Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › How do I tell if Apple IEMs on eBay are legit?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

How do I tell if Apple IEMs on eBay are legit?

post #1 of 14
Thread Starter 

I know that some of you say you can get them for around $25 genuinely. But it doesn't seem right to me. An item that retails for $65-80 selling new for $25? How can that be done?

 

Like this for example: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-iPod-Inear-In-Ear-earphone-headphone-earbuds-NEW-/120736420384?pt=Other_MP3_Player_Accessories&hash=item1c1c739220#ht_703wt_1396

Is that legitimate? The sell has good feddback and offers a 7 day money back guarantee. And since it's new I would get Apple's 1 year warranty included. But still $55 off retail for a new item? That can't be right, can it?


Edited by Markery - 10/8/11 at 9:13pm
post #2 of 14

MA850.jpeg

Don't look like the real thing, do they ?

post #3 of 14

The one at the listing is an older version I believe.

post #4 of 14

the easiest way is to ask the seller if it has 'manufacturer warranty'. If its fake, the seller will make up excuses like 'This is an OEM product direct from the factory' and if the seller doesn't respond at all, assume that its fake.

post #5 of 14
I believe the legit ones will include nothing but the IEMs, plastic case and other tip sizes, won't be new, and will probably ship from California. I wouldn't trust the other ones, especially if they ship from China.
post #6 of 14

Going by price alone I'd say fake.

post #7 of 14

Old model (from what I've heard) sucks anyways (that's the model that's shown in the EBay pic.

post #8 of 14

Here you go. http://www.ebay.com/itm/220829029562?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649 Can't touch this.

mc-hammer-pants.jpg


Edited by goodvibes - 10/9/11 at 7:43am
post #9 of 14
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by goodvibes View Post

Here you go. http://www.ebay.com/itm/220829029562?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649 Can't touch this.

mc-hammer-pants.jpg


Are those really legit? Has anyone bought from them before? $18.. That's insane. In the picture the strain relief is white, when it's suppose to be gray like the cord. But that's a stock photo, so I dunno. Should I go for those? That's an amazing steal if they're legit. But I can't understand why or how they could be.

 

post #10 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markery View Post

I know that some of you say you can get them for around $25 genuinely. But it doesn't seem right to me. An item that retails for $65-80 selling new for $25? How can that be done?

 

 



You answered your own question.

post #11 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markery View Post

Are those really legit? Has anyone bought from them before? $18.. That's insane. In the picture the strain relief is white, when it's suppose to be gray like the cord. But that's a stock photo, so I dunno. Should I go for those? That's an amazing steal if they're legit. But I can't understand why or how they could be.

 


They're used and often on Ebay for under $30 like this. This auction had run at $25 for almost a month and recently reduced to move. I obviously can't say for sure but he looks like a reliable Apple reseller. Bought replacement pair for kicks.
 

 

post #12 of 14
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by goodvibes View Post

They're used and often on Ebay for under $30 like this. This auction had run at $25 for almost a month and recently reduced to move. I obviously can't say for sure but he looks like a reliable Apple reseller. Bought replacement pair for kicks. 

 



I think I'm gonna give it a shot. It does seem legitimate, especially since there's a 7 day money back guarantee, and of the 40 he's sold all are positive feedback. 

But is there a way once I get them to confirm their legitimacy right off the bat? I'm not too much of an audiophile, I don't know how well my ears could decipher.

post #13 of 14
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markery View Post

I think I'm gonna give it a shot. It does seem legitimate, especially since there's a 7 day money back guarantee, and of the 40 he's sold all are positive feedback. 

But is there a way once I get them to confirm their legitimacy right off the bat? I'm not too much of an audiophile, I don't know how well my ears could decipher.



BUMP  ^

post #14 of 14
Thread Starter 


 

Quote:
Originally Posted by goodvibes View Post

Here you go. http://www.ebay.com/itm/220829029562?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649 Can't touch this.

mc-hammer-pants.jpg


LEGIT ^

Got them today; totally genuine. What a steal! He's got a bunch more up like this as well.

 

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › How do I tell if Apple IEMs on eBay are legit?