Rose Technology Mini2

Average User Rating:
4/5,
  1. audio123
    4.0/5,
    "Rose Mini 2 The Rescue"
    Pros - Mids & Staging
    Cons - Long cable
    Introduction

    Rose is a Chinese company specialised in making iems. I am interested in their offerings and decided to buy the Rose Mini 2 (Detachable Cable Version) over at Penon Audio for 109 USD. On the other hand, the Rose Mini 2 with fixed cable retails at 99 USD. Paying an extra 10 USD gives you the option to switch to aftermarket cables.

    Below is the purchase link:

    http://penonaudio.com/Rose-Technology-all-models/Rose-Mini2-2BA-IEMs

    upload_2017-6-1_0-4-24.png upload_2017-6-1_0-4-28.png

    Specifications
    • Drivers: Sonion 2600 BA + Knowles 30095 BA
    • Impedance : 45ohm
    • Sensitivity :108db
    • Cable:Silver-plated OFC

    Accessories
    The Rose Mini 2 comes in a black package and contains a hard case. In addition, there is a plastic case that contain tips. The accessories are pretty decent in my opinion. You cannot expect Dunu’s standard though. All in all, the accessories are sufficient. Open the case and you will find the Rose Mini 2 inside.

    Box
    upload_2017-6-1_0-9-47.png


    Hard Case
    upload_2017-6-1_0-9-50.png upload_2017-6-1_0-9-52.png upload_2017-6-1_0-9-55.png

    Contents
    upload_2017-6-1_0-10-28.png upload_2017-6-1_0-10-32.png upload_2017-6-1_0-10-38.png

    Cable
    upload_2017-6-1_0-10-47.png upload_2017-6-1_0-10-50.png upload_2017-6-1_0-10-54.png upload_2017-6-1_0-10-58.png


    Nozzle Close Up
    upload_2017-6-1_0-11-3.png



    Build
    The material of the Rose Mini 2 is acrylic basically. I must say the Rose Mini 2 is very small akin to Final Audio Design’s F3100, F4100, F7200 or the Etymotic ER4S, ER4PT, ER4XR, ER4SR. On the shell, there is the Rose logo of different colours for the users to differentiate left and right. As mine is the detachable version, you can remove the cable from the iem. It is the standard mmcx connector.

    Sound Analysis

    I used 3 sources to test the Rose Mini 2- Questyle QP1R, Ibasso DX200 and Cayin N6. All 3 sources can drive the Rose Mini 2 to listening volume. Pretty easy to drive actually. It is recommended to use DAPs.

    I would say the Rose Mini 2 is a balanced sounding iem overall. The presentation is quite linear. It has a very mature sound and there is clarity to it most importantly.

    Lows
    The bass is quite punchy and tight. I really like how the bass extends deeply to provide the punch for EDM. I wouldnt say that it is as good as my Ibasso IT03, a triple hybrid driver iem but it is effortless considering its price point. Comparing to the likes of Fischer Audio DBA-02, the bass of the Rose Mini 2 is more engaging as it is impactful. I really like the bass of Rose Mini 2 as it is quite neutral.


    Mids
    The Mini 2 has sweet mids. Let start off with the lower midrange it is recessed to a small extent. As you move on, you can tell the Rose Mini 2 is made for the upper midrange as it is forward. It is just nice and not as aggressive as DBA-02. Vocal lovers will like the Rose Mini 2.

    Highs
    Other reviews mentioned that the Rose Mini 2 has piercing treble but I disagree. With my sources, the Rose Mini 2 treble is quite smooth but bright. The extension is quite good at this price point. However, there is slight treble roll-off.

    Comparison

    Fischer Audio DBA-02

    The DBA-02 has a more aggressive treble than the Rose Mini 2. However, the Rose Mini 2 wins in its bass reproduction. It is very tight and punchy. As a result, the Rose Mini 2 is more engaging than the DBA-02.

