1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

Hypersense HEX02

Rating:
3.75/5,
  1. Cinder
    Metal and Bass
    Written by Cinder
    Published Feb 6, 2018
    3.0/5,
    Pros - Metal shell, good microphone and buttons, decent accessory array, powerful bass, warm and lush mids
    Cons - Sub-bass under-powered, mids a bit too thick
    [​IMG]
    Hypersense HEX02 Review: Metal and Bass
    Hypersense is another new brand coming from China. Their name and design language all screams “I am modern”. While I know nothing about the people behind the operation, I can at least help you understand their taste in IEM design.

    You can find the HEX02 for sale here, on Penon Audio, for $25.

    Disclaimer: This unit was provided to me free of charge for review purposes. I am not affiliated with Hypersense beyond this review. These words reflect my true, unaltered, opinion about the product.

    Preference and Bias: Before reading a review, it is worth mentioning that there is no way for a reviewer to objectively pass judgment on the enjoy-ability of a product: such a thing is inherently subjective. Therefore, I find it necessary for you to read and understand what I take a natural liking to and how that might affect my rating of a product.

    My ideal sound signature would be an extended sub-bass with a leveled, but textured, mid-bass. The mids should be slightly less pronounced than the treble, but still ahead of the bass. I prefer a more bright upper range.

    Source: The HEX02 was powered like so:

    HTC U11 -> USB-C adapter -> earphones

    or

    Hidizs AP100 3.5mm out -> FiiO A5 3.5mm out -> earphones

    or

    HiFiMAN SuperMini -> earphones

    or

    PC optical out -> HiFiMe SPDIF 9018 Sabre DAC 3.5mm out -> earphones

    All music was served as MP3 @320Kbps or as FLAC.

    Sound Signature
    Initial Impressions:

    The HEX02 features a warm sound signature. It has an elevated mid bass, heightened treble and lower-mids, and recessed upper-mids. Bass extension isn’t too great, but there is at least some form of sub-bass.

    Treble: Songs used: In One Ear, Midnight City, Outlands, Satisfy

    The HEX02’s treble is boosted quite a bit to get that added sense of clarity. While it does help upper-range articulation to a certain degree, the boosting causes the treble to take on a flatter and brighter tone. This can get a little out of hand when there is a lot of instrumentation in the chorus of songs like In One Ear.

    Mids: Songs used: Flagpole Sitta, Jacked Up, I Am The Highway, Dreams

    The mid-range is an interesting creature, as the lower-mids are placed noticeably farther ahead than the upper-mids. This causes things like bass guitars and certain parts of drums to move forwards while acoustic guitars, string instruments, and electric guitars all take a step backwards. It also lends music a warmer and lusher feeling to it, though purists may feel that this gives the HEX02 a cloying feeling.

    Bass: Songs used: Moth, Gold Dust, In For The Kill (Skream Remix), War Pigs (Celldweller Remix)

    Bass is boosted pretty far ahead of everything else and seems to be the centerpiece of the HEX02’s sound signature. Bass response can get pretty intense on the HEX02, and it handles electronic genres well. The bass drops of Gold Dust and War Pigs were both well preserved despite the mild levels of lower-mid spillover from the mid-bass.

    Packaging / Unboxing
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Build
    Construction Quality

    [​IMG]
    The HEX02 is constructed surprisingly well and doesn’t seem to have skimped too much in any one particular place. The driver housings are made from metal and the cable routers are made from plastic.

    [​IMG]
    The cable itself is made from a standard plastic and is of an acceptable thickness. Durability isn’t great, but it is far from the worst I’ve seen, especially at this price range. Some additional stress relief would do the HEX02 well.

    [​IMG]
    The HEX02 makes use of a 3-button inline microphone. It’s compatible with both Android and iOS and has a good level of tactile feedback. The elevated volume buttons are a very nice touch as they allow me to easily get my bearing on the remote without having to fumble around or try and look at it.

    Comfort

    Thankfully I’ve had no issues at all with the HEX02 in terms of comfort, even during my extended listening sessions.

    Accessories
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Inside the box of the HEX02 you will find:

    • 1x soft carrying pouch
    • 2x extra pairs of eartips
    • 1x pair of plastic over-ear guides
    I can’t fault Hypersense for not including more accessories given the very low price of the HEX02. The carrying pouch is unbranded (nice!) and pretty good. It has a nice and soft inside and isn’t made from a material that holds onto dirt particulates.

    Summary
    If you are in the market for a pair of super cheap metal IEMs and don’t want to give up a strong bass response, then the HEX02 is definitely something you should consider. While I’d like to see a model released from Hypersense with a more even mid-range, I can definitely say that for the price I’m willing to give the HEX02 a pass.
  2. theoutsider
    Hypersense: Great metal construction, so-so sound.
    Written by theoutsider
    Published Sep 7, 2018
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Great construction, Nice industrial design... A lot of Metal.
    Cons - Weird metallic overtone, Average sound.
    DSC07640.JPG

    Costing a lil over $20, Hypersense HEX02 has the build quality of a $100 earphones, but unfortunately not a $100 sound. My first impression of this earphone is that it is made to last. A huge portion of the earphone is made of shinny metal, presumably stainless steel, the cable is reinforced by a cleverly designed strain relief and the whole construction just inspires confidence and screams quality. It felt great to unbox this baby and feels even better when I hold it in my hands.

    HEX02 sounded a little thin even when I maxed out the volume on my laptop. If you are using it with an amplifier you should not have the same problem. This earphone hovers in a different sonical spectrum of Lypertek MEVI, HEX02 is flatter sounding in comparison and less exciting to listen to. Then again it all comes down to personal preferences, some prefer a more original sound presentation and some prefer something else.

    DSC09640.JPG

    There is a huge brand plate at the back of this earphone. If you take a look at hypersense.cn (their official website) you will notice that they are offering customization service, so that means you can order a batch of HEX02 with your company brand printed on the backplate, hmm okay now it is making a whole lot of sense...

    The cable looks thin and feels supple. That is actually a good thing for me, I have never liked hefty cables and I am not religious. I can not lug a copper or silver chain around my neck whole day and I am inclined to accept the trade off in sound... if there’s any. The official website stated that HEX02 uses Monocrystalline copper wires that are reinforced by Kevlar fibers. Esoteric and NASA as they sound, those are but fancy words to describe an average copper earphone cable.

    DSC09645.JPG

    Being a metal earphone, HEX02 has this metallic overtone that I can clearly hear when I listen to podcasts and that is not a desirable thing. I encountered the same phenomena with HifiBoy Dream I reviewed a while ago but believed that such an overtone contributes to a holographic sound. Since the soundstage of HEX02 is not especially spacious, it does nothing positive to the sound. For normal or non-critical listening, the metallic overtone blends into music and I was not aware of it so that does not bother me.

