Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Source Gear › Ipodsnanosonline selling fake ipod Nanos.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Ipodsnanosonline selling fake ipod Nanos.

post #1 of 23
Thread Starter 

Unfortunately a friend bought this fake ipod Nano off ipodsnanosonline, a Chinese 'company' selling 5th gen Nanos for £59. Frighteningly, if you search for a 5th gen ipod Nano, it is one of the first sites to appear.

 

The site has a McAfee symbol and a Verisign symbol, but both are copies from elsewhere. You have to log on and give your card details and then weeks later you get this......

 

  5132688551_a794b08e1a.jpg

 

5133291614_9d02d47648.jpg

 

A comparison with a real Nano (which is the silver one) shows clear differences....

 

5132691583_531800aa8f.jpg

 

5133297670_f84cbc3d21.jpg

 

5133295452_9fb6921a0f.jpg

 

5132692607_e1a4e023b8.jpg

post #2 of 23

They tried their best to make a site which can trick people.

Of course they don't accept paypal . In case you want to return!

Did you contact them for full refund?

 

This is the case were steve jobs personality is a positive thing. If you report to apple they will sure sue them.

post #3 of 23
Thread Starter 

It was a mate who bought it and they are asking for a refund. That is a good idea contacting Apple.

 

 

post #4 of 23

Your friend might try talking to a Apple sales rep, maybe they'll replace it or something (slim chance, but it doesn't hurt to try). If your friend is SOL and can't get anything for it, it would be interesting to open that thing up and see what's inside, I think.

post #5 of 23
Thread Starter 

He wants to try and get a refund. Interestingly, I cannot find the site now. Yesterday it was one of the first sites to come up doing a google search.

post #6 of 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prog Rock Man View Post

He wants to try and get a refund. Interestingly, I cannot find the site now. Yesterday it was one of the first sites to come up doing a google search.



Yeah, I was going to ask you for a link because I couldn't get to it via google or URL.com or URL.uk. 

post #7 of 23
post #8 of 23
Thread Starter 

Thanks for that, details now sent to Apple.

post #9 of 23

PLease let us know, if they offered refund and apple's reply.

post #10 of 23
Thread Starter 

Will do. 

post #11 of 23

Out of interest, does the fake work? Does it run the correct OS? Does it synch with iTunes properly?

 

Not that I want one, but just interested in knowing how good the fakes can get.

post #12 of 23

The verisign and macafee logos are fake too they are hosted on their own serverpaypal.jpg

I think you should also report them to verisign

post #13 of 23
Thread Starter 

It never worked so I do not know for certain how it would work. Reports to McAfee and Verisign going as well.

 

 

post #14 of 23

Did yu ask for the redund first? its very importand to do this first. because when those companies strart contacting the site owners there might might try to hide their trace and you wont be able to contact them again.

post #15 of 23
Thread Starter 

It was not me who bought the ipod. My friend has sent it back and I will see if she has any success.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Portable Source Gear
Head-Fi.org › Forums › Equipment Forums › Portable Source Gear › Ipodsnanosonline selling fake ipod Nanos.