1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice
  1. Watermelon Boi
    BGVP DMS Review: Got skills
    Written by Watermelon Boi
    Published Aug 20, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Precision-tuned, wide signature
    -Sturdy, well-built earpieces
    Cons - Not meant for flat or bright sound enthusiasts
    -No storage case
    DSC_0467.jpg

    BGVP DMS Review: Got skills

    BGVP is a new Chinese IEM brand that started to gain much interest among fellow budget audiophiles. They do have flagship-level products but the majority of their products are focused on affordable, budget-friendly ones.

    Even their name stands for 'Budget Gears for Various Personalities', so you already get what their motto is. I've been hearing good impressions about BGVP products all over the place - especially DM6 and DMG. Surely I've been interested in their products, though it was a mixed bag of feelings since I was also skeptical about their actual quality.

    Lots of Chinese brands are flooding out nowadays and not all of them are precious gems. Anyhow, BGVP released the successor of their DMG, named DMS. Not only this is my first time reviewing a BGVP IEM, but this is also my first time trying their products. One fun fact about the BGVP brand is that they were previously known as 'Sidy' but later changed their branding to the current one. Let's get into the review and see how BGVP did with their newest IEM, DMS.




    DSC_0473.jpg
    DSC_0475.jpg

    Packaging

    The packaging feels mediocre - clean and simple. Accessories falls a bit behind, only including 9 pairs of silicone eartips and paperwork other than the earphone. Even the much cheaper Havi B3 Pro comes with a pouch at least. It's odd that they haven't included any storage case or pouch with these.



    DSC_0463.jpg


    Cable

    BGVP included DMS with a typical 3.5mm SPC cable. Nothing particularly stands out, but not bad in quality either. Well, but I'd still recommend pairing these with a decent custom cable if you're looking to bring out more potentials from the sound. The stock cable feels very soft and barely produces any microphonics.




    DSC_0452.jpg

    Earpieces

    DMS comes in either black/silver/blue color and the entire housing is made of CNC aluminum alloy. It gives a very solid and sturdy touch in the hands with a nice finish. It does look identical with those screw-type nozzles on either IMR R1 or Advanced GT3, though this one isn't actually. Don't even try unless you're ready for a disaster. The earpieces are worn over-ear and provide a very comfy fit. The grills on the faceplate serve as a vent and the cable connections are terminated in MMCX.


    Drivers

    DMS has a rather uncommon driver configuration, packed with 4-Way 6BA+1DD on each side. Two Knowles 31936 BAs for the highs, two 60318 dual BAs for the low-mids, and the wide 10mm DD covering all frequency range.

    Very interesting to see BGVP decided to set the dynamic driver as full-range. I suppose this is a similar approach as Rhapsodio Zombie MK8. BGVP explains that setting the DD as full-range provides organic treble, sweeter vocals, and deeper/denser bass. In short, this large dynamic driver is there to manage and complement the overall sound.


    DSC_0461.jpg

    Sound Impressions: Lows / Overall sound signature

    DMS aims for a W-shaped signature with uplifted bass. The groovy bass thoroughly reveals the deep, dark sound ray without overdoing it. It provides a generous amount of bass quantity with good thickness but doesn't feel too muddy or bloated either.

    The sub-bass quantity is just a little higher than typical slight v-shape IEMs (not strong V-shaped, I mean slightly v-shaped ones). Along with that, DMS focuses a bit more on the ultra-lows than the sub-bass, making the bass presentation very clear and thick in details while keeping the atmosphere clean and neat.



    DSC_0454.jpg

    Sound Impressions: Mids

    It can't be easy to fuse 6 BA drivers into a full-range dynamic driver. As someone who wasn't putting big expectations on BGVP, I was expecting the mids to feel rather unnatural and unstable, but a complete miss on my side.

    Mids feel smooth and natural while leaving some crispy textures on the end, letting me enjoy the crunchy bits of musical details. These crunchy bits resolve the superdense, mellow vocals from getting all stuffy and boring. I couldn't find any unnatural parts, spikes, or sibilance throughout the mid-range. The vocals are on the thicker side and work well with both male/female vocals, but DMS does a better job on presenting powerful, large sounding vocals rather than flat and thin sounding ones.



    DSC_0450.jpg

    Sound Impressions: Highs / etc.

    While lows and mids had more of a DD-based atmosphere, though highs present more BA-based atmosphere - those typical dense, snappy, nimble characteristics. Treble quantity is relatively lesser than the mids but stands in a similar position.

    Highs won't stick out much from the overall sound, however they are always clearly presented and manages to catch all the small details. It shows a dimmed brightness and focuses more on revealing the upper-frequency details without getting the ears fatigued.
    .
    Staging is quite impressively large, spreading out well towards all directions (L/R/U/D). It also does a good job forming the front/back layering with a relaxed, natural headroom. Separations are moderately highlighted, but only to the point where it won't break the harmony.




    DSC_0465.jpg

    Got skills

    Not going to lie, I'm surprised for what BGVP can offer. I've seen this brand getting hyped all over the communities getting praised which gave me doubts, though I can see that they aren't just for the money and gimmicks but for good quality audio products. If you're searching for a comfortable, wide sounding IEM with good clarity, DMS would be an affordable choice for you to grab. It's also time for me to keep my eyes on this brand and see how they would do with their future products.




    Visit www.aboutaudio.org and follow on Instagram / Facebook for exclusive contents!





    Thanks to BGVP for providing the DMS in exchange for an honest impression/feedback.
    I am not affiliated with BGVP and none of my words were modded or asked to be changed.
      iBo0m likes this.
    1. iBo0m
      Great review! The vents look slightly odd to me but as long as the sound is good, no matter the vents... Sounds like a bang for the bucks.
      iBo0m, Aug 21, 2019
      Watermelon Boi likes this.
    2. Watermelon Boi
      @iBo0m Thanks! Yep, it's indeed a very well-tuned IEM.
      Watermelon Boi, Aug 21, 2019
  2. antdroid
    BGVP DMS Review
    Written by antdroid
    Published Jul 5, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Open back
    Fun sound
    Great fit
    Great build quality
    Coherent mids and treble
    Cons - Open Back
    Bass lacks detail and texturing
    [​IMG]


    BGVP just released the BGVP DM7 and are right back at it with this new semi-open back DMS model that is seen as an upgrade on the DMG. A short time ago, someone posted a quick measurement of the DMS and it looked quite nice, especially when considering the DMG and DM6. I was busy reviewing the DM7 though and sort of forgot about the DMS at the time. The DM7 turned out to be a nice intimate sound, which was pricier than the rest of the BGVP lineup at the time. But I had the DMS in the back of mind.

    Lucky for me, Linsoul sent me a review unit of the BGVP DMS recently and I had a few weeks now of listening to it, and spoilers ahead, once I put them on, I have a hard time taking them off. But there are a bunch of quality IEMs that have just come out at this price range and I’ll try my best to compare to them in this review of the DMS. So, let’s get started!

    New Looks

    [​IMG]


    The new DMS features a new housing that takes a lot of the stylings of the DMG, and adds a beveled circular grill on the shell. This semi-open look provides air for the single dynamic driver to play with, and that along with the 6 balanced armature drivers in each shell are packaged within this metal housing. The shell also features mmcx connections, and the included cable is a bit generic and standard. This is a bit disappointing considering the premium and attractive cables that came with the DMG, DM6 and DM7 IEMs.

    In terms of fit and wearability, I found that, like the DMG, I can easily wear the DMS for hours upon hours. The shell size and shape really go well with my ear anatomy and I have nothing but good things to say about this area.

