project86
Last Activity:
Jul 25, 2017 at 5:43 PM
Joined:
Feb 21, 2007
Messages:
6,580
Likes Received:
1,346
Showcase Items:
63
Trader History (17)
Gender:
Male

Share This Page

project86

Headphoneus Supremus, Male

Contributor
project86 was last seen:
Jul 25, 2017 at 5:43 PM
  • About

    Gender:
    Male
    Interests:
    Literature. Favorite authors: Homer, CS Lewis, Fyodor Dostoyevski, Jacques Ellul, Leo Tolstoy, Franz Kafka, Soren Kierkegaard, George Orwell, Isaac Asimov
    Headphone Inventory:
    Empire Ears Zeus XR Adel (Effect Audio Eros 8W)
    Noble Audio Kaiser 10 (Toxic Cables Silver Widow balanced)
    Noble Audio 5C +Switch (Toxic Cables Silver Poison)
    Jomo Audio 6R (Effect Audio Eros)
    Unique Melody Merlin Prototype (Beat Audio Cronus)
    Lear LCM-BD4.2 (93SPEC Silver)

    HiFiMAN HE-1000 (Effect Audio Eros Reference balanced)
    Stax SR-007MkII
    Sennheiser HD800 (Effect Audio Thor Copper 16W balanced)
    Stax SR-4070 (with SR-507 leather pads)
    AKG K812 (Forza Audioworks Claire Hybrid HPC)
    HiFiMAN HE-6 (Toxic Cables Hybrid balanced)
    Fostex TH-X00 (Lawton Angle Pads)
    Headphone Amp Inventory:
    Too many! Favorites include:

    KGSShv electrostatic amp (off-board design with servo boards, 2sa1968, 14mA)
    Pass Labs HPA-1
    Violectric V281 (with relay-based attenuator upgrade)
    AURALiC Taurus mkII
    Questyle CMA800R (two of them in dual mono mode)
    Source Inventory:
    SOtM sMS-200
    Aurender X100L music server
    B.M.C. PureMedia with PureUSB1 active USB cable
    Expo 93: Oppo BDP-93 modded by Exemplar Audio
    Cable Inventory:
    Lots of stuff from Better Cables, Cabledyne, Toxic Cables, Charleston Cable Company (C3 Audio), Effect Audio, Signal Cable, and a few others. I definitely value high performance-per-dollar when it comes to cables.
    Power-Related Components:
    Equi=Core 1800
    Yulong P18
    CablePro Revelation
    Panamax M5510 Pro
    Other Audio Equipment:
    DACs:
    Resonessence Labs Invicta Mirus Pro
    B.M.C. UltraDAC
    Cayin iDAC-6
    Questyle CAS192D
    Calyx Femto
    Audio-Related Tweaks:
    Speaker setup (in current form, it changes a lot lately): Jeff Rowland Capri S2 feeding a pair of Merrill Audio Thor monoblocks driving Usher Mini One DMD speakers
    Music Preferences:
    My reviews:

    Wyred 4 Sound PS-1: http://www.digitalaudioreview.net/2017/05/everything-counts-in-small-amounts-wyred-4-sounds-ps-1/

    Clones Audio HOST: https://parttimeaudiophile.com/2017/04/30/review-clones-audio-host-music-server/

    Empire Ears Zeus XR ADEL: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/empire-ears-zeus-xr-adel-custom-earphones

    iFi Pro iCan headphone amp: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/ifi-pro-ican-mixed-tube-and-solid-state-headphone-amplifier

    Pass Labs HPA-1 headphone amp: https://parttimeaudiophile.com/2017/02/05/review-pass-labs-hpa-1-headphone-amplifier/

    Cayin HA-1A mk2 tube headphone amp: https://parttimeaudiophile.com/2017/01/29/review-cayin-ha-1a-mk2/

    Lots of DAPs: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/survey-digital-audio-players-part-3#xRHKdrGTuBKSI0BU.97

    Arcam rHead headphone amp: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/british-hifi-heritage-arrives-headphone-world-arcams-rhead

    JansZen Valentina Active Hybrid Electrostatic Speakers: https://parttimeaudiophile.com/2016/08/26/review-janszen-valentina-active/

    SOtM sMS1000SQ Music Server: https://parttimeaudiophile.com/2016/02/27/review-sotm-s-ms1000sq-music-server/

