LYPERTEK MEVI

Rating:
3.58333/5,
Tags:
  1. theoutsider
    Little Red Earphone
    Written by theoutsider
    Published Jul 11, 2018 at 2:22 AM
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Perfect fit. Small, light and pretty!
    Cons - Questionable build quality.
    DSC09576.JPG

    Holla! Today I would like to talk about a petite earphone named Mevi. It is from Lypertek, a new comer in the audio industry. Mevi is the very first earphone that rolled out from their production floor and I am fortunate enough to be posted a pair for evaluation. Of course for that, I would like to thank Lypertek and Penon Audio for their kindness.

    https://lypertek.com
    Penon.com/lypertek-mevi.html


    Unboxing

    DSC09605.JPG
    DSC09606.JPG


    Lypertek Mevi came in a small white box that has a nice product image printed on it. This is a simple earphone with a simple packaging so there ain’t a lot to talk about here, you get a pair of earphones, a cable clip, a rather nice carrying case and a some silicone tips in it.


    Earphone and Build Quality

    Okay, I should ditch the thesaurus since petite is the perfect word to describe Lypertek Mevi. I have reviewed and looked closely at a few single dynamic driver IEMs recently and Mevi is easily 20% smaller (in volumetric size) compared to an average earphone of the same setup. To put it in perspective, one side of this earphone is slightly smaller than my lil' pinky. The earphone construction is also quite simple, there’s a metal front cover and a metal back cover, they are held together by some glue. I have nothing against simple, simple is good.

    DSC07614.JPG

    The sample Mevi that I received is red in color, or more precisely hot rod metallic red. I love the paint job and I think that sets it apart from other dark or black earphones that flood the market today. Pair that with the sensuous curvature, Mevi is simply gorgeous.

    Delicate as it looks, delicate it actually is. After a short period of evaluation (some 1 month), one side of the front cover separated itself from the back cover of my Mevi unit*. I suspect I might have the pre-production unit so maybe the gluing process or parameters were not optimized, that is not unheard of in engineering runs. Anyhow with a drop of Cyanoacrylate glue and a little patience I was able to glue the covers back.

    * not my fault, not me not me.

    DSC09608.JPG

    It’s not like Mevi is purposely built fragile and has no strengthening features. The cable terminating into the audio jack is reinforced by a strain relief and there’s strain relieves on the cables leading into the back covers. Aside from preventing cable tear, the left and right of the backcover strain relieves are color coded for easier identification.

    DSC09613.JPG

    Mevi is compatible with smartphones so you have the microphone and smartbutton on the right cable. The tactility of the button feels okay and I think it should work with both IOS and android devices. I also need to mention that there’s a mispellng of Mevi as Mavi on the Y-split and I can’t get past that.

    DSC09570.JPG

    Overall I think the build quality left something to be desired but seeing that it is the first product from a new company, I should not be too critical here.


    Comfort and Isolation

    I have many in-ear monitors but non is as comfortable to use as Lypertek Mevi.

    Noise isolation usually depends on the tip used. I am using the smallest tips that came in the box and they work okay to block off most outside noise but not my mom’s nagging.


    Specification

    DSC09631.JPG


    Earphone Type: In- Ear
    Connection Type: Wired
    Plug Type: 3.5mm gold-plated plug
    Cable Length: 1.2m
    Driver: 7mm dynamic driver
    Impedance: 32ohm
    Sensitivity: 95dB
    Frequency response: 20Hz-20 KHz


    The Overall Sound

    graph.jpg

    Mevi has a U shaped, fun and exciting sound signature, the bass and treble are quite accentuated. I do hear a hint of graininess in the sound especially when I listen to mid-centric songs. To be honest, I don’t always despise grainy sound, sometime a slightly noisy earphone can be quite desirable. Listening to older songs with such earphones take me down the memory lane, that nostalgic feeling is just priceless.

    Mevi, despite having a petite appearance can really pump out some decent bass. The bass quantity is moderate and does not drown out everything else. The bass response is fast and accurate and I can hear a fair bit of details in the low region. Overall, I am quite content with how Mevi deal with the low.

    The mid is satisfactory, at least for the price. There is enough mass in the mid so Mevi does not sound anemic. Vocals are lively and forward. I gave Baby Blue - Badfinger a good listen and I tapped my toes all the way through the song.

    The treble is well extended but free from sibilance or harshness. Metallic instruments sounded natural to me. The sound is not shilling nor it is sharp. Thankfully there’s a hint of delicate sparkle in the high that completes the sound.

    DSC09622.JPG

    In comparison to similarly priced Hypersense HEX02, Mevi has a significantly larger soundstage. Then again, that soundstage is not the largest I have ever heard but Mevi does offer pretty good instrument placements and imaging.

    To be fair, I think Mevi sounded surprisingly good for the price tag. I initially thought Mevi as more of a fashion accessory, but time and time again, I have been proven wrong.


    Source

    I have Mevi connected to Sabaj Da2 and amped by VE RunAbout Plus and it sounded larger than life. Initially I thought this simple earphone would not scale with good sources but I was wrong. I advice trying it out amped and unamped and so that you can hear the differences yourself.


    Conclusion:

    Lypertek Mevi has a U-shaped sound with a decent soundstage. It is not the best sounding earphone money can buy, but it is nonetheless pleasant sounding. It is small, light and above all, very nice looking! I consider the build quality of Mevi its Achilles heel, you should look else where if you are worried bout the build quality.
  2. crabdog
    Crystal Clear
    Written by crabdog
    Published May 19, 2018
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Outstanding clarity
    Stylish and robust design
    Price
    Cons - Microphonics (cable noise)
    Lower treble peak
    Lypertek MEVI with case.jpg

    Audiophiles on a budget are spoiled for choices lately, with so many new brands appearing every time you turn around. While many are still going for the generic consumer-based tuning of big bass and warmth throughout, some are targeting a more refined sound. Enter the Lypertek MEVI, the first IEM from the startup Chinese brand that aims to bring HiFi to the masses. You can find more information on the Lypertek website here.