    DSC07653.JPG

    Specification

    Earphone Type: In- Ear
    Connection Type: Wired
    Plug Type: 3.5mm gold-plated plug
    Cable Length: 1.35m Monocrystaline Kevlar copper
    Driver: 9mm dynamic
    Impedance: 16ohm
    Sensitivity: 95dB
    Frequency response: 20Hz-40 KHz
    Rated Power: 10mW

    Onto the sound, I think Hypersense HEX02 is rather flat sounding. The treble and bass extension is also quite average and the soundstage is not as wide as the similarly priced Lypertek MEVI.

    DSC09651.JPG

    I believe HEX02 is not meant for classical or instrumental songs, instruments sounded jumbled-up but thankfully male or female vocal rendition is decent all thanks to its skillful handling of mids but anything else is just not outstanding. Having listened to many budget earphones, I can straight up say that the instrument placement of HEX02 is not quite up to par with similarly priced competitors (okay, no mention of MEVI since the instrument placement of MEVI is not great either). I am biased in favor to U-shape or in layman term “the mainstream tuning”, so to me HEX02 does not deliver enough sparkle in the treble and punch in the bass.

    I meant to write this review as simple and straight forward as possible... so to recapitulate, Hypersense Eclipse HEX02 looks and feels like an earphone that costs 2 to 3 times more than its price but does not sound more than its price tag. Soundwise, HEX02 is the polar opposite of Lypertek MEVI. While MEVI, at least in my POV is clearly nicer sounding, it is not built half as tough as HEX02. Probably due to the difference in sizes, HEX02 does not fit as well as Mevi but it is nevertheless quite comfortable to use for long compared to most other IEMs. Note: Mevi fits like a glove to me.

    I rummaged through Hypersense website and tried in vain to find any other products. Contrary to what the name implies, HEX02 is probably the first product from Hypersense. I can’t help but to wonder where is HEX01 or the mark I?

    DSC09652.JPG

    So... I guess if you care about the look and durability of an earphone, Hypersense Eclipse HEX02 is clearly a good choice, else you should look elsewhere for better options.


    Disclaimer

    I would like to thank Hypersense and Penon for sending me this earphone for review. I wrote my reviews based on how I feel (sometimes under the influence of alcohol) and I am not obliged to glorify any products.
  3. Moonstar
    HYPERSENSE HEX02; Good Bass and Solid Build Qulity
    Written by Moonstar
    Published Mar 16, 2018
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Build quality,
    Nice warm sound with strong bass response,
    Comfortable fit,
    Build-in microphone
    Cons - Missing of some transparency,
    No detachable cable
    The HYPERSENSE HEX02;
    Good Bass and Solid Build Quality


    [​IMG]





    1. Introduction:

    Hypersense is a brand of the company LinDo Technology Co. Ltd. that is located in Dongguan, a Industrial City in mainland China. The Hypersense HEX02 is the first In-Ear Monitor (IEM) of this Company in the audio market.

    Hypersense HEX02 is an IEM with a 9mm composite (PET + Ti) diver.



    2. Disclaimer:

    The Hypersense HEX02 was provided to me by the Hypersense via Penon Audio for free of charge as a review sample. I am not affiliated with Hypersense or Penon Audio beyond this review and these words reflect my true, unaltered, opinions about the product.



    3. Price:

    The MSRP price for the Hypersense HEX02 is 25.00 USD.

    Purchase Link: https://penonaudio.com/hypersense-hex02.html



    4.Package and Accessories:

    The Hypersense HEX02 comes in a blue/black colored small card box.

    This box includes the following contents;

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    • 1 x Hypersense HEX02
    • 1 x Storage Bag
    • 1 pair of Earhook
    • 1 pair per size S, M, L Silicone Tips
    Storage bag that comes in the box is made of fabric material and the silicone eartips are soft and comfortable. There is also 1 pair of Ear-hook / Ear-Guide.

    [​IMG]



    5. Specifications:

    • Impendence : 16Ω
    • Driver diameter : 9mm
    • Diaphragm material : PET / Ti composite material
    • Rated power : 10mW
    • Sensitivity : ≥95dB (@ 1kHz)
    • Frequency Response : 20 ~ 40kHZ
    • Wire material : 1.35m environmental TPE
    • Receiver : condenser microphone
    • Remote control : three buttons (volume and pause)
    • System compatibility : Android and iOS compatible
    • Plug : 3,5mm 4 Pole Gold Plated Plug


    6. Design, Fit and Build Quality:

    The HEX02 has a bell like design and is made of stainless steel that is according to Hypersense made with a special “super-hard alloy knife processing” technology. There is also a black plastic part on the shell that serves as strain relief and on the back side of is the nice looking Hypersense Logo.

    [​IMG]

    There are also two holes on the bottom of which one should serve as a bass vent.

    [​IMG]

    The HEX02 is a quite small IEM that is pretty comfortable in my ears and should be ideal for those who are looking for a comfortable earphone. The Isolation of this In-Ear Monitor is above average and should be quite suitable for outdoor usage.

    [​IMG]

    The cable of the HEX02 is not removable and has a built in microphone. The cable has a black TPU coating that is soft and a little bit prone to microphonic effects.

    There is a small metal Y splitter but no chin slider.

    [​IMG]

    The built in microphone has a quite good voice transmission performance and is compatible with Android and iOS devices. The straight headphone plug is made of stainless steel material in a conical form that is quite easy to plug and remove.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    7. Albums & tracks used for this review:

    • Opeth – Damnation (Tidal Hi-Fi)
    • Megadeth – Sweating Bullets (Flac 16bit/44kHz)
    • Saskia Bruin – The Look of Love (DSF)
    • George Michael – Older Album (Apple Music)
    • LP (Laura Pergolizzi) – Lost On You “Live at Harvard and Stone” (Tidal Hi-Fi)
    • Dire Straits – Money For Nothing (DSF)
    • Mile Davis – Kind of Blue Album (Tidal Hi-fi)
    • Emmanuel Pahud (Claude Debussy) – Syrinx (Apple Music)
    • Aretha Franklin – I Say a Little Prayer (Apple Music)
    • Diana Krall - So Wonderful (DSF)
    • Otto Liebert & Luna Negra – Up Close “Album” (DSF) – Binaural Recording
    • Alboran Trio’s – Cinque Lunghissimi Minuti (Tidal Hi-Fi)
    • Daft Punk – Get Lucky (Flac 24bit/192kHz)
    • Michael Jackson - Billie Jean (DSF)


    [​IMG]



    8. Sources used for this review:

    • IEM : Hypersense HEX02, Sennheiser CX 3.00, Dunu DN12
    • DAP/DAC : Cayin N5II, Aune M2Pro, Chord Mojo, Zishan Z2


    9. The Sound:

    I believe in burn-in and this review is written after a burn-in process of approx. 100 hours. I have used the stock silicone ear tips that are included to the package.

