1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

CCA C10

Rating:
4.64286/5,
  1. B9Scrambler
    CCA C10: Smooth Operator
    Written by B9Scrambler
    Published Mar 14, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Good build quality and comfort - Very smooth sounding
    Cons - Overly warm and mid-bassy - Micro-detail lacking
    Greetings,

    Today we're checking out a new earphone from a new brand, the CCA C10.

    CCA came out of nowhere with a number of products that have raised some eyebrows; the C04, C10, and C16. The C04 features a 1+1 hybrid setup with one balanced armature (BA) and one dynamic driver (DD) per side, while the C16 has a whopping 8 balanced armatures per side. Besides the number of drivers being crammed into their products drawing attention, it also seems that CCA is spin off from Knowledge Zenith, masters of the budget realm. This is evident in the accessories, ear piece shells, and more obviously from the application of KZ branded armatures visible through the plastics.

    The C10 we're checking out today splits the difference between the C04 and C16 with a 4+1 hybrid setup. With one dynamic and four balanced armatures per side, it immediately makes me think “rebranded ZS10”. Is it? Let's take a closer look.

    Disclaimer:

    The C10 was sent over by Sunny from Better Audio on Amazon. The thoughts within this review are my own subjective opinions based on a couple months with the C10. They do not represent CCA, Better Audio, or any other entity. At the time of writing it was retailing for 41.99 USD on Amazon.com. You can check it out here: https://www.amazon.com/High-Performance-Monitor-Drivers-Earphone-Detachable/dp/B07L6FL5Z9

    Source:

    The C10 is quite easy to drive. I tended to pair it with neutral or bright-leaning DAPs like the Shanling M1 or Walnut V2S because it is a very warm, mid-bassy earphone and darker DAPs made it too thick sounding.

    Personal Preferences:

    I listen primarily to various EDM sub-genres (liquid drum and bass, breakbeat, drumstep, etc.), hip hop, and classic rock. My preferences for earphone tuning are quite relaxed and as such their is no one signature I look for. The HiFiMAN RE800 Silver, Brainwavz B400, and Massdrop x MeeAudio Planamic are examples of earphones with wildly varied signatures that are enjoyable for different reasons. I generally listen at very low volumes, so keep this in mind when perusing my thoughts on how an earphone sounds.

    Specifications:
    • Driver: 4 BA + 1 DD
    • Frequency Response: 7-40,000Hz
    • Impedance: 32ohms
    • Sensitivity: 108dB/mW
    • Weight: 29g
    P1000292.JPG P1000291.JPG P1000293.JPG

    Packaging and Accessories:

    The C10 arrives in some very KZ-esque packaging. On the front of the exterior sheath covering a compact cardboard box is an image of the C10's earpieces with the cable installed. It does a good job of showing off the beefy connectors and preformed ear guides. You also find the usual CCA branding and model info, as well as information that it is a hybrid earphone with ten drivers total. Flipping to the back of the sheath you find CCA's location and contact information as well as the earphone's specifications.

    Slipping off the sheath reveals the C10's earpieces under a plastic cover, tucked tightly into a cardboard and foam insert. Under the insert are the accessories and documentation. In all you get:
    • C10 earphones
    • 0.75mm 2-pin copper cable
    • Single flange ear tips (s/mx2/l)
    Overall this is a very basic accessory kit. It's interesting to see that the tip selection is identical to what KZ provided with the ZSN. The pre-installed medium tips are not the usual “Starline” model, instead featuring a smooth finish and very flexible silicone. The extra tips found in a sealed bag are all “Starline” models with the grooved bore.

    P1000298.JPG P1000311.JPG P1000313.JPG

    Build, Comfort, and Isolation:

    The C10 sees a nice step up in build quality over it's little brother, the C04. With improved acrylics and a metal back plate, I get mixed vibes of KZ ZSN and Fidue A85 Virgo. ZSN influence comes from the basic shape of the shell while the A85 influence can be found in the matte silver colouring and wavy accents. In my opinion the C10 is a lot more attractive and premium feeling in person than in pics where the metal plate has a plasticy look. In hand it carries a weightiness that isn't common in budget gear, though it's not so heavy that comfort is impeded. In additional to simply feeling good, the build quality is great with no sloppy moulding or misaligned parts. Even the metal grills were installed neatly, though I have seen a couple examples of those falling off. Looking through the clear shell you can see how neatly the five drivers are installed. They didn't load the C10 with glue, only adding what was needed to hold the drivers in place. Overall these are wonderfully built shells that wouldn't feel out of place on a significantly more expensive product.

