1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

Accutone Gemini HD

Rating:
4.21429/5,
  1. Zelda
    Accutone Gemini HD
    Written by Zelda
    Published Jul 10, 2018
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Good sound quality
    Well achieved tuning options
    Build quality on the earpieces
    Cons - Only Comply Foam included
    Should have a better cable and mic.
    Earpieces can be a bit heavy to wear
    REVIEW: Accutone Gemini HD

    gem hd (2).JPG

    Website: Accutone

    Product page
    : Gemini HD

    Overview

    Gemini HD IEM, one of the higher models from Accutone audio company, with a single Beryllium dynamic driver of 8mm diameter, a mix of stainless steel and aluminum shells and three different tuning nozzles. While there are still some reservations on the overall cable quality and the almost none included accessory pack, the Gemini HD still offers a really impressive sound quality at the price of $129.

    gem hd (3).JPG

    Specifications
    • Speaker: 8mm Beryllium dynamic
    • Sensitivity: 105 dB
    • Impedance: 20Ω
    • Weight: 30g
    • Cable: 1.3m, iPhone headset
    • Plug: 3.5mm TRRS
    Price: U$D 129.

    gem hd (4).JPG

    Design


    The current packaging has been changed from the previous releases of the Gemini HD, but nonetheless the earphones arrive in a hassle free solid cardboard box. The accessory pack is below the minimal standard for any IEM in the market regardless its price tag; there are only 2 pairs of Comply Foam tips in medium size (one pair already attached to the nozzle) and a small case. While the inclusion of the foam tips is a nice touch, the lack of a proper silicone eartips selection is unforgivable for a product priced over the $100. What the Gemini HD does include is 3 sets of tuning nozzles, which is a key feature of the product.

    gem hd (5).JPG

    gem hd (1).JPG

    Looking at the earpieces themselves, the build quality is quite good. They’re made of stainless steel material, well finished and without any sharp ends. Same for the different nozzles which are made of good aluminum type and are easy to screw to the front part of the main shell. The form factor goes back to the more traditional (if a bit archaic) cylindrical designs that may not be too fancy nowadays. There is no strain relief but instead a long metal stem.

    gem hd (6).JPG

    The cable quality on the other hand is rather uninspiring. Not being detachable is not a real disadvantage, but it looks and feels very cheap; kind of a standard and mediocre white cable, with a bit rubbery coating, missing a slider, with small y-split and 3.5mm TRRS mic’ plug. The remote control too is made of plastic and doesn’t give a very durable look.

    gem hd (7).JPG

    The fit is very easy with the straight tube design, but finding the correct tips to match the nozzle may take a bit of tries, and only one size foam tips is not helping either. While the earpieces are rather compact and comfortable, they do carry noticeable extra weight, requiring to be adjusted from time to time; using the cable over-ear is possible, but the weight still prevents a fixed fit for long time.

    gem hd (8).JPG

    Sound Impressions

    Having 3 different tuning nozzles not always means a real change on the overall sound presentation, and sometimes the tuning system is poorly achieved. However, on the Gemini HD it is surprisingly well made putting a well perceived different focus on the 3 frequencies, bass, mids and treble. Differences are certainly not day and night, but there is a nice change on the tonality and also in the quantities and position of the bass and midrange with a bit less effect on the treble part. Technically, what the filters are doing here is moderating the bass response which reflects into the midrange and slightly in the low treble, depending on the filter used.

    While the filters labels are “warm”, “balance” and “clear”, it is more relative to the raw driver signature, rather than a universal description.
    The lows start from being powerful, abrasive and too dominant with the red ‘warm’ filter, and then drop down some decibels with the green and blue ones for a much better equilibrium along the whole freq. response. Regardless, the quality is quite good, very enjoyable, and dynamic with good texture. Speed and accuracy is decent but nothing outstanding. While with the red filters the bass gets loose and shadows the lower mids, with the green, and even more with the blue option, it is tighter and more controlled. Extension is somehow limited and sub bass and depth reach is missing a bit giving a more centered effect.

    The midrange is quite favorable, and probably the best deal of the Gemini HD. It is about neutral in position to slightly forward (though overshadowed with the Red filter, and more if the Comply foam are used). Overall, it is smooth, detailed and musical at the same time. Even with the blue ‘clear’ filter the mids are very dynamic and have more emotion. For instance, the Vsonic GR07 (Classic or Bass ed.) is much leaner and flatter, but lacks the ‘fun’ factor of the Gemini if less accurate and airy. Separation and resolution is good too, but vocals are a strong point of this IEM, smooth, sweet and rarely sibilant.

    The highs are mostly smooth and controlled, if missing in the upper extension. They do not stand out in terms of quantity either, but safe from being called dark or too laid back. Only with the blue filters there is some added extra sparkle, but not to classify as a bright tonality.

    Stage is around average, not too narrow but doesn’t give a wide and spacious effect. Synergy is good with any kind of source, from smartphones and small DAPs, and can scale a bit higher with a more dedicated player like the Aune M1s or PAW 5K, but is more on the player side. Nevertheless, the sound of the Gemini HD is very likeable.
      B9Scrambler likes this.
    1. B9Scrambler
      Kind of a bummer to see the packaging downgraded so much, but at least it;s more practical now. Nice review :)
      B9Scrambler, Jul 10, 2018
    2. Zelda
      Thanks.
      I would care less for the packaging, and rather have a decent eartip selection. otherwise, the sound is quite good
      Zelda, Jul 12, 2018
  2. crabdog
    Accutone Gemini HD - Another great tunable option
    Written by crabdog
    Published Feb 21, 2017
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Solid and attractive metal build. Smooth, non-fatiguing sound. Quality accessories.
    Cons - Few bundled accessories. Inline remote design.
    20170122_100813.jpg

     
    Accutone is a company that specializes in hands-free communications solutions but they've taken their experience and expertise and used it to create a series of consumer earphones. From their website:
    Today I'll be looking at Accutone's Gemini HD earphone. Here's what Accutone has to say about it:
    Does it live up to the claims? Follow me to find out.
     
    Disclaimer:
     
    This sample was sent to me for the purpose of an honest review. All opinions and observations here are my own, based on my experience with the product. I'd like to thank Angus from Accutone for the opportunity to test the Gemini HD.
     
    Accutone online store
     
    Product page
     
    Specifications:
     
    Housing
    Stainless steel
    Driver Unit8mm beryllium dynamic driver
    Frequenzy range20Hz-22kHz
    Sensitivity103dB
    Impedance20Ohm
    Weight15 g
    Cable length 1.3m

     
    Packaging and accessories:
     
    Wrapped around the box is a cardboard sheath with a nice image of the earphones on the front as well as the Accutone branding at the top left and at the bottom is some text listing various features, such as Stainless Steel, Audio Tuning Nozzles and beryllium speakers. Over on the back we see a single earphone and three tunable filters. It's a classy shot and looks great but might be a little misleading as none of the filters are actually silver in color.
     
    Underneath the cardboard is a large white, leatherette covered box the same as the one included with the Pisces BA and similar to the kind that you often get when you purchase a wristwatch. It's a nice touch for sure but kind of makes you wonder how much lower the price would be had they used something a little less extravagant. More on that later. Let's crack this baby open. When you open the box you're presented with the earphones and spare filters held securely in a grey foam. This type of experience is something that Accutone does well and it makes you feel that you've just revealed something worthy of the big white box. On the underside of the foam is a cable winder that keeps things neat and also prevents the cable from being kinked when you first take it out of the box.
     
