Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Headphones (full-size) › Website for buying MDR-XB1000 or fake?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Website for buying MDR-XB1000 or fake?

post #1 of 19
Thread Starter 

Searched around on google and found a website that sells the MDR-XB1000 (retail $299 USD)

 

http://www.microcad.ca/products/details/Extra-Bass-XB-Headphones-2000202707?utm_source=google&utm_medium=product-search

 

From this website its at $190 (shipping would bring price a little over 200)

 

If the website sells real products, are the MDR-XB1000 worth $190 USD?

 

or are there better headphones at this price range? (Denon D2000, Beyerdynamic DT770, etc)

Gear mentioned in this thread:

post #2 of 19

Shady...

post #3 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by wredj10 View Post

Searched around on google and found a website that sells the MDR-XB1000 (retail $299 USD)

 

http://www.microcad.ca/products/details/Extra-Bass-XB-Headphones-2000202707?utm_source=google&utm_medium=product-search

 

From this website its at $190 (shipping would bring price a little over 200)

 

If the website sells real products, are the MDR-XB1000 worth $190 USD?

 

or are there better headphones at this price range? (Denon D2000, Beyerdynamic DT770, etc)



if you want to save money there are a lot of other cheaper headphones that sound better. Right now the xb1000 has to be imported from japan so it's way overpriced.

post #4 of 19

I dont think there is enough info at this time to know quite how well they compare to a lot of headphones out there. They're not worth $300, that's for sure. $190 maybe but they wont be that price for a long time on legit sites. Haven't heard the DT770, but the D2000s are most likely the better all-arounder compared to the XB1000. The XB1000 will probably be good for electronic music only, judging from the XB500 and XB700.

post #5 of 19

Odd. I'd wager it's a misquote, not a rip off, and that you'd have trouble getting them to hono(u)r the price, but who knows.  The company appears to have been around for awhile and seems legit, though the feedback is relatively minimal. Additionally, a lot of other phones that they list are rather pricey (eg. HD600 @$586, HD518 @$192) , so it doesn't seem like they're trying to lure people in with low prices across the board.

post #6 of 19

I have heard the xb1000 and it's just the xb700 on steroids, with a huge price tag. more of the same thing, muddy sound huge bass. The only thing I enjoy about sony's headphones is their value which the XB1000 lack.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HesterDW View Post

I dont think there is enough info at this time to know quite how well they compare to a lot of headphones out there. They're not worth $300, that's for sure. $190 maybe but they wont be that price for a long time on legit sites. Haven't heard the DT770, but the D2000s are most likely the better all-arounder compared to the XB1000. The XB1000 will probably be good for electronic music only, judging from the XB500 and XB700.



 

post #7 of 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by SennheiserHD View Post

I have heard the xb1000 and it's just the xb700 on steroids, with a huge price tag. more of the same thing, muddy sound huge bass. The only thing I enjoy about sony's headphones is their value which the XB1000 lack.



 

LOL yea Ill wait for them to drop to $150 before I pounce.
 

 

post #8 of 19
If you can get the XB1000 for $190 I would jump on it.

They are a nice set of headphones.
post #9 of 19
Thread Starter 

Another store selling for around $200 USD

http://www.macmall.com/p/product~dpno~8861376~pdp.giihjee;jsessionid=D800BCA53D62FE8765F7462B8BFEA7C4?source=MWBGOOGLEBASE

 

Price seems to be dropping fast, might be under 200 soon

post #10 of 19

Just placed an order with Microcad for the XB1000s. I'll post back here with how it turns out.

post #11 of 19

Did you get them yet?
 

Quote:
Originally Posted by DTKZ View Post

Just placed an order with Microcad for the XB1000s. I'll post back here with how it turns out.



 

post #12 of 19

Not yet. They told me my order would take about 10-14 days. I don't think the XB1000 has been officially released in Canada and they do have it on their site as a special order so I guess that the distribution situation is still being worked out.

post #13 of 19

I actually ordered the XB1000's from the website and i am also waiting 10-14 day delivery. I will let you guys know how it goes. Also i am new to the Forum so please welcome me with open arms.


Edited by jsilva009 - 8/31/11 at 10:11pm
post #14 of 19

Well, it took a while, but the XB1000s are here.  Anyone ordering from Microcad might want to use their chat support to check how long it might take before ordering.

post #15 of 19

This company has a physical address and 800 number. Call them, get their license or tax number.

http://www.microcad.ca/customerservice/contact

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Headphones (full-size)

Gear mentioned in this thread:

Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Headphones (full-size) › Website for buying MDR-XB1000 or fake?