    The braided copper cable is good and will be familiar to anyone that has bought a recent KZ since it's the same, minus new hardware. This also means it takes on the same qualities. It is flexible and doesn't transmit much noise, but the y-split is set too low making it easy to tangle unless you store it carefully. The memory wire KZ often uses has thankfully been replaced with well-shaped preformed ear guides. They do a great job keeping the cable in place around the ear, so no complaints there. I was pleased to see this cable equipped with the knurled metal 2-pin connectors KZ uses on one of their upgraded cables. They look nice and the knurling makes removing the cable quite easy, should it be needed. The y-split is also quite nice with some pretty extreme strain relief where the cable enters from the bottom, and splits leading to each ear piece. The latter is where relief is often omitted, so props to CCA for including it. The cable stumbles slightly when we get to the 90 degree angled jack. The good is that the strain relief here is also fantastic. The bad is that there is no extension for the 3.5mm plug to accommodate cell phone or DAP cases, and since the plug is somewhat chunky you're likely to find they interact in a way that is not desirable. My LG G6 has a very simple, thin, clear rubber case over it with a fairly spacious hole around the headphone jack. The C10's plug sits flush with the body of the phone but rubs against the case so really any movement causes it to dislodge slightly. So yeah, if you're planning to use the C10 with a device that has a case, you're probably going to need to swap to a different cable or forgo the case.

    In terms of comfort the C10 is fantastic. But, as seems to be the case lately those with smaller or oddly shaped outer ears might want to be cautious checking out this model because it's not particularly small and is meant for over ear wear only. Luckily I don't fall into either of those categories and as such the C10 is a gem to wear for long periods. The absence of any sharp angles or weird shapes means it tucks into my outer ear naturally.

    Isolation is about average to slightly above which caught me by surprise. Outside of the ZSN, none of the other earphones I've used with a similar shell were particularly outstanding at blocking outside noise thanks to the relatively shallow fit, so I don't know what makes the C10 different. Maybe it's because all that interior space is filled with drivers instead of air? Either way, these worked great outside and in noisy areas and I'd happily take them with me on my travels.

    DSCN0050.JPG P1000300.JPG P1000309.JPG

    Sound:

    I need to applaud CCA right off the bat for taking KZ's armatures and tuning them to be so impossibly smooth. Looking through the shell and seeing a bunch of KZ armatures, then popping the C10 back into my ears makes me want to do a double take because there is no aggressiveness, no harshness, no sibilance or roughness, and no readily apparent peaks. Somehow they made these armatures smooth and tame, yet without any sacrifice to speed, detail, or clarity. Very ZS10-like. You can actually listen to The Crystal Method's "Grace feat. LeAnn Rimes" through the C10 and it's not a screechy scratchfest. Super impressive. Despite being reasonably mellow, the presentation is still quite spacious and airy too with a convincing distance between notes. If you're treble sensitive and looking for a solid budget hybrid, here you go!

    The mid-range is much the same. Warm and silky smooth with great articulation and coherence. It blends in very well with the treble and bass, though the lower mids do see a touch of interference from the low end as the C10 is quite mid-bassy. Still, male vocals sound wonderful as evident tossing on Daft Punk's "Touch". Paul Williams tones are deep and full with tons of emotion and nuance. It's pretty great. Female vocals are served well too as heard on Jessie J's "Bang Bang". Jessie and Ariana sound powerful and distinct while Nicki's rapping is on point and free of the nasal tone some cheapo earphones apply. Timbre is excellent with the acoustic guitar on Porcupine Tree's "Baby Dream in Cellophane" sounding just right. Attack on each strum is solid and confident and decay hangs for just a brief moment. The only complaint I could levy here, and it's more of a preference thing, is that the mids could stand to be a couple dB more forward. That or reduce the bass a bit.

    Speaking of bass, the C10 has lots of it. It extends well and provides a good bit of visceral feedback on The Prodigy's "Thunder", but the mid-bass bloom is a bit much at times and can make the C10 boomy. Most of the time it is tight and well controlled and can take on quick double bass, such as on Havok's "Covering Fire", pretty easy. Despite the quantity of bass on handle, it can be nimble when it needs to. Texturing is a little lacking at times as I found running through Tobacco's discography as their grungy bass is smoothed out more than it should be. I guess that's good if you listen to lots of lo-fi music or highly compressed files ala. Soundcloud or Youtube.

    The C10 provides a good sound stage experience for a budget headphone, but still not much beyond average. You get none of that in-your-head feel. Instead, music plays just beside your ears. I find the stage deeper than it is wide, so while the C10 will toss effects off in the distance, the movement is limited. The depth certainly helps with layering and separation though, keeping instruments and effect distinct and from blurring or smearing each other. Imaging is smooth but slightly vague making pinpointing locations of instruments or effects less accurate than on something like the single armature Brainwavz B100.

