1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice
  1. Wretched Stare
    Good performer for $20.
    Written by Wretched Stare
    Published Oct 16, 2019 at 2:17 PM
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Price , Build, Improved Sound over last generation.
    Cons - KZ cable we all love, a sparkle in the highs that might be too much for some.
    A improved version of the ZSN and ZST line with more refinement in sound details and a more controlled lower end. Yes its a typical V shaped signature with lots of energy but is far more balanced in mids and bass than I was expecting the highs have that KZ sparkle that's not for everyone but can be adjusted with better tips or EQ settings. Build quality is outstanding for this price compared to my older ZST they look like much more expensive earphones.
    My thanks to Senlee audio for the review sample so I could do a video and this review in my own opinion as always.
    20191012_110439.jpg
    https://www.amazon.com/Headphones-E...ds=senlee&qid=1571249809&s=electronics&sr=1-7
  2. SoraNeko
    Quite good for the price, i'm impressed
    Written by SoraNeko
    Published Oct 9, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Price,Sound, Build Quality, Comfort
    Cons - Cable, and harsh highs that might bother some people
    Full review here https://raffaeleaudio.altervista.org/kz_zsn_pro/
    Those are great for the price, well balanced, not harsh, maybe a bit, but on pair with the standard v.shaped sound, nothing like the beyerdynamics 990 that pierces my ears for example
    Mids doesn't seems as recessed as i was expecting, and bass is present but not too prominent
    Overall for the price paid i think those are a safe bet.
    Only cons are the built in cable, that tangles way too easily and the harsh highs (again, it doesn't bother me that much, and i'm pretty treble sensitive)
  3. chillearphonehub
    KZ ZSN PRO: BUDGET BEAST?
    Written by chillearphonehub
    Published Jul 31, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Comfortable

    Good isolation

    Good bass extension

    Super affordable

    Strong separation
    Cons - Bass might be too heavy

    A bit sibilant

    Would have preferred a better cable
    7FF5B81B-439B-4A51-9700-C6BD38AD3171.jpeg D9355729-802D-4437-BC66-EE63093AD5BD.jpeg 130E4400-8948-4338-AB17-66FAEA36BDC5.jpeg 0167F9A5-1771-4EEF-BCBE-112AE90349E0.jpeg 022BE2CD-87F5-40F6-BFCD-C46EB6A3FD1D.jpeg E002F432-58DD-4D29-8167-772415C424AB.jpeg Introduction
    The kz zsn pro is a upgraded version of the original kz zsn. As the kz zsn became highest popular due to it’s value and good sound for the price range kz released an upgraded version of the kz zsn, which is the kz zsn pro.

    Disclaimer
    I would like to thank Lucas form linsoul audio for making this review possible by arranging a review unit in exchange for an honest review. This review is completely based on my opinion. If you would like to order the iem please use the amazon link below.

    https://www.amazon.com/Monitors-Ear...KX0DER&qid=1562565137&s=merchant-items&sr=1-4

    https://m.ru.aliexpress.com/item/32...d=6396amp-VWgMOK-yy6nVk9zVj6xSfw1566897273849

    Sources used during the review
    Fiio m11
    iPhone xr and fiio q1 mk ii


    Accessories and packaging
    The kz zsn pro comes in the usual minimal white kz box. On the front is a outline of the kz zsn pro and on the back there are specifications on the back.

    • frequency: 7-40000 HS
    • impedance: 24
    • sensitivity: 112dB

    Inside the box when opened the kz zsn pro are presented with a cut out box. The accessories that are include are the warranty card, the manual, the cable, and 3 “starlight” kz ear-tips.

    Build quality
    The build quality of the kz zsn pro are almost identical to the original zsn. It has a metal build on the front and a plastic build that covers the rest. In my opinion I didn’t like the cable of the kz zsn pro because the color wasn’t very attractive, I would have rather preferred a copper cable like the purple kz zsn or a black cable.


    Bass
    The kz zsn pro has punchy mid-bass but it is able to remain controlled without over-invading mids but will still bleed to the mids.

    The sub-bass can get deep and fill-in any deep bass requirements of any track and genre but will not have a basshead-styled sub-bass. The bass heads will not enjoy this very much because of the sub-bass

    Mids
    The kz zsn pro mids have a bit of mid-bass bleed, yet it is still alive.

