1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

BQEYZ KB100

Rating:
4.61111/5,
  1. gourab1995
    Fun? Serious? Does it all for 50usd
    Written by gourab1995
    Published Sep 10, 2019
    5.0/5,
    Pros - imaging, balance, mids, non fatiguing but sharp treble, sounds good with stock configuration. under 50 amazement.
    Cons - box, accessories maybe.
    After listening to multiple kzs and entering the chifi world, going through audio companies like snfer, trn, revonxt, cca, rock; the next and ultimate on the list was bqeyz. a company unheard of, having a very limited showcase of iems unlike kz counterparts who release iems according to the birthdays of their employees it seems (almost every week/month). Unlike kz who like to experiment with their releases a lot, bqeyz have fewer, unique sets that are solid performers at the thing they are meant to do. (the description matches the product with excellent accuracy)

    Tin T2's i had believed at the time to be the pinnacle of what chifi could offer (for the price). It wasnt perfect, it had its shortcomings. Enter kb100's. stock setup, no tip swap, no mods, maybe a little burn in thats required nothing else. this thing sounds like a dream!

    Bass, mids and highs all perfecty balanced and on equal footing. bass can be fun when required (edm) and cold as well (jazz or classical), mids are very well highlighted, giving them excelllent imaging capability. soundstage isnt as amazing as other aspects of these in ears, they dont fall back too much either. After having the tin t2, i was in a phase where i was so nitpicky about an iems bass, that nitpicking led me to this, the graphs for the bassline on this is ruler flat.

    These should have the appropriate title of "50usd iem killers". I hope they become more well known in the audio market amongst companies previously mentioned and even the giants like sony, shure, rha, audio technica.

    The next thing people should have are the mh755's with the vent covered and mmcx mod. (under 30 usd budget)

    WhatsApp Image 2019-09-10 at 4.56.33 PM.jpeg
  2. DocHoliday
    Whipped cream.....and cherry on top!
    Written by DocHoliday
    Published Apr 19, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - $50
    Relatively balanced tuning
    Well-built aluminium housing
    2-pin detachable cables
    Price-to-performance ratio
    Fast becoming a trusted brand in the audio enthusiast community
    Cons - Slight treble roll off.
    BQEYZ KB100 blue-700x700.jpg

    Many budget-minded audio enthusiasts are finding solace and excitement in the relatively new IEM brand, BQEYZ. The marketplace is awash with $50+/- in-ears and the competition gets more fierce with each passing week. Anyone following the Chi-Fi threads knows that my description here is accurate and not hyperbolic. In this review we'll be taking a close look at a 2+1 hybrid BQEYZ model that was fashioned and tuned specifically for Penon Audio.

    My sincere thanks to Elle Zhou at BQEYZ for securing this particular BQEYZ model from Penon Audio for feedback purposes.

    Full disclosure:
    I've no affiliation with BQEYZ or Penon Audio and receive no remuneration for the review other than retaining the review sample.

    Free stuff?

    Yep.

    Honest review?

    Definitely.

    About me:
    I tend to prefer a relatively neutral sound signature with a slight emphasis in both bass and lower treble, which is basically a mild "U" shaped sound signature where midrange frequencies are left intact and unaffected. I find that an absolute neutral sound signature usually lacks enough energy for the genres I enjoy most, which are Classic Trance and Progressive (early Tiesto, Markus Schulz, Otello, DT8 Project), Chill Out, Breakbeat (Hybrid & Burufunk Remixes) and 80's & 90's (New Order, Secession, The Cure, Siouxie & The Banshees, Depeche Mode). Sure I listen to Verve Remixed, Sade, Bach, Ella Fitzgerald and everything in between, but as of late the bulk of my listening pleasure is focused on the aforementioned genres.

    About IEMs:
    Take note when you read IEM reviews that when the reviewer gives his/her opinion regarding the sound that there are many factors that shape the final sound an IEM delivers to one's ear.

    Those factors include:
    1 - Shape & size of reviewer's ear canals. (shallow/deep, wide/narrow)
    2 - Shape & size of eartips (round/cone, single, double or triple flange)
    3 - Materials of eartips (silicone/foam)
    4 - Shape of IEM (and/or angle of nozzle) can cause fitment issues for some.
    5 - Source (quality of DAC in smartphone, laptop, digital audio player)
    6 - Source (power rating) is it amplified/unamplified.
    7 - The IEM itself (driver flex/trapping air in canal causing muffled sound.
    8 - The Reviewers ability to hear all frequency ranges (age plays a factor).

    Most consumers are unaware of how much weight each of these factors hold in rendering a final verdict. This is why there is such a wide variance in not only ratings, but the description of an IEMs sound. An unaware consumer purchases a perfectly fine IEM but has difficulty keeping the IEM in the ear or he/she does not satisfactorily seal the ear canal with the included silicone eartips (this is a common occurrence) and the consumer summarily dismisses the IEM as sub par. Another consumer purchases the same IEM but experiences a perfect fit and seal and has nothing but praise for the same IEM. Sealing the ear canals AND HAVING THE EARTIP FIRMLY AFFIXED to the IEM nozzle is the only proper way to use in-ear monitors. I can think of no audio equipment that is subjected to such praise or ridicule as the in-ear monitor. As if that's not enough, there is no "one-size-fits-all" when it comes to IEM eartips.

    Materials (silicone/foam) have different dampening effects on final sound.
    Shape of the eartips (olive-shaped, cone-shaped or other-shaped) can have different dampening effects on final sound based on how much space is between the IEM nozzle and your eardrum and how well the eartip has sealed the ear canal.
    The aperture of the eartip's opening (wide-bore/narrow-bore) will have dampening effects on the final sound.

    The easiest way for you to experience the different effects I am discussing is to take your current on-ear headphones or over-ear headphones, pick a song full of energy, put the earphones on and let them sit naturally over or on your ears. Listen to the music for two minutes. After two minutes, using your hands, slightly press the headphones closer to your eardrums. Notice the change in the sound. Is there more/less bass? Is there more/less treble? Did the vocals slightly slip forward/back?

    Consider that on-ear and over-ear headphones have a driver that sits approximately 1 1/2 inches to 2 inches from your eardrums and by pressing the headphones 1/4" closer to your eardrums the sound changed. Now consider that an IEM driver sits anywhere from 3/4" to 1/4" from your eardrums and the slightest changes (angle, depth, shape, material) can have up to three times more of an effect due to the proximity of the IEM to the eardrum.

    For this reason, I think it is wise to invest a nominal dollar amount on different eartips to find an eartip that works well for your particular ear's anatomy. This way you experience everything the earphone tuner intended for you to experience. Some IEM manufacturers supply multiple sizes (S/M/L) and/or materials (silicone/foam) of eartips to increase the odds that the consumer achieves a satisfactory seal, but even this is not foolproof. If this information holds any interest for you, there are a plethora of aftermarket eartip brands to look into, such as "JVC Spiral Dots", "Spinfits", "Comply Foam Eartips" or "Znari Foam Eartips", "Creative Aurvana" and others. If you really want to fine tune things, then you might find yourself doing what I do, which is scouring Amazon for inexpensive earphones that appear to have silicone eartips that have a shape that typically work well with my ear's anatomy.

    My Ears:
    You should also know a little bit about my ears since yours may differ. Below I have included two images. One image of an ear canal of typical length and the other image showing a more shallow ear canal. My ear canals resemble the more shallow of the two.

    10188260 (0).png

    10188261 (0).jpg

    Keep this in mind when reading this review. I have no scientific evidence to back this up but I'd bet that ear canal length can play a part when it comes to resonance hotspots.


    BQEYZ KB100 (0).jpg

    The BQEYZ KB100:

    Right out of the gate I'll tell you that the KB100 is a very well-tuned earphone with exceptional clarity, a sufficient low end and a slightly forward and vivid midrange.

    This $50 in-ear deserves your attention!

    We'll get into that in a moment but first let's get through the unboxing.

    BQEYZ packaging is usually uneventful and basic but this is not an issue for me. Once I unbox an earphone that is a definite keeper the box itself goes into storage. I usually store my in-ears in zippered clamshell cases so pretty packaging is a novel idea but....it's not high on my list of priorities.

    Eartips:
    Moving on, I usually employ wide-bore eartips from my growing eartip collection so the earphones presentation can breathe as much as possible but the medium-bore eartips that BQEYZ included do seal well for me. Be aware that a good seal is only part of the equation. I have shallow ear canals so Tennmak whirlwinds work well for me but several years ago I purchased a package of 20 sets of the generic brand you see in the photo. They're very difficult to find now so ordering them when they were available turned out to be one of the best decisions I'd made considering how many earphones I've placed them on. These particular eartips are quite pliable and they give a full-bodied presentation to the KB100, for my ears.

    2-pin Cable:
    The detachable cable that BQEYZ shipped with the KB100 is in fact a good cable. It's supple enough to avoid kinking and has a well-designed 90° angle on the 3.5mm jack. In addition it has a sturdy aluminum strain relief at the "Y" and preformed earhooks with plastic housings for the .78mm 2-pin connectors. I've said this before but I'd like to see BQEYZ adopt or design rectangular aluminum housings for their 2-pin connectors. Plastic seems a bit low-rent for BQEYZ's well-designed earphones.

    Driver Housings:

    My pair of KB100 housings, as you can see, are finished in a beautiful electrical blue. The kidney-shaped machined aluminum fits well with the shape of my ears.

    BQEYZKB100blue-700x700.jpg


    The KB100 was exclusively tuned for Penon Audio. It is a 2DD (dynamic driver) + 1BA (balanced armature) configuration and I'll say again that the KB100 is a very well-tuned earphone. If you were to ask for a one word adjective to describe the KB100 that word would be "clarity".

