1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

BGVP DMG

Rating:
4.28571/5,
  1. Zelda
    BGVP DMG
    Written by Zelda
    Published Jan 20, 2019
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Build quality
    Comfortable design
    Nice accessory pack and cable
    Sound quality; strong bass, full sound, detail, fun. Wide soundstage.
    Price
    Cons - Large shells and a bit shallow fit
    Small audio differences between filters
    Strong bass not for everyone
    REVIEW - BGVP DMG

    dmg (1).jpg

    Specifications
    Driver(s): 2 dynamic drivers & 4 balanced armature; 4-way crossover
    Sensitivity: 110dB @ 1mW
    Impedance: 18 ohm @ 1kHz
    Frequency response: 15Hz~45kHz
    Cable: 1.2m; detachable MMCX connectors

    dmg (2).jpg

    dmg (3).jpg

    Price: U$139.
    Purchased link @ Linsoul store: BGVP DMG


    dmg (4).jpg

    Design

    Build quality on the BGVP DMG seems very good, with the shells made of solid metal alloy (supposedly aluminum and magnesium mix). They consist of a two metal pieces well attached together which appear to be thick enough and do carry some extra weight, but not much as to affect the comfort. The shape is quite unusual for a universal IEM, with a custom in-ear form meant to offer a more natural and ergonomic fit. Apart from the two pieces joint section, the finish is very smooth with metallic matte color.

    dmg (5).jpg

    There are two small vents, one on the upper part close to the cable socket and a smaller one on the inner side of the shell. The DMG feature a simple tuning system with 3 different nozzles. The nozzle has a standard width but a bit short so the fit is a bit shallow; however, the unique shape may block most of the outer ear area. While the shells are a bit large holding 6 drivers per side they sit very comfortable. The isolation is around average or a may just a bit above and no driver flex noticed with any ear tips used.

    dmg (6).jpg

    The 3 nozzles are identical in shape and the only difference is on the mesh material used (or lack of) just below the nozzle grill. The gold one which provides the strong bass amount has a thicker mesh, while the blue (red or black) has a thinner one for a more balanced sound. The silver has no extra mesh inside which gives more treble quantity and less bass.

    dmg (7).jpg

    dmg (8).jpg

    The included cable is quite good, at least on this non-mic version. It consists of two strands with a silver-plated copper wire inside and clear plastic (TPU?) outer sheath. It is soft and looks very nice too. The 3.5mm L-plug is well relieved and has a small extra metal cover. The MMCX connectors are not the standard ones; instead they have a small split on them in order to give a much stronger grip, so once attached they won't rotate around the earphone socket unless some extra force is applied.

    dmg (9).jpg

    dmg (10).jpg


    Sound

    Main equipment used: iBasso IT01 & IT01s, Dunu Falcon-C, final E4000, FLC 8N.
    Sources: Fiio M3K, Shanling M0, iBasso DX120.


    With a multiple driver hybrid setup of 2 dynamic and 4 BA units per side, the BGVP DMG brings a powerful sound with very solid technical abilities. While not a completely balanced sound, the DMG is fun (and maybe very fun), wide and carries good clarity and separation, putting the accuracy a bit as a second priority.

    Despite the 3 included exchangeable nozzles, the sonic differences are not major. Noticeable when going from one nozzle to the next one, but still keep the same overall sound characteristics. The blue one (or red or black, depending on the IEM color) has the more v-shaped sound, balancing lows and highs to a similar level, while the gold gives a warm/darker response. The silver one has the clearer sound with more effect from the BA units and a cleaner bass response. Blue and silver nozzles are very close in overall balance, though the bass on the blue is similar to the gold filter. Gold nozzle gives the most bass impact and smoother and laid back midrange and treble.

    dmg (11).jpg

    Regardless the filters used, the DMG has v-shaped response with a strong bias towards the low frequencies and overall warm tonality. The bass emphasis is very strong, full and thick in texture, rich and dynamic. The strong impact is mainly on the mid-bass region; not too overwhelming or unnatural heavy bass, but definitely highly enhanced. However, it's not just a mid-bass lift; there's plenty sub-bass rumble and good control and extension. The quality is very good; it has good separation and nice layering. Speed is normal with a natural attack, if a bit slow decay to completely match the BA units speed.

    Midrange is a bit recessed, mainly in the lower mids, whereas the upper mids can maintain a good balance with the bass and treble. The strong bass impact has some effect on the midrange tonality; gives more fullness, texture and weight on lower instruments but affects the separation. Also sounds drier on the lower midrange, with less quality for male singers. Upper midrange is more articulated, richer and cleaner. Not completely smooth but very good control and handles sibilance well. Female vocals are more highlighted too and carry sweeter texture. Despite the v-shaped response, it's still an enjoyable midrange.

    Treble presence is more dependent on the nozzle filter used. Very smooth with the gold one, still detailed but more forgiving and laid-back. With the blue (red/black) and silver nozzle it is more forward and lively. A bit smoother at the treble top on the blue option, and more extended and effortless with the silver; either way, there is plenty of sparkle and energy. I find the gold and silver to have the best quality; they're opposite in the treble presentation, but sound more natural, while the blue filter compromise the timbre. Quality is good, has control and speed, though not the most accurate and refined.

    dmg (12).jpg

    The soundstage is probably one of the best characteristic of the DMG, surprisingly very wide for the ~$100 price, open and spacious. Even just out of the Fiio M3K which has a small stage, the DMG is still wider than many IEMs for the price (e.g., IT01, E4000). Scales better with the M0 and much higher with more solid DAPs. The extra width may affect the imaging, and the DMG is not best in coherence for a hybrid setup. It is more about fun, detail and musicality.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. drey101
      TechmanZ on YT opened up the DMG to prove that it's 5-6 per side. 4 ba, 2 dd(combined in one)
      drey101, Jan 25, 2019
    3. javre76
      @arlelext, calm down.
      javre76, Jan 26, 2019
    4. Carlsan
      Have to add that the dynamic drivers, which add a real solid bass, really add to the tonality of guitars and other instruments. Gives everything a nice rich flavor. As has been said, not for everyone, but if you listen to non-bass music with these, the rewards are great. Very underrated in my book.
      Carlsan, Jan 26, 2019
  2. ngoshawk
    BGVP-DMG-changeable for you and your taste.
    Written by ngoshawk
    Published Dec 18, 2018
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Wonderful look.
    Very good fit.
    Reasonably priced.
    Solid sound.
    Rich luscious bass.
    Very nice cable.
    Cons - Too bassy for some.
    Filters might not do enough for some.
    Cable can be a bit flimsy.
    BGVP-DMG-changeable for you and your taste.

    A quick couple of years ago, changeable filters in an IEM were not that prevalent. Or relevant for that matter. Then the Lendmeurears FLC8 & S came along changing what some never thought needed to be changed. Filters for fine tuning and personalization. I took the bait, purchased a second-hand set of the FLC8S, ordered another cable off of eBay, and have not looked back since. Originally used as my go-to sport IEM (don’t ask…), the FLC8S is now the standard by which I judge other models with interchangeable filters. I used it in the Advanced Sound Group GT3 review and will use both here for comparative purposes. Not really a fair fight, knowing the price difference, but this will be a good way to discern how far filtration systems have come in the last “couple of years.”


    I want to thank Lillian for providing the DMG for review purposes. It is my understanding that Linsoul only want an honest review and can ask for the unit back at any time. I again, would not have it any other way.

    The unit has had a minimum of 150hrs burn in, while my queue cleared. This is done to provide the reader with what a pair might sound like six months down the road, which could be different than brand new. It may not, but that is the way I do it, so tough.