    Higher mids and female vocals are clear and crisp with slight risk of harshy peaks – only with track with very intense higher mids.

    Highs
    The kz zsn pro highs are bright with fair detail and an almost forward tuning that can risk to become fatiguing at times.

    Some piercing peaks can arise.it can be quite harsh for some listeners.

    Overall, it’s upper end is open for a closed back earphone.
  4. silverking123
    Wonderful IEMs for the Masses At a Low Price
    Written by silverking123
    Published Jul 2, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Great sound for the price, Comfortable design, Huge potential
    Cons - Sharp highs at 8-16k range, bad out of the box cable, nothing much really
    Introduction
    The KZ ZSN Pro is an update to the highly regarded KZ ZSN, known for its great value and sound which was a departure from the bass heavy KZ earphones that came before it. The new ZSN Pros is a single dynamic and single BA driver IEMs which also have a very similar price, around 20 or 30 US dollars, to its predecessor, and as a result offers the same value for the money. If that is the case, what makes the KZ ZSN Pro such a special IEM? When the ZSN came out, there was little competition but as time moved on, many have seen the ZSN and offered a challenge, example being the TRN V30. So this review will be targeted at seeing if the ZSN Pro is a relevant choice for budget buyers who want great sounding IEMs for relatively little money.

    Package
    So a product always begins with its packaging. The packaging of the IEMs is rather clean and fairly attractive. The entire package is white with all text printed black, allowing for easy reading of the lettering without strain. The front has a simple printed diagram of the IEMs in monochrome with its name placed at the bottom left corner. At the back, there are some specifications of the IEMs such as its weight, size, frequency and impedance. Aside from that, the back also has KZ's address, email address and website written under the specifications. Overall a nice looking package that's surprisingly well assembled for the price.

    Under the box are the IEMs nestled into a cut out piece of foam, covered with plastic over the top. Under the IEMs are the name of the IEMs and additional information. Below the plastic and foam, is a bag of extra silicon tips, a small bag containing the 0.75mm cables and a warranty card. Overall, a pretty basic and no fuss packaging that doesn't offend anyone.

    Physical properties
    The IEMs I purchased has the blue plastic shell and a ridged metal faceplate attached with a single Torx screw. The first thing I noticed was the lightness of the IEMs which was great, unlike the other IEMs that have a full metal heavy construction. The blue shell was great looking, had a nice transparent look to it which did not have any hard edges or creases, huge thumbs up from me because it helps with preventing discomfort on my ear. The 2 pin connector is somewhat odd as it is protruded out of the shell instead of being hidden beneath the shell. This was an odd choice which I find as a con because it increases the chances of the 2 pins snapping off. The overall fit was nice and secure, with a great isolating shape, perfect for many types of ear shapes.

    Then there was the cables. The included cable is a KZ copper coloured cable with a mic which did not feel quality, tangled like crazy and had a splitter that was way too low. Honestly, a better cable experience would have been appreciated but for 20 US dollars, I guess there isn't much to complain.

    Sound
    Of course the most important factor is the sound. Do these sound great for the price? The answer is absolutely. Are these amazing? Sort of ,but debatable.

    To test, I used my Fiio X1ii and also my Galaxy Note 8 to simulate a most probable usage case with the IEMs. Again, no one would ever be using these IEMs with expensive equipment anyways.

    The first thing I noticed right away was the bass. The bass of the ZSN Pros are straight up unreal for the price. The bass is strong, fast and punchy, a huge treat for any tracks that contain deep bass or drum beats. I tried the track "DNA" by Kendrick Lamar which sounded great with its low beats taking up great strength whilst decaying fast for clearer definition. The bass is also very clear, without any real muddiness which can be attributed to its newer dynamic drivers. I then also tried "Before you accuse me" by Eric Clapton and the bass was well contained, very rarely becoming overpowering to an undesirable degree.

