1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

FiiO X1-II High Resolution Lossless Music Player (2nd Generation) (Silver)

Rating:
3/5,
  1. noobandroid
    Budget kickstarter
    Written by noobandroid
    Published Oct 25, 2016
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Small, Lightweight, BT (maybe, i have no way of testing)
    Cons - Firmware, processing speed, screen reso
    Special thanks to Fiio for sponsoring this review unit for testing purposes
     
    Firmware installed : 1.2
    Micro SD size used: 128GB C10 Sandisk 
     
    Spec sheet: http://www.fiio.net/en/products/57/parameters
     

    Introduction

    Put aside the spec sheets and things you can read easily from their site, like functions and stuff, this baby X1 is the second iteration of the player, and design wise, i like the lightweight that the player is, in comparison to their elders, the x3ii and x5ii. Below are some of the pictures of the unit in box, out of box, paper works and everything else not within the unit interface.
     
    ` 20161018_211730.jpg 20161018_212359.jpg 20161018_212611.jpg 20161018_213344.jpg
    20161018_214205.jpg 20161018_213132.jpg 20161018_213203.jpg
     
    Now as you can see above images, the accessories that comes with Fiio X1ii is quite an amount, that includes sticker covers, transparent back case, 2 extra SP on top of 1 factory applied, 3 Hi-Res Stickers for whatever reason given, and a USB cable. HO, SD slot and USB are all at the btm, and power + vol on the left side body, nothing on top and right.
     

    Interface

    In terms of navigation fluidity, I wouldn't say the device has the speed needed for a swift nav to some places, like through the setting menu, it might choke up a bit and gets you into the wrong selection. It could be also because of the non step navigation wheel which makes controlling the wheel a bit harder to get precise. Startup time is also so slow, Let me show you the startup process which is so weird.
    1. Welcome (ok, polite)
    2. Fiio logo (ok..)
    3. Fiio Logo (again?)
    4. Main playback screen
     
    Now, 2x Fiio logo? is that needed?
     
     

    Sound Quality

    Based on RHA MA750i iem

    Bass

    The bass of the X1ii is not very strong but has the precision. No volume just precision and availability. In the album Bullet for My Valentine - Venom, there are tracks with mixes of bass drums and a lot of bass guitar strikes, I couldn't feel the weight that defines the power of the songs BFMV is good at. At times, the bass could get somewhat drowned out and not in the action. There wasn't the boom that metals should get.
     

    Mid

    The vocals are quite well conveyed and forward. Electric guitar shredding notes clearly and I can see this is the part where the X1ii will do well as a kickstarter for audiophiles. Note by note you can hear the guitars going head on as the star when the guitar solo comes in. Although it gives a good sense of vocal's, but somehow I cant help but to have some fatigue for a (maybe) dead flat mids.
     

    Treble

    Treble is also not the best coming from a budget DAP, high hat notes were not shown, crispiness wasn't there, and I tried the whole album and didn't had the cymbals out at it together with the song, especially the importance of it in "Army of Noise" where the drum set has it's own importance. But hey, at least it has something for the sensitive ears, softer trebles, haha.
     

    Soundstage

    The soundstage coming from X1ii isn't exactly hall wide, but it does extend to a certain range, which dishes out the slight perception of echo. The height of the stage isn't extensive too, and doesn't have any sense to it, Just you can hear it far side, near side, mid , face front.
     
     

    Software

    Lets start off the software part with another set of images, some settings are self explanatory.
    20161018_213022.jpg ` 20161018_212736.jpg 20161018_213039.jpg
     
    From the above images, you can see the 2nd one and you realize that it uses similar interface as X3 and X5 2nd gens. Settings wise, these are the distinct settings to X1ii:
    Bluetooth on/off + settings
    Output: a headphone logo for HO or a square with an arrow out of the box (Line out)
    USB Mode: Storage or In-vehicle, where you connect it to a car charger and HO, the car starts and the player will initiate and shut down when car turned off.
    Cover display: None / Normal / Full screen
     

