1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

beyerdynamic DT 1770 PRO Studio Headphones

Rating:
4.6/5,
  1. audioblog18
    An Exceptionally Crafted Headphone
    Written by audioblog18
    Published Feb 23, 2019
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Superb build quality, excellent sound with outstanding imaging, soundstage has good depth for a closed design, very comfortable leatherette earpads.
    Cons - A bit heavy, treble can be a bit hot, mids may not be as forward and as colored as what most people are accustomed to, can be unforgiving of poorly recorded material.
    About the Company

    Beyerdynamic (stylized "beyerdynamic") GmbH & Co. KG is a German audio equipment manufacturer, which produces microphones, headphones, and wireless audio systems and conference systems. Beyerdynamic has been family owned since its founding in 1924. Beyerdynamic is the oldest audio company that remains active, though its earliest competitors such as Shure and RG Jones Sound Engineering were founded in the years that followed. Most of beyerdynamic's products are made in Germany. At the end of the 1930s Beyer developed the first pair of dynamic headphones.

    Technical Specs

    Transducer type Dynamic

    Operating principle Closed

    Frequency response 5 – 40,000 Hz

    Nominal impedance 250 Ω

    Nominal SPL 102 dB SPL (1 mW / 500 Hz)

    Max. SPL 125 dB SPL (200 mW / 500 Hz)

    T.H.D. < 0.05% (1 mW / 500 Hz)

    Nominal power handling capacity 200 mW

    Sound coupling to the ear Circumaural

    Ambient noise attenuation Velours: approx. 18 dBA Leatherette: approx. 21 dBA

    Nominal headband pressure Approx. 7.2 N

    Weight (without cable) 388 g

    Length and type of cable 3 m / straight cable or 5 m / coiled cable (stretched), each detachable with 3-pin mini XLR cable connector, single-sided

    Connection Gold-plated mini stereo jack (3.5 mm) & 1/4″ adapter (6.35 mm)


    Foreword

    This unit is a personal purchase. I am not in any way connected to Beyerdynamic. I receive no incentive or whatsoever in writing this review. This is purely my contribution to the hobby.


    Packaging

    Included here are two sets of swappable ear pads, velour and leather. Beyerdynamic has also included two options for cables, either your standard 3M cord or the coiled wire. They also included a big, black, carrying case.

    [​IMG]



    Build Quality

    We’ve come to recognize the term “German-Engineering” as synonymous with exemplary craftsmanship. The DT1770 is no exception. Materials are top-notch, no corners were definitely cut, equating to a build quality that will surely last for years.

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    Fit and Comfort


    The headphones are quite hefty, weighing at 388 g. But this is contrasted with the well-padded headband that balances the weight evenly. The leatherette and the velour pads are very comfortable and could be wore for more than an hour without much discomfort.


    Sound

    The DT1770 pro is equipped with Beyerdynamic’s Tesla technology, which is also utilized in their flagships. According to Beyerdynamic, “Tesla 2.0 systems offer maximum efficiency and ensure precise, completely distortion-free sound quality with the finest resolution and impressive spatial properties even at very powerful output levels.”


    Beyerdynamic has also included two sets of earpads: leatherette and velour, which completely alters the sound. In a nutshell, the leatherette provides more bass, it gives a warmer tonality, and isolates better. While the velour presents a colder and more analytical signature that is typical of studio monitors. I mainly use the leatherette pads for this review.


    Bass

    Bass is full bodied and very punchy, it is well extended and very satisfying. Decay is neither too fast nor sluggish. Presenting just the right amount to give it a very musical character. However, a note to be taken here is that the mid bass has a slight tendency to blend into the midrange. Personally it isn’t a problem as I found that it gives the vocals and stringed instruments a nice weight and timbre, thought others may perceive this differently.

    Midrange

    The midrange has a nice texture to it. I find it to be very well balanced, it doesn’t sound too thick, nor too thin, too forward nor too laidback. It sounds pristine and clear, rendering vocals and a whole variety of instruments with finesse.