    Then I noticed that the mids were also slightly recessed. The mids sound great, had good clarity however has some of its lower frequencies jumbled with bass, making some deep male voices sound somewhat bassy and unnatural. However other than that, the frequency was nicely maintained, has great control and did not become too fatigued to listen to overall. In the Eric Clapton track, the guitars and voices sounded well balanced maybe with the guitars being slightly louder than normal but nothing to complain about. In the track, "Given Up" by Linkin Par, the mids was not exactly airy and has some congestion due to the use of only two drivers but the wocals was clear, bass was clean and nothing too bad.

    Finally the highs. The highs might be the single sound issue I had using these IEMs. The highs at the 8k and 16k range was boosted which caused some sibilance and piercing, not desirable to any extent. In the track "Stay" by Post Malone which had a very forward vocal, the sibilance was quite distracting and piercing notes were noticeably sharp. But I was able to EQ the treble down in the two high regions which helped give vocals a more natural feel and less exhausting signature though I must say, self experimentation is definitely required for better sound.

    Overall the sound signature is a slight V shape with strong bass, boosted highs and slightly recessed mids. Tracks such as "Stay" by Post Malone along with "Before you accuse me" by Eric Clapton do leave something to be desired when played on the ZSN Pros. But don't get me wrong, the songs sound great on the IEMs, its just that a more neutral and flat sound might be more desirable in that case. However on tracks such as "DNA" by Kendrick Lamar, "Lucky You" by Eminem and other rock, pop or hip hop tracks, work well with these thanks to its strong bass, clean reproduction and recessed mids.

    Overall the IEMs sound great for the price, undoubtedly a bargain for budget buyers who desire great fidelity

    Equalization and Customization
    As previously mentioned, EQ helps a lot with the sibilance and piercing highs which improved the experience to a very significant degree. This is further improved by the very high sensitivity of the IEMs which makes EQing a breeze. On my configuration, I tuned down the 8k and 16k range slightly to combat the overpowering highs, boost the 2k and 1k range slightly to raise the recessed mids while keeping the bass as it is. The resulting sound is slightly fun yet clear enough for serious listening however if you buy a pair, try to experiment yourself to see what works best.

    I also change the eartips to KZ's foam tips which improved the isolation, bass and slightly reduced the highs to a less uncomfortable range. Of course depending on what tips you use, the sound will vary slightly. I highly recommend Comply tips for its ability to subdue bass slightly and provide great isolation.

    I also then purchased a TRN BT20 module which can turn any IEMs into fully wireless ones. The adapter is great for on the go operation and is equipped with Bluetooth 5.0 which helped make sudden disconnects or cut off almost impossible to detect. However the sound is definitely degraded but that is just the nature of Bluetooth. For more info, Ill make a review of the TRN BT20 module very soon.

    Conclusion
    The KZ KSN Pros are a wonderful pair of inexpensive IEMs and anyone can afford. The sound quality is very well done and clean. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to compare it to other IEMs because I did not have any that was in the same range and it would be unfair to compare it to a significantly more expensive pair. Overall I say that if you are in need of a pair of cheap IEMs, take a look at the ZSN Pro.
  5. mrbuzzer
    A Budget Winner for KZ
    Written by mrbuzzer
    Published Jun 20, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Comfort
    Nicely tuned sound profile
    Attractive design
    Can wear for hours
    Cons - A tad V shaped tonally
    Not crazy about cable tangles
    I own a bunch or earbuds and I like to talk about them so, hence, here is a very concise review of one of the many KZ models out there. I don't believe in lengthy reviews because time is precious. There are other things to do.

    Basically, I don't know where you can find an earbud more capable for $20 than the KZ ZSN Pro. They are certainly not perfect, but you have to consider a price-to-perfection ratio when reviewing equipment and this one is high. I have a lot of IEMs and have never been crazy about the over ear style, but I have to tell you these are the most comfortable buds I own. You can wear them for hours and they pretty much disappear. Don't underestimate this. IEMs can sound great but if they don't stay in your ear or hurt, then forget it. These are much improved over most earlier KZ models because they have a flatter casing and a very nice pre-formed cable hook for around the ear. The tips are back tilted and fairly deep. Overall a nice combination.

