easy to use on the go. There 2 metal bottons for volume control that work to change track too, you either press fast for volume or hold the right or left bottom to change tracks, in the middle there a pause-play botton. I was impress to see that this control work with anything I try, should it be my laptop, Xduoo X20 or Phone, this mae the MW60 very versatile for sound source. To connect bluetooth, you just push the swith to the right until you see a white light, you will hear a strange ''woosh'' noise until connection is made. It do not connect automatically, so you need to use your phone or DAP to select it.

    As well, it have an omnidirectional mic of great quality that offer a very clear sound for phone call.


    ISOLATION is average for a closed back, its passive and you will hear the kids playing in the garden as I could conclude walking near kid school. Sound leakage is the same, average, so I will not wear the MW60 in public library but will not be ashame to wear it on the street or in subway.

    P1011625.JPG

    BLUETOOTH SIGNAL is extremely impressive with a way above average connectivity distance. In fact, i do not have test any Bluetooth device that can be so far from Bluetooth source and still get clean signal, its so powerfull it literaly pass thrue every wall of my appartment so I can be on my front balcony when my phone or DAP was in back balcony, between those two their even bricks wall, and we talk of 20 meters distance of separation here. In-Cre-di-BLE!! And a BIG BIG Plus to take account off. I mean, it should be in Guiness Record book I think.


    BATTERY life hold me up to 10 hours listening music at max volume. For people that listen less loud, i’m pretty sure the 16H statement is accurate, wich is another time very very impressive.

    P1011615.JPG

    PORTABILITY is great too, as this headphones is foldable and do not take lot of space.


    SOUND :

    First sound impressions was made with bluetooth connection to my LG G6 phone and wasn’t a sudden wow effect, especially due to the fact that i’m use to listen music quite loud and max volume was just enough to satisfy me. But then, I connect it with cable on my Xduoo X20 and indeed, WOW effect it was, especially compared to very first Bluetooth impression that have a slight bass and treble roll off, making the sound less dynamic and impactfull than using MW60 with cable.
    So here I will have to do 2 reviews, but the longer one will be cabled way.



    BLUETOOTH SOUND IMPRESSIONS :

    P1011624.JPG

    SOUNDSTAGE is quite airy and wide for a closed headphones, wich is very impressive by its own, but as well imaging have a great spaciality and realist way to present itself.

    LOWER END is where bass roll off tend to happen, as well, it have a dry way of presenting its presence, wich do not help for discerning properly bass line tone. This is problematic as much for bass heavy tracks than for classical that use cello, wich will sound off-tune due to a lack of body and low extension. In the positive side, it tend to help overall clarity, balance and imaging of whole sound.

    MID BASS is emphased, but still on the smooth warm side, it isn’t bright or particularly thick, but have enough punch, a dark punch I will say. Impact is softly rounded and timbre too is on the soft side, wich do not make kick drum sounding super energic, it isn’t slow as attack in whole frequencies range have good grip and resolution, but it have an organic and ligth presentation. For rock it will lack fowardness, but for jazz or pop it will sound okay.

    MID RANGE is a little recessed because mid bass warm it in lower mid. Vocal are still clear and gently detailed, they are well centered and intimate. In complex instrument heavy music, the signer will feel more distant than other instruments without being overshadowed. Mid range is well cover tough, and due to great imaging instrumental music can sound quite appealing, saxophone having realist timbre and transparent fowards presence. This is the talent of MW60, a rather lush transparent timbre, that help instrument attack and grip, offering a lively laidback and airy presentation of whole music.

    TREBLE is roll off in upper end, wich make overall sound organic and gentle, perfect for long listening session or treble sensitive people. Sure, the higs lack sparkle and decay, as we can conclude listening to classical guitar or harpsichord, wich sound soft in attack as well.



    CABLED SOUND IMPRESSIONS :

    P1011622.JPG

    Now, this is something else because the sound OPEN and gain in OXYGENE, wich is whats needed for making them BREATH properly.

    SOUNDSTAGE became even more airy, vast and quite deep, with an holographic around your head feel. Spaciality is impressive and sound very lively, way more dynamic than Bluetooth version, as if now the MW60 are rightly amped and pround to show what he’s really able to deliver.

    LOWER END extend well, but isn’t overly emphased, it have good thickness but will not make lot of rumble, this isn’t basshead headphones even if it have a V shape soundsignature. Definition of sub bass note is well feel, as we can heard in ‘’Canadian Hillbillies’’ track from Georgia Anne Muldrow, the bass line digging very low, MW60 render it with great body and weight, and let the kick drum take its place without warming it too much. Thanks to the big 45mm dynamic driver, MW60 can handle any level of bass without distortion and going out of control.

    MID BASS have good attack and enough weight to make an energic impression, but have a fast drop to let the mid range breath better. Kick isn’t particularly weighty, and perhaps is slightly veiled by lower end. Its warm and soft timbre tend to stole some grip and definition, but nonetheless it proove to have enough speed to feel lively. MW60 isn’t a particularly punchy headphones, and can even be considered a little dark by some that prefer bright textured timbre, still, it have an appealing natural and easy going presentation fo whole bass that help for a more balanced near neutral sound approach.