    P1000306.JPG P1000308.JPG P1000310.JPG

    Select Comparisons:

    KZ ZS10 (46.00 USD): Both earphones are warm and bassy with the C10 showing more upper treble emphasis and a more prominent lower mid-range. C10 seems better with male vocals while the ZS10 seems more at home with female vocals. Bass on both is mostly focused on the mid-bass with similarly good extension (C10 has a slight edge here), limited texturing, and general performance. I don't hear a significant enough difference between the two to say that I have a preference in that metric. Sound stage is very clearly in the ZS10's camp despite the lack of upper treble. It provides a much more spacious experience making the C10 seems almost intimate in comparison. It also does a better job of moving sound accurately from channel to channel and comes across more layer with better instrument separation. Micro-detail goes to the ZS10 and while its mid-range is more recessed, it remains clearer. Even though neither of these two have the treble energy I crave, the ZS10's much larger sound stage and improved technical abilities have me preferring it over the C10 in terms of sound. C10 is superior in terms of build and fit though, thanks to the metal face plate, improved cable hardware, and smaller, ZST-style shell.

    BQEYZ KC2 (57.99 USD): The C10 has a warmer, mid-bassier presentation with less treble energy overall. KC2's mid-range is more even and forward with improved clarity and detail. KC2's treble provides more information but isn't as well controlled or smooth as on the C10. KC2's bass extension is just as good but the balanced is skewed less towards the mid-bass and more towards sub-bass. C10's bass is less textured and softer feeling overall with less speed and punch. Sound stage on the KC2 is wider and deeper with better imaging, layering, and separation. Overall detail and clarity goes to the KC2. It simply sounds like the better performer, but it is brighter which the treble sensitive out there will want to shy away from if they tend to find budget hybrids too sharp. Build of the shells is in the KC2's hand thanks to the well-machined, aluminum construction. The cable sucks though and I'd take CCA's any day. I really don't know why people like BQEYZ's cable. Sure it has a chin cinch but that's not particularly useful when the cable is stiff, retains all the kinks and bends from initial packaging, tangles even more easily than CCA/KZ cables. In cool weather it all gets worse to boot.

    Final Thoughts:

    CCA is proving themselves to be a worthy entrant in the budget earphone sphere. Yes, they are taking KZ parts and drivers and re-tuning them while applying a new brand name, but it seems to be working. There are similarities between KZ's ZS10 and the C10, but they definitely are not the same earphone in a different shell.

    The C10's warm, v-shaped signature is super smooth and quite refined with a decent sound stage and acceptable technical ability. For me personally, the mid-bass quantity could stand to be toned down a bit and once I start comparing to some other cherry-picked earphones in the price range, the level of detail on offer falters a touch, but it's still an enjoyable listen and this style of tuning would make for a fantastic daily-driver. The build quality is quite nice as well, especially that stylish metal face plate which gives them some heft and a more premium look in person. Like many products nowadays, they feel and sound more expensive than their sub-50 USD price tag would suggest. If you pick them up while on sale or do some digging, they can be had at a price that absolutely shames what you could get from an equivalently priced product from a more mainstream brand. I would like to see CCA do more to differentiate themselves from KZ via more unique packaging, less parts sharing, and maybe toss in a carrying case which is something many customers seem to lament being omitted.

    Otherwise, the CCA C10 is a well-designed and pleasantly tuned earphone that should appeal to a wide variety of listeners that enjoy warm and bassy earphones. It's a good value and a safe pick if you want to snag a solid performer in the sub-50 USD realm.

    Thanks for reading!

    - B9Scrambler

    ***** ***** ***** ***** *****

    Some Test Tunes:

    Aesop Rock - Skelethon (Album)
    Daft Punk - Random Access Memories (Album)
    Elton John - Yellow Golden Brick Road (Album)
    King Crimson - Lark's Tongues in Aspic (Album)
    King Crimson - Starless and Bible Black (Track)
    Supertramp - Crime of the Century (Album)
    Infected Mushroom - Converting Vegetarians (Album)
    Infected Mushroom - Legend of the Black Shawarma (Album)
    Gorillaz - Plastic Beach (Album)
    Massive Attack - Mezzanine (Album)
    Fleetwood Mac - Rumors (Album)
    Run the Jewels - Run the Jewels (Album)
    The Prodigy - The Day is My Enemy (Album)
    Tobacco - F****d Up Friends (Album)
    Felt - Felt 2 (A Tribute to Lisa Bone) (Album)
  2. Lurk650
    Budget Gear Magic
    Written by Lurk650
    Published Feb 19, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Balanced sig
    Non Fatiguing
    Bass Depth
    Cons - Nothing
    First off, I received these free of charge in exchange for an honest review

    There was a bit of hype around CCA recently and I had to get in on the action after stepping away from purchasing ChiFi gear but still following relatively closely. Simply put...these has become my go to sub $100 IEM. It's solid, balanced sound is engaging and never fatiguing. I've tested this straight out of a Sony ZX300a, ES100, ES100 paired with Little Bear B4-X for portable. Desktop setup is an Ifi Micro DSD BL paired with a JDS Labs El Amp. It paired well with everything.

    The stock tips are very good but I've decided to go with Dekoni Bulletz foam tips. The stock cable is nice though is prone to tangle, no biggie, I opted for a nice 8 core balanced cable from Kinboofi (purchased on Amazon). I don't notice a big difference with balanced with the C10 but I always go for balanced because, why not?! These are comfy and not heavy so they are easy to wear for hours should you choose too. I got them in the Purple and they are gorgeous.