    This is a dual driver hybrid setup with a 10mm dual magnet driver and a balanced armature. KZ is all over the place with armature and driver setups, and usually they go in the right direction with new models. The ZSN PRO is an improvement over earlier iterations and, while not the most detailed or bass solid you will hear, the overall sound profile is very listenable and non-intrusive. The music seems to have a sweet and correctly tuned middle frequency which nicely brings out vocals without being too forward. The highs don't pierce. The bass is not head rattling but is solid enough to be quite satisfying. The overall profile is very immersive for the price.

    The build quality is typical KZ of late, very solid, attractive metal plate in matte zinc and detachable cabling. Not a fan of the braided cable because of some tangling issues, but these seems to be all the rage right now. But overall, if I had a $20 bill in my pocket and wanted to hear some music, I would head in this direction.

    IMG_1599.jpg IMG_1603.jpg 51gPP5NZsXL._AC_SL1500_.jpg
  6. beachpea
    KZ ZSN Pro's and its KZ Cousins Compared
    Written by beachpea
    Published Jun 12, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Expansive, immersive, full-range sound
    Cons - $7 -$8 more than its "KZ cousins"
    The KZ ZSN Pro is only my third foray into KZ IEM’s, the first being several years ago with the purchase of first generation KZ ED9’s in 2015. My second Chi-Fi experiment was with the acquisition of a pair of second generation CCA-CA4 in-ears in April 2019. Most recently, I took delivery of the subject of this review, the KZ ZSN Pro, in May 2019. My purpose, then, in writing this review is to compare the sound characteristics and qualities of these three "KZ cousins".


    First, I will say that all three of these IEM’s represent excellent values in the earphone market, ranging in price from $14.00 to $22.00. Although price remains a factor in any headphone purchase, it is almost negligible in this case. Performance, then, is the critical factor in every choice for me.


    Among the three, there is a full range of sound characteristics which makes for good comparison. As the price for each of these three models ascends (KZ ED9 for $13, CCA-CA4 for $14, and KZ ZSN for $22), so does their performance.


    The ED9 is a single dynamic driver earphone with a tendency toward mid-bass combined with treble in a V shaped curve. Fun listening though colored to make it so.


    The CCA-CA4, cousin to the KZ line of earphones, is a dual driver model with one balanced armature for mid and treble frequencies, and a dynamic driver for bass frequencies in each ear. The primary acoustic benefits over the ED9 are a wider soundstage and more articulate presentation for the additional dollar. On the downside, though, are the size and weight of the earphone shells necessary to accommodate the extra drivers. Thanks to those BA drivers, however, the CA4 offers a more balanced, full-range sound, with more emphasis on the treble range than the ED9. There can be some stridency and occasional sibilance depending on the sound source.


    Finally, the KZ ZSN Pro, among the latest of the KZ offerings, combines the strengths of both the ED9 and the CA4, adding more emphasis on the middle frequencies without sacrificing the highs or lows. Interestingly, the driver configuration is the same as the CCA, both with a single dynamic driver and a single balanced driver in each ear, but the sound between the two models differs greatly, the KZ ZSN Pro being my preferred choice for more expansive, immersive, and full-range sound without any signs of sibilance or distortion.


    In conclusion, I can honestly say that all three models far exceed expectations, both for their prices and regardless of price. Though the differences among them largely boil down to a matter of sound preference, musical genre, and subjective taste, the KZ ZSN Pro is well worth the additional few dollars over the ED9 and the CA4. I can only imagine how much better the newest KZ model, the KZ KZ10 Pro, can be, especially when compared to its global competition! For now, at least, the KZ ZSN Pro earns my highest rating!
  7. Acetheacer
    Great Value
    Written by Acetheacer
    Published May 29, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Great detail, clarity, low impedance, Looks nice
    Cons - Bass overshadows mids, Background white noise
    This is my first pair of KZs and i bought it really cheap at about 16.50 usd. This earphones really impressed me as all other budget earphones i previously heard at around that price range such as remax were underwhelming, usually being overly bassy and lacking any clarity (probably catering to the average consumer). However this earphone was exceptional; clarity of the audio such as vocals and symbols really stood out to me.


    Packaging
    At this price point the packaging was great, the iem and cable were separately packed and it too came with a the KZ star shaped eartips. Both are the standard accessories for the KZ earphones.