    MID RANGE is now well covered and very clear, even if gentle and light in timbre, it have extra mid range push that make it quite well detailed, especially in lower region where wind instrument and female vocal gain in definition and presence. In song like ‘’Blue Alert’’ from Madeleine Peroux, instrument separation is warm and accurate, giving a whole velvety musicality to it, Madeleine voice is well centered in middle of drum, guitar and acoustic bass that sound very energic and natural, her voice without being very thick, is free of any sibilance and have great clarity.

    TREBLE is soft, natural and thick, it tend to round corner of any possible sharpness in sound without sacrifiing too much details. It lack a little snap and sparkle in the highs to my taste, but have an impressive lower and mid treble that compensate the lack of decay. Until 15khz, we have plenty of details and richness in treble, we even have good brillianc in percussions, but MW60 sure isn’t an analytical sounding headphones, more a lush and delicate one. I feel there some colouring to help mico details being perceived, wich give extra sharpness to some highs and permit a excellent imaging of whole musicality.



    LOWER END : 7.5/10


    MID BASS : 7.5/10


    MID RANGE : 8.5/10


    TREBLE : 8/10


    TIMBRE : 7.5/10


    ATTACK : 8/10


    SOUNDSTAGE : 9/10




    CABLED COMPARAISONS :

    VS MEZE 99 NEO (250$) :
    P1011619.JPG


    These headphones have both a great look and construction, but the MW60 is in another league in term of high quality compenent and sturdiness. It’s way heavier than the Meze due to this too, as well as less comfortable. Meze have bigger plastic cups and you do not feel any pression on your head, we cannot say that for the MW60, that even if very comfortable will not be the best for a whole working day 8H shift.

    MEZE are way more bassy, especially in mid bass region where the impact is near basshead. Lower bass tend to be more rumbly and less controled than the MW60, wich is the main drawback of the 99 NEO. Still, it sound more full bodied than the thinner sub bass of MW60.

    MID RANGE sound brighter but as much recessed than MW60, clarity is on par with thicker timbre and more emphased upper mids, as well we have more space between instrument. Still, the bass bleed of Meze is more important than MW60 and tend to veil mid range in bass heavy track. Attack is more snappy and timbre sound richer with Meze.

    TREBLE is a little more coloured with the MEZE, so we have more mid range details and better instrument separation with the MW60 and highs sound more natural. With the MEZE, percussion can sound to fowards and unbalanced, while the MW60 sound more natural. The MW60 have less attack-decay as well as sparkle, but I find treble presentation superior to the MEZE in term of fluidity and balance.



    VS HIFIMAN HE-300 (300$) :

    P1011620.JPG

    Both have sturdy construction, but the MW60 have high quality compenents and great craftmanship while the HE-300 have big cheap plastic earcups and a rough industrial feel. MW60 is way more comfortable even if the earcups are a little too small for my ears. Both are very heavy headphones.

    SOUNDSTAGE of HE-300 is a little more airier and out of your head due to an open back design.

    BASS is more extended in lower end but dryier too, MW60 have more mid bass punch and sound more energic and bassy while the HE-300 have better separation but sound lifeless.

    MID RANGE is thicker and more fowards with the MW60, instrument separation is better with HE-300 but can sound too grainy and bright and even create sibilance, where the MW60 sound more natural and intimate.

    TREBLE is more extended and emphased with the HE-300, its a very detailed headphones with sharp highs compared to smoother MW60. MW60 sound warm and natural, while the HE-300 sound bright and airy.



    CONCLUSION :

    P1011363.JPG

    Reviewing the Master&Dynamic MW60 was a polarizing experience, as if I have to review 2 different headphones, or more likely, two version of the same where the cabled version would be the improved one.

    Its not to say that the Bluetooth transmission sound bad, but more likely that the self-powered MW60 do not have enough juice to exploit fully the potential of its excellent 45mm dynamic driver. You can find on the net lot of review saying the MW60 do not have any bass or do not sound enough dynamic, this is true only when used Bluetooth mode, but if you EQ it you can compensate this lack of bass and treble.

    When it come to cabled version, this is where you understand it’s an High End Headphones, the sound is lush, bass is extended and punchy, vocal are clear and never sibilant, treble is natural, warm and revealing : yes, these are very capable Headphones that can deliver a very appealing musicality in a spacious soundstage.

    Sure, at 450$ they aren’t cheap, but the generous amount of accessories as well as top-notch construction reflect its price range and I think that if you plan to listen the MW60 WITH and without cable, this would be a good investment. If you plan to use these only as bluetooth headphones, I think there cheaper alternative that will offer better sound quality but perhaps not as good connectivity and certainly not as good construction.

    All in all, if money isn’t a problem for you and you search to buy the best looking Bluetooth headphones that have long battery life, impressive connectivity distance and excellent sound in passive mode, the Master&Dynamic MW60 should be on your list.