    [​IMG]


    Linsoul ($139usd):

    Linsoul: https://www.linsoul.com/product-page/BGVP-DMG-Earphone

    AliExpress: https://www.aliexpress.com/store/pr...with-Detachable-MMCX/2894006_32907564233.html

    Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/BGVP-Fidelity-HiFi-Earphones-Detachable-Audiophile/dp/B07G97FN1P/



    [​IMG]



    Specs:

    · DMG IEMs features four balanced-armature drivers and two dynamic drivers and a 4-way passive crossover

    · 10 dB @ 1mW sensitivity

    · 15Hz - 45kHz frequency response

    · impedance of 18 ohms @ 1kHz

    · Detachable 5N OCC SILVER PLATED MIXED 1.2 m (3.9') cable, with MMCX connectors

    · 4 proprietary BA drivers composed of the 31736 dual BA for ultra-high frequencies, the 10006 for mid and high frequencies matched in 4-way passive crossover with a dual-dynamic driver

    · Channel Difference: </= 1dB

    · Distortion: </= 1%

    · Rated Power: 10mW

    [​IMG]

    Gear used/compared:

    All prices in USD, unless noted otherwise
    FLC8S ($239ish)
    Advanced Sound Group GT3 ($199)
    Advanced Sound Group GT3 Super Bass ($199)
    Kinera iDun (same price range, $139)

    Thebit Opus #2
    Macbook Pro/iFi xCAN
    Shanling M5
    Shanling M3s
    Aune M1s

    Songs used:

    Too bloody many to list all, but you want songs, so there you go:

    Coldplay-All I Can think About Is You
    Coldplay-A Message
    Coldplay-White Shadows
    Dona Onete-Sonos de Adolescente
    Los Lonely Boys- Heaven (en Espanol)
    twenty one pilots-Trees
    twenty one pilots-Car Radio
    twenty one pilots-Heathens
    Damian Marley-Everybody Wants To Be Somebody
    Damian Marley-So A Child May Follow
    Damian Marley-The Struggle Discontinues
    Ziggy Marley-Lighthouse
    Ziggy Marely-See Dem Fake Leaders
    Mark Knopfler-Laughs And Jokes And Drinks And Smokes
    Santana w/ Mana- Corazon Espinado

    The new twenty one pilots album, Trench

    [​IMG]

    Unboxing:


    Coming in a tastefully smaller box, the presentation is one of simplicity. I like it. Included are ear tips of various sizes, as well as


    Fit-N-Finish:

    The DMG is an easy IEM to wear, even when you need to tip roll. Falling back to my standard choice of Comply’s, the isolation was quite good, with good fit. I have no problem listening to the DMG for extended periods of time. Made of aluminum, the 6-driver unit fits well in the ear. The MMCX cable ties itself well to over-ear use, and a long bent protective sleeve, holds the critter in place. A very pleasant experience in the fit department. Plus, with three sets of silicon tips included, you can tailor the sound to your pleasure. I will say that the black and gray filters opened the sound over the foam, but the sound became claustrophobic to me. And I left one of the gray tips in my ear upon removal. I stopped using the silicon’s as a result.

    With a brushed blue finish, the look is not as garish as I had imagined. In fact, I rather enjoy the blue hue, which is an understated “bright.” With a plain silver cable, the understated look continues. I prefer understated. Very nice so far. A change from. Many of recent review is a 90-degree bend on the jack, which is a departure from the straight jacks of late. With a lower profile as a result, one need not worry about having that extra length grab on to anything. No, instead the 90-degree bend might. But not really. Made of two halves, there is an organic bean shape to the DMG, which looks very respectable. No protruding edges, or extra nib on the inside to promote “fit,” when actually those perturbances are an annoyance on anything less than custom. Thank you BGVP!


    [​IMG]



    Is thee worthy of thyne hype?

    Well, hype is the way the audio world seems to work now. Following suit from such lovable as Cabbage Patch dolls and Tickle Me Elmo is not the path I would choose when promoting a new audio “toy,” but to each their own. That said, in good conscience, BGVP did nothing of the sort. And to be honest most audio companies do not. For if they do and the product is not the best, then said company fades into the quagmire of old companies. Thankfully, BGVP let the sound speak for their product.


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I respect companies more when they simply promote the product, and then let others decide. Much can be said for starting humbly while letting reviewers and especially owners derive thoughts and verbiage of quality. Another company, which does provide some good quality IEM’s approaches another way, almost opposite of BGVP. And I wish they would not, for their sound is very decent and worth a look based upon its own merit. Another time, another story…

    The DM6 seems to be the one, which garners all of the hype from BGVP, but a comparison to that will have to wait as I have that enroute. So, the DMG will stand upon its own merit, and that is the way it should.

    [​IMG]


    I tried all three filters upon arrival. The gold and silver filters, while good did not provide me the bass I wanted, so I stuck with the blue for the remainder of the test. I was quite happy with that choice as well. And of course, it matched the blue of the IEM.

    Listening to Morph from the Trenches album through the Black Label gives the DMG that added bass. You there is a bit of artificiality, but the sound, which emanates from the IEM is quite good. Not boomy bass like the Simgot EN700 Pro (which I also like as well), but more tamed, with a deep reach as well. Just nice. Treble comes across as lifted. By that I mean it is there, almost offering a pedestal look and feel. Elevated might be a better descriptor. Clean for the most part, the treble does not inhibit the overall quality.

    Lost in thought, the DMG happily comes along for the ride. Still hooked to the Black Label, the sound is inviting and full. Rich and detailed. Slightly warm, with a bit of mixing, the separation falls slightly behind others in this range. But as I stated above, I am using the “bass” filters. When using the more detail-focused filters, that goes away.

    [​IMG]

    There is a more laidback mid sound than some of my more recent offerings. A nice change from the almost “in your face” presentation of those mids. Some might call this a boring mid, but I would call it a “mature” mid. Solid sound and foundational support give the mids that cool-jive sound, which I appreciate. They are neither grating, nor forward of vocal. With a slight move towards the back of the presentation, the mids let you know they are there, just not shouty-there.

    As some have mentioned, the treble is solid. Not overly bright, sparkly or sibilant; the treble is again very pleasant. They do not reach the height of say an old Dunu Titan1, or MEE audio Pinnacle 1, but rather play nicely with the other frequencies. Don’t get me wrong, the details are clearly present with good air, but again they do not shout at you. Some have likened the overall character as a mild-U shape and I would concur based upon what I hear through the blue filter.

    With the added bass of the blue filter, I would state that the shape is akin to a “U” with more on the left.


    [​IMG]


    Soundstage/Isolation:

    There is good width to the soundstage, with a slightly out of head experience. On Neil Young’s No Wonder, you get the sense of width like he speaks of the prairie. Good height provides a rich hall-like sound. Add in good depth and you have one of the better soundstages of late. A nice exception to some of late. Wide, but only as expansive as your imagination will make it. Isolation is very good with either Comply or silicon’s. Plus, with no microphonics, you can listen without the added drama.



    Separation/Instrumentation/Layering:

    That depth of sound provides the listener with good separation. Neil’s voice is front and center. His guitar is slightly below the center line, just like he would hold it. Drums behind dead-center, and support cast on both sides. From that good separation, you get good layering from which you can make out where each instrument is, as mentioned.

    I like how the guitar can seem delicate and well placed, as can the piano on Far From Home. Then the horns come in, bringing you back to the scene. This is a very good sound presentation.

    [​IMG]

    Comparisons:



    BGVP DMG ($139) vs Simgot EN700 Pro ($139):

    A current favorite on the scene, the DMG falls a bit behind the DM6 in the hype department and I think it is unwarranted. With changeable filters, the DMG brings affordability to the current fad (phase?) of IEM’s, which can use different filters. Personally, I cannot tell much difference here, but that is for obvious reasons. Younger, more acute ears may certainly hear a difference. As for the sound? The Simgot has better clarity and detail retrieval, to me. The DMG has a warmer sound, which can be changed by the filters (I used the bass filter), which can tailor to a more high-frequency sound if warranted, so that may be a wash. The DMG provides a richer sound as a result of that warm nature. If you prefer EDM, Hip Hop, Dance and that more bass, then the Simgot wins. If you favor rock, blues, mellow sounds and want a rich, warmer, full sound the DMG may be your flavor. Both represent well here, but you pick your flavor based upon your listening habits.