    Speed test with X3ii and X5ii

    20161028_2234441.jpg
     
    Startup time:
    X1ii: 14 seconds
    x3ii: 7 seconds
    x5ii: 9 seconds
     
    Scanning a media SD of 128GB
    x1ii: 6 minutes 49 seconds
    x3ii: 1 minute 12 seconds
    x5ii: 1 minute
     
    Shutting down:
    x1ii: 14 seconds
    x3ii: 1 second
    x5ii: 3 seconds
     
    Surprisingly, the x3ii turned off completely by a mere second, x5ii blazed the micro sd lib scan, but the x1ii didnt accomplish anything in this speed test and was always last.
     

    Gain comparison with x3ii and x5ii

    x1ii :has no gain control, sounds very forward and bright, detail extraction is hinted by the aggresive forward sound 
    x3ii high gain:  a laid back vocal, much darker sounding, bass attack is weaker, song speed seems slower
    x5ii high gain: also has a laid back vocal, softer bass with short but accurate bass attack
    x
     
     

    Conclusion

    Well, if price was the super constraint, then the x1ii will be part of the option, and tolerance level for SQ is big, then this is the player for you. Lightweight, on and play, toss it into the bag or pocket and go mobile, thats all that is the best of X1ii IMO, for 99 USD, not a lot can go against this form over function excellence.
     
    Minor note: This thing is fingerprint magnet, look at my X1ii
    20161025_115857.jpg   The black side is filled with FP if not taken care of and use their skin / protectors
      hqssui likes this.
  2. Delance26
    Fiio X1 2nd Generation Review
    Written by Delance26
    Published Oct 23, 2016
    3.5/5,
    Pros - Well built, excellent value, good sound quality
    Cons - Buggy Firmware, UI needs works, Bluetooth needs major work
    FiiO X1 2nd Generation Review
    Disclaimer: The product I am reviewing was provided to me from FiiO in exchange for an honest review of the X1 2nd Generation.  Please note that this is an early prototype and does not possess the full functions of the final retail product according to FiiO.
     
    Item Information and Specs:
    Firmware version: 1.2

     
    Supported files formats: WAV, APE, WMA, ALAC, FLAC

    Bluetooth: 4.0 (no apt-X)

    Battery: 1800mAh (up to 10 hours of playtime)

    Dimensions: 97mmx55.5mmx12mm

    Weight: 102g

      20161020_074723_HDR.jpg

    Introduction:
    The FiiO X1 2nd generation is, as the name implies, the newest version of the successful X1 DAP that FiiO released a while back.  While it shares similarities with its predecessor, the X1 2nd gen has some big differences.  The most obvious of which is its physical appearance.  I will mostly compare the X1 second generation and first generation in this review.  I will also try and keep this review somewhat prose and to the point as to not to drown you in information.  If you wish to know more specific details please message me or comment below.
     
    The X1 2nd gen has opted out of the boxy shape of its predecessor and instead has rounded sides.  This round shaped makes it more comfortable in hand and gives it a more streamlined appeal.  Furthermore, it no longer has the rotating dial to navigate the device, instead it has touch wheel.  The principle is the same, but now it is not mechanical in nature.  The microSD slot has been moved to the bottom of the device and no longer is covered up by the provided case. 
     
    Under the hood the X1 2nd gen is both the same and different.  The amp section is the same (although further optimized), but the selected DAC has been changed from an PCM 5142 to the more recent chip set from Texas Instrument, the PCM 5242.  This chip set has a higher signal-to-noise ratio, and is simply a better chipset.
    Continuing with the innards of the X1 2nd gen another new feature is the ability to access Bluetooth devices.  It has Bluetooth 4.0, but not apt-X which is unfortunate, but not a deal breaker at this price point.  I have had some issues with the Bluetooth which I will touch on later.
     
    The X1 2nd gen has no internal memory, so you will need a microSD card in order to utilize it.  It should also be empty as the card needs to be formatted for the X1, which in turn deletes all stored files on the microSD card.  You can format it in the settings of the DAP.
     
