New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Butte Review and new loaner program - Page 2

post #16 of 21
I've just posted my review, I love this amp! Thanks for letting me test it. I've just got it a few days ago so I will probably ship it out on the 3rd or 4th.Anyway my review is here: http://www.head-fi.org/products/apex-hi-fi-butte/reviews/5900
post #17 of 21

I was banned when I got the Butte, so I couldn't post up the review. But here it is!

 

Day 1: http://btgaudio.wordpress.com/2012/03/29/51/

Day 1.5: http://btgaudio.wordpress.com/2012/03/29/apex-butte-day-1-5-build-quality/

Day 2: http://btgaudio.wordpress.com/2012/04/03/apex-butte-day-2-more-reviewing/

Day 3: http://btgaudio.wordpress.com/2012/04/15/apex-butte-day-3-end-of-reviewing/

 

Don't even bother to read it though. I'm not a reviewer. I only wrote I cause it's part of the deal.

post #18 of 21

How come only 3 days of reviewing?  I thought Todd was allowing 2 weeks of review time. 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pingupenguins View Post

I was banned when I got the Butte, so I couldn't post up the review. But here it is!

 

Day 1: http://btgaudio.wordpress.com/2012/03/29/51/

Day 1.5: http://btgaudio.wordpress.com/2012/03/29/apex-butte-day-1-5-build-quality/

Day 2: http://btgaudio.wordpress.com/2012/04/03/apex-butte-day-2-more-reviewing/

Day 3: http://btgaudio.wordpress.com/2012/04/15/apex-butte-day-3-end-of-reviewing/

 

Don't even bother to read it though. I'm not a reviewer. I only wrote I cause it's part of the deal.

post #19 of 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by WNBC View Post

How come only 3 days of reviewing?  I thought Todd was allowing 2 weeks of review time. 


I took the 2 weeks, but it doesn't mean I actually used all of it for reviewing. I spent 3 whole days reviewing, but did it spaced out a little bit cause I do have other things I need to do.

post #20 of 21

I found the Apex Butte to really shine when the source could put >2.3V into the amp.  The Butte can delivery really clean, transparent sound with an extended low end to my orthos.  I was really surprised at what the Butte could do when connected to an excellent source like a SACD player.  The cMoy is a bit leaner  in the mids and doesn't have the same impact/weight as the Butte.  The cMoy is great for what it is as a portable, neutral amp.  I have one and wouldn't sell it but the Butte is more dynamic and presented a better image/focus with a wider soundstage.  The cMoy is more neutral, less warm than the Butte but I dig the Apex sound signature.

 

The reason I mentioned the time spent with the Butte is that I didn't truly unravel what it was capable of until close to the last day of testing and I did take the full 2 weeks of listening.  Like you, I was not super impressed until I had it connected to my SACD player and then it was a eureka moment for me.  The cMoy may indeed be the best bang for the buck and even be preferred for sensitive IEMs.  For those who need to drive more power hungry, less efficient full headphones I found the Butte to be more refined than the cMoy.  But it boils down to preferences, the best qualities of the cMoy are very different than the best qualities of the Butte.    

  

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pingupenguins View Post

I took the 2 weeks, but it doesn't mean I actually used all of it for reviewing. I spent 3 whole days reviewing, but did it spaced out a little bit cause I do have other things I need to do.

post #21 of 21

Again, I'm by no means a real reviewer and I don't own any expensive headphones. Right now I'm in the $100-$300 range. I don't think I can afford the super high-end cans for a while either.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: TTVJ Premier Sponsor Forum