1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

BQEYZ Spring 1

Rating:
4.66667/5,
  1. NymPHONOmaniac
    Anatomy of musicality isn't clinical sounding
    Written by NymPHONOmaniac
    Published Oct 15, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Incredibly rich timbre, fast thick and clear bass, extremely detailed mid range, precise imaging, wide immersive soundstage, revealing cohesive sound, inoffensive treble, versatile W soundsignature, great sturdy construction, generous accessories, great price value
    Cons - not very easy to drive, long thick nozzle make it hard to find the right eartips, sub bass lack transparency
    BQEYZ SPRING1 REVIEW :

    P1040435.JPG

    SOUND: 9.5/10
    CONSTRUCTION: 9/10
    DESIGN: 8.5/10
    ACCESSORIES: 9/10
    VALUE: 10/10


    It’s rare that I find some ‘’chi-fi’’ company to be underated, because lot of them like KZ and TRN are in fact overhyped.

    BQEYZ is the exception and its a shame they do not get as much attention as other bigger chinese companies because they really stand appart in term of quality of sound AND construction. This company really take their time to design and tune the iem they make and unlike other mass production company like KZ, they do not use conterfeit housing design or cheap balanced armature make by other. Nope, they create they own audio drivers wich explain why the creation of SPRING1 take more than a year to achieve.

    Apart from the Spring1, I own the 2DD+3BA’s hybrid BQ3 (68$) and the 2DD+1BA hybrid KB100 (50$) wich sound both excellent for the price and have unique personalities. With both of them, I did not encounter serious tuning problem like peaky upper mids or highs, or sloppy bass, or grainy artificial timbre, in fact, for once I can say it was professionally tuned and offer balanced musicality. As well, the superb construction stand appart from the sub-100$ iem market. This admiration for their previous models put the bar very high for the expectation I have about their flagship model that sell for 140$.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    BQEYZ patent their own special driver for the Spring1, its a unibody dynamic drivers with a 7 layers piezo, all put in one piece so the transient response sound natural. That alone is a little audio revolution, and offer way better audio performance than the cheap piezoelectric drivers used independantly for treble response. Yes, its fromanother league than the NiceHCK NX7 or Senfer DT6 in term of cohesive tuning and treble richness. If you were afraid that the Spring1 sound metallic, artificial or trebly, you can be reassure that they offer an high definition natural sound. As well, the customize balanced armature created by BQEYZ have nothing to envy to great BA like the Knowles, in fact, the region it cover is splendid to listen and way better than bellsin or sonion BA’s.

    Yes, BQEYZ deserve more respect and recognition, they are serious audiophile earphones company with talented audio engineer that have a refined unique vision about sound rendering. With the Spring1, I think they try to make the sound as much revealing as comfortable to listen to, wich is a very hard task. How can we make an earphones sound lively, exciting, very revealing and offer a lush musicality that will not sound too agressive or unbalanced?? Let’s see in this review if its possible to achieve such a fascinating musicality.

    You can buy the Spring1 directly from BQEYZ Ali express store HERE

    DISCLAIMER: Some audio company sincerly fascinate me, BQEYZ is one of them, so I follow closely the creation of the Spring1 since the first day. I ask so much question that I finally got the chance to have a review sample wich I accept with humility. I wanna thanks BQEYZ to not put pressure on reviewing and letting my objectivity being intact of any expectation. This review is as honnest as it can be.

    P1040455.JPG

    INFO&SPECS :

    1. Item:Spring 1

    2. Dynamic Driver: 13mm

    3. Impedance: 43Ω

    4. Sensitivity: 108dB

    5. Frequency: 7-40KHz

    6. Cable Length: 1.2m

    7. Pin Type: 0.78mm-2 Pin

    8. Plug Type: 3.5mm

    9. Driver units: 13mm Coaxial dynamic driver+7 Layers piezo electric+Balanced armature

    9. Mic: Without

    10. Color: Black / Blue (Optional)




    ACCESSORIES, CONSTRUCTION & DESIGN :