    Singxer USB Bridge: http://www.head-fi.org/products/singxer-su-1-usb-bridge/reviews/16649

    Jomo Audio 6R: http://www.head-fi.org/products/jomo-audio-6r/reviews/16421

    Cayin iHA-6 and iDAC-6: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/cayin-idac-6-and-iha-6-dynamic-duo

    B.M.C. Roundup: PureMedia, UltraDAC, and PureUSB1: http://parttimeaudiophile.com/2016/01/16/review-b-m-c-audio-puremedia-pureusb1-ultradac/

    HiFiMAN HE-1000: http://parttimeaudiophile.com/2015/11/07/review-hifiman-he1000-flagship-headphones/

    PurePiper A2: http://www.head-fi.org/products/purepiper-a2/reviews/14433

    Chord Hugo: http://parttimeaudiophile.com/2015/08/15/review-the-spectacularly-quirky-chord-hugo/

    Violectric V281: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/authoritative-and-potent-violectric-v281-headphone-amplifier

    NuPrime DAC-10H: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/nuprime-dac-10h-digital-analog-converter-headphone-amp

    Parasound Zdac V.2: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/parasound-zdac-v2-and-headphone-amp

    Resonessence Labs Invicta Mirus: http://headphone.guru/158/

    Exogal Comet Plus DAC: http://headphone.guru/exogal-comet-a-compact-reference/

    EarWerkz Legend R CIEM: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/two-custom-ear-monitors-earwerkz

    Portable Audio Players compared: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/survey-digital-audio-players-part-1

    iQube v5 portable amp/DAC: http://headphone.guru/iqube-v5-review/

    Desktop speaker roundup: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/desktop-usb-speaker-roundup

    Questyle CMA800i: http://www.head-fi.org/products/questyle-cma800i-integrated-dac-headphone-amp-and-preamp/reviews/11992

    Noble K10 and 5C CIEMs: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/noble-audio-5c-switch-and-fabulous-kaiser-10-custom-iems

    AURALiC Gemini 2000: http://parttimeaudiophile.com/2014/10/18/review-auralic-gemini-2000-headphone-dock/

    Yulong D200 DSD DAC: http://headphone.guru/yulong-audio-dac/

    Aurender X100L Music Server: http://parttimeaudiophile.com/2014/09/19/review-aurender-x100l-music-server/

    Resonessence Labs Invicta Mirus: http://headphone.guru/158/

    NuForce HA-200 headphone amp: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/nuforce-ha-200dual-mono-madness

    Flagship closed headphone roundup: http://parttimeaudiophile.com/2014/07/18/flagship-closed-back-headphones-from-mrspeakers-audeze-and-fostex/

    Resonessence Labs Herus: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/resonessence-labs-herus-usb-headphone-ampdac

    Questyle CMA800R amp: http://www.head-fi.org/products/questyle-cma800r-current-mode-headphone-amplifier-silver/reviews/10036

    Resonessence Labs Herus: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/resonessence-labs-herus-usb-headphone-ampdac

    ADAM Audio F5 speakers: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/desktop-champion-adam-audio-f5

    Yulong A28 balanced amp: http://www.head-fi.org/products/yulong-a28-headphone-amplifier/reviews/10808

    BMC PureDAC: http://parttimeaudiophile.com/2014/04/04/headphone-bliss-b-m-c-audio-amazes-with-puredac/

    Questyle Q192 DAC/amp: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/tight-and-tasty-questyle-q192-dacheadphone-amp

    Auraliti PK90 file player: http://parttimeaudiophile.com/2014/02/14/auraliti-pk90/

    AURALiC Taurus mkII amplifier: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/spectacularly-transparent-auralic-taurus-mkii

    Questyle CMA800 amplifier: http://www.head-fi.org/products/questyle-co-ltd-cma800-amplifier/reviews/11325

    Resonessence Labs Concero HP USB DAC/amp: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/small-and-mighty-resonessense-labs-concero-hp


    Resonessence Labs Concero HD: http://parttimeaudiophile.com/2013/10/05/resonessence-labs-concero-hd/

    Audiophilleo AP1 with PurePower: http://parttimeaudiophile.com/2013/09/06/audiophileo-1-with-pure-power-the-little-combo-that-could/

    Wren Sound V5AP: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/wren-sound-systems-v5-wireless-speaker