    BGVP DMG ($139) vs Kinera iDun ($139):

    The Kinera iDun is a favorite of mine as this price point. Packing a gorgeous wood finish, and supple cable, the sound had better match that look. Fortunately, it does. A bit more centered of sound, and with detail retrieval on par the iDun is quite a find at this price. The iDun holds its own against the BGVP in the bass department, with better depth and reach, but less controlled. I can tell the bass on the iDun is less controlled, but that adds to its character to me. Making for an almost luscious sound, it has an intoxicating sound, which is hard to beat here. If there had to be a description associated with each, it would be this: The DMG is the one you would not be worried about when you need to be rough and tumble. It can handle the abuse. The iDun is the one with which you would settle in for a winters evening of listening to your favorites, while the weather boils away outside. We are moving in to winter in the Northern Hemisphere, so there is that. I would call this a wash.


    BGVP DMG ($139) vs FLC8S ($239ish):

    A pioneer in the changeable filter IEM, the FLC has no less than 36 combinations from which you can choose, there is pretty much all you would need…pretty much. I was lucky enough to find a barely used “pre-owned” 8S on eBay and immediately jumped on it. Adding a second cable to the system still brought the price well below the then higher retail price. Since then the price has dropped as the new 8N and 8D have come out. Addressing the Achilles of the 8S, its lack of true bass depth; the new versions correct this. Well, that said I really like the 8S still, and the bass presentation with the correct filters. Tailoring it to the best bass quantity you can with the existing filters, the 8S was my go-to workout IEM for about 6 months. Never a quiver of problem occurred. I thoroughly enjoyed its clarity of detail and sound and accepted the lack of deep bass. I did so, because the 8S is so good in the other departments: sound stage, layering, separation and detail retrieval. A true stalwart of technology from Forrest Wei, the FLC8S deserves its place among the first true filter-changeable IEM’s. With the best bass (even if some think it isn’t the best) of the tested lot, the FLC8S is a true gem and should be sought out as. An addition to your gear set. The “pretty much” part of which I speak is the hot mids. There seems to be not much of a way to tame then down to my liking. Not sibilant in Neil’s voice mind you, but it really does sound like he is in your ear.



    BGVP DMG ($139) vs Advanced Sound Group GT3 ($199):

    The Advanced Sound Group GT3 is a very competent IEM. Carrying on the latest trend of changeable filters, the GT3 comes with a reference, treble and bass filter. After trying all three, I stick with the bass filter. As my review stated, clarity and detail retrieval are very good. Good without being sibilant. There is what I might call “near sibilance,” but that never arrives. This is a very competent near-neutral sound, which I like very much. That may seem out of character, since I prefer more bass. But, that clarity of sound draws me in and I appreciate the sound. There is definitely more bass on the DMG, and it has a warmer signature as a result. I also think clarity falls behind the GT3 as a result, too. That isn’t bad mind you, since they are a price category apart. Both are good and approach sound differently. The GT3 fits extremely well as either an earbud or IEM, so it does have that going for it. The DMG has that toasty-warm sound, which can draw one in. I call it a wash.



    BGVP DMG ($139) vs Advanced Sound Group GT3 Super Bass ($199):

    Very similar to the GT3, the GT3 SB comes is stealthy black, which looks really good. Adding an “enhanced” bass tuning with slightly different filter tuning as well, the SB does reach down further than the GT3 above. But I believe it also has a lack of clarity as a result. Much of this can be brought back, by switching filters, but using the bass filter of each gives the SB that deeper reach. Don’t get me wrong, I really like both versions. For clarity, the GT3 is hard to beat. For bass, the GT3 SB is the one to have. Compared to the DMG, the two compete very well with the DMG providing more detail. But the GT3 SB has to me a more intoxicating sound. On the warmish side, this IEM is meant to be used at higher volumes than the DMG. Something to be said for that. Details? Go with the DMG. Bass(y) response? Go with the SB, but only slightly.

    [​IMG]

    Finale:

    Listening to Neil Young’s When God Made Me brings this to a close. A ballad about tolerance and living together in all times, this kind of defines the better points of the DMG. Good solid bass (a bit bloated on some songs) along with a nice sound stage highlight a package, which is fairly versatile. That said, this is an IEM that is just as home rocking out or for those evenings where Vivaldi might be your choice. The DMG is just as much at home doing either. Good fit, wonderfully supple cable with a fairly unique look, changeable filters (for those of you with better ears), and an affordable price. This is a fine addition to the sub-$150 IEM market and well worth a look.

    I want to thank Lillian from Linsoul Sound for the continued support. You can purchase the BGVP DMG at the links above. Give it a listen, it may just fit your taste. Cheers!

    [​IMG]
    1. View previous replies...
    2. harry501501
      Good review. I found the silver filter made a HUGE difference though... took out some bloat on the bass, pushed the main vocals fwd and now I love them... just 'liked' them before.
      harry501501, Dec 30, 2018
      Tolovana, ngoshawk and B9Scrambler like this.
    3. ngoshawk
      Thanks for the compliment and input! I would agree that the bass can get a bit bloated on more complicated pieces, to me anyway.
      ngoshawk, Dec 30, 2018
    4. carliber1
      Seems like a pair of Spiral Dot might be the cure for that bloated bass, besides some other pleasant little surprises.
      carliber1, Feb 2, 2019
  3. Johnny Mac
    BGVP DMG, soft sound on hard build.
    Written by Johnny Mac
    Published Oct 15, 2018
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Comfortable IEM shape, stock is great for portable use, mellow sound.
    Cons - Might be too warm for some(the treble filter helps)
    upload_2018-10-15_23-53-25.jpeg
    [​IMG]
    We have another 1st right here on Audio Realviews, this time from BGVP. I still wonder what does BGVP stands for since there is absolutely no mention of it everywhere, maybe in another language, I’ll never know. What we have to realview specifically is their recent hybrid offering, the BGVP DMG, thanks to DDAudio/Linsould for sending a sample unit in exchange for an honest review. Currently priced at $139 which you can grab a pair at either Amazon or AliExpress. The BGVP DMG is offered in 2 different variations (with and without Mic controls) with 3 colors (Red, Blue and Black). The DMG’s is configured with 4 proprietary BA drivers composed by the 31736 dual BA for Ultra High frequencies and the 10006 Mid and High frequenices matched in 4-way passive crossover with a dual-dynamic driver while also allowing signature changes with its 3 acoustic filter options, silver for treble boost, gold for bass boost and matching housing color (Red, Blue or Black) filter as a reference filter. Spec’d out with a 15-45 KHz Frequency Response, 18 ohms Impedance and a 10dB Sensitivity. Cramping all these specifications at $139 should have its downsides, right? Only one way to know.

    Packaging and Build Quality
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The DMG’s came in with a brown box within a detailed cover showing the DMG silhouette and specifications, inside the box is 2 black boxes, 1 for the DMG IEMs themselves and the other for the accessories. The accessory set is great which included 1 set of black silicon wide bore tips (S, M and L), 1 set of gray silicon medium bore tips and 1 set of blue silicon small bore tips. Black medium foam tips are also present as well as a shirt clip and black silicon ear guides. There is no pouch though.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The DMG’s housing is made of aluminum-magnesium alloy which feels sturdy when held and has a smooth matte finish, there are 2 vents present, 1 near the MMCX interface and 1 on the back of the faceplate. I find it odd that their photos and the box itself showed a vent on the faceplate itself but the actual IEM doesn’t have any. The contours of the DMG are very comfortable and lasted around 5-6 hours of use and didn’t bother me much when I fell asleep wearing them. The MMCX interface is gold-plated which is already standard nowadays.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    The included cable that the DMG’s came with was the non-mic option. It is a %N SPC cable with looks good when paired with the IEM’s themselves. It uses a gold-plated 3.5mm L-plug with the BGVP branding along with a silver barrel type Y-split, a chin slider is also present which made comfort so much better. The male MMCX connectors uses the Red/Blue color coding to act as L/R markings. A memory wire is also present for over ear use which rendered the silicon ear guides a redundant accessory, minimal microphonics were observed, not something that bothers one much.