    For more reviews and audio news, please give a look to my BLOG

    images

    1. P1011608.JPG
    2. P1011609.JPG
    3. P1011629.JPG
      trellus and Zelda like this.
  2. Dobrescu George
    Lush Design - Master And Dynamic MW60 Headphones
    Written by Dobrescu George
    Published Apr 17, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - + Excellent comfort and build quality
    + One of the best looking headphones out there
    + Great battery life
    + Good overall comfort
    + Does not get too hot during warm weather for a closed back headphone
    Cons - - A bit heavy
    - Scales up, which means that you can get a bit more resolution from good sources
    - Not the most revealing headphone out there
    - Price/Performance ratio is a bit average because they have such a luxurious build quality and aesthetic
    Lush Design - Master And Dynamic MW60 Headphones

    [​IMG]

    Master And Dynamic MW60, or MW60 is a Bluetooth-enabled headphone that also offers wired connection, a beautiful aesthetic, interesting comfort, and which has been said to perform quite well. With the interesting aesthetics and the seemingly build quality, they need to also provide an interesting sound to stand their ground, at the price of 450 USD.




    Introduction

    Master&Dynamic is a rather large company from USA, at least judging from the way they design their aesthetics and marketing photos. Indeed, their headphones look nice, and they have a good PR, but this also means that they are safe to purchase from, as they will provide good warranty, and good support. They have world-wide support, and their products are sold from Amazon in Europe, so you won't have to worry about extra taxes when purchasing their headphones, and you can trust that they will solve any warranty, if any will be needed.


    It should be noted that I have absolutely no affiliation with Master&Dynamic, I am not receiving any incentive for this review or to sweeten things out. This review is not sponsored nor has been paid for by Master&Dynamic or anyone else. I'd like to thank Master&Dynamic for providing the sample for this review. The sample was provided along with Master&Dynamic's request for an honest and unbiased review. This review reflects my personal experience with Master&Dynamic MW60. Every opinion expressed is mine and I stand by it, the purpose of this review is to help those interested in Master&Dynamic MW60 find their next music companion.



    About me

    https://www.audiophile-heaven.com/p/about.html




    Packaging

    First things first, let's get the packaging out of the way:


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The package of MW60 is actually one of the most exquisite ones out there, the very few other products that have such an interesting package usually also coming from USA, like 1More, who also likes to put a lot of effort into the design.

    As always, a nice package doesn't necessarily mean a complete or a good amount of contents, but happily, with MW60, there is a good amount of contents, including a USB cable, a 3.5mm line cable for connecting MW60 in wired mode, and there is also a carrying case. There is a leather hard carrying case for the cables, which although really nice, doesn't serve much of a practical purpose.


    I wouldn't have minded a pair of extra pads, especially since they have a really easy to replace earpad mechanism, with a magnetic earpad that I haven't seen before, which means that for replacement pads you'll have to contact Master&Dynamic directly.

    All in all, for their price point of 450 USD, Master&Dynamic MW60 comes with a wealthy and sufficient package, and is in line with other headphones that are priced similarly, if not even better. It is a joy to unbox them, and it is also a joy to see them for the first time, having a really cool overall aesthetic.



    What to look in when purchasing a high-end In-Ear Monitor


    https://www.audiophile-heaven.com/p/about.html



    Technical Specifications


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    Build Quality/Aesthetics/Fit/Comfort


    The build quality of MW60 is pretty amazing, they are designed and built really nicely, and the version I have, which is the brown version looks both full of life, and also pretty gorgeous. The surface looks like leather, and although it isn't exactly leather, the color is strong, yet not overdone, they leave a feeling of being well made, and of being expensive.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The frame is made of metal, the adjusting mechanism is made of metal, and everything that isn't covered in leather is made of metal, indicating a well made and very wear-resistant headphone.


    On the other hand, this also means that they are quite heavy, being one of the heaviest closed-back portable headphones I know, all that metal weights a bit, and this can be felt. The clamping force is medium, they are neither too tight nor too lose, but the earpads are extremely soft and comfortable, the whole headphone feeling really nice on my head.

    Overall, the only issue I could find with their fit is the weight, because the clamping force is enough to walk with them, and the earpads are soft enough so that I don't mind that their size is on the smaller size, at least laterally. The point here is that the earpads are quite narrow, but as long as you can get the back of your ears inside the earpad, you should feel fairly comfortable with MW60. The earpads also have a nice leathery touch that doesn't get too hot or sweaty, making MW60 a great headphone to take out during summer.


    [​IMG]

    MW60's isolation is medium, they are fairly isolated from the outside noise, but not overly so, you can walk with them, and you will hear if anything is going on that you should know about, but you won't be disturbed by any kind of noise, at medium music listening levels.

    The Bluetooth inside MW60 is really nice, they are APT-X enabled, so you will get the better kind of bluetooth, and the bluetooth connection is rock stable, with about 5 meters of range, but with a connection that didn't drop even once on me, even in a crowded environment with a lot of interference.


    The battery life on Bluetooth is about 15 hours or so, at medium listening volumes, which is quite good, I'm actually impressed they managed to pull off this kind of battery life. Furthermore, you may know that some Bluetooth-based headphones have some kind of background noise, or hiss, while the Bluetooth in engaged, but there's none with MW60, they are dead silent, there's nothing to distract you from the music, and the bluetooth sounds just as good as the wired connection.

    [​IMG]

    Talking about the wired connection, if the battery dies out, you don't have to worry, as the wired connection doesn't require any power to work.


    Overall, they are on a whole new level of design, aesthetic beauty, and usability, truly a wireless headphone that you can enjoy for ages.