    Low
    The bass on this earphones are really prominent. It sometimes drown out a bit of details from the mids at times. However if you are a bass head it is quite enjoyable. Furthermore for casual listening to pop music or hip hop where the instrumentals are not so important, it does not really matter so much

    Mids
    The mids are probably the weakest link in this earphones as vocals and electric guitar sounds a bit recessed or in the background. However the clarity in the vocals and instruments are still there despite being 'further away'.

    Highs
    The highs are pretty good too as I able to hear the details from drum symbols and high pitched vocals. Unlike the KZ ZST this earphone does not seem to have a significant spike at certain high frequency which is great.

    Build quality
    The IEM seems to be pretty sturdy, have dropped it many times and still works fine. The removable cable also extends the life of the earphones as the cable. However the default cable a bit flimsy and always tangles up, I'm not too sure if the cable will be able to last long

    Additional information
    The earphone also has really low impedance and doesn't take much to drive it which is good use on the phone. The earphones also has a bit of white noise when playing any sounds which can be annoying if you listen to music at a low volume, but i notice when i use an amplifier or a DAP like the fiio x5 ii or e12 this issue goes away.

    Conclusion
    In conclusion the KZ ZSN pro has a fun V shaped sound signature. Of course this earphone has some flaws but at this price point it is more than forgivable. Another plus point of the affordable price is requiring less responsibility to take care of it, i don't feel so guilty throwing it in my pocket without a carry case. It would be worthwhile to own this earphone just for fun. It also makes a great gift to for non-audiophile friends and family.
  8. tmpsn
    KZ ZSN Pro
    Written by tmpsn
    Published May 29, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Clear, bright highs
    Strong bass response
    Great build for the price range
    Cons - Treble can be overwhelming
    Mids are nothing to write home about
    Not a clear upgrade to the non-pro ZSN
    The KZ ZSN pro is an iteration on the original ZSN by KZ, with a different tuning and slightly different design. It shares the same KZ 30095 balanced armature unit, but with a different version of KZ’s 10mm dynamic driver.

    Build and Accessories:
    Acrylic shell with metal plate on the outside, similar to the non-pro ZSN and ZS10 pro. The plate on the ZSN pro is a matte zinc alloy with raised details, so scratching should be a bit less noticeable than on the other two earphones. As with the ZS10 pro, the shell is quite comfortable in the ear (and in fact appears to be the same design). Accessories are a set of three pairs of KZ’s star-shaped silicone ear tips, plus a set of “plain” medium silicone ear tips. The cable is the newer brown braided 2-pin type with the keyed connector, though it is still compatible with other KZ 2-pin connectors.

    Sound:
    Very similar to the ZS10 pro, but noticeably brighter and with more of a v-shape in its frequency response. Soundstage and imaging are decent, but of course not going to blow anything out of the water.

    Highs are emphasized in this earphone, very clear and precise, but there’s a bit of that sibilance present that characterized the KZ ZS6. I personally enjoy the clarity for certain music styles, such as acoustic and vocal focused songs, but it could fairly be considered harsh.

    Mids are satisfactory in their control and detail but are a bit overshadowed by the brightness of the treble and impact of the bass. Not particularly remarkable, but they do their job.

    At lower frequencies, the response picks back up. It’s not a warm earphone, but the bass is punchy. Not as subtly detailed as the rest of the sound signature, but exciting in its delivery. Nicely suited to electronic genres, such as EDM and future funk.

    Overall:
    At around the $20 mark, it’s hard to be disappointed with the ZSN pro. It’s a decent set to have as a beater or a workout pair, with a sturdy build quality that suits this use well. From what I can tell though, it’s not a definitive upgrade over the original ZSN (unlike with the ZS10 to ZS10 pro), just another choice to consider.


    IMG-9569.JPG IMG-9571.JPG
    IMG-9717.JPG
    IMG-9716.JPG
  9. nxnje
    ZSN PRO - New budget KZ Strenght
    Written by nxnje
    Published May 21, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Great SQ
    Immersive due to the great dynamic
    Super comfortable and great isolation
    Well built and great design
    Price
    Cons - Cable prone to tangle
    Bass could be more authoritative and visceral
    Hello everyone!
    After so much time reading about the ZSN hype, i’ve received a very discounted sample (0.18$) of the ZSN Pro by AK Audio Store (which i keep recommending because of their amazing customer service and products prices) in exchange of a honest review.
    Disclaimer: i do not have the ZSN in order to compare it with the ZSN Pro, so everything is just based on my personal listening experience with the ZSN Pro.