    At the time of writing, the Lypertek MEVI is priced at $29.90.

    Available at Penon Audio here.


    This product was provided for the purpose of an honest evaluation. All observations and opinions here are my own.

    Pros
    • Outstanding clarity
    • Stylish and robust design
    • Price
    Cons
    • Microphonics (cable noise)
    • Lower treble peak
    Package and Accessories
    The Lypertek MEVI comes in a very small but stylish cardboard box. There is an image of the earphone along with some listed features. Inside is a zippered clamshell case adorned with the Lypertek logo. The case is simple but attractive and practical, offering good protection in a pocketable form factor.

    [​IMG]

    The earphones and other accessories are all found inside the hard case and include the Lypertek MEVI earphone, a shirt clip and 3x pairs of silicone eartips (S, M, L). It’s a basic bundle but perfectly acceptable at this price and the included case is fantastic.

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    Build Quality and Design
    Sporting an all-metal shell, the MEVI is a very small and stylish IEM. The flared, capsule-shaped shells have a matte black finish, giving it a premium appearance that belies its budget price. On the rear of the shells is the Lypertek logo in white.

    The nozzles are straight and fairly short but they have a solid lip that holds eartips securely. There’s a protective metal mesh to keep out ear wax and debris. Just in front of the cable connection is a tiny bass vent. The two parts of the shells are joined nicely with no sign of glue residue or rough edges.

    Overall, the MEVI’s build quality is excellent. Yes, it’s an extremely simple design but Lypertek has managed to give it style and a premium aesthetic.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Cable
    The MEVI’s cable is a black rubberized material. It’s fairly supple and sits well Above the Y-split it’s a bit thin but it has good strain reliefs so should be durable enough.

    The strain reliefs at the top are colour coded; red for right and blue for left. I love this. It is so easy to distinguish left and right and adds a splash of colour to break up the otherwise all-black appearance.

    On the right side is a metal single-button inline control and microphone. Although it only has a single button, the controller is multi-functional. It can be used for play, pause, answer or end calls, skip or rewind tracks and shuttle control.

    The Y-split is metal and it has a decent strain relief. Finally, the cable terminates with a straight metal 3.5 mm plug.

    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    Comfort and Isolation
    With its diminutive size and lightweight shells, the MEVI is a very comfortable IEM. It practically disappears in your ears. With its smooth and rounded surface, you’ll hardly notice its there and can be worn for long sessions without any issues.

    Passive noise isolation is about average and will depend mostly on the eartips and how good a seal you’re getting. It’s suitable for most everyday situations such as public transport and busy environments.

    Sound
    One thing the MEVI has in spades is clarity and detail retrieval, thanks to a boosted upper midrange and lower treble, as well as a very clean bass presentation. However, it doesn’t come across as overly bright; the slightly accentuated bass and linear centre midrange provide enough body to prevent it sounding thin or cold. It reminds me of the LZ A5 albeit with noticeably less bass.

    [​IMG]

    SOURCES USED FOR TESTING
    • Benjie T6
    • ATC HDA DP-20
    • Acoustic Research AR-M20
    BASS
    The MEVI’s bass is really exceptional for such an affordable earphone. It’s fast and punchy, with just the right balance between definition and fullness. What the MEVI does with bass is well-defined, expertly controlled and nimble.

    Where the bass loses impetus is in its sub-bass. It drops off quite rapidly and is a touch lacking in impact. It does have a nice fast rumble but is a little too restrained and lacks extension. Overall though, the quality of the MEVI’s bass is well above average for a sub $30 IEM.

    MIDS
    The midrange is a bit of a mixed bag. On one hand, it produces brilliant clarity and retrieval of minute details but on the other, it leans towards being too bright and a little strident. The lower to centre midrange is fairly neutral and is quite forward due to the absence of colouring from the bass.

    Male vocals sound a little thin and distant, playing second fiddle to the upper midrange. Female vocals have more density, vibrancy and tonal accuracy. Guitars have good texture and really pop. They come to the forefront in songs like Sieges Even’s “Mounting Castles In the Blood Red Sky”.


    TREBLE
    The MEVI’s lower treble peak adds to the airiness and clarity of the sound but can be a bit of a double-edged sword. Some snares and cymbals can be a bit fatiguing. While the MEVI is mostly free of sibilance, it does rear its ugly head on occasion, most notably with the T consonant.

    The treble extension is very good, providing the MEVI with an abundance of harmonics for air and sparkle. However, I did find that slightly reducing the 6.5kHz peak with EQ made the sound much more pleasant to my ears.

    SOUNDSTAGE
    The MEVI presents a fairly intimate soundstage, having considerably more width than depth. Where it does excel is in its instrument separation, which helps to avoid feeling confined. Having said that though, when there’s a lot of cymbal action, like in The Pineapple Thief’s “Take Your Shot”, the separation takes a plunge as the cymbals dominate and everything else becomes a blur.

    Comparisons
    HYPERSENSE HEX02 ($25)
    The HEX02 (review here) is a much warmer IEM than the Lypertek MEVI. It has a lot more bass, which is thicker and carries over into the midrange. In the sub-bass, the HEX02 has truckloads of it compared to the MEVI. The MEVI’s vocals are more articulated and intelligible, where the HEX02 concentrates on warmth and richness.

    There’s more extension in the MEVI’s treble but it’s also thinner and on the dry side, whereas the HEX02 has a more relaxed and non-fatiguing approach. Overall the MEVI has a leaner and more detailed sound compared to the HEX02’s bass focused, easygoing nature.

    When it comes to build quality, both IEMs are excellent for the price. The included accessories are virtually the same apart from the MEVI’s great case vs the HEX02’s fabric pouch.

    TIN AUDIO T1 ($37)
    The T1 (review here) has a more balanced overall presentation while the MEVI concentrates on its upper midrange focus. Bass on the T1 has more body and some extra weight behind it and more extension in the sub-bass. Male vocals have more body on the T1 and come off sounding more natural.