    Sound Quality


    The Master&Dynamic House sound, and the overall tuning of MW60 can be described as full bodied, warm, lush, thick, imposing, deep, and powerful. They are slightly V-shaped, as they have two bumps, one in the upper midrange, and one in the mid-trebles, both of which do a great job at countering the bass, which would otherwise be a touch overwhelming. MW60 is also fairly laid-back, with a recession and smoothness in the midrange. They aren't necessarily basshead, but they have that satisfying type of lush sound that you can enjoy for hours without fatigue.

    [​IMG]

    The bass is deep and focused on delivering physical impact and rumble. The upper bass is also enhanced and it colors the midrange, leading to a warm and thick overall signature that is satisfying. The speed of the bass is natural, and it can keep up with death metal, for example, but it sits better if paired with electronic music, EDM, or Jazz, where the speed of MW60 complements the music better. The bass presentation reminds me of midrange floorstander speakers with larger drivers, full, flowing and filling, with a midrange tint, but without being overwhelming.

    The midrange of MW60 is clear and crisp, although it is both colored by the bass, and some finer details are shadowed a bit by their mid-bass emphasis. The main midrange body is recessed compared to the bass and even compared to the upper midrange and the treble, but it is very natural with a rather accurate voicing for both male and female voices. The instrument separation and layering are both quite amazing, and MW60 surely knows how to paint a rather wide and impressive soundstage. The texture of the midrange is natural to slightly smooth, details are there, but micro-details are lost in favor to the thick and lush presentation, the smoothness working nice if you're looking for a more relaxing kind of presentation. Given the slightly recessed midrange, the entire midrange could be considered laid-back.


    The treble is bumped, once in the upper midrange, where it gives female voices a nice touch of emotion, and once again in the mid-treble, where it gives a nice amount of sparkle to MW60. This being said, the extension ends at about 10kHz, and this means MW60 isn't focused on being airy or especially detailed, but the two bumps in the treble provide a good counterweight for the bass and balance out the signature, making MW60 enjoyable, as without those two, they'd have been too dark and too lush for most people. The treble texture is on the natural side, not the smoothest one, but it isn't grainy either, providing a rather satisfying treble for both those looking for a smooth treble, but not cutting all the detail, if you're looking for a bit of detail.



    Portable Usage

    The portable usage of MW60 is pretty much excellent. They are not only extremely comfortable, but they also have an amazing battery life, and you could safely take them on a plane, if you were making a trip around the world, and they also look absolutely gorgeous. Just look at them, those are the headphones you want to be wearing on a plane, they work well regardless whether you're a businessman, or a metalhead, they work for both a male and a female music enthusiast, having both the authority a malde would want, but also the color and fine detail in the build quality that a lady would prefer.


    [​IMG]

    The isolation is good enough to serve, they don't cut absolutely all the noise from the outside, but they block enough to do their job as a portable or rather ultraportable headphone.

    The noise leakage is fairly minimal, and I was able to blast pretty loud metal while people were sleeping around me, but MW60 isn't a zero-leakage headphone either, so you can't blast music at absolutely full volume without anyone noticing, but it shouldn't be much more than how loud apple airpods leak.

    There's also the fact that the bluetooth mode provides both a hassle-free, an APT-X connection, and enough volume to make MW60 satisfying. I actually wasn't always happy with the volume Bluetooth Headphones provided, and some of them were a bit too quiet when using the bluetooth connection, pointing towards weak AMP and DAC designs inside, but with MW60, you don't have to worry, they get plenty loud and plenty clear even while being used in bluetooth mode. Of course, most wired sources will add a bump in resolution, but nevertheless, MW60's Bluetooth mode is implemented really well.

    [​IMG]

    The carrying case isn't very useful, but on a happy note, you can wear them around the neck without them choking you, like a more tight headphone would do.

    Overall, MW60 is a really nice ultra-portable bluetooth headphone, and with the absolutely beautiful aesthetics, you're sure to want to bring them outside.



    Comparisons


    For comparisons, I have picked Ultrasone Signature DXP(550 USD), Sennheiser HD660S(500 USD), and Beyerdynamic Amiron(700 USD), all of them being within the same price range, but all of them being fairly different headphones.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Master And Dynamic MW60 vs Ultrasone Signature DXP - Ultrasone Signature DXP is clearly more tight on the head, with smaller earpads that are way more solid to the touch, but it also provides considerably more passive noise isolation, as it is possible to wear DXP in a really noisy environment and be totally disconnected from that. On the other hand, if you want something ultraportable, but comfortable, DXP isn't the most comfortable closed-back headphone out there, and MW60 surely wins in terms of comfort. The sound signature is considerably more tight and detailed on DXP, but MW60 goes for a more natural speed for its bass, where DXP puts the impact and depth more above, but they have a quicker bass speed. The midrange is warmer and more lush, more full, on MW60, Ultrasone DXP feels a touch cuppy and thin in direct comparison, although from the two DXP is the one that's more neutral. The treble is smoother in textures on DXP, although it also has more sparkle and energy on DXP. The soundstage is wider and more layered on MW60, although it is more precisely separated on DXP. It is clear that DXP is intended for both music work, but also music listening, but only MW60 has bluetooth functions, and MW60 is clearly easier to take outside, easier to use, easier to pair, and has a more beautiful aesthetic, although Ultrasone Signature DXP is also a pretty cool-looking headphone.

