Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Review: Spiral Ear SE 5-way Reference - A new level of resolution? (Review posted 5/15/12)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Review: Spiral Ear SE 5-way Reference - A new level of resolution? (Review posted 5/15/12) - Page 38

post #556 of 2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by temporaryname View Post

It's complicated. You can't get one shipped directly from Spiral Ear in Poland, which will mean added costs or the need to know someone inside the European Union. Then you can't ship it back easily if you need a refit or for warranty reasons. It's a whole lot of trouble.


Yes, I know. That's why I said "via Europe".

 

If you decide you would like to order from Spiral Ear, I'm happy to assist (I'm in the UK).

post #557 of 2015
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by anoxy View Post

What is the best option in the US for a CIEM comparable to the SE 5-way?

 

Ultimate Ears PRM.  I am still working on my PRM review, but it has a similar sound signature (which you can tune) and is very technically capable.

post #558 of 2015

haha 2000 bones? yikes. my budget is <1000

post #559 of 2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by anoxy View Post

haha 2000 bones? yikes. my budget is <1000

 

Then the 5-Way too is out of your budget. tongue.gif

post #560 of 2015

.


Edited by banani4000 - 11/25/12 at 7:11pm
post #561 of 2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by anoxy View Post

^exactly. The two CIEMs I want to try most are made overseas and come with either long turnaround times or complicated ordering processes (8.A and 5-Ways)

The 8.A and SE5 are not at all comparable in terms of turnaround time and ordering process. Heir Audio not only ships to the U.S., they even have a U.S.-based representative so you can send earmolds without the hassle of international shipping. The turnaround time is also weeks shorter than the SE5.

post #562 of 2015
I know, but they still make the customs overseas if I'm not mistaken. I'm just impatient and would rather buy now so I have them for my winter break vacation and my birthday on the 15th.
Edited by anoxy - 11/25/12 at 7:57pm
post #563 of 2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by anoxy View Post

I know, but they still make the customs overseas if I'm not mistaken. I'm just impatient and would rather buy now so I have them for my winter break vacation and my birthday on the 15th.

 

You want your CIEM in less than three weeks?? Even if you have ear impressions ready to ship, and even if you order from an American manufacturer, I very much doubt you'll get your wish. Or else, be ready to pay the big bucks for overnight shipping both ways and, if it is even offered, a rush fee. You cannot have it all: The best, for cheap, and fast.


Edited by Sinocelt - 11/25/12 at 8:34pm
post #564 of 2015

I've done the research. The ones I'm probably going to order are Dream Earz 7X and with rush order they will likely get here in time. But who knows. This thread is about Spiral Ear, not anoxy

post #565 of 2015

Questions, questions...

 

The first post describes the D1 as a good source http://www.head-fi.org/t/528473/review-anedio-d1-dac-my-new-reference-dac Has anyone tried the 5-way with the D2? http://www.head-fi.org/t/568758/anedio-d2-dac-release

 

Has anyone tried the 5-way with Audio-gd DAC/amps http://www.audio-gd.com/Products-EN.htm

 

I got the removable cable 5-way. Can I switch to balanced cables, and what model is recommended. OK here is one. Seems to be a custom order, probably north of $100 http://www.btg-audio.com/apps/photos/photo?photoid=162671880 Note also this thread http://www.head-fi.org/t/564978/15-custom-iem-tf10-cables-reviewed-whiplash-hybrid-v3-and-twag-v3-added-10-26-12

 

It looks from this thread that the Portaphile 627 might be good. http://www.head-fi.org/t/585786/multi-portable-amp-thread-12-amps-reviewed-shonyun-306-added-10-03-12 Though, nothing against it, but its portable. Wonder how it compares to the DX100.

 

I am guessing that a €1000 CIEM would benefit from a similar cost DAC/amp, and maybe a balanced cable while we're about it. In other words, what is the ultimate driver for the Spiral Ear 5-way, is it a desktop DAC like the Anedio D2, or an Audio-gd amp, or even a portable DAC. 


Edited by Toe Tag - 12/21/12 at 4:53am
post #566 of 2015

My first post here. I'd like to thank you Joe for your awesome work and reviews, which helped me to get SE 5-way Reference in the end. I am truly blown away with the way these monitors sound. The fit is spot on too. Many thanks!