    Treble

    This are known to be one of the mildest sounding beyerdynamic in respect to treble. However, I would still describe it as a touch bright, but it never goes to the point of sibilance. Details are rendered impressively. Keep in mind that these are marketed as studio monitors for “musicians, sound engineers, and producers”. This trait can be a double-edged sword as it can be unforgiving to poorly recorded material.


    Soundstage and Imaging

    Soundstage sounds quite “open” for a close designed headphone. But open-back headphones will always sound a bit wider (obviously). The height of its staging gives a good dimension, and to top it off, the imaging, which is my favorite aspect of this headphone is exceptional. Every instrument is simply well defined.


    Conclusion

    The Beyerdynamic DT1770’s sound is a perfect contrast between being musical and analytical. It is engaging and fun, yet it doesn’t spare any details. Crafted from top-notch materials, it is well-built and highly comfortable. It really sets itself apart in the sea of closed headphones


    Sources

    Fiio X7
    Ibasso DX120
    Chord Mojo
    Modded Jazz Amplifier


    Recordings Used

    The Beatles “Love”
    Nobuo Uematsu “Distant Worlds: Music from Final Fantasy - Returning Home”
    Weezer “Teal Album”
    Simon and Garfunkel “The Best of Simon & Garfunkel”
      Light - Man likes this.
  2. Soundsgoodtome
    Reference/Studio tuned headphones with luxury aesthetics. An excellent closed back by Beyerdynamic!
    Written by Soundsgoodtome
    Published Jul 30, 2016
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Looks, clarity, details, slight bass boost, ultra comfort, can be forgiving to bad recordings, German build, 2 cables and 2 pads included
    Cons - Pricey MSRP, 3-pin cable/connector only (no balanced option without mods), a bit large for portable use,
    I do like this headphone quite a bit although I'll be the first to say that I have a soft spot for Beyer phones being my first taste of the audiophile world. [​IMG]
     
    This is a review of a self-purchased unit; they've gone on sale here and there but like any European made phone, it seems to sustain it's MSRP longer. Of course there are an incredible amount of accessories inclded such as a hard case, extra ear pads, and extra cable which is over $100 easily when purchasing individually.

    My Head-fi graph ratings goes:
    Value 7/10 (at $600 as a headphone - not counting extras incld)
    Audio Quality 8/10
    Design 10/10
    Comfort 10/10
    35 out of 40 or 8.75/10 rating
     
    Unboxing: Box looks great on the shelf, straight forward no frills box and inside is the hard case that comes with with headphone/accessories. How was the unboxing experience? It was good, I nothing to complain about and straight forward stuff as it should be.
     
    Build, Misc, Notings:
    These are one of the best looking full sized closed backs I've set my eyes on. The cups have a leather like detail (although is hard plastic), the stitching on the headband reminds me of the same stitching as some of my heavy leather watch bands, the paint scheme with the reflective lettering is super classy, and the velour pads are downright comfy. It's the quintessential Beyerdynamic build with added class. It comes with a hard case that'll hold the extra set of pads as well as extra cable. The two cables are decent, one coiled for shorter use or desktop/table use and the other is a 9' cable for home theater listening, both cables are your typical Beyer cable no frills quality with a rubber outer - very flexible.
     
    Despite being a 250ohm phone these are actually easy to drive. A cell phone that puts out decent power can get these to 80-85% of it's capability. Something like the ALO INTL+ portable dac/amp can drive these 90% of their potential. I've yet to try them with a tube amp but I believe pairing them with a tube amp or hybrid amp would get these to side more into the fun side of the sound and would make an excellent pleasure-listener choice.

    An added note, just for fun I allowed the lady next to me on the train to Portland weeks ago to try these for several songs. I was using my ALO Intl+ to my Lenovo Android tablet and feeding it some London Grammar. I just wanted to get an impression from an average consumer and she said it was a great sounding headphone unlike she's heard before. When asked if she'd pay $500 for it, she said no way. She also owns a set of noise canceling Bose for travel to put into perspective how much she's willing to spend on phones. Those are $250-$300 right?
     