    Tonality:

    The HEX02 is an IEM with a warm tonality, bright top end, strong bass response and a clean overall sound.

    Frequencies:

    The sub-bass performance for depth, clarity and extension is considering the price of $ 25 pretty good. This means that the sub-bass performances will satisfy most users who are looking for an entry level Hi-Fi IEM.

    The Hypersense HEX02 is able to produce strong mid-bass and punchy sub-bass tones. One big plus for the HEX02 is the mid-bass performance, which is well controlled and not overshadowing the midrange.

    Although the HEX02 is a bass-focused IEM, a slight extension of the bass pulls it to a stable point and that’s why the bass sounds sound very controlled even in bass intensive music genres.

    The bass performance of the Hypersense HEX02 will satisfy users who are listening to genres like trance, edm, etc. and who want bass pressure, extension, amount and vibration.

    The Hypersense HEX02 has a warm and slightly colored sounding midrange.

    Male vocals sounding stronger and reaching better to the upper midrange register. This means that male vocals sounding in general better than female vocals. There is missing only a bit of transparency for female vocals, which is otherwise quite good in performance for this price range.

    The HEX02 has a good instrument separation in songs with low instrument density and performs better with bold sounding instruments than thinner ones, because of the missing of some naturalness.

    The HEX02 sounds a bit harsh and bright in the upper register, compared to the warmer lower end and midrange. The treble presentation is in general more suitable for music types like edm or trance, than for metal music.

    [​IMG]

    10. Comparison:

    Vs. Sennheiser CX 3.00 :

    The Sennheiser CX 3.00 is an IEM with V shaped sound signature. The Hypersense HEX02 on the other hand has a warmer sound signature with a relative brighter top end.

    The CX 3.00 has more depth and quantity in the lower frequency area, with more bass presence and rumble. The HEX02 on the other hand, is better in speed with a tighter and more natural bass response. As result, the HEX02 sounds more balanced and mature in the lower register.

    Both IEM’s have a different vocal presentation. The HEX02 sounds better with male vocals, while the Sennheiser CX 3.00 is superior in female vocal presentation.

    The midrange of the HEX02 has a more forward oriented presentation. The HEX02 has also a brighter and more detailed midrange presentation, compared to the darker and overshadowed tuning of the CX 3.00.

    The instrument clarity, separation and detail level of the HEX02 is superior compared to those of the CX 3.00.

    The treble presentation Sennheiser CX 3.00 sounds more recessed and darker then those of the Hypersense HEX02. The treble of the HEX02 is brighter and more upfront compared to those of CX 3.00. The treble overall detail level and extension of the HEX02 is superior. The good thing about the treble range of the CX 3.00 is that it’s not tiring your ears and makes it suitable for listening to long periods.

    The Hypersense HEX02 has an airier and wider soundstage presentation in both directions.

    Vs. Xiaomi Hybrid Pro HD
    Both IEM’s sharing nearly identical sub-bass and bass performances. The Hypersense HEX02 has a bit more bass quantity then than Xiaomi Hybrid Pro HD, which has the better overall control in this frequency region.

    The midrange of the HEX02 soundS warmer and more emotional compared to the brighter and a bit too harsh sounding Hybrid Pro HD. The upper midrange of the Hybrid Pro HD sounds a bit too over boasted and somewhat unnatural compared to the warmer and more realistic tuning of the HEX02.

    The Hybrid Pro HD sounds smoother and brighter in the treble range, while the Hypersense HEX02 has more the upper hand for treble definition. Both IEM’s have a bright top end and some sibilance problems.

    Both IEMs are quite good in soundstage realism and wideness for both directions. The Hybrid Pro HD has a little more depth, while the HEX02 has the upper hand for separation, which is in complex passages noticeable.



    11. Conclusion:

    The Hypersense HEX02 is a good looking IEM with nice build quality, that has a nice warm sound with strong bass response and a clean overall sound that are nice features for a entry level product.



    12. Summary (plus and minus):

    + Build quality
    + Nice warm sound with strong bass response
    + Comfortable fit
    + Build-in microphone


    - Missing of some transparency
    - No detachable cable
  4. crabdog
    Bass on a budget
    Written by crabdog
    Published May 11, 2018
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Clear sound with big bass
    Solid build quality with good attention to detail
    Price
    Cons - Bass will be heavy for some
    Some cable noise (microphonics)
    HEX02 coiled cable.jpg

    Hypersense is a new Chinese brand that has joined the IEM manufacturer market recently. They’re located in Dongguan, China and are a subsidiary of LinDo Technology CO., Ltd. Today we’re looking at their first product release; the Hypersense HEX02. Should you be getting hyped about it? Let’s take a look.

    At the time of writing, the Hypersense HEX02 is listed at $25 and available from Penon Audio here.

    This product was provided for the purpose of an honest review. I’m not affiliated with the company and all observations and opinions here are my own.

    Pros
    • Clear sound with big bass
    • Solid build quality with good attention to detail
    • Price
    Cons
    • Bass will be heavy for some
    • Some cable noise (microphonics)
    SPECIFICATIONS
    • Impendence: 16Ω
    • Driver diameter: 9mm
    • Diaphragm material: PET / Ti composite material
    • Rated power: 10mW
    • Sensitivity: ≥95dB (@ 1kHz)
    • Frequency response range: 20 ~ 40kHZ
    • Wire material: 1.35m environmental TPE
    Package and Accessories

    DSC_0065.jpg DSC_0067.jpg
    • Hypersense Hex02 earphone
    • 3x pairs of silicone eartips (S, M, L)
    • 1x pair of silicone earhooks
    • Drawstring pouch
    The Hypersense Hex02 comes in a small black box with blue highlights. Inside, the first thing you see is a black envelope, containing the drawstring pouch. While I don’t find these pouches all that useful, it’s still nice to see them included.

    Sitting in a piece of circular black foam with cutouts is the earphone, along with the spare eartips. It’s a great looking presentation, made even more impressive by the tiny size of the box. The cable is wound around the foam which is an excellent idea, as it means there are no kinks in it when you first take it out of the box.

    Under the foam is a small plastic bag containing the earhooks. Overall, it’s a really solid bundle considering the build quality (details below) and the price.

    DSC_0073.jpg DSC_0075.jpg DSC_0081.jpg

    Build Quality and Design
    Starting with the super-hard alloy shells, it’s immediately apparent that the HEX02 is a well-constructed IEM. The main body of the shells is a standard cylindrical shape until you get to the back, where it flares out into a flat disc shape.

    On the back end of the shells is the Hypersense logo in blue, black and silver colours. And what’s interesting here is there’s a layer of crystal or glass – similar to the face of a wristwatch or glass back found on some mobile phones. It’s super smooth and looks really classy.

    A black, stiff rubber band wraps around the rear of the housing and extends down to form a strain relief. The HEX02’s shells are lightweight but feel very robust and durable. On the front end, there is a straight nozzle that has a well-defined lip that holds your eartips securely in place.