    Tonality
    The DMG came out sounding rather warm right out of the box on the OnePlus 3T and was totally driven well at that setup already which was a good sign. I rotated the 3 acoustic filters to get an initial impression without some burn-in and even when using the silver filters, the DMG still gave out a warm tonality. I decided to roll with the reference filters and did a “100hour” burn-in for these using the Sony ZX1’s. We would be using the included black medium foam tips for the duration of the review as well as the Xduoo x3ii and Opus 1.

    Lows
    An IEM for those seeking some low-end paradise. The DMG’s lower frequency performance was a pleasure to get intimate with. In Daft Punk’s “Game of Love” in 16/44 FLAC, the bass hits were full-bodied and pans out widely in a lingering manner, not the type that is heard but the one that hangs in your head even when the track flows on. The sub bass drops has great weight to it and resonates deep which fully makes you know that there’s a drop in the frequency. It would be rather weird using the gold filters after knowing all these on the reference filter.

    Midrange
    I’m currently on a roll with reviewing audiophile products and lately they tend to lean on the balanced to warm signature and I was really hoping the DMG’s will break the mold. Pumping out ABBA’s One of Us in 16/44 Flac and I am again greeted with a laid back midrange execution. The lower midrange was the midrange’s most prominent aspect adding up to the already warm signature further. There is almost no upper midrange extension on this and I sincerely hope the silver treble filters will do some heavy lifting even if it was for the upper frequencies, there is however great sense of pace and timing on the midrange. Female vocal timber is natural along with the male vocals, there is minimal air to them as well.

    Highs
    With a dedicated dual-BA driver to tackle the higher frequencies of the DMG’s, one would be expecting an apparent focus on the highs to be great. I used Supertramp’s Logical Song in 16/44 Flac to try and gauge the DMG’s highs. There is evident snap on the upper frequencies while still being devoid of shrill and sharp peaks. There is minimal treble extension and sparkle is barely found, looking forward to another heavy-lifting by the silver treble boost filters.

    Soundstage and Imaging

    Finally, soundstage and imaging, the other sound aspect of the DMG which we can consider a strength. There is great separation on these IEMs and it would be an easy task to spot left to right harmonics. The imaging of each distinct instrument presence is quite tangible. The background leans on the darker spectrum accompanied by a slightly intimate but clear soundstage. The DMG didn’t falter when tackling instrument heavy tracks such as Supertramp’s Take the Long Way Home in 16/44 Flac, detail retrieval gets 2 thumbs up.

    Acoustic Filters

    [​IMG]

    Getting the overall result of the reference filter performance led me to really grab the featured filters and although changes are minimal it is great to know that they work. The gold bass boost filter was my least favorable filter, not only it amplified the low-end performance, it made the DMG sound almost muddy and bloated, if you like your lows like that then feel free to use it. The silver treble boost filter does the trick for the DMG, the low-end is diffused faster, midrange a tad clearer and upper frequency with the much needed bump. This might sound too much of a change for some but that is just how the DMG sounded with the reference filters at the low-end and highs, enough but lacking.

    Conclusion

    [​IMG]

    So at $139 and sporting multiple features and a great accessory set did indeed tuck away some areas of improvement worthy of being acknowledged although the nice-looking stock cable along with a smooth and subdued metal housing was a winner at $139. Greatest of these AOI’s is the noticeable performance of the quad-BA at the upper frequencies which was clearly overpowered by the low-end. One great thing though that BGVP did was it tucked right at the bottom of the package is the silver treble boost filter, DMG be damned if it wasn’t designed to accommodate filters.

    more reviews at my site,
    http://audiorealviews.site/
  4. antdroid
    Bringing DMG to your Wallet
    Written by antdroid
    Published Oct 8, 2018
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Great balanced sound
    Good simplistic looks
    Metal housing
    Great cable
    Cons - Filter threads
    Filters are unnecessary
    P1020205.JPG

    BGVP is another company I have only barely heard of. I’ve seen their products and I’ve read mixed reviews about them so I never really tried to buy anything from them in the past. But this newer IEM of theirs landed at my house a month ago.


    The DMG is a 6-driver earphone with 2 dynamic drivers, and 4 Knowles balanced armature drivers. The headphone is well constructed with a metal housing that fits very well in my ears. The shiny paint finish looks stunning and its minimalist design is really appealing to me.

    P1020197.JPG P1020199.JPG

    The unit comes in a box that has the recycled tan paper look and below it is a nice presentation of two smaller boxes, which contain the DMGs and its accessories. The MMCX detachable cable that is included is silver colored and is very nice. It may be one of the nicest cables I’ve seen included with a Chinese branded IEM. It’s very lightweight, attractive, and soft. It also has a L-shaped 3.5mm connector.


    The IEM also comes with 4 different styles of tips, each with varying sizes. There is a pair of foam tips, and then 3 sets of silicone tips in small, medium and large each. In addition, ear hooks are included as well as a cable clip.


    The other accessory included are the threaded filters. The IEM has screw-on filters that can change the sound signature, and comes with the stock ones in the color of the IEM (black, red or blue), as well as a silver one for treble boost, and a gold one for bass boost. I found the filters to be very subtle in change and that they do come off very easily – too easily actually, which can be annoying and problematic in the long run.


    Sound:

    BGVP DMG - IDF FR.jpg

    In listening to the DMG, I was quickly surprised by how well it sounded in every genre. I wanted to write a review on these sooner, but I just didn’t know where to start and how to really approach this. It wasn’t a price category I was used to. They’re priced at $140 and everything I have is either half that price, or double that price. I’ve only had a small handful of IEMs in this price point and I no longer hand them in hand. The last one I owned in this range was the 1More Quad Driver and these are significantly better than those in every way. I also had the Campfire Comet for a short-time and I found the DMG to be actually quite similar to it, if not better.


    So where to start.


    The DMG took me by surprise. They had a very clean sound, and while there is a small bit of warmth to them, I never found them excessive. This is using the stock filter by the way, and my discussion will revolve around the use of this one only to make things simple. Again, the two other filters make very subtle differences, as I will let you see in the Frequency Response graph below.

    BGVP DMG - Filter FR.jpg

    As shown, the filters have small difference. The gold filter has a more pronounced mid-bass hump and lower treble response giving it a more bass emphasis. The silver filter follows the stock filter very tightly, however drops the lower mids down a couple decibels giving the upper mids and treble more emphasis. The stock filter, overall, is the most balanced of the three.


    The DMG has a pretty good warm/neutral sound signature with slightly recessed mids. It’s a very mild U-shape but the treble is also boosted so it gives a lot of detail and air to songs. When looking at it’s frequency response with IEM Diffuse Field compensation; it actually looks somewhat similar to one of my favorites – the Hifiman HE560, though with a slight mid-bass hump (+2-3dB) and earlier drop in mids. Perhaps this similar signature is what has drawn me into this IEM so much.


    I don’t want to get carried away. The HE560 is an over-ear planar headphone and it definitely has a more open, tight and richer sound, as well as much more extended on the low end, than the DMG, but from a basic sound signature point of view, they are similar.

    In comparing it with the Campfire Comets, and this is strictly off of memory, I found the DMG better extended on the upper end and less vocal-forward. The Comets have an extremely pleasant sound that is genre-independent, and really works well as an all-arounder. It’s only flaw was that it did everything well but excelled at nothing. It plays within the box and doesn’t go out of it – it has no deep bass extension and has a lack of air.


    With the DMG, I actually found it to sound balanced well like the Comets were, but extends much more in the upper end. This gives those little guitar plucks in acoustic songs that extra zing, or the cymbals crashing more naturally.


    The other IEM I mentioned before that I listened to in this bucket is the 1More Quad Driver. This one regularly goes on sale for around the same asking price as the DMG, at around $140. The Quads have more punch to them, and while still detailed, they lack the cohesion between the bass, lower-mids and the rest of the spectrum. This is really due to the mid-bass hump that’s present to give that warm, punchy bass signature that many people crave. It’s an IEM that’s suited for pop and EDM music, and unfortunately for me, it’s not what I listen to. The DMG on the other hand works really well with what I like – that is indie rock, folk, country/bluegrass, jazz, post-rock and classical.


    The DMG does lack a little body sometimes, and occasionally the treble can be a little sharp. The slightly recessed mids does make these points more apparent. So, occasionally, some songs do sound a bit uneven, however, overall I found this IEM to handle my normal listening library with ease and pleasure.