    Isolation will definitely be an area of concern here for those who want to completely block off external noise. The grill on the front has large enough holes that you can hear your surroundings with no music on pretty well, and it’ll let a little bit in while music is playing. I didn’t find this too distracting, but I wouldn’t recommend these for transportation and plane travel. In addition to poorer isolation, these do leak sound out of the grill. That said, you have to be really blasting music to make your ears hurt before anyone can hear the music, unless they were right up against your ear for some reason.

    The Sound

    The DMS is a fun, foot-moving listen. It has a slightly less V-shaped sound than it’s older brother DMG, but it still retains a boosted bass and dipped mids, but the upper mids and treble is much smoother and restrained than the DMG and the DM6. This gives it an overall very warm, yet lively listen that is both wide, fast, and entertaining.

    [​IMG]

    It’s not without faults though. The bass, while very fast and surprisingly toned down from the DMG and DM6, still is missing some key things. First, it is not very detailed and tricky bass layering and textures feel smeared and dirty. It’s weighty and has impact, but the dynamic driver is also nimble and fast. I found this to be quite enjoyable on fast-electronic dancey tracks like Chromeo’s Must’ve Been and Count Me Out.

    Sub-bass has nice rumble and extends quite well. I felt it when I listen to some tracks that push those limits – for example, local Seattle drummer, KJ Sawka, and his “Subconnectors” track has some deep electronic bass lines that provide backup to his drumming. The impact of each drum hit, and the panning of the electronic samples and Christa Wells echoes feels quite wide and positioned pretty well for this type of budget class.

    Pretty Lights, who I find to be a more modern DJ Shadow, and his track, “Gazing at the Glare” has similar bass impact and wide instrumentation and sampling that just works well with the DMS. In these electronic dance tracks, I don’t necessarily look for clean, taut, and well detailed bass and so the DMS does excel here in my opinion. It struggles more in rock music where I want to hear the intricacies of the bass guitar and the kick drums and what not.

    The mids are recessed a few dB and in practice, this doesn’t seem to really rear any significant troubles. The lower mids are warm and rich, with male vocals slightly behind, while female vocals sound more forward. Guitar strings are accentuated slightly with this V-shape signature, but with the tamer upper-mids and treble than that of the DM6 and some other Chinese IEMs and other generic V-shape in-ears, there is never a sense of harshness at all. Sometimes that can make the mids a tad dull, but I find there is enough bite here to make it lively.

    Treble, as mentioned before, is nice and relaxed, yet extended. I find it one of the strongest parts of this IEM and it has a great sense of air, especially with the open-back and open sound. The fact that it’s generally even and extended makes it a much better listen than the DMG and the DM6, which I found could be quite harsh and bright with certain genres, recordings, and songs.

    Comparisons

    Here is a selection of other $150 IEMs that I have enjoyed in the past or are new to the scene and would be competition to the BGVP DMS:

    Etymotics ER2XR
    The latest line from the original In-Ear company, Etymotics, is their dynamic driver-based ER2 series. I not had a chance to listen to the ER2SE (Studio Edition) model, but I recently purchased the ER2XR (Extended Range) version which features a warmer, and elevated bass response than the standard diffuse-field-like sound signature of the SE models. I also did try out the ER3SE (BA-based model). The ER2XR is quite a good IEM with great isolation and that trumps the open-back DMS. The DMS has punchier and more bass response, however the ER2XR has a surprisingly warm and rich sound with as quick if not quicker bass response than the DMS. ER2XR wins on clarity, imaging, and resolution, but the DMS wins out, in spades, with width and soundstage.

    Moondrop Kanas Pro
    The Moondrop Kanas Pro is still my top overall pick in this price class, and the reason being is that it has a great all-around sound profile that works across multiple genres. It has less bass impact and rumble than the DMS but it’s ever-present. It’s sound signature is more flat and probably more tonally correct, but it also does not extend quite as well and it’s treble isn’t as even. With the Moondrop Kanas Pro, I find it’s a great choice for everyone, while the DMS is a more fun, get your body moving type of sound.


    [​IMG]


    BGVP DMG
    The DMG is the predecessor to the DMS and it really doesn’t do anything better in any sound category. In terms of cable, it does beat it though. The DMG has more bass and more elevated treble, but both are borderline over-done. The saving grace for the DMG was that it had very coherent mids for a V-shaped IEM, but the DMS has taken this to another level in terms of coherency and a non-fatiguing listen.

    Knowledge Zenith AS16
    The newest flagship KZ IEM is the 8 BA (per side) AS16 model which recently was released. I have yet to do a full review on this (it’s coming…) but this has a much different tuning than the DMS. It’s a bright headphone that is brighter than Diffuse Field tuning, and severely lacking bass quantity. The detail level of the AS16 is better than the DMS, however the anemic bass makes this IEM very sterile and very boring, and rather harsh compared to the DMS.

    BGVP DM6
    The DM6 is priced $40 above the DMS, and beats it out in terms of resolution and clarity, as well as elevated bass response and bass detail. The DMS is much tamer in upper mids and treble and this doesn’t cause the same harshness and occasional harshness I found with the DM6 set I was sent. The spaciousness of the DMS also beats out the DM6, which I found to be a bit muddled and closed-in on busier songs. The DM6 was a mixed-bag experience for me, but with the DMS, I know what I am getting.

    [​IMG]


    Overall

    I’ve mentioned in a few times now, but I’ll reiterate that the DMS has a very open and wider than average soundstage that keeps these IEMs on my ear with a lively, fun natured sound. The bass can feel “bleh” sometimes, but there’s always good fast punchiness and gives you good quantity without being excessive. Mids are warm and rich, and yet the added air and good treble response makes this IEM an enjoyable listen, especially for dance tracks, and sounds that require a good wide soundstage to excel.

    If you are interested in this IEM, please check out Linsoul.com for more information and to purchase it. This IEM can also be found on amazon.com at the following location: https://www.amazon.com/Linsoul-Hybrid-Audiophile-Earphone-Detachable/dp/B07RDPDZ2F

    [​IMG]
  3. ufospls2
    BGVP DMS - A Slightly V Shaped Goal
    Written by ufospls2
    Published Jul 1, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Hey Guys,

    fJj4adX.jpg

    So I’ve been doing a bit of research on BGVP and there isn’t much information out there, that I can find anyhow. I know they are a Chinese company, but that is really all I can find apart from the poorly translated generic “about” section on the companies facebook page. These particular DMS were sent to me by Linsoul Audio for the purpose of review. I *Think* Linsoul and Penon audio are your best bets for getting your hands on a pair of these if they pique your interest.

    As I said in my original quick impressions of the DMS, more and more, I’m finding that I don’t have a set in stone preference in terms of sound signature. The only thing that seems consistent is that I enjoy a healthy bass response, but even that seems to have been toned down lately. Why? I’m not really sure. I’m not strictly looking for neutral, or v shaped, or w shaped etc….I just listen to various gear and try to find stuff I enjoy the sound of, which is the best any of us can do, I suppose.

    Anyhow, the BGVP DMS is actually a bit more expensive than I would usually recommend for a “budget” pair of IEMs, retailing at $169USD. Though I didn’t personally purchase this pair and was sent it for the purpose of review (thanks again, Linsoul) something like the Tin Hifi T2 at $50USD is more what I have in mind for a “budget” pair of IEMs. So with that being said, these have to do more than just “not suck” they actually have to be listenable and do something more than “let me enjoy a couple tunes.” Do they do this? Actually, yes, they do. I was surprised. I was expecting a generic overly bassy and bright sound signature, but the DMS are a bit more nuanced and mature sounding than expected.

    The DMS arrive in a nice little box, with more accessories than I expected for the price. Now that is not to say it is outright premium feeling, but it more than does the job. You get S/M/L/ of what look like Spinfit knock off tips, S/M/L of some sort of wide bore single flange, and S/M/L/ of standard single flange silicon tips. The cable does the job, nothing more, nothing less. I do have one gripe here, and it is the MMCX connectors seem almost…soft? I haven’t had any loose connections yet but they just don’t lock in nicely like some others I have used in the past.