    Vocals are denser and have more intimacy on the T1. Vocals on the MEVI tend to get pushed behind the upper reaches of the midrange with things like snares and handclaps being the most prominent instrument in the overall sound.

    While the T1’s treble isn’t as airy, it does portray a more rounded and three-dimensional soundstage. There’s a greater sense of depth in its presentation and positional cues are better on the T1. Detail retrieval is superior on the MEVI, assuming there aren’t too many cymbals crashing in the music.

    The build quality is great on both of these with neither having any distinct advantages over the other. However, the accessories award goes to the Lypertek MEVI, since the T1 doesn’t come with a storage case.

    [​IMG]

    Lypertek MEVI Conclusion
    The MEVI is an ambitious budget earphone that gets a lot of things right. I’m eager to see what they produce next. This is yet another earphone worth serious consideration if you’re shopping for something in the budget entry-level.

    With its great build quality and comfort, the Lypertek MEVI is certainly good value for money. Those who cherish clarity and picking out the fine details in their music should definitely appreciate what the MEVI has to offer.

    *This review was originally posted on my blog. You can see my other reviews over at Prime Audio.
    1. FUYU
      Perhaps closing one/two of the ports might result in less bass roll-off.
      FUYU, May 19, 2018
      crabdog likes this.
    2. crabdog
      Possibly but I'm not a mod type of guy. I generally judge products in the context of how they're presented out of the box. Actually, the bass roll-off hardly bothered me at all - I'm more bugged by the boosted upper mids Regardless though, for $29 I think it's a good IEM.
      crabdog, May 19, 2018
  3. Moonstar
    Lypertek MEVI; Good Sound for Small Price
    Written by Moonstar
    Published Mar 13, 2018
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Nice balanced sound signature,
    Good detail level for the price,
    Comfortable fit,
    Build quality,
    Cons - No detectable cable
    Lypertek MEVI; Good Sound for Small Price



    [​IMG]


    1. Disclaimer:


    The Lypertek Mevi was provided to me by the Lypertek via Penon Audio for free of charge as a review sample. I am not affiliated with Lypertek or Penon Audiobeyond this review and these words reflect my true, unaltered, opinions about the product.


    2. Introduction:


    Lypertek is a relative new audio gear company located in China. The Lypertek Mevi is the first In-Ear Monitor (IEM) of the company in the Hi-Fi audio market. Lypertek decided to join in to the market with a 7mm single dynamic driver IEM.


    3. Price:

    The MSRP price for the Lypertek Mevi is 29.90 USD.

    Product Page : https://www.lypertek.com/mevi
    Purchase Link : https://penonaudio.com/lypertek-mevi.html



    4. Package and Accessories:

    The Lypertek Mevi comes in a very small white card box.

    This box includes the following contents;

    20180304_005241.jpg

    1 x Lypertek Mevi
    1 x Cable clip
    1 x Hard Carrying Case
    1 pair per size S, M, L Silicone Tips

    [​IMG]

    The hard case that is included in the box is small but well made. They are 3 pairs of silicone ear tips that are quite soft and comfortable. There is also a shirt clip that is a nice addition.

    5. Specifications:

    • Driver : 7.0mm Dynamic
    • Impedance : 32 Ohm
    • Frequency Response : 20~20KHz
    • Sensitivity : 95dB
    • Plug : 3.5mm Stereo
    • Cable : 1.2m


    6. Design, Fit and Build Quality:

    The Lypertek Mevi has very small and well crafted aluminum housing available in black & red colors. The housing of the Mevi has a compact design, is lightweight and comfortable to wear. There is a Lypertek logo on the back of the monitor housing and two vents on the bottom. The strain relief is red color for the right and blue for the left monitor.

    [​IMG]

    The isolation in loud environments is mediocre, but in an acceptable level for such a small In-Ear Monitor.

    The TPU-coated cable is not changeable but looks sturdy. It has a straight 3.5mm headphone jack with built-in microphone that has several functions, which are shown below.

    [​IMG]

    The clarity of the voice transmission is above average. The Y Splitter is made of metal but there is no chin slider.

    [​IMG]


    7. Albums & tracks used for this review:

    • Opeth – Damnation (Tidal Hi-Fi)
    • Megadeth – Sweating Bullets (Flac 16bit/44kHz)
    • Saskia Bruin – The Look of Love (DSF)
    • George Michael – Older Album (Apple Music)
    • LP (Laura Pergolizzi) – Lost On You “Live at Harvard and Stone” (Tidal Hi-Fi)
    • Dire Straits – Money For Nothing (DSF)
    • Mile Davis – Kind of Blue Album (Tidal Hi-fi)
    • Emmanuel Pahud (Claude Debussy) – Syrinx (Apple Music)
    • Aretha Franklin – I Say a Little Prayer (Apple Music)
    • Diana Krall – So Wonderful (DSF)
    • Otto Liebert & Luna Negra – Up Close “Album” (DSF) – Binaural Recording
    • Alboran Trio’s – Cinque Lunghissimi Minuti (Tidal Hi-Fi)
    • Daft Punk – Get Lucky (Flac 24bit/192kHz)
    • Michael Jackson – Billie Jean (DSF)


    8. Sources used for this review:

    • IEM : Lypertek Mevi, Dunu DN12, Xiaomi Hybrid Pro HD
    • DAP/DAC : Cayin N5II, Aune M2Pro, Chord Mojo, Zishan Z2


    [​IMG]


    9. The Sound:

    This review is written after a burn-in process of apprx. 100-110 hours and I have used the stock silicone ear tips.

    Please note that this is a entry level IEM and all my comments about the sound quality are in consideration of this price range.


    a. Tonality:

    The Lypertek Mevi is an IEM with a quite neutral tonality, a linear / flat bass response and a treble structure that expands well and doesn’t bother.

    b. Frequencies:

    Lypertek Mevi has a well balanced and tight bass reproduction with a relative fast response.

    The Lypertek Mevi’s sub-bass depth is at average levels and can’t reach very deep. It doesn’t have the bass rumble type that a basshead would love.