    P1040177.JPG P1040179.JPG P1040184.JPG P1040186.JPG

    ACCESSORIES
    included are well presented in a very enjoyable unboxing experience, wich is the more serious presentation of BQEYZ line up. Yes, we are in flagship territory, and one thing that proof it is the excellent 8 cores Silver plated cable that is included. Its thick, super sturdy and very beautifull. This type of cable alone should be priced between 30-50$ and is a very welcome addition to the excellently built 2pin earphones. As well, we have a generous amount of eartips, wich include 6pairs of silicone eartips and a pair of memory foam tips. If it wasn’t enough, we have too a nice sturdy protective case. Can we ask for more? Nope, not at this price.

    P1040446.JPG P1040444.JPG P1040442.JPG P1040439.JPG

    CONSTRUCTION is excellent, metal used is so light yet thick and well polished that some will think its half plastic with back metal plate. Nope, just hit the housing togheter, the noise will reassure you : this is all metal housing. As well, the nozzle is metal too, and quite long. All in all, the SPRING1 promise long durability and have excellent craftmanship with great attention to details.

    P1040438.JPG

    The 8cores silver plated cable is sumptuous too, and extremely sturdy. After 2 months of use i did not encounter any quality check issue like i do with IKKO or Tinaudio T3 cable were the 2pin or mmcx metal cover unglue suddenly. This cable is a keeper and I use it with multiple earphones including the Spring1.

    P1040195.JPG

    DESIGN of housing is quite chunky, with an oval near triangular shape and a thick long nozzle similar to the KZ ZS10PRO. I did struggle a little to find the right fit because if I use too long eartips even medium size became too big to be push enough deep in my ears. I finally use wide bore eartips included with the Spring1. Even if i can wear these very long, i don’t consider them as the most comfortable iem I own due to quite chunky body.

    ISOLATION
    is excellent and do great work for passive noise cancelation, as well, due tothe venting hole being in front of housing, the noise leakage is very minimal and will not be a problem in silent environment.

    P1040454.JPG

    DRIVEABILITY isn’t the most easy at 43ohm impendance and 108db sensitivity, very powerfull DAP like the Ibasso DX90 will drive them properly, but other loess powerfull one like Xduoo X3 will lack power and affect soundstage and dynamic attack. I suggest using either a seriously powerfull DAP or portable AMP with the Spring1, otherwise you will not hear their full potential.



    SOUND :

    P1040452.JPG

    SUBJECTIVE SOUND APPRECIATION is sincerly overwhelmingly positive and that, since the very first day -once I find the right fit- with Spring1. This is grand sounding iem that can’t let indifferent anybody. It have a unique W shape soundsignature thats polished on top. The mid range blow my mind with its thick textured timbre and superb imaging. Bass is fast, thick and very authoritative. Treble never sound artificial. Whatever I throw to the Spring1 gain in lushness and attack, as if it can ressurect musicality of lifeless track by extracting extra textured and presence from 1khz to 10khz. This iem is extremely versatile because it have it all : bass, mids, highs. If I crave my head for a music style that will sound not as much spectacular than other it will be trap rap where sub kick need more rumble and transparency….but I don’t really listen to this style. For me, the Spring1 is surely the very best sub-150$ iem money can buy in term of versatility, definition and rich musicality.

    SOUNDSTAGE is sincerly something special with the Spring1, extremely wide and quite tall and deep until bass stole some deepness to it. It have an intense outof your head spaciality, with holographic feel I rarely if ever encounter with any other iem. This really is the type of earphones that have the magic of a full size headphones.

    IMAGING is incredibly accurate and sharp, space between instrument is wide and clear, again, only big bass line can stole some spot on definition because it will cover the black background. With well mastered music with lot of spacial acoustic phenomenon, the Spring1 give me spectacular accuracy in disposition of sounds layers I rarely if ever live, this was extremely immersive presentation with panoramic 3D like feel. This type of grand magnificated imaging isn’t expected in sub-200$ price range.