    Now, on to how the DMS sound.

    BASS: The bass is definitely north of neutral, and a bit bloated sounding at time. However, for the music I tend to listen to (electronica, rock, jazz) this bass actually works out quite well. I really don’t enjoy bass light, lean signatures, so the north of neutral nature of the DMS works for me and my ears. I can see these being a great earphone for someone who enjoys electronica and is looking for something around the $150USD price mark.

    MIDS: The mids are a bit recessed sounding to my ears, making these a slightly v shaped earphone. The mids aren't super thick and warm, and if you tend to favour acoustic music, you might be better off looking at other models of earphones.

    TREBLE: The treble isn’t as elevated as I thought it would be. A typical V shape “Chi-Fi” IEM, at least the ones I have run into in the past have been a case of BASS, mids, TREBLE!!! Anyhow, not so here. There is a little bit of sparkle to the treble, but it is not over done and is actually fairly pleasant with the right types of music. Sibilance hasn’t been a marked problem so far, but I have winced once or twice with a loud crash cymbal. All in all, not too bad, but not the most refined treble I have heard.

    The technical side of the DMS is where they show their MSRP a little bit more, and I don’t usually correlate price with performance. Everything is just sort of…average? Average soundstage, average detail, average imaging. Nothing is jumping out, grabbing me, and making me go…”….wow!” Now, that isn’t necessarily a bad thing! Sometimes you need a piece of gear that doesn’t make you go “….wow!” But just does the job well all around. This is what the DMS does. For the MSRP, they don’t have any technical skills that wow you, but they present the music well, and that is really what you are looking for at this level. If these cost $2000USD, I’d be singing a different tune.

    Comfort with the DMS is 75% great for my ears. My left ear finds them VERY comfortable, the right side? Not so much. Its workable, and certainly isn’t causing pain, it just isn’t as comfortable as the left hand side. I guess I have weird ears.

    All in all, I’m happy with the BGVP DMS. They aren’t blowing me away for the MSRP, they aren’t “giant killers,” but they have a pleasing tone that works well for the music I tend to listen to. Would I spend $160USD on the DMS if I was in the market for a pair of earphones around that price range?I think I would. Now, BGVP has released the “ArtMagicV12” for $1,299 and I’m a bit more skeptical of that one, but I would love to hear what BGVP can come up with less budget constraints.

    If you need an IEM under $200, enjoy a slight V shape sound signature, these are worth consideration I think. They may not be the last word in technicalities, but they have a pleasing tuning, and do their job well, with a decent set of accessories. For $160USD, you are up and running with a great sounding pair of earphones, and can slowly figure out your sound preferences from there on out, and move up the price ladder if you feel like it. As it stands, the DMS might be all you need :)

    qdK5sNa.jpg
      SoundChoice likes this.
  4. Animagus
    BGVP DMS - Well built 7 driver hybrid
    Written by Animagus
    Published Jun 15, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Build Quality
    Sound - Balanced, very comfortable and an easy listen
    Semi-Open design
    Good bass presence
    Cons - Needs better cable to shine

    Nitpicking- Mid-bass could use slightly more control and treble a bit more air
    My background- I am a professional musician, producer and audio engineer with experience in the performing, recording and pro-audio industry. I test products on a technical and musical level and try to write reviews as simple as possible from a music fan's perspective.

    Disclaimer – This sample was sent to me to test and review. I am not affiliated with the company or the seller in any way and write this review with my unbiased opinion regardless of how the review turns out.

    Reference Songs list-
    1. Foo Fighters- The Pretender, Best of you & Everlong
    2. Coldplay- Paradise, Up in flames & Everglong
    3. Ed Sheeran- Thinking out loud, Bloodstream & Galway Girl
    4. Chainsmokers – Somebody, Sickboy, This Feeling & Closer
    5. John Mayer- Slow dancing in a burning room, Stop this Train & Say
    6. Gavin James- Always & Hearts on fire
    7. Switchfoot- Meant to live & Dare you to move
    8. Linkin Park- Papercut, One step closer & Somewhere I belong
    9. Maroon 5- She will be loved, Payphone & Lost stars
    10. Lifehouse- All in all & Come back down
    11. Karnivool- Simple boy & Goliath
    12. Dead Letter Circus- Real you
    13. I Am Giant- Purple heart, City limits & Transmission
    14. Muse - Panic station
    15. James Bay - Hold back the river

    Specifications-

    1. Drivers - 6 balanced armature (Knowles + BGVP) + 1 dynamic driver
    2. Frequency response – 10Hz-40kHz
    3. Impedance - 12Ω
    4. Sensitivity - ≥110dB SPL/mW
    5. Distortion - ≤0.5%(1kHz)
    DMS 2.jpg

    You can buy the DMS from the link below -
    https://www.linsoul.com/product-page/bgvp-dms-iem

    Included in the box-
    1. BGVP DMS
    2. Detachable MMCX cable
    3. Eartips - Foam – 1 Pair
      Silicone – 3 Pairs of white, grey & black
    4. Shirt clip
    5. Manual
    DMS 1.jpg DMS 4.jpg

    Build Quality- The build quality of the IEM is extremely good with the shell being made up of metal. The open grill on the faceplate makes it look classy, a bit vintage like. The seam of the shell joint is flawless. The nozzle is well made with the same metal with a lip to keep the ear tips intact and not slip away.

    The cable on the other hand is reported as a high pure OCC cable. It has a rubber sheath and is dual strand design. It is tangle resistant, feels robust and has color coded MMCX connectors. The jack is angled and it comes with a cable wrap as well as a shirt clip. The cable works well but is slightly microphonic from the y-splitter and up. It also has good pre-formed ear guides which helps keep the cable in place. But I guess recent additions of beautiful braided cables with IEMs in this price range might motivate you to upgrade to a flashier cable.

    DMS 5.jpg DMS 6.jpg


    Fit and Comfort- I prefer over the ear design. The shells are small enough to fit comfortably in my ear. I get a fit where the faceplate is flush with my outer ear and can even lie down sideways wearing them. The default ear tips (shown below) fit me decently well but not as snug as I'd like. I do get a snugger fit with wide hard bore ear tips but they accentuate the treble in a way I dislike. DMS comes with ample ear tips and shuffling through them should help most get a good fit.

    DMS 3.jpg


    Noise Isolation –
    DMS being a semi open IEM don’t isolate as much as semi-custom shells like the DM7 but despite that isolate outside noise quite well. They can surely be used as your daily drivers but probably won't be best if you like to hang around people with drilling machines.

    Sound-
    DMS' sound signature is extremely comfortable to listen right from the start and needs no adaptation buffer time at all. The bass is slightly boosted which makes it sound fun and impactful, mids are quite balanced and natural, and the treble is quite smooth.

    Bass- The bass duties are handled by a dynamic driver. It is slightly boosted which makes the bass impact sound exciting. It isn’t muddy or sluggish. Sub-bass goes low and can rumble strongly when it needs to. Mid-bass isn’t as quick and defined as I like but nonetheless it doesn’t interfere or overpower the rest of the frequency range. The bass notes are well defined and people who love rock genres, especially bands like Porcupine Tree, Karnivool and I Am Giant, will enjoy the bass tones quite well.

    Mids- Mids are nice and warm sounding. They are clear and naturally voiced. Resolution is good and instrument separation is decent too. Vocals lovers will find the midrange to be natural and organic with nothing jumping out of the blue. Vocal layering is clear and strikes a good balance between warmth and clarity. Snares in songs have good impact and the guitar's body sounds natural, the way it's supposed to sound. Instrument timbre is natural and accurate. 