    Master And Dynamic MW60 vs Sennheiser HD660S - Sennheiser HD660S is open back, and a bit more expensive than MW60, but if you have that money, you may be considering both of them. The first thing you need to keep in mind is the sound leakage, as HD660S leaks like a speaker, you do not get noise isolation either, so HD660S is probably not going to see much usage outdoors. MW60 can be taken literally anywhere, and has bluetooth, making them really nice for taking on a trip. The next thing you need to take into account is the drive-ability, as MW60 is driveable from virtually anything, where HD660S is a touch picky with the source, and even something midrange doesn't drive it quite that well, requiring high-end sources to sound their best. The sound is quite different, with HD660S being more open, more clear, more detailed, and more tight, and with MW60 having a wider soundstage, more instrument layering, more bass, a deeper bass, more sparkle in the treble, and also a more natural tonality in the midrange. The comfort is great on both, and both are good headphones, but very different. For more neutrality, and if you have a good source, and if you need an open-back headphone, HD660S is still a really impressive headphone, while if you want something nice for while you're on-the-go, and if you want it to have Bluetooth, and even APT-X, then MW60 is a great choice.

    Master And Dynamic MW60 vs Beyerdynamic Amiron - Amiron is actually quite a bit more expensive than MW60, but quite a few folks outside have been wondering even about this comparison, so let's go. The first thing you need to understand here is that Amiron is open-back, so no isolation, lots of leakage, and you can't really take Amiron outdoors. Amiron is even harder to drive than HD660S, so you will need to use a high-end source for Amiron, FiiO Q5 + AM05 being the most affordable source that can drive Amiron really well. The sound is actually at polar opposite sides, with Amiron having a much brighter and lighter sound, but with a soft and smooth overall presentation, where MW60 is way more lush, thick, punchy and has a more texture-happy overall presentation, including in the treble, where Amiron has more energy, but is also more smooth. Amiron is clearly more comfortable, but you can't take Amiron outside, where MW60 is happy to go anywhere with you.




    Recommended Pairings


    Keeping in mind that MW60 sounds great in the bluetooth mode, you could happily just use it that way, but if you want to pair it with a better source, then something like an ultra-portable DAP would compliment their ultra-portable design, but they scale well with better sources, and you'll be having a better experience if juicing them from a high-end source.

    Master And Dynamic MW60 + iBasso DX200 / DX150 (AMP5) - The thing about this pairing is that MW60 scales quite a bit with better sources, and you can hear the bump in resolution when using DX200 / DX150, compared to the moment you're using a smartphone for driving them (in wired mode). You also get access to iBasso's latest hardware and software, including Tidal and Streaming support, MQA, and the large list of AMP modules iBasso designed. The sound is much more detailed and has better resolution, compared to driving MW60 from a smartphone or in bluetooth mode.

    Master And Dynamic MW60 + FiiO M6 - FiiO M6 is excellent, because it is ergonomic, it is small, but also has Tidal, it has a good amount of streaming services it works with, M6 has a good battery life and strong Wifi signal. Furthermore, M6 can drive MW60 in wired mode as well as in Bluetooth, including using APT-X connections, making M6 one of the most versatile ultraportable DAPs that you will want for MW60. The sound is more detailed and has better resolution in the wired mode, but the star here is how portable the whole setup is.


    Master And Dynamic MW60 + Mytek Brooklyn DAC+ - Here, I wanted to make a little test and connected MW60 to a full blown high-end desktop DAC / AMP, and well, they scaled really nicely. Brooklyn DAC+ surely shows how MW60 can gain a whole new level of detail, clarity and impact, a much wider and more precise soundstage, and how they can be more natural and detailed. The trick here is that Brooklyn DAC+ is a desktop DAC / AMP, and you'll only be able to use this setup while at home.



    Value and Conclusion


    The value of MW60 is on the average side, their price point of 450USD is a bit high, but for that price you do get one of the best looking headphones in that price range. And not just good looking, but also durable and well created.

    [​IMG]

    You also et incredible battery life, and APT-X abilities, with wired connection abilities as well. Furthermore, you get an ultraportable that doesn't simply cut you off from the outside world, but isolates you well enough to not be bothered by ambient noises, and you also get a rather low leakage, so you can listen fairly loud while you're out and about.

    The comfort is also pretty great, and although MW60 is a bit heavy, their pads are soft, they are made of nice pleather, and they feel really nice and refreshing on the head, not getting too warm during summertime. You also get bluetooth controls on the earcup, so you can answer calls, and adjust volume from there.


    [​IMG]

    The sonic signature is lush, thick and full, with a touch of sparkle in the treble, the sound being fairly natural in the midrange, although colored by the bass and especially by the upper bass, it never gets too dark or veiled.

    [​IMG]

    At the end of the day, if you're looking for a good quality bluetooth headphone, with an impressive, full and lush, thick signature, beautiful aesthetic design, good battery life, and if you want good comfort, you should totally check out Master & Dynamic MW60.