    But some good things happening; the sub-bass control of the Mevi is in a very good level for such a budget IEM. The bass response is accurate, fast and natural, which is a good benefit for genres with real instrumental like classic or acoustic tracks.

    The mid-bass of the Lypertek Mevi are very controlled and don’t mess into the mids. This makes the Lypertek Mevi to a good choice for metal music that need speed and control for drum performances.

    The midrange of the Lypertek Mevi has a flat / smooth character and neutral tonality. The midrange has the same positioning as the other frequencies.

    The Lypertek Mevi has also a clean, crisp and energetic midrange, which is a rarely found feature, is this price category.

    Both female and male vocals have the same success with a clean and transparent presentation. I did not observe any overshadowing of the midrange, that is quite spacious, airy and very pleasant to listen to.

    The midrange doesn’t sound thin or very full, there is a nice balance with a pretty musical presentation.

    The Lypertek Mevi doesn’t sound dry or cold; On the contrary, it has an alive, dynamic and energetic presentation.

    The Lypertek Mevi performs very well with instruments such as acoustic guitar, percussion instruments and viola. The instrument representation is pretty good in terms of the nature, clarity and separation of each note.

    The Lypertek Mevi has a treble texture that extends well for its price, without to be sibilant or harsh. Instruments like cymbals, bells, etc. don’t sounding metallic or unnatural and the overall treble presentation is well controlled.

    The upper treble range is missing some definition, but we should note that this is an IEM under 30 USD.

    c. Soundstage:

    The Lypertek Mevi has an average soundstage presentation that is not very wide, but vocal positioning and instrument placements sounding quite natural. There is nothing special about the soundstage depth, but we should remember that this is a entry level IEM.

    [​IMG]


    10. Comparison:

    Vs. Dunu DN12:

    Dn12 has more bass quantities and sub-bass depth than the Lypertek Mevi. But bass performance of the Dunu DN12 is behind the Mevi in terms of speed, tightness and balance

    Dunu DN12 has a more forward midrange presentation. The midrange of the Lypertek Mevi on the other hand, sounds more natural and has relative flat presentation.

    The Lypertek Mavi sound transparent and smooth compared to the grainier and overshadowed sounding Dunu DN12.

    The Lypertek Mevi has also the better performance for instrument representation.

    The midrange of the Dunu DN12 is loosing the control very faster in higher volume levels and starts to shine, that makes the sound uncomfortable, while the Lypertek Mevi has the better control in same volume levels.

    The Lypertek Mevi has a more forward treble presentation with a better extension and overall resolution. The treble presentation of the DN12 is not fast enough for genres that need a fast treble response, such as metal music etc.

    The Lypertek Mevi has the wider and deeper soundstage presentation. The difference is not marginal but noticeable. There is also more air and space between instruments compared to the presentation of the DN12.

    Vs. Xiaomi Hybrid Pro HD
    The first noticeable difference is the lower frequency region. The Hybrid Pro HD has more sub-bass and bass quantity then the Mevi. But the bass of the Mevi is tighter and has the better overall control. The bass speed of both IEM’s is nearly the same but the Mevi has a touch more micro detail.

    The midrange of the Hybrid Pro HD sounds more recessed compared to the more balanced tuned Lypertek Mevi. The Hybrid Pro HD sounds smoother and brighter in the midrange, but the Lypertek Mevi has more the upper hand for definition.

    The Hybrid Pro HD sounds a bit brighter in the treble range and is more prone to sibilance then Lypertek Mevi, especially with instrument like cymbals or bells.

    The Lypertek Mevi sounds more balanced at the upper treble register and has additional control, but less micro detail in comparison to the Hybrid Pro HD.

    Both IEMs have nearly the same soundstage performance but the Hybrid Pro HD has a little more depth, while both have nearly identical soundstage wideness.

    11. Conclusion:

    The Lypertek Mevi is a nice sounding entry level IEM with a quite balanced sound signature, a pretty good fit that is packed in small but solid housing.



    12. Summary (plus and minus):

    + Nice balanced sound signature
    + Good detail level for the price
    + Comfortable fit
    + Build quality


    – No detectable cable

    [​IMG]

    This review was originally posted on my Review Blog "Moonstar Reviews" :
    www.moonstarreviews.net
  4. ngoshawk
    An economical alternative for the masses...
    Written by ngoshawk
    Published Mar 7, 2018
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Small! Good fit, decently built. Good solid sound. Small!! Universal mic works with both iOS & Android.
    Cons - Cable is a bit thin. Long nozzle can irritate after long periods. Nothing really.
    Lypertek Mevi: $29.90 at Penon Audio: https://penonaudio.com/lypertek-mevi.html

    Lypertek website: https://www.lypertek.com/



    Lypertek is another new Chinese brand, and as it stands they have the Mevi as their sole product. I am honored to be part of the ground floor for this company. With a straightforward and simple website, one could quickly scroll by, as most would when a Google search comes up with “Hypertech,” instead of Lypertek. Their website is buried a good way down page two of a search, so there is work to do…My hope is that I can help. A quick listen upon receiving the product provided a good start, and color me impressed!





    Disclaimer- I want to thank Penon Audio and Lypertek for the review unit, on which this write up is based. The Mevi was provided free of charge, and in return Penon only ask an open honest review. I would not have it any other way.



    A bit about me:



    I am older. I am happy that I have rediscovered the joy of music, through personal listening devices. Through this opportunity, I have become exposed to some wonderful kit. Much I now own, much I covet. Much I would never purchase, for various reasons.


    My listening style has changed somewhat over the years…from old time Rock-n-Roll to the Blues to Reggae, to Bluegrass. I cut my teeth on Led Zeppelin, Lynyrd Skynyrd, The Outlaws, The Who, Santana, Bob Marley, Eric Clapton, David Bowie, and Pink Floyd. But the music I hold dearest and nearest my soul, is Stevie Ray Vaughan. I was lucky enough to see him perform four times…twice in open air venues, followed by (that evening each time!!!) smoky blues bars, where intimate would be an understatement. Each holds a very special place in my psyche, and I can almost remember the whole of each concert in their entirety…


    I enjoy a warmer signature in my equipment, and listening, with a good bass line (but not basshead), complimented by outstanding vocals. Combine the sweetness of SRV’s guitar and Billy Holiday’s voice, and you get my musical genre.