    Moving on to clarity, I would say both are on par. The aggressive treble of DBA-02 gives one the notion that it has more clarity but after critical listening, this is not the case. The DBA-02 is slightly quicker than the Rose Mini 2. For soundstage, the Rose Mini 2 is better as it gives more width and depth.

    Brainwavz B200

    The B200 has a more forward treble than the Rose Mini 2. The Rose Mini 2 wins in terms of neutrality. The bass of B200 is similar to the Rose Mini 2.

    Moving on to clarity, the Rose Mini 2 wins as it is more detailed despite the B200 having more treble. It gives a cleaner presentation. In addition, the soundstage of Rose Mini 2 is better than B200 in terms of width and depth.

    Conclusion
    The Rose Mini 2 is a tiny iem that is capable of big sound. It is definitely a keeper based on the price. The performance of it is really good. I think Rose did an excellent job on this one.

    photo_2017-05-31_23-51-31.jpg

    images

    1. photo_2017-05-31_22-18-22 (2).jpg
    2. photo_2017-05-31_22-18-22.jpg
    3. photo_2017-05-31_22-18-23 (2).jpg
    4. photo_2017-05-31_22-18-23.jpg
    5. photo_2017-05-31_22-18-43.jpg
    6. photo_2017-05-31_22-19-04.jpg
    7. photo_2017-05-31_22-19-21.jpg
    8. photo_2017-05-31_22-19-44.jpg
    9. photo_2017-05-31_22-20-17.jpg
    10. photo_2017-05-31_22-20-31.jpg
    11. photo_2017-05-31_22-20-51.jpg
    12. photo_2017-05-31_22-21-37.jpg
    13. photo_2017-05-31_22-23-07.jpg
    14. photo_2017-05-31_22-23-52.jpg
    15. photo_2017-05-31_22-24-56.jpg
    16. upload_2017-6-1_0-9-55.png
    17. upload_2017-6-1_0-10-3.png
    B9Scrambler and ryanjsoo like this.
  2. Cinder
    4.0/5,
    "So Small You Might Lose It!"
    Pros - Great cable, excellent isolation, attractive shell color, good extension, bass shaping, lots of eartips, lots of detail
    Cons - Can sound thin, nozzle is not made from a hard material

    Rose Mini2 Review: So Small You Might Loose It

    Rose is one of my favorite IEM makers. This small Chinese company has continually released IEMs that I found comfortable, stylish, and fun to listen to. This is their first attempt at a truly tiny IEM. However, is the Mini2 worth your time and consideration?
    You can find the Rose Mini2 for sale here, on Penon Audio, for $99 (fixed cable version) or $110 (MMCX version).
    Disclaimer: This unit was purchased by me with my hard-earned cash. I am not affiliated with Rose or Penon Audio beyond this review. These words reflect my true, unaltered, opinion about the product.
    Preference and Bias: Before reading a review, it is worth mentioning that there is no way for a reviewer to objectively pass judgment on the enjoy-ability of a product: such a thing is inherently subjective. Therefore, I find it necessary for you to read and understand what I take a natural liking to and how that might affect my rating of a product.
    My ideal sound signature would be an extended sub-bass with a leveled, but textured, mid-bass. The mids should be slightly less pronounced than the treble, but still ahead of the bass. I prefer a more bright upper range.
    Source: The Rose Mini2 was powered like so:
    Nexus 6P -> earphones
    or
    Hidizs AP100 3.5mm out -> FiiO A5 3.5mm out -> earphones
    or
    HiFiMAN SuperMini -> earphones
    or
    PC optical out -> HiFiMe SPDIF 9018 Sabre DAC 3.5mm out -> earphones
    All music was served as MP3 @320Kbps or as FLAC. Penon Audio and Rose both recommend that you use the Mini2 with a Hi-Fi DAP, and for a good reason. There is a noticeable difference between the Mini2’s performance on my Nexus 6P and on my SuperMini.