    Underneath the first layer of foam is Accutones's standard carrying case, though this time in white as it was with the Pisces BA. Also present are some spare Comply tips, a card explaining the basic purpose of the different nozzles and a user manual. Okay stop right there. $129 and you provide 2 pairs of Comply tips, neither of which fit my ears? As I alluded to earlier, although I enjoy the experience of revealing the big white box it's not enough to make the overall package feel complete. When you can go to somewhere like AliExpress and find a set of 12 pairs of various size tips for as low as a dollar I feel a bit deflated when presented with a single pair of spare Comply to accompany relatively expensive earphones.
     
    20170122_095909.jpg

     
    20170122_095927.jpg
     
    20170122_100106.jpg
     
    20170122_100259.jpg
     
    Build, comfort and isolation:
     
    Built completely from stainless steel and recyclable aluminum the Gemini HD look and feel great. Yes, they're a little heavier than average but some of my favorite IEMs are weighty metal monsters (KZ ED9, TFZ Balance 2M). These look really nice, from the stainless steel of the main housing to the chrome covered rear with its long stem. On the rear of the IEMs is the Accutone logo. Everything feels solid and durability should not be a concern with these.
     
    From the bottom of the chrome covered stem comes the white cable, the same one provided with the Pisces BA albeit this one is non-detachable. At the top of the cable is a red and blue marker denoting Right and Left respectively. This is a welcome change from the many recent IEMs that have no markings or ones that are near impossible to see. The cable is quite nice. It's fairly supple yet sturdy and doesn't have memory so there are no unsightly kinks or that annoying 'bounciness' that some cables have. On the right side above the Y-splitter is the inline control and microphone. Unfortunately it's the same as the one found on the Pisces BA and Taurus models which has very sharp edges on either side of the central button which continually get snagged on shirt collars. Strain reliefs seem fairly good overall. The cable terminates in an L-shaped plug.
     
    The tuning nozzles are aluminium and have the same polished finish as the rest of the IEMs. They're well machined and very easy to thread when inserting or removing. Occasionally the nozzles would get loose but after I gave them an extra bit of force in the twist they stayed in place and haven't become loose since.
     
    I find these to be very comfortable for extended periods because of the standard shape and smooth finish. They can be worn over-ear or cable down as desired though going over-ear will significantly reduce any microphonics. Isolation is above average for this style IEM probably due to there being no visible vents/ports on the housing anywhere. Fortunately there isn't any driver flex or pressurized feeling that some sealed IEMs cause.
     
    20170122_100806.jpg

     
    20170122_100855.jpg
     
    20170122_101022.jpg
     
    Sound:
     
    Sources used:
     
    FiiO X1ii
    Benjie X1
    PC/MusicBee > Micca Origen+ > Gemini HD
    PC/MusicBee > Audinst HUD-MX2 > Gemini HD
     
    On average these took a couple bumps of extra volume to reach my desired listening levels compared to some of my other IEMs but they're not particularly hard to drive. I found they worked well with everything and don't need an amplifier to shine but a clean source makes a difference.
     
    Tuning nozzles:
     
    There are several tunable IEMs available at present so I'll just briefly cover the nozzles here rather than cause confusion comparing them all. Keep in mind the HD has it's own unchanging sound and the nozzles slightly modify some aspects of that but the underlying characteristics remain. There are 3 nozzles, each having a slightly different presentation:
    1. Blue (Clear)
    2. Green (Balance)
    3. Red (Warm)
     
    It's fairly clear from the labels what these are intended to do and from my experience they do as advertised. I tried them all and ended up using the Green (Balance) nozzles and the sound with those is what I'll be describing below.
     
    Overall sound is full-bodied, smooth and non-fatiguing. Fairly balanced with a bit of warmth added to the bass and lower mids. Soundstage isn't huge but there's great depth and imaging is very good providing an accurate picture of positioning.
     
    Bass is north of neutral but not overly exaggerated or boomy. It has quite an impact but doesn't suffer from mid-bass bloat. Kick drums are nicely etched but not raw and the quantity is executed really nicely, somehow giving that sense of impact without intruding upon everything else. Sub-bass is great too, digging deep but staying controlled due to the hardness of the steel housing I suspect. Bass guitars also have a good edge to them and again that sense of weight without bluster. Very satisfying. Listening to "The Night Subscriber" from Katatonia's The Fall of Hearts the Gemini HD was able to keep pace gracefully during the busy drum sections.
     
    Midrange is full-bodied and clear with a touch of added warmth. The green filters had the best presentation here for my preference. Vocals are silky smooth, rich and engaging with no perceptible coloring or veil. Listening to "I Am Light" by India.Arie  is like drifting down a smooth chocolate river on a marshmallow. The lower-mids have enough warmth and body in them to give orchestral music fullness and string instruments some tasty resonance.
     
    Now onto the last of the holy trinity, the treble. Treble is clear and accurate though it's toned down a bit but compliments the smooth approach of the Gemini HD's other frequencies. This means that the treble is non-fatiguing but still adds some shimmer and airiness. Cymbals have a natural timbre and decay and I didn't detect any sibilance coming through even in bright J-Pop tracks.
     
    Comparison:
     
    Gemini HD vs SHOZY Zero ($60 USD):
     
    These two IEMs sound quite similar actually. Bass has similar levels on both but the Gemini HD has slightly more impact on mid-bass. Treble is also close here between them, both being fairly even without any harshness. It's the midrange where these differ to my ears. The Gemini HD has slightly fuller mids and makes vocals come across more smoothly. When it comes to comfort the Zero comes out in front due to it's lighter weight, smaller size and rounded back. The Zero comes with a decent selection or ear-tips whilst the gemini comes with only Comply tips. The cable of the Gemini HD is much nicer, being more supple, less rubbery and easier to manage.
     
    Gemini HD vs TFZ Balance 2M ($195 USD):
     
    The first thing I noticed was that the Balance 2M requires significantly lower gain to reach the same volume as the Gemini HD ie: the 2M is easier to drive. Sub-bass on the 2M has more presence, giving a deeper and more visceral impact. In the midrange the 2M makes the Gemini HD sound a little veiled in comparison. The TFZ has remarkably clean and sweet mids. For comfort they're both equally as good but the Gemini HD gets the nod for being more convenient if you're taking the IEMs in and out a lot. The accessories that came with the TFZ were absolutely great and made for a very rewarding unboxing where the Gemini HD left me feeling underwhelmed with what was included. The cable on the Accutone is much easier to manage than the tangly copper one provided with the TFZ.
     
    20170122_100809.jpg

     
    Conclusion:
     
    The Gemini HD is a beautifully crafted IEM. The all stainless steel and aluminium build gives it a premium feel and nice weight. The included accessories while sparse are top quality and offer a unique unboxing experience. There are a few tunable IEMs going around at the moment but not all of them are as effective or well executed as Accutone's offering. The sound is full-bodied and smooth, perfect for long periods of listening. These aren't targeted at analytical listeners but for people who simply want to enjoy their music the way they like it. For a single dynamic they offer a good balance of earthy bass, fairly forward midrange and relaxed treble. While the accessories are lacking there can be no doubt regarding the quality of the actual earphones. The Gemini HD is currently listed at $119 USD and to me that's a pretty good deal.
     
    20170122_100126.jpg

      peter123 and B9Scrambler like this.
    1. chickenmoon
      They are vented front and back, front vents are on the nozzles and back vents at bottom between aluminum cylinder and steel part, easy enough to see :wink:. I'm loving those puppies. :)
      chickenmoon, Jul 12, 2018
  3. mark2410
    Accutone Gemini HD Earphone Quick Review by mark2410
    Written by mark2410
    Published Dec 11, 2016
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Mids to die for. So graceful and clean. Delicately beautiful.
    Cons - The “green” filter is more bile coloured. The red filter sounds sucky.
    Accutone Gemini HD Earphone Quick Review by mark2410
     
    Thanks to Accutone for the sample.
     