    Through too much hearing loss of high end (loud car stereo as a teenager with a car…), I cannot quite fathom the differences of sound that those experts on Head-Fi do. So, I try to accommodate with subtle differences…detailed differences wrought from my days banding birds and working bird surveys where it was imperative that I separate what kind of Warbler, or Flycatcher, or Sparrow that was, and from what direction and elevation change the song originated. I used my deficiencies of treble-loss to my benefit; searching for that sound, which was not there a moment before. I got pretty darn good at it. And, I TRY to use that same methodology to separate details enough to offer a modicum of differentiation in the product at hand. I like to think I’m doing OK. But can always improve…

    [​IMG]

    Specifications from the Penon website:


    LYPERTEK MEVI Dynamic Driver High Fidelity In-ear Earphones with Mic

    Description

    • Compact, comfortable design.
    • Robust aluminium construction.
    • Universal remote & microphone.
    • Clean, good bass & wide soundstage HiFi Sound.
    Specification

    • Driver: 7.0mm Dynamic
    • Impedance: 32 Ohm
    • Frequency response: 20-20KHz
    • Sensitivity: 95dB
    • Plug: 3.5mm Stereo
    • Cable: 1.2M
    Package

    • LYPERTEK MEVI Earphone
    • Cable clip
    • Hard carrying case
    • 3 pairs of silicone eartips (S/M/L)
    Review gear:

    Shanling M3s
    Opus #1s
    iPhone X

    Aune B1s


    Comparisons:

    FiiO F1
    Hypersense Hex02


    Songs used:

    Daylight-Coldplay
    Moosesong-Big Head Todd & the Monster
    Guns for Hands-twenty one pilots
    Dragonfly-Ziggy Marley
    #34-Dave Matthews Band
    The Miracle (Of Joey Ramone)-U2
    Slow Train-Joe Bonamassa
    Them Belly Full (But We Hungry)-Bob Marley

    [​IMG]

    Initial listen: Upon receiving the package, I did a quick check to see if everything was copacetic. It was, so I gave a quick listen to ensure that all was good. I then burned the critter in for 50+ hours. Not because I had to, but because I was busy with other reviews. Some believe in this, others do not. When a manufacturer specifies that you burn a unit in, then it is a pretty good idea to do so. Lypertek made no such assumptions, but I did anyway, along with the Hypersense Hex02 and Tin Audio T2. So, after 75-80 hours, I was able to dedicate some time to the Mevi.



    My initial listen provided me with a good aural sound. One, which provided good mid note, decent bass limited by a 7.0mm dynamic driver, and a decent reach of treble. Color me red, and again impressed. Something I also noticed in reading other reviews was that the color of choice for them seemed to be the black IEM. I was lucky enough to have red, and I liked that color much better. This is a good-looking unit!



    Packaging/Unboxing:

    The Mevi is about as simple as it comes. A nice printed box to start, upon which opening one is presented with a “Cordura” hard case and that is all. Upon visiting the company website, one can understand simplicity rules the day. Maybe to keep costs under control, or maybe that is the company mantra I do not know. That said, I would call the cylindrical near-bullet shape in line with the simplicity theme. I approve so far.

    Inside the zippered case we are presented with the IEM, rubber attached cable, shirt clip and three sets of tips. Nothing else, but for the price not bad.



    Fit & Finish:

    When the case is opened, we are presented with a coiled rubber cable attached to two red bullet-shaped IEM’s of 7.0mm dynamic driver variety. The red is an anodized aluminum color and looks quite spiffy. Almost like Ferrari red…almost. Nice, though. With two halves (and the nozzle insert) to the critter, fit is very good, matching the seam well. Some of the earlier reviews mentioned mismatched halves, with lower quality anodization. I am happy to state that is not the case here. Fit is very good (belying the price), and the finish is good. I did notice in my time, a small spot where the ano had been roughed up, or slightly gouged. That said, I do remember a time when I dropped them on a hard surface, so this could very well have happened then. With a long nozzle, the shape is complete. Angled slightly above 90 degrees, there is a purposeful look to the Mevi. That long nozzle can get somewhat fatiguing after a good long session, since the IEM does insert so deeply into the ear, though.



    I found that changing the placement of the IEM within my ear did not alter sound characteristics that I could discern. Others with better ears, might disagree. And that small size is something on which I consider a benefit. Especially when compared side by side to my CA Jupiters or UM Maestro V2, both of which need a day or two of “reacquainting/friendship” with my ears to come to a truce. Both situations of which I “suffer” and pay the price, haha.


    [​IMG]


    Overall sound:

    While listening to the Mevi, balance kept ringing in my head. A fairly balanced sound, with a slight enhanced bass led me to the conclusion listed above. Unobtrusive also rang into my cranial matter. There really was not a tone put too much out of place for my tastes. With a decently deep reach of bass, mids, which can be quite pleasant, and a slightly bright (to me) treble, there wasn’t much to complain about. For the price, this hit all of the right notes to me.

    Bass: With a hint of more, the bass gives a decently full bass, that enhanced bass prevalent on Junior Brown’s excellent Peel’n Taters. The string bass giving that foundation on which Junior’s guitar sings superbly. I could hear a bit of punch to the bass, but that was taking a back seat to the mids. I wanted a bit more bass, but for the size of this and price the quantity given was certainly adequate. I do agree with the reviews, which called the bass tight. I would state that the bass is of good quality, just not enough for my tastes.