    Treble- Treble is smooth and there is a small peak in the low treble which makes guitars sound fun and prominent in rock tracks. The notes are well textured and details are realistic. It favors more of a natural but slightly dark tonality rather than a bright signature. There are no erratic sibilant peaks and as a result vocals and cymbals sound smooth. There isn’t a lot of air as the treble rolls off slightly but there is no loss in clarity or excitement.

    Soundstage- It resolves width and depth quite well because of its semi-open design; covering the vents makes the sound a bit boxy and reduces openness too.

    Conclusion- DMS as a 7 driver semi-open hybrid is a very well-built IEM which looks quite stylish too. It's also a very good sounding IEM with a smooth presentation and impactful bass. It is a jack of all trades but it could’ve done a few things better too. The mid-bass could use a bit more refinement and control, lower mids need slightly more separation and treble could use a bit more air. But to be honest, this is me nitpicking an IEM which for its price performs really well.

    Nevertheless, DMS is a very good proposition at $159 and can stand on its own with the rest of the competition.
      Lidson Mendes Br and Light - Man like this.
  5. GSTtaggedLDHProtein
    BGVP DMS - Comfortable Listening
    Written by GSTtaggedLDHProtein
    Published Jun 7, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Great build and phenomenally comfortable.
    Noise-free cable.
    Easy-to-listen, comfortable signature. Emphasis on the bass with controlled treble.
    Good soundstage and imaging provides a nice overall sound presentation.
    Cons - Bass is quite soft instead of impactful with little slam. Slightly bloated and can be muddy on certain tracks.
    Vocals can sound a little thick due to upper mids tuning.
    Open-back nature doesn't serve isolation for all situations.
    BvJhFsx.jpg

    Hi everyone, today I'll be reviewing about the BGVP DMS. It's one of BGVP's latest offerings, along with the DM7, and costs $160 on Amazon, making an entry to the mid-fi tier. Since B9Scrambler did a great job with pictures, I won't bother with too many. Disclaimer: I received the BGVP DMS as a review unit in exchange for my honest thoughts in the form of a review. I don't otherwise get compensated in any way.

    Build and Comfort: The BGVP DMS is well built with a nice smooth metallic shell that feels really sturdy. Its specs are 6 BAs (Knowles!) + 1 DD. Interestingly enough the DMS is actually an open-back IEM with a large grill on it's faceplate in the form of the BGVP logo. It is extremely comfortable to wear for extended periods of time with a low feeling of pressure even with a good seal. The trade off is that there is lowered isolation due to the open design.

    Cable and Accessories: This time around, BGVP did not include the gorgeous cable that came with the DMG. Instead, they opted for a cheaper feeling black rubbery/plasticky MMCX cable with pre-molded ear hooks. The MMCX connections are rock solid and don't spin loosely. The cable itself, while slightly generic looking, actually feels pretty nice and has essentially zero cable noise which is very nice to (not) hear. Accessories wise, the DMS comes with 10 sets of tips. 1 pair of foams and 3 sets of silicons (S, M, L) when you take them out of the box. Included is a cable clip. Unlike the DMG, the DMS does not come with tuning filters. All in all, a nice selection of accessories and a nice no-noise cable for the price point.

    Overall Sound Signature: V-shaped with a greater emphasis on the bass than treble.

    Bass: Undoubtedly, the DMS is bassy. Bassy with more of a slight emphasis on midbass than subbass, though there is solid rumble when called for. Unfortunately, the DMS' low end suffers from the two problems that plagued the DMG. The first is that it is a soft. The DD doesn't have a quick heavy slam but more of a soft sustained boomy ring to it. The second is that there is minor bass bloat into the 300Hz region, making it a bit muddy on poorly recorded rock songs. Unlike the DMG, these concerns with it's bass is definitely improved, having an overall cleaner tilt to it as the DMS' DD feels markedly quicker. Other than its two flaws, the bass on the DMS provides fullness to the soundstage. On instrumental tracks that call for a huge sustained bass presence, the DMS delivers.

    Mids: The bass bloat falls off relatively quickly and doesn't muddy up the mids too much, giving the mids a touch of warmth. The mids are smooth without any real tonality or timbre issues to me. My only complaint with the DMS is the upper mids with vocals. There is emphasis on the 1.5-2kHz region, causing the snare drum and vocals to have a thicker lean to them. For the most part this is fine except for a couple of vocalists (typically female) that require a specific tuning for and clarity takes a bit of a hit. Vocals otherwise are well balanced in the mix, neither forward or recessed. Electric guitars are pushed forward a bit due to an emphasis around the 3.5kHz mark.

    Treble: The treble of the DMS improves on the DMG. Unlike the DMG, the DMS' treble is not splashy or peak to my ears. Rather, it's tame and smoothed out with clean attack and good shimmer on the hats and cymbals. Furthermore, the DMS is neither sibilant nor harsh to me at all with vocals. There seems to be a fairly steep roll-off at about 7kHz and starting to rise up again at 9kHz. This has the effect of decreased sizzle from the crack of the snare, hotness from the snare, and sibilance from the vocals at the cost of some instrument and note definition that comes from this region. The upper treble has a decent amount of air and sparkle such that the mix doesn't feel congested nor suffocated.

    Resolution and Instrument Separation: Resolution is good on the DMS with equally good instrument separation. Compared to common budget offerings such as KZ, I'm picking up on the more subtle notes and harmonics hidden in a mix. Instruments are separated pretty cleanly even in harder tracks. Pretty much what I'd expect from a good product that this price point.

    Soundstage and Imaging: This is where the DMS shines. The open nature of the DMS definitely helps with its soundstage, allowing an open feeling with a broad (though not vast) 3D soundstage. Imaging follows through. While not pin-point accurate, it does a good job showing off the 3D feeling of the overall soundstage. There's sufficient depth and width to the stage with nuanced imaging that makes instruments find their place comfortably in the mix. Coupled with good resolution and instrument separation, the DMS does a really nice job for its overall sound presentation. It never feels enclosed to me but presents a good stage for the music to take place in.

    Conclusion: The BGVP DMS is a solid entry in the border between budget- and mid-fi. The only two things I would change in the DMS is to tighten up the bass (with more slam) and decrease the mids thickness a bit. To me, it is a very comfortable listen. Comfy in the ears, a pleasing V-shape tone with no concerns in the treble and an open soundstage presentation. While the DMS might not be the most impressive IEM on the market, I would give the BGVP DMS an 8/10 for the $160 it costs. To me, the BGVP DMS is a good work IEM for the office. The comfortable nature and non-fatiguing signature is great for long listening sessions at the desk. It's open back design means it has lower isolation which is less ideal for public transport but isn't a problem in the quieter office setting (there is sound leakage but it is quite minor). Personally, the BGVP DMS would be one of the top IEMs I'd get as a gift for a good friend. It's a safe pick for your average listener.

    Notes: The BGVP DMS is quite sensitive and is affected fairly significantly by high output impedances like other BA IEMs. I run the DMS with lower than average volume on and I detect some hissing with my device (phone with OI < 1 ohm) when music is playing. The hissing is not really noticeable except for the very start and end of a track where the music fades to nothing. As for the output impedance, when I tried to run it right out of my mobo the frequency response greatly changed to become muddier with much less presence and clarity in the upper mids and treble regions. In other words, the BGVP DMS would definitely benefit from a clean DAP such as the Shanling M0.
  6. Soham Sengupta
    Review: BGVP DMS (Best Value IEMs under $200)
    Written by Soham Sengupta
    Published Jun 17, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Excellent Build Quality, Great Sound for the price, comfortable in the ears.
    Cons - No carrying case, lacks a bit of detail in some tracks
    CHECK OUT THE FULL REVIEW HERE!