    CLARITY is from another league here, and have sharp emphasis in midrange and treble, delivering effortless details up to upper highs. Bass being less transparent than mid and highs, it can stole some lower mids attack definition, but never to the point we feel its completely veiled, in fact, this type of thick opaque bass stay in the back of all this super clear mids and highs, so, it only stole some space and air to natural instrument decay. We aren’t in cold analytical or metallic clarity here, more so in lush hyper realist one.

    TIMBRE is thick, textured, and well rounded. It sound at the same time natural and super colorfull, and have a mix of opaque bass, transparent mid range and crisp treble. Slightly bright, but carefully polished.

    LOWER BASS is quite thick and opaque, slightly dry and very weighty. To my ears, its the only part of audio spectrum that do not sound natural and effortless. Its very present and benifit from extra clarity in music with lot of instruments ,so we can hear sub bass line perfectly, but the extra energy in 50-100hz section make it roaring instead of rumbling, as if it struggle to move air but compensate it with extra thickness in timbre and attack. Still, as said, its tigh and controled and very clear, just that the natural extension up to 20hz isn’t feel and lack transparence.

    MID BASS is fast, weighty, natural and well textured, the punch is full and juicy with good impact that do not feel too fowarded or forced. Unlike lower bass, transient response is more accurate and let the soundwaves move naturally. Transition to lower mid range is organic and add extra thickness to overall timbre. Cello sound marvellously bodied and lower piano note have good weight and impact.

    MID RANGE is something precious with the Spring1, its so revealing and fully covered with high level of subtle details one would think its overly bright, analytical or cold, but no, its lushly natural sounding too and exempt from any harsh peaks or sibilance. Whatever the type of music I play, it will show me all instrument textures with magnified singularities, no instrument will fight against each other for presence but instead they will have their own lush presence in wide accurate imaging and play togheter in rich harmony. Vocal are as thick and detailed as violin or piano, keeping their natural presence. It’s among the best vocal I heard even if they aren’t pushed foward, the timbre is so well rendered I ‘’believe’’ their life like rendition, most of all, male and female vocal will sound as good and full bodied. Electric guitar too will be gently crunchy and textured, never thin or artificial sounding even if they keep a minimal amount of transparency like all other instruments.

    TREBLE is another miracle with the Spring1 and could only be achieve with this special dual piezo dynamic driver patented by BQEYZ. Unlike other piezo electric iem I try, their no metallic highs, grainy texture or trebly peak with those, its near organic in fact, but lush and ultra detailed in lower-mid treble too. This type of treble remind me the one of Final Audio E serie, but to a next level in term of clarity and texture. Acoustic guitar sound incredible with the Spring1, it have extra brilliance and rich sharpness but not alot of decay, just enough so the attack can be fast and accurate to permit other instrument sounding clear as well. Percussions stay in the back, wich is how I like it if they are super clear and realist, wich is exactly what the Spring1 deliver.


    SUB BASS : 7.5/10
    MID BASS : 8.5/10
    MID RANGE : 9/10
    TREBLE : 9/10
    TIMBRE : 8.5/10
    CLARITY : 9/10
    SOUNDSTAGE : 9.5/10
    IMAGING : 9/10


    RANDOM TRACKS TESTING :



    DOMINIC MILLER ‘’Absinthe’’


    The languid accordeon solo in the begining have very appealing clarity that emphase nicely the texture, tonal accuracy is outstanding and micro details of finger pressing the keys is delicately rendered. After, the acoustic guitar came, again with high level of clarity, beautifull crispness and control decay, until all instruments come togheter naturally, effortlessly, in a super wide coherent spaciality that take full advantage of crystal clear mid range imaging. Bass line are perfectly articulate, thick and opaque in the back, while accordeon keep a beautifull floating transparency and guitar in the center play its line sharply. Kick drum and percussions are well separeted like all other instrument, kick staying at your left while percussions move from left to right corner. Texture of brush drumming is superbly rendered, sweetly textured, again very natural and life like. Now, a synth line is add to this fourtet, its light, transparent, as if a new wooly layers was insert between guitar and drum. The guitar have as much presence than accordeon and do not sound too metallic or decayed, level of balance in sound is extremely refined and tend to benifit from clarity as anything mix togheter. Attack of all instrument is energic yet never shouty or artificial, it give push to liveliness and presence in a flat way.