    20161020_075355_HDR.jpg 20161020_075430_HDR.jpg
     
     
    Build Quality:
    The 2nd generation is well built, just like the previous iteration.  It has a solid aluminum body that feels sturdy and well built.  It is roughly the same size as the 1st generation, but feels much thinner.  This is as a result of the nice curved edges and the slimmer case that is included.  Once nice touch is that FiiO does is pre-install a screen protector.  What is odd is that it includes two more full front protectors (covers the bottom half).  Why this seems odd is this would essentially waste the pre-installed protector.  Is it a large issue? Hardly, but it still odd in my opinion.  Why not pre-install the full protector?
     
     
     
    Performance:
    I have mixed feelings about the performance of this device.  It performs a simple function of a DAP very well, especially considering the MSRP of 99.99 USD.  IT does struggle with a few functions though that make me want to recommend you, as a consumer, to hold off for a little bit for FiiO to fix them.
     
    Let’s start with the positives.  As stated above, this DAC sounds wonderful.  Compared to its precursor it has a more resolving sound and is not as thick and heavy.  The mid-range has better definition and is not as overwhelmed as in the first X1.  Overall the Second iteration of the X1 has a more mature sound and I personally believe it to be a much better sound.
     
    Another welcome improvement with the 2nd gen is the battery life seems greatly improved. It can easily last several days of listening before it would maybe need a charge.  This is good for people like me would listens to music before I go to bed and may or may not fall asleep with music still playing (yes, I totally do that all the time…)
     
    All right, let’s talk about the negatives.  The biggest issue(s) I have encountered with this device is the Bluetooth.  At first it seemed wonderful.  The sound quality of the device was very good through a variety of Bluetooth speakers I have and in my car.  Sadly, problems soon started to appear. 
     
    Firstly, when Bluetooth is turned on, it takes the device a solid 15 seconds longer to turn on.  It should not take 15 seconds to enable Bluetooth on a device in 2016.  Luckily, this should be a problem that can be easily be fixed through a firmware update in the future.
     
    A second issue I have encountered with the Bluetooth is it seems to not be able to play hi-res music files (24 bit and above) via Bluetooth.  When it is enabled and connected to a Bluetooth device it will suddenly say the file is not supported on the device.  If I turn Bluetooth off and start listening the old-fashioned way (analog) it is now able to play the file.  This makes little sense to me and makes me wonder if there is a software issue.  Again, this is something that should be fixed via a firmware update.
     
    Conclusion:
    So here is the ultimate question: Is the X1 2nd generation worth your hard-earned money? For those that have the 1st generation, is it worth the upgrade?
    The X1 2nd gen is a solid DAP.  If you need a new DAP or your smart phone sounds terrible (which many do) then yes I would easily recommend this product.  If you have the old version of the X1 then I do not as readily recommend it.  Don’t get me wrong; it is certainly an upgrade from the 1st generation, offering an improved sonic experience.  I simply would be hesitant to recommend it when I have encountered so many issues with the newly-added Bluetooth, which is one of the biggest new features of the second generation.  I would recommend waiting to purchase the second generation until all of the kinks with the Bluetooth are worked out, unless you do not plan on using the Bluetooth, then go for it! I should note that the issues I have noted may be unique to the device I have been given and this issue could be remedied with the consumer versions, not this pre-release sample.
     
    If you have any questions about the review or the product, please comment below and ask!
    1. View previous replies...
    2. Delance26
      If you are talking about updating the media library yes it does take some time.  This is more forgivable simply because it is restricted to SD card speeds.  SD cards will never be as fast as on-board memory.
      Delance26, Oct 23, 2016
    3. Denis Iastrebov
      SLAC - you invented a new audio format?
       
      Denis Iastrebov, Dec 27, 2016
    4. Delance26
      Good catch, should be ALAC! Is all updated!
      Delance26, Jan 1, 2017
  3. TheoS53
    Great little player, but needs improvement and better testing from the manufacturer
    Written by TheoS53
    Published Oct 12, 2016
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Fantastic value, Bluetooth functionality, Great build quality, Sound quality at this price, No mechanical scroll wheel
    Cons - Laggy UI, Screen appears over-sharpened, Not the nicest looking UI, Can feel very much like a work in progress rather than a device fit for retail
    Fiio has been around for roughly 9 years now, and have made very steady progress with their products. Their latest release, the ‘ALL NEW X1’ is an updated version of their best-selling player, the original X1.