    Introduction


    If you haven’t heard of the audio company BGVP and you are an audiophile, you must have been living under a rock. Although BGVP is relatively new to the audiophile market, the Chinese company gained immense popularity with its critically acclaimed DM6 which was a pair of 5 BA per side (Balanced Armature) Knowles-based IEMs which sold for an impressive price of just $200. They had also released a cheaper pair of IEMs which they called DMG. Now, finally in 2019, they have released a successor to the DMG and that is the BGVP DMS which I will be reviewing today.

    I’ve had the BGVP DMS for about 2 weeks now and have listened to them for a total time of at least 60 hours and have burned them continuously for 40 hours. I’ve used them mostly daily during this time period to listen to all genres of songs (rock, EDM, pop, movie soundtracks, Western classics, etc.).

    Don’t want to read the full review? Here’s your TL;DR :

    The BGVP DMS is a really excellent value-for-money pair of IEMs and I would recommend it to anyone who is on a budget and wants a pair of IEMs which can play a bit of everything.

    But wait! Before you dive into the review, I have a quick disclaimer for you: I have received the BGVP DMS from Linsoul Audio for reviewing purposes. I have received the IEMs for free as a review unit and I won’t have to return it but this doesn’t mean that I have been incentivised or pressurized by BGVP or Linsoul to write this review for them. All the words used in this review are my own and this review is written in the most unbiased way that I could have done.

    Now, on to the unboxing of this IEMs.

    Unboxing the BGVP DMS

    Priced at $159, these IEMs just at the extremities of the budget category. The unboxing experience is very minimalistic. The IEMs comes inside a simple cardboard box unlike some other IEMs out there at the same price but it helps to keep the overall cost of the IEMs down. Upon lifting open the top of the cardboard box, you will be greeted by the IEMs themselves, a plethora of eartips and a small black coloured paper box.

    [​IMG]

    The outer packaging of the BGVP DMS

    [​IMG]

    There are a total of 7 pairs of eartips displayed on the box (6 silicon eartips and 1 foam eartips), a pair of silicon eartips attached to the IEMs and 2 more silicon eartips inside the paper box for a total of 10 pairs of eartips included inside the box of these IEMs (which is a lot of tips if you ask me). Upon removing the paper box, you will find a quick instruction guide as well as a QC Pass card underneath it.

    [​IMG]

    The inner packaging of the BGVP DMS
    Inside the small paper box, you will find the MMCX cable included with the DMS, 2 more pairs of eartips as mentioned before and a shirt clip. Unfortunately, BGVP has refrained from including any kind of carrying case with the IEMs to cut down on the cost which is a shame considering at this price, Symphonium Audio managed to include 3 carrying cases for the Mirage IEMs which cost the same as the DMS.

    Anyways, to summarize, when you receive the BGVP DMS you’ll get:

    • The IEMs themselves.
    • 10 pairs of ear tips (3 pairs of double density silicon eartips, 6 pairs of single density silicon eartips and a pair of foam eartips)
    • A Single crystal SPC MMCX cable
    • A Shirt clip
    • Manual and Warranty booklet
    [​IMG]

    All the accessories that comes with the BGVP DMS
    So as far as accessories goes, except for a case and probably a better cable (more on that later), I doubt that you would need to buy anything extra for the DMS as these IEMs comes with a lot of them.

    What’s Inside the IEMs

    The BGVP DMS is a hybrid pair of IEMs consisting of 6 Balanced Armature (BA) Drivers (1 Knowles SWFK 31736 Dual BA for the highs and ultra-highs and two custom-tuned DEK-60318 for the mid, low mids and mid-bass frequencies) and 1 Dynamic Driver for the sub-bass. Also, to keep the IEMs from getting incoherent, BGVP has implemented a 4-way passive crossover between the drivers. Now let’s move on to the design and build quality of the IEMs.

    Design and Build Quality

    The overall build quality of these IEMs for the price is simply excellent. The whole shell of the IEM is made of CNC’d Aluminium with the nozzle having a metallic cover so as to prevent ear wax from getting inside the IEMs. They have also introduced a perforated metal grill bearing the BGVP logo on the back of the IEMs which is a nice touch. Although the IEMs are made of metal, they feel very light on the ears. The design of the IEMs has a bit of a CIEM feel in them although the back of the IEMs does not give out the same feeling as the inside part of the IEMs which will sit on the ears are contoured so as to provide a better fit on the ears.

    [​IMG]

    The BGVP DMS themselves
    Now coming to the cable, BGVP has used a single crystal SPC (silver plated copper) MMCX cable with the DMS. But unlike some other expensive IEMs, the cables are sheathed and not braided and also is a flat-style cable (and to be honest, gives out a slightly cheaper feeling). Due to this, the cable is much easier to manage and keep inside the pocket without getting tangled (as I always like to keep my IEMs in my pocket for easier access). Plus, the ear guides on this cable is really good. It is neither too stiff, nor too flexible. So, it does a great job in keeping the cable behind your ears (as it is an over-the-ear worn pair of IEMs).

    [​IMG]

    The cable used in the BGVP DMS
    So, overall the cable is perfectly fine and for the price, the overall build quality of both the IEMs and the cables is simply excellent as I had previously said.

    Comfort and Fit

    Now this a place where your mileage may vary a lot. The BGVP DMS like most other IEMs at this price uses an over-the-ear fit. My ear canals are small so I used the small tips included in the box. Now, the comfort that the DMS provides to my ears is simply phenomenal. They are very light at only 6g per IEM and they sit flush to my ears and sit so perfectly that after a few minutes, I literally forget that these are in my ears. Also, I have the tendency to listen to my IEMs when I go to sleep and with normal cables without ear guides, whenever I lie down, the cable often moves out of my ear and dangles beside it. But with the implementation of the ear guides with the cable, the cable stays behind my ears no matter what.

    The comfort (at least for me) is simply phenomenal with these IEMs.

    As far as fit goes, since the insertion is not quite as deep as, say the Symphonium Audio Aurora, it doesn’t create a seal as good as the latter pair of IEMs. It sits just flush with the ear and the nozzle provides an overall good fit that is neither too loose nor too tight. So, the fit is also great in these IEMs and there is honestly nothing to complain about in here.

    [​IMG]

    The fit of the IEMs in my ear is just great
    Noise Isolation

    Now coming to noise isolation, since the fit and insertion was quite good on these IEMs (at least for me), basically most of the ambient noise was cut out by at least 15dB. Only the horns of the vehicles and the rumbling of my bus was audible (I usually test noise isolation inside public transportation as it gives a very nice idea of what to expect). So, although it won’t be able to cancel out high frequency and/or loud noises like the metro or an airplane completely, at moderate volumes, you should be able to block out most kinds of environmental noises. To be honest, these IEM’s isolation is only surpassed by the Symphonium Audio IEMs. But enough about this, let’s start with the main factor which is the make-or-break property of any audio gear, i.e., its sound.

    Sound Quality

    Now, on to the most subjective part of the review: sound quality. Also, I won’t be posting any graphs in this review (or any review for that matter), as I don’t believe in graphs as much as I believe in my ears!

    This time, I’ll be listening to the earbuds via 3 sources:

    1. PC -> Fiio Q1 (Mark-1) -> DMS
    2. Asus Zenfone 5Z -> Fiio Q1 (Mk.1) -> DMS
    3. Hiby R3 -> DMS
    I will also list the soundtracks that I’ve used for each section of my sound test. (Note: All my tracks are either 44 kHz / 24-bits – 192 kHz / 24-bit FLAC or DSD64/DSD128).