    There is a tiny vent near the base of the nozzle and another one near the cable entry point. They’re really small but must be effective because I did not experience any driver flex during testing. Last but not least, the nozzles have a metal mesh grill to keep out debris and earwax.

    glass back.jpg DSC_0084.jpg

    Cable
    Following on from the quality of the IEM shells, the HEX02’s cable is also high quality (for the price). The black rubberized sheath is smooth, supple and free of any kinks or unruly bounciness.

    On the right side of the cable is the three-button remote and microphone which is made from black plastic. The buttons have a nice tactile click and worked perfectly with my Android smartphone for adjusting volume, play/pause and skipping or rewinding tracks. The middle button is recessed, making it super easy to find the right button by feel; little details like this make a positive difference.

    I would have liked to see some strain relief at either end of the inline control, as that seems the most likely point of possible failure down the road. There’s a cylindrical metal Y-split and the cable terminates with a straight metal 3.5 mm plug.

    HEX02 control.jpg HEX02 cable and pouch.jpg

    Comfort and Noise Isolation
    Thanks to being lightweight and ergonomically sound, the Hypersense HEX02 is a very comfortable earphone. It’s something I could keep in my ears all day, were life to grant me that luxury. I didn’t feel any pressure buildup or discomfort at any stage during use.

    These can be worn cable down or over-ear. I prefer to wear them cable down but if I’m on the move it’s great to have the option of going over-ear as it almost eliminates any microphonics (cable noise).

    Passive noise isolation is above average. I often didn’t hear people talking to me, even when I was listening at a relatively low volume. The HEX02 is perfect for noisy environments and public transport etc.

    Sound
    Full-bodied with an emphasis on bass and mid-bass in particular, the HEX02 has a warm, V-shaped signature. A clear but slightly recessed midrange followed by upper midrange and lower treble peaks at 3.7kHz and 7kHz respectively round out the sound.

    Hypersense HEX02.jpg

    GEAR USED FOR TESTING
    • Acoustic Research AR-M20
    • Benjie T6
    • Samsung Galaxy Note 5
    The HEX02 is easy to drive, being well-suited to use with a smartphone or low-powered DAP. Due to its already warm signature, I prefer a neutral or brighter source for pairing.

    BASS
    Reaching towards basshead levels, the HEX02’s low end is exaggerated and somewhat dominant. Bass notes are thick with a fairly slow decay. The soft edges of kick drums result in a heavy, weighted impact. There is some bass bleed into the midrange that adds a fair amount of extra body to it.

    Sub-bass sits a little behind the mid-bass and has decent extension but falls off moderately quickly below 30kHz. The 808 bass in NWA’s “She Swallowed It” has significant rumble but lacks true depth.

    MIDS
    Despite the heavy emphasis on bass, the HEX02’s midrange is surprisingly clear and detailed. Vocals are rich and have decent tonality but are somewhat distant in the upper registers. The HEX02’s resolving ability is quite good but you might not notice so much on bass-heavy tracks as the bass tends to overshadow the presentation. The upper midrange boost adds some much-needed clarity that helps to balance the boosted low frequencies.

    TREBLE
    The treble is fairly neutral and non-offensive., making the HEX02 good for extended listening. There’s no sibilance despite the 7kHz peak, plus it adds a hint of sparkle and airiness. After the 7kHz peak, it starts to fall off quite rapidly though, so it ends up sounding a little flat and sacrifices some of the finer details in favour of maintaining smoothness.

    SOUNDSTAGE
    The soundstage holds up well considering the amount of bass that the HEX02 delivers. It favours width more than depth, keeping vocals (in particular male vocals) fairly dense and intimate. Imaging is actually quite solid and instrument separation is admirable for a $25 IEM but things can get muddled in busy tracks.

    Comparisons
    LIPERTEK MEVI
    What I really like about the MEVI is its bass; it’s balanced and has a nice combination of weight and texture. The MEVI has a more forward midrange that sounds more natural in the lower registers. It has a crisp treble with sharper definition but is a little unruly. Unlike the HEX02, the MEVI does get edgy in the lower treble, which at times can cause some discomfort.

    Both of these IEMs have an original and unique styling and quality construction that belies their modest prices.

    If I could take the bass and midrange of the MEVI and pair it with the HEX02’s treble it would be a killer IEM.

    TIN AUDIO T1
    The T1 (review here) is a rare beast. It’s unusual to find such a well-balanced IEM in the sub $40 range. The T1’s bass is very tame compared to the HEX02 but it has much more texture and definition. Thanks to its balanced nature, the T1’s midrange is more forward and it also doesn’t need that lower treble peak to give it clarity. The T1’s presentation is effortless where the HEX02 feels as though it’s trying to prove something with its exaggerated low end.

    When it comes to build quality, both these IEMs really nailed it. They both boast metal shells that are robust and lightweight but the glass back on the HEX02 really adds a touch of class and gives it a premium feel.

    HEX02 rear shell.jpg

    Hypersense HEX02 Conclusion
    The Hypersense HEX02 is a fun IEM that leans towards a fun sound rather than tonal accuracy, which is quite common for budget earphones. What I find most appealing about it is its unique styling, comfort and aesthetics.

    It’s a fairly typical consumer-oriented sound that is nothing extraordinary but it’s certainly not bad, and with the high level of build quality taken into consideration, I think it offers pretty good value. So if you’re looking for a competent low-price earphone with a focus on bass, you should check out the Hypersense HEX02.

    *This review was originally posted on my blog. You can see my other reviews over at Prime Audio.
      Otto Motor and B9Scrambler like this.
  5. ngoshawk
    A good entry level IEM, which is easy to use.
    Written by ngoshawk
    Published Feb 25, 2018
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Easy to use (ingress/egress)
    Good bass thump
    Pretty good details
    Good looking unit
    Good price
    Cons - Not the most detailed
    Hypersense Hex02-$25 from Penon Audio: https://penonaudio.com/hypersense-hex02.html

    [​IMG]

    Hypersense is a new company from China, and as such, this is their first attempt into the IEM/earphone realm. Posed as a replacement for stock Smartphone headphones, the Hex02 comes with a three-button remote/microphone, which can be used multi-platform (iOS & Android). With automatic detection, this is a nice trend forward from OS-specific headphones of the past.

