Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Headphones (full-size) › "Mad Dog" by MrSpeakers, modified Fostex T50RP review
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

"Mad Dog" by MrSpeakers, modified Fostex T50RP review - Page 417  

post #6241 of 6388

That is a pretty nice review from 6Moons, yup!  


Edited by mrspeakers - 5/27/13 at 10:21am
post #6242 of 6388

The 6moons reviewer doesn't even know HE500 dropped $200 in price a long time ago alreadypopcorn.gif

post #6243 of 6388
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerg View Post

The 6moons reviewer doesn't even know HE500 dropped $200 in price a long time ago alreadypopcorn.gif

 

Most professional reviewers don't use the "street price" but the original MSRP of said headphones/audio gear. 


Edited by Greed - 5/27/13 at 11:30am
post #6244 of 6388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greed View Post

 

Most professional reviewers don't use the "street price" but the original MSRP of said headphones/audio gear. 

HE500's MSRP is $699. It was an official $200 price reduction (from $899) by Hifiman a year ago.

post #6245 of 6388
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerg View Post

HE500's MSRP is $699. It was an official $200 price reduction (from $899) by Hifiman a year ago.

 

The original MSRP was $899.99 when they first released. I'm guessing they reviewed the HE-500 then, hence why they used the same price point in the comparison. 

post #6246 of 6388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greed View Post

 

The original MSRP was $899.99 when they first released. I'm guessing they reviewed the HE-500 then, hence why they used the same price point in the comparison. 

Hm. In 2011 6moons reviewed the HE-500, which was at that time $899.

 

In the MD review he touts the HE-500's price still at $899.

 

 

Moral of the story: 6moons spewing wrong facts, not a new thing.

 

Congrats on the 6moons review Dan, I'm sure that'll bring more exposure for you.

post #6247 of 6388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greed View Post

 

The original MSRP was $899.99 when they first released. I'm guessing they reviewed the HE-500 then, hence why they used the same price point in the comparison. 

But it's irrelevant in this case!! The MadDog review is a May 2013 review, not a May 2011 review, so it makes zero sense to list the HE500s as $900 cans when they are $700 cans.

 

It's a good thing they are still over double the price of MDs, if the 6moons peeps manage to review another headphone in the future that's also $700, and then still talk about how HE500s "being $900 cans" are a bit better but $200 more expensive, then what?


Edited by jerg - 5/27/13 at 12:56pm
post #6248 of 6388
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerg View Post

But it's irrelevant in this case!! The MadDog review is a May 2013 review, not a May 2011 review, so it makes zero sense to list the HE500s as $900 cans when they are $700 cans.

 

It's a good thing they are still over double the price of MDs, if the 6moons peeps manage to review another headphone in the future that's also $700, and then still talk about how HE500s "being $900 cans" are a bit better but $200 more expensive, then what?

 

Not sure, but I've never been much of a fan of 6Moons reviews and their style. Lots of speculation, too much hyperbole and misconceptions. Sorry if I came off as argumentative, not my intention at all. But... silver lining is the Mad Dogs are on the map high and wide now, so congrats Dan on your unbelievable success! 

 

beerchug.gif

post #6249 of 6388
Quote:
Originally Posted by preproman View Post

 

 

So Clem,

 

Do you like the 600s or are they just Meh...??

 

Yeah I really like them.

 

The treble is to die for! The bass is very good now. I'll have to compare it with the MDs again to see how it stacks up now it's had sometime to settle.

 

On casual listen at my computer, they best the HE-4 while giving a similar U-shaped sound signature (but much more refined in the treble, more pronounced there too but the quality makes for an overall very enjoyable listen).

What disappoints me a bit is how they compare to the 5LEs in serious listening conditions redface.gif A tube amp (WA7) might be more suited than the SA-31 in this case. I will try to put it on its warmest setting to bring tonality back to some more "romantic/realistic" level.

post #6250 of 6388
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrspeakers View Post

That is a pretty nice review from 6Moons, yup!  

 

Except for the last comment regarding name rolleyes.gif

 

Congrats Dan! Another good review on the list beerchug.gif

post #6251 of 6388
Quote:
Originally Posted by eron View Post

Not really magic. It's still more closed than open headphones of comparable size. It's just a very good compromise.

Yeah, magic was tongue in cheek. Re-read sounded a bit patronizing, sorry all. I've heard in the large majority good comments about the TH900 and TH600. I need to hear a pair of D7000's again. I sold mine at least a year ago.
Edited by aamefford - 5/27/13 at 2:53pm
post #6252 of 6388

The review of Mad Dog from 6moons was really hard to understand for my English level. Just scan and skim but overall I believe that was a positive review.

 

Saw the PS part: For those into balanced cans, an upcoming version will sport the proper four-pole leash and even an upgraded single-ended cable option is planned.

 

Maybe Dan is going to upgrade the better cable. Which cable is he going to choose. Do not know but hope the price is not going to go up more than my budgetbiggrin.gif.

post #6253 of 6388
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoveKnight View Post

The review of Mad Dog from 6moons was really hard to understand for my English level. Just scan and skim but overall I believe that was a positive review.

Saw the PS part: For those into balanced cans, an upcoming version will sport the proper four-pole leash and even an upgraded single-ended cable option is planned.

Maybe Dan is going to upgrade the better cable. Which cable is he going to choose. Do not know but hope the price is not going to go up more than my budget:D .

The plan for the optional regular cable is to make it work with all current phones. This has been a huge pain as the right angle connector is insanely hard to find a decent connector for, so there is no date yet. Also, price is tbd but it will be an add on for sure.
post #6254 of 6388
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoveKnight View Post

The review of Mad Dog from 6moons was really hard to understand for my English level. Just scan and skim but overall I believe that was a positive review.

 

Saw the PS part: For those into balanced cans, an upcoming version will sport the proper four-pole leash and even an upgraded single-ended cable option is planned.

 

Maybe Dan is going to upgrade the better cable. Which cable is he going to choose. Do not know but hope the price is not going to go up more than my budgetbiggrin.gif.


LOL, I don't think native speakers can digest 6 moons reviews that well either, not sure why this BS spewing site is so regarded, this one is a true gem. biggrin.gif

post #6255 of 6388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew_WOT View Post


LOL, I don't think native speakers can digest 6 moons reviews that well either, not sure why this BS spewing site is so regarded, this one is a true gem. biggrin.gif
For sure! A nice, positive review once you translate it into English. Oh, wait...
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Headphones (full-size)
This thread is locked  
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Headphones (full-size) › "Mad Dog" by MrSpeakers, modified Fostex T50RP review