    Bass

    The IEMs have a slightly V-shaped sound signature, although it is relatively on the neutral side compared to its predecessor, i.e. the BGVP DMG. Anyway, the bass in these IEMs are handled by its 10mm DD driver (for the sub bass) and one of the DEK 60317 BA drivers (for the mid bass) as well. Plus, it is the successor of BGVP DMG which was known to have a lot of bass. So needless to say, its bass has a huge amount of impact, depth and texture while retaining its fast pace and energy although it’s much more controlled and tighter in here than the DMG. The sub bass is full bodied and textured but it’s not overly pronounced and the IEMs are able to keep quite a bit of detail in it for its price, even though it tends to be slightly boomy.

    The bass in these IEMs is impactful, energetic and nicely separated from the low mids which makes EDMs a pleasure to listen on these IEMs

    As expected, there is no frequency mixing between the lows and mids and it sounds really clean and detailed. Bass guitars are well textured and sound quite natural in these IEMs as well. The mid bass is also much tighter and faster in the DMS than in the DMG but it is still able to retain most of the body and impact from its predecessor.

    So overall, for a pair of IEMs targeted towards mainstream consumers and audiophiles on a budget at this price, I would say that the bass response is simply astounding for this price and to be honest, even bass heads will like to own a pair of these.

    Tracks used:
    • Axel Thesleff – “Reincarnation”
    • Axel Thesleff – “Red Sun”
    • Martin Garrix – “Animals”
    • Martin Garrix, Tiesto – “The Only Way is Up”
    • Alessia Cara – “Here”
    • Diplo – “Revolution”
    • Zara Larsson – So Good
    • Jordan Comolli – “Alone”
    • Marshmello – “Alone”
    • Axel Thesleff – “Done”
    • J Balvin, Willy William – “Mi Gente”
    • Logic – Indica Badu (ft. Wiz Khalifa)
    Mids

    The mids here is relatively forward in nature in these IEMs which is, to be honest, a surprise to me as it had such a visceral bass in them. The vocals sound quite natural and textured in here. Male vocals have a nice warmth in them and is quite thick and sounds really natural and female vocals sound much more energetic, detailed and forward here without sounding in the least bit tinny and sibilant. Although these are not the most resolving IEMs that you can get for this price (Symphonium Audio Aurora provides a bit more detail and clarity in the mids), for the price you are getting these IEMs, I can hardly complain about that. I did not notice even a hint of sibilance even in the most sibilant which is a great thing as well and the separation between the vocals and the other instruments is also really great in here.

    These IEMs produces the vocals in a much more energetic and forward manner which was somewhat unexpected after hearing its bass.
    Drums also sounded clear and detailed in these IEMs. In tracks like “Back in Black” or “Thunderstruck” by AC/DC, the drums sounded thick, full bodied and also had a good amount of impact without losing too much detail. Also, the separation between them and the vocals was also better than the DMG without any mixture of the different frequencies even in not so well-recorded tracks like “Paradise City” by Guns n’ Roses. In the song “The Reason” by Hoobastank, Doug Robb’s voice (the lead singer of Hoobastank) sounded wide and the drums had a nice impact, detail and energy to them.

    So, for its price, BGVP DMS did a great job in the mids department as well. Now, onto the treble.

    Tracks used:
    • Adele – 25
    • Charlie Puth – Nine Track Mind
    • Ed Sheeran – X / Divide
    • Amber Rubarth – Sessions from the 17th Ward
    • AC/DC – Razor’s Edge
    • John Newman – “Love Me Again”
    • Elvis Presley – “Can’t Help Falling in Love with You”
    • Sigrid – “Everybody Knows”
    • Hoobastank – The Reason
    [​IMG]

    BGVP DMS paired with the Hiby R3
    Treble

    Now, coming to the treble, I felt that the DMS has a slightly boosted treble due to its v-shaped sound signature although it is not by a lot. Let’s start with those cymbals and hi-hats. They sound much more crisp, energetic and the instruments extend quite nicely without any roll-off. The DMS also had quite a bit of detail in them. Especially its rendition of guitar is really good. They sound clear, well textured, detailed and natural although I did feel that it made them sound slightly thicker than what it naturally sounds like. In tracks like “Numb” by Linkin Park, even though they are not the best recorded amongst tracks, the DMS did an overall great job separating the electric guitar from the piano that is played at the part “I’ve become so numb…”.

    Now coming to pianos, their rendition sounds natural, clear, precise and detailed, although like the guitar, I did feel it being a bit thicker. In the track “Rhapsody in Blue” by George Gershwin, the piano is handled quite well and has a lot of detail in it. Now, bells sounded controlled and energetic in the DMS with a slight boominess in them. Trumpets also sounded clear and natural in here.

    So overall, I am really impressed with the treble that the DMS has offered me considering it is only $159.

    Tracks used:
    • Led Zeppelin – IV
    • Ed Sheeran – X / Divide
    • Linkin Park – Meteora
    • Amber Rubarth – Sessions from the 17th Ward
    • Pink Floyd – Dark of The Moon
    • John McLaughlin, Al Di Meola, and Paco De Lucía – Friday Night In San Francisco
    • Ludovico Einaudi – Islands: Essential Einaudi
    • Axel Thesleff – “Reincarnation”
    • George Gershwin – “Rhapsody in Blue”
    Soundstage, Positioning and Separation

    (a) Soundstage and Positioning


    Now, there are 2 ways to accurately measure a IEMs’ soundstage and positioning. First, is to use well-recorded binaural tracks (see track list below for more info). The second method (which I personally prefer more) is gaming. I have used two games specifically for this purpose. One is the well-known CS:GO and the other is Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice (the latter is a much more immersive experience).

    Now, soundstage. For a pair of IEMs, I would say that they have an above average soundstage for its price. I would say that the soundstage of the DMS is much wider than the Symphonium Audio Mirage, although it is not as wide as the Moonbuds Crescents which are a pair of earbuds which tend to remain slightly open. I felt that the soundstage here was moderately expansive and was spread out in a circular fashion.

    Now coming to its positioning, I felt that it is very similar to that of the Mirage. To test it out, I fired up CS:GO and I could easily pinpoint the source of the gunshot. Furthermore, in Hellblade: Senua’s Sacrifice, I could feel the voices whispering in my ears. Even in orchestral soundtracks like in Symphony No.5 by Beethoven, the overall layering and positioning of the instruments is quite good for its price. So overall, I was pretty impressed with the soundstage and positioning that the DMS provides with respect to its price.

    (b) Separation

    The separation of the instruments is also quite good in these IEMs. Again, coming back to orchestral music, the separation between the different instruments in, say “Symphony No. 5 in C minor” by Beethoven, is honestly remarkable for its price. You can distinguish between all of the instruments that are being played in the track. Also, the instrument layering was also much better in the DMS than in some other IEMs at a similar price range. So overall, I was really happy with the separation of instruments it provides.

    Tracks used:
    • Amber Rubarth – Sessions from the 17th Ward
    • Yosi Horikawa – Vapor
    • Led Zeppelin – IV
    • John McLaughlin, Al Di Meola, and Paco De Lucía – Friday Night In San Francisco
    • Beethoven – Symphony No.5
    Drivability

    You should be able to easily drive them out of a smartphone although I did find that it opens up a bit more with a DAP or DAC/Amp. They have an impedance rating of only 12Ω and a sensitivity of 110 dB +/- 3dB. Also, I got a good volume from them in my Hiby R3 in Low Gain at about 65% volume so you shouldn’t be facing any difficulty while listening to them out of your smartphones directly.