    MACHINEFABRIEK ‘’III (with Peter broderick)


    Wow, what an audio experience! The soundstage is just gigantic and ultra holographic with this track, background is perfectly black too, big sub kick hit very hard, thick, opaque, super weighty and thigh with fast rumble. Layers of female and males voices have extremely accurate spacial placement and this is quite a psychadelic experience! Clarity of imaging is jaw dropping, we have a mix of layers transparency and specific spaciality that never fail to sound as if you wear very big full-size open headphones (but with closed back bass when it occur). Even at the end of the track when we have an overwhelming amount of very textured male and female voices line, the Spring1 keep its layerings definition detailed and transparent.

    COMPARAISONS :

    VS IKKO OH1 (140$) :
    P1040448.JPG


    The OH1 is an excellent 1DD+1 knowles BA hybrid earphones and the audiophile do not overhype them because they deserve the praise they have. Construction is more eye appealing than the Spring1, but both share thick metal housing. OH1 is notably larger while Spring1 is thicker, offering about both same level of comfort, but as the nozzle is less long and tichk than Spring1, i can use long silicone eartips with the OH1.
    SOUNDSTAGE is wider, taller and more holographic with the Spring1 while the OH1 have a little more deepnest to it.
    IMAGING is more intimate and minimalist with the OH1, as if the bass and highs are better separated and mid range is opaque and lack space between instrument, here the Spring1 have near the opposite imaging approach, where whole mid range is extremely well articulated and separeted and the bass and highs stay layered in the back.
    BASS is more emphased with the OH1 and have better separated sub bass wich is thick, clear and very well define but make the mid bass punch a little shadowed and can warm lower mid range, the Spring1 have less rumble in sub bass, wich is thick, dry and opaque but quite fast, the mid bass have more weight and better definition.
    MID RANGE is brighter, thinner and less textured with the OH1, this is really where the sword hit, because Spring1 mid range is richer and more accurate, it cover full 1khz-8khz range without notable dip and offer better instrument separation too. OH1 can be hot in upper mids, wich the Spring1 do not encounter, but the biggest difference is in timbre and weight, as we can hear with piano.
    TREBLE is similar with those too, but again, i find the Spring1 more natural and fuller sounding, percussions have more weight while the OH1 is more about cripsness but struggle to dig as much details than Spring1.
    All in all, the OH1 is like a more bassy Spring1 with more agressive mids and less rich timbre.


    VS BRAINWAVZ B400 (150$) :
    P1040447.JPG

    Now, let’s see how a 4 balanced armature can compare to the Spring1.
    Construction of B400 is ridiculous and quite fragile, but as its smaller and lighter it is more comfortable than Spring1.
    SOUNDSTAGE is way wider with the Spring1, and about the same deep. IMAGING is from another league with the Spring1, while the B400 have an intimate layerings that feel stock in your head the Spring1 have wide holographic spaciality with clearer separation.
    BASS is notably rolled off after 50hz with the B400, its warm, soft in slam and rapid in mid bass attack that lack weight and body, Spring1 have more thumping bass, wich dig lower and have more texture to it.
    MID RANGE is warmer, thiner and lack in attack and weight compared to more textured, detailed and energic one of Spring1. Even if B400 are mid centric, it sound dark compared to Spring1 here, the vocal have perhaps more emphasis but they lack texture in timbre.
    TREBLE is again more rolled off with B400, with all its emphasis in lower treble, wich can make the sound feel unbalanced compared to more linear frequency response of Spring1 that offer crisper and more controled highs.
    All in all, B400 sound less balanced, darker, lifeless and less refined than the excellent Spring1.

    CONCLUSION :

    P1040453.JPG

    BQEYZ Spring1 is an exceptional earphones with a grand musicality that never stop to impress me with its versatile accuracy. The richness of timbre is mesmerizing for its price as well as high level of details up to 12khz. To produce a sound with such weight in attack that keep its layering clean of congestion is really a tuning miracle wich is surely due to the incredible piezo-dynamic driver used with the balanced armature.