    Full review here http://www.head-fi.org/t/828710/accutone-gemini-hd-earphone-review-by-mark2410
     
    Brief:  Mids to die for.
     
    Price:  US$129 which is about £102
     
    Specifications:  Err, an 8mm Beryllium driver and impedance is 20 Ohms.
     
    Accessories:  So you get 2 pairs of Comply’s and no silicone tips.  3 pairs of tuning filters and a case that is too thin to fit the things without shoving them in. 
     
    Isolation:  Alright, not super great but fine for out and about and just enough for bus use.  Flight and Tube not so much.  Still you’ll need to remember and use your eyes near traffic or get yourself killed.
     
    Comfort/Fit:  Good, absolutely zero issues on either front, wearing up or down despite their angular edged outer.  Happy to wear them for hours and hours at a time.  Nice.
     
    Sound:  Well prior to this my experiences with Accutone had not be stellar.  Then these came in with the red filters.  Sigh.  They were not great.  Then I changed to the bile coloured filters and suddenly they were a completely different product.  Not just did they no longer suck, they were actually good, very good, damn fine good in fact.  The mids in particular become outstanding.  I don’t know where they were hiding, maybe I’m having a stroke, god knows.  The bass is super clean for a dynamic and really shines when amped, its death isn’t super linear but in the more typical bass things its sooo clean and sculpted. No mid bass hump, though not it’ll be bass light for more mainstream folks but try to resist using the red filter, EQ or bass boosting amp it instead.  Then the treble is nicely refined, little bit more inclined to the shimmer and it doesn’t really ever give a hard edgy bight which is super fine with me.  Though if you want brutality or details hurled at you this won’t do that.  It’s got a sublime tonality and the mid-range being slightly prominent are so sumptuously flowing.  Top marks for the vocals, I don’t know what they did but they are so beautifully rendered, rich and yet not creamed and thickened, such grace to them.  Just fantastically good and ear pleasing vocals on these.  Love them.
     
    Value:  Well they aren’t unbeatable but the mids are just so gorgeous that I’d have not a seconds hesitation in slapping down a hundred quid for them.
     
    Pro’s:  Mids to die for.  So graceful and clean.  Delicately beautiful.
     
    Con’s:  The “green” filter is more bile coloured.  The red filter sounds sucky.
      peter123 likes this.
  4. B9Scrambler
    Accutone Gemini HD: Red, blue, and gold. The colors of greatness.
    Written by B9Scrambler
    Published Oct 7, 2016
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Silky smooth, flexible sound signature - Oozes quality
    Cons - Cable needs more adequate strain relief - Barren accessories
    Greetings Headi-fi!
     
    Today we are going to be looking at the Gemini HD, one of two offerings from Accutone's elite Deluxe Line of earphones.
     
    Since 1969, Accutone has been delivering businesses and regular consumers alike with quality products. Their primary goal is to bring people closer, be that through music or communication. It's clear that they are well-versed in the industry and that the knowledge and experience garnered over numerous decades has been put to good use crafting their latest series of consumer products. From the compact and durable Pegasus C, to the Taurus and it's bass tuning knob, to the hybrid Pisces BA, Accutone has done an excellent job of offering both competitive and unique products. The Gemini HD is no different using 8mm beryllium dynamic drivers and a very effective filter system to provide users with a premium audio experience.
     
    Disclaimer:
     
    I would like to thank Angus with Accutone for providing the Gemini HD in exchange for a fair and impartial review. I am not receiving any financial compensation for this review and all comments and views within are my honest opinions. They are not representative of Accutone or any other entity.
     
    The Gemini HD retailed for 129.00 USD at the time of this review; http://www.audio.accutone.com/gemini-hd
     
    Follow Accutone on Facebook!
     
    A Little About Me:
     
    Over the last couple years I decided to dive head first into the world of portable audio. After reading pretty much the entirety of IjokerI's multi-earphone review thread and being greatly inspired, I took a chance and started writing my own reviews. Fast forward a couple years and I've had the opportunity to write about some great products for wonderful companies like RHA, Havi, FiiO, NarMoo, Brainwavz, and Meze. I don't do it for money or free stuff, but because I enjoy it. If my reviews can help guide someone to an earphone that makes them happy, I'll consider that a job well done.
     
    The gear I use for testing is pretty basic composing of an HTC One M8 cellphone, Topping NX1 portable amplifier, and my aging Asus G73 gaming laptop paired with a Plantronics Rig USB amp. An XDuoo X3 has recently been added to the crew and was used for the majority of my testing. I listen primarily to various EDM sub-genres (liquid drum and bass, breakbeat, drumstep, etc.), hip hop, and classic rock. When it comes to signature preference I tend to lean towards aggressive and energetic, but I try not to limit myself to one signature only. I also tend to listen at lower than average volumes.
     

     
    IMAG1597.jpg       IMAG1598.jpg       IMAG1599.jpg
     

     
    Packaging and Accessories:
     
    A premium product is served well by a premium unboxing experience. While the included accessories are sparse the Gemini HD doesn't disappoint.
     
    Covered in a cardboard sheath displaying the Gemini HD is an immaculately stitched large white leatherette case, very reminiscent of a high end watch or jewelry box. I'm surprised this case isn't mentioned on Accutone's product page or in the store because it's absolutely gorgeous and would be an enticing feature to advertise should someone be looking to buy a high end pair of headphones as a gift. Heck, it even smells amazing.
     
    Opening the box you are greeted by the comforting smell of leather, the Gemini HD, and the gold and blue filters inserted securely in foams cutouts. The red filter comes pre-installed. Lifting the foam layer out you see the cable wrapped neatly underneath around another cutout that ensures the cable isn't kinked or bent upon first use.
     
    The bottom layer of the case holds a now-familiar portable white leatherette case, similar to that provided with the Lyra, Pavo, and Taurus. This is where you will also find a spare pair of Compy eartips, instruction manual, and a cardboard slip explaining the three filters and how they adjust the Gemini HD's sound profile.
     
    While the accessories are limited, everything looks, feels, and is presented like a premium product.
     

     
    IMAG1600.jpg       IMAG1603.jpg       IMAG1607.jpg
     

     
    Build, Design, Comfort:
     
    Of all the Accutone products I've had the opportunity to test, the Gemini HD feels by far and away the most like a premium product. The housings are a mix of aluminum and steel, and have some serious heft to them. You can tell Accutone is proud of the Gemini HD as the rear steel portion of the housing comes covered in a thin wax layer to prevent scratches. Once peeled off, the chromed steel is allowed to shine. While I'm not 100% on board with the design, it is eye-catching. More than once I had someone ask if they were Beats which indicates the market these are aimed at.
     
    The filters take the place of the nozzle and seem to be made from aluminum. The threads are cleanly cut allowing the filters to be smoothly replaced. I found they came loose easily and needed to be tightened them after every other use. A simple solution to this issue would be the inclusion of a small rubber gasket which I've found to work well on other earphones with swappable filters, like the NarMoo R1M.
     
    The cable used is also quite familiar, shared with the Pegasus C, Taurus, and Pisces BA. It feels most at home with the Gemini HD for whatever reason. Unlike on the Taurus and Pisces BA, the Gemini HD's cable is not removable. One massive plus to this cable is that microphonics, while present, are fairly minimal and memory is completely absent. Left and right indicators are denoted by blue and red markers attached to the cable just under where they enter the housings. Strain relief is quite limited, only making an appearance heading into the y-split and into and out of the inline remote. It would have been nice to see some strain relief added to the housings given their weight. Since there isn't any, this might not be the best pair of earphones to let hang around your neck if you are apt to do this.
     
