Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Mysterious Focalprice IEM's = AMAZING! Impressions and comparisons inside
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Mysterious Focalprice IEM's = AMAZING! Impressions and comparisons inside - Page 2

post #16 of 322
post #17 of 322
Thread Starter 

Did a thorough comparison with my friends Sennheiser HD448 and CX300-II today. Impressions below:

 

Sennheiser CX300-II

Very muddy bass and rolled off treble with an overly warm presentation. The Ck-700 is substantially better overall.

 

Sennheiser HD448

No comparison in regards to bass, the CK-700 has heaps more bass, with unbelievable quality to match. Soundstage seemed wider with the CK-700 blink.gif. Treble and clarity were about equal (both excellent). To me the CK-700 seemed less colored, though I did like the HD448’s warm signature, and lack of sibilance.

 

 

Harshness/sibilance is still a problem, though I think I may be more sensitive to it than others.  Shoving some polyfill down the tips seems to fix it =]

 

These things still continue to impress me. “Bliss – Quiet Letters” sound amazing on theseo2smile.gif.

post #18 of 322

Sorry but this seems like a scam to me...

EX300's for $10?

That doesn't exist surely?

 

(I know these aren't the earphones in question) but just for a moment, take a look at their other earphones they offer...

Either are fakes, or just scamming people's money.

 

I can/could/probably am wrong, please correct me if I am.

http://www.focalprice.com/EP487B/MDREX300SL_Inear_Earphones_with_35mm_Stereo_09M_Cable_Black.html

post #19 of 322

Why do I get the feeling we are about to see Focalprice vs Monoprice 8320 shootout pretty soon? 

 

Is this a new trend? <$10 IEMs?

post #20 of 322

The cheaper the better! :D
About time audio products drop in price...hehe

post #21 of 322

Most of the time, you get what you pay for.

post #22 of 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merck View Post

Most of the time, you get what you pay for.



that explains the £37 IE7's then :P

(genuine purchase too)

 

post #23 of 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Totally Dubbed View Post



that explains the £37 IE7's then :P

(genuine purchase too)

 


That sounds like a deal that might be too good to be true.  Then again I thought I had a great deal on my HF3 paying $77. 

 

post #24 of 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merck View Post

That sounds like a deal that might be too good to be true.  Then again I thought I had a great deal on my HF3 paying $77. 

 


was a refurbished pair off an authorised dealer :)

It's all good, and genuine

 

 

post #25 of 322

Jesus, you nearly gave me a heart attack! $6? Do you reckon they'll sound better then the Brainwavz Beta (v2)?

post #26 of 322

http://www.focalprice.com/EP783B/35mm_Jack_OnEar_Stereo_Headphone_for_MP3_MP4_PC_Black.html

 

...portapro fake? :P  Wonder how all of these fakes even sound.

post #27 of 322

I like the look of the CK-820, but I don't seem them anywhere... Expecially not in green >:

Think the diffrent models sound particularly diffrent from the initially brought up CK-700?


Edited by Cotelio - 11/19/11 at 1:49pm
post #28 of 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Totally Dubbed View Post

Sorry but this seems like a scam to me...

EX300's for $10?

That doesn't exist surely?

 

(I know these aren't the earphones in question) but just for a moment, take a look at their other earphones they offer...

Either are fakes, or just scamming people's money.

 

I can/could/probably am wrong, please correct me if I am.

http://www.focalprice.com/EP487B/MDREX300SL_Inear_Earphones_with_35mm_Stereo_09M_Cable_Black.html


I think it is pretty well known that these are all fakes.  notice on their site that they specify "genuine" on some of them, particularly soundmagic products.  I think the safe assumption is that they are fake unless otherwise stated.  That doesnt mean they are all terrible though.  Its kind a crapshoot.  like a fun little scavenger hunt. 

 

post #29 of 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaBomb77766 View Post

http://www.focalprice.com/EP783B/35mm_Jack_OnEar_Stereo_Headphone_for_MP3_MP4_PC_Black.html

 

...portapro fake? :P  Wonder how all of these fakes even sound.

 

There is only one way to find out hehe!
Someone needs to make a multi IEM fake thread...:P

 



Quote:
Originally Posted by idvsego View Post

I think it is pretty well known that these are all fakes.  notice on their site that they specify "genuine" on some of them, particularly soundmagic products.  I think the safe assumption is that they are fake unless otherwise stated.  That doesnt mean they are all terrible though.  Its kind a crapshoot.  like a fun little scavenger hunt. 

 


haha!

 

 

post #30 of 322
Thread Starter 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cappuccino View Post

Jesus, you nearly gave me a heart attack! $6? Do you reckon they'll sound better then the Brainwavz Beta (v2)?



Sorry Cappuccino, never heard the Brainwavz before.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Cotelio View Post

I like the look of the CK-820, but I don't seem them anywhere... Expecially not in green >:

Think the diffrent models sound particularly diffrent from the initially brought up CK-700?



I have the wooden version (CK-W1000) probably arriving sometime in the week (maybe today). Will post a comparison when i get them.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Mysterious Focalprice IEM's = AMAZING! Impressions and comparisons inside