    I can’t find any fault with this iem, should it be in construction, design or sound, it really make alive whole frequencies range without making it feel forced or sound artificial.



    If you only listen to electronic with lot of sub bass rumble, perhaps this will impress you in a less overwhelming way than me, but for all other music style like jazz, classical, pop, rock, IDM, R&B, folk, metal etc, the Spring1 will make your ears see in the dark.



    I can’t recommend those iem enough, and consider them the very best sub-200$ iem I ever try.
      slapo, iBo0m, rayliam80 and 2 others like this.
    1. iBo0m
      Great, detailed review. Did you try any orchestra and quality of instrument's sepration, layering? :)
      iBo0m, Oct 31, 2019
      slapo likes this.
  2. Wretched Stare
    BQEYZ Spring1 Flagship achieved.
    Written by Wretched Stare
    Published Sep 18, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Great Build Quality, excellent details.
    Cons - A larger hard protective case would be more fitting for this flagship and more foam tips are always a need.
    The unit is done elegantly in all black aluminum with a gold trim, comes with every accessorizes you could possibly need and in such nice box you automatically know its going to be something special inside.

    Specifications: 13mm Bass dynamic driver + ultra-high frequency 7-layers piezoelectric & custom mid-high frequency balanced armature, Frequency: 7-40kHz , Impedance: 43ohm, Sensitivity: 108±3dB

    Package Contents: Spring 1 earphone, 8 Core Silver-Plated Cable , Manual six pairs of silicone Ear tips (S/M/L) , foam Ear tips and hard leatherette carrying Case.

    This IEM (earphone) is truthfully the first Flagship I’ve owned not the first I’ve heard but the very first in my collection. The sound is incredibly detailed with vocals being rich and perfectly centered, mids are definitely well done here. The Bass and Sub-Bass is accurate and speedy with a presence. The treble is superb having a great quality and yet reaching that exact point I find pleasant. Instrument separation and a accurate sound-stage are but a few of the Spring-1’s best features of this unit. Overall this is a well built, great looking and sounding IEM that offers up a pleasant listening experience with any type of music for a exceptional price of $139.

    20190829_121808_HDR.jpg
    1. RikudouGoku
      Is the physical size of the spring 1 smaller than the audiosense T800? Is it less sibilant?
      RikudouGoku, Oct 31, 2019
      Wretched Stare likes this.
    2. ChinoLi
      any comparions ?
      ChinoLi, Nov 16, 2019 at 8:32 AM
  3. Wiljen
    BQEYZ Spring1 - an absolute homerun for a newcomer
    Written by Wiljen
    Published Sep 15, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Details, details, details, timbre, and texture.
    Cons - limited kit compared to some others at price point.
    disclaimer: I have reviewed pretty much the entire BQEYZ product line and with the exception of having a few issues with the bluetooth cable, all have been exceptional values catering to those who like several different signatures. If you love EDM, the BQ3 is a great option, if you want a neutral iem, the KB100 is hard to top at its price point. So, when Elle on Facebook asked if I was interested in trying out their new model, I wasted no time saying "yes, please". I was told this new model was to stray into new territory both driver wise and price wise and when I asked about comparing it to KB100, I was told "way better". This made waiting for it to arrive almost unbearable. It finally arrived 8/29 and I've put about 100 hours on it for this review since. Should you want to purchase a Spring1, they can be purchased directly from BQEYZ.