    Mids: Transparent, with good presentation of vocals is how I would describe the sound here. A good clean sound, but not of the crystalline nature of a much more expensive IEM. That of course is to be expected. To even make a statement, where some sort of product of much higher quality come in, is a compliment in itself. And, the Mevi is worth that. While I wouldn’t call it “punching above its weight,” I would call it a good representation, and worthy of the previous sentences statement. Decently placed vocals do tend to dominate the center, but in my experience that is often the case in this range, and of what people looking for a replacement crave. Not bad, and as a marketing ploy, spot on with the Mevi. Layering does suffer as a result, but in the aspect of where the Mevi might be used (commuting, gym…) that characteristic tends to lose out anyway.

    Treble: To make up for the loss of layering in the mids, I do believe the detailed presentation of the treble counters nicely. A bit bright again, but not enough to warrant any sibilance (even on my go-to sibilant Lyle Lovett track Bears. It does seem a bit artificial to me. That is a phrase I have not used for a good bit, but here I do not consider that an insult, just not what I think the Mevi needed. Dynamic Drivers tend to represent the musical tone quite accurate and realistically, with thicker notes. Here it is a bit odd and thin, what I would call a slight anomaly. Not a big worry, but to those who refer realism in their classical really wouldn’t be looking here anyway. No big loss, and certainly not an insult, or something which would drive you away from the Mevi.

    [​IMG]

    Soundstage/separation: With the intimate setting of a mid-tier closed backed headphone would be an apt description here. Narrower of depth but made adequate by a semi-out of head experience is quite pleasant in which to listen. On Stevie Ray Vaughan’s Chitlins Con Carne it is quite obvious that Chris Layton’s drums are behind in support. But that subtle voice, which come on at about the 2:00 minute mark is almost non-existent, lost to the others. And this really isn’t that congested of a song. Here is where detail suffers in my humble opinion, but only briefly.



    Continue: Ultimately, this is an easy to drive IEM, with many more good qualities than bad. For instance, where the isolation might suffer on a run outside (it did…), the very good phone quality in that same situation counters. I didn’t get these to supplant my usual running IEM, my FLC8S (yes, I know I’m crazy, but I love them on the go). This would be another of the yet more throw in the bag backups, which would not be an insult to use, should the need arise. What some consider a thin, weak cable I consider a positive for its ease of use, and portability. Not everyone needs an expensive aftermarket cable as there back up, and the Mevi would not embarrass as a result.



    Finale: So…what does this all mean? Well, in a brief nutshell, it means that this is another worthy consideration for those looking at a stylish, affordable pair with which would be an upgrade to most included Smartphone headphones. The Mevi while lacking that overall appeal of detail makes up for it with a solid near-neutral inoffensive sound, albeit slightly artificial mids hinder this. Some may think it a bit warm, but yours truly lives for warm sound characteristics, hence it didn’t bother me in the slightest. I would consider this an appealing sound, with a good-looking package to back that sound up. And, the small size is a tremendous benefit for those of us who like to stay unobtrusive by nature. Just know that long sessions may deserve a break due to the long nozzle. A good effort on which I would love to see Lypertek build, and I most certainly would garner a listen should that occur.

    [​IMG]

    I would like to again thank Penon for the opportunity to review a product in which they think worthy of a look. I said it in another review, but state again: if a marketer deems worthy a product, then they give faith in our skills. The critter in question either makes the grade or doesn’t. It is our duty to report either. And we must be in a rein of does, because this one is certainly worth a look as that back up or Smartphone replacement.
  5. ryanjsoo
    Lypertek MEVI Review – Value Champ
    Written by ryanjsoo
    Published Feb 13, 2018
    3.5/5,
    Pros - - Nicely balanced signature
    - Comfortable fit
    - In-line remote
    Cons - - End to end extension is mediocre at best
    - Thin cable
    Introduction –

    Lypertek are a new audio manufacturer trying to break into the scene through aggressively priced in-ears. The MEVI marks their first effort, featuring a single 7mm dynamic driver and premium aluminium housings. Had the MEVI launched several years ago, this along would’ve made it outstanding, however, the market has since grown saturated with competition. With highly impressive earphones from more established brands such as Final Audio and Fiio storming onto the scene to great critical reception, the $30 USD MEVI has surprising amounts of competition despite its meagre asking price. You can read more about and purchase the MEVI on Lypertek’s product page here.



    Accessories –

    [​IMG]
    Generic cardboard boxes no longer cut it, not even within the ultra-affordable price range. The MEVI presents well with a small hard box adorned with pleasing renders and basic specifications. Inside is a terrific zippered hard case. It’s compact enough to be pocketed while offering higher levels of protection.

    [​IMG]
    Lypertek also provide 3 pairs of silicone tips in addition to a shirt clip to reduce cable noise. It’s a basic accessory set that is perfectly serviceable and the included case is excellent.



    Design –

    The MEVI is super compact, with a fluted, bullet-style housing. They have a traditional cable down design, but can be easily inverted due to a lack of angled nozzles. The MEVI feels solid in the hand with an anodized aluminium construction. Compared to the plastic Fiio F1 and F3, the Lypertek feels appreciably more premium.

    [​IMG]
    It’s also a comfortable earphone as its miniscule housings don’t contact much of the outer ear. As a result, the earphones don’t form hotspots, even after hours of listening. They’re also relatively stable due to their lightweight design, though they don’t quite lock into the ear like some over-ear in-ears.

    [​IMG]
    Despite their medium depth fit, the MEVI has rather mediocre noise isolation. They block a lot more noise than Final’s semi-open E-series earphones, but also less than full-sealed earphones due to the presence of a small vent on their underside. Still, the MEVI is adequate for public transport but volume needs to be increased by a fair amount.

    [​IMG]
    The attached cable is passable. It’s thin, rubbery and with average strain relief. At the very least, the cable doesn’t have too much memory and it’s fairly pliable. The integrated remote/mic is practical for use during commute and the strain relief on the earpieces and jack is above average. Still, it’s a far cry from the sturdy units on the Adv M4 and Fiio earphones.



    Sound –

    Tonality –

    The MEVI is quite a balanced earphone in a price range where most earphones pursue a more aggressive V or bassier L-shaped sound. The MEVI rather sounds u-shaped with particular emphasis on lower-treble. It also has lightly enhanced bass presence to imbue some fullness into its sound. Some may find its top-end a little bright, but this is an impressively clear and revealing earphone for the price.