    Treble:

    Of the six initial BQEYZ offerings (K2, KC2, BQ3, KB100, KB1 & K1) I own four of them. I may be painting with a broad brush here but in general BQEYZ has tuned the treble response on each model to be detailed yet relatively tame. There are no instances of sibilance in the treble region on any of the models I own (K2, KC2, BQ3 & KB100). I've not heard the K1 or KB1 but both models are 2DD+1BA hybrids with KB100 specs:

    Specs:
    Type: In-ear
    Cable Length: 1.2m
    Plug Type: 3.5mm
    Pin Type: 0.78mm
    Frequency: 7-40KHz
    Impedance: 15Ω
    Sensitivity: 105dB

    Each of BQEYZ initial offerings, for the most part, deliver a very smooth presentation from top to bottom. How much "air" each model displays is somewhat dependent on what is happening in the sub-bass, mid-bass and lower midrange frequency areas. I say "somewhat dependent" because the BQ3 seems to take a path less traveled....but the BQ3's idiosyncrasies will be covered in the BQ3 review. For now, let's focus on this KB100 model exclusively tuned for Penon Audio.

    The KB100 treble presents lots of detail without causing fatigue. One track that I routinely use for testing treble extension is Toni Braxton's "He Wasn't Man Enough". In particular I listened for the shimmering of the triangles that commence at the 22 second mark. On the KB100 the triangles do have presence but they do lack the ZS6's sparkle and shimmer. However, with my ZS6, I usually need to lower the volume a few notches to listen to this track because the triangles and claps are wince-inducing. As I am writing this sentence I am testing this track and I have no need to lower the volume on the KB100. The track plays comfortably at my typical listening volume.




    Likewise with P.O.D.'s "Thinking About Forever". There is a waterfall-like shimmer in the first five seconds of the track, the 25 second mark and throughout the track. There is also a brief high pitch note at the 2:42 mark. On the ZS6 those notes give the track an almost ethereal effect. On the KB100 they do have presence but they are somewhat muted due to the KB100's "safe" sense of tuning.




    Drum snaps and high hats on Van Halen's "Girl Gone Bad" do have presence throughout the track and particularly during drawdowns but you can tell the treble on the KB100 has been tuned for comfort. If you're not a treble junkie then you'll enjoy the KB100 immensely.




    It's a tradeoff though, isn't it? You either want "everything" or you want comfort. I can pick and choose because I have both earphones but if you are in the market for just one budget-fi in-ear I'd go for the KB100. If you're a detail junkie like me the KB100 might suffice but I'd recommend ponying up the cash to get both the KB100 and the ZS6. You won't know what you like until you try different gear. The KB100 is a great all-rounder while the ZS6 is targeted toward detail junkies like me. The important thing is to first learn about your preferred sound signature and move forward from there.

    Bottom line here is that the KB100 treble has good extension with excellent resolution and, yes, it all sounds natural as opposed to sounding artificial.


    Midrange:

    The midrange really takes the spotlight on the KB100. It is slightly forward of neutral but the presentation is more vivid and alive as opposed to velvety and/or creamy....but I suppose that depends on whom you ask and/or what you're listening to.

    Stan Getz & Joao Gilberto's "Corcovado" (creamy) or Schiller's "Under My Skin" (vivid/alive).

    CREAMY:


    VIVID:


    The KB100 presented both recordings well with presence and warmth in the lower midrange while maintaining presence and life without strident behavior in the upper midrange.

    We'll done, BQEYZ!

    How about guitar presentation? Will guitars get lost in the midst of a complex passage?

    Nope! Guitars still have good presence and sound clear.



    :

    Bottom line is that the $50+/- KB100 with its decent imaging and more than adequate separation keep the midrange distinct and in the foreground avoiding a claustrophobic presentation.


    Bass:

    For me, one of the most critical frequency response areas for in-ear monitors is the mid-bass region. I dislike mid-bass that oversteps reasonable boundaries. Yes, the "boundary" is in my head and is therefore subjective but, to my ears, too much mid-bass tends to reduce clarity and pilfer some of the "air" and "presence" that the higher frequencies can facilitate. The KB100's mid-bass tuning, in my opinion, is near perfect.

    I was able to adjust bass response by tip rolling but generally there is enough presence in the lower frequencies to keep things relatively balanced but still fun enough for modern genres. Bass is slightly forward of neutral but it is also quite clean.

    I wasn't sure what to expext with Julie Thompson's "What Will I Do?". I usually like to gauge an earphone's bass response by testing this track for both depth and impact at the 44 second mark and the 4:40 mark. If there is good impact during the drawdown at the 4:40 market then I know that I won't get flat or lackluster performance from the earphone. The KB100 nailed it. I could hear a slight rumble at the 4:40 mark. An earphone with early rolled off bass will present a somewhat hollow sound at the 4:40 mark.



    I also use Basement Jaxx "Stay Close" focusing on the 54 second mark and 1:04 mark and yep, the KB100 aced it.



    Bottom line: Bass has good extension and great impact (with a proper seal).


    Soundstage :

    Soundstage has good width but like most of BQEYZ's initial offerings soundstage depth is average. It's not shallow but it's not necessarily deep either.

    With my soft wide-bore eartips imaging is a little better on this KB100 than it is on the KC2. I should mention that I could practically duplicate the KB100 sound signature on my KC2's simply by swapping to a set of eartips that actually expanded the soundstage while slightly diffusing the bass response.

    This is how three BQEYZ models sound to my ears:

    KC2
    Screenshot_2019-04-18-22-50-53.png

    K2
    Screenshot_2019-04-18-22-50-29.png

    KB100
    Screenshot_2019-04-18-22-49-00.png

    Soundstage comparison:

    Again, I found that the KB100 and KC2 can be made to sound very, very similar by tip rolling. I dropped some KZ Star-tipped eartips on the KC2 and I put soft wide-bores on the KB100 and the sound signature was almost identical. Almost. The KC2 had slightly more depth so the presentation had better spacing between instruments but the KB100's intimacy was just as enjoyable. Perhaps the KC2's additional balanced armature contributes to the increased separation. I noticed the difference in a head to head comparison on Secession's "The Magician" right away.



    BQEYZ is on a roll with their first six models. Four of the six models that I have are fun yet controlled and the KB100 is included in that list. This particular earphone is comfortable, comes with a decent detachable cable and it's tuned very well. I don't own the Tin Audio T2 or T3 but, apparently, those two models and BQEYZ's own KC2 are the KB100's main competition at $50, all things considered (build, sound signature & value proposition).
    A discerning ear would be able to appreciate the idiosyncrasies and character of each of the four because it's unlikely that any of the four sound exactly the same. Just want to be clear that I've only heard two of the four mentioned.

    The KB100 are worth your time and effort. They work particularly well with acoustic and vocal oriented music. These were tuned specifically for Penon Audio and they can be purchased by visiting the Penon Audio website or via Penon Audio's AliExpress store.

    https://penonaudio.com/bqeyz-kb100.html

    Lastly, they will respond better if your source has decent power. Sure, they'll sound fine on your standard smartphone but the low end responds better on gear with sufficient power. These will get a lot of future use.

    Hope this was helpful.

    Doc
  3. Wiljen
    BQEYZ-KB100 - Another Great value from BQEYZ
    Written by Wiljen
    Published Feb 15, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Good build quality, nice non-fatiguing signature with a mild elevation of upper mids.
    Cons - limited kit with no case provided.
    [​IMG]

    Disclaimer: Penon Audio was kind enough to send me the KB100 for review. I have used several other BQEYZ products in times past and have found their products to offer good value. Penon had the KB100 made by BQEYZ to their specifications and it is only available through Penon Audio unlike other BQEYZ models that are available from multiple outlets. I do not have any financial interest in Penon Audio, nor was I directed to write anything by anyone so thoughts here are my own.


    Unboxing / Packaging:

    Packaging is the standard black pressboard box with silver logos and wording. Model specs are printed on the bottom of the box and model number is found on the label on the side of the box. Interestingly this allows re-use of the same box but would limit BQEYZ to making all models packed in the same box the same impedance and sensitivity as it is printed on the bottom of the packaging. Inside the box the earpieces with cable attached and the spare tips sit in a foam shell with a paper overlay. The bulk of the cable is hiding under the card along with the instructions and warranty card.

    [​IMG] [​IMG][​IMG]

    Inside the box the earpieces with cable attached and the spare tips sit in a foam shell with a paper overlay. The bulk of the cable is hiding under the card along with the instructions and warranty card. Three sizes of Silicone tips are provided and Penon is adding a set of JVC Silicones for a limited time when you order the KB100. No case is provided, but that is not uncommon at this price point.

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Build/Fit:

    The Shell is machined aluminum with the choice of two tone red/black or solid blue anodizing. Why they went bi-color and not solid red, I am not sure, but I like the color mix. Fit between the faceplate and body is very good with no obvious gaps or glue exposed. Faceplates are solid with the bqeyz logo and a chrome ring outlining the shell. L/R are prominently marked on the outer shell immediately below the bi-pin connectors. Vents can be seen on the inner side of the shell with two on the body and a smaller one at the base of the nozzle. The nozzles are plastic and like all of the BQEYZ so far do not have a lip to retain tips. I have never had a problem with tips coming off so am not concerned as the nozzle is large enough to give the tip good purchase. The bi-pin connector is recessed about 1.5mm and requires a cable with small enough housing to fit in the recess in order to seat properly. This may limit which aftermarket cables will fit.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Internals:

    The KB100 is a triple driver hybrid with two dynamic drivers and a single BA with a nominal impedance of 15Ω and a sensitivity listed as 105dB. No additional detail is provided on size or type of drivers on either the Penon or BQEYZ pages that I could find. I found the Kb100 to be easily driven using a smartphone but it does scale well with a bit more power and was at its best when paired to the xCAN or AK70mk2.



    Cable:

    The cable starts with a 90 3.5mm jack with a proper strain relief and braided 3 wire cable exiting to the splitter emblazoned with the BQEYZ name. A small clear chin slider fits immediately above the splitter and the wires terminate with a pre-formed earhook and a bi-pin .78mm connector. I find the pre-formed earhooks to be overly done and have found that putting the bi-pin connector in a small vise and pulling the wire out straight and then heating with a heat gun for a few seconds at a time allows you to relax the earhook a bit so it isn’t quite so kinked up. If you attempt this, go slowly with heat as it doesn’t take long to melt the coating off entirely (which is also an option for those that prefer it).