    Sound Signature

    Initial Impressions:
    The Mini2 makes use of two BAs, so I assumed it was going to have almost nonexistent bass (sort of like the 4Ai S). However, I was wrong. The Mini2 has a V-shaped sound signature with reserved, but still noticeable, bass response.
    Treble: Songs used: In One EarMidnight CityOutlandsSatisfy
    The Mini2 has great extension. This is especially noticeable on tracks with high-hats and cymbals. The upper treble is granular (not smooth) but has a lot of detail and is well-toned.
    Electronic synths sound very good on the Mini2 and are quite cohesive. The treble and upper-treble are slightly boosted, meaning they can make their way to the front of the sound stage with very little effort, never getting lost in the crowd.
    The Mini2, to my delight, is never sibilant. Even my worst behaved tracks fared well. White Flag by Delta Heavy and Satisfy by Nero posed no problems.
    Mids: Songs used: Flagpole SittaJacked UpI Am The HighwayDreams
    The upper-mids are well-fleshed-out and have a great sense of air and detail about them, but the lower-mids sound a tab bit hollow and scooped. Strangely, this doesn’t remove any detail from that range. In fact, quite the opposite; though the mids need weight, they certainly sound very detailed.
    Electric guitars sound good, but in certain instances, can feel thin. Acoustic guitars sound very good as well, but rarely ever suffer the way electric ones do. Timbre is excellent, though I’d like more emphasis on the mids as a whole.
    Vocals sound sweet and articulate. In fact, I’m quite impressed with the way that both male and female vocalists resolve on the Mini2. Even though they aren’t too far in front, they never get lost in the mix. It’s good to find a V-shaped IEM that doesn’t have to boost the 2Khz range just to make the vocals intelligible.
    Bass: Songs used: MothGold DustIn For The Kill (Skream Remix)Leave Me
    Bass guitars resolve well and are weighted nicely. They aren’t too emphasized, but they are shaped well. This lends songs a cohesive and full feeling. Acoustic bass lines aren’t too heavy, nor are they too gentle.
    Bass wetness is pretty good, though I’d like a slightly more wet sub-bass. However, in spite of my nit-picking I find the Mini2 to be reasonably capable of playing-back the more agressive and bass-heavy kinds of electronic music. DJ Fresh’s Gold Dust sounded great, as did Leave Me by Taska Black.

    Packaging / Unboxing

    All the contents of the Mini2 are sealed inside the carrying case, and the carrying case is enclosed in a simply cardboard box. No frills, just the necessities.

    Build

    Construction Quality

    The Mini2 is a little odd. It’s housing is made from Rose’s standard hard plastic, though the nozzles are made from a softer, bendier, material that is quite thin. While it doesn’t exactly inspire a ton of confidence in me, I don’t think that the nozzle is especially prone to damage. However, if I could choose I would definitely have liked to see the nozzle be made from a harder material.
    The Mini2 comes in both a fixed-cable version and a detachable MMCX cable version. I have the detachable cable version. The cable that the Mini2 comes with is quite nice, and is made from silver. It is braided and has a great texture to it that feels premium. The cable has 45-degree MMCX connectors and terminates as a 3.5mm jack.
    Comfort
    The Mini2 is very comfortable. It is meant to be worn over-ear, though it is so light you won’t ever even notice it. The diameter of the core of the eartips included is so small that, once you get a good fit, the Mini2 almost “disappears”.

    Accessories

     
    The Mini2, despite it’s humble packaging, comes with a good number of accessories. Inside the box you will find:
    1. 5x pairs of silicone eartips
    2. 1x pair of memory foam eartips
    3. 1x carrying case
    The eartips are diverse and are all high quality. I really like the selection here, and they fit quite well onto the Mini2. My only concern is the memory foam. They slide around a little bit on the nozzle, but have yet to actually come off the nozzle, so it’s not actively been an issue.