    Using the included Comply foam eartips, the Gemini HD is a pretty comfortable earphone despite the weight. I didn't have any issues with them coming loose or causing any discomfort from pressure points. With some silicone tips, it was another story. The housing would insert far enough for the sharp edges to touch my ears. This would cause hotspots and discomfort near immediately. The weight would also cause them to come unseated while walking around. If you are planning to use silicone tips with the Gemini HD, I recommend choosing something with a long core such as the tips used with the Huawei AM12.
     
    The inline mic is made entirely of plastic and feels fragile, especially when compared to the solid materials chosen for the housings. The buttons depress with well-defined clicks and are easy to tell apart from each other due to the ergonomic design. Microphone quality is simply alright. My voice comes through fairly clear, though there is some notable background static that intrudes on your conversations. Since the Gemini HD has an iDevice support remote, only the centre button worked with my Android devices.
     
    Overall the Gemini HD is a well built earphone made from durable, high quality materials. The cable could use some additional strain relief, but it feels at home and appropriate on the Gemini HD.
     

     
    IMAG1608.jpg       IMAG1609.jpg       IMAG1612.jpg
     

     
    Sound:
     
    Tips: The Gemini HD comes with two sets of Comply foam eartips. These are a good match and aid in providing and maintaining a very smooth sound regardless of the filter used. When it comes to silicone tips, the Gemini HD pairs well with something with a mid-size bore like those from the UE600 or Mixcder ANC-G5. Huawei AM12 tips also sound excellent.
     
    Amping: The Gemini HD played well through any source I tossed at it. Through an amp, bass hit with more authority. Through the HTC One M8 or XDuoo X3 alone they had decent punch but adding the Topping NX1 to the mix gave them some additional confidence. If you want to get the most out of the Gemini HD an amp would serve you well, but it's not required to get an enjoyable sound out of them.
     
    This earphone is characterized by a warm, overly smooth signature that sacrifices a bit of detail for listening longevity. The Gemini HD comes with three set of filters. Preinstalled are the "Warm" red filters which are bass enhanced. They as expected offer up the greatest quantities of bass. They sounded good, but with these filters installed the Gemini HD took on a more v-shaped signature and the bass came across somewhat bloomy and sluggish. The midrange remained clear and unimpeded, but sounded as if it was playing second fiddle to the low end.
     
    The "Balanced" Gold filters dial down the bass somewhat, but its still plagued by the same mildly bloomy sound the red filters caused. I also found them to be somewhat less lively than the other two filters, and as a result they were the least enjoyable. That doesn't mean they sounded bad by any means, just that the other two filters made my music feel more alive.
     
    The blue "Clear" filters dial down the bass even further to give you the most focused experience and detailed sound. The blue filters were my favorite by a wide margin as I found they still offered up a good quantity of bass but removed the sluggish, bloated feeling of the other two filters. They also seemed to offer the most treble presence and detail when compared to the other two options. The Gemini HD's excellent midrange was allowed to step up when using the blue filter as it was no longer overshadowed by the extra bass on offer through the gold and especially red filters.
     
    Instrument separation is excellent aided along by a fairly wide and deep soundstage. The Gemini HD leave a clean black background to your music allowing for good imaging and instrument placement. Their single 8mm beryllium driver makes for a pleasantly natural and relaxing sound that is as far from fatiguing and harsh as you can get before you start edging into a bland sound.
     
    Overall the Gemini HD is a wonderful sounding product that is quite capable. It sounds notably more impressive than many of the budget hybrids I've listened to as of late, and is very competitive in it's price range.
     

     
    IMAG1614.jpg       IMAG1601.jpg       IMAG1617.jpg
     

     
    Select Comparisons:
     
    NarMoo R1M (29.99 USD): The R1M was my first foray into earphones that use a filter system to alter sound. Where the Gemini HD has interchangeable filters in front of the driver, NarMoo's offering changes out filters via the rear of the housing. The black filter is the equivalent to the Gemini's red filter. This filter turns the R1M in an overly bassy earphone with little control.
     
    The gunmetal filter is the equivalent to the Gemini's gold filter, making the R1M more balanced. I feel in this orientation it sounds most similar to the Gemini with the blue filter, but lacks the smoothness and refinement. It's also still slightly more v-shaped.
     
    The silver filter boosts treble and removes bass. This makes the R1M quite harsh, but improves detail. Accutone's blue filter takes a much more graceful approach by simply dialing out more bass than the gold filter. This naturally brings the treble and mids to the forefront.
     
    Moving from the R1M to the Gemini HD is a natural progression giving you a similar experience but with more focused and effective changes via filter swaps. You will have to give up some durability, however. NarMoo's offering also has solid metal housings and a thick, beefy flat cable.
     
    Echobox Finder X1i (199.00 USD): The Finder X1i is like the Gemini HD's rowdy cousin that is always getting itself in trouble. It shares a similar three filter system, but unlike the Gemini's filters which mostly make adjustments to bass quantity, the X1i's filters leave the bass alone and adjust it's always very present treble quantity.
     
    You can make them overly bright with the red filters, which I guess would be the Gemini's blue filter equivalent. The black filters are the "Balanced" option and have a similar effect to the Gemini HD's gold filters. They make their respective earphones a little dull. The grey filters tame the treble the treble the most making them seem to be the bassiest (and my fav of the bunch).
     
    Where the Gemini HD is warm, smooth and relaxing to listen to, the Finder X1i is loud, unforgiving, and in your face. The Gemini HD can be used for hours without fatigue. With the Finder X1i, fatigue sets in very quickly as a result of their energetic sound. They are similar when it comes to soundstage, imaging, and separation. The Gemini HD works well with pretty much anything I toss at it where the X1i needs quality files and a good source. It is much more revealing than the Gemini HD and impresses most under the right circumstances. The Gemini HD can impress whenever, wherever, just not to the extent of the Finder at it's best.
     
    These two earphones are opposite sides of the same coin. If you like bright and energetic, the Finder X1i would suit your preferences more so than the Gemini HD. If you prefer a smoother more mellow sound that is still quite technically proficient, Accutone's offering is definitely worth your time.
     

     
    IMAG1625.jpg       IMAG1621.jpg       IMAG1628.jpg
     

     
    Overall:
     
    When I was advised the Gemini HD was on the way, I hopped onto Accutone's website to read up on them. Sometime between now and then, the price dropped from above 200 USD (218 USD if my memory serves me right) to the current price of 129.00 USD. They were an excellent bargain at their original price offering up an amazing unboxing experience, wonderful materials with a striking (some might say polarizing) design, and one of the smoothest, cleanest signatures I've had the pleasure to hear. At 129.00 USD, the Gemini HD is pretty much a no brainer and is a very easy recommendation if you want a premium experience at a more than reasonable price.
     
    Thanks for reading!
     