    The new X1 brings a whole host of updates and additions to the table; some are only minor updates, whilst others are completely new.
     
     
    Specs
    •  Headphones impedance: 16~100 Ω
    •  Output Impedance: <1Ω(32Ω loaded)
    •  Frequency response: 5 Hz~60 kHz (-3dB)
    •  SNR: ≥113 dB (A-weighted)
    •  THD+N: ≤ 0.003% (1 kHz)
    •  Crosstalk: ≥72 dB (1 kHz)
    •  Lossless formats supported: 192kHz/32bit (WAV and Aiff); 192kHz/24bit (APE fast, FLAC, Aif,
        Apple Lossless); 96kHz/24bit (APE normal, APE high); 48kHz/24bit (WMA Lossless)
    •  Lossy formats supported: MP3, AAC, WMA, OGG
    •  Power requirement: 5V DC, 2A


    Packaging 
    All of Fiio’s products are always packaged, at the very least, decently. The packaging for their Xseries devices, however, have always had a premium edge to them, and the new X1 is no different. It doesn’t feel quite as premium as the higher tier X-devices, but it doesn’t seem like they made any silly cost cuts either. Usually, I’d say “you get what you pay for”, but that simply isn’t the case here. Compared to other devices I’ve purchased in this price range, the new X1’s packaging doesn’t disappoint. Something I did note, though, is the colour of the devices printed on the box. I haven’t personally seen the Rose Gold coloured X1, but the one on the box looks more Copper than Rose Gold. The reason I mention this is because these images are usually a customer’s first glimpse at what they’re about to buy (or considering to buy). So if there is a rather large difference, they might be left disappointed when they open the box. The silver version on the box also looks darker than what the actual device is.

    IMG_2864.jpg IMG_2920.jpg IMG_2917.jpg
     
     
    What's in the box? 
    Fiio X1ii 
    2x Screen protectors (1 already applied to the device) 
    USB cable 
    Clear case 
    3x ‘Hi Res’ stickers 
    2x body stickers (1 x 3D black checked, 1 x 3D white carbon) 
    Warranty card 
    Quick start guide 
     
    IMG_2923.jpg
     
    Accessories 
    Fiio always includes a few interesting and appreciated accessories in their device boxes. However, there is something I feel I have to nail Fiio on. Granted, I am quite a detail orientated person (you’ll notice in my reviews that I often pick up on very subtle imperfections), but just have a look at the ‘Hi Res’ stickers. The black part of the logo isn’t centred at all. When I first read about them including these stickers in the box, I thought it might look pretty cool to stick one on the back. But after seeing them, I definitely won’t.
    IMG_2985.jpg
     
    Something I should applaud them on, though, is the clear case. The first X1 just had a black silicon cover; but the new X1 comes with a very minimal and unobtrusive hard clear case. I MUCH prefer this over the black silicon.  
     
    Sure, it won’t protect the device the same way that a full silicon case would, but if you’re not prone to dropping your devices you’ll appreciate this minimalistic approach. It sits nice and snug, and doesn’t seem like it’ll easily pop off. It can be a little bit finicky to remove, but not overly so.
    IMG_2982.jpg
     
    The only minor issue I can see is that the sides that “wrap” around the sides of the device do not sit higher than the screen; meaning that if you were to place the device face down on a surface, it would be resting entirely on the 4 buttons. 
    IMG_2928.jpg IMG_2930.jpg
     
    Also included are 2 body stickers which cover all sides of the device. Personally I don’t care much for such accessories and I’m a little underwhelmed with the included ones. If I absolutely had to put a sticker kit on, I would’ve preferred a wood grain design as was included with the original X1. But that’s purely a personal preference.  
     