    The bad:
    I understand that this is sold a studio headphone but with the styling done on it, I'm sure Beyer are also selling these to audiophiles looking for an excellent closed back. With the studio headphone I suppose there's no use for a balanced cable, hence going with a 3-pin mini XLR input -- but for people like myself who utilize the 4-pin balanced cable for my amp and other testing purposes, this is a bit of a bummer. No fear, with some modifications you can either directly wire 4 wires into the one side or modify the connector to a 4-pin mini xlr input. Not bad but for those looking to go balanced will be disappointed here as is.

    Another gripe of mine is the large cup design, again I realize this as a studio headphone but the sound signature is so good and the fact that it's a closed back, I kinda wish they went with a Sennheiser/Shure shape in a closed back format for a more subtle look in public. Anything for sound quality? Yea if you don't mind wearing a full sized headphone in public.

    The sound: (all sound impressions are with velour pads)
    Ok so onto the goods immediately. First let's address the soundstage and imaging; with the closed back you're not going to get a speaker imaging/soundstage like sound although for a closed back the DT1770 is above average in the category (moreso on the soundstage than imaging/depth). With the said the instrument separation, placement is fantastic, the level of clarity allows you to pinpoint and monitor one particular instrument at a time (if that's your thing) and stick with it for the entirety of the track. Full symphony tracks are presented very well with placement of instruments where they should be; a front row listener but listening to wide stage where the instruments don't sound like one is on top of another. Imaging and depth is above average at best but considering these are closed back, I'm not complaining one bit -- it doesn't take away from the experience and is easily overlooked with the positives of the phone.

    BASS:
    The bass is tilted to control and tightness but when the track has bass boost, these actually give excellent impact and are capable of great sub-bass extension and even theater-like rumble. One of the highlights for me is it tip-toes the fine line of controlled and enough fun to satisfy an audiophile - there is a slight boost in the bass so these aren't perfectly flat here. Bass-heads look elsewhere, this does not hit as hard or as loose as say the THX00 and has more control than say the Oppo PM3 by a good margin. Overall the bass is stays true to form of a controlled Beyer low frequency but they also allowed a little more to come through than previous models. 0 encroachment of the low-mids and mids with these phones unless the recording has super bass boost.

    To put into listening context, these headphones would shine in a test with say tracks from Overwerk. Excellent recording and production but plenty of bass fun -- a must try!

    MIDS:
    The mids are your typical dry-tilt Beyer but they're neither pushed back nor forward. They're relatively linear to the bass and the highs -- more so on the highs as the bass has an ever slight boost. Vocals both male and female, instruments, background noise, they're all there in full reproduction. No grain, but far from liquid - it is a Beyer after all. Some tubes can remedy this dryness, better to be able to add as subtracting isn't as easy. There is a bit of an odd dip in the mids that may be related to the phone being a closed back but this dip somewhere in the mids does not take away from the sound, still sounding linear throughout.

     
    Highs:
    The highs are well done in this phone as it provides decent extension and air for a studio phone, as well as clarity yet it keeps the peaks at bay even on lesser recordings. They've managed to balance this region out to not sound too forward where it's driving treble detail into your brain (*cough T70) yet still provide details and clarity that people expect from a reference sound. If the tracks suffer from poor production along with heavy compression, the headphone will definitely put it through and there's no forgiveness where there not deserving - save those tracks for warm phones. But for tracks that are borderline bad sounding because of production in other reference phones, the DT1770 seem to have enough forgiveness to allow you to enjoy the listen. Since it rides a fine line, I would presume that with a bright dac and amp this can sound sibilant. With a neutral/bright or neutral setup, these phones hits it on the money which is why I enjoy their tuning.