    Sub bass has a deep rumble with a good punch, mid bass is in line with the sub bass to my ears with good texture. Mids are spacious allowing for a nicely layered almost holgraphic sound. Treble extends nicely with just the right amount of crispness to sound airy but not too bright or piercing. These are pretty forgiving of poorly recorded music, this rely more on a fun sound rather than analytical.

    Vocals are a strong point, a good amount of intimacy without sounding too thick or shouty. Intelligibility is a strong point here.

    The stage depth, width and height is about average for where ChiFi is at for the most part nowadays. Long gone seems to be the narrow, congested staging of past earphones in general.

    All in all, this is a solid offering and my go to recommendation. This is the type of gear that can show audiophile beginners that not a lot of money can give you a great sound you didn't know can be had.
      B9Scrambler likes this.
  3. darmanastartes
    Silky
    Written by darmanastartes
    Published Jan 30, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - good build quality, balanced sound signature, great detail retrieval
    Cons - tangle-prone static magnet cable, no carry case, weird nozzle angle
    INTRODUCTION/DISCLAIMER:
    DSC00901.jpg
    The CCA-C10 is an in-ear monitor with a hybrid driver configuration (1DD+4BA per side) that retails for approximately $28 at the time of this review. I purchased the C10 from the Nicehck Audio Store on AliExpress for $.1 with the expectation of a fair and objective review.

    This review can also be read on my blog here.

    SOURCES

    I have used the CCA-C10 with the following sources:

    Hidizs AP60II > CCA-C10

    Windows 10 PC > JDS Labs The Element > CCA-C10

    Windows 10 PC > Hidizs AP60II > CCA-C10

    Xiaomi Redmi Note 4 Global > CCA-C10

    Pixel 3 > Apple USB-C to 3.5mm dongle > CCA-C10

    I have tested these headphones with local FLAC, Spotify Premium (256/320 kbps Ogg Vorbis), Youtube Music (256 kbps AAC), and Google Play Music (320kbps MP3).

    PACKAGING AND ACCESSORIES
    DSC00762.jpg
    The CCA-C10 comes in a small rectangular white box. The box pictures the CCA-C10 on the front and gives the manufacturer’s contact information and technical specifications for the IEM on the back. Inside the box are the IEMs, a detachable .75mm 2-pin cable, 4 sets of eartips (1 generic black silicone, 3 KZ Starline-type [S, M, L]), a user manual, and a warranty card. The CCA-C10 does not come with a carry bag or case.

    BUILD QUALITY / DESIGN
    DSC00853.jpg
    The CCA-C10 is almost identical to the KZ ZSN in design, with a zinc alloy faceplate and a clear acrylic body. The CCA logo is printed on the faceplate along with the total driver count. The model name, “left” or “right”, and “10 Hybrid technology” are printed on the side of each housing. Each earpiece has small two circular vents on the inner face of the housing. Despite these vents, I experienced moderate driver flex when inserting the earphones. The nozzle does not have a lip for securing eartips.
    DSC00775.jpg DSC00794.jpg
    The cable is braided copper with aluminium housings for the 2-pin connections and a rubber L-shaped housing for the 3.5mm jack. The 2-pin housing have blue and red markings to indicate left and right. The cable has pre-formed ear-guides without memory wire. There is no chin-adjustment choker. The cable is very tangle-prone and seems to attract static electricity.

    COMFORT / FIT / ISOLATION
    DSC00861.jpg

    The CCA-C10 is intended to be worn cable-up only. Comfort is excellent but getting a secure fit is difficult because the nozzles are at a strange angle relative to the housings. I felt like the nozzles would migrate out of my ear canals while wearing the C10s. I had to use the largest included Starline-type eartips to get a good seal. Isolation is average.

    SOUND
    The CCA-C10 has a very mild airy V-shaped tuning. The extended and forceful sub-bass is the first thing I notice when I use the C10. The C10s have the best sub-bass I have heard on a sub-$50 IEM. Mid-bass is elevated without overwhelming either the sub-bass or the lower mids. The bass response is very quick for a dynamic driver with regards to both attack and decay. Bass texture is somewhat dry.

    The lower mids are present and smooth without being either recessed or over-emphasized. Upper mids are more prominent without going overboard with presence. Detail retrieval is impressive for the price. There is a hint of sibilance on female vocals.

    Treble is crisp, erring on the side of smoothness while still preserving an impressive amount of clarity. There is a good deal of air but not a ton of sparkle. Transients are convincing.

    Imaging is realistic. Instrument separation is above average. Soundstage is wider and deeper than average.

    MEASUREMENTS
    C10.jpg
    My measurements were conducted with a Dayton iMM-6 microphone using a vinyl tubing coupler and a calibrated USB sound interface. The measurements are presented with 1/12th smoothing and without compensation.