    Technical Specifications
    • Brand: BGVP
    • Model: DMS
    • Type: Hybrid In-Ear Monitors
    • Driver: 6BA + 1DD Drivers (2 Knowles BA, 4 Custom BA, Single 10mm Dynamic Driver)
    • Impedance:12 Ω
    • Headphone sensitivity: 110 dB +/- 3dB (1 kHz/1 Vrms)
    • Frequency range:10–40000Hz
    • Plug: 3.5mm
    • Interface: MMCX
    • Cable: 1m Single Crystal SPC Cable (non-braided)
    • Weight: 6g (for a single IEM) / 27g (for the IEMs and the cable)
    Conclusion

    To be honest, for the price of just $159, you are getting exactly BGVP wanted you to receive: a solid pair of IEMs which looks, feels and sounds really good for its price. It comes with a lot of accessories to get you started (although a case would be a welcome addition) it is very comfortable (at least for my ears) and the sound you are getting for this price is honestly second to only a very few IEMs. It has made a lot of improvements over the DMG, especially in the bass department, which although is still very powerful, is not as dominating as the DMG. So overall, I really liked the DMS and I would say that these IEMs provide really good value for money and I can heartily recommend it to people who are looking for an overall all-rounder pair of IEMs which can do a bit of everything for a low price.
      B9Scrambler likes this.
  7. B9Scrambler
    BGVP DMS: Jam Packed
    Written by B9Scrambler
    Published May 21, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Great build and cable - Comfort - Nicely balanced tune
    Cons - DMG tuning system wasn't carried over with the shell - No carrying case
    Greetings,

    Today we're checking out the new DMS from BGVP.

    At this point I might very well give BGVP the “most improved” title given just how much better their recent releases are when compared to past products. Yeah, they're a lot more expensive so you would expect them to be better. However, it's when you compare to other brands in the same price range where those improvements really stick out. The DMS is just another notch in their belt of quality releases.

    The DMS follows BGVP's recent trend of cramming more and more drivers into their products. Inside this little slammer are six balanced armatures and one 10mm dynamic driver, held in place via a 3D printed structure. MMCX removable cables are part of the equation too which is always welcome. How they managed to cram everything into this housing is beyond me because it's really quite compact, just like the DMG before it.

    Let's take a closer look and find out why the DMS is another win for BGVP.

    Disclaimer:

    Thanks to Lillian with Linsoul Audio for providing a sample of the DMS for the purposes of review. The thoughts here are my own based on time listening to the DMS. They do not represent BGVP, Linsoul, or any other entity. At the time of writing the DMS retailed for 159.00 USD. You can check it out here on Linsoul's main site, or their AliExpress store DD Audio:

    https://www.linsoul.com/product-page/bgvp-dms-iem

    https://www.aliexpress.com/store/pr...ml?spm=2114.12010612.8148356.8.5b3a5409LdCPvk

    Personal Preferences:

    I listen primarily to various EDM sub-genres (liquid drum and bass, breakbeat, drumstep, etc.), hip hop, and classic rock. My preferences for earphone tuning are quite relaxed and as such their is no one signature I look for. The HiFiMAN RE800, Brainwavz B400, and Massdrop x MeeAudio Planamic are examples of earphones with wildly varied signatures that are enjoyable for different reasons. I generally listen at very low volumes, so keep this in mind when perusing my thoughts on how an earphone sounds.

    Sources:

    Mobile: Shanling M0 + Periodic Audio Nickel, ZiShan DSD
    @home: ZiShan DSD or Asus FX53V + TEAC HA-501 desktop amp

    The DMS is plenty easy to drive and I didn't find it scaling much with a good amp. I think most users will be perfectly happy with them straight out of their DAP.

    Specifications:
    • Drivers: 6 balanced armatures + 1 dynamic driver
    • Sensitivity: 110 dB SPL/mW
    • Impedance: 12 ohms
    • Frequency Response: 10Hz-40Hz
    • Distortion: <0.5%
    • Channel Difference: <1dB
    • Rated Power: 9mW
    P1020559.JPG P1020570.JPG P1020574.JPG

    Packaging and Accessories:

    The DMS comes packaged in the same wide, flat box as the DM7. The front of the exterior sheath contains a wire-frame style image of the DMS' earpieces along with some branding and model info, as well as a 'Hi-Res Audio' logo. The space on the back is not used wisely with all info being crammed into the lower half., such as the specifications, contact and location info for BGVP, and a tiny frequency response graph that is very hard to read thanks to the size and red graphing line on a black background. BGVP could definitely improve the presentation on the back.

    Sliding off the sheath reveals a plain cardboard box with the BGVP logo. Lifting off the lid you are greeted to the DMS ear pieces and a number of ear tips set within a foam insert. Resting below is a separate cardboard box holding the cable and a few remaining accessories. In all you get:
    • DMS earphones
    • OCC MMCX cable
    • Translucent black, small bore, single flange silicone tips (s/m/l)
    • Orange core, medium bore, single flange silicone tips (s/m/l)
    • Black, wide bore, single flange silicone tips (s/m/l)
    • Foam tips (m)
    • Velcro cable tie
    Overall a nice accessory kit. The highlight is the wide variety of tips, most notably the orange cored set which are similar in function to Spintfits with a flexible core that allows it the follow the natural curvature of your inner ear. A notable absence is any form of carrying case of bag. While you can pick up one separately for less than a dollar, it would still be nice for BGVP to include one in the box.

    Build, Comfort, and Isolation:

    The DMS uses a slightly modified version of the same shell we first saw on the DMG. That's a good thing for a number of reasons. The machining quality of the aluminum is flawless with smooth curves and minimal gaps between component parts. I suspect the three vents on the face plate are there just for show, or at least not for tuning purposes. They are shaped like the BGVP triple slash logo, and covering them doesn't affect the sound quality at all in my experience. Unfortunately, the removable nozzles of the DMG have been removed in favour of a fixed nozzle. On the plus size, the nozzle is slightly longer by about a millimetre and it uses the same quality steel mesh. Since the general nozzle shape and diameter is the same as that of the DMG, I wonder if it is possible to heat up the glue and remove the nozzle, thereby allowing the use of DMG filters on the DMS. Someone more adventurous than I will have to give this a go. In terms of venting, the small vent in front of the MMCX port is gone, while the inner pinhole vent has been enlarged just a touch. Left and right channel indicators are handled by colored plastic rings around the MMCX. Blue for left, red for right.

    The cable I suspect is going to be hit and miss among users. I quite like it's old school twin strand design that has been eschewed in recent years in favour of flashier braided and twisted designs. The sheath is a dense rubber that feels quite durable but also remains quite flexible and very tangle resistant, even if it is a bit bouncy. The preformed ear guides help reduce microphonics which are present, as does the chin cinch.. The y-split simply serves as an area where the twin strands split and head up to the earpieces and as such it's not going to be much of a weak point. Where the DMS connects to your media player, the 90 degree angled plug is a compact and interesting looking section of rubber. Strain relief is present, but short and a bit stiff, but it works. Up at the MMCX ports, the metal plugs are inset with blue and red bands to denote channel. Overall I really like this cable and enjoyed using it with the DMS.

    Like the DMG before it, the DMS has a very ergonomic shape, similar to something like the Stagediver series from InEar or the KZ ZS3. It's slightly smaller than those, however, with a compact, well-rounded protrusion that nestles into your antihelix and locks them in place. There are no sharp edges anywhere and since the nozzles aren't overly large, this is something that feels very natural to wear. The DMS is certainly one of the more comfortable and stable earphones I've used, requiring little to no re-adjustment during listening sessions.

    Isolation is good, but a slight step down from the DMG. Tapping away on my keyboard, clicks and clacks are minimized significantly. As are voices, as evidenced listening to music in the local Tim Hortons. You can further improve isolation with the included foams tips.