    Summary

    The Mini2, though not without its flaws, is a pretty solid IEM. It’s insanely small, yet features two balanced armature drivers in each housing. On top of that, Rose managed to fit a good implementation of MMCX into it making these some fairly unique earphones. While the sound signature isn’t for everyone, I think that there’s a place for the Mini2 in a lot of people’s collections. It's a great value for someone looking for something small. However, if you aren’t a tiny-IEM enthusiast, try to look around at some other options in this price range such as the Rose 3D-7 or Simgot EN700 Bass.
    Hawaiibadboy and puppyfi like this.
  3. FUYU
    3.5/5,
    "Small and very capable - The Rose Mini2"
    Pros - Clarity, Resolution; Balanced sound
    Cons - Needs a good source to shine; treble linearity



    "You know, big things come in small packages."

    I bought the Mini2 over at PenonAudio for 115$: http://penonaudio.com/Rose-Mini2-2BA-IEMs





    Specifications
    :


    • Price: $99.90 (fixed cable; $115 for the detachable cable version)
    • Drivers: Balanced Armature, 2 drivers per ear, 2-way configuration
    • Drivers: Sonion 2600 & Knowles 30095
    • Impedance: 45 Ohms
    • Sensitivity: 108 dB


    Build and Accessories


    Coming in a very clean and understated black box, the Rose Mini2 features a pseudo Otterbox-like carrying case that is bolstered on the inside and includes the in-ears themselves and some of the tips. There is another, albeit very senseless, plastic case with some more tips. Speaking of which, there are only 4 pairs of tips, from which I only found the L-sized white tips usable. The package is great looking, however stuffed with a whole lot of air. The carrying case is great, though somewhat cheap around the hinges.

    Inside the case are the actual IEMs itself. And boy, does the cable look nice...

    The Mini2 is primarily made out of acrylic, with the nozzle being silicone. (Shout-out to HifiChris for noting that out). Myself thought of the nozzle being acrylic as well, but the nozzle is flexible and quite delicate in nature. The transition is very seamless.

    The in-ears are tiny in size, very tiny. There is a coloured Rose logo on each of the shells, and the colour corresponds with red standing for right and blue for left, respectively.

    I opted for the detachable MMCX version. Like mentioned, the cable is quite nice. Although it does look a tad silly with the strain-relieves being bigger than the actual IEMs themselves.

    Isolation is ok for me, nothing extraordinary. They are no Etymotic in terms of blocking out noise. For those with bigger, wider earcanals, please get yourself some CP800 Spinfits or Shure Olives. The included tips are very underwhelming. (There is not much variety anyway...)




    Sound-Analysis


    I did most of my listening with my HifiMe 9018 DAC/AMP, various phones and my Xduoo X3. I recommend using warmer sounding sources, with good amping capabilities. Balanced Armatures are not the best when it comes down to having a linear impedance response. EQ might be needed.


    • Great clarity
    • Balanced signature
    • Good soundstage and imaging
    • Bass is very fast in decay
    • Insertion depth can alter the sound
    • Treble linearity
    • Sounds terrible with a lot of sources


    Overall the Mini2 is a very balanced, mature sounding In-Ear, with great clarity and imaging. However with the wrong source, the Mini2 can be overly bright, and shouty around the 6kHz and 8kHz area.

    Bass presentation is focused around mid-bass around the 200hz area, making for a nice and punchy experience. Extension is commendable, although falls definitely short compared to higher priced models like my beloved FLC8s. The Bass is just a touch above "neutral", still it can give your ears quite an impact, when the source demands it.

    Lower midrange is slightly recessed, which is a common way of tuning nowadays. The Mini2 has quite the spacious presentation, thanks to that. Yet, it doesn't sound diffused, but rather very focused with good spacial imaging for the price. Male singers sound slightly distant compared to their female counterparts, however. Moving beyond 2kHz, the upper midrange does press the stage more towards the listener, with female vocals sounding sweeter and more direct.

    The treble has its up and downs. I have tried the Mini2 with various phones, and in 9/10 cases, my ears were blown off by the piercing treble. However attached to my friends tube-amp wielded much better results. They are on the brighter side, either way. Extension is solid, reaching toward 12kHz before rolling off. The treble does have some off-putting spikes here and there.