    - B9Scrambler
     
    ***** ***** ***** ***** *****
     
    Test Albums/Tracks
     
    BT - This Binary Universe
    Gramatik - The Age of Reason
    Hail Mary Mallon - Are You Going to Eat That?
    Infected Mushroom - The Legend of the Black Shawarma
    Daft Punk - Random Access Memories
    Skindred - Roots Rock Riot
    Massive Attack - Mezzanine
    The Crystal Method - Tweekend
    Aesop Rock - None Shall Pass
    The Prodigy - The Day is My Enemy
    Gorillaz - Plastic Beach
    Grand Funk Railroad - Inside Looking Out
    1. View previous replies...
    2. B9Scrambler
      Thanks for the tips. I'll check the site out.
      B9Scrambler, Oct 7, 2016
    3. Glebuzzz
      Can you compare Titan 5 and Gemini HD?
      Glebuzzz, Dec 26, 2016
    4. B9Scrambler
      @Glebuzzz I would like to but the Titan 5 was only with me for a short time; review tour. I remember it was quite warm and bassy. Wouldn't be shocked it it competed directly against the Gemini HD.
      B9Scrambler, Jan 11, 2017
  5. peter123
    Great tunable single dynamic from Accutone
    Written by peter123
    Published Oct 3, 2016
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Solid built, great sound, tuning filter system
    Cons - Low on accessories, cheap cable, no chin slider
    This is a review of the Accutone Gemini HD IEM’s.
     
    IMG_4195.jpg IMG_4196.jpg
     
    IMG_4202.jpg IMG_4215.jpg
     
    The Accutone Gemini HD was sent to me for free from Accutone for the purpose of me reviewing it. I’d like to grab the opportunity to say thank you to Angus at Accutone for letting me try them out, THANK YOU!
     
    The Accutone Gemini HD is on sale at the Accutone web store and the price at the time of this review was $129:
     
    http://www.audio.accutone.com/gemini-hd
     
    I’m not in any way affiliated with Accutone.
     
    About Accutone Audio:
    Accutone Audio has been around for over 40 years but it’s only the last couple years they’ve started to produce consumer oriented in ear monitors. Before that they were fully focused on making speakers and professional equipment for call-centers and other similar business. This is what they say about themselves on their homepage:
     
    “We love music. Sometimes it feels like music is the only thing that really unites us. It is the medium which truly transcends culture, race, gender and age. Music is the most effective means to bring people closer. Although this may be good enough of a reason why we build headsets, it is definitely not the reason why we are able to build excellent headsets.
     
    Accutone has been making some of the world's best headsets for decades, and our goal has always been about bringing people closer. In the past, our focus was on providing the best communication tools for businesses in the form of telecommunication headsets for call centers and corporations. We know that in order to really bring people closer, we have to build headsets with great sound quality, reliability and durability. We are able to do so, because we are passionate about what we do, and we have the knowledge and experience of how to make the best headset.
     
    But we haven't forgotten why we started everything in the first place. We love music, and we want everyone to be able to enjoy music in the most accurate form as our beloved musicians intended. If we are able to do that, we will have achieved our goal of bringing the world closer.”
     
    The Gemini HD is my first experience with an Accutone product so let’s find out more about them.
     
    About me:
    I’m a 44 year old music and sound lover that changed my focus from speakers to headphones and IEM’s about five years ago. At that time I realized that it wasn’t realistic for me to have all the different setups that I wanted and still house a family of four children and a wife so my interest turned first to full sized headphones and later also IEM’s.
     
    My preferences are towards full sized open headphones and I believe that also says something about what kind of sound signature I prefer (large soundstage in all directions, balanced and organic sound).
     
    My music preferences are pretty much all over the place (only excluding classical music, jazz and really heavy metal). My all-time favorite band is Depeche Mode although I also listen to a lot of grunge/indie, singer/songwriter/acoustical stuff as well as the typical top 40 music.
     
    I do not use EQ, ever.
     
    I tend to value function over form within reasonable limits.
     
    I’m a sucker for value for money on most things in life Head-Fi related stuff is no exception.
     
    Built and accessories:
    The Accutone Gemini HD is an in-ear monitor featuring one 8mm beryllium coated dynamic driver.
     
    AFAIK it comes only in one flavor: in the color white with a microphone.
     
    The cable has a compact and very nice 90 degree 3.5 mm connector that feels very reliable.
     
    The cable is round and flexible but still feels a bit on the cheap side. Although they’re possible to wear over the ears this doesn’t feel natural to me with them and wearing them straight down does unfortunately mean that there are a bit of microphonics present when moving around, not a big deal but it’s still there. Unfortunately they’re also missing a chin slider which is a shame to me since I love my chin slider. The strain reliefs are in place and the one on the right side is red while the one on the left side is pale blue, very clever. However the strain reliefs on my pair was not properly fastened so they move around the cable and leave a gap between themselves and the housing meaning that there’s still some pressure on the place where the cable is fastened to the housings.
     
    The build in general seem very solid. The housings are all stainless steel and feel well made and very solid and the Y-split is also solid without being overly large.
     
    They also include a microphone for i-products. The answer/end call as well as pause/play feature also works with Android but the volume doesn’t. The quality of the microphone seems to be very good. 
     
    As already mentioned the Left/Right markings are very easy to spot.
     
    The retail package is very nice for the price point but unfortunately the accessories are quite spare and include the following:
     
    2 pairs Comply foam tips
    1 pouch to store them in when not in use
     
    I'd really liked for Accutone to include at least some standard silicon tips since the supplied Comply's doesn't help them to reach their sonic potential in my opinion. 
     
    The Accutone Gemini HD is slightly harder than average to drive but still worked very well with all the sources I’ve tried it with including cellphones. I don’t find them to benefit significantly from a more powerful amplifier but the do benefit from a good source and perform best with a clean and clear source.
     
    IMG_4175.jpg IMG_4242.jpg
     
    IMG_4185.jpg IMG_4231.jpg
     
    IMG_4229.jpg IMG_4239.jpg
    Home made chin slider
    IMG_4213.jpg IMG_4205.jpg
     
    IMG_4218.jpg IMG_4220.jpg
     
    The specs:
    Housing
    Stianless steel
    Driver Unit
    8mm dynamic driver
    Frequenzy range
    20Hz-22kHz
    Sensitivity
    103dB
    Impedance
    20Ohm
    Weight
    15 g
    Cable lenght
    1.3m

     
    Fit and ergonomics:
    Despite being made of stainless steel and naturally quite heavy the Gemini HD is very comfortable to wear and stay I my ears without any problem. I don’t get any “hot spot” from wearing them and can use them for hours without any discomfort. The fit is, due to the design, going to be quite shallow and they fit well with the included foam tips but I really don’t think they sound their best with them so I’ve ended up using them with some double flange silicone tips.
     
    Isolation is about average, maybe slightly over if using the included foam tips. With music playing isolation is really not a big issue with them.
     
    Filter system:
    The filter system is a nozzle based one which means that you can replace the front of the nozzle and by doing so you’ll change the way they sound. You can tune them for the sound you like or even after the music you listen too. This is the same kind of system used on the Trinity Audio offerings among others.  I’m usually not crazy about these kinds of solutions since many times I’m still having a problem finding the perfect tuning for my liking and I also feel that it doesn’t push the sound engineer to make the perfect tuning. That’s just my opinion though and I know a lot of other people really like this.
     
    The three different filters included are the following:
     
    Blue:
    The clear filters. With these the amount of bass is almost on par with the Green filters (just a tad less) but vocals are more forward and the overall sound is significantly more airy. Treble does also have the best extension with these.
     
    Green:
    The balance filters. With these the sound is well balanced but also noticeable more intimate with lesser amount of air than both the other options. Bass is slightly more present than with the blue filters but still quite a bit less than from the red filters.
     
    Red:
    The warm filters. Definitely the most bassy ones, mid-bass especially has quite strong presence and bleeds a bit into the midrange. They’re also the most v-shaped among the filters. That being said I’ve had a lot of IEM’s with both more and worse bass and the amount of air is still fairly good.
     
    On contrary to my normal conclusion with filters I actually think all three of these has their merits but while the red and green ones are good I find the blue one to be my preferred ones and the rest of this review will be with the blue filters on unless anything else in mentioned. The Gemini HD will always be the Gemini HD though, no matter what filter one choose but I’m impressed with the way Accutone has mange to get three so good and yet different tunings from it.
     