    Full Playlist used for this review


    While we listened to considerably more songs than those named in this playlist, those are excellent for identifying certain aspects of the sound, like PRaT, Texturization, Detail, Resolution, Dynamics, Impact, and overall tonality. We recommend trying most of the songs from this playlist, especially if you're searching for new most, most of them being rather catchy.

    Tidal Playlist

    https://tidal.com/playlist/64555551-ec3c-4279-ae44-248fdfcf6c4b

    Song List

    Bats - Gamma Ray Burst: Second Date

    Eskimo Callboy - Frances
    Incubus - Summer Romance
    Electric Six - Dager! High Voltage
    Kishida Cult - High School Of The Dead
    Dimmu Borgir - Dimmu Borgir
    Breaking Benjamin - I Will Not Bow
    Thousand Foot Krutch - The Flame In All Of Us
    Gorillaz - Feel Good Inc.
    Infected Mushroom - Song Pong
    Attack Attack - Kissed A Girl
    Doctor P - Bulletproof
    Maximum The Hormone - Rock n Roll Chainsaw
    Rob Zombie - Werewolf, Baby!
    Escape The Fate - Gorgeous Nightmare
    SOAD - Chop Suey
    Ken Ashcorp - Absolute Territory
    Machinae Supremacy - Need For Steve
    Ozzy Osbourne - I Don't Wanna Stop
    Crow'sclaw - Loudness War
    Eminem - Rap God
    Stromae - Humain À L'eau
    Sonata Arctica - My Selene
    Justin Timberlake - Sexy Back
    Metallica - Fuel
    Veil Of Maya - Unbreakable
    Masa Works - Golden Japang
    REOL - Luvoratorrrrry
    Dope - Addiction
    rn - Word Up!
    Papa Roach - ... To be Loved
    Fever The Ghost - Source
    Fall Out Boy - Immortals
    Green Day - Know The Enemy
    Mindless Self Indulgence - London Bridge
    A static Lullaby - Toxic
    Royal Republic - Addictive
    Astronautalis - The River, The Woods
    We Came As Romans - My Love
    Skillet - What I Believe
    Man With A Mission - Smells Like Teen Spirit
    Yasuda Rei - Mirror
    Mojo Juju - Must Be Desire
    Falling Up - Falling In Love
    Manafest - Retro Love
    Rodrigo Y Grabriela - Paris
    Zomboy - Lights Out
    Muse - Resistance
    T.A.T.U & Rammstein - Mosaku
    Grey Daze - Anything, Anything
    Katy Perry - Who Am I Living For
    Maroon 5 - Lucky Strike
    Machinae Supremacy - Killer Instinct
    Pendulum - Propane Nightmares
    Sirenia - Lithium And A Lover
    Saving Abel - Addicted
    Hollywood Undead - Levitate
    The Offspring - Special Delivery
    scape The Fate - Smooth
    Samsara Blues Experiment - One With The Universe
    Dope - Rebel Yell
    Crazy Town - Butterfly
    Silverstein - My Heroine


    I hope my review is helpful to you!

    ---

    Contact me!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    ---
      trellus and Zelda like this.
  3. Zelda
    Review - Master & Dynamic MW60
    Written by Zelda
    Published Mar 4, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Excellent build quality
    Good Bluetooth quality
    Warm and rich sound
    Cons - Headband is not too comfortable
    A bit heavy
    Review - Master & Dynamic MW60



    Website - Master & Dynamic




    Official MW60 info

    Manuals and Documentation

    Specifications
    • Drivers: Dynamic 45mm Neodymium
    • Frequency response: 5 Hz ~ 25 kHz
    • Impedance: 32 Ohms
    • Materials: Grain leather, lambskin leather, stainless steel, aluminum
    • Battery: up to 16 hrs
    • Wireless: Bluetooth 4.1 with AptX
    • Circum-aural, Over-Ear design
    • Dimensions: 200mm x 185mm x 50mm
    • Weight: 345g
    • Detachable Cable: 1.25m
    • Omni-directional Microphone

    Price: U$449

    Available in various color themes.

    Warranty: 2 years.

    Credits go to the Master&Dynamic team for arranging the MW60 unit for the review time.





    The MW60 arrive in a large and fairly heavy box with a hassle free unboxing experience. Inside you would find the MW60 set securely arranged with the round leather case that holds the two necessary cables, audio 3.5mm-3.5mm cable for wired mode and USB for charging, and large 6.3mm plug adapter. Below is a large portable case where the MW60 snugly fit when fold and smaller extra pouch (maybe for phone or portable audio player use).














    Design & Build Quality

    The MW60 headphones take an over-ear design which is still portable enough as a wireless option should be. Build quality is outstanding, not only utilizing excellent materials but also having a very stylish design and superb finish with attention to small details. There is a nice selection of colors for the MW60, some more eye-catching while others more classic and discreet.




    The materials used on the MW60 are all of high quality, mixing solid metal alloys as stainless steel, brass and sturdy aluminum, along with real natural leather on both the headband and ear pads. Even the Bluetooth antenna inside is supposed to be made of metal components. There are no cheap plastic or metal parts that may be spotted on the MW60, however, it does reflect on the headphones extra weight as over-ear portable set.