    Bass –

    The MEVI’s low-end focusses on punch with a nudge of extra fullness, and its quality is outstanding, some of the best I’ve heard from a budget earphone. Its main caveat is sub-bass extension, which is pretty mediocre, producing soft, distant impact to bass drums and beats. However, the MEVI has apparent rumble and its low-end is very tight and agile. Furthermore, as mid-bass has slight emphasis, its sound is imbued with added warmth and body. As a result, the MEVI doesn’t sound lean or flat and I came away impressed with the MEVI’s very well-defined bass presentation. Upper-bass is also well-judged, with fairly neutral quantity. This produces a full low-end that lacks any muddiness while permitting a transparent midrange.



    Mids –

    [​IMG]
    Mids are slightly bright but manage impressive transparency. The MEVI can sound a little over-articulated at times due to a modest lower-treble spike. However, bass spill is non-existent and the MEVI’s linear upper-bass/lower-midrange transition produces natural vocals with pleasing presence and tone. The same can be said for its upper-midrange which sounds similar if a little fuller on account of the earphone’s lifted centre midrange. This style of tuning also produces more forward male vocals that well-compensate for their slight dip in quantity. Mids aren’t exceptionally well-layered nor are they perfectly transparent due to slight warming throughout, but instrument timbre is nice and vocals are presented in a clear yet natural manner.



    Highs –

    The MEVI’s high-end is relatively clean apart from a notable lower-treble peak that grants enhanced clarity. The MEVI is certainly a very well-detailed earphone for its price and some will love the added clarity this affords. However, it’s a narrow emphasis produces rather thin notes. This is most notable with strings that are subject to a little stridence and cymbals whose truncated decay sounds quite unnatural. Moreover, the MEVI rolls-off fairly quickly above, with little air and shimmer. This does contribute to their dark background which helps to bring foreground elements into focus. However, the MEVI lacks the superb resolution and separation of higher-end in-ears as a result; though, such a shortcoming is hardly a rarity at this price point. The end product is an ultimately pleasing albeit superficially detailed sound that lacks the finer nuances of class leaders.



    Soundstage –

    The MEVI is on the more intimate side in stage dimension, however, it easily avoids congestion. Width is above average but depth is quite limited on account of the MEVI’s vocal forward presentation. Vocals themselves are well-centred and instrument placement is accurate overall on account of their fairly balanced bass and midrange. However, as treble lacks extension, the MEVI’s sound doesn’t separate exceptionally well with blurred layers and distant to non-existent directional cues.



    Driveability –

    [​IMG]
    With a 32ohm impedance and 95dB sensitivity, the MEVI is fairly easy to drive. It reaches high volume from essentially any source while providing higher hiss resistance for noisier players. It does benefit from a more powerful source, but sounds fairly consistent between sources of differing output impedance due to its single dynamic driver design. For instance, the MEVI sounded perfectly fine from my iPod Nano 7G and iPod Touch, but its low end was appreciably tightener and more controlled from my Fiio X7 II. Still, I found the MEVI to be happily driven from a portable source or phone and a dedicated source is non-essential.



    Comparisons –

    [​IMG]
    Fiio F3 ($30): The F3’s main advantage over the MEVI is its more stable over-ear fit, its much sturdier cable and slightly more isolating design. That said, its plastic housings can’t match the aluminium MEVI and its fit isn’t quite as comfortable. In terms of sound, the MEVI is undoubtedly the better sounding earphone, but some may still prefer the F3 as it’s the immediately bassier earphone. The F3 also has better sub-bass extension and considerably larger emphasis, producing heightened Impact. However, as the F3 has a lot more mid-bass, it sounds far muddier and less defined than the tighter, faster MEVI.

    Mids are more recessed on the F3, they’re warmer and fuller but less transparent. The MEVI sounds more natural as it’s more balanced and lacks the considerable bass and treble colouration of the Fiio. And, though both have a narrow lower-treble peak, the F3 is brighter and a lot more aggressive. The MEVI actually extends more than the F3, it is also more balanced and detailed with higher resolution. The F3 does have a larger stage, but it’s a presentation populated with less detail and nuance than the MEVI.

    Final E2000 ($40): The E2000 is fairly similar in design and construction to the MEVI with aluminium bullet-style housings and a thinner cable. The cable on the E200 is actually even thinner, but it has better strain relief and is suppler. As the E2000 has an open design, it isolates a lot less. In listening, both are immensely impressive for their asking prices. The MEVI is once again more balanced, with the E2000 being a little bassier. However, unlike the Fiio, the E2000’s low-end remains well-controlled despite its emphasis, and it produces greater sub-bass extension.

    The E2000 has just a hair less definition than the MEVI due to its slight bloat. Mids are also a little recessed on the E2000, but they’re just as natural if not more so due to its more refined lower-treble. The E2000 is also a lot more layered and extended due to its open design. The E2000 lacks the aggressive lower-treble of the MEVI, but it’s just as detailed. The E2000 also extends further, with more linear lower/middle-treble. As such, it has greater air and separation. The E2000 has a much larger stage with better layering and instrument placement. It’s more separated on top.

    ADV M4 ($40): The M4 has impeccable build quality for the price, with aluminium housings and a beefy braided cable with proper strain relief throughout. The M4 also isolates a lot more than the MEVI. The M4 is another earphone that really over-performs at its asking price. It lacks the vast stage of the E2000, but has the most controlled, detailed sound I’ve heard around this price. The M4 is a little less balanced than the MEVI with notably more laid-back mids. It has similar bass extension and mid-bass emphasis but is a little less dynamic and defined than the MEVI.

    Mids are less articulate, but also more natural and separated. The M4 has a very detailed lower-treble response, it’s a wider peak than the MEVI but still a peak nonetheless. As a result, the M4 retrieves more detail and presents them with greater body. The M4 also has a little more extension so it doesn’t sound quite as clean, but has more accurate shimmer and air. The M4 has a more spacious stage, most notably due to its more laid-back midrange, but also due to its greater extension. It also has more defined layers and greater separation.