    Specification

    Impendence: 16Ω

    Driver diameter: 9mm

    Diaphragm material: PET / Ti composite material
    Rated power: 10mW
    Sensitivity: ≥95dB (@ 1kHz)
    Frequency response range: 20 ~ 40kHZ

    Wire material: 1.35m environmental TPE

    Receiver: condenser microphone

    Remote control: three buttons (volume and pause)
    System compatibility: Android and iOS adapt automatically

    Plug: gold-plated plug



    Package

    HYPERSENSE HEX02

    Storage bag

    Earhooks

    S/M/L silicone eartips

    [​IMG]

    The Hypersense Hex02 came in an interesting small package, with the wire wrapped around a foam “housing,” and the IEM filling the inside along with the extra tips. An interesting presentation focusing on the circular element, towards the center and the IEM. Accessories were laid out next to the IEM, except the earhooks, which were in a plastic bag laying on top of the exposed IEM. Folded neatly the cinch bag was tucked into a “pouch,” which lay on top of the unit, as a protective envelope. Also in that envelope were the straightforward directions.



    Disclaimer: I would like to thank Penon Audio for the package. The Hex02 was given to me free of charge for the purpose of this review. All they ask is for an honest review in return. I would not have it any other way. That said, a hint would be that these are quite a decent first attempt for the company.



    Getting back to that presentation, it was clear that the IEM was meant to be the center of attention (as it should be…), and what started as a highlight, continued into the sound aspects of the audition.



    A bit about me:

    I am older. I am happy that I have rediscovered the joy of music, through personal listening devices. Through this opportunity, I have become exposed to some wonderful kit. Much I now own, much I covet. Much I would never purchase, for various reasons.


    My listening style has changed somewhat over the years…from old time Rock-n-Roll to the Blues to Reggae, to Bluegrass. I cut my teeth on Led Zeppelin, Lynyrd Skynyrd, The Outlaws, The Who, Santana, Bob Marley, Eric Clapton, David Bowie, and Pink Floyd. But the music I hold dearest and nearest my soul, is Stevie Ray Vaughan. I was lucky enough to see him perform four times…twice in open air venues, followed by (that evening each time!!!) smoky blues bars, where intimate would be an understatement. Each holds a very special place in my psyche, and I can almost remember the whole of each concert in their entirety…


    I enjoy a warmer signature in my equipment, and listening, with a good bass line (but not basshead), complimented by outstanding vocals. Combine the sweetness of SRV’s guitar and Billy Holiday’s voice, and you get my musical genre.


    Through too much hearing loss of high end (loud car stereo as a teenager with a car…), I cannot quite fathom the differences of sound that those experts on Head-Fi do. So, I try to accommodate with subtle differences…detailed differences wrought from my days banding birds and working bird surveys where it was imperative that I separate what kind of Warbler, or Flycatcher, or Sparrow that was, and from what direction and elevation change the song originated. I used my deficiencies of treble-loss to my benefit; searching for that sound, which was not there a moment before. I got pretty darn good at it. And, I TRY to use that same methodology to separate details enough to offer a modicum of differentiation in the product at hand. I like to think I’m doing OK. But can always improve…


    [​IMG]


    Gear used:

    Shanling M3s
    Shanling M1
    Opus #1S
    iPhone X (through Apple Dongle)


    Comparisons:

    Lypertek Mevi
    Tennmak Pro



    Songs used:

    Fake You Out- Twenty One Pilots
    Guns For Hands- Twenty One Pilots
    Trees- Twenty One Pilots
    Dragonfly- Ziggy Marley (of course!)
    Live It Up-Ziggy Marley
    Three Little Birds- Ziggy Marley on Live From Soho
    Running Down the Dream-
    Tom Petty
    Tell Me Why-Los Lonely Boys


    [​IMG]


    Intro additional:



    Having a backlog is not a good thing. One didn’t plan their time very well if that occurs. And one must work their tail off to get back on track. Well…that really wasn’t the case here, I just wanted to state that right before the Hex02 came, I did in fact work hard to get caught up…and it paid off. As luck would have it, I had a wonderful source in which to use in the house, too. While one might not think the Opus#1S as a good companion for an entry level IEM, I would beg to differ. It works very well. Lending itself a more mature (so to speak) sound, the #1S can bring out deficiencies quite nicely in test units. Add in the Shanling M3s & M1 and you have a very good effort at affordable portables…



    Overall sound:



    I would consider the Hex02 to have a slightly warm sound, but with good bite up top. A good bass lays down the trend for the overall signature, one that while quite nice in most situations, can bleed into the mids a bit to me. I would consider this a good signature for a portable source, and one, which could be considered for the gym, due to ease of ingress/egress.



    Fit-n-Finish:



    The quality of the Hypersense shows in all characteristics. A fit and build, which belies the price at which these sell ($25), I found the quality to be quite good. Black plastic housing holds the polished aluminum unit snuggly. To me, it gives a snap-and-fit feel and look. One, which works well while looking quite nice. A deep ridge on the tip of the nozzle works very well for holding the tip of choice on for the user. Something in which I am VERY thankful. I very much like the look and feel of the Hex02, especially since that black plastic “frame” continues down the cable as protection. It also helps with ingress/egress.

    [​IMG]

    Speaking of in and out, this is as easy as placing the unit into your ear, twisting it a bit for proper fit, then hit play. With a flush fit, the Hex has a very nice low profile, something, which can come in handy should you use these in the gym. I will add, that the 02 is tip dependent for best fit and sound, as well as a slight rotation within the ear. I did find myself moving the right IEM for a better fit occasionally, and this did alter the sound. With proper placement, the bass was indeed the best. Off a bit, and bass suffered in quality. So, be careful with fit. That said, it is worth it.



    With a built-in microphone, which also controls play/pause & volume (+/-), the Hex automatically changes according to the type of phone between Android/iOS. A nice feature. Attached to a thinner rubbery-coated cable, which keeps itself free and clear, I have no qualms here. Of good build and quality it is sufficient for this pricepoint. The mic and controls worked quite well for music and phone calls, with good clarity of sound in conversation.



    Sound characteristics:



    An overall pleasant sound is once again the highlight of the Hex02, to me. Pleasing deep reaching bass, and a good bit of treble (elevated albeit a bit artificially) are brought to the table, only brought down by the bass bleed into the mids, detracting from the sound. While not overly intrusive, it is worth considering if you are not a fan of too much bass. With a tall, but slightly narrower sound stage, one can overlook that bass deficiency.



    Bass: What could be described as reaching for the big boys level of bass, but falling slightly short would be an apt description. While there is a good bit of bass, its untamed nature hinders what could have been a superb bass note and a foundation on which to build a stellar unit. That said, for a sub-$30 IEM it is quite good. The engineers did their research and almost pulled it off. Consider this the little brother who wants to play soccer with the big kids, and almost makes that fantastic save in goal, since that is all the big kids will let him play…



    Mids: Defined apart from the bass bleed, the mids are quite competent in their own right. Good, but not great separation can be heard in guitar note, as well as male vocals, chalked up to the more forward lower mids. While they do tend to “comingle,” it isn’t without purpose. Presenting a semi-unified front, one could argue that this was meant to be…a good amount of detail but lacking that final separation of instruments and vocals. Again, one need be reminded that this is a sub $30 IEM.