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Sound:

    [​IMG]

    Bass:

    Bass depth on the KB100 is as good as any of the BQEYZ lineup and most similar to the BQ3 in depth and quality if not as pronounced. Bass quantity is only slightly elevated with more of a mid-bass push than sub-bass. This gives the KB100 a slight warmth without perceptible mid-bass bleed and without the attendant loss of detail in the mid-range. Transition between bass and mids is clean and very smooth.

    Mids:

    Lower mids are very mildly recessed but still have good detail and timbre while the upper-mids are again pushed forward to give vocals a bit of extra energy. This is a very mild push so I would stop short of calling this a mid-centric in-ear. What the push does do is give the vocal just enough extra energy to sit in front of the other instrumentation.

    Treble:

    Lower treble follows from the upper mids then dips as it moves into the treble range. Upper treble climbs back up slightly around the 11kHz mark which gives the Kb100 good air and sparkle without being harsh or strident.



    Soundstage / Imaging:

    Soundstage on the Kb100 is wider than deep but not my nearly as much as some other models in its class. I would say the depth is 3/4 of the width and neither dimension feels small or crowded. Some height is presented as well when listening to live performances with moving instrumentation. Imaging is fairly good, but occasionally seems to put instruments one behind another rather than beside each other. I found footfalls in games to be appropriately placed so this in ear would also be usable for gamers.



    Thoughts / Conclusion:

    My understanding is that BQEYZ made these to Penon Audio’s specification. If that is the case, Kudos to Penon for requesting an excellent signature and to BQEYZ for delivering on that request. The KB100 is an easy recommendation for those looking for a near neutral in-ear in this price range as it competes well against the likes of the Tin Audio T2 and other favorites at this level. The KB100 does an awful lot well and while it won’t satisfy the bassheads in the lot, it does make a good all-around daily in-ear as it has no glaring faults, doesn’t get overly fatiguing, and is just plain an enjoyable listen. I currently have my pair matched with the Cayin N3 and xDSD for use on the road and couldn’t be happier with it.
      hakuzen likes this.
  4. cqtek
    The Chi-Fi equilibrist
    Written by cqtek
    Published Dec 27, 2018
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Clean and wide balanced sound.
    - Great voices and mids.
    - Detailed but gentle trebles.
    - Possibility of increasing presence in the bass zone thanks to a simple mod.
    - Ergonomics and design.
    - Remarkable relation/quality price given the offered sound.
    Cons - Lack of presence in the bass zone (without Bass Mod).
    - Minimal accessories.
    Purchase link

    https://penonaudio.com/bqeyz-kb100.html

    https://es.aliexpress.com/item/BQEYZ-KB100-1-armadura-equilibrada-2-din-mico-conductor-h-brido-2pin-0-78mm-extra-ble/32945806646.html

    Link to the Store

    https://penonaudio.com/

    Presentation and personal preferences

    I've been an electronic technical engineer for 20 years. I studied that career because my great passion was Hi-Fi. But for more than 15 years I have been working as a programmer of production control systems based on artificial vision.

    The sound profile I like could be represented as ¬. I like bass (the sub bass above all), forward voices and soft trebles, but that provide a lot of clarity, separation and detail. I like the natural sound, full of air and nuances, as well as enjoying a great stage and three-dimensional recreation. I prefer the warm profile to V-profiles or mid-centric. And I run away from brilliant profiles.

    Disclaimer

    Penon Audio store, offered me this IEM model, in exchange for writing an honest review. I want to make it clear that all my opinions written in this review have not been conditioned by this fact, nor will I ever write anything that I do not really think or feel here. I will only write about my personal opinion in relation to the revised product.

    Specifications
    • Driver Type: 2 dynamic hybrid driver + 1 balanced armature
    • Frequency response: 7-40KHZ
    • Sensitivity: 105 dB / mW
    • Impedance: 15Ω
    • Jack connector: 3.5mm
    • Weight: 25±5g
    • Cable length: 1.2m
    • Earphone interface: 2pin 0.78mm
    Packaging

    BQEYZ KB100 01.jpg BQEYZ KB100 02.jpg BQEYZ KB100 03.jpg BQEYZ KB100 04.jpg


    Package Dimensions (H x W x D):
    • 80x90x35 mm
    Contents:
    • BQEYZ KB100
    • Cable 2pin 0.78mm 1.2m
    • 3 pairs of silicone eartips S/M/L
    • Instruction manual
    The box is elegant and small, the product is well protected. But the content is the minimum required.

    BQEYZ KB100 05.jpg BQEYZ KB100 06.jpg

    Construction and design

    The model sent is blue, whose color is very vivid, electric. The entire capsule is the same color except for the nozzles, which are black. These nozzles are wide, 5.5mm, and are protected by a silver metallic filter. The material used is machined aluminium. The capsules are kidney-shaped, very rounded on the outside. However, the interior has more vertices, just the part susceptible to contact with the ears. I would have liked these internal shapes to be more rounded to better fit the external shape of our ears. Yet the impact with my ears is not very great, and I have only detected some discomfort after a relatively long time. On the inside of the capsules there are three holes, one next to the nozzle, which looks covered inside, and two others, aligned with the two-pin connector. On the outside, in the middle, in the capsule on the left is written in white, the brand, and on the right, the model. Next to the connector are the letters R and L marked. Almost on the outer edge of the capsule, there is an unpainted profile, in silver, detail that enhances the unique shape of the IEMs.

    BQEYZ KB100 07.jpg BQEYZ KB100 08.jpg

    Adjustment and ergonomics

    The capsules, once fitted, do not weigh very much. But as I mentioned in the previous point, the inner vertices can be annoying after continued use. This is because the insertion of these EMIs is superficial, because the nozzles are not very long. Thus, it is likely that the capsules may touch the outside of the ears and cause some discomfort depending on the anatomy of each.

    The level of isolation is quite similar to other similarly shaped IEMs, and offers a medium level of sound insulation.

    BQEYZ KB100 09.jpg BQEYZ KB100 10.jpg BQEYZ KB100 11.jpg BQEYZ KB100 12.jpg

    Sound

    The KB100 has a high sensitivity and is very easy to move with any source.

    To describe the sound I have used my hybrid eartips filled with foam, homemade, with an inner diameter of 4.5mm. Because of my particular anatomy I can almost never use the eartips that come as standard because they are small for me and I almost never get a proper seal.

    Profile

    The profile of the KB100 is quite balanced, but I find the mids its best area, is the range that offers the best response of the set, in addition to presence.

    Bass

    I want to emphasize that I'm not a bass-head, but I consider myself a bass lover. This area is the first one that I always check of any earphones. In principle, due to the presence of bass, the KB100 would not fit into my preferences. From there I could evaluate the extension towards the sub-bass, the depth, the attack, the speed, the decay, the power, the linearity, the texture, the naturalness, the stratification, etc...And I wouldn't put any problem in any of those features. But this model lacks the presence and the global gain of this area, which I always look for.

    The bass doesn't surprise, it goes well up to 40Hz and responds adequately at that point, providing an acceptable depth. The hit is smooth, content, and the deacy is not very slow. Linearity is good, no hump on the bass. The body, isolated from the mids, is acceptably complete.

    In my humble opinion, the lower zone could be considered as Hi-Fi grade, it fulfills its role well without overemphasizing, but insufficient for those of us who like to enjoy electronic music to the fullest extent.

    BQEYZ KB100 13.jpg

    Mids

    In my order of importance, and luckily, the mids are something else. I don't miss anything from them, nor do I have anything left over. From one end to the other of this range, the KB100 offer a tonal balanced sound, without sibilances on one side (very remarkable control in this sense) and with enough body on the other. I don't see any trace of darkness or excessive brightness in the upper mids, although it's not a warm mids. Apart from the presence of voices, especially female voices, which are almost zenithal, with a great projection, closeness and naturalness, the range is remarkably clear, clean, transparent, but not surgical or very analytical. Again the balance predominates in the segment to preserve everything in its right measure, including texture, definition, precision, even delicacy.
    Very good range.

    Treble

    The trebles are my taste again, as they enjoy very good control and naturalness. The extension is good and the effect on the other frequencies is very positive, bringing detail, richness and air to the set, without trace of excessive brightness.

    Scene, soundstage

    I find the scene moderately wide, but not very deep, despite the cleanliness, clarity and separation of the sound. The three-dimensionality is somewhat reduced by this lack of depth.

    The offered sound enjoys good stereo recreation and the instrumental positioning is quite coherent.

    BQEYZ KB100 14.jpg

    Comparisons

    Fiio EX1

    I bought the EX1, second hand, attracted by the reviews I read about them, which highlighted the remarkable scene and separation they had, as well as offering a very open sound. Once they were mine the lack of bass zone and the excessive brilliance for my taste, condemned them.

    Comparatively speaking the KB100 offer more present basses, are less bright and the media are closer, warmer and more complete. The cymbals on the EX1s are more penetrating and present, more unpleasant (the highs in general). The KB100 is more balanced and the timbre is more natural compared to the generally bright look of the EX1.

    The KB100 is considerably more sensitive than the EX1, which needs more power to move.

    Fiio FH1

    I tried the FH1 during a tour of a local store and when I found a second-hand unit I didn't hesitate to buy them. I really liked the ratio of bass and mid-range, as well as the soft trebles.

    The differences between the two are big, the FH1 are mainly darker, warmer and bassier than the KB100. The mids on the KB100 are considerably brighter in comparison, as well as enjoying greater presence and clarity. The amount of detail is greater on the KB100. The FH1 offers a more diffuse sound in comparison, with significantly heavier bass and smoothed trebles that extend less and have less presence.

    Artiste DC1

    Clear differences in both profiles, more in V the DC1, balanced the KB100. As a consequence, both the bass and treble of the DC1 stand out over the KB100, while the mids are more present in the KB100. In this sense, and although the treble of the DC1 is quite good, the KB100 offer a clearer and more open sound, also brighter and colder, although the voices are kept without any sibilance whatsoever. The good presence of the mids in the KB100 gives a sensation of a more complete and wide sound, but there is a lack of more presence in the bass zone, presence that the DC1 have.