    IMG_4236.jpg IMG_4182.jpg
     
    Sound:
    I’ve used them back and forward in the last month and they’ve played for well over 100 hours. I’ve used them both around the house and when out and about and I haven’t really found any significant weaknesses in the way they’re designed.
     
    I’ve used them with my LG G5 phone and the bit Opus #11 as well as the Benjie S5 DAP and they’ve worked very well with all of them. That being said I like them the most with a source that doesn’t add any particular warmth to the presentation.
     
    As already mentioned I enjoy the Accutone Gemini HD the most with double flange tips.
     
    Demo list:
    Mark Knopfler – Sailing to Philadelphia
    Røyksopp (Feat.Susanne Sundfør) – Save Me
    Ane Brun – These Days
    Michael Jackson – Dirty Diana
    Metallica – Die Die My Darling
    The Peter Malick Group – Immigrant
    Eva Cassidy – Songbird
    Thomas Dybdahl – A Lovestory
    Norah Jones – Don’t Know Why
    Celldweller – Unshakeable
    Jack Johnson – Better Together
    Seinabo Sey – Younger (Kygo remix)
    Dire Straits- So Far Away
    Passenger – Let Her Go
    Lupe Fiasco - Deliver
    Morrissey – Earth Is the Loneliest Planet
     
    The overall sound signature on the Accutone Gemini HD is v-shaped (more or less depending on the filter in use), soft, smooth and easy going with a good bass presence.  
     
    The sub-bass extension is quite good and although there’s some roll off on the deepest notes there’s definitely enough depth and presence to give a good fundament will all kind of music. The layering in the lower bass is also good. Mid-and upper bass is less present than sub-bass making for a very clean presentation with bass bleed happening only occasionally. The quality of the bass is quite good but its characteristic is a touch on the soft side, something that I personally find matching the rest of the frequencies and overall presentation of the Gemini HD very well.
     
    The midrange is slightly recessed and feels very well balanced and controlled. Although I wouldn’t describe the midrange as full and lush I would not call it thin either, rather clean, natural and airy. Male vocals and string instruments has enough weight to feel natural and female vocals are very enjoyable and non-fatiguing.
     
    The treble extension is ok and has it has enough richness that it manages to never get harsh or fatiguing. I’d wished for a bit better extension but the overall treble presentation is still very good and words as airy and seductive comes to mind.
     
    Clarity and micro details are about average, maybe slightly over, for a dynamic IEM at this price point. You won’t get that amazing clarity that a good BA driver can give you but they still manage quite well. Soundstage in all directions is good and feels very well balanced making for a very natural sounding overall presentation with no obvious disturbing peaks to my ears. Sense of 3D presentation is ok without being great and only occasionally do I get that out of the head feeling with them.
     
    Comparison:
    Please note that the comments in the comparison section are not in absolute terms but in comparison between subject A and B. This means (as an example) that if subject A is found to be brighter than subject B it does not necessarily mean that subject A is bright sounding in absolute terms. I hope this makes sense.
     
    These comparisons were done listening from my phone through the LH Labs Geek Out V2+ Infinity.
     
    SIMGOT EN700 ($99) vs Accutone Gemini HD:
     
    IMG_4190.jpg
     
    Compared to the Gemini the sub-bass on the SIMGOT EN700 don’t reach as deep while bass quality is a touch better. Mid-bass is quite a bit more present on the Gemini’s and they’re also over all a notch warmer sounding making their presentation fuller across the frequencies. The midrange on the EN700’s is more forward but the Gemini’s have fuller presentation and vocals sound more natural with them. Treble extension is also pretty similar with a slight advantage to the EN700, and once again the presentation is fuller on the Gemini’s. The soundstage width and height is pretty similar on both but the Gemini’s has quite a bit better depth, timbre to the notes and 3D presentation.
     
    I find the Gemini HD more comfortable due to the memory wire on the EN700.
     
    I like the angled connector better on the Gemini’s but apart from that they both feel fairly well built with the cable being the worse part on both.
     
    They EN700 are much easier to drive.
     
    Isolation is better on the Gemini’s.
      
    AAW Nebula 2 ($149) vs Accutone Gemini HD:
     
    IMG_4191.jpg
     
    These two does actually sound surprisingly similar despite the Nebula 2 being a single BA/single DD hybrid. Compared to the Gemini HD the Nebula 2’s has a similar amount of sub-bass and only a touch less mid-bass presence. The midrange is also quite similar in characteristic on both but vocals are more forward and male voices are ever so slightly fuller on the Nebula 2’s while the opposite is true for female vocals. The treble extension is a bit better on the Nebula 2. The Nebula 2 has a slightly thinner and more airy treble. Despite the EN700 being the brighter of the two the PMV’s has at least the same amount of clarity and detail retrieval. The Nebula 2’s has a little bit better detail retrieval and clarity as well as a bit wider soundstage while depth and amount of air is quite similar. The Nebula 2 also manage to present a better 3D feeling and a more out of the head presentation.
     
    Fit is better for me with the Gemini’s since I’m not very fund of the memory wire on the Nebula 2.
     
    Build quality is good on both but I prefer the cable on the Nebula 2.
     
    The Nebula 2 is slightly easier to drive.
     
    Isolation is a little bit better on the Gemini HD.
     
    Aurisonics Rockets ($249) vs Accutone Gemini HD:
     
    IMG_4188.jpg
     
    The Rockets, although discontinued, are still a very popular sigle dyniamic IEM that were often sold for $149. Compared to the Gemini HD the Rockets have less sub-bass presence and doesn’t reach as low. The Gemini’s does also have quite a bit more mid-bass presence. The Rockets have a more forward mids with an even smoother and lusher characteristic. They both have excellent vocal reproduction but the singer is more forward in the mix with the Rockets. The treble on the two are pretty similar with a bit fuller presentation on the Rockets while the Gemini’s has slightly better extension but is also thinner. Soundstage in all directions is quite similar. The overall presentation of the Rockets is more even.  
     
    I find the Rockets to be the more comfortable of the two.
     
    Build quality is better on the Rockets but then again they’re on of the most well built IEM’s I own.
     
    The Gemini HD’s are easier to drive.
     
    Isolation is much better on the Rockets.
     
    Summary:
    The Accutone Gemini HD is a very good single dynamic offering. To be completely honest it was surprisingly good to me which is always very pleasant. It doesn’t quite reach up to the level of performance of my $150 favorites such as the CKR9’s and Nebula 2 but those both have two drives each and cost slightly more. On the other hand I find them to be significantly better than the $100 offerings SIMGOT EN700 and the Nebula One which both also are single dynamics. As a matter of fact I cannot, from the top of my head,  come up with a cheaper single dynamic that I actually enjoy more.
     
    Their stainless steel housings gives great confidence that they should last for a long time and their overall easy going, and very good, sound combined with a well implemented filter system for tuning the sound to your preference still make them a very solid offering at their price in my opinion. They also work very well with all the kinds of music that I tend to listen to. 
     
    IMG_4177.jpg
      mgunin, kvad, crabdog and 3 others like this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. jant71
      Funny as they come packaged and presented wonderfully but I find the earphones themselves not very attractive :) At least they sound goo!
      jant71, Oct 3, 2016
    3. B9Scrambler
      Excellent review Peter! Been listening to these for the better part of a month now and am with you for the most part. @jant71 They've been mistaken for Beats a few times when I was out in public, haha.
      B9Scrambler, Oct 3, 2016
    4. peter123
      Thank you guys :)
      peter123, Oct 6, 2016
  6. Cinder
    The Accutone Gemini HD is a Premium Experience With a Focus on Felixibility
    Written by Cinder
    Published Jun 15, 2016
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Versatile tuning-nozzle system allows the user to pick which sound signature the Gemini HD adopts. The driver-housing is built from sturdy materials.
    Cons - Chrome paint may chip, and the thin cable isn't confidence inspiring. Apple only controls.