     
    Also something to note is that the 2 screen protectors that are included as extras cover the ENTIRE glass section of the front of the device, whereas the one that’s already applied only covers the screen area. Unfortunately, the screen protector is incredibly easy to scratch, and there is no protective layer on top of it (meaning that it’ll get scratched when you’re pushing out bubbles after applying it). I specifically wanted to try the larger screen protector to see if it had any negative impact on the touch scroll. Thankfully it doesn’t seem to have done so.
     
    IMG_2994.jpg



    Design:
    Body and layout
     

    First up is Fiio’s new design; and what a beauty it is. It looks and feels MUCH more modern than the outgoing X1, and in fact more modern than any of their X3 or X5 iterations too (which all share most of the original X1’s design). In terms of volume, the new X1 is nearly 2.5 times as big as the M3, but 18% smaller than the old X1 model 
    IMG_3005.jpg


    One of the biggest changes are the curved sides. I remember when I wrote a review about the M3 I noted that the device felt too boxy, and that rounded edges would’ve felt more premium and comfortable. Well, it seems my suspicion was correct, and the new X1 definitely feels more comfortable.
    IMG_3011.jpg


    The new X1 is also a touch smaller and lighter than the outgoing model, but oddly enough it ‘feels’ just a touch heavier than its predecessor. I think this is due to the fact that it’s more compact. The old one just felt kind of hollow, whereas the new X1 just feels more solid and premium. The front is also almost entirely made of tempered glass, apart from the rather small aluminium bezels of the body and the 5 mechanical buttons. And yes, it’s a total fingerprint magnet, as you’d expect. Even though the body is aluminium, the coating they’ve put on is a very smooth matte finish, which makes it sort of look as if it’s made of polycarbonate. In fact, the entire design, from the curved edges to the design of the power and volume buttons, feels rather reminiscent of Nokia’s Lumia models such as the 1020. 
    It’s only once you pick the device up and feel the coolness of the metal that you realise that it’s actually metal. I actually like that, as I feel when a device is too shiny it can sometimes make the device look cheap.
    IMG_2966.jpg


    The other major design change is the scroll wheel. I was never a fan of their scroll wheels, and this time they’ve dropped it completely; sort of. This is where I have to give major kudos to Fiio’s engineers, as they’ve managed to give us a ‘touch scroll’ experience. If that sounds vaguely familiar to you it’s because that is what Apple did with their classic iPods. What Fiio managed to do is some very deep and clever thinking: they figured out how to give us those controls, but without infringing on any copyrights. I have to admit that I MUCH prefer the new controls over the old mechanical scroll wheel. 

    IMG_2979.jpg
     
    The old X1 just looks and feels like a rush job, as though it was created out of left over bits and bobs. It kind of reminds me of the Objective2 AMP kit; where things are kind of put together by screws, like a big boy Lego kit. The new X1, on the other hand, looks and feels like it went through careful and deliberate considerations…that it was designed and engineered. In short, compared to its predecessor, the new X1 is miles ahead as far as build quality and design is concerned. Seeing as the current X3 and X5 iterations share most of the old X1’s design, I’m tempted to say that the new X1 is Fiio’s best built device yet…or at least almost on par with the X7 (in my opinion).  I must admit, though, that the touch-wheel control that was found on Apple’s devices is far superior to the one found on the new X1. The X1’s just isn’t as responsive, and at times seems quite inaccurate, inconsistent, and sometimes quite sensitive. So much so that I often found myself having to concentrate on just how much I have to move my thumb; and even then it can be a hit or miss experience. It will take some getting used to. 
     
    Other changes include the headphone/lineout port which is now at the bottom, and the card slot which has also moved to the bottom (it was previously on the side). The volume and power buttons are still in the same place, but their shapes have been changed. 
    IMG_3013.jpg
     
    A minor issue I have, however, is their choice of paint colour for the headphone/lineout and card slot logos on the bottom. They had the same issue with the first X1. Perhaps this is only an issue with the silver model, but white on silver really doesn’t work very well. It’s rather difficult to see the logos, and if you hold it at just the right angle, they disappear completely. The headphone/lineout one isn’t that big of a deal, but for the card slot it’s incredibly difficult to see which way the card is supposed to be inserted. 
    IMG_2991.jpg
     
    It seems an old ghost is still haunting Fiio in terms of quality control, though. If you look carefully, the centre button is a little bit off centre; or perhaps the button is bang in the centre, but instead the cutout is off-centre. I called this ‘an old ghost’ as I’ve found this on other devices too. My first generation X5 had this issue, as well as the original X1. 
     
