Head-Fi.org › Forums › Misc.-Category Forums › Video Games Discussion › Mad Lust Envy's Headphone Gaming Guide: (4/8/2015: Full X2 Review update)
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Mad Lust Envy's Headphone Gaming Guide: (4/8/2015: Full X2 Review update) - Page 908

post #13606 of 30833
So, get that the semi-open cans are better in terms of sound quality (over the SLYRs) but by what degree/significance? And which is comfier: the Samson SASR850's or the Superlux 668b's?
post #13607 of 30833
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaruk View Post

So, get that the semi-open cans are better in terms of sound quality (over the SLYRs) but by what degree/significance? And which is comfier: the Samson SASR850's or the Superlux 668b's?


The SR850s... or at least, by looks, they win in the comfort department. I've heard the wing design is very stiff making it uncomfortable.

post #13608 of 30833
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evshrug View Post

Mad,
I just wanted to separately give you kudos for your PLYR 1 review. You're in your stride about how to cover a headphone, and you still manage to report the technical while also managing to make me kinda want to own whatever headphone you praise, if I were to indulge myself. SkullCandy is lucky to have found you smily_headphones1.gif

I was just in BestBuy and saw Astro A40 + Mixamp bundle selling for ~$250, so the PLYR 1 is apparently one of the better wireless headsets, for less money, same Dolby Headphone processing, and "Winner!" Tonal balance... sounds like a good option if you must have wireless. Could someone optionally wire in a headphone into the base station?

Thanks, Evs.

That's the only real drawback, you can't hook up another headphone.

As for my latest computer problem, it's more than likely a bad graphics card, as I had the same problem when I downhraded to windows 7 on a fresh install. I just don't like AMDs method of driver updates and the like. The Enduro was real problematic. I was running some demos, and running on Enduro was cutting my framera5e by half over just using the dedicated gfx (which only displayed on external monitors, not the laptop screen.)
post #13609 of 30833
Most people think the SR850's headband is more comfortable because it distributes the weight of the headphone more evenly across the top of the users head. You can also get the AKG K271 velour pads if you don't like the stock vinyl pads, they make the cans much more comfortable and improve the sound a bit too from what I've heard. The difference in SQ won't be gigantic, but it will be significant.
Edited by HiFiGamer1995 - 5/17/13 at 11:59pm
post #13610 of 30833
Hmmm.... And how bad is the sound leakage? How far away would a person have to be to be able to hear what I hear? I say this because, if I do get the SR850's, I will also be getting a Modmic, and I don't want to echo the game...
Edited by Zaruk - 5/18/13 at 6:53am
post #13611 of 30833
Quote:
Originally Posted by daleb View Post

I just ordered the JVC HA-S500s. I wonder how well they will work with gaming. Not that I got them for gaming, that's what my Q701s will be for, alongside its many other uses.

I also received my JVC two-three months ago and I find them incredibly good for watching movies, anime and my favorite FOX series. Still haven't tried them with gaming on either console or PC, but I honestly think that you'll love them (I wrote my first impression in their fan thread if you want to give it a read).

Great review on the PLYR Mad. Very enjoyable read!
Edited by Naingolann - 5/18/13 at 5:25am
post #13612 of 30833
It shouldn't echo the game unless it's at very loud volumes.
post #13613 of 30833
Then I have decided. I shall be getting the Samson SASR850C headphones and the Antlion Modmic. Thank you guys so much for the help.
post #13614 of 30833
An amp with Dolby Headphone also help a lot.
post #13615 of 30833
Any recommendations?
post #13616 of 30833
The Astro Mixamp is the best on the market for consoles (assuming you're on Xbox 360 because you have the X12), but it's $130. It's something you should buy down the road.
Edited by HiFiGamer1995 - 5/18/13 at 10:17am
post #13617 of 30833
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaruk View Post

Any recommendations?


If you are using a computer for gaming, then you can get a usb sound card like the Xonar U3. You may already have a sound card with virtual surround sound, though.

 

edit: or maybe the "Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Go! Pro"?


Edited by daleb - 5/18/13 at 10:33am
post #13618 of 30833

I typically game on the PC nowadays, and the X12 works on PC as well, but it will become my Xbox 360 set once the  SR850 and Modmic arrive. What meant was if you guys new of any decent sound cards/DACs/Amps that work well for a PC...

post #13619 of 30833
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaruk View Post

I typically game on the PC nowadays, and the X12 works on PC as well, but it will become my Xbox 360 set once the  SR850 and Modmic arrive. What meant was if you guys new of any decent sound cards/DACs/Amps that work well for a PC...


How about the Xonar DG? Its really cheap for a sound card.

post #13620 of 30833
The Asus Xonar range is one of the best soundcard/amp/DAC ranges out there for PC gaming.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Video Games Discussion
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Misc.-Category Forums › Video Games Discussion › Mad Lust Envy's Headphone Gaming Guide: (4/8/2015: Full X2 Review update)