Open Ear Headphones $170-~$350 Suggestions
Jan 3, 2013 at 2:37 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

Smoothbass12

New Head-Fier
So I am looking for some over the ear headphones with great detail and a big soundstage. I have found that I like more bass than I thought I would (boost the bass on my Fiio e17 up to 6 regularly), so ill be looking for some cans with decent bass and powerful presentation. I do however own the ATH-m50s so im not too concerned about bass considering I will have these to go to for that purpose. Once again my main interest is soundstage and detail. If I had to pick three to listen to based on my research, it would be a shootout between the beyer dt990 premium (though completely overlooking the pro version), the HD598's, and the AKG k701's with my bias towards the dt990's or the HD598's. Opinions? And are there closed ear headphones with good soundstage? (dt770?)

Jan 3, 2013 at 3:02 AM Post #2 of 5
I am not an expert on any of the headphones you mentioned, although I do know you don't want the K701's. I hear they have weak bass, some claim NONE, haha. I would strongly suggest you slightly up your budget to 400, and look at the HE-400's. They are going to arrive tomorrow for me. You will understand why I am suggesting these before even hearing them, just go read about them. They sound very impressive. Been called the "do-it-all" headphone. Known for incredibly precise, clean, yet far-from-weak bass. NOT known for incredibly large soundstage, although still very good. Fully open-back, low power needed, planar-magnetic(look into this) headphones. Just amazing reviews from all users. Read the amazon.com reviews on the HE-400s, I was personally sold instantly after reading just a few. Also there is a quite large HE-400 appreciation thread here on head-fi.