    Ostry KC06A vs KB100 (bass mod)

    Once the bass mod has been performed on the KB100 the bass gains in presence, obviously. The question is whether boosting the presence decreases its quality or gets in the way of the mids. After several days of testing I can conclude that this is not the case.

    The KC06A are very sensitive IEMs with good bass punch, which also have good mids as well. The first thing that attracts attention after comparing them is their different sound setting. While the KC06A offer a more direct, more congested, somewhat warmer and analog sound, the KB100 continue to boast a more open and separate sound, with an emphasis on vocals. Even with the bass mod, the KB100 does not reach the level of presence offered by the Ostry, staying a step, or almost two, below. Ostry bass have more muscle, more punch, more forcefulness and even decay. The KB100 continue to offer a soft bass, with depth and detail, less visceral but well defined and stratified. They give a wider feel while the KC06A offer a tighter bass.

    The means of the KC06A are more dull, like all sound in general, enjoy good presence, but lean more towards the dark side. In this area there is still sound congestion and a general lack of air. While in the KB100 voices, both male and female, are still more present and brighter. The range is represented with a richness in nuances that the KC06A cannot offer due to their lack of definition and resolution.

    Ostry trebles sound pretty good and offer good detail and definition. There are details in the KB100 that seem to be omitted, there may be a marked valley somewhere around 6kHz or earlier, because there are cymbals that sound very evident in the Ostry, without becoming penetrating, that in the KB100 are slightly perceived.

    In terms of scene, separation, clarity, air, level of detail, depth, stereo recreation, etc., the KB100 clearly outperforms the KC06A.

    Bass Mod

    The bass mod simply consists of covering with tape, the hole located in the base of the nozzles. With this you gain in the presence of bass without damaging the other frequencies.

    The process, when done with adhesive tape, is reversible. It can always be tested to see if the resulting sound is more pleasing or not.

    The negative point of the bass mod is the possible appearance of the Driver Flex effect.

    BQEYZ KB100 15.jpg

    Conclusion

    Every day more brands and models appear that conjugate several drivers, mixing them in different proportions. And it is not always done in a coherent way or to look for a specific sound. On this occasion, a priori, one might think that the use of two dynamic drivers could offer a clearly bass sound. And that's not the case at all. The dynamic bass driver is very capable of it, but it has been adjusted to offer a higher quality response than no presence. Meanwhile, the mid-range driver has been adjusted almost exquisitely to represent the mids, in a very balanced way, and without offering enhancements in the upper-mids that burden the sound. Finally, the BA driver has been meritoriously integrated in a coherent way with the rest, following the pattern already described and without negatively exceeding its range.

    Actually these IEMs have been adjusted by a good tightrope walker.

    Finally, and as a positive point that has increased the overall score of the review, I must add the possibility of increasing the presence of the bass making a very simple mod. And that's something I'm very grateful for, as I'm not a big fan of so much balance.

    Sources used during the analysis
    • xDuoo X3II
    • Audiodirect Beam
      hakuzen and hqssui like this.
  5. Moonstar
    Good Sound, Good Build Quality, Perfect Price!
    Written by Moonstar
    Published Dec 24, 2018
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Good Sound,
    Good Build Quality,
    Perfect Price
    Cons - Nothing to complain for this price
    BQEYZ KB100

    Good Sound, Good Build Quality, Perfect Price!



    Introduction:

    BQEYZ is a new player in the portable audio scene and that is offering wired and wireless equipments such as In Ear Monitors with Hybrid driver technology and Bluetooth cables, etc.

    The BQEYZ KB100 is an In-Ear Monitor with 1 Balanced and 2 Dynamic drivers, which is available in two different color options that are a red-black and blue.


    [​IMG]


    Disclaimer:

    The BQEYZ KB100 was provided to me by BQEYZ via Penon Audio as a review sample.

    I am not affiliated with BQEYZ or Penon Audio beyond this review and these words reflect my true, unaltered, opinions about the product.


    About Me: https://moonstarreviews.net



    Price:

    The BQEYZ KB100 In-Ear Monitor is available on Penon Audio for 49,90 USD.

    Purchase link: https://penonaudio.com/bqeyz-kb100.html




    Package and Accessories:

    The BQEYZ KB100 is coming in a textured black square cardboard box with the company branding on the top in silver color.

    The box is containing the following items;

    • 1 pair x BQEYZ KB100 In-Ear Monitor
    • 1 pcs x 0.78mm 2-Pin cable with 3.5mm headphone jack
    • 3 pairs x Bi flange silicone ear tips (size S/M/L)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    Technical Specifications:

    • Driver unit : 1 balanced armature + 2 dynamic hybrid driver
    • Frequency response : 7-40 kHz
    • Impedance : 15Ω
    • Sensitivity : 105 dB / mW
    • Plug : 3.5mm
    • Connector : 2pin 0.78mm
    • Weight : 25±5g



    Design and Build Quality:

    The BQEYZ KB100 In-Ear Monitor housing is made of aluminum that looks robust and shows a good build quality. The KB100 is available in 2 different color options; those are red&black and blue. My review unit came in red&black combination looks pretty nice.


    [​IMG]

    On the Top of this monitor is the 0.78mm 2-pin female connector.

    [​IMG]

    The back of the monitor shell is in red color and sports the slightly angled sound nozzle with a mesh on the top to prevent the insertion of earwax and dust. They are also two big and one smaller vent.

    [​IMG]

    On the front is the faceplate, which is in black color with a engraving that is surrounding the edges of the faceplate. The faceplate sports also left (L) and right (R) markings and on the center of the left faceplate is the BQEYZ barding, while the right monitor has the KB100 model printing.

    [​IMG]

    The cable that comes with the KB100 has a braided design and is made of a 4 core cooper wire, which has a black TPU coating.

    [​IMG]

    The 0.78mm 2-pin male connectors on the cable have plastic housings with left and right markings and there is a heat shrink ear guide on each side.

    [​IMG]

    There cable sports a black metal Y splitter with BQEYZ branding and a transparent plastic chin slider.

    [​IMG]

    The 3.5mm TRS (3 pole) headphone jack has an L angled profile which I always prefer over a straight profiled jack.

    [​IMG]



    Fit, Comfort and Isolation:


    The BQEYZ KB100 has an ergonomic design and is quite comfortable to wear. The fit of this IEM is good and is showing an average level of isolation that is enough to use it in enjoinments such as bus, metro or train.





    Equipment’s used for this review:

    • IEM’s : BQEYZ KB100, SHOZY Zero, SHOZY Hibiki
    • DAP/DAC/AMP : Astell&Kern A&norma SR15, Cayin N5II, Fiio M9, Musiland MU2

    [​IMG]




    Albums & tracks used for this review:

    • First Aid Kit - My Silver Lining (Spotify)
    • London Grammar – Interlud (Live) (Flac 24bit/44kHz)
    • Laura Pergolizzi – Lost On You “Live at Harvard and Stone” (Tidal Hi-Fi)
    • Minor Empire – BulbulumAltinKafeste (Spotify)
    • Leonard Cohen – You Wnt it Darker (Spotify)
    • Dave Gahan – Kingdom (Tidal Hi-Fi)
    • Eric Clapton – Wonderful Tonight True (Flac 24bit/96kHz)
    • Vivaldi – Le QuarttroStagioni “The Four Season” (Tidal Hi-Fi)
    • Alboran Trio’s – Cinque Lunghissimi Minuti (Tidal Hi-Fi)
    • Otto Liebert & Luna Negra – Up Close “Album” (DSF) – Binaural Recording
    • Lorde – Team (Flac 24bit/48kHz)
    • Massive Attack – Angel (Tidal Hi-Fi)
    • Portishead – It Could Be Sweet (Spotify)
    • Liquid Tension Experiment 2 – Acid Rain (Spotify)
    • Opeth – Damnation (Tidal Hi-Fi)
    • Metallica – Sad but True (Flac 24bit/96kHz)
    • Megadeth - Sweating Bullets (Tidal Hi-Fi)




    The Sound:

    The BQEYZ KB100 is an In-Ear Monitor with a tonality that is slightly warmer than neutral. The bass is strong and the midrange is transparent and musical, while the treble shows a bright but fatigue free presentation.

    PS: This review is written after a burn-in process of 75 - 80 Hours. I have used the stock Bi flange Silicone ear tip and the stock 2 pin cable during this review.



    Bass:

    The bass which is coming form the dynamic driver is soft and has a warmish tonality. The subbass depth and extensions is pretty good, while the quantity and pressure is not too much or nor overdone. It is controlled and doesn’t sound overwhelming.

    The midbass on the other hand are strong and hits pretty punchy, without any noticeable midbass hump that could ruin the overall presentation. The midbass quantity and pressure is above average hand while the final hits are hard and distinct.

    The general bass speed of the KB100 is above average and can easily handle genres that need a fast bass presentation.

    Instruments such as bass guitars sounding thick and warm, electro guitars are bright and soft, while the bass character of cross drums are pronounced and snare drums are tight.



    [​IMG]



    Midrange:


    One of the good features of the BQEYZ KB100 is the slightly forward midrange presentation, which is rarely found in IEM’s in this price range.

    The midrange of the KB100 sounds clear, slightly warm and detailed where instruments are sounding musical, soft and fairly natural.

    Male vocals are sounding clean and thick enough with a musical presentation thanks to the lower midrange tuning. Female vocals have a slightly more forward presentation, which makes the female vocal performance slightly more successful.

    The presentation of female vocals is emotional, soft and clear, which is on other nice feature of the BQWYZ KB100. The upper midrange shows a slightly emphasis, which is adding detail and good extension to the presentation of female vocals, without to cause unnecessary sharpness or sibilance.

    The BQEYZ KB100 is showing a good separation and definition of instruments with a natural but fairly musical presentation. Instruments such as acoustic guitars are a bit bassy, warm and soft, while violins have a warm, slightly thick and emotional tonality.


    [​IMG]



    Upper Midrange & Treble:

    The BQEYZ KB100 has lightly pronounced upper midrange region that is not very forward positioned and is showing a pretty soft transition. It is very controlled and there is no sharpness or unnecessary sparkling and shows a warmish, soft and musical tonality.

