So I've been meaning to get into soldering since these cables weren't going to get fixed/shortened themselves, and was looking for a cheap iron to start it off. I was thinking about buying that CSI Hakko clone or perhaps one of those bargain bin stations I've seen online, but then I realized that maybe I should try my luck on ebay for the real thing. A couple of listings passed, and then I saw this auction ( http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=380357530770&ssPageName=ADME:B:EOIBSA:US:1123 ) by these guys ( http://myworld.ebay.com/cool-lynx/?_trksid=p4340.l2559 ). I google searched for any further info on them, and they appear to be an honest to goodness manufacturing company ( http://cpmlynx.com/pages/1/index.htm ) electronics manufacturing company, perhaps trying to hawk off some of their old equipment.
Well I made a bid, and apparently today I won it for 25 bucks shipped as you can see there. This listing has no pictures (probably should have asked for them!), and I'm gonna have to see if I can't get tips in in time to test on my end before the 7 day period is up. I'm about to make the payment, as to my mind I doubt an actual company using this equipment to make products is going to buy fakes, but before I do, what do you think? Am I just being a little silly waiting before I pay as I've already done all the work and there's really no looking back before I pull out, or is there actually something I should worry about besides the obvious in this moderately risky maneuver? From what I can see, I think I'd make out well if it's fake or real for that price anyway, as the price is low enough that it's below the price of a new clone if it's in decent working order, which the seller claims to be. Am I preparing myself for disappointment anyway though?
Edit: Wow, I've forgotten how finicky this current version of the forum software was about linking. Parentheses for now I guess.
Edited by Anvil - 8/2/11 at 1:47pm