    IMG_0103.jpg

     

    The Accutone Gemini HD is a Premium Experience With a Focus on Felixibility

    The Gemini HD certainly does feel like a high end pair of earphones. However, despite it’s high-end construction materials, I have some durability concerns that make me a little averse to its high price point. However, if you are prepared to baby your earphones, the detail and versatility of the sound signature may make these earphones the ones for you.

    Sound Signature

    The Gemini HD has a special feature, albeit not a unique one, that makes it a little more complex to review. It is capable of swapping tuning nozzles, little components that are screwed onto the driver housing, that modulate the sound signature. Unlike the sound filters utilized by the Macaw GT100s, the tuning nozzles heavily change the sound signature of the Gemini HD. As such, I’ll break down each part of the sound signature into three sub-categories: one for each tuning filter.
    Greens: The flat filter.
    Blues: The highs filter.
    Reds: The bass filter.
    Highs
    Greens: Highs are clear, and well balanced with the rest of the sound. They are detailed and capable of accurately relaying the beginning of Detroit Rock City, by KISS. Additionally, the small grunt in the begging of Face To The Floor by Chevelle, which is inaudible with most of my other earphones, was clear and easy to distinguish.
    However, I did find that actual vocals can be rather flat and unappealing in certain songs on my Nexus 6P. Strangely, this wasn’t the case when the very same songs were played off of my desktop PC.
    Blues: The highs were notable brought forward, and were very bright. It didn’t increase detail by any significant amount, and sacrificed attention to the mids and lows.
    An example of change would be the vocals of Inside Out by Eve 6. While the greens presented a very cohesive mix of vocals, high-hats, and guitars, the blues brought the vocals and high-hats in front of the guitars, making the vocals much more commanding of the song.
    When listening to electronic music, I found the highs to be fatiguing.
    Reds: The highs of the reds are pretty shallow and flat. There isn’t much depth, and the highs take a back-seat to the mids and bass. While electronic music remains largely intact, I found rock songs to suffer from a lack of definition.
    Mids
    Greens: The mids are very appropriately defined in the greens. I appreciate it, as it helps fill out many of the songs that would otherwise have missing detail. For example, Fall by Daft Punk, and Overture, also by Daft Punk, had much of their detail restored by the greens.
    Blues: The blues didn’t push the mids too far back, but made it difficult to distinguish fine detail that is present while using the greens.
    Reds: The red filters seem to slightly amplify the lower-end of the mids. A welcomed change in electronic music such as Promises by Nero and many of Ellie Goulding’s songs.
    Lows
    Greens: The lows were much more in control and defined than with earphones such as the Thinksound Rain2. I really enjoy the depth they took on without blowing out the rest of the song. In Bloom by Nirvana, a song which is often abused by bass-heavy earphones, remained detailed and clear — an issue I took with the standard Gemini.
    Far From Home by Five Finger Death Punch was reproduced exceedingly well by the Gemini HDs while using the greens. The lows and sub-bass were thundering without overpowering the finer parts of the song.
    Blues: The lows are tapered off quite steeply with the blues in order to keep the highs in control and undistorted. I found that they remained detailed, but rather recessed.
    Reds: The reds seem to be attempting to recreate the sound signature of the standard Gemini. While I am personally not a fan, as I listen to more than just electronic music, I find that it does have a certain appeal to it.
    Bass
    Greens: Bass is controlled, but present. It doesn’t overwhelm the songs, but can resonate quite deeply when it needs to. For example, the bass in Lights (Bassnectar Remix) by Ellie Goulding was sonorous and deep without distorting or making the rest of the sound washed out.
    Blues: The bass is less present than with the greens, but has almost the same sub-bass response.
    Reds: Again, the bass-response of the reds is quite similar to that of the standard Gemini. It washes over the entire song and covers up the detail of the mids. While vocals manage to remain in control of the song as a whole, the bass wrestles the focus of the music away from almost all the other instruments.Sound Isolation
    Sound isolation is really good with the Gemini HD. It’s above average for sure, and I am confident that the included Comply eartips have something to do with that. While washing dishes or doing the laundry, the Gemini HD managed to fend off all outside sounds, barring some loud metallic clangs from a pan I dropped.
    Sound Staging
    Sound staging is probably the most impressive part of these earphones. It has superb left / right separation, excellent width, and an above-average depth. It beats out every other in-ear solution I’ve tested so far in this respect.
    IMG_0107.png

    Comfort

    Comfort was not an issue at all. The Gemini HD comes with two pairs of Comply eartips — a welcome addition. However, for those of you that swear by silicone, you will be disappointed. The Gemini HD does not have them included in the original packaging.
    The sharp angles of the Gemini HD’s design was not an issue for my ears, and the weight of the metal build did not weigh the driver housing down too heavily. However, like the standard Gemini, it is not possible to lay on one’s side while using these earphones.
    IMG_0109.jpg
     

    Portability

    I found that the Gemini HD was pretty portable. However, my usual qualm with Accutone products is their apparent need to include rather large in-line controls with all their products. I find it unnecessarily bulky. Additionally, the in-line controls, while a nice addition, make it difficult to coil the earphones up when attempting to put them back in their included carrying case or in my pocket.

    Durability

    Accutone claims to have made the Gemini HD entirely out of reclaimed aluminum and steel. Right off the bat, I take issue to this claim. While the driver housings are indeed made of metal, the inline controls are bona fide plastic, something that even the $60 Macaw GT100s was able to avoid.
    Furthermore, the chrome part of the driver housing is merely paint. Underneath lies a white material. I do not know what it is, but it feels rather hard. You may be wondering, how do I know what is under the chrome paint? Well, funny story is, my unit is already chipped. I do not know how this happened, but no matter the reason, short of it being dropped (it hasn’t been), chipping on a $220 pair of earphones is unacceptable, especially in as short as 3 days.
    There is also a portion of the driver-housing made from brushed aluminum. I have kept my pair of earphones in their case when not in use, and yet the aluminum is already exhibiting minute dents and scratches. Not cool.
    The cabling is another concern for me. While other earphone makers have made some reinforcements to the cabling of their products when they are made out of heavy materials such as metal, Accutone appears to not have actually done anything. The cable connections to the driver housing are direct, with no stress-relief mechanisms at all. While I doubt this is an issue for people who take good care of their headphones, any sort of rough usage will likely cause deterioration long run, more so than with other, lighter earphones.

    Inline Controls & Mic

    The inline controls are iOS compatible. While this is a frustrating inclusion for those of us with Android devices, it is an appreciable goodie for Apple users. It functions as intended on Apple devices, and even has pause/play/fast forward functionality on Android devices. However, I find that it feels rather cheap, as it is made out of a light and flimsy material. There is also a rather garish Accutone branding on the back which I find unnecessary.

    Accessories

    The Gemini HD comes with two pairs of Comply eartips, three tuning nozzles, and a small leather case. I like how few extras there are, as I don’t really ever end up using any of the silly silicone eartips often included with other earphones, as I’ll generally opt to use Comply.
    However, I find the case in need of improvement. It’s essentially a white version of the one that came with the original Gemini. It’s also not very durable, and scratches and scars very easily. It’s not as good a solution as the pouch included with the Macaw GT100s, but is more protective than the likes of the Thinksound Rain2.
    Accutone also offers a complementary laser engraving service for the Gemini HD when you buy through their online store. I’ve gotten mine engraved, and it came out very well.