    When the entire sound comes together, you have a close back phone that is capable of producing a balanced sound which resembles your reference/audiophile tuned headphones. There always seem to be some trade-off with closed backs and in this case it seems to be some reverb/cavern effect along with a sharp dip in the mids but this is easily overlooked when you consider the level of tuning and sound that is offered in a closed phone. I can easily enjoy symphonies to pop to rock to jazz on the DT1770 and allow me to listen like I would with my open backs but with isolation. For this I'm willing to overlook some of the shortcomings and say outright that Beyer has made a fantastic offering - not perfect - but enough to put a smile on my face as I shut the noise out and get lost in the music.

     
  3. piksnz
    Great product from Beyerdynamic overshadowing their flagship v1 lineup such as T5P.
    Written by piksnz
    Published Apr 24, 2016
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Superior build quality, Excellent SQ, Well done lows and sub bass, Tesla 2.0
    Cons - Clamping force uncomfortable, hard to drive
    [​IMG]
      tronco and BAKU like this.
  4. SirBenn21
    Best closed headphones I have ever owned
    Written by SirBenn21
    Published Mar 27, 2016
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Excellent sound, Bass is unbelievably good! Detachable cable, Great extras in the box
    Cons - A little heavy and uncomfortable for long listening sessions
    These headphones comes with a good case that has some nice extras. Two cables, one 3m strait and one coiled cable. You can choose from either a pleather or velour earpads that are in the box.
     
    The initial fit when you put the headphones on is quite comfortable, but after a while I felt the clamp force a bit too strong and that's because I have a large head. And all I had to do was give it a good stretch using a technique I have used on my other headphones.
     
    The DT1770 has 250ohm drivers which I think are pretty efficient. They sound good straight out of my Audiolab MDAC but I got a definite improvement out of my solid state Meier Corda Prehead amp.
    I was also quite surprised how good they sounded out of my ASUS Xonar ST sound card.
     
    If I had to describe the sound of the new Tesla drivers is this. They removed any sibilant in the highs and gave the bass slam and in a really good way. It's such a good sound signature. I'm so tempted to say these are the ultimate closed headphones.
    Instrument separation and sound stage are also excellent.
     
    They also built really well built and are just beautiful to look at.
     
    These headphones RULE!!!
     
    What are you waiting for go buy a pair.
      RockStar2005 and Antonious like this.
  5. enthusiast
    It's a winner.
    Written by enthusiast
    Published Dec 16, 2015
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Build Quality. Control. Dark Defined Perfect Bass. Smooth Highs. Beautiful singing melodic, extremely wide and open Midrange. Very comfortable.
    Cons - I wish it would let itself go a bit more sometimes. But this is Beyers signature. This is the best Beyer I heard and owned so far.

    Comparison with Fostex TH600

     
    I had the TH600 and now the 1770. Both are outstanding headphones and for me the 600 eur range is the most expensive I listened to. I listened to about 30 headphones in my life. In my opinion the Fostex TH600 are more engaging and have the better sound, but the bass is too much, and I like strong bass, yet the bass is definitely too much with them. (albeit being very controlled, dark and deep)

    Equalize them with software and it sound not as good as unequalized. The TH600 has a lovely, dreamy and beautiful overall sound that beats the 1770 (bear in mind I started just listeneing to the 1770 a few hours ago..).

    The Beyers are by far more comfortable for me, because the cups are big enough for my giant ears. I really disklike the cable plug on the earcup touching my sholder when I slightly  turn my head though The Sound with the Beyers is as good as a Beyer can get. Far easier to listen to than the Beyer DT 990 which were open and which sounded so bright that I returned them. The 1770 sound significantly better than the 1350 and the T51i. The soundstage is just much, much wider. Bass, soundstage, control and neutrality are very good with the Beyers as usual. Build quality on both pretty decent.


    Fostex TH600: Dreamy, colored sound that suck you in and wonderfully open soundstage, that sound almost like an open can. Fostex will make you an headphone addict.  After I burned them in - or let it be psychoacoustics - yet they destroy your ears because of their bass.