    IMG_3005-Copy.jpg IMG_3009.jpg
     
    As you can see from the pictures, it’s not nearly as noticeable as on the original X1, but it’s still there. 
     
    Something else which bugs me (but this is entirely subjective) is that the headphone/lineout, card slot, and USB port don’t line up with one another. It just seems a bit odd (to me at least)
    IMG_2992.jpg


    Design:
    Screen 

     
    To some extent the new screen seems much better than the old one. It’s placed closer to the glass, and just looks far more vibrant and brighter, whereas the old one looked VERY washed out. The new screen is also “colder” (whites have more of a blue tint), whereas the old screen was warmer (orange tint). The new X1 also has a much larger contrast ratio (perhaps too much contrast). However, the new screen seems to be of a lower resolution. By that I mean that album art and text looks VERY pixelated compared to the old one. Or perhaps extremely over-sharpened is the more correct term to use. Here’s a comparison photo to show what I mean. Notice how the colours look great on the new screen, but the “Random Access Memories” text on the album art looks horrible, pretty much unreadable. To be perfectly honest, it reminds me of what some of the first colour screens on mobiles looked like over 10 years ago. 

    IMG_2969.jpg
     
     
    User Interface 

    In the past I’ve been rather vocal about my thoughts on Fiio’s UI design. There are 2 parts to good UI design; firstly, is how easy and intuitive it is to navigate through the various menus and screens. Fiio actually does this reasonably well. And the second part is how good it looks. This is where my criticism of their UI design comes in. It just seems a bit underwhelming, nothing that makes you say, “hey, that’s kinda cool”. In short, they’ve utilised a very “safe” approach to the UI design. In fact, it looks almost identical to the UI used on their X-series devices (except for the X7). So whilst it’s not terrible, it just doesn’t seem very good either. But let’s be honest, this isn’t a smartphone, you’re not going to be looking at the screen and interacting with it all the time. The menu structures doesn’t seem to have changed much (a few icon changes here and there), so if you’re coming from the first X1, you’ll have no problem switching over.  But, the UI does seem slower on the new model. Everything, from boot up, shut down, playing songs, updating the library, almost everything is slower (some minor, others considerably so). Unfortunately, it seems that users won’t able to create their own themes for the new X1. I tried using the same firmware unpacking tool that was used with the previous X1, X3 and X5 iterations, but this didn’t work. Perhaps Fiio will release a different tool for this in the future. 
     
     
    Sound

    compare.png
    As you can see, the new X1 has a slightly flatter frequency response as compared to the old X1, with the biggest difference being apparent in the frequencies above 10kHz.  Please note that the frequency axis of the graph is not scaled linearly, it is intentionally set up to visually exaggerate the dB difference in the sub-bass, low, mid, and high regions of the audible frequency spectrum. Both devices showed a mere 2.5dB maximum difference between 10Hz and 20kHz. 
      
    Initially I felt that the new X1 sound rather harsh and sibilant compared to the old X1. I’m happy to report that after a firmware update it doesn’t have that same harshness anymore. Below is an FR graph that compares the 2 firmware versions.
     
    fwcompare.png
    So not a great deal of difference apart from slightly increased dB starting from about 16Hz (which is probably completely inaudible), but the FR graph doesn’t seem to give any obvious reasons as to why or how the harshness was fixed…but regardless, I’m glad the sound has been improved.  
     