    Unboxing / Packaging:

    The outer box on the Spring1 shows a picture of the earpieces along with the model name on the front, and an exploded diagram of the same on the reverse. Specs are on the side of the box. Once the outside box is removed the inner package is a book-fold style. The earpieces sit in a foam tray at the upper end of the box with an envelope with the manuals hiding the soft-sided case underneath. The case has a metal card with 6 sets of Silicone eartips (3 balanced and 3 bass enhancing), a small clear plastic box with a pair of foams, and the cable completes the kit. No shirt clip is provided, but otherwise a fairly complete kit. The addition of a 2.5mm balanced cable with a 4.4mm adapter would be a welcome one but the included cable is a large step above those that came with other BQEYZ models to date.

    bqeyz-spring1-box-front.JPG bqeyz-spring1-box-left.JPG bqeyz-spring1-box-right.JPG bqeyz-spring1-inner-box.JPG bqeyz-spring1-box-rear.JPG bqeyz-spring1-inside.JPG bqeyz-spring1-inside2.JPG bqeyz-spring1-kit2.JPG


    Build/Fit:

    The earpieces are 3 part shells with the body being machined from aluminum and the nozzles of brass. The seam between faceplate and body is roughly 3mm from the lead edge and is well mated with no gaps, and on my particular pair it is easiest to find by feel with a fingernail as it blends very well visually. By feel, the faceplate is just ever so slightly smaller than the body. Bi-pin connectors have a raised frame around them that is machined into the faceplate and the body rather than making it from a single piece and is extremely well mated as visually the lines formed by the mating of parts show no separation or misalignment. The shells are finished in matte black with a gold ring around the perimeter of the faceplate and a gold colored nozzle accenting the package. L and R are stamped on the inside of the earpieces with a small vent below the lettering with a white filter? beneath and two larger vents nestled in a slot cut in the space immediately behind the lettering. I include the question mark as I cannot tell what the material is, only that there is something white and non-descript over the single vent while the two other vents appear to lead directly to the internals without any such filter.

    Size is about average and is roughly comparable to the Fiio F9 or the TFZ series 2 albeit slightly thicker than either of those. I found the Spring1 to be comfortable for long wear with very little weight felt in the ear. I did find that while I liked the sound better with the Foam tips, I did fatigue more quickly from them than I did some of the silicone styles. Because of the thickness of the earpieces, the Spring1 sits a bit further out and is likely to be level with the surface of the ear or just slightly raised above it. Overall, I would give the Spring1 average to slightly above average marks for comfort depending on the tip style chosen.

    The only thing I found odd about the aesthetics is the cable hardware is all brushed gunmetal gray while the earpieces are matte black. This is most notable at the junction of the bi-pin connectors where the two colors sit within a millimeter or two of each other.

    bqeyz-spring1-connector.JPG bqeyz-spring1-nozzle.JPG bqeyz-spring1-outer1.JPG bqeyz-spring1-outside1.JPG bqeyz-spring1-pair1.JPG bqeyz-spring1-underside2.JPG bqeyz-spring1-vents3.JPG



    Internals:

    This is where the Spring1 gets interesting. Drivers in the Spring 1 are a dual diaphragm 13mm dynamic with a 7 layer piezo element built into the same housing and a single balanced armature driver. The Dynamic provides the low end grunt, the BA supplies the mid-range, and the piezo elements are responsible for upper end duties. Per BQEYZ, all are custom tuned in-house specifically for the Spring1. Nominal impedance is listed as 43Ω with a sensitivity of 108 dB/mW. I found the Spring1 could be used with a cellphone but sounded better, more coherent, and had better bass weight when combined with a more potent source. The LG phone was capable of driving the Spring1 well if forced into high output mode, but lacked the power to do the same when in normal output mode. I found the Xduoo Xp-2, the iFi xCAN both provided plenty of power to run the Spring1 to their full potential.

    BQEYZ-internals2.jpg BQEYZ-internals1.jpg



    Cable:

    The cable is a marked step up from those previously bundled with BQEYZ in-ears. The cable is an 8 core silver-plated oxygen free copper in black casing braided up to the splitter and 4 wire braids above the splitter. Hardware is all brushed aluminum in gunmetal gray with a straight 3.5mm TRS jack, a barrel shaped splitter, chin slider, and .78mm bi-pin connectors. At the north end, the cable has clear plastic earhooks that are considerably looser than those of previous models. The cable is well marked with Both L and R on the connectors and red on the right connector housing as well. A velcro cable tie is also provided for use when in storage. I found the cable supple enough to resist microphonics and solid enough to resist tangles. When coiled and stored, then pulled back out for use the cable shows no memory and no tendency to kink.