    Here is an official picture with a full description of the MW60's design:


    The over-ear design is not small but still relatively compact for the daily portable use. Moreover, the MW60 features a new folding system that was missing on the MH40 previous model, instead of going flat, and fits nicely in the included case. While the headphones can be easily adjusted, I personally had no need to change it as found the design large enough with the broad headband arc and thick ear pads. The weight on the MW60 is not much of an issue, but if there is anything to complain about it would be on the headband side. As good as the leather material is, it is not too wide and there is not enough foam padding inside, causing some comfort issues after some listening time (around 1hr or more).




    On the other side, the ear pads are very comfortable - the leather lambskin is soft and provides a very comfortable fit and seal around the ears. For small to medium size ears they will fit as a complete over-ear type, though those with larger ears might find them a bit short. Also, the ear pads have a good depth with a soft cloth material on the inner side. The ear pads are strongly attached by a simple magnetic mechanism and can be removed without any trouble. Isolation is average for an over-ear design, not enough for too crowded/noisy areas but good for some traveling.










    Each of the sides holds certain buttons and functions. On the right side there 3 buttons, +/- for volume and skip through tracks, and a middle button for play/pause and calls, and also a charging micro-USB port. On the left side there is a small switch for wireless use with 2 LED lights for battery and connectivity status, and a 3.5mm port for wired headphone use.


    Wireless performance

    For the wireless option the MW60 feature Bluetooth 4.1 version with AptX, meeting the usual standard for nowadays wireless headphones that work with any modern smart device. The battery rate of 16 hours is a standard rate too, having other options featuring 20+ performance. Regardless, both the battery and Bluetooth quality are very solid, with a strong connectivity with zero drops from good audio sources as Android phones or more dedicated portable players like the Fiio M6 and Hiby R6 Pro (both with 4.2v BT). The wireless range may depend a bit on the source in use, but usually got to around 10m, and even when getting out of range it automatically resumes the playback. The pairing is easy, just needs to turn the wireless switch on at the left ear cup and hold it up for the pairing mode.



    Sound Quality

    The MW60 specs only rate a standard drivability of 32Ohm impedance but no info on sensitivity. Even so, it is not very demanding headphone set so probably the sensitivity should rate about 100~105. Despite the over-ear design and 45mm drivers they are fairly easy to manage from any portable source, which also required for the wireless feature on them. The iBasso DX120, the new Hiby R6 Pro, and occasionally the more compact Fiio M6, were all tested with the included cable for the standard wired mode. Just as reference, the DX120 needed only 50/100 steps on the low-gain to reach a fair volume and good dynamics out of the MW60.

    The MW60 presents a warm and very full sound with a strong focus on musicality, putting micro-detailing as a second priority but yet coherent and very immersive presentation, with a rich midrange and more relaxed and laid-back treble, that still doesn't got overly dark.

    The bass is enhanced and rather forward, and while it definitely has high authority on the overall presentation it maintains very good control as for not going overboard. It is not an extreme heavy bass headphone, but for sure has more than enough weight and body. There is plenty of rumble and hits with massive impact and good definition, with a slight more focus on the mid-bass region, yet keeps great presence in lower sub-bass notes. Overall, the whole low-end holds a fair sense of linearity from sub to upper-bass just keeping a slight higher emphasis on the middle bass. It is a very dynamic low end with decent speed and very good extension despite not being a full open-back design. Of course, there is some bloat from the bass that continues into the upper frequencies overshadowing the last bit of details, but not to the point of sounding unclear, rather adding more coloration to the signature and extra fun factor.

    As could be expected, the midrange holds a solid amount of coloration that arrives from the lower frequencies resulting in a thick midrange texture with full body, which also affects the transparency. While the mids won't sound as forward as the bass, they do have a very good balance and enough presence as not to sound distant. Lower mids are weightier, so a bit heavy on instruments and chestier on male vocals missing some air and separation. The upper midrange is not as thick, but still carries some coloration giving a nice sweet texture to female vocals. It is very smooth, giving up a bit on resolution in exchange for a more musical presentation that is still detailed.

    The highs are nicely balanced within the warm and musical signature of the MW60. The upper midrange has enough presence and the lower treble continues a similar amount, then falling on around the mid-treble region and rolls-off towards the upper treble, resulting in more limited extension. Overall, it is a bit laid-back with a smooth character, decent amount of sparkle and attack as not to sound dull, but not too airy or open sounding. Sibilance is rarely heard, at least on moderate volumes, but not a too revealing headphones set.

    As for the soundstage, being the MW60 a semi-closed over-ear set it not too vast nor is it too close either; not as sealed designs that give a less natural sounding effect, but missing the openness and air flow of full open cans. It is meant for portable use so well matched for that goal, and even more with the wireless design (and as mentioned, isolation is affected but still acceptable). Width and depth are quite even, with less height in comparison. Resolution is good, doesn't stand out, but the dynamics and weight on notes, and mainly the musicality are the main attractions here.