    AMPLIFICATION REQUIREMENTS AND SOURCE PAIRING

    With a sensitivity of 108dB and an impedance of 32ohms, I do not feel the C10 benefits noticeably from dedicated amplification. The C10 does not hiss.

    COMPARISONS

    CCA-C10 (1DD/4BA) [$28] vs Yersen FEN-2000 (1 DD+1BA) [$24]
    C10 vs FEN-2000.jpg

    The FEN-2000 is more V-shaped than the C10. The tonality of the C10 is more realistic. The FEN-2000 has similar sub-bass extension and a larger midbass hump. The C10 has quicker bass decay. The two IEMs have similar lower midranges. The FEN-2000 has a more aggressive upper midrange. Despite this, the C10 has better detail retrieval. The C10 has a more natural-sounding midrange. The FEN-2000’s treble is more energetic, with greater sparkle, but is rather grainy, especially at higher volumes. The C10 has quicker treble decay. The FEN-2000 is more detailed and airier but is harsher. The C10 has a larger soundstage and better instrument separation. The C10 has better imaging. The FEN-2000 is harder to drive and may need a more powerful source if attaining adequate listening volume is an issue with a smartphone. The FEN-2000 is less comfortable but has a more secure fit.

    CLOSING WORDS

    Despite a mediocre cable and accessory selection, the CCA-C10 represents a killer value for an entry-level hybrid, with good build quality, a balanced sound signature, and great detail retrieval.
      KipNix and 1clearhead like this.
  4. Takeanidea
    SQ par excellence on a budget
    Written by Takeanidea
    Published Jan 30, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - SQ Fit Detachable Cables Value
    Cons - No case Not on sale in UK
    With thanks to CCA who provided these for me to review, I'm pleased to say I have no hesitation in recommending the CCA-C10 10 Driver, yes 10 Driver and hybrid to boot! IEMs.
    Fit
    Is as close to perfect as I've found for my REALLY annoying ears! They have the classic olive shape that I'm a huge fan of.
    Isolation
    Is high, it was always going to be with the snugness of the fit. Angled drivers push halfway into the ear canal. Pretty soon one gets the impression of being under water without there being music pumped through.
    Comfort
    These are metal driver shells and detachable cable terminations, yet they are machined smoothly enough to make them sit very comfortably inside the ear. The around the ear memory wiring works perfectly. The cable is heavy enough to enhance the solidity of the fit without unduly pulling on the driver shells.
    Sound
    Is first rate! Balanced, controlled, powerful and detailed. For a $41 IEM.... I ran them through the Hifiman Supermini balanced connection, they work just great through it even though they are unbalanced. Don't ask me how the Supermini has some cool stuff going on with it.... If you are worried about harshness or an overly crisp sound signature or the C10 being tuned for the Asian Market and being bass light, there is nothing to concern yourself with. This is fatigue free listening.
    There is very little to criticise about the CCA-C10 4BA 1DD IEMs. None of the below are likely to effect a purchase and must be pit in the context of a crazy $41 price tag!

    There is no tightening sleeve on the cable which means that it will rather loose below the ears. They are currently not on sale on Amazon.co.uk so will incur a small customs fee, taken at time of purchase, from those outside the USA. They don't come with a carry case. I am of the opinion that if costs and shipping weight need to be cut, these would be the places I'd compromise on rather than the earphones themselves.

    images

    1. 15488480167202784958268503307391.jpg
    2. 15488480415372881248942085370955.jpg
    3. 15488480928844463302172097424834.jpg
  5. Nimweth
    Clear by name, clear by nature
    Written by Nimweth
    Published Jan 21, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Clarity, balanced presentation, great with all genres
    Cons - Nothing at the price
    The CCA C10 is a new design from a relatively new company, Clear Concept Audio, which is a sister company of KZ (Knowledge Zenith), and the C10 shares some components with previous KZ models. It is a hybrid design, with five drivers per side (1 DD + 4BA), hence the name C10 (10 drivers in total). The Dynamic driver is 10mm in diameter and has a dual magnet and titanium diaphragm. The BAs used are 2 x 50060 and 2 x 30095, the same units as the KZ ZS10, but in a different configuration.

    The earphones come in a similar packaging to KZ models, in a plain box with a photograph of the earphones, being presented in a tray below which are the 2-pin detachable cable, spare eartips and documentation. The earpieces have a zinc alloy faceplate which is similar in shape to that fitted to the KZ ZSN but with a different surface design, bearing the CCA logo and the words “DDx2 BAx8”. The rear of the earpiece is formed from a clear acrylic material through which the components can be seen, and the words “10 hybrid technology”are written on the side. The cable is a braided copper type with aluminium plugs featuring a knurled design. The fit and finish of the units is very good, being of a much higher quality than the ZS10, for example. Comfort was superb, with the pre-formed ear hooks fitting very well, and the inner surface of the earpieces being smooth and perfectly contoured.