    bqeyz-spring1-jack.JPG bqeyz-spring1-lower-cable.JPG bqeyz-spring1-splitter.JPG bqeyz-spring1-upper-cable.JPG bqeyz-spring1-earhook.JPG bqeyz-spring1-bi-pin.JPG



    Tips:

    The Spring1 comes with 7 sets of tips. There are two styles of silicone tips one for Atmosphere (Bass) and one for Reference (more linear signature) in sizes small, medium, and large, stored on a metal card about the size of a credit card. The card itself tucks neatly into the carrying case should you decide to take extra sets of tips with you on the go. A single set of large foam tips is also provided as well. I found tips were quite effective at altering the signature so those who want to alter the default should probably start there before moving on to more costly items like the cable. I have included several FR graphs with different tips to show how they alter the signature and personally find the Comply round f0ams from the comfort series. They balance out the lows and bring everything into nearly perfect linearity for me.

    bqeyz-spring1-tips.JPG


    RvsA.jpg RvsCI.jpg RvsCR.jpg RvsF.jpg RvsRHA.jpg RvsSM.jpg RvsSO.jpg RvsSP.jpg RvsSpin.jpg RvsW.jpg RvsD.jpg


    Sound:


    Reference tip (Size L) used:

    BEQYZ Spring1 FR.jpg




    Bass:

    One of the few knocks on earlier BQEYZ models is that sub-bass rolls-0ff a bit higher than some would like. The good news is that is not an issue on the Spring1. Roll-off only becomes noteworthy in the 30Hz range and even then is not pronounced. Sub-bass is not only good in quantity, it is very good quality as well and is extremely textured and detailed compared to most at the price point. Mid-bass is also well defined, tight, well textured, and has good speed so transients are not lost in the mix. Again textures are good and bass comes off feeling well weighted but not overly forward and I think the FR over-states the bass as It does not seem as forward as my FR would indicate. Overall, the bass manages to walk a line between having good weight and thickness without sounding slow, heavy, or boomy. Well done. Mid-bass bleed is very slight and does add a touch of warmth but lets the mids shine through.



    Mids:

    Again the keywords are textured and detailed. Mids are the star here with vocal presence at once seeming to jump to the front while at the same time feeling perfectly proportioned and in-line with the instrumentation. For lovers of classical music, the Spring1 is one of the best at rendering strings I have heard at below $500. Violin and Viola are spot on in both timbre and transients which is a hard thing to pull off. I was told that the Mids are mostly the product of the balanced armature that is tuned in-house by BQEYZ and I have to give them props as it seems they have chosen and tuned extremely well. Upper-mids do have a slight push which allows vocals to cut through but not so much as to make higher vocals appear to jump in front of lower register vocals.



    Treble:

    Treble is well extended and linear without any big spikes or dips to ruin the party. Lower treble is mildly forward and then tapers off a bit before rolling-off significantly at slightly above 13kHz. Detail is again quite good with cymbals being well done and snare having a good realistic snap. The treble feels effortless, it delivers enough energy to feel lively without ever crossing the line into strident or harsh. I kept expecting some fatigue as a result of the tuning, but it does a masterful job of walking the line between providing enough energy to have good air and sparkle without going past the line.



    Soundstage / Imaging:

    Soundstage is well shaped with good depth, width and a good sense of height. Overall, width is the largest of the dimensions. I would equate the stage size to being seated in a smaller theater as it is not as cavernous as the kings (HD800) but is well shaped and gives a good feeling of space and movement. Instrument separation is a special case here. Instruments seem to line up with little space between them, and yet are very precisely placed and show little or no overlap. Seating the orchestra seem like child's play as everything drops into its exact space with no overlaps or anomalies but the result is more compact than some which is probably more technically correct than those that make the orchestra seem spread out left to right more than normal. Movement around the stage is immediately evident and very trackable again with good precision. Even when fed fast complex tracks, I was unable to get the Spring1 to sound congested or compressed.