A picture of my set: http://www.filedropper.com/mg2802_1
 

post #567 of 2015
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toe Tag View Post

Questions, questions...

 

The first post describes the D1 as a good source http://www.head-fi.org/t/528473/review-anedio-d1-dac-my-new-reference-dac Has anyone tried the 5-way with the D2? http://www.head-fi.org/t/568758/anedio-d2-dac-release

 

Has anyone tried the 5-way with Audio-gd DAC/amps http://www.audio-gd.com/Products-EN.htm

 

I got the removable cable 5-way. Can I switch to balanced cables, and what model is recommended. OK here is one. Seems to be a custom order, probably north of $100 http://www.btg-audio.com/apps/photos/photo?photoid=162671880 Note also this thread http://www.head-fi.org/t/564978/15-custom-iem-tf10-cables-reviewed-whiplash-hybrid-v3-and-twag-v3-added-10-26-12

 

It looks from this thread that the Portaphile 627 might be good. http://www.head-fi.org/t/585786/multi-portable-amp-thread-12-amps-reviewed-shonyun-306-added-10-03-12 Though, nothing against it, but its portable. Wonder how it compares to the DX100.

 

I am guessing that a €1000 CIEM would benefit from a similar cost DAC/amp, and maybe a balanced cable while we're about it. In other words, what is the ultimate driver for the Spiral Ear 5-way, is it a desktop DAC like the Anedio D2, or an Audio-gd amp, or even a portable DAC. 

 

Sorry for the delayed response, I was hoping some others would chime in with their thoughts.  The 5-way definitely benefits from more power and desktop equipment, but some portable equipment also is good, but similarly priced.  For example, the DX100 is very good with the 5-way, and just a hair below the D1, but add the 627 and the performance is better than the D1.  As for balanced, I tested the 5-way with my only balanced source, the 801 balanced card, and the D1 outperfomed the balanced configuration.  I am not sure if that will be true for all balanced amps, but I tested the balanced card with 3 of my CIEMs and the best it did was tie with the D1 using the EM4.

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by foodroid View Post

My first post here. I'd like to thank you Joe for your awesome work and reviews, which helped me to get SE 5-way Reference in the end. I am truly blown away with the way these monitors sound. The fit is spot on too. Many thanks!

A picture of my set: http://www.filedropper.com/mg2802_1

 

Thanks for reading my reviews and sharing about your purchase.  It is great to hear the fit is spot on and that you are enjoying them.  They are a pleasure!

post #568 of 2015

average_joe many thanks. It sounds like the state of the art is DX100 + 627. Perhaps the only other contender for driving these is the Anedio D2. Or, I am also curious if anyone has paired them with Audio-gd kit. I use them with their Sparrow... the vocals reveal new information, but overall the soundstage seems muddied. I also emailed Grzegorz to ask what he uses. (other than oscilloscopes...). 


Edited by Toe Tag - 12/31/12 at 3:49am
post #569 of 2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toe Tag View Post

average_joe many thanks. It sounds like the state of the art is DX100 + 627. Perhaps the only other contender for driving these is the Anedio D2. Or, I am also curious if anyone has paired them with Audio-gd kit. I use them with their Sparrow... the vocals reveal new information, but overall the soundstage seems muddied. I also messaged Grzegorz to ask what he uses. (other than oscilloscopes...). 
Please let us know what Grzegorz uses when you know the answer lol.
post #570 of 2015
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toe Tag View Post

average_joe many thanks. It sounds like the state of the art is DX100 + 627. Perhaps the only other contender for driving these is the Anedio D2. Or, I am also curious if anyone has paired them with Audio-gd kit. I use them with their Sparrow... the vocals reveal new information, but overall the soundstage seems muddied. I also emailed Grzegorz to ask what he uses. (other than oscilloscopes...). 

 

I am sure much of the high end desktop equipment will perform well with the 5-way, although portable equipment is catching up and in some cases equaling the performance.  Unfortunately I don't have the resources to hear all the options.  I was listening to the 5-way from my DX100 last night (no 627) and was in audio heaven!

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Headphones, Earphones and In-Ear Monitors › Review: Spiral Ear SE 5-way Reference - A new level of resolution? (Review posted 5/15/12)