    P1020580.JPG P1020585.JPG P1020593.JPG

    Sound:

    Tips: I found the stock small bore tips and foams to boost mid-bass and warm up the DMS. Securing a good seal was a challenge thanks to the stiff silicone. The included medium bore tips were a solid match giving the sub-bass regions a bit more emphasis, and otherwise were not all that different from the stock wide bore set in the treble and mids. Wide bore tips reduced bass and raised the mid-range and treble offering the most balanced sound out of the various tip options. The majority of my testing was complete with wide bore tips in place.

    Treble on the DMS is lightly elevated and well extended. Presence and brilliance regions are evenly represented giving the DMS nice spacing between notes. There is plenty of detail and clarity is impressive. This earphone in no way comes across congested or veiled, even if coming from analytic products like the EarNiNE EN2J. These drivers are as quick as would be expected from balanced armatures with a snappy, but not unrealistic decay time on cymbals and other instruments and effects.

    The mid-range is quite neutral in presence which means it sits just behind the rest of the signature in terms of presence. I really enjoy the rich timbre and texture of vocals, both male and female of which neither stands out more than the other. Electric guitars are anointed with crunch and plenty of attack while acoustic guitars come across nimble and layered. Texture and detail are realistically portrayed making the DMS' mid-range probably my favourite aspect of the presentation.

    Tackling the low end is a single dynamic driver and it is quite well tuned in my opinion. Mid-bass is fairly reserved. There is just enough of a hump to give the DMS' presentation some kick without being overpowering. Sub-bass is well extended and provides a solid visceral experience, though nothing particularly noteworthy. It mostly stays out of the way, cropping up when demanded by the track. Texture is satisfying giving grungy notes the rawness expected. This driver is quite nimble handling rapid bass lines with ease. Overall it sounds quite dynamic to my ears. Nothing one-note going on here.

    Sound stage is another area of the DMS I was impressed by. Right out of the box it's stage felt wide and deep with notes swirling neatly from channel to channel, and way off into the distance. Imaging accuracy was better than expected given the number of drivers stuffed into this comparatively small housing, and I had no issues with the DMS on PUBG Mobile. Layering and separation are outstanding, something I often find is the case with these absurdly driver laden offerings.

    Overall I am pretty much smitten by the DMS. They lack the out of the box wow factor of other offerings thanks to their reserved and well balanced tuning, which I usually consider a bonus. Those earphone impress for a while until the sheen wears off, while earphones like the DMS just get better and better the more you listen.

    Select Comparisons:

    BGVP DMG (139.00): The DMG has a warmer, more mid-bassy presentation that is less dense and weighty through the mids and treble. DMS has better treble extension and more forward mids. DMG's treble is similarly emphasized, though it shifts focus to upper treble giving it a more sparkly sound than the DMS. DMS' treble better controlled where the DMG flirts with splashiness. Detail and clarity is superior on the DMS through the mids and treble though the DMG's leaner sound reveals more space between notes. Bass on the DMG has a heavier, more impactful but less nimble presentation. Sound stage on the DMS is wider and deeper but it puts the listener closer to the performance by default. Imaging is improved on the DMS, but both are exceptional in terms of layering and separation. Personally I enjoy both a lot and like the DMG more than the other earphones covered below, but the DMS' treble control, sound stage, and general balance put it out ahead. I wish it retained the DMG's tuning system though.

    Whizzer Kylin (159.00): The Kylin has a strong v-shaped signature compared to the DMS' more balanced presentation. Treble on both is very well controlled with neither being particularly bright, though the Kylin's upper treble focus gives it a sharper, more shimmery and airy sound. The DMS' mid-range is much more even compared to the Kylin which loses a lot in the lower mids. Male vocals in particular suffer on the Kylin and are much more pronounced on the DMS. Despite this, they go tit for tat in terms of clarity and detail. Bass on the Kylin is quite mid-bassy and somewhat one note thanks to a lack of texture, though it does help give it a slightly more natural tonality in my opinion. Extension is similarly excellent between the two, but the DMS' better balance allows it's sub-bass to shine where it is overshadowed in the Kylin. The DMS has a wider, deeper sound stage than the Kylin, though the Kylin sets the listener back further from the performance by default. I certainly enjoyed the Kylin more now than I did when I first reviewed it, but I have a feeling with a more extended listen it's flaws would dig their claws in. Those flaws don't exist on the DMS making it a better product all around.

    BGVP DM6 (199.00 USD): These two are tonally more similar than I was expecting, though the DM6 is slightly more dry and less organic. The DMS has better treble extension and a more natural upper and lower treble balance. I found it provided a better sense of space, more detail, and improved clarity, all without the occasional harshness heard in the DM6. Midranges are very similarly emphasized with the DM6 sitting back just a hint further. Vocals have more meat through the DM6 but are clearer through the DMS. I also found instruments to have more bite on the DMS. Bass on the DM6 in more mid-bass focused with earlier rolloff in the sub-bass. It is quicker and more punchy, but less visceral and not quite as well textured. DMS has a larger sound stage all around with similarly great imaging, layering, and separation qualities. The DMS comes across to me as a more thoughtfully tuned DM6 with dynamic bass. DMS all the way.

    P1020584.JPG

    Final Thoughts:

    Being released so soon after the DM7 dropped, the DMS didn't really do much to excite me. I figured they would be a mild update to the DMG and not much beyond that. Thankfully that was not the case.

    To my ears, the DMS is second only to the DM7 in terms of sonic performance, and the best product in BGVP's lineup in terms of build and comfort. The updated DMG housing now has some character thanks to the logo integration into the rear vents of the new face plate. The new cable doesn't look like much, but it brought back good memories of cables of old and in general performs well in terms of comfort, anti-tangling, and memory properties. I flat out love this cable. If it were available to purchase separately and didn't cost and arm and a leg, I would pick up a few of them to pair with other earphones. The DMS' sound is confident in that it doesn't skew any particular aspect of the signature. There's no adrenaline hit the first time you listen to them, instead over time revealing themselves as a detailed, extremely competent musical companion.

    Fantastic job BGVP. You really nailed it this time and have provided potential customers with a product that delivers on every level. Why is this priced below the DM6? Beats me.

    Thanks for reading!

    - B9Scrambler

    ***** ***** ***** ***** *****​

    Some Test Tunes:

    Aesop Rock – The Impossible Kid (Album)
    Hail Mary Mallon – Are You Going to Eat That? (Album)
    King Crimson – Lark’s Tongues in Aspic (Album)
    King Crimson – Starless and Bible Black (Track)
    Supertramp – Crime of the Century (Album)
    Infected Mushroom – Legend of the Black Shawarma (Album)
    Gorillaz – Plastic Beach (Album)
    Massive Attack – Mezzanine (Album)
    Fleetwood Mac – Rumors (Album)
    Run the Jewels – Run the Jewels (Album)
    The Prodigy – The Day is My Enemy (Album)
    Tobacco – F****d Up Friends (Album)
    Felt – Felt 2 (A Tribute to Lisa Bonet) (Album)
    Michael Jackson – Thriller (Album)
    The Crystal Method – Grace (feat. LeAnn Rimes) (Track)
    Jidenna – Long Live the Chief (Track)
    Skrillex – Ragga Bomb (Track)
    Big Grams – Run for Your Life (Track)
    Funkadelic – Maggot Brain (Track)

    Aesop Rock – Fishtales (Track)
      josesol07, Light - Man, volly and 5 others like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. B9Scrambler
      Thanks. If I had it I would compare for you. Sorry.
      B9Scrambler, May 22, 2019
      Lidson Mendes Br likes this.
    3. Lohb
      Any prospect for flipping left and right drivers and wearing these down the way...trying that way, are they too heavy or rubbing against the ear that way...
      Lohb, Aug 22, 2019
    4. B9Scrambler
      @Lohb You can but it's not going to work well. The shells just aren't designed for that. Those knobs and curves keep it from ever being secure. Cable up or bust, lol.
      B9Scrambler, Aug 22, 2019