Need ideal home setup under $500 (Headphones + DAC/Amp)
Nov 24, 2012 at 3:43 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 10

AtlanticMadness

New Head-Fier
Hello guys. (TL;DR below) I'm pretty new to audiophile gear, but I'm looking to get a somewhat good home setup going for under $500. Seeing as it's Black Friday weekend. I figured it would be a good time as any.

My old setup was simply plugging my m50's straight into my desktop's headphone jack.
Well now my M50's are broken (lent them to a friend for too long). And my computers headphone jack is a bit loose/pushed in causing me to do some annoying twiddling back and forth to get the proper sound of it. Line in at the back of my case simply does not cut it, I loose a lot of little details in my music compared to using the headphone jack.

I'm not fully schooled on the glossary of terms so I won't try and describe the sound I'm looking for, but for starters, I'm looking for something that can pick up on the m50's shortcomings and perhaps polish what already excels at.

I listen to a very wide variety of genres, everything from folk to hardcore, soul, classical, hip-hop, punk, pop, younameit. If I had to pick one I listen to the most I'd say Progressive/Experimental Rock. At times the songs can get quite busy and complex with tempos switching abruptly. I'd like a set of cans that can keep up with this and clearly highlight every nuance and detail in the track. I'd really like to hear as much as I can, close to the way it was intended to be heard. A nice full sound if that makes any sense.