    [​IMG]


    Just wanna precise that my impressions are subjective and that listening experience can change depending on source, tips and so on.

    Test were made on:
    – Galaxy S7 Edge Smartphone
    – Presonus AudioBOX iONE connected to my PC with no Enhancements actived
    – AGPTEK M30B/Benjie S8 DAP
    I even connect my Fiio A3 when i need it if i hear some earphones need a little more power.

    Technical specs:
    Drivers: 1 DD + 1 BA
    Sensitivity: 112dB
    Impedance: 24ohm
    Frequency Response: 7 Hz – 40000 Hz
    Cable lenght: 1.2m Detachable (0.75mm PINs): cable connectors are different from normal ones. Connector here is female one, while other KZ cables are male ones, you’ll see in the cable section.
    Plug Type: L-type

    PACKAGING
    Classic KZ carton package. You’ll find IEMs, cable and eartips (4 pairs: 1 soft pair + 3 Starline classic tips pairs).
    No carry case included (as usual). KZ please, listen to us: include a carry case!!!

    [​IMG]

    CABLE
    Cable is really similar to the one that KZ has been selling as upgrade cable, and i think it’s the same one that’s featured with the CCA C10, except for the connectors, which are approached in a different way. As you can see the connector here has 2 female pinholes while the standard KZ cable has male PINs.
    This seems to be the new standard KZ wanna follow.
    Cable is prone to tangling but pre-made hooks are so comfy compared to the memory wire hooks. The cable is not bad in any case, i love it if we compare it to the old ZS6/ZS5/ZS3’s one.

    [​IMG]

    CONSTRUCTION AND INTERNALS
    Fantastic build. The faceplate is made of metal while the rest of the shell is made of high quality plastic. Everything is well assembled and feels very solid. I think this is one of the best KZ products in terms of build quality.
    There is a vent just behind the dynamic driver which should help giving it some air for a better performance.
    There’s the usual nozzle grill with an appreciated nozzle lip. Everything seems very well assembled even in this part of the IEMs.
    1DD + 1BA makes them another hybrid setup in the KZ line.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    COMFORT AND ISOLATION
    Awesome comfort: the rounded and smooth shape of the ZSN Pro makes them very comfortable even for long listening sessions. I’ve tried a 4hrs listening session and i personally forgot i had them in my ears, i was just enjoying the music and i seriously didn’t even think they were still in my ears.
    Isolation is very good, i tried to use them in a very busy zone of my city and i didn’t have to turn up the volume in a strong way, medium level of listening was pretty ok, even with stock starline tips that i'll put just below.

    [​IMG]

    SOUND
    Let’s get into it.
    Now the critical factor that decides if something has to be tried or not: how do they sound?
    I mainly listen to EDM subgenres, Dupstep, Future Bass, Euphoric Hardstyle, Bass House, Midtempo and downtempo, darkwave, drum’n bass, but i even listen to many vocal tracks, moreover female ones.
    I always search for IEMs that have a little bit of emphasis in the lower region, and can sacrifice mids with some recession if they still sound clear and natural. I love vivid and sparkling highs if they‘re not at a headache level.
    V-shape signature is my favourite one.

    Lows: I love the way these are tuned in the low region. Sub-bass is there, controlled and balanced in my opinion.
    Bass is emphasized with great texturing, but lacks some authority that i usually pretend by a dynamic driver.

    Mids: I would say slight recessed. Male voices do not have the warm timbre of the CCA C10 but still sound well reproduced. Female voices sound delicate, fresh and intimate without sibilance.
    Synths are a bit laidback but that’s intended in the V-shape signature of the ZSN Pro.
    I really like how does the midrange sound with great resolution and natural tonality.

    Highs: Definitely bright, but not in a bad way. Highs are not sharp like ZS6 or V80s ones, but brilliant in a very good way. Treble sensitive people will not have many problems, but i can understand they can sound fatiguing after some time. Upper treble has good extension making the ZSN Pro sound with plenty of air, while lower treble is emphasized with a lot of energy.
    Detail retrieval is pretty good considering the price range.