    Violins are a bit on the brighter side and have good extensions, while pianos are showing a hint of warmness and a smooth presentation without any remarkable sharpness.

    The treble range of the BQEYZ KB100 is positioned slightly behind the bass and the midrange, while is shows a smooth and musical presentation without any remarkable sharpness and fatiguing harshness.

    The treble range of the BQEYZ KB100 is showing an average airiness, good resolution with above average speed and extension.



    Soundstage:

    The soundstage performance and the separation of instruments that the BQEYZ KB100 is showing are pretty good regarding its price. The soundstage width and depth is parallel to each other and are showing a moderate expansion and depth.


    [​IMG]



    Comparisons:

    BQEYZ KB100 versus SHOZY Hibiki

    The SHOZY Hibiki shows sharply V shape sound character with a neutral to bright tonality, while the BQEYZ KB100 has more bass, forward oriented midrange along with a warmer than neutral tonality.

    The KB100 is in terms of subbass quantity and depth superior to the Hibiki. The same situation exists in the midbass region, where the KB100 has the upper hand for both quantity and extension. The only area where the SHOZY Hibiki is better than the KB100 is the speed and tightness of the bass.

    The midrange of the SHOZY Hibiki is sounding pretty neutral and dry, while the KB100 sounds lush and with more body and emotion.

    The Hibiki is more successful with female vocals due to the more pronounced upper midrange, while the KB100 is superior in terms of male vocals. Male vocals are sounding a bit dry and thin with the Hibiki IEM, while the KB100 shows a thicker and more emotional in its presentation.

    The upper midrange of the BQEYZ KB100 is smoother and more controlled than those of the SHOZY Hibiki, which sounds a bit too bright, sharp and uncontrolled in this area. The Hibiki shows a bit more detailed in this area, while the KB100 has the upper hand in terms of control and a fatigue free experience.

    The treble range of the SHOZY Hibiki is more pronounced, vivid and bright than those of the BQEYZ KB100. The Hibiki has the upper hand for quantity and extension, while it is not as controlled and forgiving as the KB100, which has the upper hand for control. The KB100 doesn’t sounds harsh like the Hibiki with some instruments such as cymbals, pianos or violins and is ideal for those who are sensitive to treble brightness.

    Both In-Ear Monitors have a suitable stage for several instruments. The main difference is that the SHOZY Hibiki has a slightly wider stage, while the BQEYZ KB100 is superior in terms of soundstage depth.


    [​IMG]



    BQEYZ KB100 versus SHOZY Zero

    The SHOZY Zero is an IN-Ear Monitor with a warmer tonality than those of the BQEYZ KB100 that sounds closer to natural.

    The subbass of both IEM’s is showing a good depth and extension, while the KB100 shows slightly more depth and quantity.

    The midbass of both In-Ear Monitors have a strong and warmish presentation. The SHOZY Zero shows more punch and quantity than those of the BQEYZ KB100 which has a more linear presentation. The SHOZY Zero has also a small midbass hump that the KB100 doesn’t have.

    When it comes to the bass speed and tightness, I can conform that both IEM’s are showing an average speed and tightness.

    The midrange of the SHOZY Zero is slightly more recessed than those of the BQEYZ KB100. Both In-Ear Monitors are offering a lush and musical midrange, while the KB100 is offering a more transparent and airy presentation.

    The SHOZY Zero is more suitable for male vocals due to its lower midrange tuning, while the KB100 is superior in terms of female vocals performance with its clear and well extending upper midrange character.

    The instrument separation of both IEM’s is successful. The instrument presentation of the Zero is a bit veiled, while the KB100 is showing a clearer and more natural presentation. The KB100 is more successful in terms of the detail performance in the midrange.

    Both In-Ear Monitors are successful in the upper mids and treble range. The upper midrange of the SHOZY Zero is more pronounced and sharp, while the BQEYZ KB100 sounds smoother and controlled. The Shozy Zero is slightly better in terms of upper midrange detail and extension.

    The treble range of the SHOZY Zero is a bit recessed compared to those of the BQEYZ KB100. The KB100 is superior to the Zero in terms of treble detail, extension and quantity.

    Both the BQEYZ KB100 and the SHOZY Zero are showing a suitable stage for fairly precise instrument placement. The BQEYZ KB100 is superior in terms of soundstage depth and airiness, while the SHOZY Zero has a slightly wider soundstage.

    [​IMG]


    Conclusion:


    BQEYZ is a new player in the portable audio scene while the KB100 sounds quite mature with its sound. The combination of good sound, good build quality for a perfect pricing makes me curious about future products of this company.



    Pros and Cons:

    • + Good Sound
    • + Good Build Quality
    • + Perfect Price
    • - Nothing to complain for this price
      hqssui and karanehir35 like this.
  6. Palash
    Chi-Fi Gem
    Written by Palash
    Published Nov 8, 2018
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Excellent Bass performance,
    Forward Mids,
    Fun tuning,
    Comfortable,
    Value for money.
    Cons - Highs could have better,
    No tip lip,
    Limited Accessories.
    Introduction

    2015 was ‘Age of Ultron ‘and 2018 is definitely the age of chi-Fi. Plenty of cheap & game changing audio products introduced this year. BQEYZ is a new brand but it seems they actually serious about this game and the touch of experience can be seen in their product lineup. Surprisingly a whole product line up available from BQEYZ for music lovers. This time I am fortunate enough and would like to thank BQEYZ and Penon Audio for this KB100 review unit. My unit is Captain America Blue but you can choose the Deadpool Red Black one too.

    IMG_20181101_154323.jpg

    Specifications

    Driver: 2 Dynamic and 1 Balanced Armature
    Sensitivity: 105dB
    Frequency Response: 7-40,000Hz
    Impedance: 15Ω
    Material: Aluminum Shell
    Connectors: 2-Pin @ 0.78mm
    Cable Length: 1.2mm
    Plug: 3.5mm Gold plated L type
    Weight: 25±5g

    Buying Link
    Penon Audio
    Alliexpress

    IMG_20181103_123826_HDR.jpg IMG_20181103_123908_DRO.jpg

    What’s inside the Box ?

    BQEYZ KB100 earphone,
    3 pairs of Silicone eartips (S/M/L),
    User Guide.

    It’s just a 3” X 3.5 “black box and everything packed well inside. BQEYZ branding on front of the box and specifications as well as manufacturer details clearly printed back of the box, so unboxing experience is simple. Good to see minimum paper wastage. No carry case or shirt clip included with the IEM , so I am going to use this tiny black box as a carry box while travelling .

    IMG_20181103_124312_HDR.jpg

    Build & Design

    KB100 is completely made out of Aluminum, yet very light weight. The surface is smooth and no sharp edges are there. Mainly two part design, body and face plate. Face plate is flat, rounded and decorated with a silver lining. BQEYZ branding and ‘L’, ‘R’ is present in the face plates. Face plate design is eye catching and proper left, right marking really helpful. The half circular design is really great; they can easily fit in almost any ear. Very comfortable for long listening sessions too. Three air vents in each side maintaining the air pressure inside the IEM and dust grill also applied in front of the wide but short nozzles. No tip lip is there but don’t worry, tips not going to coming out accidentally because the nozzles are wide enough to hold them tight.

    Cable quality is good, 4 cores nicely woven till Y splitter. It is a detachable 2 pin 0.78 mm cable with L type 3.5 mm plug, soft and no sign of microphonics. A small chin slider, Velcro cable tie and memory foam used for ease of usage. 2 pin connectors goes inside the IEM shell a bit for better fit but noticed some movement yet no drop in sound . Overall the cable is a durable for everyday use.
    IMG_20181103_125157_DRO.jpg

    Source , Comfort, Noise Isolation & Tip Selection

    BQEYZ KB100 is only 15Ω and very easy to drive , worked fine with almost all of my sources like Iphone SE, Hiby R3, Sony NW- A46, Cain N3, Fiio Q1 Mk2 & Audioquest Dragonfly . Please keep in mind that KB100 pairs best with neutral players because of its own sound characteristics, which I will discuss soon.

    Comfort and noise isolation is too good once you choose perfect ear tips for you. Supplied tips are not that great. Surprisingly tip rolling also changing the sound of KB100. I have used an aftermarket soft, medium bore sized tip and will discuss the SQ changes according after tip rolling in sound section later. Before any serious listening I left KB100 for 50 hours of burn in.

    IMG_20181101_154932_DRO.jpg


    Sound


    Here comes the most important part. The driver configuration of KB100 is unique, 2 dynamic drivers and 1 balanced armature. Those 2 dynamic drivers used for lower frequency and Mids, the balanced armature for upper frequency. But whatever they are doing it’s pretty much enjoyable. Out of the box KB100 is suitable for most of the genres.

    Bass -

    Kb100 designed keeping bass on top priority. Sub - bass section is pretty good in terms of quantity and extension. The bass is full bodied and you can feel the rumble easily in your favorite tracks. The decay is slow yet can go deep. Mid-bass is clear and punchy. Don’t use narrow bore tips otherwise it will destroy the entire sub-bass section. A warm player with Kb100 is not suitable as it’s already good in bass section. The song ‘Somebody's Watching Me’ by Michael Jackson sounds like a bit slow and sub-bass section less aggressive yet every hit on drum is clear and punchy. Again the opening of the song ‘Chunky’ by Bruno Mars feels like smooth but it is a good approach when most of your playlist full of bass heavy tracks.


    Mids -

    There is definitely a bump in Mids. Midrange is clean and transparent; every layer is separated and well articulated. Lower Mids not that much emphasized and sounds thicker. Upper Mids a bit forwarded than lower Mids. Male vocal sits behind female ones. Less emotion can be noticed in male vocals; female vocals are not that aggressive though. It’s like an extra 1db gain in female vocals. For example the song ‘Is This Love (Kaya 40 Mix)’ by Bob Marley sounds a bit thicker while the entire album ‘Golden Hour’ by Kacey Musgraves sounds crystal clear and airy. If your entire music library filled with predominate female vocals, you going to love KB100 for sure.