    Beyers 1770 Pro: Controlled. Neutral. Great, smooth highs, which are not harsh in any way. Excellent Build Quality, less fun sound than the Fostex, but more easy to listen to for long periods of time. Acoustic Jazz Piano sounds excellent. Electronica too. Very comfortable, best comfort in class, probably of them all.

    I strongly think I will add the 1770 to my Beyer collection, being a German Headfi-ist, having a couple of Beyers lying around at home is a must.
     

    Comparison with TH900

     
    I now received my TH900 and can now compare it to the DT1770.
     
    Comfort
    On the TH900 my ears touch the driver, change of pads possible?
    Fostex TH900 is slightly lighter but the Beyers are beefier and more solid.
    Cabling on Beyer is great, detachable and intelligently done. Cabling on the Fostex is inferior, undetachable and Y-Split a bit clumsy.
    Headband on the Beyers is rock-solid and confidence-inspiring. Fostex Headband slightly uncomfy.
     
    Winner: Beyer DT1770
     
    Accessoires
    You get the stand with the Fostex, ugly but useful, and with the Beyers you get 2 Cables and a very nice carriable bag.
     
    Winner: Beyer DT1770
     
    Sound
    You get a very neutral, controlled sound with the Beyers. Its darkness is pretty awesome. The mids are second to none. Really really beautiful mids, like you know them from Beyer. But, and this is a big "but", they hurt my ears, from 9 out of 10 songs I wasn't pleased. Hurting in a way, that I had to turn them up a lot to get the imaging and dimension I want. But then highs were too harsh for my taste. Most notable with classical music. They sounded just too undynamic and non-musical at low and normal volume, despite a beautiful mids-section. I threw Starwars The Force Awakens OST at them and wasn't pleased. I used the DAC audioengine D1 and a Macbook Retina, so nothing too shabby. With HipHop they were great, but then the final deal-breaker was when I put Julie Slick Terroir on. Lots of Bass Guitar and other acoustic elements. Beyers just sounded boring and flat. I did a burn-in with the headphones of my ears about 20 hours, yet Beyers did not open up to me. Only on HipHop and other strongly amplified music they shone.
     
    The TH-900 sounded right after 20 minutes of the same audio material much more musical, much more dynamic. Openess on both are great. I am really surprised how open the Beyers sounded in comparison. I am just 20-min burn in with the TH900, and the mids are more laid-back, the highs more piercing, admittedly, but the bass more potent, the overall sound-signature is different, its hard to describe, its just more-laid-back, more musical, despite the V-shaped sound, which needs better amplification than the Asus Xonar and its Burr-Brown PCM 1792A. I am divided, both are excellent headphones but sound entirely different.
     

    Bang for the Buck, Portability and Conclusion

     
    At below half of the price of the TH900, the Beyers win this category. Also they are much more sturdy and better build than the Fostex. Fostex is like a Jaguar and Beyers like a BMW. Both drive great, but the Jaguar is a live style and sound better. For Mixing and Audio Production, Beyers are probably the more sensible choice. For a Pro-Audio Headphone the Beyers are most probably the best in the World right now. Don't get me wrong. Bass and Control and Mids on the Beyers are absolutely beautiful and I rate them 5 out of 5 stars. But... for the Fostex have this laid-back sound, this easyness, this relaxed reproduction the Beyer lack. In the end the conclusion must be, one can't simply live with just one headphone. And I have to experiment more with amplification.
      Roll, headpfizer and Vartan like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. twiceboss
      please try DT 1770 PRO with Mojo. I believe it will give a big improvement
      twiceboss, Mar 20, 2016
    3. Soundizer
      Thank you for the review. I am not too clear about if you like them or not, perhaps it is just my interpretation.
      You state " from 9 out of 10 songs I wasn't pleased" and yet you give them 4.5 stars.
      Soundizer, Jul 26, 2016
    4. enthusiast
      For what they are they are great. But sonically they are not up to par with my MRSpeakers Ether C's. They are really good Studio Headphone with Studio Quality. If Studio/Pro Area is your cup of tea, then by all means these are hard to beat.
      enthusiast, Jul 31, 2016