    Separation is good and the in-ear also manages to showcase blackness and distance of instruments fairly well. Even with fast, complex and dense recordings, the soundstage doesn’t cave in but remains pleasantly controlled and intact. While width is more pronounced, the soundstage doesn't feel flat or unbalanced.

    Comparisons


    FLC8s (Clear-Gray-Gray) (~329$):

    The Mini2 was very similar sounding at first, however compared to the FLC8s it does fall short in soundstage size and imaging. It's not a huge difference, though. The Mini2 does hold very well in clarity, which I think both are on equal footing. Bass decay is slower and more "natural" on the FLC8s thanks to the dynamic driver displacing more air. The FLC8s doesn't stray into brightness as much as the Mini2. The FLC8s sounds great out of almost anything. But for 1/3 the Mini2 does possess the better value preposition of the two.

    LZ A4 (Black-Blue) (199$):

    The A4 is much more bassy, compared to the Mini2. Furthermore the bass has a very slow decay and speed in comparison. Bass extension is quite similar. Clarity is slightly better on the Mini2. The A4s treble is much more ressessed around the 5-6kHz area, making for a more mellow listen. I prefer the Mini2 in signature, though the A4 trumps it with better soundstage. The A4 is for the guy looking for some fun in their music. The A4 is much easier to drive. Both are pretty equal in terms of value.

    Conclusion


    The Mini2 is great, but only with the right gear. Drive it well and it wields the power to enlighten you with great clarity and balanced sound.
    ryanjsoo likes this.
  4. HiFiChris
    4.5/5,
    "Rose Technology Mini2: A wonderful little Flower"
    Pros - detailed, coherent, tonally well-balanced, precise, inexpensive for what it is and delivers
    Cons - nozzles are basically flexible silicone tubes
     ​
     
     

     
     
    Introduction:

    “Rose Technology” is a company name you are probably not familiar with – no, they are not a company that supplies flowers or gardening tools, but instead they are a still young and small Chinese manufacture that makes in-ears and earbuds.
    Aside from hybrid in-ears, one dynamic in-ear and dynamic earbuds, they also have two multi-Balanced Armature in-ears in their portfolio, namely the quintuple-driver BR5 as well as the Mini2 that is the subject of this review.
     
    [​IMG]
     
     
    Priced just around $100, these in-ears rival other inexpensive dual-BA in-ears such as the Apple In-Ears, the t.bone EP-7Pai Audio MR2 or Zero Audio Carbo Doppio.
     
     
    How does the Mini2 sound? Is it worth the price? How does it compare to other in-ears? This and more is to be found in the course of this review.
     
     
    Disclaimer & Acknowledgement: Before I go on, I would like to thank Penon Audio who helped me to organise the shipment of a free sample of the Rose Technology Mini2 to me for the purpose of an honest, unbiased and unpaid review.


    Technical Specifications:

    http://penonaudio.com/Rose-Mini2-2BA-IEMs
    Price: $99.90 (fixed cable; $115 for the detachable cable version)
    Drivers: Balanced Armature, 2 drivers per ear, 2-way configuration
    Drivers: Sonion 2600 & Knowles 30095
    Impedance: 45 Ohms
    Sensitivity: 108 dB


    Delivery Content:

    Quite often, very small manufacturers from Asia don’t supply anything more than a basic packaging for their in-ears. Therefore it might probably surprise you a bit, in a positive way, that the Mini2 arrives in a small black Rose-branded cardboard box that houses a small, sturdy Otterbox-like carrying case that is bolstered on the inside and includes the in-ears as well as all of the accessories that come with them.
    So inside the nice little carrying case, one can find the following: the in-ear bodies, a cable (if the version with removable cables was ordered), one pair of memory foam ear tips, one pair of double-flange silicone tips, one pair of medium/small black silicone tips, three pairs of white silicone tips in different sizes with normal stem length, and one pair of white silicone tips with short stem length.
     