    Initial impressions were excellent, the sound being well-balanced with an attractive “live” feel. Detail retrieval was noticeable. There was an overall brightness to the sound. Testing was carried out using a Hifi Walker H2 DAP connected to a Fiio A5 amplifier, via line out. I conducted a 100-hour burn-in before auditioning critically, after which the initial brightness settled down. The pre-fitted tips fitted well, but I exchanged them for JVC Spiral Dots, which gave an improved seal.

    I have to say that these are the best IEMs I have so far heard (I have tested more than 25 different models). The overall balance was just about perfect with no part of the frequency range emphasised. The open, airy quality of the sound and balance suited every genre of music equally. In more detail:

    Bass

    The bass was perfectly balanced. It reached deep but never imposed on the midrange. Because there was no mid-bass hump, the bass seemed subdued on first impression, but when real low frequencies came in, the response was excellent. In Albinoni’s “Adagio” by the Guildhall String Ensemble, the organ accompaniment had real depth, impact and texture, providing a perfect backdrop for the soaring strings. Everything was in perfect proportion. Electronic music also benefited from the precision, speed and agility of the bass. Mark Dwane’s “Siren’s Song” from his album “Archives 2” has a fast-moving sub-bass accompaniment. Every note was clean and well-defined with depth and slam and was easily discernible above the electronic and vocal lines. The sound was very different from the V-shaped profile of the ZS10 and was much more musically satisfying.

    Mids

    The mids had a remarkable clarity and detail, not being recessed at all, even though bass and treble were both clear and present. A good example of this was in Charles Ives’s “The Unanswered Question” performed by the New York Philharmonic under Leonard Bernstein. This piece features a hushed string background, punctuated by staccato parts for brass and woodwind. The different timbres of the instruments and their impact were portrayed beautifully, creating a wonderful sense of atmosphere and an otherworldly feeling, exactly as the composer intended. Al Stewart’s classic “Year of the Cat” has a superb production by Alan Parsons. The introduction features piano, percussion and guitar and each strand was clear and easy to follow. Al Stewart’s voice stood out clearly with the studio reverb adding atmosphere and space. The sax and acoustic guitar solos in the middle of the song came over with great impact and immediacy. A wonderful performance.

    Treble

    The treble was reproduced beautifully, with no discernible peaks or harshness. There was good resolution and delicacy, the finest details being presented clearly. Matthew Clifford’s “Accumulus” is a synthesiser work with a classical structure performed on an arsenal of keyboards. The main theme is in a high register and was perfectly clear and smooth. Electronic percussion had clarity and sparkle. In “The Young Prince and Princess” from “Scheherazade” by The Kirov Orchestra, it was easy to hear that the string section was composed of separate instruments, rather than a “block” of sound. The ambience of the recording venue was airy and spacious, giving the impression of a live performance.

    The C10 IEM is a total success. It uses the same drivers as the KZ ZS10, but is tuned differently. The ZS10, in comparison, has a noticeable V-shaped profile and the bass seems somewhat detached from the rest of the range. There is an elevated presence region which leads to a pronounced peak in the treble, producing some harshness and sibilance. The C 10 does not suffer from these artefacts. Its internal structure is different, with the BA drivers arranged differently.

    With quality build, excellent comfort and superb sound, CCA have come up with a winner. They have now become my#1 IEM and my go-to pair.

    Note: I would like to thank Sunny from Better Audio US for providing this sample for review at no cost to me.



    Product link
    https://www.amazon.com/Better-Headp...548070964&sr=8-1-spons&keywords=cca+c10&psc=1

    images

    1. P1010130.JPG
    2. P1010131.JPG
    3. P1010132.JPG
    4. P1010133.JPG
      1clearhead, trellus, PhonoPhi and 3 others like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. Nimweth
      Doc Holiday, I will need a little time to compile a reply to your post, I haven't been listening to those IEMs for a while and I have the DT6 coming soon....
      Nimweth, Jan 21, 2019
      1clearhead and DocHoliday like this.
    3. DocHoliday
      No worries. I've showcased the HDS3 but still haven't posted the review, myself, so...

      At any rate, all the feedback points to the C10 being a solid budget-fi performer. Looking forward to getting a couple of sets.
      DocHoliday, Jan 21, 2019
      1clearhead and Skorupiak like this.
    4. 1clearhead
      Nicely written!

      I hope this new sister company continues to do well and hopefully have no QC issues like the KZ in the past since they're both run under separate management groups.