    BGVP DMG - Waterfall.jpg


    Overall

    BGVP really did a fine job on this IEM. It delivers a well built IEM with some small flaws at a price point that’ll make new audiophiles who are ready to step up from the sub-$100 range headphones into the next level very happy. This seems like a very logical step up from the T2/T2 Pro or the TRN V80 I recently reviewed.

    The biggest weakness to me, and perhaps are a gimmick, is the filters. They don’t do a whole lot and I don’t really see the value too much in having them. Instead, you get threads that can be easily stripped and become loose over time. I already have found myself unscrewing the filters accidently when changing out tips or just when removing the IEMs from my ears.

    The DM6 is the next step up from this brand and I am excited to hear how that will sound. The early impressions on them have been exceptional and the manufacture’s IEM compensated curve looks extremely flat – my ears are anxious with curiosity!

    P1020203.JPG

    Credits

    The BGVP DMG was provided to me by Lillian of Linsoul for the purpose of providing an honest, unbiased review. As with all my reviews, I try to mix an objective measurements/science approach along with my own subjective listening impressions into consideration and to provide readers with my honest feedback.

    If you like what you read and are interested in purchasing it, here are some links to the popular marketplaces:


    Amazon:

    https://smile.amazon.com/BGVP-Fidelity-HiFi-Earphones-Detachable-Audiophile/dp/B07G97FN1P/


    Ali Express:

    https://www.aliexpress.com/store/pr...with-Detachable-MMCX/2894006_32907564233.html
    1. Zerstorer_GOhren
      Knowles driver?really?
      Zerstorer_GOhren, Feb 8, 2019
  5. B9Scrambler
    BGVP DMG: Six by Six
    Written by B9Scrambler
    Published Sep 17, 2018
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Ergonomics – Build quality – Cable – Accessory kit – Excellent layering and separation
    Cons - Limited tuning changes via stock filters – Filters loosen easily due to lack of rubber o-rings
    Greetings!

    Today we're checking out an interesting new hybrid from BGVP, the DMG.

    I've had a bit of a checkered history with BGVP in that while I found their designs and build quality excellent for the most part, sound quality was never elevated much beyond average. The DMG is set to turn the brand on it's head with a pretty impressive lineup of drivers; two dynamic drivers and four balanced armatures, per side.

    I can't think of another brand that has managed to bring this driver setup to market at such an affordable price (139.00 USD), and it's not like BGVP skimped on features or build either. It has a drop dead gorgeous MMCX removable cable, three tuning filters, aluminum-magnesium alloy housings, a 4 way-crossover for accurate frequency division, graphene and titanium coated dynamic drivers, and custom tuned balanced armatures. I've seen it rumored that they are using custom Knowles branded armatures, but none of BGVP's marketing information supports this. Given how much flack Chinese brands seem to get for using cheap, “no-name” drivers, you know this is something BGVP would be emphasizing were it true. Not that it would matter anyway. There are lots of earphones out there using drivers from budget makers like Bellsing that sound fantastic.

    Now, all that said, those flashy features mean jack if the DMG doesn't perform. So... does it? Let's take a closer look and fine out.

    IMG_4229.JPG

    Disclaimer:

    Thanks to Lillian from DD Audio/Linsoul Tech for arranging a sample of the DMG for review. The thoughts within this review are my own and do not represent DD Audio, BGVP, or any other entity. No financial incentive was provided to write this review.

    Note that I was sent a second review unit as the first suffered from a severe 9dB channel imbalance that was not simply resolved by adjusting the balance of my player. I have not read of another instance where a DMG suffered from such an imbalance and suspect this is a one-off issue, maybe even caused by damage during shipping. Balanced armatures are somewhat fragile after all.

    At the time of writing, the BGVP could be picked up for 139.00 USD.

    Linsoul: https://www.linsoul.com/product-page/BGVP-DMG-Earphone

    AliExpress: https://www.aliexpress.com/store/pr...with-Detachable-MMCX/2894006_32907564233.html

    Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/BGVP-Fidelity-HiFi-Earphones-Detachable-Audiophile/dp/B07G97FN1P/

    Source:

    The DMG doesn't seem to be greatly affected by source, and as such I spent most of my at-home time listening to it piped through my TEAC HA-501 with either my Asus FV53V or LG G6 sourcing the music. For portable use it was run straight out of the LG G6, via Bluetooth using the Radsone ES100, or via the Shanling M1. It also spent a bit of time with the budget-friendly Ruizu X02. I found the DMG very easy to bring up to my typically low listening volumes, and as such didn't feel the need for an amp, though it did sound a bit more controlled when run through the TEAC.

    Personal Preferences:

    I listen primarily to various EDM sub-genres (liquid drum and bass, breakbeat, drumstep, etc.), hip hop, and classic rock. While I enjoy a variety of signatures in my headphones I generally lean towards slightly warm with elevated treble and sub-bass, an even and natural mid-range response, with reduced mid-bass. The HiFiMan RE800, Brainwavz B400, and thinksound On2 offer examples of signatures I enjoy.

    Specifications:
    • Sensitivity: 110dB/mW@1KHz
    • Impedence: 18 ohms
    • Frequency Response: 15-45KHz
    • Channel Difference: </= 1dB
    • Distortion: </= 1%
    • Rated Power: 10mW
    IMG_4194.JPG IMG_4195.JPG IMG_4231.JPG

    Packaging and Accessories:

    BGVP's packaging for the DMG is quite pleasant. The exterior sheath shows off a black DMG on the front with the color and mic designation being noted on the right side. On the back you find another image of the DMG along with a detailed spec list. Removing the sleeve reveals a surprisingly nice, naturally colored cardboard box that is emblazoned with BGVP's new logo that I'm quite fond of.

    Lifting the lid of the box you find two smaller boxes. The top houses the DMG's ear pieces on display under appropriately shaped viewing windows. A smaller box below, once again featuring the new BGVP logo, holds most of the accessories. Lifting out these two boxes reveals one more compartment that houses the cable and literature. The accessory kit is pretty extensive and in all you get:
    • DMG earphones
    • 5N OCC silver-plated MMCX cable
    • Single flange, wide bore tips (s/m/l) Black
    • Single flange, medium bore tips (s/m/l) Grey
    • Single flange, small bore tips (s/m/l) Blue
    • Medium foam tips
    • Silicone ear guides
    • Shirt clip
    • Three pairs of tuning filters
    One thing BGVP has always provided is a ton of accessories. However, in the past what they included was very redundant. Three full sets of tips, all the same but in different colors for example. Here, they did it right. About the only inclusion I question is the set of ear guides as the cable already had preformed guides built in.

    IMG_4202.JPG IMG_4204.JPG IMG_4205.JPG

    Build, Comfort, and Isolation:

    The DMG's construction is quite impressive. The aluminum-magnesium alloy shells are made from two component parts that fit together perfectly. There are color coded plastic bands that surround the MMCX input ports denoting red for right, blue for left. Even cooler as that that coloring extends inside the shells. With the nozzle filters removed, you can see the red or blue plastic latticework that holds the drivers and ports their sound output to the nozzle, along with a filter for one of the sets of armatures. On the inner side of the shells facing your ear there is a pinhole vent. Along the top of the shell, at the base of the extension for the MMCX ports, there is a larger vent. This one has the unfortunate habit of picking up wind making the DMG almost as noisy when worn outdoors as the Campfire Audio Polaris. The threading for the filters is smooth and accurate on both samples I have. It is very easy to screw the filters on straight. As a general note, if you have to force them on you're doing it wrong and will probably damage the threading. My only concern about the filters is the lack of rubber o-ring. This missing feature lets them work themselves loose over time, something I noticed when tip rolling. Be sure to check that on the regular to avoid losing a filter.