    Treble: This for me is the hardest to pinpoint, due to my hearing deficiencies. On more inexpensive units, I struggle…did I really not hear that? Was it really not that clear? So, to accommodate I try to isolate what sounds different on those I have heard before, often revisiting to verify. An old birding trick on which I relied, I listen for the difference…what wasn’t there a bit ago, or is now gone such as a new bird in my territory of survey. By and large it seems to work. Here, to me is where the Hex limits itself the most, by not having clear, concise, crisp highs of cymbals, the top end becomes a bit muddy, not rounded off, but a bit unclear. I wasn’t able to pinpoint as accurately as I would have liked where that cymbal hat played. Elevated, yes, but to me at the cost of clarity.



    That may seem harsh, but it isn’t meant to be…it simply is the limit at which the Hypersense works. Then of course, Tom Petty’s Running Down the Dream starts to play, and I can clearly define those high-hat hits and cymbal crashes.

    [​IMG]

    Soundstage/Separation: As mentioned above, the soundstage is not otherworldly, but nothing in which to be ashamed. Pleasantly tall, and a bit intimate add to a level of personalization. One I do like in this setting. When I work out, I don’t really want an IEM that acts as if I need to duck or dodge when anyone else or anything comes my way. I like that bit of personal space.



    By and large, the instrument separation is quite nice, too. I can pick out pretty much where the drums and guitar work is on Los Lonely Boys Tell Me Why. Just not with the level of detail I would like in and IEM.



    Detail/Clarity: While it may seem as if I have done nothing short of bash this unit, I would respectfully disagree. I do like the level of detail given its level of performance. There is enough clarity to pick out the details present and place them well. Ziggy Marley’s Live It Up is a good song in which to listen for that detail component. Succinct definition of detail would be a strong point here, and the clarity of which Ziggy sings adds to a pleasant overall sound.

    [​IMG]

    Comparison:

    Opus #1S: All of the above was written while listening through the Opus #1S. I would add that the Opus gives a nice energetic sound in which you can kick back and enjoy your music. Eric Bib’s Meetin’ At The Building is that knee slapping, clapping kind of song one can enjoy regardless, but here the combination presents themselves together to forge a very good sound, with that deep bass adding to the note. Acoustic guitar details coexist with the Harmonica and steel guitar in a very nice package. The positives are brought out well in this combination.



    Shanling M3s: Listening to one of my all time favorites, Big Head Todd & The Monsters is always a treat and one in which I often call upon for auditions. Midnight Radio clings to the air through the Hex02/M3S combo. With more bass in the Shanling than the Opus, one can feel the rumble, and in this instance it is not a bad thing. With a wider soundstage, a sense of better placement is given as a result. I think the Opus provides a more clear sound, but the Shanling lets the bass expose itself in an almost “mean” sense. And that isn’t a bad thing. This would be a killer workout or “pump me up” combo. Follow that up with Junior Brown’s The Better Half, and you have that combination that makes you want to go run 17 miles…or punch something. This would also be a good commuting combo, as the isolation is pretty good, and that added bass would cover a good bit of outside noise.


    Played at quieter levels, I am pleasantly surprised with the sound sig, lending itself to a nice end-of-the-day set up. A plus is the comfort-factor of the IEM, since they are a flush easy to fit IEM.

    [​IMG]


    Shanling M1: I keep my M1 around mainly as my burn-in unit now that I have the M3s. That said, it lends itself to IEM’s such as this, because of its portability and quality sound characteristics. Still of very good sound, I have simply moved past it. Pink Floyd’s Time draws me back in from what I just wrote, and I simply listen. Listen to garner what I hear. Needing more volume to compete with the two above, the M1/Hex02 still provides a decent enough sound, where one could justify this as a throw in whatever bag combination and listen quite nicely as a result. It is sufficient enough for those purposes. I will say, that the upper mids do sound a bit over the top to me, which would limit my usage here. That is somewhat alleviated, when Lyle Lovett’s excellent Bears song comes on. Another of my favorite artists, his musical talent is pretty much second to none, and excellent for listening/auditioning purposes. Clean, clear and concise of character, the Hex02/M1 once again shines. For $125 (used M1), one could have a very nice combination. I do enjoy it.



    iPhone X: Since Apple has gotten rid of the 3.5mm jack, one needs use a “dongle” to attach 3.5mm headphones to listen. A minor inconvenience to me, and one would hope to most. Connecting the Hex02 was quick and painless. And worked flawlessly. A quick push of the middle button, and the song was paused. Push again, and the song started. There was a second or two delay in doing so, but not too much of an annoyance to me. I chalk that up to the “dongle effect.” As for the sound quality, it was almost as good as with the Opus#1S...almost. Tidal did have a rich full tone, with a good bass note. An excellent commuting pair this would make.


    [​IMG]


    Comparison to another:

    Unfortunately I have not much at this price, other than the Tennmak Pro of which I held onto because I do enjoy the sound quite a lot.



    Using my standby Ziggy gives an excellent test of strong, rich and deep note of bass as well as such a melodious voice of which we haven’t heard since his father. Ziggy is superb to use for auditioning purposes, and I do like that.



    Covering Bob’s Three Little Birds in Live From Soho, the small venue oozes character giving an excellent chance to listen for that bass and voice. One is not disappointed, regardless of the source. For those comparative purpose, the Shanling M1 was used, providing one with that affordable sound set up.



    Retailing for $27, the Tennmak Pro is a natural competitor, save that it is an over-ear IEM. It must be worn that way. Built on the assumption that it is for bassheads (or near-bassheads), one would expect the Pro to trounce the 02 in that department. And it pretty much does. I would say that what the Hex02 lacks in deep rumble to the Pro, it makes up for in clarity. An almost on par (there it is again…almost…) bass to the Pro, it does fall short in quantity. I do like the treble characteristic of the Hex02 better, though. Running a bit hot, the Pro has more treble reach than I remember. But, on Robert Cray’s The Things You Do To Me, that reach is a benefit. Here excellent levels of treble counter the clear winning rumble of the bass. Succinct, crisp cymbal hits define a very good treble quality. If bass is what you want, then the Pro is your choice. If you want ease of use, no worries about MMCX cables, or a cable, which isn’t the nicest at this level, then the Hex02 would be the choice.



    Final thoughts:



    Before this unit, I had never heard anything by Hypersense. Based upon the Hex02, it would be a good thing to find other wares by this company. While not world breaking, the Hex02 checks enough boxes in the correct column to be worth a listen. With good bass rumble; a treble, which doesn’t disappoint, and the ease of use factor the Hex02 is a worthy unit to throw into your to go bag as a fill in, or for those times when a quick listen necessitates that portability and ease of set up.