    NuForce DAC-80: http://www.head-fi.org/t/678766/review-nuforce-dac-80-replacement-for-the-dac-100-same-sound-lower-price

    Effect Audio Thor cables: http://www.head-fi.org/t/678772/review-effect-audio-thor-cables-for-iems-and-full-sized-headphones-in-both-silver-and-spc-form

    Firestone Bobby balanced headphone amp: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/firestone-audio-bobby-balanced-headphone-amplifier

    NuForce Home Series: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/nuforce-home-series-quality-compact-audio-gear

    Yulong Sabre DA8 DAC: http://www.head-fi.org/t/673033/review-yulong-audio-sabre-da8-reference-dac

    Salk WOW1 monitors: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/beauty-sight-and-sound-salk-wow1-mini-monitor

    Asus Xonar Essence STU DAC/amp: http://www.head-fi.org/t/668495/review-asus-xonar-essence-stu

    HeaDSPeaker Home Virtual Surround: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/dspeaker-headspeaker-headphone-virtual-surround-system

    Firestone Audio Tobby DAC: http://www.head-fi.org/t/664270/review-firestone-audio-tobby-dac

    Yulong P18 power conditioner: http://www.head-fi.org/t/662501/review-yulong-sabre-p18-power-processing-center-and-matching-ac-cable

    Matrix X-Sabre DAC: http://www.head-fi.org/t/650686/matrix-x-sabre-dac-review-and-impression-thread

    NuForce DAC-100: http://www.head-fi.org/t/657263/review-nuforce-dac-100-integrated-dac-amp

    Icon Audio HP8 MkII amp: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/icon-audio-hp8-mk2-tube-headphone-amplifier

    HiFi ET MA9 DAP: http://www.head-fi.org/t/651837/review-hifi-et-ma9-a-new-reference-level-dap

    HiFiMAN RE-400 IEMs: http://www.head-fi.org/t/649066/review-hifiman-re-400-waterline-iems

    Resonessence Labs Concero: http://www.head-fi.org/t/634760/resonessence-labs-concero-discussion-review-thead

    Izmo M1: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/izmo-m1-ddc-dac-and-headphone-amp

    1964 Ears V3: http://www.head-fi.org/t/629288/review-1964-ears-v3-triple-driver-custom-iem-updated-10-24-12

    Lear LCM-5: http://www.head-fi.org/t/626470/lear-lcm-5-new-entry-into-the-reference-class-custom-iem-segment-final-review-added-10-3-12

    Meizu MX 4-core: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/sound-smartphone-meizu-mx-4-core

    Leckerton UHA-6S MKII: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/leckerton-uha-6s-mkii-portable-headphone-amplifier

    Lake People G103 and G109 amps: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/lake-people-g103p-and-g109p-headphone-amplifiers

    Emotiva Airmotiv5 speakers: http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/emotiva-airmotiv-5-active-monitor-speakers

    Yulong Sabre A18 amp: http://www.head-fi.org/t/615218/review-yulong-sabre-a18-reference-headphone-amp

    HiFiMAN HE-400: http://www.head-fi.org/products/hifiman-he-400/reviews/6872

    Lear LCM-2B custom IEMs: http://www.head-fi.org/t/605348/review-lear-lcm-2b-dual-driver-custom-iems-a-new-custom-company-out-of-hong-kong

    Violectric V800: http://www.head-fi.org/t/574418/review-violectric-v800-dac#post_7799058

    Resonessence Labs Invicta: http://www.head-fi.org/forum/thread/559407/review-resonessence-labs-invicta-new-high-end-dac-amp-playback-system

    Violectric V200 amp: http://www.head-fi.org/forum/thread/551173/review-violectric-hpa-v200-amp#post_7429168

    Audio GD Reference 7 DAC: http://www.head-fi.org/forum/thread/506715/audio-gd-reference-7-loaner-program-usa/315#post_7407784 (scroll down a bit)

    Violectric V181 amp: http://www.head-fi.org/forum/thread/548608/review-violectric-v181-balanced-headphone-amp#post_7395114
    Gear-Fi:
    New toys, some of which I'll be reviewing as time permits, not necessarily in order:

    Resonessence Labs Veritas

    Signature

  • Loading...
  • Loading...
  • Loading...
  • There are no messages on project86's profile yet.