Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphone Amps › Portable amps review, will continue to review as many as I can.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Portable amps review, will continue to review as many as I can.

Poll Results: What portable amp should i get next and review.

Poll expired: Nov 29, 2011  
  • 13% (2)
    FiiO E7
  • 20% (3)
    Digizoid ZOv2
  • 33% (5)
    Ray Samuels Hornet/Tomahawk
  • 33% (5)
    PA2V2
15 Total Votes  
post #1 of 18
Thread Starter 

This review will be updated as quickly as possible.

To start off this review, I will say that each amp will have a in-depth review of  highs, bass, mid-range, neutrality , and sound stage. I know there is already a topic like this one however it doesn't have the newer an cheapish amps. 

 

Gear: Headphones: Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro 250ohms, AKG 701 66ohms, Grado SR80i 32ohms,Sennheiser 448 32ohms, Sennheiser 428 24ohms, Creative Aurvana Live! 32ohms.

Source: ZuneHD 16GB, ZuneHD 32GB.

 

Headphone review  w/o Amp

Beyerdynamic DT990 Pro 250Ohms 500+hr burn-in :

 

Highs: A- The highs are not as excruciating as everyone says. The highs sound amazing and don't over shadow the mid-range and bass end of these headphones, the songs that i have listened to that have over eccentric highs that this headphone shows is Zenmai- Last Alliance and every Scandal (j-rock) song. The highs have a some what warm and colorful feeling to them and very detailed.

 

Mid-range: A- The mid-range is a little bit over shadowed by the bass, however it is recognizable enough to determine the difference between the two. They don't fatigue, they are quite fun and exciting. 

 

Bass: A The DT990 Pros have a punchy and warmish bass. Very thumpy and fun. The DT990s have bass but could use a little extra detail into it.

 

Neutrality: These are a quite even but could use a little push in the mid-range, which i have yet to find a amp, portable or desktop, to give it that push.

 

Soundstaging: The soundstage on the DT 990 Pros is mid-ranged it makes you feel like you are in the middle while the band plays around you. With other music that does not have instruments in it the music is very upfront and in your face. 

 


Edited by shiorisekine - 12/23/12 at 10:14pm
post #2 of 18

I say get the p51 or the tomahawk.

post #3 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by chef8489 View Post

I say get the p51 or the tomahawk.



Yeah - get em both - gonna cost you a bomb, but you may as well ameliorate your shipping/paypal costs. I probably wouldnt bold everything in subsequent reviews - looks like you are shouting at us ...

post #4 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiorisekine View Post

 

This review will be updated as quickly as possible.


 

Dude, you talked the talk last month, but I'm not seeing a whole lot in the way of 'walk' - how's this progressing ?

post #5 of 18

If you purchase a tomahawk, pico, preditor, or shadow I would probably buy it off you when you were finished. I might need one for my wife when I get her better cans.


Edited by chef8489 - 11/8/11 at 10:34pm
post #6 of 18

Get any of the RSA portable amps.

post #7 of 18

Get the Fiio E17.

post #8 of 18

1. The E17 wasnt listed as one of the amps he wants to review

2. You seem intent on posting that recommendation in as many threads as possible - are Fiio paying you ?

post #9 of 18

The title of the thread is:

 will continue to review as many as I can.

Fiio E17 is reported to be out in ~90 days. 

 

The OP may also want to consider the Ibasso D7 Sidewinder that is reported to be out in <14 days.

 

FWIW I'd like to see him review the Tomahawk next.

 

Happy?

post #10 of 18

I stand by what I said - you are going from thread to thread recommending an amp you havent even heard. Give us a break until you have actually heard the thing, OK ?

post #11 of 18

OK!

post #12 of 18
Thread Starter 

I have looked into the FiiO e17 it look like it will be a nice amp so i might review it later on depending on the release date i am a big fan of FiiO's amps so if anyone has the estimated price.

post #13 of 18

Sunny at Fiio says the e17 will be released in january. they still have not finalized anything on it and they are unable to give me any specs for it. here is the conversation.

 

And if you can send me info about the e7 and maybe the e17 I would appreciate it. But I understand if you can not on the e17
[11/11/2011 8:19:51 PM] me: Did you have a chance to check out that thread
[11/11/2011 8:23:10 PM] sunny: Jeremy , have sent the mail to you of E11 and L9 , if you need the E7 , i will send it to you soon , but i am so sorry that i havenot any information of E17 now ,  E17 are being discussed now ....the spec i still can not got it now , hope you can understand.
 
here is part of email.
me  There are a lot of questions and speculations on the Fiio e17 and wondering what you can tell me about this?
 
Sunny:  E17 will be available on january 2012.
 
Best Regards

 

post #14 of 18
Thread Starter 


 

Quote:
Originally Posted by chef8489 View Post

Sunny at Fiio says the e17 will be released in january. they still have not finalized anything on it and they are unable to give me any specs for it. here is the conversation.

 

And if you can send me info about the e7 and maybe the e17 I would appreciate it. But I understand if you can not on the e17
[11/11/2011 8:19:51 PM] me: Did you have a chance to check out that thread
[11/11/2011 8:23:10 PM] sunny: Jeremy , have sent the mail to you of E11 and L9 , if you need the E7 , i will send it to you soon , but i am so sorry that i havenot any information of E17 now ,  E17 are being discussed now ....the spec i still can not got it now , hope you can understand.
 
here is part of email.
me  There are a lot of questions and speculations on the Fiio e17 and wondering what you can tell me about this?
 
Sunny:  E17 will be available on january 2012.
 
Best Regards

 

Alright thank you. If i have the money for it i will buy it.
 

 

post #15 of 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiorisekine View Post


 

Alright thank you. If i have the money for it i will buy it.
 

 

 

Great - you can review the Hornet/Tomahawk while we wait for the E17. Looking forward to it. 
 

 

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Portable Headphone Amps
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphone Amps › Portable amps review, will continue to review as many as I can.