    Treble -

    The BA driver model is not mentioned in the box but for sure it is better than those used in KZ earphones. No harshness or sibilance at all. For me the amount of treble Kb100 producing is enough. Yet there is a lack of sparkle. Highs are well extended and enough for almost every genre. The overall representation is smoother resulting less fatigue. While pairing with ESS DACs, Kb100 manage to overcome the shimmer one may miss in KB100. Song like ‘Riding with the King’ by B. B. King and Eric Clapton with Kb100 may feels less energetic first but it turns out, it’s actually less fatigue with the entire album.

    Soundstage & Imaging -

    The soundstage is quite good. Instrument separation is fair enough but not the best in comparison with 300$ IEMS and nobody expecting that. Separation of vocals and instruments are clear. While the grain of vocals striking your senses, you can feel the string instruments and drums playing from a certain distance. Surprisingly KB100 is doing great with complex songs. In the song ‘Key to the Highway’ by B.B. King and Eric Clampton it feels like King is singing with his guitar in my right ear and Clampton in left ear while the drums playing somewhere near me. Watching movies using KB100 is very pleasing, dialogues are crisp and clear and action parts are less fatigue. For that price KB100 doing a great Job.


    IMG_20181103_124727_DRO.jpg

    Comparison

    Vs Tin Audio T2 -

    I am talking about 50 $ IEM and nobody wants to know, how KB100 is; in comparison with T2 is not possible. Yes KB100 is better than T2 for me. I am not a fan of T2 for their design, very uncomfortable for me at least. Sound wise KB100 has more or better sub-bass. The rumble is missing in T2s. The slam of bass with punch is there in KB100 and I really missed it in T2. Sub-bass in T2 is faster but the quantity & texture is missing. KB100 is more engaging than T2. Mids are hollow in T2 while the lush can be noticed in KB100. Both Bass and Mids rendered nicely in KB100. In treble section T2 is more extended than KB100. While T2 offers more air in upper frequency KB100 presents it as smooth as possible. Soundstage is also way better in KB100 than T2.


    Vs Fiio Fh1 -

    The most affordable and popular from Fiio till now may be FH1. For a 50$ IEM, KB100 sounds almost similar to FH1 (75$) . FH1 comes with lots of accessories, beside that they sound almost identical. Sub-bass section in both these two IEMS pretty identical, but KB100 way more controlled & not bleeding at all. Mids are forwarded in Kb100 and vocals sound more articulated than FH1. In Treble section too they performs almost same or FH1 a step ahead. FH1 with balanced cable sound a bit better but trying KB100 in balanced mode is not possible because I don’t have any 2 pin balanced cable.


    Conclusion -

    For just 50$, BQEYZ no doubt worth every penny. Relatively balanced sound in an eye catching and durable shell. Textured and well defined Bass followed by crisp vocals. Non fatigue and ideal for daily use. String instruments really sound great on it. KB100 performs really well in every scenario, either music listening or watching movies. And yes in 50$ price range KB100 is really a chi-fi gem.
      hakuzen, jant71, trellus and 2 others like this.
    1. dharmasteve
      Good review. I have had the KB100 for a while now and as you say it is worth every penny. I do think that Tin Audio T2 is more organic sounding and has a slightly more accurate rendering of instruments and timbre. The KB100 is a genuine bargain. One of my best buys.
      dharmasteve, Nov 10, 2018
      Palash likes this.
  7. IryxBRO
    BQEYZ KB100 — peculiar driver combination with eng
    Written by IryxBRO
    Published Nov 4, 2018
    4.5/5,
    Pros - balanced sound, good lows, accurate treble, excellent separation and layering
    Cons - need some time to find the best fit, moderate resolution of lows
    Another new brand and new name on highly saturated market of IEMs — BQEYZ KB100. The company itself has about 20 years experience of developing IEMs, at least they say so. Their previous models like K2 and KC2 (4 in total) were widely distributed and got pretty good feedback from the audience. We haven’t been dealing with any of their previous models and starting directly with the latest one — KB100.

    [​IMG]

    This model belongs to hybrid class and has some peculiar driver combination that might result into well balanced sound. Let’s look at technical specifications first:
    • Driver combination: 1 balanced armature + 2 dynamic driver
    • Frequency response range: 7 — 40kHz
    • Impedance: 15Ω
    • Sensitivity: 105 dB/mW
    • Plug: 3.5mm, gold-plated
    • IEM connector: 2pin, 0.78mm
    • Weight: 25±5g
    • Color options: red or blue
    • Cable options: with remote and mic, no remote and mic
    1 balanced and 2 dynamic drivers is rare combination in hybrid IEMs world. Usually, one dynamic and several armature drivers are combined to give treble the most attention and details. Seems that egineers behind KB100 were trying to compensate excessive armature treble and upper mids by multiple dynamic drivers to extend mids, lows and bass… We would check that a bit later.

    Package and box contents:

    [​IMG]

    Pretty regular small and neat black box with brand name, model name at the front and products details at the back. All text is imprinted with metallic paint.

    [​IMG]

    There is a special cardboard podium inside the box that secures IEMs and eartips in place.

    [​IMG]

    Cable comes connected and neatly placed beneath. So, the box contents are:
    • KB100 IEMs
    • Cable
    • 3 pairs of silicone eartips (S|M|L)
    • warranty|user manual
    [​IMG]

    No storage case, though…

    Build, design and materials:

    We’ve got red version of KB100 IEMs. As seen from our pictures IEMs are consisting of two parts with different paint. Top part always stays black and the base part could be either in red or blue.

    [​IMG]

    Both parts are made of CNC-aluminum, carefully crafted and painted. Top black part of the left IEM contains white brand name imprint and corresponding channel indicator whereas top part of the right channel carries the name of the model. But both have the lovely design element — shiny CNC cut in the shell that outlines their shape.

    [​IMG]

    Base parts of the shells are edning up with black output nozzels covered with aluminum non-detachable filter grils. All three compensation openings are also situated here along with pin base for cable connection. Top and base parts are perfectly aligned and the whole construction is very stiff.

    [​IMG]

    The only thing to mention is that the pin base of right channel is moving a bit inside the shell. No issues with the sound and no extra noises, though. Pin base is held inside by special shell cavities.

    [​IMG]

    Not much of details about BQEYZ cable: comes with 2-pin 0.78mm connectors, 3.5mm gold-plated stereo jack, aluminum jack housing, aluminum Y-splitter and transparent cable retainer.

    [​IMG]

    Pin housings are made of plastic. Cable is twisted, with additional earguides which are too soft and too flexible to keep the desired shape.

    [​IMG]

    KB100 are a bit less universal in terms of fit and wearing comfort comparing to some other IEMs. Kind of strange type of very flexible and soft earguides would not be much of a help for a best fit either. Anyway, 10-15 minutes of finding the best combination and getting used to these IEMs and the problem has vanished. Finally, we can state that they are good even while exercising, just more attention to finding best position at the beginning.

    Sound quality:

    Testing equipment: Hidizs AP200 DAP, Shanling M0 DAP

    [​IMG]

    Bass and lows:

    Seems that this section got much of attention from engineers in BQEYZ. Deep bass has a good amount of presence, very good layering and separation from other requencies. One of the most enjoying fact here is that bass is adequate and pleasing even at lower volumes. Rare example of IEMs which are perfectly driven while maintaining good articulation and amount of lower frequencies no matter how much volume you want to go with. Texturing in deep bass region is moderate but contouring is very good.

    [​IMG]

    Midbass section gets the appropriate treatment as well: enough power and air to create powerful and punchy hit, neutral sound with no obvious bright or dark tonality, proper separation and not muting other frequencies during the heavy drum portions.

    We’d say that KB100 are very good and capable in delivering both bass and midbass ranges. The only aspect here that might disclose inexpensive nature of those IEMs is the resolution that lacks some additional details.

    [​IMG]

    Mids and vocals:

    In contrary to lows, mids and vocals exhibit more detalization and tend to involve hybrid combination of drivers. On one hand there is a good warm and intimate timbre of male voices and on the other — higher clarity and more sharpness on female vocals. In either case there are no problems like lisping or sudden frequency peaks common for cheaper or poorely tuned hybrids. Instruments here have good layering and separation and the entire mids section feels to be in good balance with lows and treble, neither overemphasized, nor hanging behind. This results in overall neutral and straight delivery, capable of producing very pleasing experience no matter the music genre. Such neutrality together with good resolution reminds of us of more expensive IEMs.

    [​IMG]

    Treble:

    Treble is delicate and carefully tuned… Yet another example of appropriate tuning of armature driver. Yes, in overall, its nature is defined and we can easily recognize the use of this technology due to advanced treble extent, largel amount of details and clear reproduction of tiniest sounds but it stays under a total control. No piercing or harshness, no sibilance or brain drilling peaks. It is not so clear, bright or heavily emphasized as we’ve seen in many other hybrid IEMs but we treat it as an advantage, not an issue. The balance between treble, mids and lows is very good, thanks to such tuning approach which eventually leads to long and confortable listening experience. Layering is also very good — even the smallest details are not obscured by the leading instruments. So, treble range in KB100 is not heavily emphasized and delivered very delicately while maintaining above average amount of sharpness, texturing and details. Sweet combination and appealing to many who would like to have the best from both worlds — dynamic and armature IEMs.

    [​IMG]

    Stage and channel separation:

    Excellent. Especially the distance between instruments on both vertical and horizontal planes. Our beloved binaural recordings from «The Ultimate Headphone Demonstration» show wery wide instruments distribution with significantly enlarged stage. Such layering together with precise and distant positioning of certain sounds create a good feel of being on stage or sitting at the front row, at least.

    Sound in overall:

    BQEYZ KB100 sound could be described as well-balanced, neutral with slight tendency to a brighter side. The balance between lows, mids and treble is good but upper mids and treble play the leading role in the final picture. Amount of lows is enough but the lack of resolution of this section still allows other frequencies to prevail in our perception of the sound. No problems with treble, though. Moreover, these IEMs might sound warm and intimate with some compositions and on lower volumes.