    I want to thank Penon Audio for the review unit, it was an honor to be included.
      Light - Man and B9Scrambler like this.
    1. B9Scrambler
      Lovely review. I thought they were a pleasant surprise as I went into them with low expectations.
      B9Scrambler, Feb 25, 2018
      theoutsider and ngoshawk like this.
    2. ngoshawk
      I initially liked them the most of the three sent, and that still somewhat holds. Pretty decent for the price and a bit above!
      ngoshawk, Feb 25, 2018
      B9Scrambler likes this.
  6. B9Scrambler
    Hypersense Eclipse (HEX02): What a surprise
    Written by B9Scrambler
    Published Jun 18, 2018
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Ergonomic, durable earpieces - Amazing in-line mic performance - Well-tuned v-shaped signature
    Cons - Unsure about long term cable durability, so far so good though
    Greetings!

    Today we’re checking out the HEX02, a very competent single dynamic based earphone from newcomers to the scene, Hypersense.

    I don’t really know much about this brand other than they are still building their website (www.hypersense.cn) and look to have a second product in the works, the HEX01. Like TinAudio, it seems they released their mid-range model first, and are building the brand around that. It worked for TinAudio with the T2, and I think it could work for Hypersense given the quality on offer from the HEX02.

    Coming in under 30 USD, Hypersense has dropped the HEX02 into a very competitive and congested market, one where sub-par offerings tend to disappear before they even get going. I think it is plenty competitive, and one of the stronger offering to cross my plate. Let’s take a closer look.

    Disclaimer:

    A big thanks to Chi at Penon Audio for arranging and sending over a complimentary sample of the Hypersense HEX02. All thoughts and opinions within this review are my own and are not representative of Penon, Hypersense, or any other entity. There was no financial incentive provided to give this a positive review or otherwise.

    At the time of this review, the HEX02 could be picked up for 25 USD: https://penonaudio.com/hypersense-hex02.html

    Personal Preferences:

    I listen primarily to various EDM sub-genres (liquid drum and bass, breakbeat, drumstep, etc.), hip hop, and classic rock. While I enjoy a variety of signatures in my headphones I generally lean towards slightly warm with elevated treble and sub-bass, an even and natural mid-range response, with reduced mid-bass. The HiFiMan RE800, Brainwavz B400, and thinksound On2 offer unique examples of signatures I enjoy.

    20180605_172717.jpg 20180605_172724.jpg 20180605_172735.jpg

    Packaging and Accessories:

    The HEX02 arrives in compact square box with a pleasing black and blue color scheme. On the front you have a wireframe image of the rear of the earpiece along with the usual branding and model information. Flipping to the back is a list of specifications and some info about who makes sese; LinDo Technology Co. Ltd out of Songshan Lake, Dongguan, China. Inside is piece of cardboard with a circular cutout showing off the earpieces and the included ear tips set within a circular foam insert. Underneath that is the soft carrying pouch and ear guides slipped within yet another cardboard holder. In all you get;
    • HEX02 earphones
    • Carrying pouch
    • Flexible ear guides
    • Single flange silicone tips (s/m/l)
    For such a slender box, it’s a surprisingly layered and interesting unboxing experience. Quite satisfying actually.

    20180605_173005.jpg 20180605_173145.jpg 20180605_173151.jpg

    Build, Comfort, and Isolation:

    The HEX02’s design seems inspired by the old Dunu Trident with a flared rear end and taper leading into the nozzles. It is well crafted using stainless steel for the housings, y-split, and compact straight jack. The rear of the housing also has a plastic or glass insert which contains the Hypersense logo in black and blue and looks pretty cool. Surrounding the ear pieces is a ring of rubbery, flexible plastic that doubles as a very effective strain relief. Strain relief leading into the bottom of the y-split and jack is handled by small rubber extensions that reach a few millimeters up the cable. They seem to do a good job of supporting the cable when bent. The inline mic module is free of strain relief. That isn’t ideal, but it is common for the price range. Also common is the relatively uninspired plastic which doesn’t feel particularly durable. At least the buttons are very well distinguished with the central button being significantly recessed, yet still easy to press. They give off a satisfyingly tactile “k-chunk” when pressed. It’s a nice controller to use. The copper cable uses a TPE rubber sheath with Kevlar fibre reinforcement inside, and I really like it. It doesn’t transmit a ton noise when rubbing against clothes, it’s remarkably memory resistant, and despite being a little grippy does a decent job of avoiding tangling too. It’s not particularly thick, but it isn’t thin and delicate either. I gues the only thing going against the HEX02 in terms of build is that there is a hint of driver flex if you insert them too quickly. The ear pieces are vented, but the vents are very, very small and seem not to release pressure quickly enough to counter some mild flex.

    The shape of the housings and extended nozzles gives the HEX02 a very universal fit that works well cable up or down. While they’re steel, they’re very light so you don’t have to worry about them tugging at your ears and there aren’t any sharp edges to touch your ear and cause discomfort. Once in place, they feel stable and simply feel good to wear. No complaints regarding comfort and long term wearability.

    Isolation is great for a single dynamic. According to some marketing material I’ve seen, Hypersense eqipped the HEX02 with a dual-chamber system to help improve isolation. Front the images on their site (http://www.hypersense.cn/en/index_hex02_en.html#detail) it looks like there is one chamber in front of the driver with a tiny pin hole vent to let pressure out during insertion, and another chamber behind with another pinhole vent to allow the driver to breathe. Whatever they’re done, it works. With foam tips, it isolates nearly as well as a number of my seal single balanced armature earphones. Even with basic silicone tips, typing and the murmur of people nearby is dulled significantly, and cars on the road nearby lightly whoosh by. These have been great for traveling about in busy areas.

    20180605_173139.jpg 20180605_173234.jpg 20180605_173247.jpg

    Microphone Performance:

    The mic on the HEX02 is pretty outstanding. My most successful test was a 15 minute call to my mom with a mix of slow driving through packed traffic and high speed driving on a side road, all with the windows open. She’s used to my tests by now and has no issues telling me to put the window up or switch to a better mic when she’s having trouble hearing me. At the end of the call, I asked how I sounded. “Better than usual” was the reply. When I told her the window was open the whole drive, she was quite shocked. I also tested the HEX02 using it to record some videos and my voice sounded clear, full-bodied, and with no background static or interference. The HEX02 is going up there with the Campfire Audio Comet, JVC HA-FRD60/80, and YHC S600 as one the best of the best I’ve tested.

    Specifications:
    • Driver: 9mm dynamic with a PET/Ti composite diaphragm
    • Sensitivity: ~95dB @1KHz
    • Resitance: 32ohms
    • Rated Power: 10mW
    • Frequency Range: 20-40,000Hz
    Freq Chart.jpg
    Take from Hypersense's product page

    Sound:

    Tips: The stock tips are decent, but I swapped them out pretty early for KZ “Starlines”. The nozzles are a pretty standard 5mm at their widest, but behind that are much more slender so my usual wide bore staples from JVC and others sat a bit too loosely for comfort. KZ’s tips didn’t alter the sound at all and are more comfortable than the generic stock silicones, so they were used for this review.