    Conclusion

    While I find the Gemini HD has something for everyone sound-wise, is very comfortable, and styled well, I have a hard time recommending it to other because of my concerns with it’s durability. While I am confident that I can personally keep it in good working condition for a long time, I can make no such guaranties to to others. I also struggle with the price tag. While I do not think that it is worth the $220 MSRP it currently has, the discounted price of $128 on the official Accutone online store makes it a little more attractive.
    In short, the Accutone Gemini HD is a versatile, but fragile, pair of earphones I can recommend to anyone confident in their headphone handling skills.
      mgunin and B9Scrambler like this.
  7. BloodyPenguin
    Pick Your Flavor, the Accutone Gemini HD
    Written by BloodyPenguin
    Published Nov 13, 2015
    4.0/5,
    Pros - Great Solid Build, Multiple Sound Signatures Available, Big Quality Storage Case
    Cons - Thin Non-Detachable Cable, Only Apple Controls
    --
    Let me introduce the Gemini HD, this is the flagship of the Accutone earphone product line.

    http://www.audio.accutone.com/#!gemini-hd/os739
     
    The unique feature of the Gemini HD is to change its sound signature at will.  Included you will find three different tuning nozzles to use.  Below I will break down the various options, how they sound and the overall package that Accutone has to offer with the Gemini HD.
     
    P1050401.jpg
    All photos were taken by me, no stock pictures from Accutone were used for this review
     
     
     
    *Packaging*

    The packaging, is basically the case.  The case though is beautiful, big and tough.  Inside you will find the Gemini packed snuggly in its laser cut bed along with two extra tuning nozzles. 
     
    P1050378.jpg    P1050379.jpg    P1050381.jpg
     
     
     
    *Accessories*

    - Small Carrying Pouch
    - 1 (Extra) Pair Comply Foam Tips
    - 2 (Extra) Tuning Nozzles
     
    The little pouch is quite nice and firm. There is a little magnet that snaps the flap shut, keeping your Gemini HD nice and safe inside.

    This is the first set of earphones I have ever seen that does NOT come with any silicon tips.  For me, that is a pleasant surprise as I am a huge fan of the Comply tips.  For me, foam tips create the best and most comfortable seal.
     
    I won’t get too much into the Tuning Nozzles at this time.  I will just say that the Gemini HD came with the red (warm) set installed.   The two extra nozzles in the box were the blue (clear) and green (balanced).
     
    P1050385.jpg
     
     
     
    *Build*

    The housings are made of all metal materials, which makes them EXTREMELY tough, yet still beautiful in a machined sorta way. 

    While this is the flagship of the earphone Accutone line, you will see that detachable cables were not added.  Personally I like to have this feature as if I snag the cable on something, I will just pop out the connection and not have to worry about destroying the earphone.
     
    The cable itself is on the thin side, though connected with decent strain reliefs all around.

    P1050387.jpg
     
    P1050393.jpg
     
     
     
    *Fit*

    The metal housings might be quite heavy, but they are still relatively small.  I had no issues inserting the Gemini HD, though once in, I was quite aware of the earphone weight.
     
    With the for mentioned Comply Foam Tips, I was able to achieve a good seal with decent comfort.  Those looking for silicon options might have to buy some cheap ones or rummage through their drawers to find a set that fits.  For most of us Head-Fiers, this should not be a problem as we have hundreds of them lying around.
     
    P1050388.jpg
     
     
    *Function*

    Unlike the Accutone Pisces HD, the Gemini HD unfortunately was only designed with Apple in mind.  I do wish there was an Android version as I use a Galaxy S4.  Even with the limited functions, I was able to test the microphone which worked as it should.  I did steal my wife’s iPhone to test the in-line control, which worked perfect when paired with an apple device.
     
    The multiple tuning nozzles are simple enough to switch.  I found it best to leave the Comply tips on while I unscrewed one from the metal earphone housing.  If I removed the foam tips before I unscrewed, it was harder to get a good grip to uninstall them.  For install, I would just reverse the process, putting on the Comply tips, them screwing them on.  I really thought it might be a pain to change up the nozzles, but it really only took a few seconds.  My only concern would be losing the filters as they are quite small, best to put them in the nice big hard case for safe keeping.
     
    P1050396.jpg    P1050408.jpg    P1050395.jpg
     
     
     
    *Sound*
     
    Ok, deep breathe.  This might take a bit.  Normally there is just one sound signature to explain, but with the Accutone Gemini HD, there are THREE.  I will break them down by each tuning nozzle.
     
     
    ~Blue (Clear)~

    Bass – This is the most bass reduced setting.  The lows are still present but take a backseat to the rest of the frequency.  There is still a feeling of sub-bass in the distance with a slight mid-bass kick.

    Mids – I expected the mids to be forward with this setting, but instead it almost sounded as if they were ever so slightly recessed.  Vocals were still clear and focused though. 

    Highs – I also expected that the highs might be more exaggerated in this setting, but I did find that they were rolled off just a bit early.  Top end is the most detailed here.
     
     
    ~Green (Balance)~

    Bass – Perfect balance of sub/mid bass.  The lows with this tuning are very controlled and accurate.

    Mids – The mids are more accounted for with the Green.  I found vocals to stand out with clarity and detail.

    Highs – Highs are just a bit more rolled off just a little be earlier here than with the Blue nozzle.  Detail is still good, but lacks a little of the upper range to be as accurate. 
     

    ~Red (Warm)~

    Bass – The lows start to edge becoming bloated here, there is a noticeable bleed into the mids.  For bassheads though, there is a nice sub-bass that finally gives these a little bit of a rumble.

    Mids – The mids here are slightly overshadowed by the bass.  The middle pays the price by becoming a little bit recessed.  Vocals can be drowned out at times, though still exist enough to be musical, though not as accurate or detailed.

    Highs – Very rolled off with almost a veil.  Detail is lost, but not the worst I have heard. 

     
    If I could make my own personal filter, it would be Aquamarine; keeping the lows and mids of the green, with the highs of the blue.

    Out of all the tuning nozzles, I seem to lean toward the green the most, tough I also do enjoy the blue quite a bit as well.  I can do without the warm, as it is the least detailed of the bunch and a strong bass that overpowers everything else.

    I had a crazy idea to put a red nozzle in one ear and a blue in the other.  Might make my head explode though.  I am hesitant to try it.

     

    Isolation – The metal housings do a very good job of keeping sound out and music in.  Plus add the great seal of the Comply tips and you have yourself a powerful self-isolating earphone.
     
    Soundstage – Distance are about normal for this type of earphone.  I did not find it overly wide or narrow.    Instrument separation is also on par with others in this price range. 
     
    P1050404.jpg
     
     

    *Overall Thoughts*

    Accutone is not the first company to try different tuning filters/nozzles, but they sure did make it easy to quickly change them up.  Each nozzle does have a distinct sound signature, it is not a gimmick.  If anything, it allows the Gemini HD to be enjoyed by a variety of individuals.  It is also nice to know you change the sound depending on the genre of music you are in the mood for.

    Build is great, but I would like to see a slightly thicker cable that is detachable for this price range.  With that, an Android version would also be very much welcomed.  I also found the heavy housings could become tangled up if I was not too careful.

    There is a lot of value in the Gemini HD, as you are basically getting three earphones for the price of one.  There is high probability that one of the signatures will be right for you, or right for your mood even.

    The Gemini HD clearly is the current Accutone flagship, as it has a lot to offer with this earphone.
     
    --
      jant71 and ChrisWhite750 like this.