    Compared to Shozy Zero:

    [​IMG]

    Shozy Zero are single dynamic driver IEMs. Dark, warm, with lots of lows and good deep bass. They are mostly chosen by people who would listen to old rock or slow blues with lots of tube amp and velvet sound. BQEYZ KB100 are totally different, we would say that they are sounding more natural and neutral. Bass is still available here at good amount while treble is also here to compensate lows and to bring some more air into the final picture. Moreover, the resolution is higher on mids and treble.

    Compared to Dawnwood ST-08:

    [​IMG]

    Dawnwood ST-08 are also single dynamic driver IEMs with much more balanced sound. Those do exhibit good amount of details across the entire AFR toghether with excellent fit and rich box contents. BQEYZ KB100 are winning in terms of resolution on mids and treble, in addition to more engaging sound and larger treble extent. Moreover, Dawnwood ST-08 sometimes might produce some piercing peaks on female vocals which never been spotted in KB100 behavior.

    Compared to Kinera Seeds:

    [​IMG]

    Kinera Seeds are hybrid IEMs with very good mids and treble behavior but lack some bass and sub bass amounts. KB100 have more balanced sound due to adequate amount of lows, more powerful and natural midbass articulation, more natural mids section and a bit more extent of treble section. Kinera Seeds might be a better choice for mids-oriented music genres but we would say that KB100 is a clear winner here due to more universal tuning which is closer to Kinera IDUN rather than Seeds (but still far from Kinear IDUN overall sound quality due to inevitable sound simplification). The only what KB100 should learn from Seeds is wearing comfort. Seeds profile is perfect while BQEYZ IEMs are hard to get used to.

    [​IMG]

    Conclusion:

    Our main conclusion is that we definitely like BQEYZ KB100 IEMs. Those are inexpensive IEMs with interesting hybrid combination and very good sound quality exceeding our expectation in this price range. Of course, there is a long way to go to mature sound of >$130 IEMs but at the same time KB100 are outperforming their closest rivals. The best part of it is that finally there are hybrid IEMs capable of good balance between lows, mids and treble with no apparent V-tuning in this price range. Moreover, we like that treble is delivered carefully, avoiding excessive oversharpening. Together with great instrument separation and layering… Definitely exceeding their price…

    Our final word is that we would keep KB100 as our favorite inexpensive IEMs for everyday use!

    You can buy BQEYZ KB100 at PenonAudio store
      trellus and Dim666 like this.
  8. Kervsky
    The Freshmaker
    Written by Kervsky
    Published Nov 1, 2018
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Quite good bass performance, a nice and above decent mid range, safe treble that isn't rolled off, a smooth performer that provides adequate transparency.
    Cons - Lacks sparkle and shimmer, no tip lip (a con for the paranoid)
    [​IMG]

    Introduction: BQEYZ is a relatively new company to the audio scene that's come to light recently. Though as I discovered, they have a pretty experienced development team that handles their products and that they seem to favor a certain style in terms of driver configuration, this is evident with their latest release, the KB100 (red and black version) which I'll be reviewing today.

    I'd like to thank BQEYZ and Penon for chance to review this KB100 in exchange for my honest and unbiased review. You can buy the BQEYZ KB100 at Penon website or locally if your local retailer has them in stock.

    [​IMG]

    Specification:
    Driver: 2 Dynamic and 1 Balanced Armature
    Sensitivity: 105dB
    Frequency Response: 7-40,000Hz
    Impedance: 15Ω
    Material: Aluminum Shell
    Connectors: 2-Pin @ 0.78mm
    Cable Length: 1.2mm
    Plug: 3.5mm Gold plated

    The KB100 is quite easy to drive at 15Ω, it does well even on my phone, a notoriously weak volumed Xperia, it can get to a nice and easy listening volume at 11/15 thanks to the good level of sensitivity, max volume is very loud. Using better sources will scale the KB100 fairly well.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Unboxing: I like things in a minimalist manner for my audio gear packaging, it stems from an old mentality that less spent on the packaging, the more spent on the product quality, which is why I am fairly happy at the compact box that the BQEYZ 100 came in. Just a simple square box that has minimal markings. Just the branding up top and specs at the back. Inside is a nicely presented product with nearly everything up front, the iem, part of the cable & the silicone tips, below that is the rest of the cable and a manual, a very basic package.

    [​IMG]

    Cable: The cable is a relatively soft, slightly springy but feels strong, not stretchy and the braid it utilizes practically eliminates microphonics and feels comfortable to wear for long periods of time. The plug is a a 90 degree bent type that has an aluminum jacket for durability and an adequate strain relief extending at a right angle from the plug. The splitter is also covered by aluminum and branded with BQEYZ, there is a rather solid rubber tube as a strain relief at the bottom part and no strain relief at the top end.

    [​IMG]

    The chin slider is a small oblong block made of clear acrylic, it's simple, effective and functional when needed and nondescript when not. The connectors are solid black plastic bodied 2-pin connector with gold plated pins, their size is made for use with custom iems as they are rather slim, which perfectly fits the IEM recessed slot.

    [​IMG]

    Build/Design: The KB100 shell is made from smooth 2 toned aluminum, one black faceplate and inner shell body in red. The black faceplate has a silver trimmed outline as well as shallowly engraved L and R markings with the brand and model inside a carved depression in the middle on each side of the plate.

    [​IMG]

    On the red part of the shell, the sides are smooth and flatly bean shaped to help conform to most ears (in some of the meets I've attended with it, I noticed some people with rather small ears may feel the pin side to be hitting their inner lobe which can be a little uncomfortable, some adjustment of the position or using a longer tip helps alleviate it,) inner side part in red is smooth and has no holes or any design elements. The inner side has 2 holes a bit further away from the nozzle which is the driver exhaust for the dynamic drivers or the nozzle vent or both, which I think is more likely since I have never encountered any driver flex with the KB100 and there is no sound distortion normally associated a closed back dynamic.

    [​IMG]

    The nozzle is made from a black smooth material, there is no tip lip but as BQEYZ mentioned, (I paraphrased their response) that the nozzle diameter will be larger if they added a tip lip and the silicone tips would increase in size by a little bit which can cause discomfort in wearing (for some users), also, the tips they used were made with good quality to avoid any slippage of tips. So far, the stock tips in my use and review have never accidentally been left inside my ear, Symbios and other good tips like Acoustune tips, JVC Spiral Dots, Comply and Campfire marshmallow tips stay in place very well too.

    [​IMG]

    Sound Analysis: Unlike most of my reviews, I did not have an impression post for the BQEYZ KB100 though I have teased and let others test it in the meets I've attended since I got it, it's actually a good IEM out of the box, having a configuration like a 3 way speaker, there are 2 dynamic drivers and 1 balanced armature that acts like a tweeter. A pretty sweet setup that is a bit different to the typical 1 dd and 2 ba design, this from the onset gave me a good amount of bass that was a little bit rough around the edges on very bassy tracks, the mids were good and a little forward, a tuning I particularly like, that has adequate details and clarity and a treble that well, I considered a safe tone for sensitive ears. Giving the drivers a bit of a run through, I let the KB100 play music for over 200 hours before starting my review, using the stock tips and most of the time the WM1A to figure out the sound of the KB100.

    Bass: With Dragonborn, the sub-bass of the KB100 is presented with an above average quantity and extension, letting the war drums in the intro reach a good depth and reverberate with good reach and rumble which reflects with a little slower than average speed of decay. Though its decay is a bit slow, the KB100 is able to resolve the grindy reverberations in The Day The World Went Away quite well, giving bass guitars a less crunchy sound and instead a little more smoothness in return in songs like Lithium. The bass in Lose Yourself to Dance is able to deliver a moderately weighty hit that feels smooth and full, giving bass heavy songs a nice steady and felt cadence to the beat of the music. Overall the bass of the KB100 takes a bigger share of the attention, it is articulate, relatively detailed, able to avoid any bleed and still it can deliver a full bodied bass experience, filled with good bass impact and satisfying rumbles and good vibration.

    Mids: Opening with Pandemic's wall of sound and chaotic beats, the KB100 is able to adequately separate and layer the sounds into each place that keeps the sound uncluttered. Something to note with regards to this area, lesser gear will still sound good and separated, though not as spacious as better players and daps which will definitely sound more spacious and be easier to distinguish individual sound. Regardless of gear, there is a good amount of clarity in the mids, the lower area is in a slightly forward position giving lower mid sounds, instruments and vocals a bit more presence, whereas the upper mids is a tiny bit more forward than the lower mids, giving female vocals a bit more intimacy and immediacy to the instruments. The whole of the mids are quite well bodied, something one can never say is thin or hollow thanks to the warmth imparted to its tonality. Overall the mids are not an afterthought, and though the bass will undoubtedly get more attention, the mids are gonna show you a good time with its detail, clarity and good timbre.

    [​IMG]

    Treble: Hit The Lights raising intro of cymbal and hat hits sound nicely executed, there is a naturalness to the decay it presents, neither fast or slow, it hits, expands then dies out without even reaching the point of peakiness or harshness. Treble reach is good enough to provide some air though it's smoothness seems to restrict sparkle as can be heard with Till They Take My Heart Away's usually twinkling highs. This aspect of smoothness does make it easier to listen for long times without being fatigued and it's bodied enough so that the harmonics are not thin or piercing. Overall, the treble is safe for those who are sensitive to that frequency range while still detailed and extended enough to satisfy those who want something more open and a smoothness that gives a rather relaxed treble without being rolled off.

    Soundstage: There is ample amounts of space with the KB100 to enjoy orchestral types of music like Symphony No.3 In E Flat, Op.55 -"Eroica" : 1. Allegro con brio, the range is around 2.5 inches away from the ears wide, though on average depending on how the song is engineered, voices sound just within the entrance of the ear canal for most songs, that's why the the sense of depth forward/back and up/down is of a similar range but sounds deeper, this depth helps provide a more layered/spaced out sound to avoid congestion on even the most complicated tracks. Imaging is generally accurate to be able to place instruments, like in Do It Again (Shirley Horn) there's a trumpet that plays just a little below the ear and a bit behind it.

