Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Vsonic GR07 MK2 - stunning new cable! | bio-cel tech IEM | now with review - see 2nd post
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Vsonic GR07 MK2 - stunning new cable! | bio-cel tech IEM | now with review - see 2nd post - Page 9

post #121 of 974

@Kiteki, 

 

Please start a new thread when you're done so we can have a fresh start. I doubt people will want to dig through 8 pages to find relevant information.

post #122 of 974
Quote:
Originally Posted by eke2k6 View Post

Guys, this discussion belongs in a PM or the sound science forum. 

LMAO eke!!!!  etysmile.gif

post #123 of 974
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiteki View Post

Status Date Status Description
06-07-2012 Accepted at (POCMC)
06-07-2012 Further processing in progress (POCMC)
09-07-2012 Despatched to overseas (Country code: XX)

 

 

302x336px-LL-2319ac2c_Waiting.gif
 
Maybe we can have a discussion on Cable tensile strength, between Copper w/silver VS. Copper w/silver and 2 extra stands of silver. No?cool.gif
 
EDIT; While we are "waiting" for Kits rev..................but....."the wayayayitin is the hardest part"

Edited by Freefallr4545 - 7/11/12 at 12:43pm
post #124 of 974
Thread Starter 
Originally Posted by eke2k6 View Post 

 

Please start a new thread when you're done so we can have a fresh start. I doubt people will want to dig through 8 pages to find relevant information.

 

No I want to preserve all the pseudo-science posts, if I start a new thread it'll just happen again right?

 

There really isn't anything to discuss, they improved the cable pliability, feel, looks, and added more silver for higher conductivity (even if only in theory), the price is exactly the same as the previous model, (no marketing / scam in sight).

 

I'm happy with the new cable, however hopefully there are more changes versus the previous model, as the 'Vsonic CEO' implied, I can't decipher those changes since I don't have the previous model, I was waiting for the MK2 like Jocelyn, so I'm reviewing the GR07 MK2 alone, and versus other IEM's, I'll post all that in post #2 later.

 

kThx.

post #125 of 974
Thread Starter 

Originally Posted by Freefallr4545 View Post

 

Maybe we can have a discussion on Cable tensile strength, between Copper w/silver VS. Copper w/silver and 2 extra stands of silver. No?cool.gif
 
EDIT; While we are "waiting" for Kits rev..................but....."the wayayayitin is the hardest part"

 

Or what your favorite kind of tea and teacup is.

 

Last night someone tried to steal my motorbike... oh well it costs less than the LCD-3 anyway.  First world problems.

post #126 of 974

Hmm, there's no real way to do a double blind test of headphones or IEMs and I don't have either mkII (nor am getting one, at least now) or GR07 measurements. Nor access to the measurement head anymore. frown.gif

 

Someone care to measure both with the same tips once it arrives? I'd love to see the 6k peak reduced and the minor high bass emphasis gone. That'd make for an excellent product.


Edited by AstralStorm - 7/11/12 at 4:49pm
post #127 of 974
Thread Starter 
Originally Posted by PseudoStorm View Post

Hmm, there's no real way to do a double blind test of headphones or IEMs and I don't have either mkII (nor am getting one, at least now) or GR07 measurements. Nor access to the measurement head anymore.

 

Someone care to measure both with the same tips once it arrives? I'd love to see the 6k peak reduced and the minor high bass emphasis gone. That'd make for an excellent product.

 

How about someone just tells you how harsh it sounds compared to the MK1?  Like goodvibes pointed out to you in post #120 we can't measure everything.

 

The Sony EX700 is much harsher than the EX600 and that didn't show up in measurements, anywhere, at all, neither does the difference in sound in the EX1000.

 

If you need everything on paper, or only hear what's on paper via expectation effect, you can start paper-fi.org.

post #128 of 974
Quote:
Originally Posted by AstralStorm View Post

Hmm, there's no real way to do a double blind test of headphones or IEMs and I don't have either mkII (nor am getting one, at least now) or GR07 measurements. Nor access to the measurement head anymore. frown.gif

 

Someone care to measure both with the same tips once it arrives? I'd love to see the 6k peak reduced and the minor high bass emphasis gone. That'd make for an excellent product.

 

Actually, I'm not even sure I want the spike reduced. It's what gives the GR07 the magic it has with snares and cymbals

post #129 of 974
Thread Starter 
Originally Posted by eke2k6 View Post

 

Actually, I'm not even sure I want the spike reduced. It's what gives the GR07 the magic it has with snares and cymbals

 

Yes a lot of IEM's have intentional spikes, just look at a lot of the ~$1000 custom IEM's.

 

Inks & Company complaining / spamming they're not flat all the time is getting old fast.


Edited by kiteki - 7/11/12 at 5:22pm
post #130 of 974
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiteki View Post

 

Yes a lot of IEM's have intentional spikes, just look at the $1000 custom IEM's designed via FR.

 

Inks & Company complaining they're not flat is getting old fast.

 

+1...  A lot of IEM companies do this.  It creates flavor, but also can emphasize properties.  Etymotic likes to put a spike in their IEMs as well...  ACS does it to the T15.  Aurisonics did do it to the AS(G)-1, but removed it...  That removal, in my opinion, was a bad decision.  To reduce is one thing, to remove is another.  Just be aware of what you're asking for.  

post #131 of 974
Thread Starter 
Originally Posted by tinyman392 View Post

 

+1...  A lot of IEM companies do this.  It creates flavor, but also can emphasize properties.  Etymotic likes to put a spike in their IEMs as well... 

 

It's not only for flavour, yet to make them sound more realisitc.  If you have a television with weak black levels and contrast ratio, you artificially raise the contrast levels to make it look nicer, IEM's are imperfect mirrors to reality so only an imperfect FR will be closer to perfection, this is 'common sense'.


Edited by kiteki - 7/11/12 at 5:36pm
post #132 of 974
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiteki View Post

 

It's not only for flavour, yet to make them sound more realisitc.  If you have a television with weak black levels and contrast ratio, you artificially raise the contrast levels to make it look nicer, IEM's are imperfect mirrors to reality so only an imperfect FR will be closer to perfection, this is 'common sense'.

 

Yes, for sure.  There are also spikes added to reproduce transfer functions of certain parts of the ear.  They can also be added to enhance sound as you said.  

post #133 of 974
Thread Starter 

Yes that is the real science which companies like UE employ, they also did evaluation via listening when developing the UERM with Capitol Studios etc.

 

They match the FR of every custom IEM they make for uniformity, so every model sounds the same, or close, the sound an IEM makes is a lot more complicated than that though, FR is only a small piece of the puzzle.

 

Compare the UE700 and UE18Pro at that site, pretty much says it all that the measuring science is still very limited, you can't evidence a lack of evidence, at least not for the paper-fi'ers.

 

They can continue listening to their Fiio E6 and ER-4 while others enjoy much higher quality sound.


Edited by kiteki - 7/11/12 at 6:13pm
post #134 of 974
Thread Starter 

I make a GIF to demonstrate my point.

 

UE700 versus UE18Pro.

 

Your image is loading...

 

Now stop spamming this thread with useless pseudo-science.

post #135 of 974
Was that statement aimed at me? If so, what did I do?


Sent from an iPod touch with TapaTalk... Autocorrect may alter the meaning of this message tongue.gif
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Vsonic GR07 MK2 - stunning new cable! | bio-cel tech IEM | now with review - see 2nd post