    If I were to sum it up, I feel the new X1 still has a slightly warm sound signature, but compared to the old X1 it is more analytical (which may be attributed to the flatter FR). Details in the upper frequencies come across a bit more detailed, and overall it just sounds that little bit more balanced. So if you’re wondering whether or not to upgrade from the old X1 and the added hardware features aren’t convincing you quite enough, the improved sound will sweeten the deal ever so slightly.  
    Comparing the frequency response between headphone out and lineout, we can see a near identical graph. Lineout seems to be ever so slightly flatter, with the biggest differences showing up in the subbass region between 4Hz and 30Hz.
    lovsho.png
     
     

    Bluetooth 

    This is an all new feature for the X1, and I think this is a major attraction for many prospective buyers. Simply put, it does what it should, for the most part. It sounds perfectly fine, but it just doesn’t support the Apt-X protocol. This isn’t really Fiio’s fault as they meet both the hardware requirements and have the licensing in order to implement Apt-X, but unfortunately Qualcomm (the owner of the Apt-X technology) does not support the operating system used by the new X1. So technically, all that’s needed is for Qualcomm to give Fiio the go ahead to implement the Apt-X protocol. Who knows, perhaps in the future (hopefully) this is exactly what will happen. But bear in mind that if you don’t have any Bluetooth speakers or headphones which support Apt-X, having Apt-X on the new X1 will be of no benefit to you.  As far as Bluetooth range is concerned, I connected the new X1 to my JBL Charge 2 speaker, and the range seems to be ok. If there are no obstructions I can get the specified 10 metre range, but if there are any obstructions (walls, doors, furniture, etc), then the range seems to lean more towards 5 metres. I should note, though, that on firmware 1.0 The new X1 had a major flaw. It simply wouldn't play any high resolution tracks over bluetooth (or perhaps it was just 24 bit files). This to me is simply unacceptable as one would think that this is something that would have been tested by Fiio before releasing it to the public, but it has been fixed in firmware 1.2.
     

    Will it improve my audio experience? 

    As mentioned, if you’re coming from the old X1, the new version is definitely an improvement in almost every respect. The only area which I’m a bit unsure of is with regards to the screen. The oversharpening isn’t exactly pleasant to look at. But again I come back to the point I made earlier; this isn’t a smartphone, you’re not going to be staring at the screen for extended periods of time. So perhaps the screen isn’t a major issue after all. 
     
    However, if you’re the type of person who is on a rather tight budget and venturing into the high resolution portable audio device territory, or upgrading from something like Fiio’s M3, you’ll be delighted with the device. It really is quite interesting and packs in a lot of useful features. Honestly, for the price, I can’t think of a more complete, better sounding device. 
     
    Just like the original X1, the new X1 doesn’t have a notably wide sound stage (not that it’s narrow by any means), nor does it reproduce the absolute finest of details with crystal clear clarity, and the lows do bleed a little bit into the mids. But to be perfectly honest, since installing the new firmware, I didn’t really enjoy listening to the new X1 any bit less than my E18+E12A setup. But isn’t that precisely the point of all this? There are numerous tech specs that we could end up chasing; forever looking for that tiny bit less distortion, that little extra stereo imaging, a bit more dynamic range…the list goes on and on. Sure, it's got a narrower sound stage, feels a bit more congested, and bass isn't as well controlled. But in the end, all that truly matters is how much the device makes us enjoy the music. There comes a point where all these tiny little difference simply don’t matter anymore. It’s kind of like trying to compare 2 cars of near identical weight and drivetrain, one with 500hp and the other with 520hp. That extra little bit just isn’t going to make a great deal of difference (if any). 
     
    The other thing you should consider is how often, and where, you would use the device. If you don’t plan on using it very often (perhaps only once or twice a week) then I genuinely don’t think you’ll need anything more than what the new X1 offers. Heck, even if you plan on using it for a few hours on a daily basis (as I have), the new X1 is still a fantastic device. But perhaps more importantly is your listening environment. Unless you’re listening in an extremely quiet environment, using a player which can reproduce the finest of details (notably louder than what the new X1 can) it simply won’t be of any benefit to you. 
     