    [​IMG]

    Comparison: Using the WM1a and giving both Symbio W tips to even out their sound, I compared the KB100 with the closest competitor I have on hand by using a switcher and volume matching them to 85dB.

    Kinera Seed vs BQEYZ KB100
    Bass: The KB100 has more sub-bass reach than the Seed, which is evident in songs like Way Down Deep though their bass decay is similar in speed. This song also shows that the sub bass quantity is more apparent with the KB100 with each beat of the drums delivering a fuller experience, though the difference isn't miles apart, it is quite noticeable. The KB100 has a stronger bass hit than the Seed, the impact is more blunt and fast vs the slower and less heavier hit of the Seed in songs like Cheap Thrills. Overall, the KB100 is able to deliver a more pronounced and upbeat bass experience while the Seed is more on the relaxed side of the sound spectrum.

    Mids: The KB100 is able to render the mids in a more clear and spacious manner than the the Seed, having more space in between the instruments, complicated songs like Poltergeist are presented in a more open and uncluttered way. There is more warmth and smoothness with the KB100 while the Seed has more reach. Both have similar forwardness in the lower midrange and the Seed has a little more forwardness in the upper mids giving female vocals a little more intimacy. Instruments have more body and weight to pianos and guitars with the KB100 and there is a little more presence with the upper mids of the Seed. Overall, The KB100 has a more vibrant and emotive midrange while the Seed has a more brighter and more neutral toned midrange.

    [​IMG]

    Treble: The Seed has more treble extension and more air and sparkle than the KB100, however there is more smoothness and body with the KB100 which leads to a more fatigue free experience. Treble resolution is a little bit better with the KB100 and cymbal crashes as well as high frequency harmonics are rendered in a more natural manner. Overall the Seed may cater more to those who like a brighter and airy high frequency region while the KB100 is more for those that want a smooth and longer listening experience.

    Soundstage: The KB100 has a wider soundstage than the Seed in all axis points, while separation and layering is also similarly better with the KB100. Accuracy is on par with each other being able to place instruments and sounds in the correct location. There is less definition with the Seed than with the KB100.

    [​IMG]

    Conclusion: The BQEYZ KB100 quite a refreshing IEM in this price range, with a driver configuration that is uncommon, balanced yet engaging signature thanks to it's rather strong bass presence, a clear and entertaining midrange and treble that is well controlled, it's an overall sound that is (for me) worth more than the price of admission. Along with the sound, the KB100 is made with an Aluminum shell which aside from feeling good in the hand, looks premium. Another is how the detachable 2-pin connection is designed, the IEM sockets are recessed by a short distance, lending the 2-pin plugs some resilience and protection from accidentally bending and breaking. Granted that the whole package is rather plain and the cable looks average, the KB100 itself is a gem and you have the satisfaction of knowing the money you paid went into the development of this little gem.

    [​IMG]

    Sound testing was done using a Sony WM1a (Primarily), a Hiby R6, Zishan Z1(for comparison), Audirect Beam (for computer convenience) and a phone (for checking driveability) volume matched to 90.X db of max volume for safe hearing below 8 hours of use and calibrated using a 1kh tone on a dedicated DB Meter, all sources patched through a switcher. More information will be available on the About Me page (once I find the time to write it up.)
      hqssui, Bartig and dharmasteve like this.
  9. audio123
    BQEYZ KB100 - Smooth Gem
    Written by audio123
    Published Oct 19, 2018
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Punchy Bass, Elevated Midrange, Smooth
    Cons - Lacks Sparkle
    Introduction

    BQEYZ is a new brand to the scene but they have an experienced team for product development. Recently, they release the KB100. In this review, I will be reviewing their latest release in the KB100. I would like to thank BQEYZ and Penon Audio for this review unit. At the moment, you can get them on Penon Audio .

    [​IMG]

    Specifications
    • Driver Configuration: 1 Balanced Armature + 2 Dynamic
    • Impedance: 15 ohm
    • Frequency Response: 7 – 40kHz
    • Sensitivity: 105 dB / mW
    Unboxing & Accessories

    The KB100 comes in a black package that features the brand name. After opening the package, you will get the KB100, 3 pairs of tips and user guide.

    [​IMG]

    IEM Build & Design

    The KB100 is made of aluminium and there is a smooth surface to it. Each faceplate has a silver outer edge. On the right faceplate, there are the brand name and R marking. On the left faceplate, there are the model name and L marking. The shells are red in colour. There are 3 vents on the inside of the iem. The nozzle is slightly angled with metal mesh. The iem utilizes 0.78mm 2 pins detachable cable. The KB100 has a comfortable fit.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Cable Build & Design

    The cable is a detachable 4 core cable with 2 pin 0.78mm connectors. On the connectors, there is a L & R marking on the left and right respectively. The connectors have black housing. The cable has a memory wire section that is enclosed in a transparent heat shrink tube. The chin slider is translucent. The y-splitter has a black housing which sports the brand name and there is strain relief. The jack is 3.5mm gold plated right angled with strain relief.

    [​IMG]

    Sound Analysis

    Lows

    The KB100 has good sub-bass quantity with moderate extension. It takes on a full-bodied manner. The bass texture is rendered smoothly and the bass decay is not the fastest. The rumble is quite natural with a slow attack. The mid-bass has sufficient quantity to deliver a robust slam. Each bass note is articulated with a smooth yet impactful hit. The bass reproduction has fullness with punch.

    Mids

    The midrange is expressed with good body and it is slightly elevated. There is a clean rendition and the transparency is of a moderate level. The lower mids has sufficient quantity and male vocals are being expressed with moderate thickness. The upper mids has a slight boost and the forwardness raises the intimacy level of female vocals. There is control to prevent it from being shouty. It is presented with clarity.

    Highs

    The treble is extended well and there is no sibilance and harshness. It has a smooth presentation for a fatigue-free listening. There is lack of sparkle to inject excitement into the overall sound. The amount of air rendered is fair. Treble is articulated cleanly with body and the definition is moderate. The smoothness creates a soothing listen.

    Soundstage

    The soundstage expands quite naturally. The width magnitude is good and the depth is able to offer space. Layering and separation is fair. There is minimal congestion.

    [​IMG]

    Comparisons

    BQEYZ KB100 vs Tin Audio T2

    The KB100 has more sub-bass quantity than the T2 and it is able to extend better. The sub-bass reproduction on the KB100 is fuller which gives a satisfactory listen. Rumble on the KB100 is expressed naturally and it packs more punch. The KB100 has a higher engagement level. The bass decay on the T2 is slightly quicker. Bass texture on the KB100 is rendered with extra smoothness. The mid-bass on the KB100 has more quantity and it gives the slam a weighted feeling. The midrange of the KB100 takes on a full-bodied approach as compared to the lean approach on the T2. The lower mids on the KB100 has more quantity than the T2 and male vocals are presented with thickness without any signs of hollowness. The upper mids on the KB100 is more forward than the T2 and it commands a higher level of intimacy. Female vocals are expressed with a good balance of body and forwardness. Next, the treble on the KB100 extends similarly and operates with a smoother approach. There is more air rendered on the T2. The KB100 has good treble body. Sparkle on the T2 is slightly better. Lastly, the KB100 expands in a more natural manner. The KB100 has greater width magnitude while the depth of T2 is slightly more closed in.


    BQEYZ KB100 vs Shozy Hibiki


    The KB100 has slightly extra sub-bass quantity than the Hibiki and it is able to extend greater with more depth. The sub-bass reproduction on the KB100 is showcased with additional fullness and it sounds more complete. Each bass note on the KB100 is articulated with greater strength. The mid-bass on the KB100 has more body than the Hibiki and the slam is presented with density. The slam hits with extra power. The midrange on the KB100 has great quantity and it benefits vocals reproduction. The lower mids on the KB100 has more quantity than the Hibiki which contributes to male vocals sounding thick. The upper mids of the KB100 is boosted which helps to express female vocals with more intimacy. The extra midrange body on the KB100 gives it the edge over the Hibiki. Next, the treble of the KB100 extends greater with more depth. The amount of air rendered on both is quite similar. There is a smoother presentation on the KB100 which ensures an enjoyable listen. The KB100 has a good treble balance. Lastly, in terms of soundstage, the KB100 expands more naturally and the width magnitude is greater. The depth on the Hibiki is more closed in.

    BQEYZ KB100 vs BGVP DM5

    The KB100 has more sub-bass quantity than the DM5 but it is able to extend slightly more. The sub-bass reproduction on the KB100 is much fuller. The KB100 has the ability to deliver more impact. The rumble on the KB100 is presented more naturally. The bass texture on the KB100 is rendered with additional smoothness. Bass decay on the DM5 is slightly more agile. The mid-bass quantity on the KB100 is more and the slam is executed with a weighted feeling. Each bass note on the KB100 is articulated with a stronger hit. The midrange of the KB100 is lusher than the DM5 while the DM5 is slightly cleaner. The lower mids on the KB100 has more body and male vocals are presented well with additional thickness. The upper mids on the KB100 has slightly more forwardness and female vocals are presented with a higher level of intimacy. Next, in the treble section, the KB100 is able to extend better and the amount of air on KB100 is slightly greater. There is more treble body on the KB100 which helps to give a smooth feeling. The crisp is more defined on the DM5. Lastly, in terms of soundstage, there is a more natural expansion on the KB100. The width magnitude is greater on the KB100 and the depth of the DM5 is more closed in.

    Conclusion

    The KB100 is a smooth iem that is able to provide a punchy bass reproduction, elevated midrange and controlled treble. It ensures a fatigue-free and relaxing listen session with good musicality. In addition, it utilizes a detachable cable. The BQEYZ KB100 presents great value at its price point with an enjoyable sound.

    [​IMG]

    For more reviews, visit https://audio123blog.wordpress.com/ .
    1. View previous replies...
    2. audio123
      @josesol07 Thank you for reading. Appreciate it. Quite comfortable with good isolation. Ultimately, it still depends on your ears!
      audio123, Oct 21, 2018
    3. dharmasteve
      Very accurate review.
      dharmasteve, Oct 26, 2018
      audio123 likes this.
    4. audio123
      audio123, Oct 26, 2018