Extracting InnerFidelity Data to Create Convolution Filters
Dec 20, 2016 at 10:54 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

prescient

Head-Fier
I thought it would be interesting to get some feedback on my thought process for creating REW convolution filters for headphones. Feel free to tell me the whole idea is nonsense as I'm no audio expert!

Anyway, as many folks have noticed headphones have terrible FR response, and I've been thinking about how to create convolution filters to EQ my headphones. The problem obviously is that it is expensive to acquire the data, and I'm not willing to spend $8k on a measurement head. I've tried creating my own measurement setup for IEMs (http://www.head-fi.org/t/829104/drc-dsp-for-iems), and I think the results were an improvement. Unfortunately my measurement technique does not translate well to full size headphones. 

So what is a poor guy with no test measurement gear to do? My thought is that I can use the graphs on InnerFidelity and image processing to extract the data I need. Then I can then load the data into REW to create convolution filters.

Step 1: Get the graph from InnerFidelity.

Below is the InnerFidelity frequency response graph of my beloved and now 10 year old HD580s. These headphones are amazing. They cost $120 when I bought them new, still sound great, and look brand new with updated velour pads. However, as seen in the graph the headphones lack bass and have a high frequency roll-off with a spike around 9K. The information is great, but without a data file to load into REW there isn't much I can do to correct the issues (besides playing with a parametric EQ). So we need to get the data!

Step 2: Extract the data from the graph