    Verdict –

    [​IMG]
    The MEVI prides itself on its tight, defined low-end and clear yet natural midrange. Though it may lack some background detail, the MEVI has a very well-considered sound signature that avoids over-flavouring and compromising genre versatility. They don’t have the most engaging sound, nor are they the most resolving earphone around this price. But the MEVI’s excellent ergonomics and balanced sound are easy to enjoy. Lypertek may not be a household name, lacking the aggressive marketing of earphones from Xiaomi and Fiio, but there’s no denying that the MEVI is a well-performing in-ear in its price class.
  6. Cinder
    That'll Do
    Written by Cinder
    Published Feb 9, 2018
    3.0/5,
    Pros - Pleasing, if not robust, treble, decent bass
    Cons - Cable lacks thickness
    Lypertek MEVI Review:
    Lypertek is a new brand from China. The MEVI, their first IEM, targets the budget audiophile bracket. How does this freshmen attempt do in a crowded market?

    You can find the MEVI for sale here, on Penon Audio, for $29.

    Disclaimer: This unit was provided to me free of charge for review purposes. I am not affiliated with Lypertek beyond this review. These words reflect my true, unaltered, opinion about the product.

    Preference and Bias: Before reading a review, it is worth mentioning that there is no way for a reviewer to objectively pass judgment on the enjoy-ability of a product: such a thing is inherently subjective. Therefore, I find it necessary for you to read and understand what I take a natural liking to and how that might affect my rating of a product.

    My ideal sound signature would be an extended sub-bass with a leveled, but textured, mid-bass. The mids should be slightly less pronounced than the treble, but still ahead of the bass. I prefer a more bright upper range.

    Source: The MEVI was powered like so:

    HTC U11 -> USB-C adapter -> earphones

    or

    Hidizs AP100 3.5mm out -> FiiO A5 3.5mm out -> earphones

    or

    HiFiMAN SuperMini -> earphones

    or

    PC optical out -> HiFiMe SPDIF 9018 Sabre DAC 3.5mm out -> earphones

    All music was served as MP3 @320Kbps or as FLAC.

    Sound Signature
    Initial Impressions:

    The MEVI makes use of a standard consumer V-shaped sound signature with some small modifications: the mid-range is evened out towards the lower mids and the upper treble is slightly boosted. Mid-bass is slightly boosted ahead of sub-bass, and the two are matched quite well.

    Treble: Songs used: In One Ear, Midnight City, Outlands, Satisfy

    Treble is actually quite satisfying. I was expecting the tin-can style of treble where the upper treble is just cut off and ignored, but the MEVI actually extends fairly well. That said there is a fine amount of resolution and detail retrieval — cymbals and high-hats are relatively distinct, though busy sections of a song will cause some of that resolution to deteriorate.

    The tonality of the MEVI’s treble is fairly uncommon: it features a dry, but not sharp, upper range. This aids articulation and allows the MEVI to portray drums and background string instrumentation with some air even in a very busy chorus.

    Mids: Songs used: Flagpole Sitta, Jacked Up, I Am The Highway, Dreams

    The MEVI’s mids are above-average in detail retrieval for the budget bracket. I am really happy with what you get for what you pay here: guitars are pretty well textured, vocals have above-average intelligibility, and mid-bound instrumentation has passable placement and separation.

    Midrange tonality is overall pretty neutral but leans towards the brighter side.

    Bass: Songs used: Moth, Gold Dust, In For The Kill (Skream Remix), War Pigs (Celldweller Remix)

    I was most concerned about the MEVI’s bass, as this is a common stumbling-block among manufacturers in their early IEMs. The bass was neither too aggressive, nor was it too weak. Within the context of the rest of the sound signature, it was just right and seemed to be tuned well given the dynamic driver’s limitations.

    As for its characteristics, the bass is full and lush — n effective and satisfying contrast to the dryer treble. It doesn’t overflow into the lower mids, nor does it distort or soften in bass-heavy songs. I found it to be very consistent throughout each of my test songs, providing bass at both the quantity and quality I wanted. While this isn’t exactly a basshead IEM, it certainly does target an audience who likes to have more bass than less of it.

    Packaging / Unboxing
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Minimalist; cost effective.

    Build
    Construction Quality

    [​IMG]
    While I am definitely a fan of how Lypertek handled the MEVI’s sound characteristics, I find that the build department has some areas in which it could improve. For example, while the plastic shells are well sculpted and don’t have any obvious flaws to them, the cable is too thin above the Y-splitter. Reinforcing that section is definitely a good idea.

    [​IMG]
    The MEVI makes use of a single-button in-line control scheme. It also features a built-in microphone and is compatible with both Android and IOS devices. The button works well enough and has a relatively tactile feel.

    [​IMG]
    Spelling Error.
    The Y-splitter is made of plastic and has the MEVI (MAVI?)’s name printed on it. This is another area where I would suggest a change: extend the stress relief components further out. They would be far more effective like that.

    [​IMG]
    The 3.5mm jack that the cable is terminated with has a good amount of stress relief and seems sturdy enough. No complaints here.

    Comfort

    The MEVI is light and small, making it easy to find a comfortable fit. Even my girlfriend, who’s ears are tiny, managed to get a comfortable seal.

    Accessories
    [​IMG]
    The MEVI’s accessories are understandably sparse. Inside the box you will find:

    • 3x pairs of silicone eartips
    • 1x shirt clip
    • 1x semi-hard carrying case
    For a cheap IEM I don’t really expect anything better from the MEVI: it has a shirt clip, a functional, if not particularly aesthetically appealing, case, and some extra eartips.

    Summary
    I am a fan of the MEVI. It doesn’t try and do much, but what it does do it does fairly well. Its sound signature is tuned well for the budget driver it uses, and while the build quality leaves something to be desired, it hardly hinders the daily use of the MEVI. So if you are in the mood to try something out from the new guy on the block, go for the MEVI! For $30, its a bit hard to be disappointed.