      Cheers!
      1clearhead, Jan 22, 2019
      SweetEars and Nimweth like this.
  6. DallaPo
    CCA C10 | 1*DD & 4*BA | Rating: 9:2
    Written by DallaPo
    Published Jan 16, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - stage
    balanced V-signature
    strong bass
    haptics and appearance
    wearing comfort
    Cons - bass sometimes exaggerates
    slight emphasis on the sibilants
    INTRO
    CCA seems to be a daughter company of Knowledge Zenith, because it uses partially, in modified form, the cases of already existing KZ In-Ears (C10 - ZSN | C16 - AS10), as well as drivers in different configurations (BAs of the ZS10 - BAs of the C10), but also brings in own elements, like the cable connector, design of the housing plate, or concerning the drivers and their tuning. It will be interesting to see which way the two companies take. With the C16 (8 BAs) CCA breaks the 100 € mark for the first time, which KZ has so far successfully undercut, but has not yet come up with such a configuration.


    HANDLING
    The housing of the C10 is basically the same as that of the KZ ZSN. Only the metal housing plate is different and will probably serve the recognition feature of CCA in the future, since the same is also found in the C16. In addition, the version numbers of CCA seem plausible at the moment (C04 - 2 drivers per side, C10 - 5 drivers, C16 - 8 drivers), which doesn't always seem very logical for KZ. However, this will probably change as soon as more 5 drivers in-Ears from CCA come onto the market, unless you consistently open a new series such as CCA K10 or similar, in a new, but within the series similar design.

    Like the KZ ZSN, the C10 is more than comfortable to wear and the isolation is above average. In contrast to many other in-ears from KZ, you also have the feeling of holding a premium product in your hands, within the price category.


    SOUNDS
    Here I would like to consult the comparison to the KZ ZS10, because they share not only the same number of drivers with the same setup (1*DD & 4*BA), but also exactly the same BA drivers.

    The bass doesn't differ too much from the ZS10. They both deliver nearly the same depth and have a dry mid-bass punch. However, the bass of the C10 is rounder and more dynamic. The bass of the ZS10, on the other hand, is more sterile. Here you quickly realize that the dynamic driver of the C10 is different from that of its brother.
    It can give any genre the impact it needs. Whether Rock, Jazz, Pop, Hip-Hop, R&B, or Electro. In the rarest cases he can easily exaggerate it, because the bass of the C10 is by far not a child of sadness. But it doesn't rob the mids and highs their place, it just knocks from below on the basement door of the ground floor from time to time. I would describe it as fun, dynamic and textured, although the latter is not its main focus. It provides a warm but natural sound.

    The mids are surprisingly present for the V-signature. In any case, they are much more musical than those of the ZS10 and the voices are more in the foreground and have a considerable body. If you like, the mids are exactly between the ZS10 and the ZS7, as they are a bit more "In Your Face" with the ZS7, as well as more playful and spacious.
    So if you don't like it so direct, but don't want to search for the mids while listening to a song, the C10 is the right choice for you. Everything sounds very natural and well separated. Especially guitar-heavy music is fun, like for example "All of it" by Cole Swindell, or "Moving On" by Paul Weller. Here you also become aware of what the C10 can do on stage. We have vertically observed the voice behind the forehead, the guitars at eye level and the strings already above the head. Coldplay's "Fix You (Live in Buenos Aires)" gives you an insight into what is possible in width and depth. The audience is felt everywhere in the head and outside.

    However, the song, as well as True Colours (Chlara), has a small point of criticism and these are the sibilants. They aren't overly accentuated, but pop up from time to time. But that's all in the framework!
    The trebles are generally quite crisp, but without getting too sharp or sounding metallic. The metallic sound we get with the ZS10 is more pronounced, but the treble is more relaxed. Nevertheless, the high frequencies of the C10 do almost everything right. Clear and detailed, they buzz around in your head and provide a great 3D experience. And it never gets unpleasant or too sharp.


    OUTRO
    It's impressive what CCA does with the C10, because although they share the drivers of the KZ ZS10 except for the dynamic ones, they are much better tuned, placed and adjusted. In addition there is the entry price of almost 33 € which is more than justified for these in-ears. The C10 doesn't disregard the mids within the V-signature and gives us a fun and balanced sound.

    BUY HERE:CCA Headphone Store

    Used Songs:
    Fix You (Live in Buenos Aires) – Coldplay
    Algorithm – Muse
    True Colours – Chlara
    Jumpsuit – twenty one pilot
    Prayers – Good Charlotte
    Moving On – Paul Weller
    All of it – Cole Swindell
    Get Your Shirt – Underworld

    ___________________________________________________________
    More reviews: https://david-hahn.wixsite.com/chi-fiear
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CHIFIEAR/
    1. View previous replies...
    2. SweetEars
      Agree with most points int he review CCA C10 has a nice tuning but due to its naturalness, poor quality sound quality sources tend come off as poor...
      SweetEars, Jan 16, 2019
    3. BadReligionPunk
      I am pretty blown away by these things. They are fantastic all rounders. Them mids are so clean and snappy. I've definitely got my eye on CCA now.
      BadReligionPunk, Jan 18, 2019
      1clearhead and DocHoliday like this.
    4. sareer007
      How does the clarity, seperation and stage of cca c10 compare to tin t2s?
      sareer007, Jan 19, 2019
  7. SweetEars
    Perfect as the musical budget Champ....
    Written by SweetEars
    Published Jan 3, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Open soundstage, very musical... clarity with excellent layering and big value for money....
    Cons - None at this price point....