    Soundstage is good, wider than deep and with good height. Instrument separation is great, moreover if we consider how much we’re paying for the ZSN Pros. Imaging is not bad at all being another plus for the ZSN Pro.
    At first listen, great dynamic was the first thing i got and i still think these are extremely fun even because of it.

    SUMMARY
    KZ did it again. The ZSN Pro are going to be the budget king now, moreover if we think about the hype train that ZSN started.
    I think there are a few products that can compete with the ZSN at this price. Maybe the TRN V80 (if found at the same price) can be a good contender, but they’re actually in another league considering the V80s are more balanced than the ZSN Pro along the spectrum.
    The ZSN Pro are simply great, comfortable, well built, fun and fresh.
    You could not ask for more at this price.
  10. Nimweth
    KZ ZSN Pro: Alternative Reality
    Written by Nimweth
    Published May 17, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Well-balanced sound
    Near neutral bass and mids
    Extended treble response
    Comfortable fit
    Cons - Slightly shallow soundstage
    Some bass bleed
    Occasional sharp peaks in the treble
    The ZSN Pro is one of the latest models in a new series of IEMs from KZ (Knowledge Zenith) featuring metal faceplates, revised drive units and a new type of connector. The ZSN Pro is an update to the original ZSN and like the earlier model, is a dual-driver hybrid (1DD + 1BA). The dynamic driver is a new 10mm dual magnet design which is claimed to be equivalent to a 14-15mm unit. It is the same as that used in the new KZS10 Pro and the CCA CA4 and has a field strength of 1 Tesla. The balanced armature is the familiar 30095 unit which has been extensively modified.

    The packaging is the usual KZ small white box with an outline drawing of the IEMs on the front and some specifications printed on the back. Inside, the earphones are presented in a cut-out with the words “Hybrid Technology Earphone, Classic Upgrade” printed below. Under this cut-out you will find the detachable cable, a set of three Starline-type tips and documentation. A further set of soft silicone tips is pre-fitted on the IEMs.

    The ZSN Pro has an alloy faceplate which has three embossed chevrons on its surface and looks futuristic in design. The shape is similar to that of the CCA C10. The body of the earphone is made of a clear acrylic through which the components can be seen. The words “ZSN Pro, Classic Upgrade” appear on the side of the earpieces. My particular example came in a fetching purple colour and looked very attractive.

    The detachable cable is of a new design, following that used on the above-mentioned ZSN. It has a clear plastic female connector (known as “Type C”) with the pins being situated on the body of the IEMs. The cable itself is a braided copper-coloured type and has a very long section between the chunky Y-split and the earpieces and as a result is somewhat prone to tangling. The plug is a right-angled plastic 3.5mm type.

    The earphones were left burning in for over 50 hours before testing and included tracks of white and pink noise, glide tones and other audio conditioning tracks. After this I used a Hifi Walker H2 DAP with a Fiio A5 amplifier for evaluation.

    The ZSN Pro was tested using the supplied cable and the pre-fitted tips, which resulted in a very comfortable fit. The seal and isolation were above average. Sensitivity was fine, with adequate volume achieved on various devices, including a Moto G3 smartphone, but I found the sound balance preferable when run through the DAP via line out with a headphone amplifier.

    The recent series of IEMs released by KZ’s sister company CCA have adopted a more neutral sound, excepting the latest CA4, which I found to have a more V or W-shaped profile. Conversely, the ZSN Pro, rather than exhibiting a strong V-shaped character in traditional KZ style, displayed a more balanced, shallow V-shaped response. In this respect I found it to have some of the qualities of both the CCA C10 and the more ambitious C16.