    Wired vs. Wireless

    While the sound quality is already good from a 4.2 Bluetooth source (with AptX codec), there still some differences, or more precisely, improvements when switching to a wired connection out of more dedicated audio players, not major changes, but still worth noting. Primarily is the extension on both low and high ends that is further and more effortless. There are also a better and more natural timbre and greater dynamics, and more rounded, coherent treble quality.
      trellus likes this.
  4. DAHiro
    A "Layman's" Review of the MW60
    Written by DAHiro
    Published Apr 18, 2016
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Transparent (Awesome) Sound, Great BT Connection, Great Materials/Quality, Sound Great Wired or Wireless
    Cons - Price, Maybe?
    tl:DR - Everything is so very much clearer and nuanced than I'm used to. From stereo presentation, to instrument separation. I can hear all the layers, and I'm hearing things I've never heard before. It's kind of bizarre how much I've been missing. Bass/Mid/Treble are clean and clear with no harshness or exaggeration. I don't know if I paid too much or not, but I'm happy to have really good sound without the wires.
     
    Update - 4/26/16
     
    So, do a bit of an oops I had the opportunity to interact with the Master & Dynamic customer service team through messaging and email. They were great, and went "above and beyond" to help me fix something that was pretty much my fault.
     
    Also, the only negative I would really give the headphones is that the magnets for holding the ear pads on could be a bit stronger, or there could be a couple more of them. And yes, this is totally related to the customer service experience. I'm still super-happy with these headphones.
     
    The first pair of headphones I've used to just sit and listen to music simply because they sound so good to me. I'm going to try them wired with an A3 Fiio Amp tomorrow just to see if I can hear a difference.
     
    Background
     
    I'm not an audiophile, but I'm thinking of joining the club. This is my first-ever headphone review.  I've had these headphones for a week, and put about 15 hours of listening in with them. Since I can't find any real owner reviews of these, I thought I would give it a shot.
     
    Previous Headphones owned (of note): Sony MDR-XB500 (former Basshead maybe), Sol Republic V10, Phiaton Chord MS 530.
     
    Listening Style: Pretty much everything except most country music (see Listening Notes for a sampling).
     
    About me: 41yo, male, missing some high-frequencies (over 15-17k) because of aging out, spend 2-3 hours M-F commuting with headphones on.
     
     
    Material Notes
     
    Yes, they feel amazingly solid in-hand. The switches feel like "real" switches from "back in the day." Not at all plasticky. Ear pads are easy to remove, but not so easy they just fall off. Hinges feel solid. They fit my giant head fine. I do have "detached" ear lobes, and larger ears. If I want a better seal, I have to tuck my lobes into the headphones - no biggy. They look remarkably normal-sized when being worn. I would say they are surprisingly compact for an over-ear headphone. Much smaller-wearing than the Chord MS 530's these are replacing.
     
    They are not delicate. They are not bulky. They are beautiful.
     
     
    Usage Notes
     
    Bluetooth. I've been pairing these with Galaxy S7 Edge. Initial pairing was quick. If BT is left active on the phone, they will re-pair within 4-5 seconds of powering up. There is a tone/chime for power on, and a little two-note tone to indicate they are connected. There is a little "squelch" noise when powering off. (I'm wondering if anyone else hears this. It is literally the only thing I dislike about the headphones.) 
     
    Usage distance. My phone is usually a few feet away or less. However, in listening at home, I have forgotten I was on BT, and left my phone behind while going upstairs or into the kitchen to get some things - no drops, skips, or noise over 30 to 40 feet, even through walls/floors. In motion, walking from work to the subway for my commute, I've had a couple hiccups, but this only happens when my phone is in my front pocket, and has happened with other headphones. I blame the phone and/or my heavy-footed walking style.
     
    I don't like ANC, so I'm not at all disappointed that these headphones don't have it. They do a great job of blocking out "noise" all on their own. With the Phiaton's I would never turn it on, as I didn't like how it "felt," and they sounded terrible with ANC on.
     
     
    Sound Quality
     
    In one word, Superb (to me). I can hear everything. By that, I mean that I'm hearing nuances in music I've never heard before in songs I've listened to hundreds of times.
     
    Sub-Bass/Bass: Very clean and present. Not muddy or overpowering. Seems to have gotten "warmer" as I've listened more. Not sure if it the headphones or my ears on that one. They aren't weak in bass, just not bass-heavy. 
     
    Mids: Very clean and balanced. Very clear. Like being there in person, near the front row, by yourself with the band, and they're singing to just you. 
     
    Highs: Also clean, never harsh. High-hats and cymbals sound good, never painful or grating. 
     
    Sound stage: Ovular. Wider left to right, than they are deep front to back. (I really think this depends on the recording though.) I prefer closed-back for isolation, and these sound more "open" than other closed headphones I've used.
     
     
    Listening Notes 
     
    I was going to include some listening notes, but I don't think I'm "there" yet with my vocabulary. I spent some time looking for songs for testing headphones, and these have found all the little nuances that folks talk about. "Why So Serious?" sub-bass at 3:30 - yep! "Axel F" original from soundtrack? - that clicky noise is not only there, it actually moves around "the stage" quite a bit. Take Five? Sounds like I'm right there while it is being recorded - great depth and width, almost 3D. Money For Nothing? - The climax of the intro at 1:40ish actually gives me chills.
     
    I think I can actually tell the difference in recording quality now. This is something I've never noticed before. Also, EVERYTHING sounds much more dimensional and layered. I would equate this as going from standard definition to High-definition.
      Dobrescu George and trellus like this.
    1. shrisha
      Thanks so much! Pretty nice review.
      shrisha, Apr 18, 2016
      Jazz1 likes this.