    [​IMG]
     
     
     
    Looks, Feels, Build Quality:
     
    The in-ears are tiny in size – seriously tiny!
     
    The body of each side is made of acrylic, while the nozzles are flexible silicone tubes with an acoustic damper inside.
    There is a coloured Rose logo on each of the shells, and the colour simultaneously acts as a side indicator with red standing for right and blue for left, which by the way is also the standard for most higher-end and stage in-ears.
     
    [​IMG]
     
     
    The in-ears are well made and there is no sign of inclusions or bubbles inside the transparent acrylic bodies that let you see the drivers, internal wiring and parts of the crossover components, however I am a little worried about the flexible silicone tube nozzle. For people who constantly change ear tips, it might definitely be a weak spot compared to more commonly found acrylic, plastic or steel nozzles.
     
    [​IMG]
     
     
    If ordered with removable cables, the cable you get has got coaxial MMCX connectors and is a really nice one – it is silver, nicely long, and made of four separate strands that are twisted, just like the majority of cables for high-end and professional in-ears.
    Hence it is very flexible but also sturdy at the same time.
    The cable also features a y-split that sits pleasantly low, with a chin-slider that is easy to move but doesn’t accidentally change its position.
     
    [​IMG]
     
     
     
    Comfort, Isolation:
     
    People with very small and narrow ear canals that usually struggle with getting a proper fit and seal with most in-ears will likely love the Mini2 when it comes to ergonomics, and in my large ears, the in-ears are almost invisible (and sit as well as fit very well, too).
    Due to their shape, the user can also try different insertion depths to get the comfort and sound he wants (I usually prefer a deep insertion with most small in-ears).
     
    [​IMG]
     
     
    The in-ears can be worn both with the cable down as well as – more professionally – over the ears, with the latter adding more security and pretty much completely eliminating cable noise.
    Since the MMCX connectors are angled and not straight, inserting and placing the in-ears might feel a bit unfamiliar at first, but after no more than two or three insertions, when the correct direction of the connectors has been found out and gotten used to, inserting the Mini2 is just as easy as with about any other in-ear.
     
    Due to the closed shells, isolation is really good – just as expected.


    Sound:

    My main sources for listening were the iBasso DX200 and the HiFime9018d.
     
    I used the largest included single-flange tips with regular stem length and deep insertion. Individual sound impressions might probably vary depending on the used tips and insertion depth.

    Tonality:

    What the Mini 2 presents to my ears is a very balanced, mature sound that heads into the flatter, more neutral direction. It is definitely not the typical consumer-oriented, bass-heavy or v-shaped sound that is often found in this price range. It is also not a rather mid-centric sound that some single-BA in-ears in the lower price range have.
     
    What I generally hear when listening to music is a well-balanced sound with a bass that is just a few dB north of a truly flat sounding in-ear (such as the Etymotic ER-4S or ER-4SR), with a focus on midbass as well as upper bass and a sub-bass that can still be heard but is a bit less present in comparison. The bass doesn’t spill into the midrange and doesn’t thicken it/warm it up.
    The midrange sounds tonally accurate and realistic to me, with just a very subtle lift favouring female/higher vocals compared to deeper/male vocals. This helps higher vocals to subtly stand out, but male/deep voices are ever so slightly on the slimmer side when it comes to body.
    The treble that follows right after is surprisingly even and pretty neutral, with probably just a small dip in the middle highs, and represents an accurate timbre that I honestly did not expect to find – regardless of what I play, the treble just doesn’t sound artificial or off in terms of timbre and realism when it comes to reproducing instruments, which is pretty rare in this price range (the treble is often either on the smoother side, or it is brighter and/or has got some small peaks and dips that make it sound more artificial – not so with the Mini2). Extension above 10 kHz seems to be really good as well.
    “Accuracy” and “realism” are the first words that come to my mind when thinking of the Mini2’s sound signature. It just doesn’t do anything wrong and neither subdues nor highlights anything on a recording. What really puts a smile on my face is that the highs are neither emphasised nor any recessed sounding and appear very realistic, without any sharpness, edginess, and are generally fairly even.
     