    Comparisons:

    Comparisons will be done in two different ways. First a comparison of the Spring1 vs other offerings at roughly the same price point, and second, a comparison of the Spring1 vs the KB100, the previous BQEYZ champion.

    Moondrop KXXS - Here we have a battle royale. The Single dynamic pitted against the hybrid. Both have build quality that is impeccable, the cable on both is solid although I prefer that of the Spring1, I could live with either. Signatures are both similar with movement away from neutral only where it adds life and air. Detail is good on both but texture goes to the Spring1 as it just manages to pack in that last little bit that somehow feels lost on the KXXS when directly A/B testing the two. This one is going to come down to personal preference as well as both are great, but target slightly different endpoints.



    Ikko OH-10 - These two are different animals and while I really like both, they suit different purposes. The OH-10 is a good bit more V-shaped than the Spring1 and I would class the Spring1 as much more of a reference signature (albeit with life) than the OH-10 which is more of a guilty pleasure for listening to popular genres. Both are great efforts and I can take nothing from either in build or sound, but they are different enough sounding that personal preference is going to decide the winner. I'd advise auditioning both.



    Brainwavz B400 - The B400 has been the sub-$200 king of the neutrals for quite awhile and the Spring1 probably wont unseat them as the Spring1 is not quite as linear as the b400. Having said that, the b400 can come across as a bit dull and well boring at times. The spring1 shows no such tendency. Kit on the b400 is larger, but build on the Spring1 is a quantum leap ahead. For my dollar, the Spring1 is the better call.



    Kinboofi Mx3 - These two have similar signatures and vary mostly as a matter of degrees. The Mx3 rolls off sooner at the low end, and pushes the upper-mids/lower treble further forward than the Spring1 by comparison. Detail is better on the Spring1 and tonality seems a bit more natural as well. Overall again both solid efforts but the Sping1 just edges it out in detail and resolution for the win.



    BQEYZ KB100 - I did the FR comparison on these two and I think it helps to show how little we can really learn from them. If you look at the chart below you'd expect the KB100 to be more linear in the bass with a bit of a drop-out in the treble region. To date, I have not read anyone saying the KB100 had poor treble, I also think one could reasonably conclude that with the exception of that treble dip, the two should sound similar. They don't. No ifs, ands, or buts, these are not the same in-ear. The Timbre is better, more textured, more detailed, and as a result the Spring1 has a much more engaging tonality than the KB100. (Which is not to take anything away from the KB100 which is superb for a sub-$50 model). The differences in detail level between these two are like equating what can be seen using a magnifying glass vs breaking out an electron microscope.


    BQEYZ Spring1 vs KB100.jpg




    Thoughts / Conclusion:

    These are great in-ears and belong in your collection unless you are deaf. That simple - go buy them! Honestly, there were a lot of questions circling when BQEYZ announced a price-point of $139 for the Spring1 because it was such a jump from previous models. The biggest of those questions was "Do these still represent good value like the other models, or are they going to be an also-ran because of the change in price?" I can say unequivocally, the Spring1 still represents the value we have come to expect from BQEYZ and while I'd like to see a balanced cable in the mix, I can't fault much about them. A stellar effort by a rising star in Chi-fi.

    images

    1. bqeyz-spring1-pair.JPG
    1. View previous replies...
    2. harry501501
      Think i'll make these my next purchase. LOVE the bq3, great review as always Wiljen.
      harry501501, Nov 3, 2019
    3. Electrolite
      When you compare them with e KXXS what you mean by "This one is going to come down to personal preference as well as both are great, but target slightly different endpoints." - What are those endpoints? Great review btw
      Electrolite, Nov 5, 2019
    4. Wiljen
      I think the KXXS is a bit more polite while the Spring1 is a bit more energetic. Those who find the Spring1 aggresive will likely prefer the KXXS while those who find the KXXS a bit lifeless will enjoy the Spring1. (So matter of preference rather than technical merits).
      Wiljen, Nov 5, 2019
      Electrolite likes this.