    The DMG's cable has got to be one of the best at this price. The clear sheath shows off the silver-plated wires within. The twin strands are extremely flexible, have no memory, transmit zero noise, and are coiled neatly up to the y-split where they separate and lead up to each ear piece. The 90 degree angled jack is well-relieved and fairly compact, so plugging it into a DAP or phone with a case shouldn't cause issues. The y-split has no strain relief, but you do get a useful chin cinch. There are flexible, preformed ear guides in place or memory wire which does a great job of holding the cable behind the ear. The MMCX plug are sheathed in aluminum with blue and red plastic bands to denote left and right channels respectively. The cable plugs in securely and while it can swivel, the connection is tight enough to keep it oriented correctly unless you choose to move it.

    The DMG has a very ergonomic shape, similar to something like the Stagediver series from Inear or KZ ZS3. It's slightly smaller than those, however, with a compact, well-rounded protrusion that nestles into your antihelix and locks them in place. There are no sharp edges anywhere and the nozzles aren't overly large leading to something that feels very natural to wear. This is certainly one of the more comfortable and stable earphones I've used, requiring little to no re-adjustment during listening sessions.

    Isolation is pretty good, slightly above average in my experience. The vent on top and fairly minimal insertion depth lets in some outside noise, but not a ton. Tapping away on my keyboard, clicks and clacks are minimized significantly. As are voices, as evidenced listening to my beats in the local Tim Horton's. You can further improve isolation with the included foams tips.

    IMG_4211.JPG IMG_4212.JPG IMG_4219.JPG

    Sound:

    The DMG is a fairly well-balanced earphone with emphasis on the low end, mid-bass in particular. This gives them a fairly warm-leaning signature. Treble is well extended with a fairly smooth, easygoing presentation. Separation and clarity are excellent, with just enough emphasis above 5k, to give them some air and shimmer to cymbals and other effects. Tossing on the silver treble filter seems to boost this region, giving them a more energetic but slightly less refined presentation. The gold bass filters dull the treble a notable amount, reducing clarity and air but making them easier on the ears. The body-colored reference filters find the right balance in my opinion, suffering from none of the issues of the silver or gold filters.

    The mid-range sees a reserved dip in emphasis but retains a strong presence so as not to be overshadowed by the low end or treble regions. Running through Supertramp's 1974 masterpiece, “Crime of the Century”, I found vocals to tilt ever so slightly towards a leaner output. That's not to say I find them lean or thin, they're just not as full-bodied and dense as some other products, take the Brainwavz B400 for example. Instruments sound pleasantly accurate with a fairly natural timbre, something BGVP tends to do well. This presentation does a great job of emphasizing how detailed the mid-range can be, such as when it picks up the tiny snaps of saliva (gross...) shifting in the mouth while Paul Williams sings on “Touch” from Daft Punk's 2013 release, Random Access Memories. Sibilance is present, but I found it very minimal and not intrusive.

    I found the DMG's bass extension to be quite good, able to give off some solid physical feedback. The emphasis on mid-bass does have a tendency to take over when a wide range of tones are present, so unless sub-bass is the clear focus they can come across rolled off before hitting those deep notes. That said, Gramatik's “No Turning Back”, Skrillex's “Scary Monsters and Nice Sprites (Dirtyphonics Remix)”, and Rage Against the Machine's “Pistol Grip Pump” do a good job of showing off how articulate and flexible the DMG's low end can be. It's quick, well controlled, and has excellent note separation.

    The DMG's sound stage I found only slightly above average. Imaging was fairly accurate with smooth and consistent channel to channel sweeps. It is certainly a couple steps up from their 2+2 hybrid, the DM5, which has some interesting imaging quirks. I was most impressed with the layering and separation which are outstanding. It's fairly easy to pick out and follow individual track elements and layers with the DMG. I generally find brighter earphones better for track analysis since they exaggerate detail and clarity, but the DMG holds its own.

    IMG_4381.JPG

    Filters:

    The DMG comes with three filter options. You have silver which enhances treble, gold for enhanced bass, and a body colored filter (red, black, or blue to match the color of your earphone) which is the balanced option. After swapping between the various filters, I have a feeling the DMG's system follows the same concept that ADVANCED applied to the GT3, altering a fairly narrow band of frequencies which in turn affects your perception of how the overall sound is balanced. In particular the upper mids and lower treble.

    I found the three filters to have a small, but significant affect on the presentation, most noticeable when swapping between the bass and treble filters. The treble filters have a brighter, slightly harsh edge to them which gets tiring. The bass filters up the warmth and reduce clarity but also seem to have the effect of dispersing the sound a little more. The balanced filters are just that, finding a middle ground between the two. They were by far my favorite and what I spent the majority of my time with.

    In addition to the stock filters, I found the filters from the LZ A5 fit the DMG perfectly. These are something to consider picking up if you find the DMG too bright with it's stock options. LZ's filters focus most of their tuning on the upper mids and 7k region, and all four seem to tone down the DMG's treble peaks making it an even smoother, more refined sounding product. Part of this may be that they are longer and have a smaller nozzle opening.

    Of the four options from LZ, grey and black were my favorites. The grey filters sound really similar to the body colored/balanced stock filters but with a silkier presentation. The black filters are akin to the stock silver/treble filters but not as bright, and again with a overall smoother presentation. Both filters nullify the occasional sibilance, rounding off those harsh s's and t's.

    IMG_4382.JPG

    Select Comparisons:

    Kinera IDUN (DMG w/ silver filters): The IDUN has more treble emphasis with better extension. It has more sizzle and less control, and as a result is more fatiguing and less natural sounding. It's more airy though, giving the IDUN a larger sound stage. Note separation is more impressive on the DMG and it sounds more layered, but the IDUN is more accurate in terms of imaging. The IDUN's mid-range is less full and more subject to sibilance. The DMG has more bass in all regards, though the IDUN seems to extend a little better due to a more balanced sub-/mid-bass presence.

    The IDUN acrylic shells are drop dead gorgeous, extremely ergonomic, and even better isolating than the DMG. In terms of durability, the DMG's metal construction takes the cake, but the IDUN certainly looks the part of a more premium product. Like the DMG, the IDUN has one of the best cables in the segment. It's braided beautifully with a two tone coloring and is thicker, yet just as flexible as BGVP's cable. Everything feels beefy and durable with only the 2-pin plugs letting them down. Aesthetically they don't match, and don't sit flush with the earpieces making them a clear weak point. While I thin Kinera's cable is nicer, BGVP did a better job of implementing their MMCX connectors.

    TFZ King Pro: The King Pro and DMG go punch for punch. The DMG has a touch more treble energy with less forward mids. The DMG's bass is more engaging with a punchier presentation, however, the King Pro has better balance and extension which really shows itself on EDM tracks. The DMG can't touch it's awesome sub-bass. Detail and clarity goes to the DMG, but overall coherence is in the King's court. When it comes to staging qualities, the King Pro sounds larger and has more accurate imaging, but it lacks the same sense of depth and layering you get with the DMG. I feel they they perform on an equal level, though I prefer the DMG for the extra treble energy. The King Pro is excellent, but a touch too polite for my tastes.

    They goo head-to-head in terms of build too. The King's aluminum shells are just as well constructed, though the gap under the faceplate, which is purposeful and hides the King's vents, takes away from the design's cohesion. Not an issue on the DMG. Comfort is good on the King, but it doesn't conform to the ear as naturally as the DMG. Isolation is also not as good letting in more outside noise. TFZ's cable is fantastic, but falls a step behind the DMG's. It's not quite as flexible for one, but the real kicker is the weight of the steel y-split which makes it's presence known at all times. It tugs and pulls, and will probably shorten the life of the cable.

    IMG_4224.JPG IMG_4225.JPG IMG_4228.JPG

    Final Thoughts:

    BGVP has really impressed me this time around. It's not wholly average like the DS1 or a one trick pony like the DM5. They clearly did their homework so they could bring an impressive performer to market with some awesome features, and at a price that is more than reasonable for what you're getting.

    The tuning filter system could be a little more varied out of the box, but if you're willing to put in a bit of time to mod the existing filters you can change things up. Or, you could spend an additional 20 USD on the LZ A5's filters and unlock four completely new tuning options.