    Device and Amping: The HEX02 is very easy to drive. I liked it best out of a neutral to brighter device like the Shanling M1, Walnut V2S, or the HiFi E.T. MA8 which gave it a very clean, well-controlled sound. I didn’t get any benefit out of amping, so while I used my TEAC HA-501 for most of my at home music output (sourced by my ASUS FX53V), it definitely wasn’t necessary.

    The HEX02 has a very popular tune common among the budget earphone scene; mildly boosted bass with a dip through the lower mids that raise as you head into the upper mids, topping off with a treble spike in the 7k region to add some spice. Where the HEX02 succeeds compared to similarly tuned products is in how this tune is presented.

    Treble is tight and precise with no distracting looseness or splashiness. It is nicely weighted and doesn’t come across overly lean or so thick that it detracts from the overall clarity. The spike adds some airness that helps with separation and clarity which are handled well. It’s not as impressive as some budget hybrids like the ZSA from KZ, but far more clear than other budget single dynamics like the ColaRad C2 and BGVP MRY6.

    The mid-range has some body and warmth to it and does a good job of remaining coherent and prominent. Female vocals come across slightly more emphasized on most tracks and are handled with greater delicacy on intimate tracks. The opening track for Piya Re in particular sounds lovely with the artists slight breathiness captured perfectly. Tracks with both male and female vocals show that the HEX02 can balance these various aspects well, nearly as impressively as the TinAudio T1 and T2 to my ears. On Big Grams’ “Put It On Her”, Sarah Barthel’s lusty voice and Big Boi’s rap compliment each other flawlessly. Add to that the subtle bass line, drumming, and horns playing in the background and the HEX02 shows great capacity for engagement.

    Hypersense surprised me with the balance they chose for the HEX02’s low end. Sub-bass is elevated with a fairly even slope downwards leading through the mid- and sub-bass regions. This is evident on Massive Attack’s “I Against I (feat. Mos Def)” and the opening drop of Kavinski’s “Solli”. Texture is good and the HEX02 has some decent kick and punch to it, but it can’t touch the visceral ear-tickler that is the KZ ED15 in these aspect.

    The HEX02’s sound stage is one of decent width and depth, not extending much beyond the ears. I found it evenly sized though and with some great separation between instruments that help give the impression of a larger stage than it really is. It’s quite layered as well for a single dynamic, falling short of only the most recent multi-driver KZ hybrids. The ColaRad C2, BGVP MRY6 and YSP04, Nabolang F910 have a much flatter presentation.

    Overall I am pretty darn impressed with the HEX02’s sonic performance. It doesn’t show off the raw clarity and micro-detail of similarly priced hybrids or more treble and mid-focused products, nor the slamming bass of some other models that place more focus on the low end. Where it succeeds is in the balance of it all, coming across refined and mature, detailed yet smooth. It’s a product I would have expected to come from a more established brand expanding into the budget realms, not a newcomer starting off there.

    20180605_173304.jpg DSC03301.JPG DSC03308.JPG

    Select Comparisons:

    Brainwavz Jive (28.00 USD): The Jive has been a benchmark product in this price range for me for a while now. The HEX02 goes head-to-head with it, and comes out slightly on top, when taking into account my personal preferences. Starting with the low end, the Jive is more punchy but the HEX02 digs deeper with a more visceral sub-bass focus. They are similarly textured. The Jive’s mid-range is slightly recessed but shows more detail. Treble is similarly emphasized with the Jive being brighter. The Jive’s spike is in the 5k region versus the HEX02’s 7k peak which makes sense as to why I perceive the Jive as the more detailed of the two. I find the HEX02 to have a more full-bodied sound overall which to me makes it sound more natural.

    In terms of build they are equals. The Jives flawless aluminum shells look and feel great, slotting comfortably into the ear cable up or down, just like the HEX02. Isolation isn’t as good on the Jive though. The cables are similar too. Above the y-split the Jive’s cable is a bit thinner and more flexible, but retains some memory. Below the y-split the Jive’s cable is slightly thicker with a less dense feeling sheath that again, retains some memory. Strain relief on the Jive is better at the y-split and jack, but too stiff leading into the housings to be useful. The HEX02’s ear piece relief is excellent in comparison.

    BGVP MRY6 (24.90 USD): The MRY6 has a larger sound stage with greater depth than the HEX02. Imaging is less precise, but sounds have more space to move. It has a thicker presentation top to bottom and as such sounds lightly veiled when a/bing with the Hypersense, particularly in the lower treble and mid-range where detail and clarity are also behind the HEX02. Bass on the MRY6 is bigger and more viscera with some additional texture, though there is some extra mid-bass that add some bloat not present on the HEX02. Treble on the HEX02 is slightly more elevated with greater control. The MRY6’s treble has a dull sheen to it that takes the shimmer out of cymbals.

    In terms of build, the MRY6 is hard to beat. I’m not a fan of the design for a number of reasons, but the machining quality and materials are flawless. The cable is also stiffer but thicker and more durable than what you get on the HEX02. The HEX02 takes a huge step forward in terms of ergonomics, for me, due to the MRY6’s pudgy housings and short nozzle. Those qualities make finding tips that fit way more of a challenge than it needs to be. The HEX02 isolates much more successfully.

    Final Thoughts:

    What can I say? The HEX02 is a really nice earphone. It’s got a common sound signature that is proven to be popular, performing at a higher level than most of the competition I’ve tried in the price range. It’s stainless steel housings are nicely crafted with great fit and finish, comfortable, well-isolating, and plug into your device via a behaved, though slightly delicate feeling cable. The inline mic is also amazing, especially for something so inexpensive. The unboxing experience is pretty cool too, even if the included accessories aren't anything special, nor particularly plentiful.

    I really have no complaints with this one and am excited to see what Hypersense comes up with next. Hopefully the HEX02 isn’t their only success.

    Thanks for reading!

    – B9Scrambler

    ***** ***** ***** ***** *****​

    Some Test Tunes:

    Aesop Rock – Skelethon (Album)
    Daft Punk – Random Access Memories (Album)
    Elton John – Yellow Golden Brick Road (Album)
    King Crimson – Lark’s Tongues in Aspic (Album)
    King Crimson – Starless and Bible Black (Track)
    Supertramp – Crime of the Century (Album)
    Infected Mushroom – Converting Vegetarians (Album)
    Infected Mushroom – Legend of the Black Shawarma (Album)
    Gorillaz – Plastic Beach (Album)
    Massive Attack – Mezzanine (Album)
    Fleetwood Mac – Rumors (Album)
    Run the Jewels – Run the Jewels (Album)
    The Prodigy – The Day is My Enemy (Album)
    Tobacco – F****d Up Friends (Album)
    Felt – Felt 2 (A Tribute to Lisa Bone) (Album)