    HTB1iKFsajvuK1Rjy0Faq6x2aVXaU.jpg


    *The CCA C10 can be purchased form the official CCA Headphone Store*

    Overall impressions
    : With 20 hours of Burn in process . The overall sound signature is V-shaped without Doubt with more forward sound. There is a big Impact being conveyed with these IEMS but not overdone.There is a good balance between the highs mids and lows which is the main draw factor of this IEM. The layering is very good and the articulation is premium. There is some scientific type of sound articulation going on where one gets the impression of being in premium quality studio. A good impactful factor is present. Overall in between a audiophile and fun factor IEM.Overall these IEMs present the aspect of aliveness :- quality of sound reproduction which gives an impression that the performers are present, in person, in the listening room with body , bearing a quality of roundness and robustness in reproduced sound. "Gutsiness." and best described as a "lively sound without coloration" is present.Overall very musical IEM with the right amount of body oriented sound , articulation and coherence without overdoing or excess in any part of the sound

    Treble: Tricky to describe the treble characteristics of the C10. They are best described as nowhere here nor there but in no way lacking.Better than average details and clarity. No harshness or sibilance present here but at the same time not smooth or not having a roll off early. They are of a slight grainy nature in some instances with hard hitting "tin sound" impact.The treble is open and transparent with some body . There is a well rounded form to the treble with airyness. Note that the airiness here is not present as sparkle which most people relate to the notion of "air" but more of a different variety where there is a well rounded sound with hard crispy edge floating in a soundstage. The treble is part of the soundstage and there is some sparkle like reverb present depending on if the source material calls for it .Crisp is more present than sparkle.Treble overall is not too clumsy, thin or flimsy. Just the right body and shape.Those who are used to sparkly IEMS will not miss anything here..

    Mids: Perfectly placed. Neither recessed nor too forward. There is a good "shape and form " present with a bright tonality and transparency in the mids.They are not too steely or not too harsh but just right. There is some crisp present that articulates similar to the treble characteristics.They are right in their place without creeping up to the treble.Both male and female vocals come across extremely well with body and shape form.No graininess or grittiness is present.A smooth body and sufficient transparent charactistic is present.One of the best mids heard in a a budget IEM.

    Bass:Without doubt, the classic V-shaped bass just in the right amount. There is no excessive mid bass present to cloud the soundstage or early roll off bass. The sub bass digs deep enough without being overly dominant and spreads widely in the lower spectrum of the soundstage. The bass is kept in its place without creeping up to the mids. the overall bass is more sub bass or lower mid bass oriented than mid bass dominant in line with a deep V shaped signature . Regarding details , they sound smooth and coherent without obscuring details or clarity coming through the soundstage.

    Soundstage: Open with ample depth, height and width containing a "live" sound. Lots of background acoustical space present here. There is very good separation , some micro details with clarity and instrumentation. The same amount of depth and width present. Not too wide or narrow. The instumentation comes across as floating in 3D space togther with clarity, decent transpareny and instrumentatio without coming off as too thin or flimsy but with the right body. There is a good amount of ambience. One good characteristic of the soundstage is the cocktail-party effect , controllable ability to separate-out, on the basis of direction alone, one sound source from many coming from different directions. It allows you to follow one voice among the others at a noisy cocktail party.as when a sound has the timbre of a close listening seat but the perspective of a distant one.Overall a very musical soundstage is present.


    Tonality: A mixture of warm and cold sound tonality.Bright, brilliant but also dark whch relates well to the energy content found in reproduced music.Quite apt for musicality.


    49568730_2164174200565212_1467709407306448896_n.jpg


    Select comparison with KZ ZSN: I have both these IEMs and have used them extensively The C10 has same V -shaped sound signature. With the stock cable and eartips. my first impressions have the sound signature very close to ZSN but with a difference. The frequencies and layering are kept in their place without the mid/vocal harshness or the overly steely sound signature of ZSN. The vocals are not overly forward like the ZSN. the musical qualities are better than the RSN. the stage is more holographic than RSN. There is more depth articulation in the stage. overall the C10 manages to sound better in all aspects.
      KipNix, PhonoPhi, IcedFrosty and 8 others like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. DallaPo
      Why should there be any differences? I'm listening to the C10 right now and will have my review finished by the week.
      DallaPo, Jan 15, 2019
      1clearhead likes this.
    3. 1clearhead
      I'm sure what he meant was if their were any differences in a new pair when compared to one that's been used well over a certain amount of time, say over 100 hours plus, which I already answered at either the chi-fi or KZ thread several pages back.
      1clearhead, Jan 15, 2019
    4. SweetEars
      After burn in , it does sound a bit more soundstage oriented.
      SweetEars, Feb 2, 2019
      1clearhead likes this.