    Overall this is a pretty easy earphone to recommend. The shells are well constructed and absurdly comfortable. The cable is tops in this price range and equipped with MMCX connectors so you can swap it out if it breaks, or to install something even more premium, or to run it balanced should you so choose. Last but not least, the sound quality is excellent. Save for when the silver filters are installed, the treble is smooth and easygoing, the mids are reasonably well-bodied and very clear, and the bass is punchy and dynamic, all set within a spacious, well-layered and separated sound scape.

    If you're in the market for something under 150 bucks, BGVP has a strong contender in the DMG.

    Thanks for reading!

    - B9Scrambler

    ***** ***** ***** ***** *****​

    Some Test Tunes:

    Aesop Rock – The Impossible Kid (Album)
    Hail Mary Mallon – Are You Going to Eat That? (Album)
    King Crimson – Lark’s Tongues in Aspic (Album)
    King Crimson – Starless and Bible Black (Track)
    Supertramp – Crime of the Century (Album)
    Infected Mushroom – Legend of the Black Shawarma (Album)
    Gorillaz – Plastic Beach (Album)
    Massive Attack – Mezzanine (Album)
    Fleetwood Mac – Rumors (Album)
    Run the Jewels – Run the Jewels (Album)
    The Prodigy – The Day is My Enemy (Album)
    Tobacco – F****d Up Friends (Album)
    Felt – Felt 2 (A Tribute to Lisa Bonet) (Album)
    Michael Jackson – Thriller (Album)
    The Crystal Method – Grace (feat. LeAnn Rimes) (Track)
    Jidenna – Long Live the Chief (Track)
    Skrillex – Ragga Bomb (Track)
    Big Grams – Run for Your Life (Track)
    Funkadelic – Maggot Brain (Track)
    Aesop Rock – Fishtales (Track)
      harry501501, cqtek, ngoshawk and 7 others like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. harry501501
      Must admit, your review is spot on. You got the sound described bang on
      harry501501, Dec 6, 2018
    3. B9Scrambler
      @harry501501 Glad you found the review to be accurate. I didn't really notice any changes with burn-in, but then this spent most of its "burn-in" time in my ears. Give the treble filter a shot and see if you like it. Should take some of the attention away from the low end either way.
      B9Scrambler, Dec 7, 2018
      harry501501 likes this.
    4. seanwee
      How do these compare to the Echobox Nomads?
      seanwee, Feb 8, 2019
  6. tomscy2000
    Great Value for Comfort & Quality Mainstream Sound
    Written by tomscy2000
    Published Sep 15, 2018
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Very Comfortable, Nice Anodize, Competent Sound, Affordable Multi-Driver Hybrid
    Cons - Soundstage Imprecise, No Carrying Case, Bad Tip Selection, Sound Not Neutral

    Kind of Blue.
    Disclaimer & Preface
    First, I'd like to thank my wallet (not _______ from __________) for affording me the opportunity to eat poorly for a few weeks in exchange for a new toy. My suffering is mine only. Joking aside, I pre-ordered these earphones after I saw a local dealer teasing its renders. I did some research, and was impressed by the driver setup, the ergonomic-looking housings, and the do-no-wrong frequency response curve. I made the very first mention of the BGVP DMG on these forums, and decided to pull the trigger. (I do not know the distributors at all, but they did seem quite courteous in our correspondence.)

    Prior to the DMG, I had zero knowledge of BGVP as a company, but they have apparently been around since 2013, first as 'SIDY Studio', making something or another. They've apparently made a few different products that have made their rounds around here, to mixed reviews.

    I normally do not buy from a relatively unknown company without having listened to it beforehand. But I bought these earphones almost instinctively. BGVP claimed to have utilized a large database of scanned ear molds, and the renders looked like the housings would be comfortable. I also wanted to see what the state of chi-fi was in 2018. It had been a while since I last delved into audio, and these companies seem to up their driver counts, their exotic diaphragm materials, and ounces of precious metals used every 3 months. It's a progression that would make Gordon Moore blush (not really, but you get the point).

    So what is the driver setup of the DMG? It's got 6 amazing drivers on each side, with lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit (i.e. look it up your own damn self). But it should be noted that I regard these earphones as more of a three-way earphone than a 4-way, 6-driver earphone. It has two dual BAs, and a single dual-coil dynamic driver (BGVP markets this driver as 2 drivers because it has 2 coils, but it's really just one driver). So just think of these earphones as having a similar setup to something like the Fidue A91 or the Meze RAI Penta.

    Whoa!!!!!! You mean to say that a $140 product is comparable in driver setup to a $900 earphone? Amazing! No, screw you, and learn a thing or two about high-end IEMs, tubing/chamber resonances, damping effects, IEC 60318-4 measurement standards, and balanced armature drive coil designs, before you go peppering people with questions. Oh wait, no, these are $140, so they're well within reach of 13 year-olds and their Minecraft YouTubing incomes. I shouldn't act so supercilious.

    In seriousness, what I really want to say is that the BGVP DMG, in all its multiple driver glory, certainly has a lot of technical potential, but ends up adopting on a more simplistic acoustic design (despite the exchangeable acoustic filters). The inner housings are plastic, and you get three output ports behind the exchangeable filters: one large one for the dynamic dual-coil driver, and two small ones for each of the two dual BA drivers. The treble drivers are damped with a fixed, white color mesh. All three of these outputs port into a shallow, shared chamber.


    I know what you're thinking; yes, I didn't put any effort into this photo.
    I promise I'll get a manicure next time.

    Does this kind of acoustic design work? In my experience, it does, but it sacrifices separation and layering. So you'll notice that I mention the words 'separation' and 'layering' multiple in the following section.

    Sound
    This is my idea of a lazy review, so I'm not going to giving out any rankings or stars. The only time I do that is for kids I tutor (you know, to fund this dirty audio habit of mine).

    The sound signature is not focused on vocals. It is focused on people-pleasing, i.e. mainstream jack-of-all-trades. There is a mid-bass focused bass tilt to these earphones, but thankfully, however powerful the response is, is not annoying. Instead, the bass is relatively spry, and despite its soft, unetched texture, doesn't bloat.

    Initially, I believed there was sizeable bass roll-off as a result of the mid-bass emphasis, but I discovered that, in my quest to find tips that afforded me a more defined upper midrange and treble response, I induced sub-bass leak (with the Aurisonics/Fender oval tips). With another pair of tips (commandeered from my very old and very broken Creative Aurvana In-Ear 3), the sub-bass came out to play. It does, however, still take a backseat to the mid-bass.

    Thus, tip selection is absolutely paramount to getting a good experience with the BGVP DMG; since different tips will impart different effects for different people, I won't give concrete advice for choosing tips. But you'll notice that the Aurisonics/Fender tips are very short and soft --- giving off a sparkly, less bass emphasized sound, while the Aurvana tips are very long and firm --- lending to a meaty, bassy, but smooth response that doesn't sacrifice on treble extension.

    Soundstage is variable and highly tip-dependent, so tip rolling will impact this aspect of sound as well. Ultimately, there aren't a ton of clear directional cues coming from the DMG, and the soundstage is not well characterized as a result of the DMG's subpar layering. The way it's designed plays a part in this --- the individual frequency ranges aren't piped all the way to the end of the nozzles (to enable the exchangeable filters, of course), and to me, soundstage suffers.

    Since I purchased the DMG with every intention of modding them, I decided to remove the fixed treble filter on the internal frame. With them off, the additional treble contributed more detail to the treble and upper midrange, widening the soundstage somewhat. The hit was that certain instruments, like cymbals and hi-hats, sound splashier and less subtle, but with the right tips, can be shaped to a perfectly acceptable degree. If you're wondering, sibilance is not negatively impacted to an appreciable degree. Sibilance is more apparent with the treble damper off, as is the case with any change in sound to improve clarity, but it is not a dramatic difference.

    The exchangeable filters are somewhat boring in effect; there's nothing covering the silver ones (treble), while there is a thin layer of mesh lining the gold ones (bass). The gold ones smooth out the treble response a bit, allowing the bass to be a little more prominent, but vocals seem blunted and more two-dimensional with these filters on, so my idea was to take the dampers that I removed and put them on the front of the silver nozzles.

    P1030445.JPG
    In reality, there's not much of a difference in sound.