    [​IMG]
     
     
    - - - - - - - - -
     
    Listening to sine sweeps, I hear the bass to start climbing at 600 Hz and reaching the climax around 180 Hz. This level is kept upright down to 80 Hz and then loses quantity towards 20 Hz. The sub-bass is still audible (both with sine sweeps and music) but logically with less quantity and impact.
    Quantity-wise, the strongest elevation in the lows is around 5 dB compared to a diffuse-field flat low frequency range as it can for example be found in the Etymotic ER-4S and ER-4SR (therefore the Mini2 has got about the same bass quantity as the InEar StageDiver SD-2Pai Audio MR3 and Etymotic ER-4XR, but with a less present sub-bass in comparison).
    Moving on to the midrange and lower treble, I can hear an ever so slight lift between 2 and 3 kHz, followed by a dip around 4 kHz.
    Above 5 kHz, level is neutral and even to my ears, with just a slight lift at 9 kHz and great extension past 16 kHz.

    Resolution:

    Many dual-BA in-ears in the lower price range offer an overall good resolution but either struggle when it comes to partial resolution (of either the bass, midrange or treble) or coherency – for example, the Apple in-ears (that are quite underrated as good dual-BA in-ears in the sub $100 price range in my opinion) offer a good sound for their respective price but don’t sound as coherent as comparatively priced single-BA in-ears and seem to be less controlled and resolving in the lower ranges than in the upper. A part of this is also true for the Pai Audio MR2, that, while it sounds coherent, has got a great soundstage and sounds overall detailed for the money, sounds a bit less detailed in the bass and lower midrange than in the highs.
     
    None of this is true for the Mini2 – my assumption (before I got the in-ear) that it might be more or less in the same technical ballpark as the Apple in-ears was quite wrong. In reality, the Mini2 sounds highly coherent and there is no area that I could say is less detailed and resolving than the other (if anything, then the midrange is ever so slightly, minimally less detailed than the lows and highs even though speech intelligibility is, not really that surprisingly, high).
    The treble is well-separated, sounds realistic and has got just the right decay without fading away too quickly or staying for too long. Single notes and bow strokes are well distinguishable from each other and busy drumming and cymbal crashes don’t end up in a bright, sizzling mess but with good separation and rendering.
    The bass is tight and controlled, just as it could be expected from most in-ears with a Balanced Armature woofer. In its price range and up to $200, the Mini2 has got a bass that is among the fastest as well as tightest in its class and shows great control – it is only slightly soft in attack compared to some of the tighter higher-end and mid-priced in-ears, but there are enough models in the higher and medium price range that differ more or less greatly from each other when it comes to bass character and either have a tighter (e.g. UERMW4RATH-IM03, FA-3E) or softer (e.g. StageDiver SD-2, FA-4E XB, MR2, most hybrid IEMs) bass response than the Mini2.
     
    [​IMG]
     
     
    So when it comes to detail retrieval, the Mini2 is a great in-ear that offers a coherent, precise and detailed sound without costing much.

    Soundstage:

    The Mini2 offers a quite spacious soundstage that has got a good amount of width and corresponding spatial depth to create a rather open sphere.
    Width is good and exceeds the base of my head. Spatial depth is also present but less compared to the width, so the soundstage is clearly more oval than round to my ears.
    Separation is good and the in-ear also manages to display empty space fairly well. Even with fast, complex and dense recordings, the soundstage doesn’t cave in but remains pleasantly controlled and intact.

    ---------
     
    In Comparison with other In-Ears:

    Let’s find out how the Mini2 sounds compared to two other dual-BA in-ears in about the same price range as well as one single-BA in-ear.
     
