Dre Beats Studio DIY teardown and modify question...
Oct 16, 2012 at 4:32 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 121

NickPDX

New Head-Fier
Hello everybody,

Let me preface this by saying I would never have paid this kind of money for these headphones.  I am a manager at a retail store and we received an additional set of Dre Beats Studio headphones for our display units.  We generally throw this kind of stuff away because the vendor doesn't want to bother with shipping and they have typically already expensed it out.  So, I wound up taking them home to see if I could tweak them to work without the display unit.

So far I have got the glued down battery compartment open and found that the batter slot is there but is not wired for power.  It is getting power through the cord.  The headphone cord is not removable and at the end it splits and has the audio input and the power input spot.  The power switch on the right can was glued and I was able to loosen that up so it will turn off and on now.  I would like to be able to modify this unit and get it so that it has power from the batteries and doesn't require an additional power source.

Does anybody have any advice before I go forward and start tearing these down?  Any documents or videos that would show a complete tear down of both cans?  I found a youtube of somebody opening the left can where the mute and power buttons are but nothing for the right one.  I also didn't find anything on ifixit.com.  Everything else I have found has pointed me to this community saying that everything headphone related would be here.  

Thanks for any help or advice.  Wouldn't mind being able to salvage these headphones for personal use. :)

Oct 17, 2012 at 9:46 AM Post #2 of 121
if the battery compartment was glued closed and the wires was not connected, then i guess
you got a sample model for display use.
normally those samples dont work at all, or if they work it is not fully funcionally.