    Source-wise, I'm getting relatively good results from a <0.5 ohm OI source (SMSL iDEA), but I dislike how it sounds from my iPhone 6 (~5 ohms). The difference isn't massive, but detectable.

    Comfort, Build Quality, and Accessories

    The included tip selection is crap. Don't use the included tips. Well, I like the fake Comply foams. Aside from them, though, skip. Tip roll until you find a pair of tips that work well for you. There is a case for the filters (will fit your tips too), but no case for the earphones. I've been using the FitEar zip-up case. The blue special edition case fits the DMG's housings nicely.

    So the housings --- they're not plastic. The CNC quality is pretty good, but won't be acceptable to Steve Jobs. These flaws are most noticeable along the margin of the backplate. They're minor flaws. Don't fret. Just don't gift Jony Ive a pair. Heck, I don't trust the HiFiMAN RE2000 to have better build quality. Why is so expensive? Because it sound good. As I mentioned, DMG sound good too. Minor gripe: the acoustic filters do not have O-ring silicone gaskets. The microphone cable is generically good, but utterly unremarkable.

    These earphones are every bit as comfortable as they appear. They're intended to be worn as flush to your conchae as possible, so use tips that enable you to wear them that way. Don't let them hang off your ears in an ugly fashion. Clean up after your ear wax afterward.

    Summary

    After having listened to these earphones for a while, I can confidently state that it makes no real errors of commission. The mids are not problematic at all, and even with the treble nozzles, there isn't much sibilance. There's some treble roll-off, but I'm fine with it. At least it's not fatiguing. My unit has no detectable channel imbalance, thank goodness. I'd hate to have to RMA these.

    For $139, I think they're well worth the price. The satin blue housings are nice, compact, and comfortable, and the DMG has definitely exceeded my expectations. It has a pleasant, if safe (i.e. rolled-off on purpose, rather than by technical limitations) signature. Removing the treble dampers will improve things, but attempt this mod at your own risk. At least it's reversible.
    1. Assimilator702
      Great review and your observations line up with what I’m hearing. However I do think the the stock tips are good. They work for me. I usually gravitate to Sony Hybrid tips but the stock grey tips seem to work nicely for me. The Sony tips have a smaller bore which I feel stifles the midrange a touch over a wider bore tip. I got rid of my KZ AS 10 for these and I don’t miss them yet. Although I’d like to have another set here to compare them side by side.
      Assimilator702, Oct 7, 2018
      tomscy2000 likes this.
  7. cleg
    Look at this bass!
    Written by cleg
    Published Sep 13, 2018
    4.5/5,
    Pros - price, accessories set, build quality, design, wearing comfort, fun enjoyable sound signature, bass
    Cons - a bit bass heavy model for those who like such representation
    1-Main Pic.jpg
    Sometimes I wonder, how Chinese manufacturers come out with that names: TRN, BGVP, BQEYZ… But despite the naming, usually that new models are indeed impressive, and BGVP DMG that I want to tell about is no exception.

    Before I proceed, I'd like to thank DD Audio store for providing me review sample in exchange for my honest opinion.
    2-Box.jpg
    DMGs are the most recent addition to BGVP lineup, per each ear this model utilizes two double BA speakers and double-diaphragm dynamic driver. So, in total, it gives us six drivers per side. Some "famous brand" would ask few hundred dollars for such model, but BGVP DMG price is about $140, they are available on Amazon or AliExpress. You can select one of few colors and chose a version with or without a microphone and inline controls.

    3-Accessories.jpg

    The package is nice, nothing super fancy, just cardboard, but polygraphy is excellent, as well as general presentation. Besides IEMs themselves, you will get three different sets of tips (3 pairs each), two pieces of foams, cable, shirt clip and two spare filters for sound tuning. Yes, I forgot to mention that you can tune their sound with filters, but more on that later.

    Earphones are both stylish and reliable. Metal cases have excellent ergonomic shape, providing comfortable and secure fit (at least to my ears). Build quality is high if someone showed me BGVP DMG and asked to guess the price, I'd probably start from about $300. Spouts have an average length, so sound isolation is on the average level, typical for IEMs: it will be enough for noisy street or public transport, but in a subway or during air trip you'll have to raise the volume.
    4-Filters.jpg
    Cable is replaceable, BGVP used right MMCX connectors. Wires' design is unusual, and they aren't braided, just wires in straight PVC isolation. Cable has a bit of microphonic, but over-the-ear wearing helps to minimize it. I've tried more expensive cables with BGVP DMG but didn't get noticeable sound improvement, so I can conclude that stock cable is also sonically good.

    But of course, the most interesting matter is the sound. I gave this IEMs about 48 hours of burn-in before listening.
    5-Overview.jpg
    As I've mentioned above, DMGs support sound tuning via traditional filters, combined with spouts: unscrew, replace, enjoy. Pretty predictable, there are three filters in stock: bassy, balanced and treble-focused. But in practice, I enjoyed "treble" filters the most, as even with them this earphones have more bass than usual.

    In general representation, BGVP sounds like a child of Sony's hybrids and Campfire Audio Polaris: powerful, authoritative bass, clean mids and well-developed treble.
    6-Close.jpg
    I can't call this IEMs "basshead" model (at least to my taste), but they are bass-heavy indeed. Bass is always noticeable, and it plays a vital role in the sound of this model. Lows here are massive and pretty close to crossing the line, but staying below the "too much" limit, but of course, it's a matter of subjective preferences, and accented lows aren't everyone's cup of tea. Bass is pretty fast and deep, but of course, it's not the fastest one, but I almost never felt lacking speed. Bass decay is a bit slow, but attacks are pretty quick and firm. Lows are good in texturing and have a nice rumble.

    In my video reviews, I'm trying to mention some example tracks as an illustration of some aspect of sound. It's not tracks I'm using for critical listening, for that purpose I'm using material from test CDs, so below mentioned tracks are just an illustration.

    So, for lows, as an example, I'd like to mention "Absolute Infinite" by EXXASENS. Nice post-metal track with a thick and dense background that benefits from a powerful bass, building a foundation for the rest of melody.
    7-With BTR3.jpg
    Mids are a bit shadowed by the base, but they are crisp and resolving. In the same time, mids aren't sounding too thin, too dry and too analytical, like it sometimes happened with BA drivers. BGVP managed to put enough body into mids, making them enjoyably lifelike. Earphones are also pretty good at representing emotions, but sometimes acoustic instruments are lacking tiny nuances of their character. The imaginary stage is a bit above average in width and noticeably above average in depth, as DMGs are often adding some more depth to the recording because lows sound a bit separated from the treble (for me it sometimes reminds good 2.1 system).

    As an example here I'll mention Serbian guitarist David Maxim Micich, and his track Bilo Part III. It's entirely not audiophiliac recoding, relying heavily on synthesizer, but intro with keyboards and guitar work sounds breathtakingly with this IEMs.

    As for treble… You know, it's a good treble of good double balanced armature made by Knowles. To describe them, we can use lots of C-words: clean, crisp, clear, etc. If you are super-sensitive to treble, probably this IEMs can sound sharp with silver filters, but for me, they aren't even close to being harsh. Treble is excellent, with good attacks and decays, resolution, and naturalness. Layering is pretty essential, but for this price range, we can't expect more.

    As an example here I'll mention Marillion's "Living in FEAR." Of course, it's not that classical band from Fish's era, but it's still one of the best neo-progressive bands, and this track shows why. BGVP DMG succeeds in representing all that airy percussion at the beginning as well as all nuances of the fortepiano.
    8-Stylish Shot.jpg
    This time I'll probably skip comparison part of the review just because this IEMs sounds in their way, and there won't be much sense in comparing them with a more typical neutral model.

    So, once again, the exciting model from China. BGVP DMG isn't universal "one size fits all" IEMs, but they are delightful, and if you like accented lows, it's one of the models for you to consider.

    1. tomscy2000
      @cleg try replacing the tips with ones that have less overhang and taking off those cloth filters glued on to the inside housings. It'll make them a bit more sparkly.
      tomscy2000, Sep 13, 2018