    [​IMG]
     
     
    Apple In-Ears:

    The Apple in-ears, if a good seal is achieved, have got somewhat more bass quantity and the more pronounced sub-bass compared to the Mini2. With rather deep insertion, the Apple in-ears also have the slightly darker treble in comparison.
    The Mini2 sounds more realistic and even in the treble than the Apple in-ears.
     
    When it comes to resolution, the Rose is ahead – not only does it offer the more coherent sound, but also the more detailed presentation in the lows along with more tightness, bite, control and impact, but also the more detailed, better separated treble. The only area where both are about on-par is the central mids at 1 kHz.
     
    Moving over to the soundstage, the Rose has got the wider and also somewhat deeper stage with the sharper, more precise instrument separation and placement as well as the better reproduction of spatial emptiness. Playing complex and dense recordings, the Rose’s soundstage also remains audibly better controlled.

    Pai Audio MR2:

    The MR2 has got the more pronounced, thicker bass in comparison, that has got about 4 dB more in quantity. The MR2 can be considered as being v-shaped due to its countervailing upper treble peak.
    The MR2 has got the more forward midrange in comparison.
     
    When it comes to resolution, I hear both as being very comparable in the upper range, with probably a slight advantage for the Rose. In the central and upper midrange, it is a draw with probably an ever so slight advantage for the Pai. In the bass and lower midrange however, I hear the Mini2 as being somewhat ahead and more detailed sounding.
    The MR2 has got the somewhat softer and slightly less controlled bass than the Mini2 that sounds more resolving, quicker and tighter.
     
    In terms of soundstage, the MR2 that is quite excellent in this regard, offers the larger spatial room with more width, depth and the even better separation and portrayal of emptiness.

    Brainwavz B100:

    The Brainwavz’s bass and lower midrange is a little fuller and more pronounced in comparison. Both bottom end elevations have got about the same shape (some roll-off towards the sub-bass).
    The B100 has got the more pronounced 10 kHz range wherefore the Mini2 sounds a bit more realistic and even up top in comparison and also has got the better extension past 10 kHz. Nonetheless the B100 is a great in-ear for its price.
     
    Directly comparing the two in-ears, he B100 still sounds a little more coherent and uniform in comparison. The Rose in-ear has got the slightly more detailed midrange out of the two.
    In the treble, the difference isn’t as big anymore but I’d also say that the Mini2 is putting out the somewhat better separation here.
    Moving to the bass and lower midrange, the Rose is more resolving, audibly less grainy and sounds tighter. Decay is comparably good with both in-ears.
     
    The Mini2 has got more spatial width, whereas the B100 carries somewhat more spatial depth. When it comes to instrument separation, placement and portrayal of emptiness, the Rose in-ear is a bit ahead.

    - - - - - - - - -
     
    And last but not least, as a bonus, here is a comparative frequency response measurement chart of all of the in-ears that were just compared:
     
    [​IMG]
     
    Please note that this is what I recorded with my pseudo-diffuse-field-compensated-calibrated Vibro Veritas coupler (you can read more about the graphs and process of how they are taken and the inaccuracy in my measurements following this external link: frequency-response.blogspot.com/p/about-measurement-graphs.html).
    It is not ideal yet but should give a rather good idea of what the in-ears sound like when mentally adding some level around 3 kHz as well as 6 kHz where my calibration is rather off.
     
    - - - - - - - - -


    Conclusion:

    The Rose Technology Mini2 is definitely a keeper and a gem – it offers a balanced sound that heads into the neutral direction, has got a good coherency and detail retrieval across the whole frequency
     ​
    range, recreates a quite spacious as well as detailed soundstage and is really inexpensive for what it is and especially what it delivers.
    Getting more sound quality from other dual-BA in-ears at this price point than from the Mini2 surely is not an easy task to cope with at all.
     
    [​IMG]
     
     
    The only thing I am somewhat concerned about is the long-term reliability of the nozzles that are just flexible silicone tubes. Other than that, the Mini2 offers great value and sound quality for the money and is an easy recommendation for everyone who is looking for a well-balanced, rather neutral sound.