    Bass

    The bass was more mid-bass focused compared to the CCA CA4, which had a more sub-bass emphasis. As a result the overall balance was slightly warmer than neutral, and resembled that of the CCA C10. Sub-bass was present where it occurred in the recording, but was not overdone. In Rachmaninov’s “Symphonic Dance No.1” performed by the Minnesota Orchestra conducted by Eiji Oue, the bass drum had good impact and depth with a crisp initial strike. Decay was fairly quick resulting in a clean quality in this part of the spectrum. There was good weight to the orchestral climaxes. The deep synth bass underpinning Andrew Forrest’s “Unveiling Eternity” from his album “One” enhanced the atmosphere of the piece rather than dominating, producing a very natural balance. The appropriately mechanical sounds of the bass accompaniment in Pink Floyd’s “Welcome to the Machine” were suitably menacing, providing a perfect backdrop to the guitar chords and vocals.

    Mids

    The lower midrange had a warm character due to a little bass bleed which gave an attractive bloom to this area, again somewhat similar to that of the CCA C10. Generally, the midrange was a little recessed, but it did rise close to the boundary with the treble, giving good impact and immediacy. The bright energetic quality of E.J. Moeran’s “Serenade in G” performed by the Northern Sinfonia under Richard Hickox was a perfect example of this. Brass had appropriate shimmer and bite and percussion hit hard. The syncopated rhythms were beautifully articulated and produced a very attractive performance. Vocals were well delineated. Anne Murray’s voice in “You Needed Me” sounded great. Her clear diction and phrasing delivered all the emotion of the song, with the ambience of the recording venue nicely rendered. Supertramp’s “Know who you are” was another good example with Rick Davies’s light and expressive voice soaring over the accompaniment of guitars and strings to great effect. There was not as much detail from the ZSN Pro as the ZS7 or the CCA C16, but then I frequently had to remind myself of the price of these IEMs when hearing how well these acquitted themselves in this respect.

    Treble

    The high frequencies on these were well-extended with a brightness somewhat north of neutral, reminding me of CCA’s C16 (a far more costly model). The treble was generally smooth but there were some sharp peaks occasionally, especially at higher volumes, and with sibilance only occurring when actually present in the recording. This extension endowed the treble with air and sparkle. Andrew Heath’s “Headland” from his album “Soundings” is an ambient piece with numerous tinkly percussive elements which shone out nicely over the gentle synth background. The atmosphere of the piece was very well conveyed. “Wunjo” is the title track of Giles Reaves’s debut electronic album which is inspired by the Nordic runes. The quick, incisive and percussive synth accompaniment was clear and precise and drove the track along with a sense of urgency. The delicate acoustic guitars in Dan Fogelberg’s “Longer” had plenty of character and were spread attractively towards the boundary of the stereo image, forming a perfect foil for the poetic vocal line.

    Soundstage

    The ZSN Pro’s soundstage displayed good width and average height, but depth was a little shallow, resulting in the image being pushed slightly forward. Instrumental positioning was fairly good, though there was some flattening during climaxes. There was plenty of “air” in the stereo image which was stable and solid. The ambience of recording locations was well-presented and helped to create a believable, although reduced, space for the music. Benny Andersson’s “Piano” is a beautifully-recorded album of solo piano pieces with a fairly intimate acoustic. The ZSNs rendered this with a somewhat close perspective, which focused on the instrument rather than the recording space. Vangelis’s “Antarctic Echoes” also displayed a reduced soundstage and a little of the spacious quality of the piece was lost as a result. However, these criticisms only apply when compared to substantially more costly models.

    Conclusion

    The ZSN Pro presents an alternative sound picture to the recent CCA CA4 which employs the same drive units and cable and is a direct competitor. It is a question of balance. The ZSN Pro has a more neutral and arguably a more natural tuning, warmer mid-bass and lower mids, and a fairly energetic treble. The CA4 has a more lively, entertaining V or W shaped profile, more prominent sub-bass and a larger three-dimensional soundstage. The CA4 is the more immediately impressive of the two but the ZSN shows its merits after more extended listening. A worthwhile evolution of the KZ hybrid line possessing further refinement, the ZSN Pro represents great value with its well-balanced sound, comfortable fit and robust output.

    Note: I would like to thank Gina from Senlee at Amazon.com for her excellent service and communication and for providing this review sample at no cost to me.

    Product link:

    https://www.amazon.com/Earphones-Fi...ywords=senlee&qid=1557841061&s=gateway&sr=8-2



    P1010175.JPG P1010176.JPG P1010177.JPG P1010179.JPG