     
    Value 

    Sure, it’s not quite as good as the current X3 or X5 models, but it’s quite a price leap to those devices (neither of which offer Bluetooth or the same excellent design and build quality). Of course, the price of the old X1 will now drop; so if you’re only concerned with sound quality, the old X1 might seem very tempting. But I really do feel that the new X1 is worth the extra cost.  
     
    But let’s compare the new X1 to Fiio’s other ‘ultra-value’ player; the M3. The new X1 has a better UI, can play higher resolution files (48kHz/24bit vs 192kHz/24bit), offers Bluetooth, higher power output, along with a much better design and build quality. So does that make the new X1 worth roughly double the price of the M3? I definitely think so. I guess the other way to look at it is to say that the level of difference, in terms of sound, between the new X1 and my current E18+E12A combo is almost the same level of difference I found between the E18+E12A combo and the Chord Mojo. It really is pretty darn close…not to mention it’s considerably more portable. Moreover, this leads me to believe that Fiio have positioned the new X1 almost perfectly on the balance point between ‘bang-for-buck’ value and the point of diminishing returns.
     
     

    Rating 
    Packaging
    Look and feel: 4 / 5
    Total: 4 / 5 
     
    Included Accessories
    Screen protector: YES
    Protective case: YES
    Cables: YES
    Total: 3 / 3 
     
    Build
    Metal body: YES
    Use of glass: YES
    Comfortable to hold: YES
    Comfortable button layout: YES
    Premium look and feel: YES
    Excellent quality control: -
    Screen Quality: 7 / 10
    Touch screen: -
    Multiple colour options: YES
    Total: 13 / 18 
     
    Sound
    Plays lossless audio: YES
    Plays 24bit resolution: YES
    Sound Quality: 9 / 10
    Total: 11 / 12 
     
    Portability
    Small size: 9 / 10
    Relatively low weight: 9 / 10
    Battery life more than 10 hours: YES
    Has ultra-low power consumption mode: YES
    Total: 20 / 22 
     
    Connectivity
    Bluetooth: YES
    Apt-X: -
    WiFi: -
    Can be controlled via headphone remote: YES
    Can be controlled wirelessly: YES
    Can be controlled wirelessly while connected to other wireless device: YES
    Lineout: YES
    Digital output: -
    Balanced output: -
    USB DAC functionality: -
    Universally accepted PC connection: YES
    Accepts microSD card: YES 
    Multi Gain: YES
    Total: 8 / 13 
     
     
    User Interface
    Easy to use: 4 / 5
    Intuitive: 4 / 5
    Responsive: -
    Interesting design: -
    Multiple themes: YES
    Total: 9 / 13 
     
    Value
    Competitive price-point: YES
    Relative value: 9.5 / 10
    Total: 10.5 / 11 
     
    Manufacturer
    Has good reputation: YES
    Sells useful optional accessories for the device: YES
    Provides software updates for the device: YES
    Total: 3 / 3 
     
    Final Rating: 8.2 / 10

    IMG_2997.jpg IMG_3003.jpg
      RameshK likes this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. Cheaplad
      Thank you for your very comprehensive review and it is nice to read the part analyzing what users need vs, what X1ii could offer.  Just wonder if you can say something about pairing this DAP with different IEMs/CANs.
       
      I am using X3ii and I am a proud owner.  But if X3iii adopted similar design (except the screen), it would be a no-brainer for me.
      Cheaplad, Oct 13, 2016
    3. TheoS53
      Well, I don't own many headphones as I do a TON of research before I buy anything for myself...so what I have are relatively cheap, but fantastic performers at their price point. 

      so with that said, the cans I was using were the M40X, and the IEMs were the M6 Pro. Both paired very well with the X1ii. 

      Since then I've hooked up the E12A to the X1ii, and the improvement in sound is considerable. More detailed, wider stage, less fatiguing sound 
      TheoS53, Oct 13, 2016
    4. JukeBoxJimmy
      one comment and it applies to all Fiios players. It is ReplayGain! The X1 should really have it if you plan on using it in your car or on a Honda Goldwing motorcycle.
      JukeBoxJimmy, Nov 2, 2016